DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-11, 14-17, and 20 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. Claims 1, 3, 11, 15-16, and 20 are amended. Claims 12-13 and 18-19 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed January 23, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-12, 14-17, and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended claims 1 and 15 to require a limitation that was previously indicated as allowable: “wherein the stem piece further comprises at least one redirection channel, the at least one redirection channel comprising at least one outflow channel opening, wherein the at least one redirection channel is at least partially attached to an inner surface of the stem piece and open to at least one air inflow aperture of the one or more air inflow apertures, the at least one redirection channel configured to direct air flow received from the at least one air inflow aperture through the at least one redirection channel to the at least one outflow channel opening.” Applicant has also amended claim 20 to require a limitation that the previously applied prior art does not disclose: “wherein the one or more air inflow apertures are positioned at an upper portion of the stem piece and below a tray line, wherein the tray line corresponds in position to at least one of a bottom of a tray or a bottom of a tray platform, and wherein the stem piece does not comprise air inflow apertures above the tray line.” Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn, and Claims 1-12, and 14-17 are allowed. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection of Claim 20 is made in view of a newly found prior art reference in combination with previously applied prior art.
The following is a modified action based on amendments made to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fernando (US 2021/0059297 A1) in view of Dschinni (DE 202020105874 U1, English Translation).
Regarding Claim 20, Fernando, directed to hookahs ([0001]-[0004]), teaches an apparatus, attached to a hookah or other smoking device ([0217]-[0220], Fig. 1; Shisha device 10 comprises an aerosol-generating element 11 and an aerosol conduit 21. Shisha device 10 further comprises a vessel 17, a head space outlet 15, and a hose 20. Aerosol generating element 11 and aerosol conduit 21 form an apparatus, which is attached to components 15, 17, and 20 of shisha (hookah) device 10), the apparatus comprising:
a stem piece, with an open upper end and an open lower end ([0217]-[0220], Fig. 1; Shisha device 10 comprises an aerosol-generating element 11 configured to receive and heat an aerosol-forming substrate 12 to generate an aerosol. In use, the generated aerosol flows through an aerosol conduit 21, which includes a ventilation opening 30 in a stem pipe. Aerosol generating element 11 and aerosol conduit 21 form a stem piece. Aerosol conduit 21 comprises a distal end portion defining a distal opening 26 (open lower end). [0140], The aerosol-generating element 11 is positioned at an upper end of the apparatus, and comprises an air inlet to form an open upper end), and
a heating chamber between the open upper end and the open lower end ([0217]-[0220], Fig. 1; Shisha device 10 comprises an aerosol-generating element 11 configured to receive and heat an aerosol-forming substrate 12. Aerosol-generating element 11 therefore defines a heating chamber between the open upper end and the open lower end of the apparatus), and
at least one receptacle ([0217]-[0220], Fig. 1; Shisha device 10 comprises an aerosol-generating element 11 configured to receive and heat an aerosol-forming substrate 12. [0141], the heating element of the aerosol-generating element defines at least one surface of the receptacle for holding the aerosol-forming substrate or cartridge),
the stem piece comprising one or more air inflow apertures configured to facilitate ingress of air into the stem piece ([0217]-[0220], Fig. 1; Aerosol conduit 21 includes at least one ventilation opening 30 (air inflow aperture) configured to facilitate ingress of air into the stem piece),
wherein the one or more air inflow apertures are positioned at an upper portion of the stem piece and below a tray line, wherein the tray line corresponds in position to at least one of a bottom of a tray or a bottom of a tray platform, and wherein the stem piece does not comprise air inflow apertures above the tray line ([0217]-[0221], Fig. 1; Ventilation opening 30 (air inflow aperture) is positioned at an upper portion of aerosol conduit 21 (stem piece). [0141], Aerosol generating element 11 (stem piece) includes a bottom surface (tray/tray platform), which performs the function of a tray or tray platform because it can support a cartridge or aerosol forming substrate. Ventilation opening 30 (air inflow aperture) is positioned below a tray line, wherein the tray line corresponds in position to the bottom surface of aerosol generating element 11 (tray/tray platform). There are no ventilation openings 30 (air inflow apertures) above the tray line),
but does not teach the apparatus comprising a removable reusable vessel placeable within the heating chamber and configured to hold heatable consumable matter, wherein the removable reusable vessel comprises an opening end and a base end, the opening end and the base end connected together by walls, wherein the walls comprise one or more holes, wherein the opening end is unobstructed.
