DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/06/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and claims 2, 4, 5, 6 and 7 (based on dependency) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 requires the limitation of “…and has a protective strip outer surface that faces radially outward and is free of abrasive material.” However, there is insufficient support for the raised protective strip to be free of abrasive material. There is no explicit mention of the raised protective strip precluding a certain material and there is no mention of term abrasive in the originally filed specification. Therefore, the claim is rejected for failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 8 and claims 9-14 (based on dependency) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 8 requires the limitation of “…and has a protective strip outer surface that faces radially outward and is free of abrasive material.” However, there is insufficient support for the raised protective strip to be free of abrasive material. There is no explicit mention of the raised protective strip precluding a certain material and there is no mention of term abrasive in the originally filed specification. Therefore, the claim is rejected for failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 15 and claims 16-20 (based on dependency) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 15 requires the limitation of “…and has a protective strip outer surface that faces radially outward and is free of abrasive material.” However, there is insufficient support for the raised protective strip to be free of abrasive material. There is no explicit mention of the raised protective strip precluding a certain material and there is no mention of term abrasive in the originally filed specification. Therefore, the claim is rejected for failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Hardy (US 3,826,445) in view of Von Paleske (US 2003/0080233) and Ogg et al. (US 5,671,897).
Regarding claim 1, Le Hardy teaches a yarn carriers which include a base tube which may be of any number of plies combined with an appropriate adhesive (“a tube for winding a web of fabric or similar material thereon comprising: an inner tube comprising a plurality of inner layers that are wound one upon another about a longitudinal axis of the inner tube and adhered together, the inner tube having a cylindrical inner tube outer surface”) (Col. 1, Lines 44-59; Col. 2, Lines 3-19; Fig. 1-2). An outer ply is also added to the base tube (“an outermost layer formed by a strip of material that is helically wound around the inner tube outer surface, wherein the outermost layer has a tuber outer surface”) (Col. 2, Lines 20-30; Fig. 1-2).
Le Hardy is silent with respect to the outer ply having a plurality of raised gripping portions extending radially outward from the tube outer surface by a raised gripping potion distance.
Von Paleske teaches a roll product in which a band shaped web of material is wound and the roll includes at least one protuberance protruding outward from the outer surface (Pg. 1, Paragraph [0001]). The protuberances allow for mechanically and releasably engage and hold the band-shaped web of material (Pg. 1, Paragraph [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the yarn carriers of Le Hardy with the protuberances of Von Paleske in order to mechanically and releasably engage and hold the yarn to be wrapped around the carrier.
Le Hardy is additionally silent with respect to a raised protective strip formed at the outermost ply and wrapping around the outermost ply such that at least a portion of the plurality of raised gripping portions are uncovered and exposed to an exterior of the tube and wherein the raised protective strip extends radially outward form the tube outer surface by a protective strip distance and has a protective strip outer surface that faces radially outward and is free of abrasive material.
Ogg teaches core wound paper products, such as toilet tissue and paper towels, and more particularly to cores having improved physical properties and which reduce total raw material usage. The cores improved physical properties allow for the cores to resist crushing and are formed from inner and outer plies which form a gap which is then further covered with an additional ply of material (Col. 1, Line 53-Col. 2, Line 21; Col. 5, Lines 13-23; Fig. 5). Figure 1 further shows the cores with the gap being arranged helically. Ogg additionally teaches the gaps being covered by an overlap of the inner ply and the outer ply (Col. 4, Lines 36-51; Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the carriers of Le Hardy with the protuberances of Von Paleske to further include a third ply of material, or an overlap seam, arranged helically around the carriers in order to provide improve physical properties including resisting crushing as taught by Ogg. Furthermore, Ogg fails to teach the use of any abrasive materials and would meet the limitation of wherein the raised protective strip has a protective strip outer surface that faces radially outward and is free of abrasive material.
