Examiner Note
Examiner notes that the claims stand noncompliant as the markings to at least claim 16 do not indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version of the claims. For the purposes of compact prosecution the claims will be examined, however this courtesy will not be administered forthgoing.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 31 August 2026. These drawings are unacceptable and have not been entered. The drawings are not in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) as not all figures appearing on the immediate prior entered version of the sheets are included.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with C.F.R 1.84(h)(3) because the plane upon which a sectional view is taken should be indicated on the view from which the section is cut by a broken line. The ends of the broken line should be designated by Arabic or Roman numerals corresponding to the view number of the sectional view, and should have arrows to indicate the direction of sight. Hatching must be used to indicate section portions of an object, and must be made by regularly spaced oblique parallel lines spaced sufficiently apart to enable the lines to be distinguished without difficulty. MPEP 608.02 V. At least figures 1 and 2 do not use hatching to indicate all section portions.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, both of the sealing member and seal being urged by means of the first elastic member towards the container of claim 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a first rotation lock element to engage with a corresponding rotation lock element of the container thereby preventing the support member from rotating relative to the container in claim 8, a second rotation lock element to engage with a corresponding second rotation lock element of a cover member and/or accessing member thereby preventing the support member from rotating relative to the cover member and/or the accessing member of claim 8, a corresponding rotation lock element to engage with a rotation lock element of the support structure thereby preventing a connected support member from rotating relative to the container of claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation of claim 16 that “the container is selected from: a glass container, a ceramic container, a glass-ceramic container, and a container of amorphous plastic or a container of glass like plastic” is led to be indefinite as it is unclear if the claim requires the container to be one of the listed materials or to be glass, ceramic, glass-ceramic, and either amorphous plastic or glass like plastic. In light of the original disclosure and in order to apply art to the limitation it will be interpreted as the former, however further clarification and or correction is required.
Claim 20 and its dependents are indefinite because it is not clear whether claim 20 is drawn to the sub-combination of a support member only, for use with some container, or whether the claim is drawn to the combination of a support member and a container. This is because while some portion of the claim indicate that what is claimed is the sub-combination (note claim 20 line 1, for example), other portions of the claim indicate that what is claimed is the combination (note the structural limitation on lines 2-3, requiring the second elastic member be positioned axially closer to the container than the first elastic member). It is noted further in connection with this limitation that it is by now well settled that features not claimed may not be relied upon in support of patentability. In this office action, the container is presumed not to be claimed in order for the examiner to give the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation. Accordingly, all references in the claim to the container are considered to be merely functional. On the other hand, clarification of the scope of claim 20 is required. The positional arrangement of the second elastic member and first elastic member is dependent on some unclaimed container geometry.
Claim 20 is led to be indefinite as it is unclear what the metes and bounds of “axially closer” are. The original specification does not provide any direction as to what this covers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 7, 9, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seup (KR 20110122383).
Claim 1: Seup discloses a lower cap 20 (support member) for supporting a sealing of a container, wherein the lower cap 20 (support member) comprises: an injection moulded support structure [see last full paragraph page 4 and paragraph bridging pages 4-5], which comprises: a first screw portion 24a (first connecting means) adapted for connecting the lower cap 20 (support member) to a corresponding container, a first sealing face, and an opening for accessing the sealed container when the lower cap 20 (support member) is connected to the container; the lower cap 20 (support member) further comprising a second packing part 43 (first elastic member) [see paragraph bridging pages 4-5], wherein the second packing part 43 (first elastic member) at least partially covers the first sealing face, and wherein the first sealing face is oriented so that the second packing part 43 (first elastic member) is sandwiched and deformed between the first sealing face and the container, when the lower cap 20 (support member) is connected to the container, and wherein the support structure comprises a locking projection 22d (second connecting means), in the form of a snap-locking means, associated with the opening and adapted for connecting the lower cap 20 (support member) to a cover member for covering the opening and/or an accessing member that is adapted for providing access to the sealed container through the opening, and wherein the support structure comprises a second sealing face, and wherein the lower cap 20 (support member) further comprises a first packing part 41 (second elastic member) [see paragraph bridging pages 4-5], and wherein the first packing part 41 (second elastic member) at least partially covers the second sealing face, and wherein the second sealing face is oriented so that the first packing part 41 (second elastic member) provides a seal between the support structure and the cover member and/or between the support structure and the accessing member, when the lower cap 20 (support member) is connected to the cover member and/or the accessing member, and wherein the first packing part 41 (second elastic member) is positioned radially outwards of the second packing part 43 (first elastic member), and wherein the second packing part 43 (first elastic member) and the first packing part 41 (second elastic member) comprise a connecting groove 24b (common sprue point) (see annotated fig. 4b below and fig. 3 and 4a
The first connecting means for connecting the support member to a corresponding container is/are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as threaded connection means, snap-lock connecting means, bayonet-lock connecting means, and equivalents thereof.
