DETAILED ACTION
Application 17/670154, “GLASS CERAMIC SEAL MATERIAL FOR FUEL CELL STACKS”, was filed with the USPTO on 2/11/22 and claims priority from a provisional application filed on 4/15/21.
This Office Action on the merits is in response to communication filed on 6/25/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 15, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over the combination of Goedeke (US 2013/0272774) and Mayumi (US 2011/0053753).
Regarding claim 1-2 and 4, Goedeke teaches a glass ceramic seal (see title) formed from a precursor material (paragraph [0061-0062]).
Goedeke broadly teaches a sealing glass ceramic material containing SiO2, B2O3, Al2O3, CaO and MgO as its primary oxide constituents with other oxide constituents being optionally included in amounts of 0-10 mol% (see Goedeke claim 1), but differs from the claimed invention in that: i) no specific embodiment is taught where the constituents lie within the claimed range, and ii) Goedeke does not La2O3 in a content of 0.5 to 2 mol%.
As to i), it has been held that, “[g]enerally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation… It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.” (MPEP 2144.05 II)
Here, the feature i) is found to be obvious because the invention of Goedeke as broadly disclosed teaches a similar glass ceramic material to that claimed, with oxide constituent content ranges which are largely overlapping in scope with the claimed ranges, and possesses similar characteristics to those expected of the instantly claimed glass ceramic seal material. See the Table below which compares the invention of instant claims 1 and 2 with Goedeke’s disclosure by: comparing the claimed ranges to Goedeke’s claim 1, pointing out specific examples of Goedeke which include specific constituents within the claimed range when considered individually, and points out a Goedeke teaching on the relevance of the individual constituents of the “primary component”, demonstrating their relevance in terms of optimization. As to the similarity in properties, note that applicant’s published paragraph [0082] teaches that the inventive glass ceramic compositions are desirable due at least to being thermally and chemically stable in fuel cell operating conditions, and possessing a thermal expansion coefficient that matches that of fuel cell interconnects. Similarly, the glass ceramic seal material of Goedeke is thermally and chemically stable in fuel cell operating conditions and possesses a thermal expansion coefficient that matches that of other fuel cell components (paragraph [0004, 0011, 0019]). Although the claim is not anticipated because Goedeke lacks a teaching of a specific embodiment lying within the claimed range, the claims are found to be obvious because Goedeke broadly discloses embodiments which largely encompass the claimed invention [other than feature ii ], the compositions are close enough that a skilled artisan would expect similarity in function between the Goedeke glass ceramics and those of claimed invention, and the content of the individual oxides of the glass ceramic seal material are each result-effective variables which a skilled artisan would have found obvious to optimize.
Oxide species
Applicant’s Claim 1
Applicant’s Claim 2
Goedeke claim 1
Goedeke’s Examples Matching claim 1
Goedeke’s Examples Matching claim 2
Goedeke’s reason for optimization
SiO2
25-55%
~30-51%
34-60%
1-10
1-10
[0016] main “glass former”
CaO
20-45%
~21-32%
15-45%
1-2,4-10
6
[0031] phase stability
MgO
~18-30%
~18-28.5%
0-30%
6
6
[0032] Tg control, etc.
Al2O3
0.5-15%
1.0-15%
0-13%
1-10
1-10
[0086] crystal. Temperature control
B2O3
0.25-6.5%
Not claimed
0.1-14%
2,4,5
n/a
[0034] processing window control
La2O3
0.5-2%
Not claimed
Not included
none
n/a
n/a
Primary oxides
>92.5%
Not claimed
Generally overlapping
2,4,6
n/a
Primary constituents individually taught
As to ii, Goedeke does not appear to teach wherein the precursor material comprises 0.5 to 2 mol% of La2O3.
In the fuel cell art, Mayumi teaches that it is desirable to include La2O3 in a glass sealing composition at an amount of 0.1 to 3 mass%, or more narrowly 0.1 to 1 mass%, for the benefit of improving adhesiveness to metals (paragraphs [0035-0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to add 0.1 to 3 mass%, or more narrowly 0.1 to 1 mass%, of La2O3 into the precursor material of Goedeke for the benefit of improving adhesiveness to metals as taught by Mayumi. The claimed range of 0.5 to 2 mol% is found to be obvious because the prior art range lies within, or at least substantially overlaps the claimed range after conversion from mass% to mol%.
