DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed 7/10/2025 has been entered. The claims 1, 2, 4, 6-10, and 23 have been amended. The claim 3, 5, 11-22 and 24 have been cancelled. The claim 25-32 have been newly added. The claims 1, 2, 4, 6-10, 23 and 25-32 are pending in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/10/2025 and 12/03/2025 with respect to the Fu reference have been fully considered are found persuasive. The Fu reference is removed from the Final Office Action.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/10/2025 with respect to the newly submitted base claim 1 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection set forth in the current Office Action.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/10/2025 with respect to the newly submitted claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In Remarks, applicant separately attacked Stoller-provisional in an obviousness type of rejection. Applicant’s arguments are unfounded. Applicant failed to recognize that Stoller-provisional teaches a grid based triggering or spatial-based triggering AS a machine pulls an implement through a field during the spraying operation wherein the icons correspond to the spaying locations during the application of the spraying operation. However, the grid of icons where the spraying operations are performed meets the grid of visual indicia that forms a grid segment georeferenced to an application pass of the implement at the current agricultural surface which corresponds to an application pass of the prior agricultural surface.
In Remarks, applicant repeated the claim language “Generating, based on the location information and the prior application location data, an enhanced display on a display device, the enhanced display comprising visual indicia superimposed over the image of the current agricultural surface, each visual indicium of the visual indicia indicating a respective prior characteristic of the plurality of prior characteristic and superimposed over a respective portion of the image of the current agricultural surface corresponding to the prior individual application location to which the respective prior characteristic corresponds” and made general allegation that Stoller-provisional does not teach the claim limitation. The examiner cannot concur.
Stoller-provisional teaches the claim limitation that
Generating, based on the location information and the prior application location data, an enhanced display on a display device, the enhanced display comprising visual indicia superimposed over the image of the current agricultural surface, each visual indicium of the visual indicia indicating a respective prior characteristic of the plurality of prior characteristic and superimposed over a respective portion of the image of the current agricultural surface corresponding to the prior individual application location to which the respective prior characteristic corresponds (
Threshold trigger in an application pass is a predictive characteristic to predictively trigger the weed data layer or emergence data layer with icons to be superimposed over the agricultural field based on an agricultural parameter exceeding a threshold. The prior applications also refer to the data layers related to the icons that are successively triggered when the agricultural parameter exceeding a threshold during a prior application pass of the plurality of application passes.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0054 that the software application can provide different display regions that are selectable by a user. The enhanced map 610 (e.g., enhanced weed map) shows a weed data layer across a field with selectable icons or symbols for images and a scale region 620 shows weed coverage, weed pressure, or weed density on a scale from 100% to 0%. The overview image 650 shows an overview of the field and has a scale region 660. The images that are represented with icons or symbols are captured based on a threshold triggering (e.g., agricultural parameter exceeds a threshold value for the agricultural parameter, weed density exceeds a weed threshold trigger (e.g., 80%) then capture an image, emergence value exceeds an emergence threshold trigger then capture an image, etc.) as a machine pulls an implement through a field for an application pass. The icons or symbols and associated captured images are located at a geographical location whenever the agricultural parameter threshold is triggered as the implement traverses through the field.
Stoller-provisional teaches [0036] At operation 302, a software application is initiated on the processing system and displayed on a monitor or display device as a user interface. The processing system may be integrated with or coupled to a machine that performs an application pass (e.g., planting, tillage, fertilization, spraying, etc.). Alternatively, the processing system may be integrated with an apparatus (e.g., drone, image capture device) associated with the machine that captures images before, during, or after the application pass. In one example, the user interface includes a map of a data layer (e.g., seed data, commanded planter seed population, actual seed population determined from a seed sensor, a seed population deviation, singulation data, weed map, emergence data, emergence map, emergence environment score based on a combination of temperature and moisture correlated to how long a seed takes to germinate, emergence environment score based on a percentage of seeds planted that will germinate within a selected number of days, time to germination, time to emergence, seed germination risk) for a field of interest and an overview image of the field of interest. Seed germination risk can be germination/emergence (no germination/emergence, on time germination/emergence, or late germination/emergence) or factors other than time, such as, deformities, damaged seed, reduced vigor, or disease. Seed germination risk can be high, medium, or low, or it can be on-time emergence, late emergence, or no emergence.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0067 that the software application can provide different display regions that are selectable by a user. The enhanced map 1410 (e.g., enhanced actual emergence population map) shows an actual emergence population data layer across a field with selectable icons or symbols for images and a scale region 1420 shows actual emergence population in units of 1,000 (e.g., 28,000 to 30,000 actual emerged plants). The overview image 1450 shows an overview of the field and has a scale region 1460. The images that are represented with icons are captured based on a spatial triggering (e.g., user provides an input prior to or during an application pass to capture an image during the application pass every acre, every 2 acres, every 5 acres, etc.) or threshold triggering (e.g., actual emergence population is below, equal to, or exceeds an actual emergence population threshold) as a machine pulls an implement through a field for an application pass. The icons or symbols (e.g., icon 1412 for spatial triggering, icon 1414 for threshold triggering) and associated captured images are located approximately equidistant from each other for spatially triggering and can be triggered more closely spaced or further apart from each other for threshold triggering as the implement traverses through the field for an application pass. The data layer of the map can also be generated based on capturing images from sensors of an implement, machine, or aerial device.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0035 that the selectable icons that are generated and overlaid at different geographic locations on the enhanced map for the field based on a spatial trigger to capture an image during the application pass per unit area within the field and at Paragraph 0057 that the agricultural vehicle having sensors collects agricultural data before, during or after an application pass and the agricultural data may include a data layer that is mapped as a filed view on a monitor and image data that overlays the data layer to enhance a user experience and the image data can be overlaid, merged or combined with the data layer for a field of view.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0037 that the data layer can be generated from a previous application pass through the field and at Paragraph 0038 that the enhanced map includes the data layer and also icons or symbols to represent captured images at different georeferenced positions across the field and the icons or symbols can be positioned spatially at a certain approximate distance from each other within the field based on a user defined spatial or grid based input and at Paragraph 0040 that the icons or symbols can be positioned based on a user defined time period.
Stoller teaches at Paragraph 0058 that the user interface automatically changes in response to the customized change in order to have a customized view of the parameter being displayed in the field of view….adjustment occurs automatically upon adjusting the scale region and at Paragraph 0042 that a selectable expand option to control sizing of a displayed map in a field region and a selectable icon or symbol option to enable or disable showing icons or symbols on the enhanced map and at Paragraph 0076 that a scale of the scale region for an agricultural parameter can be modified being between 0 to 100 percent to being between 20 to 50% based on the user input and the displayed field region of the enhanced map is modified in a corresponding manner.
Accordingly, by modifying the scale region 1420 of FIG. 14 of Stoller-provisional, the icons or symbols displayed in the enhanced map 1410 is also adjusted in the field of view. Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0067 that the cions or symbols and associated capture images are located approximately equidistance from each other for spatially triggering and can be triggered more closely spaced or further apart for an application pass. The data layer of the map can also be generated based on capturing images from sensors of an implement.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0035 that the selectable icons that are generated and overlaid at different geographic locations on the enhanced map for the field based on a spatial trigger to capture an image during the application pass per unit area within the field and at Paragraph 0057 that the agricultural vehicle having sensors collects agricultural data before, during or after an application pass and the agricultural data may include a data layer that is mapped as a filed view on a monitor and image data that overlays the data layer to enhance a user experience and the image data can be overlaid, merged or combined with the data layer for a field of view and at Paragraph 0065 that the operator may choose to operate the equipment in a different way based on data from previous field passes and his present location in the field and at Paragraph 0072 that the icons or symbols can be positioned on a field view based on a threshold trigger that is compared to an agricultural parameter for the data layer at different locations within a field and at Paragraph 0087 that the icons or symbols and associated captured images are located at a geographical location whenever the agricultural parameter threshold is triggered as the implement traverses through the field.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0039 that the icons or symbols can be positioned on a field view based on a threshold trigger that is compared to an agricultural parameter for the data layer at different locations within a field and at Paragraph 0040 that the icons or symbols can be positioned based on a burst capture of images at certain locations within the field.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0030 that as an agricultural implement traverses a field, a monitor A of a first machine collects as applied data at various points in the field and the first machine may be coupled to the agricultural implement and causing the agricultural implement to traverse the field and the as applied data can be seeding information, such as percent singulation, skips, multiples, downforce, applied fluids, depth measurement and the as applied data is collected and stored in a monitor data file of the monitor and field boundary and prescriptions are embedded into the data file and at Paragraph 0032 data recorded by monitor A at one location can be used to influence control of monitor B in other locations or at the same location during a different application pass and the operator may choose to operate the equipment in a different way based on data from previous field passes and his present location in the field and at Paragraph 0039 that the icons or symbols can be positioned on a field view for the data layer at different locations within a field.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0051 that the images that are represented with cions or symbols are captured based on a spatial triggering, e.g., user provided an input prior to or during an application pass to capture an image during the application pass every acre, every 2 acres, every 5 acres and the icons or symbols and associated captured images are located approximately equidistance from each other as the implement traverses through the field for an application and at Paragraph 0060 that the icons and associated captured images are located at geographical locations whenever the cions are spatially triggered as the implement traverses through the field and at Paragraph 0065 that the map 1310 shows a planted population data layer across a field and a scale region 1320 shows seeds per acre in units of 1,000. The map 1350 shows an emerged population deviation data layer across a field and a scale region 1360 shows emerged population deviation in units of 1,000 with respect to a target or the planted population and at FIG. 14 and Paragraph 0067 that the software application can provide different display regions that are selectable by a user and the enhanced map 1410 shows an actual emergence population data layer across a field with selectable icons or symbols for images. The images that are represented with icons are captured based on a spatial triggering as a machine pulls an implement through a field for an application pass and at FIG. 17 and Paragraph 0073 that the enhanced map 1710 shows an actual relative emergence uniformity data layer across a field with selectable icons for images and at FIG. 18 and Paragraph 0074 that if an icon 1735 is selected from map 1710, then an image 1850 of user interface 1801 of FIG. 18 is displayed and the image 1850 is generated to show plant, weed, and soil conditions at a location of the icon 1735. Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0088 a computer implemented method for customizing field of views of data displays comprises obtaining a data layer for an agricultural parameter from sensors of an agricultural implement or machine during an application pass for the agricultural parameter and selectable icons overlaid at different geographic locations on the enhanced map of the field).
For example, Stoller-provisional teaches a grid based triggering or spatial-based triggering AS a machine pulls an implement through a field during the spraying operation wherein the icons correspond to the spaying locations during the application of the spraying operation.
Stoller-provisional shows at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0050-0052 that the images that are represented with icons are captured based on grid-based triggering as a machine pulls an implement through a field for an application pass and the icons are located approximately equidistant from each other as the implement traverses through the field for an application pass. A grower provides an input during a spraying operation for a grid-based triggering of image capturing devices during the spraying operation.