Dschinni, directed to hookahs ([0001]-[0002], Shisha devices are hookah devices; see instant specification, [0058]), teaches a hookah bowl apparatus ([0022], Figs. 1-2; Water pipe 1 is a shisha (hookah) device including a water pipe head 2, an ashtray 3, a smoke column 4, and a water container 5 which form a hookah bowl apparatus) comprising:
a stem piece with an open upper end and an open lower end ([0022], Figs. 1-2; Water pipe 1 includes a water pipe head 2 (stem piece). [0024], Water pipe head 20 of Fig. 2 may be used in the place of water pipe head 2 of Fig. 1. Water pipe head 20 (stem piece) has an open upper end at support rim 2, and an open lower end including openings 23 which lead to a breakthrough 24), and
a heating chamber between the open upper end and the open lower end ([0022]-[0024], Fig. 2; Water pipe head 20 retains a tobacco material which is heated to generate a smoke or vapor. Therefore, the space between the open upper end and the open lower end which retains the tobacco material is a heating chamber); and
a removable reusable vessel placeable within the heating chamber and configured to hold heatable consumable matter ([0022]-[0026], Figs. 2-4; Sieve 25 is a removable reusable vessel placeable within the heating chamber of water pipe head 2, and configured to hold tobacco (heatable consumable matter)),
wherein the removable reusable vessel comprises an opening end and a base end ([0022]-[0026], Figs. 2-4; Sieve 25 (removable reusable vessel) comprises an opening end at circumferential collar 26, and a base end at receiving tray 28),
the opening end and the base end connected together by walls ([0022]-[0026], Figs. 2-4; The opening end and the base end of sieve 25 are connected by curved walls formed by sieve structure 27),
wherein the walls comprise one or more holes ([0022]-[0026], Figs. 2-4; Sieve structure 27 (walls) comprises a mesh sieve structure necessarily including holes),
wherein the opening end is unobstructed ([0022]-[0026], Figs. 2-4; The opening end of sieve 25 is unobstructed as shown in Figs. 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the airflow and heat regulation apparatus taught by Fernando comprising a removable reusable vessel placeable within the heating chamber and configured to hold heatable consumable matter, wherein the removable reusable vessel comprises an opening end and a base end, the opening end and the base end connected together by walls, wherein at least one of the walls or the base end comprises one or more holes, wherein the opening end is unobstructed as taught by Dschinni because Fernando and Dschinni are directed to hookahs, Dschinni demonstrates that the removable vessel prevents heatable consumable matter from flowing out of the open lower end of the stem piece while allowing gases to flow through the stem piece (Dschinni, [0022]-[0026], Figs. 1-4), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
Claims 1-11, and 14-17 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement for reasons for allowance:
The prior art alone or in combination with references does not disclose “an airflow and heat regulation apparatus comprising: a stem piece, with an open upper end and an open lower end, and a heating chamber between the open upper end and the open lower end; one or more air inflow apertures placed on the stem piece, wherein the stem piece further comprises at least one redirection channel, the at least one redirection channel comprising at least one outflow channel opening, wherein the at least one redirection channel is at least partially attached to an inner surface of the stem piece and open to at least one air inflow aperture of the one or more air inflow apertures, the at least one redirection channel configured to direct air flow received from the at least one air inflow aperture through the at least one redirection channel to the at least one outflow channel opening; a removable reusable vessel placeable within the heating chamber and configured to hold heatable consumable matter, wherein the removable reusable vessel comprises an opening end and a base end, the opening end and the base end connected together by walls, wherein the walls comprise one or more holes, wherein the opening end is unobstructed; and a removable lid sealably coupled to the open upper end of the stem piece via a lid connection end, the removable lid including an extended rim protruding outwards from the removable lid to at least an outermost bounds of the stem piece” as recited in independent Claim 1; or “a hookah bowl apparatus, for heating and burning of smokable matter, attached to a hookah comprising: a stem piece, with an open upper end and an open lower end, and a heating chamber, between the open upper end and the open lower end, configured to hold heatable consumable matter, the stem piece comprising one or more air inflow apertures to facilitate ingress of air into the stem piece, wherein the stem piece further comprises at least one redirection channel positioned within an interior of the stem piece and coupled to at least one air inflow aperture of the one or more air inflow apertures, the at least one redirection channel comprises at least one outflow channel opening, wherein the at least one redirection channel is configured to direct air received from the at least one air inflow aperture to the at least one outflow channel opening; and a removable reusable vessel placeable within the heating chamber and configured to hold heatable consumable matter, wherein the removable reusable vessel comprises an opening end and a base end, the opening end and the base end connected together by walls, wherein the walls comprise one or more holes, wherein the opening end is unobstructed” as recited in independent Claim 15.
