DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicants’ amendment and remarks filed on 03/03/2026, in which claim 1 is amended, claims 5, 7, 9-10, and 12 are cancelled, and claim 21 is newly added. Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim in the office action of 05/07/2025.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 11, 13-16, and 21 are pending and are examined on the merits herein.
The Declaration of Von Borstel filed 03/03/2026 is acknowledged and will be further discussed below.
Priority
The instant application is a CON of 15/329,647 filed on 01/27/2017, which is a 371 of PCT/US2015/045896, filed on 08/19/2015, which claims domestic benefit to 62/039,052, filed on 08/19/2014. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as follows: The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994). The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 62/039,052, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Although the provisional application provides support for raising plasma uridine to a level greater than 30 micromolar, it fails to provide support for an upper end of plasma uridine concentration. Thus the scope of all instant claims, which requires raising plasma uridine in the subject to a level of at most about 50 micromolar (instant claim 1), including dependent claim 13 which requires a maximum level from 45 μM to 55 μM, are not supported by the provisional application.
Furthermore, the provisional application does not provide support for particular disorders beyond limiting a defect in a pathway in which a glycosylation reaction involving a UDP-sugar is at fault (Provisional specification, page 1, lines 18-20). Thus the scope of the instant claims which further the limit the disorder of glycosylation to a Type II disorder (instant claim 2), Type I or Type III disorder (instant claim 3), a GNE Myopathy, a PGM-1 deficiency, or a GPT deficiency (instant claim 16), a disorder that affects the development and function of the brain (instant claim 21) is not supported by the provisional application. Similarly the provisional application does not provide support for limitations of the dose according to body surface area. Thus the scope of the instant claims which further the limit the administration to a dose according to body surface area (instant claim 4 and 6) is not supported by the provisional application.
Accordingly, pending claims 1-4, 6, 8, 11, 13-16, and 21 are not entitled to the benefit of the provisional application and receive the filing date of 08/19/2015, which is the filing date of PCT/US2015/045896, which provides support for these claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) dated 03/03/2026 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
The following are new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendment, in which claim 1 is amended to recite that uridine triacetate is administered in an amount sufficient to raise plasma uridine in the subject to a level of about 30 to about 50 μM, and claim 21 is newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tegtmeyer et al. (N Engl J Med, 2014; IDS 03/12/2025, and Supplementary Appendix; PTO-892 05/07/2025) further in view of Garcia et al (Brain Research, 2005; PTO-892 05/07/2025) and Karle et al. (The Journal of Biological Chemistry, 1984; IDS 03/03/2026).
Tegtmeyer discusses congenital disorders of glycosylation, including the deficiency of N-glycosylation caused by mutation of phosphoglucomutase 1 (PGM1) (abstract and page 534, paragraph 1). Tegtmeyer discloses a study of patients who were identified as having clinical features suggestive of congenital disorders of glycosylation (page 534 paragraph 3). The diagnosis was confirmed through homozygosity mapping followed by whole exome sequencing to identify sequence variants that might be associated with the disease, which found mutations in the gene for PGM1 (page 534, paragraph 5). Tegtmeyer indicates that the patients in this study had features of both CDG-I and CDG-II (figure 1), which indicates a genetic glycosylation disorder showing features of both Type I and II. Tegtmeyer teaches that fibroblasts isolated from the patients were treated with galactose and showed substantially enhanced glycosylation. The glycosylation of the fibroblasts was further enhanced by the addition of both galactose and uridine to the culture medium, resulting in essentially normal glycosylation of a test protein (page 539, paragraph 2). In particular, the galactose used was D-galactose (Supplementary Appendix page 11, paragraph 2), and the fibroblast cells were supplemented with uridine at a concentration of 100 μM (Supplementary Appendix Figure S10). Tegtmeyer further teaches that the oral consumption of galactose by a healthy volunteer confirmed the bioavailability of this sugar. The plasma concentration of galactose reached a maximum of 0.7 mM at 50 minutes and decreased to baseline levels after 2 hours (page 539, paragraph 3). Galactose was then administered to patients with glycosylation deficiency diseases, resulting in substantial improvement in glycosylation of the total serum N-glycome (page 539, paragraph 4).