Regarding claim 2, Le Hardy teaches the carriers as discussed above with respect to claim 1. Von Paleske teaches the protuberances as discussed above with respect to claim 1. The protuberances can be formed using heating penetrating means (“wherein the plurality of raised gripping portions comprises a plurality of embossments formed in the outermost layer”) (Pg. 2, Paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Le Hardy teaches the carriers as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As discussed above, Ogg teaches the inclusion of an additional ply to cover any gaps in order to improve the physical properties of the carriers. Furthermore, as discussed above, figure 1 shows the gaps which are to be covered arranged helically and the additional ply would be wrapped helically around the carriers.
Regarding claim 5, Le Hardy teaches the carrier as discussed above with respect to claim 4. Von Paleske teaches the protuberances as discussed above with respect to claim 1. Ogg teaches the inclusion of an additional ply to cover any gaps in order to improve the physical properties of the carriers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciate that in order for the protuberances to mechanically and releasably engage and hold the yarn to be wrapped around the carrier, the strip would need to be in a different location than the protuberances.
Regarding claim 6, Le Hardy teaches the carrier as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As discussed above, Ogg teaches the covering of the gaps may be formed via an overlap seam as illustrated in figure 3.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Hardy (US 3,826,445) in view of Von Paleske (US 2003/0080233) and Ogg et al. (US 5,671,897) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McClellan (US 4,026,690).
Regarding claim 7, Le Hardy teaches the carrier as discussed above with respect to claim 1 in view of Ogg which teaches the use of overlap seams.
Le Hardy and Ogg are silent with respect to the overlap seams being formed by one of the plurality of inner layers of the inner tube where a first edge of the one of the plurality of inner layers is applied to an underlying layer and a second edge of the one of the plurality of inner layers is applied to the one of the plurality of inner layers over the first edge and overlaps the first edge, and wherein the raised protective strip is formed in a raised portion of the outermost layer that overlies the overlap seam.
McClellan teaches helically wound forming tubes for glass fibers (Col. 1, Lines 6-8). The tubes are formed to be stronger through the use of overlapped joints (Col. 2, Lines 23-36). Figure 5 illustrates the use of these overlapped jointed including a spiral overlapped joint in intermediate plies resulting in providing maximum strength to the tubes (Col. 5, Lines 1-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the carriers of Le Hardy to further include an overlapped joint between intermediate plies in order to provide maximum strength to the carriers as taught by McClellan. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this overlapped joint results in a raised protective strip as shown in figure 5 of McClellan.
Claims 8-9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Hardy (US 3,826,445) in view of Von Paleske (US 2003/0080233) and Ogg et al. (US 5,671,897).
Le Hardy teaches a yarn carriers which include a base tube which may be of any number of plies combined with an appropriate adhesive (“a tube for winding a web of fabric or similar material thereon comprising: an inner tube comprising a plurality of inner layers that are wound one upon another about a longitudinal axis of the inner tube and adhered together, the inner tube having a cylindrical inner tube outer surface”) (Col. 1, Lines 44-59; Col. 2, Lines 3-19; Fig. 1-2). An outer ply is also added to the base tube (“an outermost layer formed by a strip of material that is helically wound around the inner tube outer surface, wherein the outermost layer has a tuber outer surface”) (Col. 2, Lines 20-30; Fig. 1-2).
Le Hardy is silent with respect to the outer ply having a plurality of raised gripping portions extending radially outward from the tube outer surface by a raised gripping potion distance.
Von Paleske teaches a roll product in which a band shaped web of material is wound and the roll includes at least one protuberance protruding outward from the outer surface (Pg. 1, Paragraph [0001]). The protuberances allow for mechanically and releasably engage and hold the band-shaped web of material (Pg. 1, Paragraph [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the yarn carriers of Le Hardy with the protuberances of Von Paleske in order to mechanically and releasably engage and hold the yarn to be wrapped around the carrier.
Le Hardy is additionally silent with respect to a raised protective strip formed at the outermost ply and wrapping around the outermost ply such that at least a portion of the plurality of raised gripping portions are uncovered and exposed to an exterior of the tube and wherein the raised protective strip extends radially outward form the tube outer surface by a protective strip distance and has a protective strip outer surface that faces radially outward and is free of abrasive material.