Specifically, the prior fails to disclose “wherein the stem piece further comprises at least one redirection channel, the at least one redirection channel comprising at least one outflow channel opening, wherein the at least one redirection channel is at least partially attached to an inner surface of the stem piece and open to at least one air inflow aperture of the one or more air inflow apertures, the at least one redirection channel configured to direct air flow received from the at least one air inflow aperture through the at least one redirection channel to the at least one outflow channel opening”.
The closest prior art is Zoumut (US 2010/0083973 A1), Dschinni (DE 202020105874 U1, English Translation), and Khachatryan (US 2022/0039460 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Zoumut, directed to hookahs ([0002]), teaches an airflow and heat regulation apparatus ([0025]-[0026], Figs. 1-5; Side heat hookah bowl 10 comprises first receptacle 12 holding a first predetermined material 15 capable of being heated and smoked. Hookah bowl 10 further comprises a second receptacle 22 holding a second predetermined material 25, 35 capable of providing a heat source for heating the first predetermined material 15. First receptacle 12 comprises a plurality of apertures 30, which are reasonably understood to regulate the flow of air and heat between the two receptacles 12, 22) comprising:
a stem piece ([0025], Fig. 1; Side heat hookah bowl 10 comprises first receptacle 12, which is a cylindrically shaped bowl defining a stem piece),
with an open upper end and an open lower end ([0025], [0027], [0031], Figs. 1-2; First receptacle 12 has an open top portion 16 (upper end), and a bottom portion 18 including at least one aperture 38. Bottom portion 18 is therefore, the open lower end) and
a heating chamber between the open upper end and the open lower end ([0025], Interior portion 14 holding a first predetermined material 15 capable of being heated and smoked forms the heating chamber. Interior portion 14 is formed between top portion 16 and bottom portion 18);
one or more air inflow apertures placed on the stem piecee ([0026], Fig. 1; First receptacle 12 (stem piece) comprises heat transfer means 30 comprising a plurality of apertures 30 extending through sidewall portion 17. It is reasonably understood that the plurality of apertures allow for the ingress of air, as the apertures 30 are exposed to air); and
a removable lid coupled to the open upper end of the stem piece via a lid connection end ([0031], Figs. 1-3a, 3b-5; Lid 40 is coupled to the open top portion 16 of first receptacle 12. Lid 40 covers top portion 16 as shown in Figs. 1, 4-5. Lid 40 is removed from top portion 16 as shown in Figs. 2, 3a, and 3b. It is reasonably understood that the portion of the lid 40 which contacts the open top portion 16 is the lid connection end),
the removable lid including an extended rim protruding outwards from the removable lid to at least an outermost bounds of the stem piece ([0031], Figs. 4-5; Lid 40 is shown in Figs. 4-5 as including an extended rim protruding outwards from lid 40 to at least the outermost bounds of first receptacle 12),
wherein a sealing element can be provided to seal the open lower end ([0027], [0034], Fig. 1; Sealing means 48 seals the bottom portion 18 to the hookah),
but does not teach the apparatus i) wherein the removable lid is sealably coupled to the upper end of the stem piece, ii) comprising a removable reusable vessel placeable within the heating chamber and configured to hold heatable consumable matter, wherein the removable reusable vessel comprises an opening end and a base end, the opening end and the base end connected together by walls, wherein the walls comprise one or more holes, wherein the opening end is unobstructed; and iii) wherein the stem piece further comprises at least one redirection channel positioned within an interior of the stem piece and coupled to at least one air inflow aperture of the one or more air inflow apertures, the at least one redirection channel comprises at least one outflow channel opening, wherein the at least one redirection channel is configured to direct air received from the at least one air inflow aperture to the at least one outflow channel opening.