Stoller-provisional teaches at FIG. 11 and Paragraph 0059-0060 that the selectable icons represent captured images and a scale region 1120 shows weed pressure, coverage or weed density and icons are spatially triggered as the implement traverses through the field.
Khait teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
Capturing, with a camera at the agricultural worksite during a current operation, an image of a current agricultural surface of the agricultural worksite (
Khait teaches at FIGS. 7A-7D and Paragraph 0122 that the agricultural vehicle is equipped with imaging sensor for capturing images of the target crops);
calculating location information of the current agricultural surface indicative of a location of the current agricultural surface relative to a location of the camera at the agricultural worksite (
Khait teaches at Paragraph 0064 acquiring said target area (locations) comprising said biosensor crops. Khait teaches at FIGS. 7A-7D and Paragraph 0122 that the agricultural vehicle is equipped with imaging sensor for capturing images of the target crops and at Paragraph 0238 exerting a selective treatment responsive to a plant or its environment condition using a prayer);
receiving prior application location data indicative of a plurality of prior characteristics, each prior characteristic of the plurality of prior characteristics corresponding to a prior individual application location of a plurality of prior individual application locations, the plurality of prior individual application locations corresponding geographically to a prior agricultural surface of a prior operation at the agricultural worksite (
Khait teaches at Paragraph 0074 that the mobile system is configured to move along the area comprising said plants to be monitored and/or treated. FIG. 7A and 7D and FIG. 14 shows an agricultural field with treated plants and untreated plants including the prior applications to the treated plants with the treated plants being superimposed with the visual markers.
Khait shows at FIG. 7A-7D and FIGS. 12-14 and Paragraph 0409-0423 prior applications of spraying to the plants activated with visual markers);
Generating, based on the location information and the prior application location data, an enhanced display on a display device, the enhanced display comprising visual indicia superimposed over the image of the current agricultural surface, each visual indicium of the visual indicia indicating a respective prior characteristic of the plurality of prior characteristic and superimposed over a respective portion of the image of the current agricultural surface corresponding to the prior individual application location to which the respective prior characteristic corresponds (
Khait teaches at Paragraph 0074 that the mobile system is configured to move along the area comprising said plants to be monitored and/or treated. FIG. 7A and 7D and FIG. 14 shows an agricultural field with treated plants and untreated plants including the prior applications to the treated plants with the treated plants being superimposed with the visual markers.
Khait shows at FIG. 7A-7D and FIGS. 12-14 and Paragraph 0409-0423 prior applications of spraying to the plants activated with visual markers).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated Khait’s teaching of providing prior treated crops with the visual markers overlaid on the plants/crops in an agricultural field into Stoller-provisional overlaying a data layer of prior application pass on the agricultural field to have provided different types of overlays including planting points overlaid on ag field. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided a grid shaded/colored with different plant population profiles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 23 and 25-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoller et al. US-PGPUB No. 2024/0295954 (hereinafter Stoller based on the provisional application 63/197,634’s filing date) in view of
Khait et al. US-PGPUB No. 2023/0039763 (hereinafter Khait);
Freiberg et al. US-PGPUB No. 2020/0113172 (hereinafter Freiberg).
Re Claim 1:
Stoller-provisional teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
Capturing, with a camera at the agricultural worksite during a current operation, an image of a current agricultural surface of the agricultural worksite (
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0037 that the data layer can be generated from data collected by sensors on an implement and at Paragraph 0038 that the software application receives user input and generates an updated user interface that is displayed with the monitor or display device.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0051 that the images that are represented with icons or symbols are captured based on a spatial triggering, e.g., user provided an input prior to or during an application pass to capture an image during the application pass every acre, every 2 acres, every 5 acres and the icons or symbols and associated captured images are located approximately equidistance from each other as the implement traverses through the field for an application);
calculating location information of the current agricultural surface indicative of a location of the current agricultural surface relative to a location of the camera at the agricultural worksite (
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0051 that the images that are represented with icons or symbols are captured based on a spatial triggering, e.g., user provided an input prior to or during an application pass to capture an image during the application pass every acre, every 2 acres, every 5 acres and the icons or symbols and associated captured images are located approximately equidistance from each other as the implement traverses through the field for an application and at Paragraph 0060 that the icons and associated captured images are located at geographical locations whenever the icons are spatially triggered as the implement traverses through the field and at Paragraph 0065 that the map 1310 shows a planted population data layer across a field and a scale region 1320 shows seeds per acre in units of 1,000. The map 1350 shows an emerged population deviation data layer across a field and a scale region 1360 shows emerged population deviation in units of 1,000 with respect to a target or the planted population and at FIG. 14 and Paragraph 0067 that the software application can provide different display regions that are selectable by a user and the enhanced map 1410 shows an actual emergence population data layer across a field with selectable icons or symbols for images. The images that are represented with icons are captured based on a spatial triggering as a machine pulls an implement through a field for an application pass and at FIG. 17 and Paragraph 0073 that the enhanced map 1710 shows an actual relative emergence uniformity data layer across a field with selectable icons for images.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0037 that the data layer can be generated from a previous application pass through the field and at Paragraph 0038 that the enhanced map includes the data layer and also icons or symbols to represent captured images at different georeferenced positions across the field and the icons or symbols can be positioned spatially at a certain approximate distance from each other within the field based on a user defined spatial or grid based input.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0039 that the icons or symbols can be positioned on a field view based on a threshold trigger that is compared to an agricultural parameter for the data layer at different locations within a field and at Paragraph 0040 that the icons or symbols can be positioned based on a burst capture of images at certain locations within the field);
receiving prior application location data indicative of a plurality of prior characteristics, each prior characteristic of the plurality of prior characteristics corresponding to a prior individual application location of a plurality of prior individual application locations, the plurality of prior individual application locations corresponding geographically to a prior agricultural surface of a prior operation at the agricultural worksite (
Threshold trigger in an application pass is a predictive characteristic to predictively trigger the weed data layer or emergence data layer with icons to be superimposed over the agricultural field based on an agricultural parameter exceeding a threshold. The prior applications also refer to the data layers related to the icons that are successively triggered when the agricultural parameter exceeding a threshold during a prior application pass of the plurality of application passes.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0054 that the software application can provide different display regions that are selectable by a user. The enhanced map 610 (e.g., enhanced weed map) shows a weed data layer across a field with selectable icons or symbols for images and a scale region 620 shows weed coverage, weed pressure, or weed density on a scale from 100% to 0%. The overview image 650 shows an overview of the field and has a scale region 660. The images that are represented with icons or symbols are captured based on a threshold triggering (e.g., agricultural parameter exceeds a threshold value for the agricultural parameter, weed density exceeds a weed threshold trigger (e.g., 80%) then capture an image, emergence value exceeds an emergence threshold trigger then capture an image, etc.) as a machine pulls an implement through a field for an application pass. The icons or symbols and associated captured images are located at a geographical location whenever the agricultural parameter threshold is triggered as the implement traverses through the field.
Stoller-provisional teaches [0036] At operation 302, a software application is initiated on the processing system and displayed on a monitor or display device as a user interface. The processing system may be integrated with or coupled to a machine that performs an application pass (e.g., planting, tillage, fertilization, spraying, etc.). Alternatively, the processing system may be integrated with an apparatus (e.g., drone, image capture device) associated with the machine that captures images before, during, or after the application pass. In one example, the user interface includes a map of a data layer (e.g., seed data, commanded planter seed population, actual seed population determined from a seed sensor, a seed population deviation, singulation data, weed map, emergence data, emergence map, emergence environment score based on a combination of temperature and moisture correlated to how long a seed takes to germinate, emergence environment score based on a percentage of seeds planted that will germinate within a selected number of days, time to germination, time to emergence, seed germination risk) for a field of interest and an overview image of the field of interest. Seed germination risk can be germination/emergence (no germination/emergence, on time germination/emergence, or late germination/emergence) or factors other than time, such as, deformities, damaged seed, reduced vigor, or disease. Seed germination risk can be high, medium, or low, or it can be on-time emergence, late emergence, or no emergence.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0067 that the software application can provide different display regions that are selectable by a user. The enhanced map 1410 (e.g., enhanced actual emergence population map) shows an actual emergence population data layer across a field with selectable icons or symbols for images and a scale region 1420 shows actual emergence population in units of 1,000 (e.g., 28,000 to 30,000 actual emerged plants). The overview image 1450 shows an overview of the field and has a scale region 1460. The images that are represented with icons are captured based on a spatial triggering (e.g., user provides an input prior to or during an application pass to capture an image during the application pass every acre, every 2 acres, every 5 acres, etc.) or threshold triggering (e.g., actual emergence population is below, equal to, or exceeds an actual emergence population threshold) as a machine pulls an implement through a field for an application pass. The icons or symbols (e.g., icon 1412 for spatial triggering, icon 1414 for threshold triggering) and associated captured images are located approximately equidistant from each other for spatially triggering and can be triggered more closely spaced or further apart from each other for threshold triggering as the implement traverses through the field for an application pass. The data layer of the map can also be generated based on capturing images from sensors of an implement, machine, or aerial device.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph [0032] Data recorded by monitor A at one location can be used to influence control of monitor B in other locations or the same location during a different application pass. For instance, when seeds are dropped, spatial data indicates that seeds have been applied (or covered) in that area. That coverage information can then be used by monitor B as the equipment traverses the field for a different application to instruct the control modules when to turn on or off. This information is used to automatically control the equipment. Many data channels exist that are mapped spatially to be viewed by the operator. In many cases, this data is not used by the monitor to automatically control itself while the equipment traverses the field. However, the operator is influenced by this information, and the operator may choose to operate the equipment in a different way based on data from previous field passes and his present location in the field. Sharing data between equipment can either influence the automatic control of the equipment, or it influences the operator, who then controls the equipment differently.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0035 that the selectable icons that are generated and overlaid at different geographic locations on the enhanced map for the field based on a spatial trigger to capture an image during the application pass per unit area within the field and at Paragraph 0057 that the agricultural vehicle having sensors collects agricultural data before, during or after an application pass and the agricultural data may include a data layer that is mapped as a filed view on a monitor and image data that overlays the data layer to enhance a user experience and the image data can be overlaid, merged or combined with the data layer for a field of view.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0037 that the data layer can be generated from a previous application pass through the field and at Paragraph 0038 that the enhanced map includes the data layer and also icons or symbols to represent captured images at different georeferenced positions across the field and the icons or symbols can be positioned spatially at a certain approximate distance from each other within the field based on a user defined spatial or grid based input and at Paragraph 0040 that the icons or symbols can be positioned based on a user defined time period.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0030 that as an agricultural implement traverses a field, a monitor A of a first machine collects as applied data at various points in the field and the first machine may be coupled to the agricultural implement and causing the agricultural implement to traverse the field and the as applied data can be seeding information, such as percent singulation, skips, multiples, downforce, applied fluids, depth measurement and the as applied data is collected and stored in a monitor data file of the monitor and field boundary and prescriptions are embedded into the data file and at Paragraph 0032 data recorded by monitor A at one location can be used to influence control of monitor B in other locations or at the same location during a different application pass and the operator may choose to operate the equipment in a different way based on data from previous field passes and his present location in the field and at Paragraph 0039 that the icons or symbols can be positioned on a field view for the data layer at different locations within a field.