The teachings of Tegtmeyer differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that Tegtmeyer does not disclose administration of uridine triacetate (instant claim 1).
Garcia discusses the neuroprotective action of the oral uridine prodrug PN401 (triacetyluridine) in the modulation of the activity of the anticancer agent 5-fluorouracil (page 165, paragraph 2). Garcia does so in the context of discussing correction of pyrimidine deficiency, which is also known to occur in cases where there is a genetic deficiency of the pyrimidine synthesizing enzymes (page 165, paragraph 1). Garcia teaches that pyrimidines and their derivatives are involved in a wide variety of important cellular processes including glycosylation reactions (page 164, paragraph 1). Uridine itself is poorly absorbed after oral administration, resulting in osmotic diarrhea at doses required to elevate plasma uridine in humans into the anticipated maximally effective therapeutic range for neuroprotection (page 165, paragraph 2). Delivery of uridine can instead be accomplished by administration of triacetyluridine, which is an orally bioavailable uridine prodrug that has been used clinically to overcome the negative effects of uridine administration (page 165, paragraph 2).
Karle provides a study of the effect of plasma concentrations of uridine on pyrimidine biosynthesis for applications in chemotherapy. Karle discloses that cells were cultured in a medium where the concentration of uridine was maintained within the concentration range found in plasma. This experiment was performed in order to determine if such concentrations are sufficient to satisfy the pyrimidine requirements of a population of dividing cells and to determine whether cells utilize de novo or salvage pathways when exposed to plasma concentrations of uridine (abstract). The experiments of Karle involve infusion of uridine infusion into the culture at a rate to offset uridine removal, and the uridine concentration is thereby maintained at plasma concentrations. The data demonstrate that plasma concentrations of uridine utilize their salvage pathways and indicate that circulating uridine is a factor in antipyrimidine cancer chemotherapy (page 67, paragraph 3). Karle also teaches that when cell cultures were infused with uridine to maintain a constant concentration, it was found that plasma concentrations of uridine can reverse growth inhibition by PALA (paragraph bridging pages 71-72). Karle concludes that, since the concentration of uridine in the plasma is adequate to satisfy the requirements of L1210 cells for uracil nucleotides and since L1210 cells preferentially utilize their salvage pathway over their de nova pathway when exposed to plasma concentrations of uridine, plasma uridine may be an important factor in antipyrimidine chemotherapy (page 72, paragraph 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to administer to a subject with a congenital disorder of glycosylation a composition raising the subject’s plasma uridine concentration because Tegtmeyer discloses that administration of D-galactose and uridine to cultured cells isolated from CDG patients resulted in essentially normal glycosylation in cells isolated from CDG patients and thereby suggests that administering D-galactose and uridine to the patients would similarly result in improved glycosylation in patients, and Karle suggests that the concentration of uridine infused into cell culture can be understood as reflecting the concentration of uridine available in the plasma for biosynthesis pathways requiring uridine. Thus, although Tegtmeyer teaches in vitro concentrations and does not teach the level of plasma uridine in a subject, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the patient’s plasma uridine levels, starting with plasma uridine at a concentration of 100 μM, because Tegtmeyer teaches that uridine supplementation to PGM1 mutated cells at a concentration of 100 μM improves glycosylation and thus teaches that uridine levels in cells is a result effective variable such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the concentration of uridine in cells and thereby optimize the glycosylation in patient cells, and Karle suggests that the concentration of uridine administered to cells in vitro reflects the plasma concentration of uridine. Furthermore, by measuring the plasma concentration of galactose to confirm its bioavailability, Tegtmeyer teaches that plasma concentration is an indicator of the bioavailability compounds for the treatment of glycosylation deficiency diseases. Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the plasma uridine levels of patients in order to optimize the concentration of uridine in cells and thereby optimize the glycosylation in patient cells.
Furthermore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select uridine triacetate as a uridine source for administration to patients in the method suggested by Tegtmeyer because Garcia teaches that oral administration of uridine itself causes adverse effects for patients. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in administering uridine triacetate to increase uridine levels in patients because Garcia teaches that uridine is an orally bioavailable uridine prodrug that has been used clinically to overcome the negative effects of uridine administration.
