Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/24/2025 have been carefully and fully considered. With respect to applicant’s argument of the remarks which recites:
“However, impermissible hindsight must be avoided and the legal conclusion must be reached on the basis of the facts gleaned from the prior art…The Applicant submits that the Office Action fails to establish a prima facie case of obviousness for the claims as they are set forth herein, since there is no evidentiary support for the conclusion that the features recited in the claims were known before the effective filling date of the claimed invention.”
The examiner disagrees and notes that the conclusion was reached on the basis of the facts gleaned from the prior art as the motivation for the 103 rejection to improve efficiency by saving time in the process by selecting specific robots to perform different jobs as shown by Rouaud [0004] “Due to the characteristics of some coatings, proper application of certain coats should be performed when the underlying coating is still sufficiently wet. For example, this is required when bonding between layers occurs only when the underlying coat is sufficiently wet upon application of the subsequent overlying coat. Unless such application is made while the underlying surface is sufficiently wet, the quality of the overall coating is diminished.”
“The Applicant submits that the applied references fail to disclose or suggest all of the limitations recited in independent claims 1 and 16… The Office Action does not appear to be interpreting the “different setting parameter” limitation in a manner consistent with the intended meaning thereof. The Office Action appears to be simply asserting that different coating devices can be set with different setting parameter, rather than the setting parameters that are selectable for one coating device being different from setting parameters selectable by another coating device”
The examiner disagrees and relies on Rouaud to teach the amended limitations. Rouaud discloses multiple robots each performing different tasks such as primer coats, top coats, clear coats, sanding, pressure washing support found [0021], additionally Rouaud discloses a user adjusting parameters for example some being robot speed, coating material flow rate, coating pattern and shape support found [0035]. Broadest reasonable interpretation one example of an interpretation could be the first tool being a sander which would not have a coating material flow rate, and then a primer coat which would have a coating material flow rate parameter. Another example could be between a primer coat and top coat the top coat would have a wet surface time to follow but the primer coat would not since it must be applied prior to expiration of the wet surface time of the first layer, therefore the material flow rate & wet surface time are both interpreted as parameters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-10, and 16-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turnbull (US20160129466A1), in view of Rouaud et al. (US20140329001A1).
Regarding claim 1, Turnbull teaches A coating control system ([0016] painting system 100 may be an electrostatic painting or coating system in which the paint is electrostatically applied to the items being painted) comprising: selection circuitry configured …based on a first user input a control target apparatus among a plurality of coating apparatuses …(Fig. 1, [0024] The user interface 140 receives inputs from a user to control the painting operation. For example, the user interface 140 may receive inputs that change painting parameters of the painting system. For example, the user interface 140 may receive inputs relating to the color, the spray pattern, the fluid flow rate, the bell cup rotational speed, the HV electrical charge, or other painting parameters, [0018] The paint robot systems 102 are controlled by one or more painting controller(s) 108. Optionally, each of the paint robot systems 102 may be communicatively and operably coupled to a main or central painting controller 108, [0038] paint robot systems 102 in the different sections of the painting booth 106 may require different painting parameters or variables based on being located in such areas of the painting booth 106, [0019] A paint spray gun 116 is provided at or near an end of the arm 114. The paint spray gun 116 may be any type of paint spray gun, such as an electrostatic spray gun, a rotational bell spray gun, a high-volume low-pressure spray gun, a low-volume low-pressure spray gun, or any other type of paint spray gun) parameter setting circuitry configured to determine a setting parameter according to the control target apparatus and set a value of the setting parameter based on a second user input ([0024] The user interface 140 receives inputs from a user to control the painting operation. For example, the user interface 140 may receive inputs that change painting parameters of the painting system. For example, the user interface 140 may receive inputs relating to the color, the spray pattern, the fluid flow rate, the bell cup rotational speed, the HV electrical charge, or other painting parameters, [0004] A processor module receives a color input relating to a color of paint for the workpiece. The processor module determines a paint spray gun distance based on the color input, where different colors have different paint spray gun distances); and operation control circuitry configured to control the control target apparatus based on the value of the setting parameter ([0018] The paint robot systems 102 are controlled by one or more painting controller(s) 108. Optionally, each of the paint robot systems 102 may be communicatively and operably coupled to a main or central painting controller 108, [0025] The painting controller 108 includes one or more modules that receive inputs, determine painting parameters and/or control positioning of the paint spray gun 116. For example, the processor module 110 may receive inputs from the color sensor 130, from the user interface 140, and the like. Optionally, raw data may be transmitted to the processor module 110 and the processor module 110 may process the raw data received to determine the painting parameters and/or the control of the paint robot system 102. The processor module 110 may determine the paint spray gun distance 122, the spray pattern of the paint spray gun 116, the fluid