DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment and argument filed 06/03/2026, in response to the non-final rejection, are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Any previous rejection or objection not mentioned herein is withdrawn.
Claims 1-20 are pending of which claims 1-10 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/28/2024.
Claims 11-20 are being examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han Peter Ingemar Claesson et. al. (US20140302227A1), hereinafter Clasesson, and Arinzeh et. al. (US20100233234A1), and Michael West et. al. (JP2012533571A). This is a new rejection based on the amendments and arguments filed on 06/03/2026.
Claesson teaches “the primary scaffold and the secondary scaffold, can each be independently loaded with living cells, cell suspension, with a pharmaceutically effective agent or agents or with growth modulator” (see 0087) and teaches those cells to be chondrocytes (see 0088).
Claesson teaches that the initially oversized double-structured tissue implant (DSTI) is first cut and trimmed to match the defect (see 0033 and fig 9A and 9B). With the broadest reasonable interpretation, the oversized double-structured implant when considered could be configured for a plurality of different cartilage repair implants for a plurality of different human patients depending on the size of the implants needed. In addition, this limitation appears to be an intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use.
Regarding claim 12 and 14, Claesson teaches “typically the DSTI has a rectangular, circular or oval shape with dimensions of about 50 mm and a vertical thickness of about 1 to 5 mm, preferable 1-2 mm. Preferred dimensions of the DSTI and, therefore, the dimensions of the primary scaffold are 50×50 mm×1.5 mm, with pores oriented substantially vertically, said pores having a pore size of from about 100 to about 400 μm, preferably about 200±100 μm and pore length of 1.5 mm. However, dimensions of the primary scaffold may be any that are required by the tissue defect to be repaired and that can be prepared by the process of the invention” (see 0166).
Regarding claim 15, Claesson teaches “wherein said scaffold has a substantially homogenous defined porosity and uniformly distributed randomly and non-randomly organized pores of substantially the same size of defined diameter of about 300±100 μm” (see 0023).
Regarding claim 17, Claesson teaches wherein the collagen consists of Type 1 or Type II collagen (see claims 45-46).
Claesson does not specifically teach wherein the cells are universal cells are pluripotent stem cells.
Arinzeh’s general disclosure is to systems and methods for creating hydrogel composites for cartilage repair (see abstract).
Arinzeh teaches “an allogeneic MSC approach provides an off-the-shelf therapy, where allogeneic MSCs are used as universal cells and in turn, provide cells to a much larger clinical population. They are also currently in clinical trials for various disorders or conditions, including cartilage repair, as an allogeneic cell source” (see 0005).
Arinzeh teaches that “multiple growth factors and morphogens such as Wnts, transforming growth factor-beta, and fibroblast growth factors may also be present to support, promote and/or contribute to the regulation of the differentiation process. The present invention extends these findings by, in part, combining MSCs at relatively high cell densities with scaffolds that provide appropriate cues similar to the native extracellular matrix during development” (see 0008).
West’s general disclosure is to methods and compositions related to the production, identification and use of embryonic progenitor cell lines capable of experiencing chondrogenesis (see abstract).
West teaches “however, mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) have two hurdles for use in cartilage regeneration. First, the use of cells as allografts is problematic because of the limited proliferative capacity of adult MSCs, even though the cells can grow to specific amounts, they are capable of forming cartilage. Are often lost relatively quickly. The second hurdle is that MSCs, such as bone marrow derived MSCs, form hypertrophic chondrocytes characterized by high levels of COL10A1 and IHH expression. The role in the development of these chondrocytes is to recruit blood vessels and osteoblasts, which then die. Hypertrophic chondrocytes are found, for example, in the growth plate region of long bones. They are also found in fracture sites where they play an important role in bone formation as well. Thus, the use of MSCs in the treatment of trauma and, for example, cartilage degenerative diseases such as osteoarthritis has mixed results. In addition, there are many types of cartilage in living bodies. Ear elastic cartilage has a different molecular composition than the nose, sternum, trachea and joints that support weight. Thus, in the field of regenerative medicine, particularly in the field of cartilage regeneration and repair, there is a great need for new cellular preparations that produce commercial quantities of various types of permanent, hypertrophic chondrocytes. Aspects of the invention include methods and compositions related to the production, identification and use of embryonic progenitor cell lines that can lead to cartilage formation. A number of exemplary chondrogenic cell lines derived from primitive stem cells are disclosed. The chondrogenic cell lines described herein are unique molecules for use in research and therapy because they are healthy, can grow over 40 passages, and have site-specific purity” (see page 6, para. 5-7).