Regarding claims 8 and 11, although Tegtmeyer does not teach uridine dosage amount or frequency, it would have been prima facie obvious to a practitioner of ordinary skill in the art to optimize dosage amounts and frequency in order to maintain essentially normal glycosylation in cells and thereby achieve the outcome of normal levels of glycosylation in a patient, because Tegtmeyer teaches that combined optimal supplementation with galactose and uridine achieved fully normal glycosylation in patient cells.
Claims 1, 8, 11, 14-15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng et al. (Human Molecular Genetics, 2015; IDS 03/12/2025) further in view of Garcia et al. (Brain Research, 2005; PTO-892 05/07/2025) and Karle et al. (The Journal of Biological Chemistry, 1984; IDS 03/03/2026).
Ng discloses a study of a patient suffering from biallelic mutations in CAD, who shows decreased levels of CTP, UTP and nearly all UDP-activated sugars that serve as donors for glycosylation (abstract). Ng teaches that the patient had delays in expressive language and fine motor development (page 3051, paragraph 4). Ng tested UDP nucleotide sugar levels as well as metabolic flux of aspartate into the de novo synthesis of DNA and RNA to determine pathogenicity of CAD variants (paragraph bridging pages 3052-3053). HPLC analysis of nucleotide sugars from two control fibroblast lines and UDP4003 fibroblasts showed that the patient’s cells resembled cells in having reduced levels of UDP-GlcNAc, UDP-GalNAc, UDP-Glc, UDP-Gal as well as the nucleotides UTP and CTP. Administration of 30 µM uridine restored all the reduced metabolites in UDP4003 fibroblasts to control levels (page 3053, paragraph 2, and figure 3). Ng concludes that uridine rescue of the biochemical defects suggest a potential therapy in CAD-deficient patients (page 3055, paragraph 9). Thus, uridine supplementation is a potential therapy for this new glycosylation disorder (abstract).
The teachings of Ng differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that Ng does not disclose administration of uridine triacetate or the plasma uridine concentration of the patient (instant claim 1).
Garcia discusses the neuroprotective action of the oral uridine prodrug PN401 (triacetyluridine) in the modulation of the activity of the anticancer agent 5-fluorouracil (page 165, paragraph 2). Garcia does so in the context of discussing correction of pyrimidine deficiency, which is also known to occur in cases where there is a genetic deficiency of the pyrimidine synthesizing enzymes (page 165, paragraph 1). Garcia teaches that pyrimidines and their derivatives are involved in a wide variety of important cellular processes including glycosylation reactions (page 164, paragraph 1). Uridine itself is poorly absorbed after oral administration, resulting in osmotic diarrhea at doses required to elevate plasma uridine in humans into the anticipated maximally effective therapeutic range for neuroprotection (page 165, paragraph 2). Delivery of uridine can instead be accomplished by administration of triacetyluridine, which is an orally bioavailable uridine prodrug that has been used clinically to overcome the negative effects of uridine administration (page 165, paragraph 2).
Karle provides a study of the effect of plasma concentrations of uridine on pyrimidine biosynthesis for applications in chemotherapy. Karle discloses that cells were cultured in a medium where the concentration of uridine was maintained within the concentration range found in plasma. This experiment was performed in order to determine if such concentrations are sufficient to satisfy the pyrimidine requirements of a population of dividing cells and to determine whether cells utilize de novo or salvage pathways when exposed to plasma concentrations of uridine (abstract). The experiments of Karle involve infusion of uridine infusion into the culture at a rate to offset uridine removal, and the uridine concentration is thereby maintained at plasma concentrations. The data demonstrate that plasma concentrations of uridine utilize their salvage pathways and indicate that circulating uridine is a factor in antipyrimidine cancer chemotherapy (page 67, paragraph 3). Karle also teaches that when cell cultures were infused with uridine to maintain a constant concentration, it was found that plasma concentrations of uridine can reverse growth inhibition by PALA (paragraph bridging pages 71-72). Karle concludes that, since the concentration of uridine in the plasma is adequate to satisfy the requirements of L1210 cells for uracil nucleotides and since L1210 cells preferentially utilize their salvage pathway over their de nova pathway when exposed to plasma concentrations of uridine, plasma uridine may be an important factor in antipyrimidine chemotherapy (page 72, paragraph 2).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to raise the plasma uridine concentration to 30 µM in patients with a glycosylation disorder caused by CAD mutations because Ng discloses that administration of 30 µM uridine to cells in vivo restored the UDP-activated sugars in model cells similar to those isolated from CAD patients and Karle suggests that the concentration of uridine infused into cell culture can be understood as reflecting the concentration of uridine available in the plasma for biosynthesis pathways requiring uridine. Ng suggests that administering a composition providing uridine to the patient’s cells at a dosage that provides 30 µM uridine to cells would result in improved levels UDP-activated sugars and thus improved glycosylation in the patient. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Ng teaches that uridine supplementation is a potential therapy for CAD-deficient patients.
