DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file. a. Certified copy of application IN202141005326 was received on 03/01/22.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
2. Regarding the Applicant’s arguments regarding prior art rejection, the Applicant’s arguments were fully considered, but are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose the newly amended claim limitations; specifically, the Applicant argues that 3GPP in view of Kim does not teach that when the terminal can obtain services from both home and hosting network, the hosting network provides the localized services. The Examiner disagrees, and points to cited section 5.4.4 of 3GPP in which “network services [are used by the UEs] via the hosting network… In the meantime, their UEs can connect … and use home network services”. This is in the context of PALS service, so the network services used are understood to be the localized services. It appears that the Applicant argues that connecting to both home and hosting networks, and receiving services from both, does not read on the claim language. However, the Examiner notes that the claim language only requires that the terminal be able to connect to both home and hosting network, and receive localized services through the host network—the claim is silent on whether or not service is provided by the home network. The Applicant’s arguments are therefore unpersuasive.
The Applicant also argues that 3GPP does not disclose the limitation around receiving a message for selecting at least one of a multicast, broadcast, or unicast mode. The Examiner points to cited section 5.4.3 – 5.4.6 which disclose unicast, broadcast, and multicast content being received. The Examiner notes the claim language at issue is “receiving… a first message for selecting a mode from at least one of a [unicast, broadcast, or multicast] mode”. The Examiner understands the broadest reasonable interpretation of receiving a message for selecting a mode to encompass receiving data in a particular mode (e.g. receiving a unicast connection involves receiving a message that selects a unicast mode of connection). 3GPP clearly discloses this, for all three possible modes. The Applicant’s arguments are therefore unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1 – 2, 4, 7, 9 – 11, 17, 19 – 23, and 25 - 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP (3GPP TR 22.844 v0.1.0 (2020-11)) in view of Kim (US 20220264680 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP discloses technical information regarding the wireless standards that are relevant to the claimed invention. Specifically, 3GPP discloses a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system (UE in network; see Fig. 1), wherein the method comprises:
performing a registration to an entity of a host network providing access for localized services (registration to service provider nw; see p. 18; PALS; see p. 13)
receiving, from the entity of the host network providing access for the localized services, a first message for selecting a mode from at least one of a multicast mode, a broadcast mode, and a unicast mode (UE is presented with options for PALS services incl. gaming (unicast) and watching live video broadcast (broadcast/groupcast) via network; see sections 5.4.3 – 5.4.6 and Fig. 1; The Examiner understands the broadest reasonable interpretation of receiving a message for selecting a mode to encompass receiving data in a particular mode (e.g. receiving a unicast connection involves receiving a message that selects a unicast mode of connection))
and receiving, from the entity of the host network providing access for the localized services content over the selected mode (selected PALS service is provided to UE via network; see sections 5.4.3 – 5.4.6 and Fig. 1)
wherein in case that the terminal is able to obtain services from the host network and a home network simultaneously, the entity of the host network providing access for localized services is selected for the localized services (when home and hosting networks are available, UEs can use hosting network; see section 5.4.4)
3GPP does not explicitly disclose transmitting, to the entity of the host network providing access for the localized services, information on a measurement result.
Kim discloses subject matter relating to traffic splitting. Specifically, Zhang discloses
transmitting, to the entity of the host network providing access for the localized services, information on a measurement result (UE reports CSI to NW; see paragraphs [0162] and [0178])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of 3GPP with Kim by incorporating the UE measurement report. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to do so, as this is standard practice and allows the network to evaluate UE communication efficacy.
Regarding claims 2, 10, 21, and 25 3GPP and Kim teach the subject matter of the parent claim(s), as noted above. 3GPP further discloses
wherein the entity of the host network providing access for the localized services is selected based on a priority of services (PALS can be configured to be used based on service policies; see section 5.3.1; the Examiner understands service priorities as encompassing anything that preferences one service mode over another), and
Regarding claims 4, 11, 22, and 26 3GPP and Kim teach the subject matter of the parent claim(s), as noted above. 3GPP further discloses
wherein the host network comprises a non-public network providing access for the localized services (PALS provider can be a non public network; see section 5.9.1)
Regarding claims 7, 17, 23, and 27 3GPP and Kim teach the subject matter of the parent claim(s), as noted above. 3GPP does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 7. However, Zhang discloses:
wherein the transmitting the information on the measurement result comprises at least one of a beam index (BI), a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), or a rank indicator (RI) (measurement includes BI, CQI, PMI, RI; see paragraph [0178])
and sending, to the entity of the non-public network providing access for localized services by the UE, the information on the measurement result including a channel state information (CSI) feedback (UE reports CSI to NW; see paragraphs [0162] and [0178])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of 3GPP with Kim by incorporating the UE measurement report. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to do so, as this is standard practice and allows the network to evaluate UE communication efficacy.
Regarding claim 9, 3GPP discloses technical information regarding the wireless standards that are relevant to the claimed invention. Specifically, 3GPP discloses a method performed by a host entity providing access for wireless services in a wireless communication system (network; see Fig. 1; PALS; see p. 13), wherein the method comprises:
performing registration with a terminal (registration to service provider nw; see p. 18)
transmitting, to the terminal, a first message for selecting a mode from at least one of a multicast mode, a broadcast mode, and a unicast mode (UE is presented with options for PALS services incl. gaming (unicast) and watching live video broadcast (broadcast/groupcast) via network; see sections 5.4.3 – 5.4.6 and Fig. 1; The Examiner understands the broadest reasonable interpretation of receiving a message for selecting a mode to encompass receiving data in a particular mode (e.g. receiving a unicast connection involves receiving a message that selects a unicast mode of connection))
and transmitting, to the terminal, content over the selected mode (selected PALS service is provided to UE via network; see sections 5.4.3 – 5.4.6 and Fig. 1)
wherein in case that the terminal is able to obtain services from the host network and a home network simultaneously, the entity of the host network providing access for localized services is selected for the localized services (when home and hosting networks are available, UEs can use hosting network; see section 5.4.4)
3GPP does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the terminal, information on a measurement result.