flow rate of the paint spray gun 116, the bell cup rotational speed of the bell cup of the paint spray gun 116, the high voltage electrical charge of the paint spray gun 116, or other painting parameters); and image generation circuitry configured to generate an input image via which the value of the setting parameter is input, wherein the parameter setting circuitry is configured to set the value of the setting parameter based on a user input via the input image ([0024] a user interface 140 communicatively coupled to the painting controller 108. Optionally, the user interface 140 may be part of the painting controller 108, such as on a common circuit board. The user interface 140 receives inputs from a user to control the painting operation. For example, the user interface 140 may receive inputs that change painting parameters of the painting system. For example, the user interface 140 may receive inputs relating to the color, the spray pattern, the fluid flow rate, the bell cup rotational speed, the HV electrical charge, or other painting parameters. The user interface 140 may include input buttons, knobs, scroll wheels, keypads, keyboards, a touchscreen, a mouse, voice recognition, and the like. The user interface 140 may be part of a computer at a remote location from the paint robot systems 102 that is connected by a communication network. The user interface may include a display for the user.) wherein the operation control circuitry controls a robot to control a position and an orientation of a coating device provided on the robot of the control target apparatus based on the value of the setting parameter ([0018] The paint robot systems 102 are controlled by one or more painting controller(s) 108. Optionally, each of the paint robot systems 102 may be communicatively and operably coupled to a main or central painting controller 108, [0025] The painting controller 108 includes one or more modules that receive inputs, determine painting parameters and/or control positioning of the paint spray gun 116. For example, the processor module 110 may receive inputs from the color sensor 130, from the user interface 140, and the like. Optionally, raw data may be transmitted to the processor module 110 and the processor module 110 may process the raw data received to determine the painting parameters and/or the control of the paint robot system 102. The processor module 110 may determine the paint spray gun distance 122, the spray pattern of the paint spray gun 116, the fluid flow rate of the paint spray gun 116, the bell cup rotational speed of the bell cup of the paint spray gun 116, the high voltage electrical charge of the paint spray gun 116, or other painting parameters).
Turnbull does not teach to select… which include coating devices having mutually different components …the selection of the control target apparatus determines the setting parameter according to the control target apparatus such that the coating devices having mutually different components, from which the control target apparatus is selected, have different setting parameters available for selection by the user as the second user input, the different setting parameters being specific to principles of operation of the coating devices having mutually different components such setting parameters selectable for one coating device are different from the setting parameter selectable for another coating device;
Rouaud teaches to select … which include coating devices having mutually different components …the selection of the control target apparatus determines the setting parameter according to the control target apparatus such that the coating devices having mutually different components, from which the control target apparatus is selected, have different setting parameters available for selection by the user as the second user input, the different setting parameters being specific to principles of operation of the coating devices having mutually different components; such setting parameters selectable for one coating device are different from the setting parameter selectable for another coating device (Fig. 9, [0052] the controller 146 can determine which robots 118 can access the area to apply a second coating, select a robot to apply the first coating from the first list of robots 118 and select a robot 118 to apply the second coating from the second list of robots 118, [0021] Such coatings can include primer coats, top coat, clear coats or other forms of coatings. According to other aspects of the present teachings, the robots 118 a, b can be fitted with finishing tooling. For example, in lieu of having coating dispensers 128 a, b mounted to the robots 118 a, b, the robots 118 a, b can instead be fitted with a sander, pressure washer fitting or other tooling that can be required to prepare the workpiece surfaces for coating or painting, [0034] The user I/O 616 can be used to input instructions 603 into the controller 146 a. According to one aspect of the present teachings, the user I/O 616 can be used to input a travel path, which can be defined by the coordinates Φk, where k=1 to 6 accounting for the 6 degrees of freedom, that will be followed by the robots 118 a, b during the coating process, a speed and coating flow rate, [0027] the parameters under which coating is applied can change, such as the flow rate of coating material, the spray pattern and the speed of motion of the dispensing robot 118, [0035] Several coating process parameters can be stored in the controller, and can be adjusted by, for example, accessing the user I/O 616. Such parameters include but are not limited to robot speed, the overall path of the robot and orientation of the dispenser relative to the workpiece surface, paint or coating material flow rate, coating spray pattern and shape, level of electrical potential between applicator and workpiece and blending constraints, [0026] Such a parameter can depend upon, for example, the chemical composition of the layer of coating, the ambient temperature, atmospheric pressure and humidity, the temperature of the workpiece, the thickness of the layer of coating and other factors, [0041] Similar application can be made with other parameters, such as temperature, layer thickness and others parameters. TWET can also be determined by a computer processor such as processor 602 calculating the wet-surface time based on TWET written as a numerical function dependent on one or more of the parameters referred to herein, such as ambient temperature, atmospheric pressure and humidity, the temperature of the workpiece, the thickness of the layer of coating and other factors )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turnbull’s teaching of using certain paint robot systems in the different sections of the painting booth that require different painting parameters with Rouaud’s teaching of selecting a robot out of multiple robots using different paints and different tools where the parameters under which coating is applied changes based on the selected robot’s speed, path, and paint . The combined teaching provides an expected result of selecting specific robots using different paints and tools determining a setting parameter according to the type of coating/paint. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve efficiency by saving time in the process by selecting specific robots to perform different jobs as shown by Rouaud [0004] “Due to the characteristics of some coatings, proper application of certain coats should be performed when the underlying coating is still sufficiently wet. For example, this is required when bonding between layers occurs only when the underlying coat is sufficiently wet upon application of the subsequent overlying coat. Unless such application is made while the underlying surface is sufficiently wet, the quality of the overall coating is diminished.”
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Turnbull and Rouaud teach The coating control system according to claim 1, wherein the parameter setting circuitry is configured to specify the setting parameter corresponding to the control target apparatus selected by the selection circuitry according to correspondence information which is associated with a settable parameter corresponds to each of the plurality of coating apparatuses (Turnbull, Fig. 1, [0024] The user interface 140 receives inputs from a user to control the painting operation. For example, the user interface 140 may receive inputs that change painting parameters of the painting system. For example, the user interface 140 may receive inputs relating to the color, the spray pattern, the fluid flow rate, the bell cup rotational speed, the HV electrical charge, or other painting parameters, [0018] The paint robot systems 102 are controlled by one or more painting controller(s) 108. Optionally, each of the paint robot systems 102 may be communicatively and operably coupled to a main or central painting controller 108, [0038] paint robot systems 102 in the different sections of the painting booth 106 may require different painting parameters or variables based on being located in such areas of the painting booth 106).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Turnbull and Rouaud teach The coating control system according to claim 1, further comprising: execution program setting circuitry configured to set at least one control program based on a selection result by the selection circuitry and a setting result by the parameter setting circuitry (Turnbull, Fig. 1, [0024] The user interface 140 receives inputs from a user to control the painting operation. For example, the user interface 140 may receive inputs that change painting parameters of the painting system. For example, the user interface 140 may receive inputs relating to the color, the spray pattern, the fluid flow rate, the bell cup rotational speed, the HV electrical charge, or other painting parameters, [0018] The paint robot systems 102 are controlled by one or more painting controller(s) 108. Optionally, each of the paint robot systems 102 may be communicatively and operably coupled to a main or central painting controller 108, [0038] paint robot systems 102 in the different sections of the painting booth 106 may require different painting parameters or variables based on being located in such areas of the painting booth 106), wherein the operation control circuitry is configured to control the control target apparatus in accordance with the one or more control programs set by the execution program setting circuitry ([0018] The paint robot systems 102 are controlled by one or more painting controller(s) 108. Optionally, each of the paint robot systems 102 may be communicatively and operably coupled to a main or central painting controller 108, [0025] The painting controller 108 includes one or more modules that receive inputs, determine painting parameters and/or control positioning of the paint spray gun 116. For example, the processor module 110 may receive inputs from the color sensor 130, from the user interface 140, and the like. Optionally, raw data may be transmitted to the processor module 110 and the processor module 110 may process the raw data received to determine the painting parameters and/or the control of the paint robot system 102. The processor module 110 may determine the paint spray gun distance 122, the spray pattern of the paint spray gun 116, the fluid flow rate of the paint spray gun 116, the bell cup rotational speed of the bell cup of the paint spray gun 116, the high voltage electrical charge of the paint spray gun 116, or other painting parameters).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Turnbull and Rouaud teach The coating control system according to claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of transmission data storages configured to store transmission data to be transmitted to the control target apparatus (Turnbull, [0049] The computer or processor executes a set of instructions that are stored in one or more storage elements, in order to process input data. The storage elements may also store data or other information as desired or needed. The storage element may be in the form of an information source or a physical memory element within a processing machine) , wherein the setting parameter includes a transmission parameter for specifying a storage among the plurality of transmission data storages, control command values for devices included in the control target apparatus being stored in the storage, and wherein, when controlling the control target apparatus, the operation control circuitry writes the control command values to a storage specified by a value set in the transmission parameter among the plurality of transmission data storages ([0018] each individual paint robot system 102 may include a separate painting controller 108, which may