Furthermore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select uridine triacetate as a uridine source for administration to patients in the method suggested by Ng because Garcia teaches that oral administration of uridine itself causes adverse effects for patients. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in administering uridine triacetate to increase uridine levels in patients because Garcia teaches that uridine is an orally bioavailable uridine prodrug that has been used clinically to overcome the negative effects of uridine administration.
Regarding claims 8 and 11, although Ng does not teach uridine dosage amount or frequency, it would have been prima facie obvious to a practitioner of ordinary skill in the art to optimize dosage amounts and frequency in order to maintain normal levels of UDP-activated sugars in cells and thereby achieve the outcome of normal levels of glycosylation in a patient, because Ng teaches that administration of uridine achieved fully normal levels of UDP-activated sugars deficient model cells.
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tegtmeyer et al. (N Engl J Med, 2014; IDS filed 03/12/2025, and Supplementary Appendix; PTO-892 05/07/2025) in view of Garcia et al (Brain Research, 2005; PTO-892 05/07/2025) and Karle et al. (The Journal of Biological Chemistry, 1984; IDS 03/03/2026), as applied to claim 1, further in view of Forbes et al. (Pediatrics, 1959; PTO-892 05/07/2025).
The combined teaching of Tegtmeyer,Garcia, and Karle are as above. Furthermore, Tegtmeyer teaches that patients included in the study of PGM1 deficiency includes pediatric patients, for example patients 1.1, 13.1, and 15 at 12, 5, and 3 years of age respectively (Table S1).
The combined teachings of Tegtmeyer, Garcia, and Karle differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that they do not teach administration of a composition comprising uridine triacetate based on the body surface area of the subject.
Forbes discusses the use of body surface area as a basis of dosage, indicating that dosage of many therapeutic agents is far from a simple linear function of body weight (page 3, paragraph 1). Forbes teaches that dosing by body surface area provides a practical means of standardizing doses of a number of drugs and fluids for subjects of all ages (page 3, paragraph 3), and provides a practical basis for certain aspects of drug dosage in the pediatric age group (page 5, paragraph 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the amount of uridine provided to a pediatric patient through the method suggested by Tegtmeyer and Karle, administered in the form of a uridine triacetate prodrug as taught by Garcia, based on patient body surface area as taught by Forbes, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of uridine triacetate administered to pediatric patients in order to provide normal levels of glycosylation based on the body surface area of a pediatric patient because Forbes teaches that it is known in the art to administer drugs based on the body surface area of pediatric patients. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Forbes teaches that body surface area provides a practical basis for calculating drug dosage in the pediatric age group. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Tegtmeyer teaches that the study of PGM1 deficiency includes pediatric patients and thereby suggests the administration of uridine to the cells of pediatric patients.
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng et al. (Human Molecular Genetics, 2015; IDS 03/12/2025) in view of Garcia et al (Brain Research, 2005; PTO-892 05/07/2025) and Karle et al. (The Journal of Biological Chemistry, 1984; IDS 03/03/2026), as applied to claim 1, further in view of Forbes et al. (Pediatrics, 1959; PTO-892 05/07/2025).
The combined teaching of Ng, Garcia, and Karle are as above. Furthermore, Ng teaches the treatment of a patient who is 4 years of age (page 3051, paragraph 4).
The combined teachings of Ng, Garcia, and Karle differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that they do not teach administration of a composition comprising uridine triacetate based on the body surface area of the subject.