Ogg teaches core wound paper products, such as toilet tissue and paper towels, and more particularly to cores having improved physical properties and which reduce total raw material usage. The cores improved physical properties allow for the cores to resist crushing and are formed from inner and outer plies which form a gap which is then further covered with an additional ply of material (Col. 1, Line 53-Col. 2, Line 21; Col. 5, Lines 13-23; Fig. 5). Figure 1 further shows the cores with the gap being arranged helically. Ogg additionally teaches the gaps being covered by an overlap of the inner ply and the outer ply (Col. 4, Lines 36-51; Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the carriers of Le Hardy with the protuberances of Von Paleske to further include a third ply of material, or an overlap seam, arranged helically around the carriers in order to provide improve physical properties including resisting crushing as taught by Ogg. Furthermore, Ogg fails to teach the use of any abrasive materials and would meet the limitation of wherein the raised protective strip has a protective strip outer surface that faces radially outward and is free of abrasive material.
Regarding claim 9, Le Hardy teaches the carrier as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As discussed above, Ogg teaches the covering of the gaps may be formed via an overlap seam as illustrated in figure 3.
Regarding claim 11, Le Hardy teaches the carrier as discussed above with respect to claim 8. Von Paleske teaches the protuberances as discussed above with respect to claim 8. The protuberances can be formed using heating penetrating means (“wherein the plurality of raised gripping portions comprises a plurality of embossments formed in the outermost layer”) (Pg. 2, Paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 12, Le Hardy teaches the carrier as discussed above with respect to claim 8. Von Paleske teaches the protuberances as discussed above with respect to claim 8. The protuberances can be formed using heating penetrating means (“wherein the plurality of raised gripping portions comprises a plurality of perforations formed in the outermost layer”) (Pg. 2, Paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 13, Le Hardy teaches the carrier as discussed above with respect to claim 8. Von Paleske teaches the protuberances as discussed above with respect to claim 8. Rummage teaches the strip as discussed above with respect to claim 8.
Le Hardy is silent with respect to the protuberances having a height which is greater than the strip.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to optimize the ----heights of the protuberances and the strips taught by Von Paleske and Ogg as the inventions directed to core or tubes which are used to hold fabrics or bands of material, and the Applicant's invention is also directed towards the same (See claim 1; Paragraphs [0005]-[0008]). As such, the height of the protuberances being greater than the strip as claimed is well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, because the of the size of the protuberances and strip are designed in order to mechanically hold and snag fibers as discussed above, the heights would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) See MPEP 2144.05 (II).
Regarding claim 14, Le Hardy teaches the carrier as discussed above with respect to claim 8. Von Paleske teaches the protuberances as discussed above with respect to claim 8. Rummage teaches the strip as discussed above with respect to claim 8.
Le Hardy is silent with respect to the protuberances having a height of 0.013 to 0.022 inches.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to optimize the ----heights of the protuberances taught by Von Paleske as the invention is directed to core or tubes which are used to hold fabrics or bands of material, and the Applicant's invention is also directed towards the same (See claim 1; Paragraphs [0005]-[0008]). As such, the height of the protuberances is well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, because the of the size of the protuberances and strip are designed in order to mechanically hold and snag fibers as discussed above, the height would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) See MPEP 2144.05 (II).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Hardy (US 3,826,445) in view of Von Paleske (US 2003/0080233) and Ogg et al. (US 5,671,897) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of McClellan (US 4,026,690).
Regarding claim 10, Le Hardy teaches the carrier as discussed above with respect to claim 8 in view of Ogg which teaches the use of overlap seams.
Le Hardy and Ogg are silent with respect to the overlap seams being formed by one of the plurality of inner layers of the inner tube where a first edge of the one of the plurality of inner layers is applied to an underlying layer and a second edge of the one of the plurality of inner layers is applied to the one of the plurality of inner layers over the first edge and overlaps the first edge, and wherein the raised protective strip is formed in a raised portion of the outermost layer that overlies the overlap seam.
