Specification
The specification and drawings have been reviewed and no clear informalities or objections have been noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bour (US 2,431,676) in view of Levine (US 2,623,611).
Regarding claims 1-3, Bour discloses an acetylene fluid supply package (such as a cylinder 10, see Drawing), comprising
a pressure vessel having an interior volume (cylinder);
a porous filler in the pressure vessel (such as adsorbent, col. 1 lines 28-33);
a solvent within the porous filler, said solvent solubilizing with acetylene absorbed within the improved solvent (such as triethyl phosphate, see claim 9 of Bour), wherein the fill pressure of the acetylene fluid supply package is in the range of about 200-300psig (see col. 1 lines 44-51 which discloses that the pressure is between 10-30 atmospheres).
Bour teaches loading triethyl phosphate into the cylinder but does not explicitly teach how much TEP is placed in the cylinder per liter. However, as is known in the art, the amount of acetylene that can be dissolved by triethyl phosphate is known and is associated with a certain volume of acetylene (see Table 1 is Levine which discloses the volume of acetylene that will dissolve in a single volume of triethyl phosphate). It is also known that a cylinder’s capacity for acetylene will be adjustable based on the amount of triethyl phosphate that is placed in the cylinder (more triethyl phosphate in the cylinder, the more acetylene will be dissolved). As such, adjusting the amount of triethyl phosphate to the claimed amount would have been an obvious modification by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention in order to achieve the desired amount of acetylene within the cylinder. One of ordinary skill would have placed the desired amount of triethyl phosphate in the cylinder to achieve the desired amount of acetylene in the cylinder. A higher desired amount would lend itself for more triethyl phosphate (up to the volume capacity of the cylinder) while a lower desired amount of acetylene would lend itself to a lower amount of triethyl phosphate.
Furthermore, while Bour does not explicitly teach the claimed pressure, it does teach an overlapping range (10-30 atmospheres, col. 1 lines 44-49). As such, arriving at the claimed range would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 4, the limitations regarding the temperature and pressure of the cylinder are directed to a manner of operating the claimed apparatus. Bour discloses an apparatus that CAN be operated in this way. Regarding limitations recited in claim 4 which are directed to a manner of operating disclosed system, neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP §2114 and 2115. Further, process limitations do not have a patentable weight in an apparatus claim. See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969) that states "Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and to an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.
Claim(s) 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bour (US 2,431,676) in view of Jha (US 2010/0154630) and Levine (US 2,623,611).
Regarding claims 5, 8 and 9, Bour discloses an acetylene fluid supply package (such as a cylinder 10, see Drawing), comprising
a pressure vessel having an interior volume (cylinder);
a porous filler in the pressure vessel (such as adsorbent, col. 1 lines 28-33);
a solvent within the porous filler, said solvent solubilizing with acetylene absorbed within the improved solvent (such as triethyl phosphate, see claim 9 of Bour), wherein the fill pressure of the acetylene fluid supply package is in the range of about 200-300psig (see col. 1 lines 44-51 which discloses that the pressure is between 10-30 atmospheres).
wherein the at least one acetylene fluid supply package is configured to allow a discharge of the acetylene fluid under dispensing conditions (see col. 2 lines 24-29 which discloses discharging of the cylinder).
Bour teaches a cylinder for the acetylene but does not teach a tool that utilizes the acetylene attached to the cylinder.
Jha also disclose an acetylene cylinder (see abstract).
Jha teaches attaching the acetylene cylinder to a process tool that is utilized for manufacturing semiconductors (see Fig. 5 and paragraph 7).
As such, it would have been obvious to connect the semiconductor process tool of Jha to the cylinder of Bour in order to provide a means to transport acetylene into the semiconductor manufacturing tools.
Furthermore, Bour teaches loading triethyl phosphate into the cylinder but does not explicitly teach how much TEP is placed in the cylinder per liter. However, as is known in the art, the amount of acetylene that can be dissolved by triethyl phosphate is known and is associated with a certain volume of acetylene (see Table 1 is Levine which discloses the volume of acetylene that will dissolve in a single volume of triethyl phosphate). It is also known that a cylinder’s capacity for acetylene will be adjustable based on the amount of triethyl phosphate that is placed in the cylinder (more triethyl phosphate in the cylinder, the more acetylene will be dissolved). As such, adjusting the amount of triethyl phosphate to the claimed amount would have been an obvious modification by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention in order to achieve the desired amount of acetylene within the cylinder. One of ordinary skill would have placed the desired amount of triethyl phosphate in the cylinder to achieve the desired amount of acetylene in the cylinder. A higher desired amount would lend itself for more triethyl phosphate (up to the volume capacity of the cylinder) while a lower desired amount of acetylene would lend itself to a lower amount of triethyl phosphate.
Furthermore, while Bour does not explicitly teach the claimed pressure, it does teach an overlapping range (10-30 atmospheres, col. 1 lines 44-49). As such, arriving at the claimed range would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 6, Bour, as modified above, further discloses the process tool comprises a chemical vapor deposition tool (such as the semiconductor manufacturing system).
Regarding claim 7, Bour, as modified by Jha, further discloses at least one at least one acetylene fluid supply package is contained in a gas cabinet (see Jha paragraph 31 which discloses a cylinder cabinet associated with gas sensors and controllers).
Relevant Prior Art
US 2,623,611 – Discloses the solubility of acetylene in triethyl phosphate but is silent regarding a pressure vessel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J MERKLING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725