Regarding claim 7 and 26, Goedeke remains as applied to claim 1. Goedeke further teaches wherein the glass ceramic seal comprises less than 0.25 mol % of Ba, Sr, BaO and SrO (abstract; paragraph [0022]; see also Example No. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Goedeke remains as applied to claim 1. Goedeke further teaches wherein the glass ceramic seal comprises less than 0.25 mol % of Na and K (paragraph [0047]; see also Example No. 6).
Regarding claim 15, Goedeke remains as applied to claim 1. Goedeke further teaches wherein the glass ceramic seal has a sintering temperature of less than 1000° C (paragraph [0062]; see also Example No. 6).
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over the combination of Goedeke (US 2013/0272774), Mayumi (US 2011/0053753) and Kwon (US 2005/0008915).
Regarding claim 9, Goedeke remains as applied to claim 1. Goedeke does not expressly teach wherein the precursor material comprises 0.25 to 0.5 mol% of SrO and 0.5 to 1.5 mol% of BaO.
However, Goedeke does teach that the material may include BaO and SrO as impurity constituents, which sometimes “cannot be avoided completely”, preferably at less than 0.2% total (paragraph [0022]).
It has been held that “[g]enerally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical (MPEP 2144.05 II). Here, the content of the BaO and SrO may be low (0.5 and 0.25 mol%, respectively) and there is no evidence of record tending to prove that the precursor material including BaO and SrO in the claimed content would have substantially effect on the precursor material, compared to that which contains BaO and SrO as impurity constituents as taught by Goedeke.
Alternatively, in the fuel cell art, Kwon teaches chemicals used in manufacture of fuel cell may generally have impurities of less than 1% or 2% by weight or greater than 0.2% or 0.5% by weight, and that low impurity materials tend to be more expensive (paragraph [0022]).
Thus, although Goedeke teaches that the content of BaO and SrO is preferably less than 0.2% total, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to produce the precursor material with higher content of BaO and SrO, such as within the claimed range, by using lower cost materials which may have higher impurity contents in view of Kwon.
Claim 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over the combination of Goedeke (US 2013/0272774), Mayumi (US 2011/0053753) and Pinckney (USP 7410921).
Regarding claim 10 and 11, Goedeke remains as applied to claim 1. Goedeke does not expressly teach that the glass ceramic seal comprises, by volume, from 55% to 85% of a crystalline phase and from 45% to 15% of an amorphous phase, or more narrowly from 60% to 80% of the crystalline phase and from 40% to 20% of the amorphous phase.
However, Goedeke does teach that the glass ceramic seal may comprise a glass-ceramic mixture wherein an amorphous phase is partially or completely converted to crystalline (paragraph [0005]), with MgO or other oxide additives specifically contributing to crystallization (paragraph [0032, 0037-0038]), so as to provide a product with more than 50% crystallization (paragraph [0040]).
Moreover, in the fuel cell art, Pinckney teaches that the glass ceramic may be configured to have a residual glass content of less than 20% (c2:47-52 and c4:1-6), suggesting a crystalline phase range which overlaps the range of claim 10 [at 80-85% crystalline phase] and is infinitely close to the range of claim 11 [with “less than approximately 20%” of Pinckney being substantially equivalent to the 20% end point of the range of claim 11]. Pinckney further teaches that degree of crystallization is a result-effective variable with glass-ceramics with a high crystalline content are particularly well suited for sealing application (c4:53-58).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to configure the glass ceramic seal of Goedeke such that that the glass ceramic seal comprises, by volume, from 55% to 85% of a crystalline phase and from 45% to 15% of an amorphous phase, or more narrowly from 60% to 80% of the crystalline phase and from 40% to 20% of the amorphous phase, since highly crystalline glass-ceramics are achievable and a high degree of crystallinity, such as the claimed range, is associated with desirable sealing properties as taught by Pinckney.
Claim 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over the combination of Goedeke (US 2013/0272774), Mayumi (US 2011/0053753) and Pinckney (USP 7410921).
Regarding claim 12-14, Goedeke and Pinckney remain as applied to claim 10. Goedeke further teaches that certain embodiments of the glass ceramic seal may comprises diopside and wollastonite phases (paragraph [0083; Goedeke claim 7), but does not expressly teach wherein the crystalline phase comprises primarily diopside crystals with some wollastonite (c4:33-38; e.g. Example 13 or 18).
Pinckney further teaches wherein the crystalline phase comprises primarily diopside crystals with some wollastonite (c4:33-38; e.g. Example 13 or 18 which is diopside with minor amount of wollastonite). Pinckney further teaches that including some wallostonite allows for tailoring thermal expansion matches to specific substrates (c5:42-56).