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0051 that the images that are represented with icons or symbols are captured based on a spatial triggering, e.g., user provided an input prior to or during an application pass to capture an image during the application pass every acre, every 2 acres, every 5 acres and the icons or symbols and associated captured images are located approximately equidistance from each other as the implement traverses through the field for an application and at Paragraph 0060 that the icons and associated captured images are located at geographical locations whenever the cions are spatially triggered as the implement traverses through the field and at Paragraph 0065 that the map 1310 shows a planted population data layer across a field and a scale region 1320 shows seeds per acre in units of 1,000. The map 1350 shows an emerged population deviation data layer across a field and a scale region 1360 shows emerged population deviation in units of 1,000 with respect to a target or the planted population and at FIG. 14 and Paragraph 0067 that the software application can provide different display regions that are selectable by a user and the enhanced map 1410 shows an actual emergence population data layer across a field with selectable icons or symbols for images. The images that are represented with icons are captured based on a spatial triggering as a machine pulls an implement through a field for an application pass and at FIG. 17 and Paragraph 0073 that the enhanced map 1710 shows an actual relative emergence uniformity data layer across a field with selectable icons for images and at FIG. 18 and Paragraph 0074 that if an icon 1735 is selected from map 1710, then an image 1850 of user interface 1801 of FIG. 18 is displayed and the image 1850 is generated to show plant, weed, and soil conditions at a location of the icon 1735. Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0088 a computer implemented method for customizing field of views of data displays comprises obtaining a data layer for an agricultural parameter from sensors of an agricultural implement or machine during an application pass for the agricultural parameter and selectable icons overlaid at different geographic locations on the enhanced map of the field.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0037 that the data layer can be generated from a previous application pass through the field and at Paragraph 0038 that the enhanced map includes the data layer and also icons or symbols to represent captured images at different georeferenced positions across the field and the icons or symbols can be positioned spatially at a certain approximate distance from each other within the field based on a user defined spatial or grid-based input.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0039 that the icons or symbols can be positioned on a field view based on a threshold trigger that is compared to an agricultural parameter for the data layer at different locations within a field and at Paragraph 0040 that the icons or symbols can be positioned based on a burst capture of images at certain locations within the field);
Generating, based on the location information and the prior application location data, an enhanced display on a display device, the enhanced display comprising visual indicia superimposed over the image of the current agricultural surface, each visual indicium of the visual indicia indicating a respective prior characteristic of the plurality of prior characteristic and superimposed over a respective portion of the image of the current agricultural surface corresponding to the prior individual application location to which the respective prior characteristic corresponds (
Threshold trigger in an application pass is a predictive characteristic to predictively trigger the weed data layer or emergence data layer with icons to be superimposed over the agricultural field based on an agricultural parameter exceeding a threshold. The prior applications also refer to the data layers related to the icons that are successively triggered when the agricultural parameter exceeding a threshold during a prior application pass of the plurality of application passes.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0054 that the software application can provide different display regions that are selectable by a user. The enhanced map 610 (e.g., enhanced weed map) shows a weed data layer across a field with selectable icons or symbols for images and a scale region 620 shows weed coverage, weed pressure, or weed density on a scale from 100% to 0%. The overview image 650 shows an overview of the field and has a scale region 660. The images that are represented with icons or symbols are captured based on a threshold triggering (e.g., agricultural parameter exceeds a threshold value for the agricultural parameter, weed density exceeds a weed threshold trigger (e.g., 80%) then capture an image, emergence value exceeds an emergence threshold trigger then capture an image, etc.) as a machine pulls an implement through a field for an application pass. The icons or symbols and associated captured images are located at a geographical location whenever the agricultural parameter threshold is triggered as the implement traverses through the field.
Stoller-provisional teaches [0036] At operation 302, a software application is initiated on the processing system and displayed on a monitor or display device as a user interface. The processing system may be integrated with or coupled to a machine that performs an application pass (e.g., planting, tillage, fertilization, spraying, etc.). Alternatively, the processing system may be integrated with an apparatus (e.g., drone, image capture device) associated with the machine that captures images before, during, or after the application pass. In one example, the user interface includes a map of a data layer (e.g., seed data, commanded planter seed population, actual seed population determined from a seed sensor, a seed population deviation, singulation data, weed map, emergence data, emergence map, emergence environment score based on a combination of temperature and moisture correlated to how long a seed takes to germinate, emergence environment score based on a percentage of seeds planted that will germinate within a selected number of days, time to germination, time to emergence, seed germination risk) for a field of interest and an overview image of the field of interest. Seed germination risk can be germination/emergence (no germination/emergence, on time germination/emergence, or late germination/emergence) or factors other than time, such as, deformities, damaged seed, reduced vigor, or disease. Seed germination risk can be high, medium, or low, or it can be on-time emergence, late emergence, or no emergence.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0067 that the software application can provide different display regions that are selectable by a user. The enhanced map 1410 (e.g., enhanced actual emergence population map) shows an actual emergence population data layer across a field with selectable icons or symbols for images and a scale region 1420 shows actual emergence population in units of 1,000 (e.g., 28,000 to 30,000 actual emerged plants). The overview image 1450 shows an overview of the field and has a scale region 1460. The images that are represented with icons are captured based on a spatial triggering (e.g., user provides an input prior to or during an application pass to capture an image during the application pass every acre, every 2 acres, every 5 acres, etc.) or threshold triggering (e.g., actual emergence population is below, equal to, or exceeds an actual emergence population threshold) as a machine pulls an implement through a field for an application pass. The icons or symbols (e.g., icon 1412 for spatial triggering, icon 1414 for threshold triggering) and associated captured images are located approximately equidistant from each other for spatially triggering and can be triggered more closely spaced or further apart from each other for threshold triggering as the implement traverses through the field for an application pass. The data layer of the map can also be generated based on capturing images from sensors of an implement, machine, or aerial device.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0035 that the selectable icons that are generated and overlaid at different geographic locations on the enhanced map for the field based on a spatial trigger to capture an image during the application pass per unit area within the field and at Paragraph 0057 that the agricultural vehicle having sensors collects agricultural data before, during or after an application pass and the agricultural data may include a data layer that is mapped as a filed view on a monitor and image data that overlays the data layer to enhance a user experience and the image data can be overlaid, merged or combined with the data layer for a field of view.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0037 that the data layer can be generated from a previous application pass through the field and at Paragraph 0038 that the enhanced map includes the data layer and also icons or symbols to represent captured images at different georeferenced positions across the field and the icons or symbols can be positioned spatially at a certain approximate distance from each other within the field based on a user defined spatial or grid based input and at Paragraph 0040 that the icons or symbols can be positioned based on a user defined time period.
Stoller teaches at Paragraph 0058 that the user interface automatically changes in response to the customized change in order to have a customized view of the parameter being displayed in the field of view….adjustment occurs automatically upon adjusting the scale region and at Paragraph 0042 that a selectable expand option to control sizing of a displayed map in a field region and a selectable icon or symbol option to enable or disable showing icons or symbols on the enhanced map and at Paragraph 0076 that a scale of the scale region for an agricultural parameter can be modified being between 0 to 100 percent to being between 20 to 50% based on the user input and the displayed field region of the enhanced map is modified in a corresponding manner.
Accordingly, by modifying the scale region 1420 of FIG. 14 of Stoller-provisional, the icons or symbols displayed in the enhanced map 1410 is also adjusted in the field of view. Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0067 that the cions or symbols and associated capture images are located approximately equidistance from each other for spatially triggering and can be triggered more closely spaced or further apart for an application pass. The data layer of the map can also be generated based on capturing images from sensors of an implement.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0035 that the selectable icons that are generated and overlaid at different geographic locations on the enhanced map for the field based on a spatial trigger to capture an image during the application pass per unit area within the field and at Paragraph 0057 that the agricultural vehicle having sensors collects agricultural data before, during or after an application pass and the agricultural data may include a data layer that is mapped as a filed view on a monitor and image data that overlays the data layer to enhance a user experience and the image data can be overlaid, merged or combined with the data layer for a field of view and at Paragraph 0065 that the operator may choose to operate the equipment in a different way based on data from previous field passes and his present location in the field and at Paragraph 0072 that the icons or symbols can be positioned on a field view based on a threshold trigger that is compared to an agricultural parameter for the data layer at different locations within a field and at Paragraph 0087 that the icons or symbols and associated captured images are located at a geographical location whenever the agricultural parameter threshold is triggered as the implement traverses through the field.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0039 that the icons or symbols can be positioned on a field view based on a threshold trigger that is compared to an agricultural parameter for the data layer at different locations within a field and at Paragraph 0040 that the icons or symbols can be positioned based on a burst capture of images at certain locations within the field.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0030 that as an agricultural implement traverses a field, a monitor A of a first machine collects as applied data at various points in the field and the first machine may be coupled to the agricultural implement and causing the agricultural implement to traverse the field and the as applied data can be seeding information, such as percent singulation, skips, multiples, downforce, applied fluids, depth measurement and the as applied data is collected and stored in a monitor data file of the monitor and field boundary and prescriptions are embedded into the data file and at Paragraph 0032 data recorded by monitor A at one location can be used to influence control of monitor B in other locations or at the same location during a different application pass and the operator may choose to operate the equipment in a different way based on data from previous field passes and his present location in the field and at Paragraph 0039 that the icons or symbols can be positioned on a field view for the data layer at different locations within a field.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0051 that the images that are represented with cions or symbols are captured based on a spatial triggering, e.g., user provided an input prior to or during an application pass to capture an image during the application pass every acre, every 2 acres, every 5 acres and the icons or symbols and associated captured images are located approximately equidistance from each other as the implement traverses through the field for an application and at Paragraph 0060 that the icons and associated captured images are located at geographical locations whenever the cions are spatially triggered as the implement traverses through the field and at Paragraph 0065 that the map 1310 shows a planted population data layer across a field and a scale region 1320 shows seeds per acre in units of 1,000. The map 1350 shows an emerged population deviation data layer across a field and a scale region 1360 shows emerged population deviation in units of 1,000 with respect to a target or the planted population and at FIG. 14 and Paragraph 0067 that the software application can provide different display regions that are selectable by a user and the enhanced map 1410 shows an actual emergence population data layer across a field with selectable icons or symbols for images. The images that are represented with icons are captured based on a spatial triggering as a machine pulls an implement through a field for an application pass and at FIG. 17 and Paragraph 0073 that the enhanced map 1710 shows an actual relative emergence uniformity data layer across a field with selectable icons for images and at FIG. 18 and Paragraph 0074 that if an icon 1735 is selected from map 1710, then an image 1850 of user interface 1801 of FIG. 18 is displayed and the image 1850 is generated to show plant, weed, and soil conditions at a location of the icon 1735. Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0088 a computer implemented method for customizing field of views of data displays comprises obtaining a data layer for an agricultural parameter from sensors of an agricultural implement or machine during an application pass for the agricultural parameter and selectable icons overlaid at different geographic locations on the enhanced map of the field.