The second connecting means for connecting the support member to a cover member and/or an accessing member is/are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as threaded connecting means, snap-lock connecting means, bayonet-lock connecting means, and equivalents thereof.
.
Claim 5: Seup discloses wherein the lower cap 20 (support member) is formed by a multi-K injection moulding process, wherein the support structure, is formed from a first material, wherein the second packing part 43 (first elastic member) is formed from a rubber (second material) being different than the first material [see last full paragraph page 4 and paragraph bridging pages 4-5].
Claim 6: Seup discloses wherein the support structure comprises a receptacle capable of receiving some sealing member, and wherein the receptacle is arranged so that that received sealing member can cover the opening and be sandwiched between the second packing part 43 (first elastic member) and some container, when the lower cap 20 (support member) is connected to that container, thereby sealing that container (see annotated fig. 4b above).
Claim 7: Seup discloses wherein the first screw portion 24a (first connecting means) is a threaded connecting means (see fig. 4b).
Claim 9: Seup discloses wherein the lower cap 20 (support member) is adapted to provide an inseparable connection between the lower cap 20 (support member) and some container, and/or between the lower cap 20 (support member) and some cover member and/or some accessing member due to the geometry of the locking projection 22d (second connecting means) (see fig. 4a).
Claim 19: Seup discloses wherein the lower cap 20 (support member) is formed by a multi-K injection moulding process, wherein the support structure, is formed from a first material, wherein the second packing part 43 (first elastic member) and/or first packing part 41 (second elastic member) is formed from a rubber (second material) being different than the first material [see last full paragraph page 4 and paragraph bridging pages 4-5].
Claim 20: Seup discloses wherein: the first packing part 41 (second elastic member) is positioned axially closer to some part of some container than the second packing part 43 (first elastic member), when the support member is connected to the container (see fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 13-14, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seup (KR 20110122383) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Glaser (US 20130240530).
Claim 11: Seup discloses a support system for supporting a sealing of a liquid filled container, the system comprising the lower cap 20 (support member) according to claim 1, wherein the lower cap 20 (support member) is adapted to be connected to the upper cap 30 (container) by means of the first screw portion 24a (first connecting means) (see fig. 1-2).
Seup does not disclose the support system comprising a seal, wherein the seal is adapted to be sealingly attached to an outlet of a container, and wherein the support member is adapted to be connected to the container by means of the first connecting means so that the seal is urged by means of the first elastic member towards the container.
Glaser teaches a container 18 being closed by a septum 22 which is a laminate structure including a first layer 30 of a resilient material, a second layer 40 of a non-elastic polymer (seal), and a third layer 42 of a non-elastic polymer, wherein the septum 22 is held in place by a retaining mechanism 24 of inelastic material (see P. 0024 and fig. 3A and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have covered the exposed surfaces of the second packing part 43 (first elastic member) with a second layer 40 of a non-elastic polymer (seal), as taught by Glaser, in order to protect the second packing part 43 (first elastic member) from damage due to contact with contents and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
The first connecting means for connecting the support member to a corresponding container is/are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as threaded connection means, snap-lock connecting means, bayonet-lock connecting means, and equivalents thereof.
Claim 13: The combination discloses further comprising an upper cap 30 (container), wherein the upper cap 30 (container) is adapted to be connected to the lower cap 20 (support member) (see fig. 2).