Moreover, in the fuel cell art, Mayumi teaches that glass compositions including CaO-MgO-SiO2 systems are suitable for the formation of diopside type crystal phase, that diopside is a “highly expansive crystal” [interpreted to suggest desirable thermal match], that a composition which chiefly precipitates diopside is likely to undergo less transformation of crystalline phase at firing temperatures and to exhibit stabilization in the strength of the bulk prepared by crystallization, and that the formation of diopside can be influenced or controlled by manipulating the SiO2 content of the glass (paragraphs [0022-00233]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to configure the glass ceramic to include a crystalline phase comprised of primarily diopside for the benefit of desirably matching thermal characteristic of the SOFC, providing strength, and stability as taught by Pinckney and/or Mayumi. Diopside with some wollastonite as the manipulation of the crystal phases is associated with tailoring the thermal matching, and diopside with minor wollastonite, particularly, is taught as suitable at least at Pinckney Example 18, thus this configuration is also found to be obvious as being desirable or at least a known variant.
Further regarding claim 14, the cited art is silent as to the crystalline phase further comprises anorthite, wollastonite, and magnesium aluminium silicate crystals.
However, as described in MPEP 2141 III, “The prior art reference (or references when combined) need not teach or suggest all the claim limitations. However, Office personnel must explain why the difference(s) between the prior art and the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The “mere existence of differences between the prior art and an invention does not establish the invention’s nonobviousness.”
Here, claim 14 does not specify a relative amount of these constituents; therefore, they may be present as only minor constituents with the crystalline phase being primarily diopside crystals, which is taught by the cited art.
The record does not suggest a substantial difference in performance or function of the glass ceramic phase which is caused by the presence of a minor amount of anorthite, wollastonite, and magnesium aluminium silicate crystals within a diopside majority crystal system, compared to the systems of Goedeke, Pinckney and/or Mayumi which may be, for example, diopside with a minor amount of wollastonite.
Therefore, claim 14 is found to be obvious because either, i) the glass ceramic compositions of the prior art embodiments would comprise small amounts of anorthite, wollastonite, and magnesium aluminium silicate crystals due to having similar precursor composition and sintering conditions as the claimed invention, or ii) if the prior art compositions indeed lacked all of anorthite, wollastonite, and magnesium aluminium silicate crystals, there is no evidence to indicate that such a difference is functionally significant considering that the cited art teaches embodiments comprised of primarily diopside with “minor” amounts of other crystal types, and claim 14 is not limited with respect to the amount of the named crystal types.
Claims 1, 16 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Gasda (US 2019/0372132) in view of Goedeke (US 2013/0272774) and Mayumi (US 2011/0053753).
Regarding claims 1, 16 and 23, Gasda teaches a fuel cell stack (Figures 1A-1C; 3A-3C), comprising: interconnects stacked over one another; a seal disposed between the interconnects; and solid oxide fuel cells disposed between the interconnects (Figures 1A-1C; 3A-3C ; see also paragraphs [0017, 0031] regarding fuel cells disposed between stacked interconnects and paragraphs [0021, 0023, 0045-0048] regarding a seal being disposed between the interconnects), wherein: the interconnects comprise at least two fuel inlets separated by a neck portion and at least two fuel outlets separated by a neck portion (Figures 4A, 4B; paragraph [0038]).
Gasda further teaches the seal comprising a glass ceramic material (paragraph [0048]), but does not expressly teach wherein the glass ceramic seal is the glass ceramic seal of claim 1.
In the fuel cell art sealing material art, Goedeke suggests sealing materials of, or similar to, the composition required by claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 over Goedeke). Goedeke further teaches that his inventive sealing materials are useful as high-temperature sealing agents for fuel cells (paragraph [0002]) and have various engineering advantages, such as high-temperature stability and expansion characteristic matching, associated therewith (paragraphs [0018-0019]).
The replacement of the glass ceramic sealing material of Gasda with a glass ceramic sealing material taught by Goedeke would merely require the simple substitution of one known sealing material for another to yield the predictable result of an effective high temperature metal seal; therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness as described in MPEP 2141. Moreover, such a modification may provide additional engineering advantages or improvements as taught by Goedeke; therefore, additional rationale exists for performing such a modification of the Gasda fuel cell in view of Goedeke. Finally, since seal material of claim 1 is found to be obvious over Goedeke for reasons given in the rejection of claim 1, the invention of claim 16 as a whole is also found to be obvious over the combination of Gasda and Goedeke
Regarding claim 21, the cited art remains as applied to claim 16. Goedeke further teaches that the glass ceramic seal comprises primarily diopside (paragraph [0083]).