For example, Stoller-provisional teaches a grid based triggering or spatial-based triggering AS a machine pulls an implement through a field during the spraying operation wherein the icons correspond to the spaying locations during the application of the spraying operation.
Stoller-provisional shows at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0050-0052 that the images that are represented with icons are captured based on grid-based triggering as a machine pulls an implement through a field for an application pass and the icons are located approximately equidistant from each other as the implement traverses through the field for an application pass. A grower provides an input during a spraying operation for a grid-based triggering of image capturing devices during the spraying operation.
Stoller-provisional teaches at FIG. 11 and Paragraph 0059-0060 that the selectable icons represent captured images and a scale region 1120 shows weed pressure, coverage or weed density and icons are spatially triggered as the implement traverses through the field.
Stoller-provisional shows at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0050-0052 that the images that are represented with icons are captured based on grid-based triggering as a machine pulls an implement through a field for an application pass and the icons are located approximately equidistant from each other as the implement traverses through the field for an application pass. A grower provides an input during a spraying operation for a grid-based triggering of image capturing devices during the spraying operation.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0030 that as an agricultural implement traverses a field, a monitor A of a first machine collects as applied data at various points in the field and the first machine may be coupled to the agricultural implement and causing the agricultural implement to traverse the field and the as applied data can be seeding information, such as percent singulation, skips, multiples, downforce, applied fluids, depth measurement and the as applied data is collected and stored in a monitor data file of the monitor and field boundary and prescriptions are embedded into the data file and at Paragraph 0032 data recorded by monitor A at one location can be used to influence control of monitor B in other locations or at the same location during a different application pass and the operator may choose to operate the equipment in a different way based on data from previous field passes and his present location in the field and at Paragraph 0039 that the icons or symbols can be positioned on a field view for the data layer at different locations within a field.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0051 that the images that are represented with cions or symbols are captured based on a spatial triggering, e.g., user provided an input prior to or during an application pass to capture an image during the application pass every acre, every 2 acres, every 5 acres and the icons or symbols and associated captured images are located approximately equidistance from each other as the implement traverses through the field for an application and at Paragraph 0060 that the icons and associated captured images are located at geographical locations whenever the icons are spatially triggered as the implement traverses through the field and at Paragraph 0065 that the map 1310 shows a planted population data layer across a field and a scale region 1320 shows seeds per acre in units of 1,000. The map 1350 shows an emerged population deviation data layer across a field and a scale region 1360 shows emerged population deviation in units of 1,000 with respect to a target or the planted population and at FIG. 14 and Paragraph 0067 that the software application can provide different display regions that are selectable by a user and the enhanced map 1410 shows an actual emergence population data layer across a field with selectable icons or symbols for images. The images that are represented with icons are captured based on a spatial triggering as a machine pulls an implement through a field for an application pass and at FIG. 17 and Paragraph 0073 that the enhanced map 1710 shows an actual relative emergence uniformity data layer across a field with selectable icons for images and at FIG. 18 and Paragraph 0074 that if an icon 1735 is selected from map 1710, then an image 1850 of user interface 1801 of FIG. 18 is displayed and the image 1850 is generated to show plant, weed, and soil conditions at a location of the icon 1735. Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0088 a computer implemented method for customizing field of views of data displays comprises obtaining a data layer for an agricultural parameter from sensors of an agricultural implement or machine during an application pass for the agricultural parameter and selectable icons overlaid at different geographic locations on the enhanced map of the field).
Khait teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
Capturing, with a camera at the agricultural worksite during a current operation, an image of a current agricultural surface of the agricultural worksite (
Khait teaches at FIGS. 7A-7D and Paragraph 0122 that the agricultural vehicle is equipped with imaging sensor for capturing images of the target crops);
calculating location information of the current agricultural surface indicative of a location of the current agricultural surface relative to a location of the camera at the agricultural worksite (
Khait teaches at Paragraph 0064 acquiring said target area (locations) comprising said biosensor crops. Khait teaches at FIGS. 7A-7D and Paragraph 0122 that the agricultural vehicle is equipped with imaging sensor for capturing images of the target crops and at Paragraph 0238 exerting a selective treatment responsive to a plant or its environment condition using a prayer);
receiving prior application location data indicative of a plurality of prior characteristics, each prior characteristic of the plurality of prior characteristics corresponding to a prior individual application location of a plurality of prior individual application locations, the plurality of prior individual application locations corresponding geographically to a prior agricultural surface of a prior operation at the agricultural worksite (
Khait teaches at Paragraph 0074 that the mobile system is configured to move along the area comprising said plants to be monitored and/or treated. FIG. 7A and 7D and FIG. 14 shows an agricultural field with treated plants and untreated plants including the prior applications to the treated plants with the treated plants being superimposed with the visual markers.
Khait shows at FIG. 7A-7D and FIGS. 12-14 and Paragraph 0409-0423 prior applications of spraying to the plants activated with visual markers);
Generating, based on the location information and the prior application location data, an enhanced display on a display device, the enhanced display comprising visual indicia superimposed over the image of the current agricultural surface, each visual indicium of the visual indicia indicating a respective prior characteristic of the plurality of prior characteristic and superimposed over a respective portion of the image of the current agricultural surface corresponding to the prior individual application location to which the respective prior characteristic corresponds (
Khait teaches at Paragraph 0074 that the mobile system is configured to move along the area comprising said plants to be monitored and/or treated. FIG. 7A and 7D and FIG. 14 shows an agricultural field with treated plants and untreated plants including the prior applications to the treated plants with the treated plants being superimposed with the visual markers.
Khait shows at FIG. 7A-7D and FIGS. 12-14 and Paragraph 0409-0423 prior applications of spraying to the plants activated with visual markers).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated Khait’s teaching of providing prior treated crops with the visual markers overlaid on the plants/crops in an agricultural field into Stoller-provisional overlaying a data layer of prior application pass on the agricultural field to have provided different types of overlays including planting points overlaid on ag field. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided a grid shaded/colored with different plant population profiles.
Freiberg teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
Capturing, with a camera at the agricultural worksite during a current operation, an image of a current agricultural surface of the agricultural worksite (
Freiberg teaches at Paragraph 0031 that during harvest, yield data (e.g., volume, moisture, quality attributes like protein) can be observed and recorded for multiple locations in each test plot 212 in an automated fashion using sensor technology on the harvesting equipment. Such harvest observations can be automatically sent to centralized database 116 via wireless connection or provided by user through user interface 102 of system 100. Each individual yield observation from the harvester is spatially “matched” to the respective actual treatment rate observation
Freiberg teaches at Paragraph [0025] that once the intended travel path for machine 220 across agricultural farm field 214 is captured, a processing function occurs in system logic 104 where the previously loaded data about agricultural farm field 214 (e.g., management zones and target plant populations) are overlaid on a grid 208, as shown in FIG. 4. Grid 208 is shaded/colored with different plant population profiles that correspond with target population information 210 by system logic 104 and displayed on the right-hand side of electronic user interface 102);
calculating location information of the current agricultural surface indicative of a location of the current agricultural surface relative to a location of the camera at the agricultural worksite (
Freiberg teaches at Paragraph 0023 that User interface 102 includes an enroll Ag field 202 (as a map) into system 100. Ag field 202 may comprise one or more management zones. A management zone is a sub-region of a field that expresses a relatively homogenous combination of yield-limiting/yield-potential factors for which a single rate of a specific crop input/cultural practice (e.g., tillage depth) is appropriate. Ag field 202 can have previously defined or set management zones and target plant populations. This information can come from the previous years' harvest as well as the current year's agronomy plan in which case it is retrieved by system logic 104 from centralized database 116 to generate a management zone overlay and then provided to user interface 102 as a management zone overlay view.
Feinberg teaches at Paragraph 0024 that user interface 102 can be used to identify intended machine orientation for the Ag input 114 application in question either manually by user defined orientation for machine 220, using machine guidance lines 204, or using previous record of application travel (e.g., planting points 206). The areas for test plot(s) 212 are ideally laid out with respect to intended machine travel to optimize execution. Machine input instructions such as tillage depth, planting depth, tillage angle, residue spread width, the number of seeds per area, weight of seeds per area, volume per area, and weight per area can be provided at user interface 102. FIG. 3A shows an excerpt from FIG. 3 of the voluminous number of previous year's planting points 206 overlaid on Ag field 202 by system logic 104 and displayed to user at user interface 102.
Freiberg teaches at Paragraph [0025] that once the intended travel path for machine 220 across agricultural farm field 214 is captured, a processing function occurs in system logic 104 where the previously loaded data about agricultural farm field 214 (e.g., management zones and target plant populations) are overlaid on a grid 208, as shown in FIG. 4. Grid 208 is shaded/colored with different plant population profiles that correspond with target population information 210 by system logic 104 and displayed on the right-hand side of electronic user interface 102);
receiving prior application location data indicative of a plurality of prior characteristics, each prior characteristic of the plurality of prior characteristics corresponding to a prior individual application location of a plurality of prior individual application locations, the plurality of prior individual application locations corresponding geographically to a prior agricultural surface of a prior operation at the agricultural worksite (
Freiberg teaches at Paragraph 0023 that User interface 102 includes an enroll Ag field 202 (as a map) into system 100. Ag field 202 may comprise one or more management zones. A management zone is a sub-region of a field that expresses a relatively homogenous combination of yield-limiting/yield-potential factors for which a single rate of a specific crop input/cultural practice (e.g., tillage depth) is appropriate. Ag field 202 can have previously defined or set management zones and target plant populations. This information can come from the previous years' harvest as well as the current year's agronomy plan in which case it is retrieved by system logic 104 from centralized database 116 to generate a management zone overlay and then provided to user interface 102 as a management zone overlay view.
Feinberg teaches at Paragraph 0024 that user interface 102 can be used to identify intended machine orientation for the Ag input 114 application in question either manually by user defined orientation for machine 220, using machine guidance lines 204, or using previous record of application travel (e.g., planting points 206). The areas for test plot(s) 212 are ideally laid out with respect to intended machine travel to optimize execution. Machine input instructions such as tillage depth, planting depth, tillage angle, residue spread width, the number of seeds per area, weight of seeds per area, volume per area, and weight per area can be provided at user interface 102. FIG. 3A shows an excerpt from FIG. 3 of the voluminous number of previous year's planting points 206 overlaid on Ag field 202 by system logic 104 and displayed to user at user interface 102.
Freiberg teaches at Paragraph [0025] that once the intended travel path for machine 220 across agricultural farm field 214 is captured, a processing function occurs in system logic 104 where the previously loaded data about agricultural farm field 214 (e.g., management zones and target plant populations) are overlaid on a grid 208, as shown in FIG. 4. Grid 208 is shaded/colored with different plant population profiles that correspond with target population information 210 by system logic 104 and displayed on the right-hand side of electronic user interface 102.