With respect to i), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the sealing element and dispose it at the lid connection end to sealably couple the removable lid to the upper end of the stem piece. This would merely involve duplication of parts and positioning another sealing element at another location to ensure that any openings between the lid and the upper end of the stem piece are sealed.
With respect to ii), Dschinni, directed to hookahs ([0001]-[0002], Shisha devices are hookah devices; see instant specification, [0058]), teaches a hookah bowl apparatus ([0022], Figs. 1-2; Water pipe 1 is a shisha (hookah) device including a water pipe head 2, an ashtray 3, a smoke column 4, and a water container 5 which form a hookah bowl apparatus) comprising:
a stem piece with an open upper end and an open lower end ([0022], Figs. 1-2; Water pipe 1 includes a water pipe head 2 (stem piece). [0024], Water pipe head 20 of Fig. 2 may be used in the place of water pipe head 2 of Fig. 1. Water pipe head 20 (stem piece) has an open upper end at support rim 2, and an open lower end including openings 23 which lead to a breakthrough 24), and
a heating chamber between the open upper end and the open lower end ([0022]-[0024], Fig. 2; Water pipe head 20 retains a tobacco material which is heated to generate a smoke or vapor. Therefore, the space between the open upper end and the open lower end which retains the tobacco material is a heating chamber); and
a removable reusable vessel placeable within the heating chamber and configured to hold heatable consumable matter ([0022]-[0026], Figs. 2-4; Sieve 25 is a removable reusable vessel placeable within the heating chamber of water pipe head 2, and configured to hold tobacco (heatable consumable matter)),
wherein the removable reusable vessel comprises an opening end and a base end ([0022]-[0026], Figs. 2-4; Sieve 25 (removable reusable vessel) comprises an opening end at circumferential collar 26, and a base end at receiving tray 28),
the opening end and the base end connected together by walls ([0022]-[0026], Figs. 2-4; The opening end and the base end of sieve 25 are connected by curved walls formed by sieve structure 27),
wherein the walls comprise one or more holes ([0022]-[0026], Figs. 2-4; Sieve structure 27 (walls) comprises a mesh sieve structure necessarily including holes),
wherein the opening end is unobstructed ([0022]-[0026], Figs. 2-4; The opening end of sieve 25 is unobstructed as shown in Figs. 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the airflow and heat regulation apparatus taught by Zoumut comprising a removable reusable vessel placeable within the heating chamber and configured to hold heatable consumable matter, wherein the removable reusable vessel comprises an opening end and a base end, the opening end and the base end connected together by walls, wherein at least one of the walls or the base end comprises one or more holes, wherein the opening end is unobstructed as taught by Dschinni because Zoumut and Dschinni are directed to hookahs, Dschinni demonstrates that the removable vessel prevents heatable consumable matter from flowing out of the open lower end of the stem piece while allowing gases to flow through the stem piece (Dschinni, [0022]-[0026], Figs. 1-4), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Zoumut in view of Dschinni does not teach the apparatus iii) wherein the stem piece further comprises at least one redirection channel positioned within an interior of the stem piece and coupled to at least one air inflow aperture of the one or more air inflow apertures, the at least one redirection channel comprises at least one outflow channel opening, wherein the at least one redirection channel is configured to direct air received from the at least one air inflow aperture to the at least one outflow channel opening.