Regarding claim 22, the cited art remains as applied to claim 16. Goedeke further teaches that the glass ceramic seal is substantially free of sodium, potassium, barium, strontium and oxides thereof (abstract; paragraph [0022, 0047]; see also Example No. 6). Goedeke further lists the expected crystal types as omitting feldspar (paragraph [0083]). The omission of feldspar is therefore implicit, or at least obvious as feldspar is not disclosed, desired or required.
Claims 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over the combination of Gasda (US 2019/0372132), Goedeke (US 2013/0272774), Mayumi (US 2011/0053753) and Pinckney (USP 7410921).
Regarding claim 17, the Gasda and Goedeke remain as applied to claim 16. Claim 17 further requires that a coefficient of thermal expansion of the glass ceramic seal is within +/−10% of a coefficient of thermal expansion of the interconnects, which is not expressly taught by Gasda, Goedeke or Pinckney.
However, Gasda does teach wherein: a coefficient of thermal expansion of the interconnects is within +/−10% of a coefficient of the thermal expansion of another component of the solid oxide fuel cell [the electrolyte] and characterizes such a range as indicating “similar coefficient of thermal expansion” (paragraph [0042]).
Gasda further teaches that his interconnects are formed from chromium alloy materials (paragraph [0032]), while Goedeke teaches that his inventive seal material is configured to have a coefficient of thermal expansion compatible with chromium steels and alloys (paragraph [0019]).
Additionally, Pinckney does teach that his inventive seal materials may be configured to “have a thermal expansion closely matched to that of the metal or ceramic substrate” (c4:56-58).
Therefore, the requirement that the thermal expansion of the glass ceramic seal is within +/−10% of a coefficient of thermal expansion of the interconnects is found to be obvious over the cited art because: i) the glass ceramic composition taught by the cited art are substantially the same as that claimed compositionally, thus the same or nearly the same thermal expansion characteristic would be expected, ii) the prior art sealing materials expressly taught to be configurable to have a thermal expansion characteristic which “closely matches” that of an adjacent metal or ceramic material, thus the optimization of thermal expansion characteristic of the sealing material to match that of body to which the material is to be attached is suggested, and iii) it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the fuel cell art at the time of invention to configure stack such that the glass ceramic sealing material matches the thermal expansion coefficient of the other stack components, such as the SOFCs and the interconnects, by mutual optimization of all three components for the benefit of avoiding problems with thermal mismatch as the SOFC is raised to high-temperature operation.
Such a desirable embodiment could be achieved by manipulating the thermal expansion coefficient of any or all of the three named stack components, rather than just the glass ceramic material of claim 1. Accordingly, the claimed matching embodies an obvious design goal rather than a specific and defined structure which could be distinguished from that of the prior art.
As to the limitations of claim 17 drawn to the crystalline/amorphous ratio and the crystal type of the glass ceramic seal, these limitations are obvious over the cited art for reasons previously given in the rejection of claims 10-14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 6/25/26 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. Applicant presents the following arguments.
None of the Goedeke examples, including Example 6, disclose the presently claimed glass composition. In response, the Office acknowledges that none of the Goedeke Examples lie within the claimed range, but finds that the claimed invention is nevertheless obvious because Goedeke broadly discloses a composition which is similar and/or overlapping in scope with the claimed invention, other than the inclusion of La2O3, a deficiency addressed by Mayumi. Although the previously presented rejection emphasized the closeness of Goedeke Example No. 6 to a previously presented version of the claim, a close example is not required for the invention to be found obvious. See MPEP 2123 which guides that a claim may be rejected over the prior art’s broad disclosure instead of preferred embodiments. Even if the listed examples of Goedeke are most preferred, the broad disclosure of the cited art is still found to render the claimed invention obvious.
If it is applicant’s position that the particularly claimed combination of constituents provides a sealing glass composition which is unexpectedly and/or critically different than the glasses of the prior art, appropriate supporting evidence is required. MPEP 716 provides guidance on the requirements of such evidence to be found persuasive.
Mayumi does not teach the claimed glass seal composition. In response, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, Mayumi is merely relied on in the art rejections to cure a deficiency of Goedeke with respect to the inclusion of La2I3. Mayumi is not required to teach other aspects of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMIAH R SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723