);
Generating, based on the location information and the prior application location data, an enhanced display on a display device, the enhanced display comprising visual indicia superimposed over the image of the current agricultural surface, each visual indicium of the visual indicia indicating a respective prior characteristic of the plurality of prior characteristic and superimposed over a respective portion of the image of the current agricultural surface corresponding to the prior individual application location to which the respective prior characteristic corresponds (
Freiberg teaches at Paragraph 0023 that User interface 102 includes an enroll Ag field 202 (as a map) into system 100. Ag field 202 may comprise one or more management zones. A management zone is a sub-region of a field that expresses a relatively homogenous combination of yield-limiting/yield-potential factors for which a single rate of a specific crop input/cultural practice (e.g., tillage depth) is appropriate. Ag field 202 can have previously defined or set management zones and target plant populations. This information can come from the previous years' harvest as well as the current year's agronomy plan in which case it is retrieved by system logic 104 from centralized database 116 to generate a management zone overlay and then provided to user interface 102 as a management zone overlay view.
Feinberg teaches at Paragraph 0024 that user interface 102 can be used to identify intended machine orientation for the Ag input 114 application in question either manually by user defined orientation for machine 220, using machine guidance lines 204, or using previous record of application travel (e.g., planting points 206). The areas for test plot(s) 212 are ideally laid out with respect to intended machine travel to optimize execution. Machine input instructions such as tillage depth, planting depth, tillage angle, residue spread width, the number of seeds per area, weight of seeds per area, volume per area, and weight per area can be provided at user interface 102. FIG. 3A shows an excerpt from FIG. 3 of the voluminous number of previous year's planting points 206 overlaid on Ag field 202 by system logic 104 and displayed to user at user interface 102.
Freiberg teaches at Paragraph [0025] that once the intended travel path for machine 220 across agricultural farm field 214 is captured, a processing function occurs in system logic 104 where the previously loaded data about agricultural farm field 214 (e.g., management zones and target plant populations) are overlaid on a grid 208, as shown in FIG. 4. Grid 208 is shaded/colored with different plant population profiles that correspond with target population information 210 by system logic 104 and displayed on the right-hand side of electronic user interface 102).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated Freiberg’s teaching of providing previous year’s planting points overlaid on an agricultural field into Stoller-provisional overlaying a data layer of prior application pass on the agricultural field to have provided different types of overlays including planting points overlaid on ag field. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided a grid shaded/colored with different plant population profiles.
Re Claim 25:
The claim 25 is in parallel with the claim 1 in a method form. The claim 25 further recites “wherein each visual indicium, of the visual indicia, forms a grid segment, wherein at least one grid segment is visually distinguished from another grid segment by at least one of shading or color”.
However, Khait and Stoller-provisional further teach the claim limitation that “wherein each visual indicium, of the visual indicia, forms a grid segment, wherein at least one grid segment is visually distinguished from another grid segment by at least one of shading or color” (Stoller-provisional teaches at FIG. 17 at least one grid segment 1725 is visually distinguished from another grid segment by at least one of shading or color.
Khait teaches at Paragraph 0074 that the mobile system is configured to move along the area comprising said plants to be monitored and/or treated. FIG. 7A and 7D and FIG. 14 shows an agricultural field with treated plants and untreated plants including the prior applications to the treated plants with the treated plants being superimposed with the visual markers.
Khait shows at FIG. 7A-7D and FIGS. 12-14 and Paragraph 0409-0423 prior applications of spraying to the plants activated with visual markers).
Re Claim 26:
The claim 26 is in parallel with the claim 1 in a method form. The claim 26 further recites “generating, based on the location information, the prior application location data, and the predictive characteristic data, an enhanced display on a display device, the enhanced display comprising visual indicia superimposed over the image of the current agricultural surface, each visual indicium of the visual indicia indicating a respective prior characteristic and a respective predictive characteristic and superimposed over a respective portion of the image of the current agricultural surface corresponding to the prior individual application location to which the respective prior characteristic and the respective predictive characteristic corresponds”.
However, Khait and Stoller-provisional further teach the claim limitation that “generating, based on the location information, the prior application location data, and the predictive characteristic data, an enhanced display on a display device, the enhanced display comprising visual indicia superimposed over the image of the current agricultural surface, each visual indicium of the visual indicia indicating a respective prior characteristic and a respective predictive characteristic and superimposed over a respective portion of the image of the current agricultural surface corresponding to the prior individual application location to which the respective prior characteristic and the respective predictive characteristic corresponds” (
Threshold trigger in an application pass is a predictive characteristic to predictively trigger the weed data layer or emergence data layer with icons to be superimposed over the agricultural field based on an agricultural parameter exceeding a threshold. The prior applications also refer to the data layers related to the icons that are successively triggered when the agricultural parameter exceeding a threshold during a prior application pass of the plurality of application passes.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0054 that the software application can provide different display regions that are selectable by a user. The enhanced map 610 (e.g., enhanced weed map) shows a weed data layer across a field with selectable icons or symbols for images and a scale region 620 shows weed coverage, weed pressure, or weed density on a scale from 100% to 0%. The overview image 650 shows an overview of the field and has a scale region 660. The images that are represented with icons or symbols are captured based on a threshold triggering (e.g., agricultural parameter exceeds a threshold value for the agricultural parameter, weed density exceeds a weed threshold trigger (e.g., 80%) then capture an image, emergence value exceeds an emergence threshold trigger then capture an image, etc.) as a machine pulls an implement through a field for an application pass. The icons or symbols and associated captured images are located at a geographical location whenever the agricultural parameter threshold is triggered as the implement traverses through the field.
Stoller-provisional teaches [0036] At operation 302, a software application is initiated on the processing system and displayed on a monitor or display device as a user interface. The processing system may be integrated with or coupled to a machine that performs an application pass (e.g., planting, tillage, fertilization, spraying, etc.). Alternatively, the processing system may be integrated with an apparatus (e.g., drone, image capture device) associated with the machine that captures images before, during, or after the application pass. In one example, the user interface includes a map of a data layer (e.g., seed data, commanded planter seed population, actual seed population determined from a seed sensor, a seed population deviation, singulation data, weed map, emergence data, emergence map, emergence environment score based on a combination of temperature and moisture correlated to how long a seed takes to germinate, emergence environment score based on a percentage of seeds planted that will germinate within a selected number of days, time to germination, time to emergence, seed germination risk) for a field of interest and an overview image of the field of interest. Seed germination risk can be germination/emergence (no germination/emergence, on time germination/emergence, or late germination/emergence) or factors other than time, such as, deformities, damaged seed, reduced vigor, or disease. Seed germination risk can be high, medium, or low, or it can be on-time emergence, late emergence, or no emergence.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0067 that the software application can provide different display regions that are selectable by a user. The enhanced map 1410 (e.g., enhanced actual emergence population map) shows an actual emergence population data layer across a field with selectable icons or symbols for images and a scale region 1420 shows actual emergence population in units of 1,000 (e.g., 28,000 to 30,000 actual emerged plants). The overview image 1450 shows an overview of the field and has a scale region 1460. The images that are represented with icons are captured based on a spatial triggering (e.g., user provides an input prior to or during an application pass to capture an image during the application pass every acre, every 2 acres, every 5 acres, etc.) or threshold triggering (e.g., actual emergence population is below, equal to, or exceeds an actual emergence population threshold) as a machine pulls an implement through a field for an application pass. The icons or symbols (e.g., icon 1412 for spatial triggering, icon 1414 for threshold triggering) and associated captured images are located approximately equidistant from each other for spatially triggering and can be triggered more closely spaced or further apart from each other for threshold triggering as the implement traverses through the field for an application pass. The data layer of the map can also be generated based on capturing images from sensors of an implement, machine, or aerial device.
Khait teaches at Paragraph 0074 that the mobile system is configured to move along the area comprising said plants to be monitored and/or treated. FIG. 7A and 7D and FIG. 14 shows an agricultural field with treated plants and untreated plants including the prior applications to the treated plants with the treated plants being superimposed with the visual markers.
Khait shows at FIG. 7A-7D and FIGS. 12-14 and Paragraph 0409-0423 prior applications of spraying to the plants activated with visual markers).
Re Claim 27:
The claim 27 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that generating predictive characteristic data based, at least, on the prior application location data, the predictive characteristic data indicative of a plurality of predictive characteristics, each predictive characteristic, of the plurality of predictive characteristics. corresponding to a prior individual application location of the plurality of prior individual application locations; and generating, based on the location information and the predictive characteristic, the enhanced display having a second set of visual indicia superimposed over the image of the current agricultural surface, each visual indicium of the second set of visual indicia indicating a respective predictive characteristic and superimposed over a respective portion of the image of the current agricultural surface corresponding to the prior individual application location to which the respective predictive characteristic corresponds.
Khait and Stoller-provisional further teach the claim limitation that generating predictive characteristic data based, at least, on the prior application location data, the predictive characteristic data indicative of a plurality of predictive characteristics, each predictive characteristic, of the plurality of predictive characteristics. corresponding to a prior individual application location of the plurality of prior individual application locations; and generating, based on the location information and the predictive characteristic, the enhanced display having a second set of visual indicia superimposed over the image of the current agricultural surface, each visual indicium of the second set of visual indicia indicating a respective predictive characteristic and superimposed over a respective portion of the image of the current agricultural surface corresponding to the prior individual application location to which the respective predictive characteristic corresponds (Khait teaches at Paragraph 0074 that the mobile system is configured to move along the area comprising said plants to be monitored and/or treated. FIG. 7A and 7D and FIG. 14 shows an agricultural field with treated plants and untreated plants including the prior applications to the treated plants with the treated plants being superimposed with the visual markers.
Khait shows at FIG. 7A-7D and FIGS. 12-14 and Paragraph 0409-0423 prior applications of spraying to the plants activated with visual markersStoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0030 that as an agricultural implement traverses a field, a monitor A of a first machine collects as applied data at various points in the field and the first machine may be coupled to the agricultural implement and causing the agricultural implement to traverse the field and the as applied data can be seeding information, such as percent singulation, skips, multiples, downforce, applied fluids, depth measurement and the as applied data is collected and stored in a monitor data file of the monitor and field boundary and prescriptions are embedded into the data file and at Paragraph 0032 data recorded by monitor A at one location can be used to influence control of monitor B in other locations or at the same location during a different application pass and the operator may choose to operate the equipment in a different way based on data from previous field passes and his present location in the field and at Paragraph 0039 that the icons or symbols can be positioned on a field view for the data layer at different locations within a field.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0030 that as an agricultural implement traverses a field, a monitor A of a first machine collects as applied data at various points in the field and the first machine may be coupled to the agricultural implement and causing the agricultural implement to traverse the field and the as applied data can be seeding information, such as percent singulation, skips, multiples, downforce, applied fluids, depth measurement and the as applied data is collected and stored in a monitor data file of the monitor and field boundary and prescriptions are embedded into the data file and at Paragraph 0032 data recorded by monitor A at one location can be used to influence control of monitor B in other locations or at the same location during a different application pass and the operator may choose to operate the equipment in a different way based on data from previous field passes and his present location in the field and at Paragraph 0039 that the icons or symbols can be positioned on a field view for the data layer at different locations within a field.