be communicatively coupled to a central or main controller, [0049] The computer or processor executes a set of instructions that are stored in one or more storage elements, in order to process input data, [0018] The painting controller 108 includes one or more processor modules that control various operating or painting characteristics used in the painting process(es). The processor module 110 controls the painting process(es), [0028] The processor module 110 may include one or more processors and/or computing devices that are configured to execute software instructions, 0049] The computer or processor executes a set of instructions that are stored in one or more storage elements, in order to process input data. The storage elements may also store data or other information as desired or needed. The storage element may be in the form of an information source or a physical memory element within a processing machine). (i.e. each paint robot has its own painting controller, and each controller has a storage element).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Turnbull and Rouaud teach The coating control system according to claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of reception data storages configured to store reception data from the control target apparatus (Turnbull, [0049] The computer or processor executes a set of instructions that are stored in one or more storage elements, in order to process input data. The storage elements may also store data or other information as desired or needed. The storage element may be in the form of an information source or a physical memory element within a processing machine), and wherein the setting parameter includes a reception parameter for specifying a storage from which a sensor value is read from a device included in the control target apparatus among the plurality of reception data storages, and wherein, when controlling the control target apparatus, the operation control circuitry reads the sensor value from the storage specified by the value set in the reception parameter among the plurality of reception data storages ([0023] The color sensor 130 identifies if a portion or portions of the workpiece 104 are trending out of specification and sends color data to the painting controller 108, which may adjust one or more painting parameters based on the color data, [0018] each individual paint robot system 102 may include a separate painting controller 108, which may be communicatively coupled to a central or main controller, [0049] The computer or processor executes a set of instructions that are stored in one or more storage elements, in order to process input data, [0018] The painting controller 108 includes one or more processor modules that control various operating or painting characteristics used in the painting process(es). The processor module 110 controls the painting process(es), [0028] The processor module 110 may include one or more processors and/or computing devices that are configured to execute software instructions, 0049] The computer or processor executes a set of instructions that are stored in one or more storage elements, in order to process input data. The storage elements may also store data or other information as desired or needed. The storage element may be in the form of an information source or a physical memory element within a processing machine, [0006] one or more processors to receive a color input relating to a color of paint for a workpiece, determine a paint spray gun distance based on the color input, wherein different colors have different paint spray gun distances, and position the nozzle of the paint spray gun at the paint spray gun distance while operating the paint spray gun.)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Turnbull and Rouaud teach The coating control system according to claim 1, wherein the setting parameter includes an operation parameter for defining an operation of devices included in the control target apparatus, and wherein, when controlling the control target apparatus, the operation control circuitry operates a device included in the control target apparatus according to a value set in the operation parameter (Turnbull, [0018] The paint robot systems 102 are controlled by one or more painting controller(s) 108. Optionally, each of the paint robot systems 102 may be communicatively and operably coupled to a main or central painting controller 108, [0025] The painting controller 108 includes one or more modules that receive inputs, determine painting parameters and/or control positioning of the paint spray gun 116. For example, the processor module 110 may receive inputs from the color sensor 130, from the user interface 140, and the like. Optionally, raw data may be transmitted to the processor module 110 and the processor module 110 may process the raw data received to determine the painting parameters and/or the control of the paint robot system 102. The processor module 110 may determine the paint spray gun distance 122, the spray pattern of the paint spray gun 116, the fluid flow rate of the paint spray gun 116, the bell cup rotational speed of the bell cup of the paint spray gun 116, the high voltage electrical charge of the paint spray gun 116, or other painting parameters).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Turnbull and Rouaud teach The coating control system according to claim 7, wherein the operation parameter includes a discharge condition of coating material discharged from the control target apparatus (Turnbull, [0005] determining a paint spray gun distance based on the color input, wherein different colors have different paint spray gun distances, and positioning the nozzle of the paint spray gun at the paint spray gun distance while operating the paint spray gun).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Turnbull and Rouaud teach The coating control system according to claim 8, wherein the operation parameter includes a discharge condition for each color of paint that is discharged by the control target apparatus (Turnbull, [0005] determining a paint spray gun distance based on the color input, wherein different colors have different paint spray gun distances, and positioning the nozzle of the paint spray gun at the paint spray gun distance while operating the paint spray gun).