DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zuber et al. (US 2011/0126848) in view of Robinson et al. (US 2008/0092912).
Claims 1-4. Zuber et al. discloses an electrically heated smoking system for receiving an aerosol forming substrate (Abstract). The aerosol forming substrate 205 (tobacco section) is a solid or substantially solid substrate. The solid substrate may include, for example, one or more of: powder, granules, pellets, shreds, spaghettis, strips or sheets containing one or more of: herb leaf, tobacco leaf, fragments of tobacco ribs, reconstituted tobacco, homogenized tobacco, extruded tobacco and expanded tobacco ([0059]). Additionally, the smoking article may include a filter plug 207 (filter section), which may be located at the downstream end of the smoking article. Preferably, the filter plug may be a cellulose acetate filter plug. Also preferably, the filter plug is about 7 mm in length, but may have a length ranging from about 5 mm to about 10 mm ([0031]). The smoking article may have an external diameter ranging from about 5 mm to about 12 mm ([0030]). It is most preferable for the aerosol forming substrate to have a length of about 12 mm. Further, the diameter of the aerosol forming substrate may also range from about 5 mm to about 12 mm ([0032]).
Zuber et al. does not explicitly disclose that upon irradiation with microwaves having a frequency of 8 GHz, the microwaves having passed through the tobacco section exhibits a phase variation amount ranging from: -0.25 (rad) to 0.02 (rad) and wherein the weight of the reconstituted tobacco granules in the tobacco section and the phase variation amount have a linear relationship such that the phase variation amount linearly decreases from 0.02 (rad) to -0.25 (rad) as the weight of the reconstituted tobacco granules in the tobacco section increases from 0 to 400 mg; a phase shift ranging from -15.84 (deg) to -5.88 (deg), inclusive, wherein the weight of the reconstituted tobacco granules in the tobacco section and the phase shift have a linear relationship such that the phase shift linearly decreases from -5.88 (deg) to -15.84 (deg) as the weight of the reconstituted tobacco granules in the tobacco section increases from 0 to 250 mg; or a phase shift ranging from -15.84 (deg) to -7.32 (deg), inclusive, wherein the weight of the reconstituted tobacco granules in the tobacco section and the phase shift have a linear relationship such that the phase shift linearly decreases from -7.32 (deg) to -15.84 (deg) as the weight of the reconstituted tobacco granules in the tobacco section increases from 50 to 250 mg.
Zuber et al. does not explicitly teach an amount of tobacco to be included in the aerosol forming substrate. However, Robinson et al. discloses that the amount of tobacco included in smoking articles comprising reconstituted tobaccos can vary from at least about 20 mg to less than 400 mg ([0072]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the amount of tobacco included in the aerosol forming substrate of Zuber et al. would be between at least about 20 mg to less than 400 mg as disclosed by Robinson et al. ([0072]). The claimed phase variation is interpreted as an inherent property of articles containing 0 to 400mg of reconstituted tobacco granules.
Claims 5 and 9-11. Modified Zuber et al. discloses that the aerosol forming substrate 205 (tobacco section) and filter plug 207 (filter section) are arranged alternately in a longitudinal direction (Zuber Figure 1; [0083]).
Claims 6-8 and 12-20. Modified Zuber et al. discloses that the aerosol forming substrate 205 (tobacco section) is a solid or substantially solid substrate. The solid substrate may include, for example, one or more of: powder, granules, pellets, shreds, spaghettis, strips or sheets containing one or more of: herb leaf, tobacco leaf, fragments of tobacco ribs, reconstituted tobacco, homogenized tobacco, extruded tobacco and expanded tobacco (Zuber [0059]). While Zuber et al. teaches that the aerosol forming substrate 205 (tobacco section) may optionally include shreds or expanded tobacco, Zuber et al. states that the aerosol forming substrate 205 (tobacco section) comprises “one or more of” the listed forms of tobacco. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the aerosol forming substrate 205 (tobacco section) may comprise only one type of tobacco listed, such as reconstituted tobacco granules, and exclude shredded tobacco, expanded tobacco, and reprocessed tobacco.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 11/25/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arndt et al. have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zuber et al. (US 2011/0126848) and Robinson et al. (US 2008/0092912).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE A WILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747