McClellan teaches helically wound forming tubes for glass fibers (Col. 1, Lines 6-8). The tubes are formed to be stronger through the use of overlapped joints (Col. 2, Lines 23-36). Figure 5 illustrates the use of these overlapped jointed including a spiral overlapped joint in intermediate plies resulting in providing maximum strength to the tubes (Col. 5, Lines 1-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the carriers of Le Hardy to further include an overlapped joint between intermediate plies in order to provide maximum strength to the carriers as taught by McClellan. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this overlapped joint results in a raised protective strip as shown in figure 5 of McClellan.
Claims 15-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Hardy (US 3,826,445) in view of Von Paleske (US 2003/0080233) and Ogg et al. (US 5,671,897).
Regarding claim 15, Le Hardy teaches a yarn carriers which include a base tube which may be of any number of plies combined with an appropriate adhesive (“a tube for winding a web of fabric or similar material thereon comprising: an inner tube comprising a plurality of inner layers that are wound one upon another about a longitudinal axis of the inner tube and adhered together, the inner tube having a cylindrical inner tube outer surface”) (Col. 1, Lines 44-59; Col. 2, Lines 3-19; Fig. 1-2). An outer ply is also added to the base tube (“an outermost layer formed by a strip of material that is helically wound around the inner tube outer surface, wherein the outermost layer has a tuber outer surface”) (Col. 2, Lines 20-30; Fig. 1-2). Furthermore, as illustrated in figure 2, the method of forming the carrier includes forming the innermost layers followed by forming the outermost layer (“method of forming a tube”) (Col. 1, Line 41-43).
Le Hardy is silent with respect to the outer ply having a plurality of raised gripping portions extending radially outward from the tube outer surface by a raised gripping potion distance.
Von Paleske teaches a roll product in which a band shaped web of material is wound and the roll includes at least one protuberance protruding outward from the outer surface (Pg. 1, Paragraph [0001]). The protuberances allow for mechanically and releasably engage and hold the band-shaped web of material (Pg. 1, Paragraph [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the yarn carriers of Le Hardy with the protuberances of Von Paleske in order to mechanically and releasably engage and hold the yarn to be wrapped around the carrier.
Le Hardy is additionally silent with respect to a raised protective strip formed at the outermost ply and wrapping around the outermost ply such that at least a portion of the plurality of raised gripping portions are uncovered and exposed to an exterior of the tube and wherein the raised protective strip extends radially outward form the tube outer surface by a protective strip distance and has a protective strip outer surface that faces radially outward and is free of abrasive material.
Ogg teaches core wound paper products, such as toilet tissue and paper towels, and more particularly to cores having improved physical properties and which reduce total raw material usage. The cores improved physical properties allow for the cores to resist crushing and are formed from inner and outer plies which form a gap which is then further covered with an additional ply of material (Col. 1, Line 53-Col. 2, Line 21; Col. 5, Lines 13-23; Fig. 5). Figure 1 further shows the cores with the gap being arranged helically. Ogg additionally teaches the gaps being covered by an overlap of the inner ply and the outer ply (Col. 4, Lines 36-51; Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the carriers of Le Hardy with the protuberances of Von Paleske to further include a third ply of material, or an overlap seam, arranged helically around the carriers in order to provide improve physical properties including resisting crushing as taught by Ogg. Furthermore, Ogg fails to teach the use of any abrasive materials and would meet the limitation of wherein the raised protective strip has a protective strip outer surface that faces radially outward and is free of abrasive material.
Regarding claim 16, Le Hardy teaches the carriers as discussed above with respect to claim 15. As discussed above, Ogg teaches the inclusion of an additional ply to cover any gaps in order to improve the physical properties of the carriers. Furthermore, as discussed above, figure 1 shows the gaps which are to be covered arranged helically and the additional ply would be wrapped helically around the carriers.
Regarding claim 17, Le Hardy teaches the carrier as discussed above with respect to claim 15. As discussed above, Ogg teaches the covering of the gaps may be formed via an overlap seam as illustrated in figure 3.