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Turnbull and Rouaud teach The coating control system according to claim 1, wherein the setting parameter includes an abnormality detection parameter for determining a level at which an abnormality of the control target apparatus is detected, and wherein, when controlling the control target apparatus, the operation control circuitry detects an abnormality of the control target apparatus according to a value set in the abnormality detection parameter ( Turnbull, [0018] The processor module 110 controls the painting process(es) to ensure that the different areas of the workpieces 104 have uniform coating and/or matching color with other areas of the workpiece 104 and with other workpieces 104 of the vehicle (e.g., the bumper has matching color to the vehicle body). In an exemplary embodiment, the processor module 110 controls painting parameters based on the color of the paint. For example, for different colors, the processor module 110 may change different painting parameters, [0023] a workpiece color sensor 130 configured to inspect a surface of the workpiece 104 after the painting operation to identify the color of the workpiece 104. Any type of inspection sensor or device capable of identifying color of the workpiece 104 may be used in various embodiments. The color sensor 130 identifies if a portion or portions of the workpiece 104 are trending out of specification and sends color data to the painting controller 108, which may adjust one or more painting parameters based on the color data. In other embodiments, the color sensor 130 may sense a color of the paint being used, such as at a paint supply or source location and sends color data to the painting controller 108, which may adjust one or more painting parameters based on the color data). (i.e. the abnormality is interpreted as when the color does not match)
Regarding claim 16, Turnbull teaches A coating control system ([0016] painting system 100 may be an electrostatic painting or coating system in which the paint is electrostatically applied to the items being painted) comprising: selection circuitry configured … based on a first user input a first control target apparatus among a plurality of coating apparatuses …(Fig. 1, [0024] The user interface 140 receives inputs from a user to control the painting operation. For example, the user interface 140 may receive inputs that change painting parameters of the painting system. For example, the user interface 140 may receive inputs relating to the color, the spray pattern, the fluid flow rate, the bell cup rotational speed, the HV electrical charge, or other painting parameters, [0018] The paint robot systems 102 are controlled by one or more painting controller(s) 108. Optionally, each of the paint robot systems 102 may be communicatively and operably coupled to a main or central painting controller 108, [0038] paint robot systems 102 in the different sections of the painting booth 106 may require different painting parameters or variables based on being located in such areas of the painting booth 106, [0019] A paint spray gun 116 is provided at or near an end of the arm 114. The paint spray gun 116 may be any type of paint spray gun, such as an electrostatic spray gun, a rotational bell spray gun, a high-volume low-pressure spray gun, a low-volume low-pressure spray gun, or any other type of paint spray gun); parameter setting circuitry configured to determine a first setting parameter according to the first control target apparatus and set a first value of the setting parameter based on a second user input ([0024] The user interface 140 receives inputs from a user to control the painting operation. For example, the user interface 140 may receive inputs that change painting parameters of the painting system. For example, the user interface 140 may receive inputs relating to the color, the spray pattern, the fluid flow rate, the bell cup rotational speed, the HV electrical charge, or other painting parameters, [0004] A processor module receives a color input relating to a color of paint for the workpiece. The processor module determines a paint spray gun distance based on the color input, where different colors have different paint spray gun distances); and operation control circuitry controls a first coating device of the first control target apparatus based on the first value of the setting parameter, wherein the selection circuitry is configured to select based on a third user input a second control target apparatus among the plurality of coating apparatuses, wherein the parameter setting circuitry is configured to determine a second setting parameter according to the second control target apparatus and set a second value of the setting parameter based on a fourth user input, and wherein the operation control circuitry controls a second coating device of the second control target apparatus based on the second value of the setting parameter, the second coating device having mutually different components than the first coating device ([0018] The paint robot systems 102 are controlled by one or more painting controller(s) 108. Optionally, each of the paint robot systems 102 may be communicatively and operably coupled to a main or central painting controller 108, [0025] The painting controller 108 includes one or more modules that receive inputs, determine painting parameters and/or control positioning of the paint spray gun 116. For example, the processor module 110 may receive inputs from the color sensor 130, from the user interface 140, and the like. Optionally, raw data may be transmitted to the processor module 110 and the processor module 110 may process the raw data received to determine the painting parameters and/or the control of the paint robot system 102. The processor module 110 may determine the paint spray gun distance 122, the spray pattern of the paint spray gun 116, the fluid flow rate of the paint spray gun 116, the bell cup rotational speed of the bell cup of the paint spray gun 116, the high voltage electrical charge of the paint spray gun 116, or other painting parameters, [0024] The user interface 140 receives inputs from a user to control the painting operation. For example, the user interface 140 may receive inputs that change painting parameters of the painting system. For example, the user interface 140 may receive inputs relating to the color, the spray pattern, the fluid flow rate, the bell cup rotational speed, the HV electrical charge, or other painting parameters).
