DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Request for Continued Examination
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s remarks received on 05/19/2026 with respect to the amended independent claims have been acknowledged and are moot in view of a new ground of rejected necessitated by the corresponding amendment. Currently claims 1-20 are rejected.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Regarding claims 1-20, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the terms of the claims are presumed to have their plain meaning consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skilled in the art. See MPEP 2111.
The claimed invention identifies and verifies an object presented in video frames based on color and grayscale features associated with the frames using neural networks.
The claims are directed to a mental processing and does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea).
The claims do not have any limitations that are indicative of integration of the judicial exception into a practical application such as improvements to functioning of a computer or a technical field, using any particular machine, effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply the judicial exception in any meaningful way beyond generally linking the use to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
A patent may be obtained for “any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof," 35 U.S.C. § 101, but “laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are not patentable.”
Step 1
Claims 1-20 are directed to one of the four statutory categories of eligible subject matter (process): thus, the claim pass Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test.
Step 2A, prong 1 analysis
Claims 1-20 recite a judicial exception in terms of a mental process. The claimed determining and verifying steps can be performed by a human being observing video frames for object detection by identifying and comparing color and grayscale characteristics of the frames. A video frame is viewable and observable by a human given the broadest and reasonable interpretation. The human is capable and good at identifying objects in various color and/or greyscale features. With neighboring frame’s availability human judgement is further strengthened by comparing and contrasting. The transforming step in claims 4 and 20 can be achieved and observed by a human being with a pair of color evaluator glasses. Notice, a human brain can be trained just like the claimed neural network for object and feature identification and classification based on various criteria.
Step 2A, prong 2 analysis
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because additional elements in claims 3, 6, 10, 11, 13, 18, and 19 are only for data collection or definition which are considered insignificant extra-solution activities to the judicial exception.
Step 2B
Finally, the claims do not include other additional elements that are beyond what is well-understood, routine, conventional activities in the field and sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Conclusion:
The claims do not include additional elements amount to significantly more in terms of improving functionalities of a computer/device itself, improving another technology or technical field, effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, adding unconventional steps that confine claim to a particular useful application or by use of a particular machine that is unconventional. In conclusion, the claims 1-20 do not comply with the current standards for patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
61066.. Claims 1-4, 7, 15-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (CN Pub: 111666901) and in further view of Rizzotti et al (US Patent: 6,937,743) and Taheri et al (US Pub: 2021/0117658).
Regarding claim 1 (currently amended), Fan teaches: A method comprising: determining, by a first classification model and based on a plurality of color features associated with a frame of video, an object in the frame [page 9: p04, p06, page 11: p02, p03]; determining, by a second classification model and based on a plurality of grayscale features associated with the frame, the object in the frame [page 9: p09, page 10: p01]; and based on the determination of the object in the frame by the first classification model and the second classification model, verifying the object is present in the frame [page 2: p09].
Fan does not perform the second prediction associated with a neighboring frame. In the same field of endeavor, Rizzotti et al determines an object in a frame based on a plurality of color features associated with a frame [col 5: lines 56-62]; and perform a second determination/prediction of the object based on greyscale features [col 5: lines 12-26, lines 43-49] and at least one neighboring frame [col 5: lines 29-36]; and verifies the object based on the first and the second prediction [col 6: lines 53-56].
Therefore, given Rizzotti et al’s teaching on using multiple algorithms involving color features and greyscale features of an image and comparison with a neighboring frame for prediction and using combined prediction to confirm the result, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the two to implement Rizzotti et al’s algorithm to Fan’s models to make ML based classifier for quick identification of objects such as fire with improved accuracy.
Fan in view of Rizzotti et al does not expressly teach a second neighboring frame. In the same field of endeavor, Taheri et al teaches: determining, by a second classification model and based on a plurality of grayscale features associated with the frame and a first neighboring frame and a second neighboring frame, a second prediction associated with the object in the frame, wherein the second neighboring frame includes at least one color feature that is different than a color feature of the first neighboring frame [p0010, p0031 p0052].
Fan obtains an infrared image and color image and uses a pretrained first/second image classification model to obtain a first/second prediction result, and determines detection result according to both. Rizzotti et al analyzes successive images for luminosity oscillations using RGB color temperature information , and combine different algorithm results. Taheri et al computes a frame difference image between a current and a previous frame, converts it to a single channel grayscale image, and performs object inference by grayscale frame difference channel and RGB image data. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teaching of all to use the grayscale frame difference features from a current frame and a neighboring frame to improve object verification.
Regarding claim 2 (Original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Fan and Rizzotti et al further teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein determining the object in the frame comprises determining, based on the first classification model and the plurality of color features, a prediction that the frame comprises the object [Fan: page 9: p06, page 11: p02, p03; Rizzotti: col 5: lines 37-62].
Regarding claim 3 (Original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Fan further teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the video is associated with at least one of: a content provider, a user device, or a security camera [page 8: p06, page 9: p04].