Threshold trigger in an application pass is a predictive characteristic to predictively trigger the weed data layer or emergence data layer with icons to be superimposed over the agricultural field based on an agricultural parameter exceeding a threshold. The prior applications also refer to the data layers related to the icons that are successively triggered when the agricultural parameter exceeding a threshold during a prior application pass of the plurality of application passes.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0054 that the software application can provide different display regions that are selectable by a user. The enhanced map 610 (e.g., enhanced weed map) shows a weed data layer across a field with selectable icons or symbols for images and a scale region 620 shows weed coverage, weed pressure, or weed density on a scale from 100% to 0%. The overview image 650 shows an overview of the field and has a scale region 660. The images that are represented with icons or symbols are captured based on a threshold triggering (e.g., agricultural parameter exceeds a threshold value for the agricultural parameter, weed density exceeds a weed threshold trigger (e.g., 80%) then capture an image, emergence value exceeds an emergence threshold trigger then capture an image, etc.) as a machine pulls an implement through a field for an application pass. The icons or symbols and associated captured images are located at a geographical location whenever the agricultural parameter threshold is triggered as the implement traverses through the field.
).
Re Claim 28:
The claim 28 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that each visual indicia, of the visual indicium, comprises: a grid segment, wherein each grid segment comprises a select visual indicator, of a plurality of visual indicators, to visually represent a level of the respective prior characteristic.
However, Khait and Stoller-provisional further teach the claim limitation that each visual indicia, of the visual indicium, comprises: a grid segment, wherein each grid segment comprises a select visual indicator, of a plurality of visual indicators, to visually represent a level of the respective prior characteristic (Khait teaches at Paragraph 0074 that the mobile system is configured to move along the area comprising said plants to be monitored and/or treated. FIG. 7A and 7D and FIG. 14 shows an agricultural field with treated plants and untreated plants including the prior applications to the treated plants with the treated plants being superimposed with the visual markers.
Khait shows at FIG. 7A-7D and FIGS. 12-14 and Paragraph 0409-0423 prior applications of spraying to the plants activated with visual markers.
Stoller-provisional teaches at FIGS. 17-18 and Paragraph 0073-0074 that each visual icon of the plurality of selectable icons and the selectable icons are arranged in a grid each icon as a grid segment to visually represent a level of the respective prior characteristic such as the weed level or plant actual emergence level).
Re Claim 29:
The claim 29 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the prior application location data is obtained during the prior operation at the agricultural worksite, the prior operation performed by a first machine, wherein the current operation is performed by a second machine different than the first machine.
Khait and Stoller-provisional further teach the claim limitation that the prior application location data is obtained during the prior operation at the agricultural worksite, the prior operation performed by a first machine, wherein the current operation is performed by a second machine different than the first machine (
Khait teaches at Paragraph 0074 that the mobile system is configured to move along the area comprising said plants to be monitored and/or treated. FIG. 7A and 7D and FIG. 14 shows an agricultural field with treated plants and untreated plants including the prior applications to the treated plants with the treated plants being superimposed with the visual markers.
Khait shows at FIG. 7A-7D and FIGS. 12-14 and Paragraph 0409-0423 prior applications of spraying to the plants activated with visual markers.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0030 that as an agricultural implement traverses a field, a monitor A of a first machine collects as applied data at various points in the field and the first machine may be coupled to the agricultural implement and causing the agricultural implement to traverse the field and the as applied data can be seeding information, such as percent singulation, skips, multiples, downforce, applied fluids, depth measurement and the as applied data is collected and stored in a monitor data file of the monitor and field boundary and prescriptions are embedded into the data file and at Paragraph 0032 data recorded by monitor A at one location can be used to influence control of monitor B in other locations or at the same location during a different application pass and the operator may choose to operate the equipment in a different way based on data from previous field passes and his present location in the field and at Paragraph 0039 that the icons or symbols can be positioned on a field view for the data layer at different locations within a field.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0030 that as an agricultural implement traverses a field, a monitor A of a first machine collects as applied data at various points in the field and the first machine may be coupled to the agricultural implement and causing the agricultural implement to traverse the field and the as applied data can be seeding information, such as percent singulation, skips, multiples, downforce, applied fluids, depth measurement and the as applied data is collected and stored in a monitor data file of the monitor and field boundary and prescriptions are embedded into the data file and at Paragraph 0032 data recorded by monitor A at one location can be used to influence control of monitor B in other locations or at the same location during a different application pass and the operator may choose to operate the equipment in a different way based on data from previous field passes and his present location in the field and at Paragraph 0039 that the icons or symbols can be positioned on a field view for the data layer at different locations within a field.
Threshold trigger in an application pass is a predictive characteristic to predictively trigger the weed data layer or emergence data layer with icons to be superimposed over the agricultural field based on an agricultural parameter exceeding a threshold. The prior applications also refer to the data layers related to the icons that are successively triggered when the agricultural parameter exceeding a threshold during a prior application pass of the plurality of application passes.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0054 that the software application can provide different display regions that are selectable by a user. The enhanced map 610 (e.g., enhanced weed map) shows a weed data layer across a field with selectable icons or symbols for images and a scale region 620 shows weed coverage, weed pressure, or weed density on a scale from 100% to 0%. The overview image 650 shows an overview of the field and has a scale region 660. The images that are represented with icons or symbols are captured based on a threshold triggering (e.g., agricultural parameter exceeds a threshold value for the agricultural parameter, weed density exceeds a weed threshold trigger (e.g., 80%) then capture an image, emergence value exceeds an emergence threshold trigger then capture an image, etc.) as a machine pulls an implement through a field for an application pass. The icons or symbols and associated captured images are located at a geographical location whenever the agricultural parameter threshold is triggered as the implement traverses through the field.
).
Re Claim 30:
The claim 30 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the prior application location data is obtained during the prior operation, the prior operation of a different type than the current operation.
Khait and Stoller-provisional further teach the claim limitation that the prior application location data is obtained during the prior operation, the prior operation of a different type than the current operation (Khait teaches at Paragraph 0074 that the mobile system is configured to move along the area comprising said plants to be monitored and/or treated. FIG. 7A and 7D and FIG. 14 shows an agricultural field with treated plants and untreated plants including the prior applications to the treated plants with the treated plants being superimposed with the visual markers.
Khait shows at FIG. 7A-7D and FIGS. 12-14 and Paragraph 0409-0423 prior applications of spraying to the plants activated with visual markers.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0030 that as an agricultural implement traverses a field, a monitor A of a first machine collects as applied data at various points in the field and the first machine may be coupled to the agricultural implement and causing the agricultural implement to traverse the field and the as applied data can be seeding information, such as percent singulation, skips, multiples, downforce, applied fluids, depth measurement and the as applied data is collected and stored in a monitor data file of the monitor and field boundary and prescriptions are embedded into the data file and at Paragraph 0032 data recorded by monitor A at one location can be used to influence control of monitor B in other locations or at the same location during a different application pass and the operator may choose to operate the equipment in a different way based on data from previous field passes and his present location in the field and at Paragraph 0039 that the icons or symbols can be positioned on a field view for the data layer at different locations within a field.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0030 that as an agricultural implement traverses a field, a monitor A of a first machine collects as applied data at various points in the field and the first machine may be coupled to the agricultural implement and causing the agricultural implement to traverse the field and the as applied data can be seeding information, such as percent singulation, skips, multiples, downforce, applied fluids, depth measurement and the as applied data is collected and stored in a monitor data file of the monitor and field boundary and prescriptions are embedded into the data file and at Paragraph 0032 data recorded by monitor A at one location can be used to influence control of monitor B in other locations or at the same location during a different application pass and the operator may choose to operate the equipment in a different way based on data from previous field passes and his present location in the field and at Paragraph 0039 that the icons or symbols can be positioned on a field view for the data layer at different locations within a field.
Threshold trigger in an application pass is a predictive characteristic to predictively trigger the weed data layer or emergence data layer with icons to be superimposed over the agricultural field based on an agricultural parameter exceeding a threshold. The prior applications also refer to the data layers related to the icons that are successively triggered when the agricultural parameter exceeding a threshold during a prior application pass of the plurality of application passes.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0054 that the software application can provide different display regions that are selectable by a user. The enhanced map 610 (e.g., enhanced weed map) shows a weed data layer across a field with selectable icons or symbols for images and a scale region 620 shows weed coverage, weed pressure, or weed density on a scale from 100% to 0%. The overview image 650 shows an overview of the field and has a scale region 660. The images that are represented with icons or symbols are captured based on a threshold triggering (e.g., agricultural parameter exceeds a threshold value for the agricultural parameter, weed density exceeds a weed threshold trigger (e.g., 80%) then capture an image, emergence value exceeds an emergence threshold trigger then capture an image, etc.) as a machine pulls an implement through a field for an application pass. The icons or symbols and associated captured images are located at a geographical location whenever the agricultural parameter threshold is triggered as the implement traverses through the field).
Re Claim 31:
The claim 31 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the plurality of prior characteristics comprises a plurality of fertilizer characteristics.
Khait and Stoller-provisional teach the claim limitation that the plurality of prior characteristics comprises a plurality of fertilizer characteristics (
Khait teaches at Paragraph 0074 that the mobile system is configured to move along the area comprising said plants to be monitored and/or treated. FIG. 7A and 7D and FIG. 14 shows an agricultural field with treated plants and untreated plants including the prior applications to the treated plants with the treated plants being superimposed with the visual markers.
Khait shows at FIG. 7A-7D and FIGS. 12-14 and Paragraph 0409-0423 prior applications of spraying to the plants activated with visual markers and at Paragraph 0078 and Paragraph 0112 and Paragraph 0180 that the mobile system is designed for applying to the target area fertilizer where the visual markers indicate the status of fertilization to the plants.
Stoller-provisional teaches [0036] At operation 302, a software application is initiated on the processing system and displayed on a monitor or display device as a user interface. The processing system may be integrated with or coupled to a machine that performs an application pass (e.g., planting, tillage, fertilization, spraying, etc.). Alternatively, the processing system may be integrated with an apparatus (e.g., drone, image capture device) associated with the machine that captures images before, during, or after the application pass. In one example, the user interface includes a map of a data layer (e.g., seed data, commanded planter seed population, actual seed population determined from a seed sensor, a seed population deviation, singulation data, weed map, emergence data, emergence map, emergence environment score based on a combination of temperature and moisture correlated to how long a seed takes to germinate, emergence environment score based on a percentage of seeds planted that will germinate within a selected number of days, time to germination, time to emergence, seed germination risk) for a field of interest and an overview image of the field of interest. Seed germination risk can be germination/emergence (no germination/emergence, on time germination/emergence, or late germination/emergence) or factors other than time, such as, deformities, damaged seed, reduced vigor, or disease. Seed germination risk can be high, medium, or low, or it can be on-time emergence, late emergence, or no emergence).
Re Claim 32:
The claim 32 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the plurality of prior characteristics is indicative of a plurality of tillage tool depths.