Regarding claim 19, Le Hardy teaches the carrier as discussed above with respect to claim 15. Von Paleske teaches the protuberances as discussed above with respect to claim 8. The protuberances can be formed using heating penetrating means (“wherein the plurality of raised gripping portions comprises a plurality of embossments formed in the outermost layer”) (Pg. 2, Paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 20, Le Hardy teaches the carrier as discussed above with respect to claim 15. Von Paleske teaches the protuberances as discussed above with respect to claim 8. The protuberances can be formed using heating penetrating means (“wherein the plurality of raised gripping portions comprises a plurality of perforations formed in the outermost layer”) (Pg. 2, Paragraph [0039]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Hardy (US 3,826,445) in view of Von Paleske (US 2003/0080233) and Ogg et al. (US 5,671,897) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of McClellan (US 4,026,690).
Regarding claim 18, Le Hardy teaches the carrier as discussed above with respect to claim 15 in view of Ogg which teaches the use of overlap seams.
Le Hardy and Ogg are silent with respect to the overlap seams being formed by one of the plurality of inner layers of the inner tube where a first edge of the one of the plurality of inner layers is applied to an underlying layer and a second edge of the one of the plurality of inner layers is applied to the one of the plurality of inner layers over the first edge and overlaps the first edge, and wherein the raised protective strip is formed in a raised portion of the outermost layer that overlies the overlap seam.
McClellan teaches helically wound forming tubes for glass fibers (Col. 1, Lines 6-8). The tubes are formed to be stronger through the use of overlapped joints (Col. 2, Lines 23-36). Figure 5 illustrates the use of these overlapped jointed including a spiral overlapped joint in intermediate plies resulting in providing maximum strength to the tubes (Col. 5, Lines 1-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the carriers of Le Hardy to further include an overlapped joint between intermediate plies in order to provide maximum strength to the carriers as taught by McClellan. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this overlapped joint results in a raised protective strip as shown in figure 5 of McClellan.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 3 requires “A tube for winding a web of fabric or similar material thereon, comprising: an inner tube comprising a plurality of inner layers that are wound one upon another about a longitudinal axis of the inner tube and adhered together, the inner tube having a cylindrical inner tube outer surface; an outermost layer formed by a strip of material that is helically wound around the inner tube outer surface, wherein the outermost layer has a tube outer surface and a plurality of raised gripping portions extending radially outward from the tube outer surface by a raised gripping portion distance; and a raised protective strip formed at the outermost layer and wrapping around the outermost layer such that at least a portion of the plurality of raised gripping portions are uncovered and exposed to an exterior of the tube, and wherein the raised protective strip extends radially outward from the tube outer surface by a protective strip distance, wherein the raised gripping portion distance is less than the protective strip distance.”
The limitations of claim 3 overcomes the teachings of Le Hardy, Von Paleske and Rummage such that while Von Paleske teaches protuberances considered identical to the raised gripping portions and Rummage teaches the strip considered to be identical to the raised protective strip, there are no teachings regard the height of the protuberances in relation to the strips. Additionally, a further search has failed to produce a reference which would render this limitation as obvious.
Therefore, claim 3 is allowable over the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 7-8, applicant argues that the amendments to claims 1, 8 and 15 requiring the raised protective strips to be free of abrasive material is supported in figures 1-8 of the instant specification in combination with the accompanying text from paragraphs 0017]-[0033].
The examiner is unpersuaded by applicant’s arguments and a 35 U.S.C 112(a) written description is made as discussed above. Specifically, none of the cited paragraphs describe or use the term “abrasive material.” Additionally, the figures provided only illustrate structural embodiments for forming the raised protective strips and do not indicate the absence of any materials, such as abrasive materials. Therefore, a written description rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15 is proper.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, filed 01/06/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 8 and 15 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
On pages 9-10, applicant argues that the amendments requiring the raised protective strips to be free of abrasive material overcomes the teachings of Rummage which requires an abrasive grit material.
The examiner concedes in that this amendment overcomes the teachings of Rummage and the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Ogg as discussed above with respect to claims 1, 8 and 15.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P DILLON/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783