Claim 14: The combination discloses an upper cap 30 (container) adapted to be connected to the support system according to claim 11, wherein the upper cap 30 (container) comprises a second screw portion 32d (connecting means) adapted for being connected to the first screw portion 24a (first connecting means) of the lower cap 20 (support member), and a sealing face arranged opposite to the first sealing face of the support structure of the lower cap 20 (support member), when the lower cap 20 (support member) is connected to the upper cap 30 (container) (see fig. 2).
Claim 16: The combination discloses wherein the upper cap 30 (container) is selected from: a container of plastic (see background art).
Claim 17: The combination discloses a double cap leakage preventing container 100 (sealed container), comprising an upper cap 30 (container) and the support system according to claim 11, wherein the upper cap 30 (container) is connected to the lower cap 20 (support member) and wherein a second layer 40 of a non-elastic polymer (sealing member) of the support member and/or the second layer 40 of a non-elastic polymer (seal) of the support system, is urged by means of the second packing part 43 (first elastic member) towards the upper cap 30 (container) (see fig. 1-2).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seup (KR 20110122383) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wolfram (DE 2412439).
Claim 8: Seup discloses the claimed invention except for the support member further comprising: a first rotation lock element, wherein said first rotation lock element is adapted to engage with a corresponding rotation lock element of the container, thereby preventing the support member from rotating relative to the container, when being connected to the container, and/or a second rotation lock element wherein said second rotation lock element is adapted to engage with a corresponding second rotation lock element of a cover member and/or an accessing member, thereby preventing the support member from rotating relative to the cover member and/or the accessing member, when being connected to the cover member and/or the accessing member.
Wolfram teaches a spout 13 having threaded sectors 14 with chamfers 21, 22, 23, 24 (first rotation lock element) adapted to engage with a wedge rise 39, 41 on thread base 37, 38 of threads 33, 34, 36 of a closure cap 29, wherein the closure cap 29 can only be screwed on until chamber 21-24 and wedge rises 39, 41 are aligned (see fig. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the first screw portion 24a (first connecting means) to have chamfers 21, 22, 23, 24 (first rotation lock element) and the upper cap 30 to have wedge rises 39, 41, as taught by Wolfram, in order to prevent the upper cap 30 from being overtightened and damaged.
The first rotation lock element for preventing the support member from rotating relative to the container is/are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a wedge shape, and equivalents thereof.
The second rotation lock element for preventing the support member from rotating relative to the cover member and/or the accessing member is/are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a rip-structure, and equivalents thereof.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seup (KR 20110122383) and Glaser (US 20130240530) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Wolfram (DE 2412439).
Claim 15: The combination discloses the claimed invention except for the container further comprising a corresponding rotation lock element, that is adapted to engage with a rotation lock element of the support structure of the support member, thereby preventing a connected support member from rotating relative to the container.
Wolfram teaches a spout 13 having threaded sectors 14 with chamfers 21, 22, 23, 24 (rotation lock element) adapted to engage with a wedge rise 39, 41 on thread base 37, 38 of threads 33, 34, 36 of a closure cap 29, wherein the closure cap 29 can only be screwed on until chamber 21-24 and wedge rises 39, 41 (corresponding rotation lock element) are aligned (see fig. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the first screw portion 24a (first connecting means) to have chamfers 21, 22, 23, 24 (rotation lock element) and the upper cap 30 (container) to have wedge rises 39, 41 (corresponding rotation lock element), as taught by Wolfram, in order to prevent the upper cap 30 from being overtightened and damaged.
The corresponding rotation lock element for preventing a connected support member from rotating relative to the container is/are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a wedge shape, and equivalents thereof.
Response to Arguments
The 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejections in paragraphs 9-10 of office action dated 14 October 2025 are withdrawn in light of the amended claims filed 5 June 2026.
In response to applicant’s argument that two replacement sheets comprising figures 1 and 2 and 3 have been submitted, the Examiner responds that no figure 3 is present. Additionally, it is noted that the second sheet should have figure 3A.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLAN D STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736