Freiberg teaches the claim limitation that the plurality of prior characteristics is indicative of a plurality of tillage tool depths (
Freiberg teaches at Paragraph 0023 that User interface 102 includes an enroll Ag field 202 (as a map) into system 100. Ag field 202 may comprise one or more management zones. A management zone is a sub-region of a field that expresses a relatively homogenous combination of yield-limiting/yield-potential factors for which a single rate of a specific crop input/cultural practice (e.g., tillage depth) is appropriate. Ag field 202 can have previously defined or set management zones and target plant populations. This information can come from the previous years' harvest as well as the current year's agronomy plan in which case it is retrieved by system logic 104 from centralized database 116 to generate a management zone overlay and then provided to user interface 102 as a management zone overlay view.
Feinberg teaches at Paragraph 0024 that user interface 102 can be used to identify intended machine orientation for the Ag input 114 application in question either manually by user defined orientation for machine 220, using machine guidance lines 204, or using previous record of application travel (e.g., planting points 206). The areas for test plot(s) 212 are ideally laid out with respect to intended machine travel to optimize execution. Machine input instructions such as tillage depth, planting depth, tillage angle, residue spread width, the number of seeds per area, weight of seeds per area, volume per area, and weight per area can be provided at user interface 102. FIG. 3A shows an excerpt from FIG. 3 of the voluminous number of previous year's planting points 206 overlaid on Ag field 202 by system logic 104 and displayed to user at user interface 102.
Freiberg teaches at Paragraph [0025] that once the intended travel path for machine 220 across agricultural farm field 214 is captured, a processing function occurs in system logic 104 where the previously loaded data about agricultural farm field 214 (e.g., management zones and target plant populations) are overlaid on a grid 208, as shown in FIG. 4. Grid 208 is shaded/colored with different plant population profiles that correspond with target population information 210 by system logic 104 and displayed on the right-hand side of electronic user interface 102).
Re Claim 6:
The claim 6 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the plurality of prior characteristics comprises a plurality of prior spray locations.
Khait and Freiberg teach the claim limitation that the plurality of prior characteristics comprises a plurality of prior spray locations (
Khait teaches at Paragraph 0074 that the mobile system is configured to move along the area comprising said plants to be monitored and/or treated. FIG. 7A and 7D and FIG. 14 shows an agricultural field with treated plants and untreated plants including the prior applications to the treated plants with the treated plants being superimposed with the visual markers.
Khait shows at FIG. 7A-7D and FIGS. 12-14 and Paragraph 0409-0423 prior applications of spraying to the plants activated with visual markers and at Paragraph 0078 and Paragraph 0112 and Paragraph 0180 that the mobile system is designed for applying to the target area fertilizer where the visual markers indicate the status of fertilization to the plants.
Freiberg teaches at Paragraph 0023 that User interface 102 includes an enroll Ag field 202 (as a map) into system 100. Ag field 202 may comprise one or more management zones. A management zone is a sub-region of a field that expresses a relatively homogenous combination of yield-limiting/yield-potential factors for which a single rate of a specific crop input/cultural practice (e.g., tillage depth) is appropriate. Ag field 202 can have previously defined or set management zones and target plant populations. This information can come from the previous years' harvest as well as the current year's agronomy plan in which case it is retrieved by system logic 104 from centralized database 116 to generate a management zone overlay and then provided to user interface 102 as a management zone overlay view.
Feinberg teaches at Paragraph 0024 that user interface 102 can be used to identify intended machine orientation for the Ag input 114 application in question either manually by user defined orientation for machine 220, using machine guidance lines 204, or using previous record of application travel (e.g., planting points 206). The areas for test plot(s) 212 are ideally laid out with respect to intended machine travel to optimize execution. Machine input instructions such as tillage depth, planting depth, tillage angle, residue spread width, the number of seeds per area, weight of seeds per area, volume per area, and weight per area can be provided at user interface 102. FIG. 3A shows an excerpt from FIG. 3 of the voluminous number of previous year's planting points 206 overlaid on Ag field 202 by system logic 104 and displayed to user at user interface 102.
Freiberg teaches at Paragraph [0025] that once the intended travel path for machine 220 across agricultural farm field 214 is captured, a processing function occurs in system logic 104 where the previously loaded data about agricultural farm field 214 (e.g., management zones and target plant populations) are overlaid on a grid 208, as shown in FIG. 4. Grid 208 is shaded/colored with different plant population profiles that correspond with target population information 210 by system logic 104 and displayed on the right-hand side of electronic user interface 102).
However, Stoller provisional further teaches the claim limitation that that the plurality of prior characteristics comprises a plurality of prior spray locations (
Stoller-provisional shows at FIG. 5 and Paragraph 0050-0052 that the images that are represented with icons are captured based on grid-based triggering as a machine pulls an implement through a field for an application pass and the icons are located approximately equidistant from each other as the implement traverses through the field for an application pass. A grower provides an input during a spraying operation for a grid-based triggering of image capturing devices during the spraying operation).
Re Claim 23:
The claim 23 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the plurality of prior characteristics comprises a plurality of prior crop development characteristics.
Khait and Freiberg further teach the claim limitation that the plurality of prior characteristics comprises a plurality of prior crop development characteristics (
Khait teaches at Paragraph 0074 that the mobile system is configured to move along the area comprising said plants to be monitored and/or treated. FIG. 7A and 7D and FIG. 14 shows an agricultural field with treated plants and untreated plants including the prior applications to the treated plants with the treated plants being superimposed with the visual markers.
Khait shows at FIG. 7A-7D and FIGS. 12-14 and Paragraph 0409-0423 prior applications of spraying to the plants activated with visual markers and at Paragraph 0078 and Paragraph 0112 and Paragraph 0180 that the mobile system is designed for applying to the target area fertilizer where the visual markers indicate the status of fertilization to the plants.
Freiberg teaches at Paragraph 0023 that User interface 102 includes an enroll Ag field 202 (as a map) into system 100. Ag field 202 may comprise one or more management zones. A management zone is a sub-region of a field that expresses a relatively homogenous combination of yield-limiting/yield-potential factors for which a single rate of a specific crop input/cultural practice (e.g., tillage depth) is appropriate. Ag field 202 can have previously defined or set management zones and target plant populations. This information can come from the previous years' harvest as well as the current year's agronomy plan in which case it is retrieved by system logic 104 from centralized database 116 to generate a management zone overlay and then provided to user interface 102 as a management zone overlay view.
Feinberg teaches at Paragraph 0024 that user interface 102 can be used to identify intended machine orientation for the Ag input 114 application in question either manually by user defined orientation for machine 220, using machine guidance lines 204, or using previous record of application travel (e.g., planting points 206). The areas for test plot(s) 212 are ideally laid out with respect to intended machine travel to optimize execution. Machine input instructions such as tillage depth, planting depth, tillage angle, residue spread width, the number of seeds per area, weight of seeds per area, volume per area, and weight per area can be provided at user interface 102. FIG. 3A shows an excerpt from FIG. 3 of the voluminous number of previous year's planting points 206 overlaid on Ag field 202 by system logic 104 and displayed to user at user interface 102.
Freiberg teaches at Paragraph [0025] that once the intended travel path for machine 220 across agricultural farm field 214 is captured, a processing function occurs in system logic 104 where the previously loaded data about agricultural farm field 214 (e.g., management zones and target plant populations) are overlaid on a grid 208, as shown in FIG. 4. Grid 208 is shaded/colored with different plant population profiles that correspond with target population information 210 by system logic 104 and displayed on the right-hand side of electronic user interface 102).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated Freiberg’s teaching overlaying the plant population profiles into the display system of the field image with icons/labels as taught Stoller-provisional agricultural implement to have provided an enhanced display of the field image with icons/labels correctly positioned on geographical coordinates of the plants/crops/seeds in the field as the agricultural implement traverses the field. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to update the field image as the agricultural implement traverses the field.
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoller et al. US-PGPUB No. 2024/0295954 (hereinafter Stoller based on the provisional application 63/197,634’s filing date) in view of
Khait et al. US-PGPUB No. 2023/0039763 (hereinafter Khait);
Freiberg et al. US-PGPUB No. 2020/0113172 (hereinafter Freiberg);
Faers et al. US-PGPUB No. 2023/0136009 (hereinafter Faers).
Re Claim 2:
The claim 2 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the plurality of prior characteristics comprises a plurality of prior seed locations.
Stoller-provisional further teaches the claim limitation that the plurality of prior characteristics comprises a plurality of prior seed locations (
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph [0104] that the software application can provide different display regions that are selectable by a user. The map 1610 (e.g., commanded planting population map from a planter, planted population map based on data from a seed sensor) shows a planted population data layer across a field and a scale region 1620 shows seeds per acre in percentages with 94.4-100% being a target seed population. The map 1650 (e.g., actual relative emergence uniformity map based on data from sensors after plants emerge from the soil) shows an actual relative emergence uniformity data layer across a field and a scale region 1660 shows actual relative emergence uniformity in units of growth stages with respect to a target growth stage. The 1.87 and greater stage is the target growth stage, the 0.38-1.87 stage is one growth stage late in emergence, and the 0.38 and lower stage is two growth stages late in emergence. Alternatively, the scale regions 1620 and 1660 can show percentages for the planted population and the actual relative emergence uniformity, respectively. In one example, a 0% actual relative emergence uniformity indicates low uniformity and 100% actual relative emergence uniformity indicates a target uniformity for actual relative emergence uniformity. Various plant phenotype characteristics can be shown with a map or a uniformity map such as growth stage, biomass, plant height, size, and stalk size.
Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0030 that as an agricultural implement traverses a field, a monitor A of a first machine collects as applied data at various points in the field and the first machine may be coupled to the agricultural implement and causing the agricultural implement to traverse the field and the as applied data can be seeding information, such as percent singulation, skips, multiples, downforce, applied fluids, depth measurement and the as applied data is collected and stored in a monitor data file of the monitor and field boundary and prescriptions are embedded into the data file and at Paragraph 0032 data recorded by monitor A at one location can be used to influence control of monitor B in other locations or at the same location during a different application pass and the operator may choose to operate the equipment in a different way based on data from previous field passes and his present location in the field and at Paragraph 0039 that the icons or symbols can be positioned on a field view for the data layer at different locations within a field).
However, Faers further teaches the claim limitation that the plurality of prior characteristics comprises a plurality of prior seed locations (
Faers teaches that the crop seed map (visual indicia) is superimposed on the soil surface and is changed as a function of the geolocation of the agricultural surface.
Faers teaches at Paragraph 0060 by overlaying the crop seed map with the soil profile maps, weeds that germinate can be identified and be distinguished from planted crop seeds and soil elevation changes that occurred due to other reasons.
Faers teaches at Paragraph 0069 that the data for the crop seed map for a certain geolocation is acquired prior to the acquisition of the data for the soil surface profile at the first time point for the same geolocation and FIG. 6 shows a vehicle where the data for the crop seed map for a certain location is acquired prior to the acquisition of the data for the soil surface at the first time point for the same location.