Kim discloses subject matter relating to traffic splitting. Specifically, Kim discloses
receiving, from the terminal, information on a measurement result. (UE reports CSI to NW; see paragraphs [0162] and [0178])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of 3GPP with Kim by incorporating the UE measurement report. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to do so, as this is standard practice and allows the network to evaluate UE communication efficacy.
Regarding claim 19, 3GPP discloses technical information regarding the wireless standards that are relevant to the claimed invention. Specifically, 3GPP discloses a terminal in a wireless communication system (UE in network; see Fig. 1), wherein the terminal comprises:
a transceiver (UE; see Fig. 1)
a processor (UE; see Fig. 1); configured to
performing a registration to an entity of a host network providing access for localized services (registration to service provider nw; see p. 18; PALS; see p. 13)
receive, from the entity of the host network providing access for the localized services, a first message for selecting a mode from at least one of a multicast mode, a broadcast mode, and a unicast mode (UE is presented with options for PALS services incl. gaming (unicast) and watching live video broadcast (broadcast/groupcast) via network; see sections 5.4.3 – 5.4.6 and Fig. 1; The Examiner understands the broadest reasonable interpretation of receiving a message for selecting a mode to encompass receiving data in a particular mode (e.g. receiving a unicast connection involves receiving a message that selects a unicast mode of connection))
and receive, from the entity of the host network providing access for the localized services content over the selected mode (selected PALS service is provided to UE via network; see sections 5.4.3 – 5.4.6 and Fig. 1)
wherein in case that the terminal is able to obtain services from the host network and a home network simultaneously, the entity of the host network providing access for localized services is selected for the localized services (when home and hosting networks are available, UEs can use hosting network; see section 5.4.4)
3GPP does not explicitly disclose transmitting, to the entity of the host network providing access for the localized services, information on a measurement result.
Kim discloses subject matter relating to traffic splitting. Specifically, Kim discloses
transmitting, to the entity of the host network providing access for the localized services, information on a measurement result (UE reports CSI to NW; see paragraphs [0162] and [0178])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of 3GPP with Kim by incorporating the UE measurement report. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to do so, as this is standard practice and allows the network to evaluate UE communication efficacy.
Regarding claim 20, 3GPP discloses technical information regarding the wireless standards that are relevant to the claimed invention. Specifically, 3GPP discloses an entity of a host network providing access for wireless services in a wireless communication system (network with entities; see Fig. 1; PALS; see p. 13), wherein the entity of the host network comprises:
a transceiver (network entities; see Fig. 1)
a processor (network entities; see Fig. 1)configured to
performing registration with a terminal (registration to service provider nw; see p. 18)
transmitting, to the terminal, a first message for selecting a mode from at least one of a multicast mode, a broadcast mode, and a unicast mode (UE is presented with options for PALS services incl. gaming (unicast) and watching live video broadcast (broadcast/groupcast) via network; see sections 5.4.3 – 5.4.6 and Fig. 1; The Examiner understands the broadest reasonable interpretation of receiving a message for selecting a mode to encompass receiving data in a particular mode (e.g. receiving a unicast connection involves receiving a message that selects a unicast mode of connection))
and transmitting, to the terminal, content over the selected mode (selected PALS service is provided to UE via network; see sections 5.4.3 – 5.4.6 and Fig. 1)
wherein in case that the terminal is able to obtain services from the host network and a home network simultaneously, the entity of the host network providing access for localized services is selected for the localized services (when home and hosting networks are available, UEs can use hosting network; see section 5.4.4)
3GPP does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the terminal, information on a measurement result.
Kim discloses subject matter relating to traffic splitting. Specifically, Kim discloses
receiving, from the terminal, information on a measurement result. (UE reports CSI to NW; see paragraphs [0162] and [0178])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of 3GPP with Kim by incorporating the UE measurement report. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to do so, as this is standard practice and allows the network to evaluate UE communication efficacy.
1. Claim(s) 8, 18, 24, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP (3GPP TR 22.844 v0.1.0 (2020-11)) in view of Kim (US 20220264680 A1) and in further view of Sane (WO 2011/146222 A1)
Regarding claims 8, 18, 24, and 28 3GPP and Zhang teach the subject matter of the parent claim(s), as noted above. 3GPP and Zhang do not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 8.
Sane discloses subject matter relating to wireless communication. Specifically, Sane discloses:
receiving, from the entity of the host network providing access for the localized services a second message for transition of the terminal to one of an idle mode or an inactive mode based on a congestion (congestion occurs, then UE is transitioned to idle mode; see paragraphs [0028 – 0029]); and
transitioning, to the one of the idle mode or the inactive mode (UE is transitioned to idle mode; see paragraphs [0028 – 0029])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of 3GPP and Zhang with Sane by incorporating the idle mode transition when the network is congested. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to do so, as this is standard practice and allows for the network to maintain capacity.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464