Turnbull does not teach to select… which include coating devices having mutually different components … the selection of the first control target apparatus determines the first setting parameter according to that first control target apparatus such that the coating devices having mutually different components, from which the first control target apparatus is selected, have different first setting parameters available for selection by the user as the second user input, the different first setting parameters being specific to principles of operation of the coating devices having mutually different components such the first setting parameters selectable for one coating device are different from the first setting parameters selectable for another coating device
Rouaud teaches to select … which include coating devices having mutually different components … the selection of the first control target apparatus determines the first setting parameter according to that first control target apparatus such that the coating devices having mutually different components, from which the first control target apparatus is selected, have different first setting parameters available for selection by the user as the second user input, the different first setting parameters being specific to principles of operation of the coating devices having mutually different components such the first setting parameters selectable for one coating device are different from the first setting parameters selectable for another coating device (Fig. 9, [0052] the controller 146 can determine which robots 118 can access the area to apply a second coating, select a robot to apply the first coating from the first list of robots 118 and select a robot 118 to apply the second coating from the second list of robots 118, [0021] Such coatings can include primer coats, top coat, clear coats or other forms of coatings. According to other aspects of the present teachings, the robots 118 a, b can be fitted with finishing tooling. For example, in lieu of having coating dispensers 128 a, b mounted to the robots 118 a, b, the robots 118 a, b can instead be fitted with a sander, pressure washer fitting or other tooling that can be required to prepare the workpiece surfaces for coating or painting, [0034] The user I/O 616 can be used to input instructions 603 into the controller 146 a. According to one aspect of the present teachings, the user I/O 616 can be used to input a travel path, which can be defined by the coordinates Φk, where k=1 to 6 accounting for the 6 degrees of freedom, that will be followed by the robots 118 a, b during the coating process, a speed and coating flow rate, [0027] the parameters under which coating is applied can change, such as the flow rate of coating material, the spray pattern and the speed of motion of the dispensing robot 118, [0035] Several coating process parameters can be stored in the controller, and can be adjusted by, for example, accessing the user I/O 616. Such parameters include but are not limited to robot speed, the overall path of the robot and orientation of the dispenser relative to the workpiece surface, paint or coating material flow rate, coating spray pattern and shape, level of electrical potential between applicator and workpiece and blending constraints, [0026] Such a parameter can depend upon, for example, the chemical composition of the layer of coating, the ambient temperature, atmospheric pressure and humidity, the temperature of the workpiece, the thickness of the layer of coating and other factors, [0041] Similar application can be made with other parameters, such as temperature, layer thickness and others parameters. TWET can also be determined by a computer processor such as processor 602 calculating the wet-surface time based on TWET written as a numerical function dependent on one or more of the parameters referred to herein, such as ambient temperature, atmospheric pressure and humidity, the temperature of the workpiece, the thickness of the layer of coating and other factors.)