Faers teaches at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0018 that the output unit is configured to output the crop seed map of the agriculture field and the soil surface profile map of the agriculture field and at Paragraph 0019 that the crop seed map and soil surface profile map can be shown to a farmer on a monitor, hand held, printer, screen or any other information monitoring device/medium and at Paragraph 0047-0048 that information about the geo-positional information of planted crop seeds on an agriculture field can be acquired with a camera, laser scanner and the crop seed map refers to the registration of the seed position in a chart particularly in the form of at least 2D or 3D display of the crop seed geo-positional distribution on an agriculture field after planting and at Paragraph 0060 that by overlaying the crop seed map with the soil profile maps at least two different time points weeds that germinate can be identified and be distinguished from planted crop seeds and soil elevation changes that occurred due to other reasons as weather incidences. A weed control agent spray map can be generated)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have combined Faers with Stoller and Khait’s displaying of visual indicia as a function of the location of the agricultural implement to have displayed augmented reality overlay indicators for the seeds/spray-map on the agricultural field imaged by the photographing camera in the field of view of the camera. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have displayed different visual indicia as a function of the geographical locations of the captured land surface.
Re Claim 7:
The claim 7 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the plurality of prior characteristics comprises a plurality of prior singulation events.
However, Stoller-provisional further teaches the claim limitation that the plurality of prior characteristics comprises a plurality of prior singulation events (Stoller-provisional teaches at Paragraph 0030 that as an agricultural implement traverses a field, a monitor A of a first machine collects as applied data at various points in the field and the first machine may be coupled to the agricultural implement and causing the agricultural implement to traverse the field and the as applied data can be seeding information, such as percent singulation, skips, multiples, downforce, applied fluids, depth measurement and the as applied data is collected and stored in a monitor data file of the monitor and field boundary and prescriptions are embedded into the data file and at Paragraph 0032 data recorded by monitor A at one location can be used to influence control of monitor B in other locations or at the same location during a different application pass and the operator may choose to operate the equipment in a different way based on data from previous field passes and his present location in the field and at Paragraph 0039 that the icons or symbols can be positioned on a field view for the data layer at different locations within a field).
Faers further teaches the claim limitation the plurality of prior characteristics comprises a plurality of prior singulation events (
Faers teaches at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0067-0068 the seed singulation on the crop seed map wherein a radius of 20 cm around an individual crop seed is marked on the seed control agent spray map to be not sprayed with a weed control agent and the soil surface profile map showing the solid surface profile acquired on the agriculture field with an agriculture vehicle
Faers teaches at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0018 that the output unit is configured to output the crop seed map of the agriculture field and the soil surface profile map of the agriculture field and at Paragraph 0019 that the crop seed map and soil surface profile map can be shown to a farmer on a monitor, hand held, printer, screen or any other information monitoring device/medium and at Paragraph 0047-0048 that information about the geo-positional information of planted crop seeds on an agriculture field can be acquired with a camera, laser scanner and the crop seed map refers to the registration of the seed position in a chart particularly in the form of at least 2D or 3D display of the crop seed geo-positional distribution on an agriculture field after planting and at Paragraph 0060 that by overlaying the crop seed map with the soil profile maps at at least two different time points weeds that germinate can be identified and be distinguished from planted crop seeds and soil elevation changes that occurred due to other reasons as weather incidences. A weed control agent spray map can be generated and at Paragraph 0072 that the method for weed control management further comprises application of a weed control agent to the agricultural field according to the weed control agent spray map and at Paragraph 0072 that the weed control agent comprises non-selective herbicides).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have combined Faers with Stoller’s displaying of visual indicia as a function of the location of the agricultural implement to have displayed augmented reality overlay indicators for the seeds/spray-map on the agricultural field imaged by the photographing camera in the field of view of the camera. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have displayed different visual indicia as a function of the geographical locations of the captured land surface.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoller et al. US-PGPUB No. 2024/0295954 (hereinafter Stoller based on the provisional application 63/197,634’s filing date) in view of
Khait et al. US-PGPUB No. 2023/0039763 (hereinafter Khait);
Freiberg et al. US-PGPUB No. 2020/0113172 (hereinafter Freiberg);
Faers et al. US-PGPUB No. 2023/0136009 (hereinafter Faers).
Re Claim 4:
The claim 4 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 2 except additional claim limitation that capturing, with the camera at the agricultural worksite during the current operation, a second image of the current agricultural surface of the agricultural worksite;
Calculating second location information of the current agricultural surface indicative of a second location of the current agricultural surface relative to a second location of the camera at the agricultural worksite;
Adjusting a juxtaposition of at least on visual indicium, of the visual indicia, on the enhanced display based on the second location information.
However, Faers further teach the claim limitation that capturing, with the camera at the agricultural worksite during the current operation, a second image of the current agricultural surface of the agricultural worksite;
Calculating second location information of the current agricultural surface indicative of a second location of the current agricultural surface relative to a second location of the camera at the agricultural worksite;
Adjusting a juxtaposition of at least on visual indicium, of the visual indicia, on the enhanced display based on the second location information (
Faers teaches that the crop seed map (visual indicia) is superimposed on the soil surface and is changed as a function of the geolocation of the agricultural surface.
Faers teaches at Paragraph 0060 by overlaying the crop seed map with the soil profile maps, weeds that germinate can be identified and be distinguished from planted crop seeds and soil elevation changes that occurred due to other reasons.
Faers teaches at Paragraph 0069 that the data for the crop seed map for a certain geolocation is acquired prior to the acquisition of the data for the soil surface profile at the first time point for the same geolocation and FIG. 6 shows a vehicle where the data for the crop seed map for a certain location is acquired prior to the acquisition of the data for the soil surface at the first time point for the same location.
Faers teaches at FIG. 1 and Paragraph 0018 that the output unit is configured to output the crop seed map of the agriculture field and the soil surface profile map of the agriculture field and at Paragraph 0019 that the crop seed map and soil surface profile map can be shown to a farmer on a monitor, hand held, printer, screen or any other information monitoring device/medium and at Paragraph 0047-0048 that information about the geo-positional information of planted crop seeds on an agriculture field can be acquired with a camera, laser scanner and the crop seed map refers to the registration of the seed position in a chart particularly in the form of at least 2D or 3D display of the crop seed geo-positional distribution on an agriculture field after planting and at Paragraph 0060 that by overlaying the crop seed map with the soil profile maps at at least two different time points weeds that germinate can be identified and be distinguished from planted crop seeds and soil elevation changes that occurred due to other reasons as weather incidences. A weed control agent spray map can be generated).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have combined Faers with Stoller and Khait’s displaying of visual indicia as a function of the location of the agricultural implement to have displayed augmented reality overlay indicators for the seeds/spray-map on the agricultural field imaged by the photographing camera in the field of view of the camera. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have displayed different visual indicia as a function of the geographical locations of the captured land surface.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoller et al. US-PGPUB No. 2024/0295954 (hereinafter Stoller based on the provisional application 63/197,634’s filing date) in view of
Khait et al. US-PGPUB No. 2023/0039763 (hereinafter Khait);
Freiberg et al. US-PGPUB No. 2020/0113172 (hereinafter Freiberg);
McNichols et al. US-PGPUB No. 2020/0281110 (hereinafter McNichols).
Re Claim 8:
The claim 8 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the plurality of prior characteristics comprises a plurality of prior soil temperatures.
McNichols teaches the claim limitation that the plurality of prior characteristics comprises a plurality of prior soil temperatures (McNichols teaches at FIGS. 11-12 and 14A-14B and Paragraph 0127 that FIG. 11 illustrates an example graphical user interface for a cab computer generated at the time of an operation showing areas of a field that a sprayer has covered, wind speed at the time of application, wind direction, temperature, humidity and other data).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated McNichols’s display of temperature or wind direction on the agricultural surface into the display of the agriculture surface of Stoller and Khait’s displaying of visual indicia as a function of the location of the agricultural implement to have displayed augmented reality overlay indicators for the seeds/spray-map on the agricultural field imaged by the photographing camera in the field of view of the camera. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have displayed different visual indicia as a function of the geographical locations of the captured land surface. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided a temperature map on the ground surface map to inform the operator about the temperature of the sectors of the ground surface.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoller et al. US-PGPUB No. 2024/0295954 (hereinafter Stoller based on the provisional application 63/197,634’s filing date) in view of
Khait et al. US-PGPUB No. 2023/0039763 (hereinafter Khait);
Freiberg et al. US-PGPUB No. 2020/0113172 (hereinafter Freiberg);
Watson et al. US-PGPUB No. 2023/0028706 (hereinafter Watson) and
Yagyu et al. US-PGPUB No. 2020/0329632 (hereinafter Yagyu).
Re Claim 9:
The claim 9 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the plurality of prior characteristics comprises a plurality of prior crop productivity characteristics.
Watson/Yagyu further teaches the claim limitation that the plurality of prior characteristics comprises a plurality of prior crop productivity characteristics (Watson teaches at FIGS. 4A-4C and Paragraph 0055generating a display of the crop yields on the agricultural field surface 412 imaged by the satellite imagery showing three different crop yields on three sectors.
Yagyu teaches at Paragraph 0136-0139 that when the individual setting button 533 is selected after displaying the yield map F11 on the map display portion 536b, the plan creator portion 502 displays the spraying input portion as in FIG. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated Watson/Yagyu’s teaching of displaying yield map on the soil surface to have modified the display of the agricultural land surface of Stoller and Khait’s displaying of visual indicia as a function of the location of the agricultural implement to have displayed augmented reality overlay indicators for the seeds/spray-map on the agricultural field imaged by the photographing camera in the field of view of the camera. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided additional display overlays relating to the field yields.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoller et al. US-PGPUB No. 2024/0295954 (hereinafter Stoller based on the provisional application 63/197,634’s filing date) in view of
Khait et al. US-PGPUB No. 2023/0039763 (hereinafter Khait);
Freiberg et al. US-PGPUB No. 2020/0113172 (hereinafter Freiberg);
Henry et al. US-PGPUB No. 2022/0256764 (hereinafter Henry).
Re Claim 10:
The claim 10 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that the plurality of prior characteristics comprises a plurality of prior residue characteristics.
Henry teaches the claim limitation the plurality of prior characteristics comprises a plurality of prior residue characteristics (Henry teaches at FIGS. 4-5 and Paragraph 0052-0055 that the control logic 200 includes generating a residue mask associated with the imaged portion of the field….the computing system 110 may be configured to generate the residue mask based on the classified pixels in the composite image…the residue mask may generally depict the locations of the pixels classified as residue within the composite image…. upon determination of the residue coverage parameter and/or residue evenness parameters, the computing system 110 may be configured to perform an action, such action may include generating a notification for display to operator that provides information associated with the determined residue coverage parameter).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have incorporated Henry’s teaching of displaying residue coverage map on the soil surface to have modified the display of the agricultural land surface of Stoller and Khait’s displaying of visual indicia as a function of the location of the agricultural implement to have displayed augmented reality overlay indicators for the seeds/spray-map on the agricultural field imaged by the photographing camera in the field of view of the camera. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have displayed different visual indicia as a function of the geographical locations of the captured land surface. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided additional display maps including the field residue coverage.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIN CHENG WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617