With respect to iii), Khachatryan, directed to hookahs ([0002]), teaches a hookah bowl apparatus ([0049]-[0051], Figs. 1-3; Hookah device 100 comprises head 102 which includes bowl portion 302) comprising:
a stem piece ([0049]-[0051], Figs. 1-3; Bowl portion 302 defines a stem piece),
with an open upper end and an open lower end ([0052], [0055], Figs. 3, 4C; Bowl portion 302 has an open upper end which is covered by bowl top 306, and an open lower end at tapered interface 400) and
a heating chamber, between the open upper end and the open lower end, capable of holding heatable consumable matter ([0055]-[0056], 4C, 5A, 5B; Pod recess 518 is positioned between the open upper end and the open lower end of bowl portion 302. Pod recess is capable of holding consumable pod 300, which is heated by heater 308);
a removable lid sealably coupled to the upper end of the stem piece ([0055]-[0056], 4C, 5A, 5B; Bowl top 306 is sealably coupled to upper end of bowl portion 302),
one or more air inflow apertures placed on the removable lid ([0055], Figs. 4C, 5A, 5B; Bowl top 306 includes top inlet 504 for the inflow of air);
where the stem piece further comprises: an at least one redirection channel to redirect air entering the stem piece from the one or more air inflow apertures ([0055], Figs. 4C, 5B; Smoke passageway 512 redirects the air entering bowl portion 302 from top inlet 504)
the at least one redirection channel including an at least one outflow channel opening ([0052], [0055], Figs. 4C, 5B; Smoke passageway 512 redirects the air toward an outflow channel opening located at the bottom of the bowl portion 302 before tapered interface 400),
the at least one airflow channel directing the air flow from the at least one of the one or more air inflow apertures through the at least one airflow channel to the at least one outflow channel opening ([0052], [0055], Figs. 4C, 5B; Smoke passageway 512 redirects the air flow from top inlet 504 through smoke passageway 512 to the outflow channel opening located at the bottom of the bowl portion 302 before tapered interface 400).
However, Khachatryan does not disclose the apparatus wherein the stem piece further comprises at least one redirection channel positioned within an interior of the stem piece and coupled to at least one air inflow aperture of the one or more air inflow apertures, the at least one redirection channel comprises at least one outflow channel opening, wherein the at least one redirection channel is configured to direct air received from the at least one air inflow aperture to the at least one outflow channel opening. While Khachatryan teaches a redirection channel direction directing air from an inflow aperture to an outflow channel opening, the redirection channel is formed in a cavity partially defined by the inner surface of the stem piece. Additionally, the redirection channel is not a separate component attached the stem piece, and is not positioned directly at or near one or more locations of, and open to, the one or more air inflow apertures. Zoumut teaches one or more air inflow apertures are placed on the stem piece as described above; however, because the air inflow apertures taught by Zoumut are located near the bottom of the stem piece, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to provide the apparatus taught by Zoumut with the redirection channel taught by Khachatryan to form the invention as claimed. Therefore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus wherein the stem piece further comprises at least one redirection channel positioned within an interior of the stem piece and coupled to at least one air inflow aperture of the one or more air inflow apertures, the at least one redirection channel comprises at least one outflow channel opening, wherein the at least one redirection channel is configured to direct air received from the at least one air inflow aperture to the at least one outflow channel opening.
