DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, 6 and 7 have been considered but are persuasive as the previously cited art did not teach the multiple frequency detecting sensor. Accordingly this action is second Non-Final. A new grounds of rejection is made in view of Mihali as presented below.
In response to the applicant’s arguments regarding claims 2 and 3, that Lavon fails to teach a jump in amplitude and frequency, the examiner disagrees. The applicant points out that in Lavon, urination causes a decrease in amplitude and frequency. This does not disqualify Lavon from teaching a “sharp jump” as any quick change in values would constitute this jump. Lavon explaining how the moisture vapor transmission would work, does not exclude such transmission from being used in conjunction with the capacitance sensor. In fact Lavon suggests using the technologies together.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaVon (US 20190290501 A1) in view of Mihali (US 20180055697 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lavon teaches a method of moisture detection and estimation in an absorbent article (100A) with use of multiple frequencies, comprising: applying, by capacitive coupling (paragraphs [0075-0077]), drive signal to a drive electrode in the absorbent article;
sensing, by capacitive coupling, sense signals from a sense electrode in the absorbent article (paragraphs [0075-0077]);
detecting the first wetness event in the absorbent article with use of the sense signal of a frequency (paragraph [0075]); and
detecting the saturation of the absorbent article with use of the sense signal of another frequency (paragraphs [0075-0077])).
LaVon fails to teach that the sense signal is built of multiple frequencies. In the same field of endeavor, Mihali teaches a moisture detection apparatus wherein the sensor is used to detect impedance by measuring multiple frequencies across the sensor pad (paragraph [0051]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor of LaVon similar to Mihali to sense multiple frequencies in order to have a more indepth analysis for a multiplevariable response (motivated by Mihali, paragraph [0051]).
Regarding Claim 2, LaVon in view of Mihali teaches a method of moisture detection and estimation in an absorbent article (paragraph [0002]) the method comprises wherein the detecting the first wetness event that comprises: detecting the first wetness event in the absorbent article when a sharp jump in amplitude is determined in the sense signal frequency (paragraph [0075]) that changes beyond a threshold height within a period shorter than a hold period (paragraph [0088]). It is common sense in the art that most sensors function through is determined in the sense signal frequency (paragraph [0075]) that changes beyond a threshold height within a period shorter than a hold period. Therefore anytime there is a change in wetness registered, Lavon would consider this surpassing a threshold.
Regarding Claim 3, LaVon in view of Mihali teaches a method of moisture detection and estimation in an absorbent article, the method comprises detecting a first wetness event that comprises: detecting the first wetness event in the absorbent article when a gradual upslope (paragraph [0075]: change and variation in frequency and amplitude) change in frequency and amplitude during urination in amplitude is determined in a sense signal of a frequency (paragraph [0075]) that changes beyond a threshold height (paragraph [0088]).
Regarding Claim 4, LaVon in view of Mihali teaches a method of moisture detection and estimation in an absorbent article (paragraph [0002]), the method comprises detecting a saturation that comprises: determining in the sense signal of the other frequency a difference in amplitude from the first wetness event (paragraph [0075]); and detecting the saturation when the difference in amplitude is greater than a threshold amount (paragraph [0088]).
Regarding Claim 6, LaVon in view of Mihali teaches a method of moisture detection and estimation in an absorbent article (paragraph [0002]) the method comprises wherein the applying drive signal of frequencies comprising : applying a periodic drive signal that is swept in a period over the multiple frequencies (paragraph [0060]: impulse, sensor capable of detecting one or more stimuli).
LaVon fails to teach that the sense signal is built of multiple frequencies. In the same field of endeavor, Mihali teaches a moisture detection apparatus wherein the sensor is used to detect impedance by measuring multiple frequencies across the sensor pad (paragraph [0051]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor of LaVon similar to Mihali to sense multiple frequencies in order to have a more indepth analysis for a multiple variable response (motivated by Mihali, paragraph [0051]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sjöholm (US 20120216607 A1) in view of Mihali (US 20180055697 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Sjöholm teaches a method of moisture detection and estimation in an absorbent article (abstract) the method comprises wherein a sensing sense signal of the frequencies comprises: determining, for each of frequencies, (paragraph [0006]) sense signal by using a bandpass filter (paragraph [0066]).
LaVon fails to teach that the sense signal is built of multiple frequencies. In the same field of endeavor, Mihali teaches a moisture detection apparatus wherein the sensor is used to detect impedance by measuring multiple frequencies across the sensor pad (paragraph [0051]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor of LaVon similar to Mihali to sense multiple frequencies in order to have a more indepth analysis for a multiplevariable response (motivated by Mihali, paragraph [0051]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaVon (US 20190290501 A1) in view of Mihali (US 20180055697 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further view of Pop (NL 2013740 A).
Regarding Claim 5, LaVon in view of Mihali teaches the method according to Claim 4. Lavon fails to teach wherein the threshold amount is changed depending on the orientation of the absorbent article.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a system for monitoring incontinence, Pop teaches wherein the threshold amount is changed depending on the orientation of the absorbent article (page 5, paragraph 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the threshold amount of Lavon to include threshold amount is changed depending on the orientation of the absorbent article similar to that disclosed by Pop so that a movement and/or posture of the wearer may influence both the determination of the parameter(s) by the measurement circuit and also the risk of an incontinence event (As motivated by Pop, page 5, paragraph 2), therefore a shift in orientation would not affect the accuracy of the reading.
Conclusion
/KATE ELIZABETH STRACHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/KAI H WENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781