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Turnbull and Rouaud teach The coating control system according to The coating control system according to wherein the operation control circuitry controls the first coating device provided on a first robot based on the first value of the setting parameter, and wherein the operation control circuitry controls the second coating device provided on a second robot based on the second value of the setting parameter (Turnbull, [0018] The paint robot systems 102 are controlled by one or more painting controller(s) 108. Optionally, each of the paint robot systems 102 may be communicatively and operably coupled to a main or central painting controller 108, [0025] The painting controller 108 includes one or more modules that receive inputs, determine painting parameters and/or control positioning of the paint spray gun 116. For example, the processor module 110 may receive inputs from the color sensor 130, from the user interface 140, and the like. Optionally, raw data may be transmitted to the processor module 110 and the processor module 110 may process the raw data received to determine the painting parameters and/or the control of the paint robot system 102. The processor module 110 may determine the paint spray gun distance 122, the spray pattern of the paint spray gun 116, the fluid flow rate of the paint spray gun 116, the bell cup rotational speed of the bell cup of the paint spray gun 116, the high voltage electrical charge of the paint spray gun 116, or other painting parameters).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Turnbull and Rouaud teach The coating control system according to claim 1,
Rouaud further teaches wherein the coating devices having mutually different components are different types of coating devices ([0052] the controller 146 can determine which robots 118 can access the area to apply a second coating, select a robot to apply the first coating from the first list of robots 118 and select a robot 118 to apply the second coating from the second list of robots 118, [0021] Such coatings can include primer coats, top coat, clear coats or other forms of coatings. According to other aspects of the present teachings, the robots 118 a, b can be fitted with finishing tooling. For example, in lieu of having coating dispensers 128 a, b mounted to the robots 118 a, b, the robots 118 a, b can instead be fitted with a sander, pressure washer fitting or other tooling that can be required to prepare the workpiece surfaces for coating or painting).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Turnbull and Rouaud teach The coating control system according to claim 1, wherein the mutually different components include different configurations of one or more of: a valve; an electropneumatic regulator ;a servo motor; a controller that controls a power supply that applies a voltage (Turnbull, [0021] The processor module 110 may be programmed to change a high voltage electrical charge of the paint spray gun); a pressure sensor; a rotation sensor; and a flow rate sensor.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Turnbull and Rouaud teach The coating control system according to claim 1,
Rouaud further teaches wherein the selection of the control target apparatus determines the setting parameter available for the user input of the value of the setting parameter ([0052] the controller 146 can determine which robots 118 can access the area to apply a second coating, select a robot to apply the first coating from the first list of robots 118 and select a robot 118 to apply the second coating from the second list of robots 118, [0021] Such coatings can include primer coats, top coat, clear coats or other forms of coatings. According to other aspects of the present teachings, the robots 118 a, b can be fitted with finishing tooling. For example, in lieu of having coating dispensers 128 a, b mounted to the robots 118 a, b, the robots 118 a, b can instead be fitted with a sander, pressure washer fitting or other tooling that can be required to prepare the workpiece surfaces for coating or painting, [0034] The user I/O 616 can be used to input instructions 603 into the controller 146 a. According to one aspect of the present teachings, the user I/O 616 can be used to input a travel path, which can be defined by the coordinates Φk, where k=1 to 6 accounting for the 6 degrees of freedom, that will be followed by the robots 118 a, b during the coating process, a speed and coating flow rate, [0027] the parameters under which coating is applied can change, such as the flow rate of coating material, the spray pattern and the speed of motion of the dispensing robot 118, [0035] Such parameters include but are not limited to robot speed, the overall path of the robot and orientation of the dispenser relative to the workpiece surface, paint or coating material flow rate, coating spray pattern and shape, level of electrical potential between applicator and workpiece and blending constraints, [0024] The selection of the shape and size of the segments 350 is based in part upon the location of the segment 350 on the workpiece 104 relative to the location and available reach of the coating dispensers 128 a,b found at the ends of robots 118 a,b).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Turnbull and Rouaud teach The coating control system according to claim 1, wherein the setting parameter corresponds to the component of the coating device of the control target apparatus (Turnbull, [0024] The user interface 140 receives inputs from a user to control the painting operation. For example, the user interface 140 may receive inputs that change painting parameters of the painting system. For example, the user interface 140 may receive inputs relating to the color, the spray pattern, the fluid flow rate, the bell cup rotational speed, the HV electrical charge, or other painting parameters, [0004] A processor module receives a color input relating to a color of paint for the workpiece. The processor module determines a paint spray gun distance based on the color input, where different colors have different paint spray gun distances).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Turnbull and Rouaud teach The coating control system according to claim 20, wherein the coating devices having mutually different components are different types of coating devices (Turnbull [0038] paint robot systems 102 in the different sections of the painting booth 106 may require different painting parameters or variables based on being located in such areas of the painting booth 106, [0019] A paint spray gun 116 is provided at or near an end of the arm 114. The paint spray gun 116 may be any type of paint spray gun, such as an electrostatic spray gun, a rotational bell spray gun, a high-volume low-pressure spray gun, a low-volume low-pressure spray gun, or any other type of paint spray gun)