West teaches that “the term “pluripotent stem cell” is used interchangeably with the term “primitive stem cell” as defined below” (see page 9, para. 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to persons skilled in the art to create the instant invention as claimed because Claesson teaches creating such a composition for cartilage repair and selecting the size to excise would be a matter of judicious selection. Claesson teaches the size thickness of the sheet to be within the range being claimed. Deciding to use the sheet to be configured to be used for multiple patients is well within the purview of any artisan given the prior art as this step is merely selecting sizes in which to excise the implanted components. Additionally, it would have been obvious to use universal cells as opposed to autologous cells taught by Clasesson, because as Arinzeh teaches universal cells can provide cells to a much larger clinical population. It would have further been obvious to used pluripotent (primitive) cells as taught by West as opposed to MSCs because as West describes there are hurdles in dealing with MSCs such as limited proliferation capacity and the use of MSCs in the treatment of trauma and, for example, cartilage degenerative diseases such as osteoarthritis has mixed results. Thus including this component along in the bulk implant material would have been prima facie obvious.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han Peter Ingemar Claesson et. al. (US20140302227A1) hereinafter Clasesson and Arinzeh et. al. (US20100233234A1), and Michael West et. al. (JP2012533571A) as applied to claims 11-17 and 19-20 above, and further in view of Diekman et. al. (Cartilage tissue engineering using differentiated and purified induced pluripotent stem cells, PNAS, November 20, 2012, vol. 109, No. 47). This is a new rejection based on the amendments and arguments filed on 06/03/2026.
Claesson, Arinzeh and West teach the cartilage repair composition as claimed however is silent on the collagen comprising growth factor beta 1.
Diekman teaches “induced pluripotent stem cells (iPSCs) have the potential to provide an abundant cell source for tissue engineering, as well as generating patient-matched in vitro models to study genetic and environmental factors in cartilage repair and osteoarthritis” (see p 1, 1st para., left column). “As somatic cells that have been genetically reprogrammed to a pluripotent state, iPSCs demonstrate significant expansion potential while maintaining their multilineage differentiation capacity” (see p 1, 1st para., right column). Diekman also teaches growing cells in for monolayer and in the presence of a bioactive agent (TGF-β3) expansion (see p 2, right column, first para.).
“iPSCs can be induced to a chondrogenic lineage characterized by high production of cartilage- specific matrix at the gene and protein levels. Using these cells, we sought to produce cartilage tissue-engineered constructs to establish a model system that harnesses the power of mouse genetics for in vitro studies of cartilage injury and repair” (see p 3-4, last para of 3 first para. of p 4).
Regarding claim 18, Diekman teaches “Previous work with mouse and human embryonic stem cells has demonstrated that chondrogenesis of pluripotent cells can be initiated by exposure to growth factors such as the bone morphogenetic proteins (BMPs) (19, 20) and transforming growth factor-beta (TGF-β) (21, 22)” (see p 1, right column 2nd para.).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to persons skilled in the art to use pluripotent stem cells which can actively differentiate into chondrocytes because as discussed by Diekman iPSC’s have the potential to provide an abundant cell source for tissue engineering, as well as generating patient-matched in vitro models which can be used for creating high production of cartilage-specific matrixes. Thus, using pluripotent stem cells and chondrocytes which are differentiated from pluripotent stem cells would have been obvious before the effective filing date.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the previous relied upon art only discloses using MSCs in the composition, however the Office brings in new art from West which discusses why one would want to use pluripotent stem cells as currently claimed.
Conclusion
Currently no claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JACOB A BOECKELMAN Examiner, Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655