Regarding Claim 15, Zoumut, directed to hookahs ([0002]), teaches a hookah bowl apparatus, for heating and burning of smokable matter, attached to a hookah ([0025]-[0026], [0034], Figs. 1-5; Side heat hookah bowl 10 comprises first receptacle 12 holding a first predetermined material 15 capable of being heated and smoked. The bottom portion 18 of first receptacle 12 attaches to a hookah smoking device) comprising:
a stem piece ([0025], Fig. 1; Side heat hookah bowl 10 comprises first receptacle 12, which is a cylindrically shaped bowl defining a stem piece),
with an open upper end and an open lower end ([0025], [0027], [0031], Figs. 1-2; First receptacle 12 has an open top portion 16 (upper end), and a bottom portion 18 including at least one aperture 38. Bottom portion 18 is therefore, the open lower end) and
a heating chamber, between the open upper end and the open lower end, configured to hold heatable consumable matter ([0025], Interior portion 14 configured to hold a first predetermined material 15 capable of being heated and smoked forms the heating chamber. Interior portion 14 is formed between top portion 16 (open upper end) and bottom portion 18 (open upper end)),
the stem piece comprising one or more air inflow apertures to facilitate ingress of air into the stem piece ([0026], Fig. 1; First receptacle 12 (stem piece) comprises heat transfer means 30 comprising a plurality of apertures 30 extending through sidewall portion 17. It is reasonably understood that the plurality of apertures allow for the ingress of air, as the apertures 30 are exposed to air),
but does not teach the apparatus i) comprising a removable reusable vessel placeable within the heating chamber and configured to hold heatable consumable matter, wherein the removable reusable vessel comprises an opening end and a base end, the opening end and the base end connected together by walls, wherein the walls comprise one or more holes, wherein the opening end is unobstructed; and ii) wherein the stem piece further comprises at least one redirection channel positioned within an interior of the stem piece and coupled to at least one air inflow aperture of the one or more air inflow apertures, the at least one redirection channel comprises at least one outflow channel opening, wherein the at least one redirection channel is configured to direct air received from the at least one air inflow aperture to the at least one outflow channel opening.
With respect to i), Dschinni, directed to hookahs ([0001]-[0002], Shisha devices are hookah devices; see instant specification, [0058]), teaches a hookah bowl apparatus ([0022], Figs. 1-2; Water pipe 1 is a shisha (hookah) device including a water pipe head 2, an ashtray 3, a smoke column 4, and a water container 5 which form a hookah bowl apparatus) comprising:
a stem piece with an open upper end and an open lower end ([0022], Figs. 1-2; Water pipe 1 includes a water pipe head 2 (stem piece). [0024], Water pipe head 20 of Fig. 2 may be used in the place of water pipe head 2 of Fig. 1. Water pipe head 20 (stem piece) has an open upper end at support rim 2, and an open lower end including openings 23 which lead to a breakthrough 24), and
a heating chamber between the open upper end and the open lower end ([0022]-[0024], Fig. 2; Water pipe head 20 retains a tobacco material which is heated to generate a smoke or vapor. Therefore, the space between the open upper end and the open lower end which retains the tobacco material is a heating chamber); and
a removable reusable vessel placeable within the heating chamber and configured to hold heatable consumable matter ([0022]-[0026], Figs. 2-4; Sieve 25 is a removable reusable vessel placeable within the heating chamber of water pipe head 2, and configured to hold tobacco (heatable consumable matter)),
wherein the removable reusable vessel comprises an opening end and a base end ([0022]-[0026], Figs. 2-4; Sieve 25 (removable reusable vessel) comprises an opening end at circumferential collar 26, and a base end at receiving tray 28),
the opening end and the base end connected together by walls ([0022]-[0026], Figs. 2-4; The opening end and the base end of sieve 25 are connected by curved walls formed by sieve structure 27),
wherein the walls comprise one or more holes ([0022]-[0026], Figs. 2-4; Sieve structure 27 (walls) comprises a mesh sieve structure necessarily including holes),
wherein the opening end is unobstructed ([0022]-[0026], Figs. 2-4; The opening end of sieve 25 is unobstructed as shown in Figs. 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the airflow and heat regulation apparatus taught by Zoumut comprising a removable reusable vessel placeable within the heating chamber and configured to hold heatable consumable matter, wherein the removable reusable vessel comprises an opening end and a base end, the opening end and the base end connected together by walls, wherein at least one of the walls or the base end comprises one or more holes, wherein the opening end is unobstructed as taught by Dschinni because Zoumut and Dschinni are directed to hookahs, Dschinni demonstrates that the removable vessel prevents heatable consumable matter from flowing out of the open lower end of the stem piece while allowing gases to flow through the stem piece (Dschinni, [0022]-[0026], Figs. 1-4), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Zoumut in view of Dschinni does not teach the apparatus ii) wherein the stem piece further comprises at least one redirection channel positioned within an interior of the stem piece and coupled to at least one air inflow aperture of the one or more air inflow apertures, the at least one redirection channel comprises at least one outflow channel opening, wherein the at least one redirection channel is configured to direct air received from the at least one air inflow aperture to the at least one outflow channel opening.