Regarding claim 4 (Original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Fan further teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising: transforming the plurality of color features into the plurality of grayscale features [page 4: p04, page 5: p01 (Transformation takes place when fusion characteristic is obtained from fusing depth characteristic extracted from color image and undetermined degree characteristic obtained from grayscale/infrared image.)].
Regarding claim 7 (Original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Fan and Rizzotti et al further teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein verifying the object is present in the frame comprises at least one of: determining that the plurality of grayscale features are indicative of the frame comprising the object; or determining that the plurality of grayscale features are indicative of at least one neighboring frame comprising the object [Fan: page 2: p09, page 3: p01; Rizzotti: col 5: lines 31-50].
Claims 15 (Currently Amended) has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1.
Regarding claims 16 and 17 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 15 has been incorporated herein. Fan and Rizzotti et al further teach: The method of claim 15, wherein determining the prediction comprises: determining, based on a deep-learning model and the plurality of color/grayscale features, the prediction, wherein the deep-learning model is configured to detect the object in frames of video based on color/grayscale features [Fan: page 7; Rizzotti: col 5: lines 30-62].
Regarding claims 19 and 20 (Original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 15 has been incorporated herein. Claims 19 and 20 have been analyzed and rejected with regard to claims 3 and 4 respectively.
71066.. Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (CN Pub: 111666901), Rizzotti et al (US Patent: 6,937,743), and Taheri et al (US Pub: 2021/0117658); and in further view of Danielsson et al (EP 3321844).
Regarding claim 5 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Fan in view of Rizzotti et al and Taheri et al does not verify prediction. In the same field of endeavor, Danielsson et al teaches: the method of claim 1, wherein verifying the object is present in the frame comprises, based on the second prediction satisfying a confidence threshold verifying the first prediction [claim 1]. Therefore, given Danielsson et al’s prescription on verifying recognition result from the first action recognition algorithm verification using second action recognition algorithm and Fan in view of Rizzotti et al’s teaching on applying combined models for an object recognition, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to compare the first and the second prediction for recognition confirmation.
Regarding claim 18 (Original) the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 17 has been incorporated herein. Claim 18 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 5.
81066.. Claims 6, 8-10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (CN Pub: 111666901), Rizzotti et al (US Patent: 6,937,743), and Taheri et al (US Pub: 2021/0117658); and in further view of Sun et al (Video Understanding: From Video Classification to Captioning, 2017).
Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Rizzotti et al performs temporal analysis over successive images and use object’s color change across frame to signal flames: The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one neighboring frame comprises a first neighboring frame that precedes the frame and a second neighboring frame that follows the frame, and wherein at least one color feature of the first neighboring frame partially differs from at least one color feature of the second neighboring frame [col 5: lines 37-40, 55-63].
Fan in view of Rizzotti et al and Taheri et al does not teach majority mode determination. In the same field of endeavor, Sun et al further teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the first classification model, a prediction for each of the first neighboring frame and the second neighboring frame based on color features associated with each of the first neighboring frame and the second neighboring frame; and determining a mode of the first prediction and the prediction for each of the first neighboring frame and the second neighboring frame [page 1: 2. Related Work, page 4: 4.1; page 2: Frames majority vote]. Therefore, given Sun et al ‘s teaching on determining a mode by majority vote, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to make the first model’s prediction more stable over time by smoothing out noise.
Claim 8 (Currently Amended) has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claims 1 and 6 and in accordance with Rizzotti et al’s further teaching on a second plurality of grayscale features associated with at least one neighboring frame of the first frame [Rizzotti: col 5: lines 31-50].
Regarding claim 9 (Original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 8 has been incorporated herein. Claim 9 has been further analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 6.
Regarding claim 10 (Original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 8 has been incorporated herein. Claim 10 has been further analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 3.
Regarding claim 12 (Original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 8 has been incorporated herein. Fan and Rush et al further teaches: The method of claim 8, wherein determining the first plurality of grayscale features comprises: transforming the plurality of color features into the first plurality of grayscale features, and wherein determining the second plurality of grayscale features comprises transforming at least one plurality of color features associated with the at least one neighboring frame into the second plurality of grayscale features [Fan: page 4: p04, page 5: p01 (Transformation takes place when fusion characteristic is obtained from fusing depth characteristic extracted from color image and undetermined degree characteristic obtained from grayscale/infrared image.) And Rush’s processing on neighboring frames: col 8: lines 61-67].
Regarding claim 13 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 8 has been incorporated herein. Claim 13 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 6.
Regarding claim 14 (Original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 8 has been incorporated herein. Claim 14 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 7.
91066.. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (CN Pub: 111666901), Rizzotti et al (US Patent: 6,937,743), and Sun et al (Video Understanding: From Video Classification to Captioning, 2017); and in further view of Wang (CN Pub: 112347942).
Regarding claim 11 (Original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 8 has been incorporated herein. Fan in view of Rizzotti et al and Sun et al does not specify the object comprising a flame or sort. In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches: The method of claim 8, wherein the object comprises an explosion, a flame, or smoke [abstract]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to detect fire using neural network based on color/grayscale characteristics for more accurate result.
Contact
/Fan Zhang/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682