Forbes discusses the use of body surface area as a basis of dosage, indicating that dosage of many therapeutic agents is far from a simple linear function of body weight (page 3, paragraph 1). Forbes teaches that dosing by body surface area provides a practical means of standardizing doses of a number of drugs and fluids for subjects of all ages (page 3, paragraph 3), and provides a practical basis for certain aspects of drug dosage in the pediatric age group (page 5, paragraph 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the amount of uridine provided to a pediatric patient through the method suggested by Ng and Karle, administered in the form of a uridine triacetate prodrug as taught by Garcia, based on patient body surface area as taught by Forbes, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of uridine triacetate administered to pediatric patients in order to provide normal levels of glycosylation based on the body surface area of a pediatric patient because Forbes teaches that it is known in the art to administer drugs based on the body surface area of pediatric patients. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Forbes teaches that body surface area provides a practical basis for calculating drug dosage in the pediatric age group. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Ng treatment of a pediatric patient and thereby suggests the admi0nistration of uridine to the cells of pediatric patients.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Tegtmeyer not only does not guide the skilled artisan to the claimed concentration range, but that Tegtmeyer teaches away from such concentrations by showing that 100 µM uridine is insufficient to treat glycosylation deficiency in patient cells (Remarks, paragraph bridging page 5-6). This is not persuasive
Tegtmeyer discloses that administration of D-galactose and uridine resulted in essentially normal glycosylation in cells isolated from CDG patients. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that in vitro studies on cells derived from CDG patients provide suggestions for treatment of CDG patients. Thus the teachings of Tegtmeyer teach that administration of D-galactose and uridine to patients would similarly result in improved glycosylation in patients. Furthermore, the teachings of Tegtmeyer provide one of ordinary skill in the art with motivation to optimize the amounts of D-galactose and uridine in cells because Tegtmeyer teaches that the amount of uridine present in cells – a baseline un-supplemented amount versus the amount resulting from 100 µM uridine supplementation – significantly changes that glycosylation levels in patient cells.
Applicant further argues that, because Tegtmeyer discloses administration only in vitro to fibroblast cells and not to subjects, one of ordinary skill in the art would not know how to administer uridine to a subject in need thereof, and that the determination of the target plasma uridine concentrations of about 30 μM to about 50 μM in subjects in need thereof was not a routine or trivial activity (remarks, page 6, paragraph 1 and Declaration paragraph 8). Applicant argues that this range achieves the critical balance of the minimum drug dose that yields a maximum treatment effect (remarks, page 7, paragraph 2 and Declaration paragraph 14). This is not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument amounts to an argument from unexpected results. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) states that, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. MPEP 716.02(d)(II) states that, in order to establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. Although Applicant asserts that the claimed range achieves the critical balance of the minimum drug dose that yields a maximum treatment effect, there is no data to support this statement of criticality. In order to demonstrate the criticality of the claimed range, Applicant must provide a comparison of tests at dosages outside the claimed range with tests of dosages within the claimed range. Applicant has not demonstrated administered dosage of the prior art does not achieve the claimed plasma concentration. Furthermore, MPEP 716.02(b)(I) states that the evidence relied upon should establish unexpected results must establish that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance. Thus, in order to establish that the claimed range is critical, Applicant must show that the differences in dosing within the claimed range are statistically significant as compared to dosing outside of the claimed range.
Applicant also argues that the teachings of Garcia would direct one of ordinary skill in that art to increase levels of uridine to 100 µM or higher because Garcia teaches that maximal protection from azide toxicity was achieved with levels of uridine 100 µM or higher treating glycosylation deficiency in patient cells (remarks, page 8, paragraph 1). This is not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument amounts to an argument of bodily incorporation. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In the instant rejection, Garcia is relied upon to teach administration of uridine triacetate to increase plasma uridine levels, and not for the plasma concentration of uridine triacetate needed to treat a glycosylation disorder. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the dosages taught by Garcia are for maximal protection from azide toxicity and do not necessarily provide an optimal dosage for the treatment of a deficiency of N-glycosylation caused by genetic mutation. Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would not conclude that the concentration taught by Garcia would limit optimization of the dosage of uridine triacetate administered in the treatment of congenital disorders of glycosylation.
Because Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, the instant claims are rejected for the reasons of record with modifications made to account for the claim amendments filed 03/03/2026.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/S.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1693