With respect to ii), Khachatryan, directed to hookahs ([0002]), teaches a hookah bowl apparatus ([0049]-[0051], Figs. 1-3; Hookah device 100 comprises head 102 which includes bowl portion 302) comprising:
a stem piece ([0049]-[0051], Figs. 1-3; Bowl portion 302 defines a stem piece),
with an open upper end and an open lower end ([0052], [0055], Figs. 3, 4C; Bowl portion 302 has an open upper end which is covered by bowl top 306, and an open lower end at tapered interface 400) and
a heating chamber, between the open upper end and the open lower end, capable of holding heatable consumable matter ([0055]-[0056], 4C, 5A, 5B; Pod recess 518 is positioned between the open upper end and the open lower end of bowl portion 302. Pod recess is capable of holding consumable pod 300, which is heated by heater 308);
a removable lid sealably coupled to the upper end of the stem piece ([0055]-[0056], 4C, 5A, 5B; Bowl top 306 is sealably coupled to upper end of bowl portion 302),
one or more air inflow apertures placed on the removable lid ([0055], Figs. 4C, 5A, 5B; Bowl top 306 includes top inlet 504 for the inflow of air);
where the stem piece further comprises: an at least one redirection channel to redirect air entering the stem piece from the one or more air inflow apertures ([0055], Figs. 4C, 5B; Smoke passageway 512 redirects the air entering bowl portion 302 from top inlet 504)
the at least one redirection channel including an at least one outflow channel opening ([0052], [0055], Figs. 4C, 5B; Smoke passageway 512 redirects the air toward an outflow channel opening located at the bottom of the bowl portion 302 before tapered interface 400),
the at least one airflow channel directing the air flow from the at least one of the one or more air inflow apertures through the at least one airflow channel to the at least one outflow channel opening ([0052], [0055], Figs. 4C, 5B; Smoke passageway 512 redirects the air flow from top inlet 504 through smoke passageway 512 to the outflow channel opening located at the bottom of the bowl portion 302 before tapered interface 400).
However, Khachatryan does not disclose the apparatus wherein the stem piece further comprises at least one redirection channel positioned within an interior of the stem piece and coupled to at least one air inflow aperture of the one or more air inflow apertures, the at least one redirection channel comprises at least one outflow channel opening, wherein the at least one redirection channel is configured to direct air received from the at least one air inflow aperture to the at least one outflow channel opening. While Khachatryan teaches a redirection channel direction directing air from an inflow aperture to an outflow channel opening, the redirection channel is formed in a cavity partially defined by the inner surface of the stem piece. Additionally, the redirection channel is not a separate component attached the stem piece, and is not positioned directly at or near one or more locations of, and open to, the one or more air inflow apertures. Zoumut teaches one or more air inflow apertures are placed on the stem piece as described above; however, because the air inflow apertures taught by Zoumut are located near the bottom of the stem piece, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to provide the apparatus taught by Zoumut with the redirection channel taught by Khachatryan to form the invention as claimed. Therefore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus wherein the stem piece further comprises at least one redirection channel positioned within an interior of the stem piece and coupled to at least one air inflow aperture of the one or more air inflow apertures, the at least one redirection channel comprises at least one outflow channel opening, wherein the at least one redirection channel is configured to direct air received from the at least one air inflow aperture to the at least one outflow channel opening.
The prior art alone or in combination with references does not disclose “wherein the stem piece further comprises at least one redirection channel positioned within an interior of the stem piece and coupled to at least one air inflow aperture of the one or more air inflow apertures, the at least one redirection channel comprises at least one outflow channel opening, wherein the at least one redirection channel is configured to direct air received from the at least one air inflow aperture to the at least one outflow channel opening”. As such, Claims 1 and 15 are allowed. Claims 2-11, 14, and 16-17 are similarly allowed by virtue of their dependencies.
Conclusion
/J.M.M./
Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755