DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings filed 3/19/26 are objected to as introducing new matter into the application. Specifically, newly presented figures 9B and 9C disclose embodiments not supported by the original disclosure. The original disclosure does not disclose the hooks/loops being located only on the middle portion of the hair roller. New drawings that do not show this feature, are required.
Claim Objections
Claim 32 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 32, line 3, the underline between “round” and “cross” should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13,17,18,23-25,32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 13,23,32 recite the limitation “the loops are perpendicular to the circumferential surface of the roller body”. This language was not present in the application as originally filed, and is thus considered to be new matter. This new matter should be deleted from the claims in any response to this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 26-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lopatina 20150027485 (previously cited).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Middle portion of the roller body.)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
With regard to claim 26 Lopatina discloses (fig. 1) a hair roller 10, comprising a roller body 12 for wrapping therearound a hair portion, wherein the roller body 12 is a concave cylinder, which has a normally round cross section at atop portion 22 and a bottom portion 18 thereof larger thana normally round cross section at a middle portion 20 thereof; wherein the hair roller 10 further comprises a hair- retaining structure 24 formed on the circumferential surface of the roller body 12 and located between the top portion 22 of the roller body 12 and the bottom portion 18 of the roller body 12 for grabbing the hair portion and/or confining a movement range of the hair portion on the roller body 12; and wherein the hair-retaining structure comprises loops 24 attached onto the roller body 12.
With further regard to claim 26, note that the at least one hair retaining structure 24 is in the middle portion of the roller body. See annotated figure above.
With further regard to claims 26 and 29, note bristles 26 formed on the body between the top and bottom portions.
With regard to claims 27 and 30, note that the roller body 12 is a hollow cylinder.
With regard to claims 28 and 31, note that a heat conductive material 14 is formed inside the hollow cylinder. See paragraph 45 which discloses that the material 14 may be metal, which is a heat conductive material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13,17,18,23,24,25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim 5558170 (newly cited) in view of De Mistral 3533418 (newly cited).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Loops)]
With regard to claims 13 and 23, Kim discloses a hair roller (see fig. 7a), comprising a roller body 11 for wrapping therearound a hair portion, wherein the roller body is a concave cylinder, which has a normally round cross section at a top portion 2 and a bottom portion 5 thereof larger than a normally round cross section at a middle portion thereof (see above annotated figure) ;wherein the hair roller further comprises a hair-retaining structure 10 formed on the circumferential surface of the roller body 11 and located between the top portion 2 of the roller body and the bottom portion 5 of the roller body with at least one hair-retaining structure in the middle portion of the roller body, wherein the hair-retaining structure is for grabbing the hair portion and/or confining a movement range of the hair portion on the roller body, and wherein the hair-retaining structure comprises loops (see col. 3, lines 6-13).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the loops being perpendicular to the circumferential surface of the roller body.
De Mistral discloses a hair roller with projections, that may be perpendicular to the circumferential surface of the body. See column 2, lines 2-3 which discloses that the projections may be in a plane that is perpendicular to the axis of the roller body, which is the same as the projections being perpendicular to the circumferential surface of the body.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to form the loops of Kim such that they are perpendicular to the circumferential surface of the roller body, in view of the teaching of De Mistral that projections formed on a cylindrical roller body may be in a plane that is perpendicular to the axis of the roller body.
With regard to claims 17 and 24, note that Kim discloses that the roller body is a hollow cylinder. See col. 1, line 9.
With regard to claims 18 and 25, note that Kim discloses a heat-conductive material (in the form of pin 3) formed inside the hollow cylinder. Pin 3 is inherently a heat conducting material, since all materials conduct heat.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim 5558170 in view of De Mistral 3533418, and further in view of Brenin-Albertoni 3123080.
With regard to claims 32, Kim discloses a hair roller (see above annotated fig. 7a), comprising a roller body 11 for wrapping therearound a hair portion, wherein the roller body is a concave cylinder, which has a normally round cross section at a top portion 2 and a bottom portion 5 thereof larger than a normally round cross section at a middle portion thereof (see above annotated figure); wherein the hair roller further comprises a hair-retaining structure 10 formed on the circumferential surface of the roller body 11 and located between the top portion 2 of the roller body and the bottom portion 5 of the roller body with at least one hair-retaining structure in the middle portion of the roller body, wherein the hair-retaining structure is for grabbing the hair portion and/or confining a movement range of the hair portion on the roller body, and wherein the hair-retaining structure comprises loops (see col. 3, lines 6-13).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the loops being perpendicular to the circumferential surface of the roller body.
De Mistral discloses a hair roller with projections, that may be perpendicular to the circumferential surface of the body. See column 2, lines 2-3 which discloses that the projections may be in a plane that is perpendicular to the axis of the roller body, which is the same as the projections being perpendicular to the circumferential surface of the body.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to form the loops of Kim such that they are perpendicular to the circumferential surface of the roller body, in view of the teaching of De Mistral that projections formed on a cylindrical roller body may be in a plane that is perpendicular to the axis of the roller body.
Kim/De Mistral do not disclose bristles with the hair retaining structure.
Brenin-Albertoni discloses a hair roller which includes a hair retaining structure that includes both loops 3 and bristles 6/7. See fig. 3.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include bristles along with the loops of Kim/De Mistral, in view of the teaching of Brenin-Albertoni that a hair roller retaining structure may include both loops and bristles.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NICHOLAS D LUCCHESI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772