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Turnbull and Rouaud teach The coating control system according to claim 16, wherein the mutually different components include different configurations of one or more of: a valve; an electropneumatic regulator; a servo motor; a controller that controls a power supply that applies a voltage (Turnbull, [0021] The processor module 110 may be programmed to change a high voltage electrical charge of the paint spray gun); a pressure sensor; a rotation sensor; and a flow rate sensor.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Turnbull and Rouaud teach The coating control system according to claim 16,
Rouaud further teaches wherein the selection of the first control target apparatus determines the first setting parameter available for the second user input of the first value of the setting parameter ([0052] the controller 146 can determine which robots 118 can access the area to apply a second coating, select a robot to apply the first coating from the first list of robots 118 and select a robot 118 to apply the second coating from the second list of robots 118, [0021] Such coatings can include primer coats, top coat, clear coats or other forms of coatings. According to other aspects of the present teachings, the robots 118 a, b can be fitted with finishing tooling. For example, in lieu of having coating dispensers 128 a, b mounted to the robots 118 a, b, the robots 118 a, b can instead be fitted with a sander, pressure washer fitting or other tooling that can be required to prepare the workpiece surfaces for coating or painting, [0034] The user I/O 616 can be used to input instructions 603 into the controller 146 a. According to one aspect of the present teachings, the user I/O 616 can be used to input a travel path, which can be defined by the coordinates Φk, where k=1 to 6 accounting for the 6 degrees of freedom, that will be followed by the robots 118 a, b during the coating process, a speed and coating flow rate, [0027] the parameters under which coating is applied can change, such as the flow rate of coating material, the spray pattern and the speed of motion of the dispensing robot 118, [0035] Such parameters include but are not limited to robot speed, the overall path of the robot and orientation of the dispenser relative to the workpiece surface, paint or coating material flow rate, coating spray pattern and shape, level of electrical potential between applicator and workpiece and blending constraints, [0024] The selection of the shape and size of the segments 350 is based in part upon the location of the segment 350 on the workpiece 104 relative to the location and available reach of the coating dispensers 128 a,b found at the ends of robots 118 a,b).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Turnbull and Rouaud teach The coating control system according to claim 24, wherein the first setting parameter corresponds to the component of the coating device of the first control target apparatus (Turnbull, [0024] The user interface 140 receives inputs from a user to control the painting operation. For example, the user interface 140 may receive inputs that change painting parameters of the painting system. For example, the user interface 140 may receive inputs relating to the color, the spray pattern, the fluid flow rate, the bell cup rotational speed, the HV electrical charge, or other painting parameters, [0004] A processor module receives a color input relating to a color of paint for the workpiece. The processor module determines a paint spray gun distance based on the color input, where different colors have different paint spray gun distances).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Turnbull and Rouaud teach The coating control system according to claim 1,
Rouaud further teaches wherein the setting parameters selectable for the one coating device includes at least one setting parameter that is not at least partially selectable for the another coating device (Fig. 9, [0052] the controller 146 can determine which robots 118 can access the area to apply a second coating, select a robot to apply the first coating from the first list of robots 118 and select a robot 118 to apply the second coating from the second list of robots 118, [0021] Such coatings can include primer coats, top coat, clear coats or other forms of coatings. According to other aspects of the present teachings, the robots 118 a, b can be fitted with finishing tooling. For example, in lieu of having coating dispensers 128 a, b mounted to the robots 118 a, b, the robots 118 a, b can instead be fitted with a sander, pressure washer fitting or other tooling that can be required to prepare the workpiece surfaces for coating or painting, [0034] The user I/O 616 can be used to input instructions 603 into the controller 146 a. According to one aspect of the present teachings, the user I/O 616 can be used to input a travel path, which can be defined by the coordinates Φk, where k=1 to 6 accounting for the 6 degrees of freedom, that will be followed by the robots 118 a, b during the coating process, a speed and coating flow rate, [0035] Several coating process parameters can be stored in the controller, and can be adjusted by, for example, accessing the user I/O 616. Such parameters include but are not limited to robot speed, the overall path of the robot and orientation of the dispenser relative to the workpiece surface, paint or coating material flow rate, coating spray pattern and shape, level of electrical potential between applicator and workpiece and blending constraints, [0026] Such a parameter can depend upon, for example, the chemical composition of the layer of coating, the ambient temperature, atmospheric pressure and humidity, the temperature of the workpiece, the thickness of the layer of coating and other factors, [0041] Similar application can be made with other parameters, such as temperature, layer thickness and others parameters. TWET can also be determined by a computer processor such as processor 602 calculating the wet-surface time based on TWET written as a numerical function dependent on one or more of the parameters referred to herein, such as ambient temperature, atmospheric pressure and humidity, the temperature of the workpiece, the thickness of the layer of coating and other factors)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Amell (US20220050435) discloses automated coating system having smart end effector tool.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert, Fennema can be reached on (571) 272-2748 The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786- 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/YVONNE T FOLLANSBEE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117