DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 9 and 10 have been newly amended. No claims have been newly added nor canceled. Claims 9-18 remain pending in the present application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Applicant asserts that the previously applied prior art fails to disclose or suggest at least the limitations of “wherein the setting parameters includes an abnormality detection parameter for determining a level at which an abnormality of the control target apparatus is detected, wherein, when controlling the target apparatus, the operation control circuitry detects an abnormality of the control target apparatus according to a value set in the abnormality detection parameter, and wherein the abnormality detection parameter includes at least one of: a pressure threshold value for detecting that a detected value of pressure by a pressure sensor has decreased, or a rotational speed threshold value for detecting that a rotational speed of a motor has reached an upper limit or a lower limit.” Applicant notes, on at least Page 15, Paragraph 1 of Applicant’s arguments, that “[w]hile Lange et al. discusses threshold(s) in relation to pressure, Lange et al. is concerned with increases in pressure above such threshold(s) [rather than decreases below such thresholds].” The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner notes that while Lange is largely directed towards determining when a pressure is above a threshold, at least [0295] of Lange discloses that “[i]n other examples, such as examples where the threshold pressure is a lower threshold pressure, the sprayer 1 can determine whether the actual fluid pressure is less than the threshold pressure (emphasis added).” In light of the explicit disclosure of a lower pressure threshold, and the determination of whether the actual pressure decreases below the threshold pressure, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turnbull (US 20160129466 A1), hereafter Turnbull, in view of Lange (US 20200050223 A1), hereafter Lange, and further in view of Uomori (JP2012146131A), hereafter Uomori.
Regarding claim 9, Turnbull discloses a control system comprising:
A coating control apparatus (0017, painting system includes one or more paint robot systems for spray painting one or more workpieces) comprising:
Setting reception circuitry configured to acquire designation information and setting information (0024, painting system includes a user interface coupled to the painting controller, the user interface receives inputs that change painting parameters of the painting system, for example, the color, the spray pattern, the fluid flow rate, etc.), the designation information indicating a control target apparatus among plural coating apparatuses each of which includes a coating device whose position and orientation are controlled by a robot in accordance with a command from robot control circuitry (0025, processor module receives inputs from the user interface, controls movement of the paint robot), the setting information indicating a target data item whose data is to be acquired among a plurality of data items specified based on the designation information (0025, processor module receives inputs from the user interface, determines painting parameters for control of the paint robot system);
Operation control circuitry configured to control the control target apparatus according to the designation information and the setting information (0018, paint robot systems controlled by one or more painting controllers, which control various operating or painting characteristics used in the painting process);
Robot information acquisition circuitry configured to acquire, from the robot control circuitry, robot data indicating an operation state of the robot (0025, the painting controller includes one or more modules that receive inputs, determine painting parameters and/or control positioning of the paint spray gun); and
A data processor configured to relate the robot data to coating data which indicates an operation state of a target coating device of the control target apparatus and which includes data corresponding to the target data item indicated by the setting information (0025, processor module may determine various paint spray gun parameters and control the movement of the paint robot to control the position of the paint spray gun relative to the surface of the workpiece); and
A setting apparatus comprising:
Image generation circuitry configured to generate input images via which user input can be made (0024, user interface may include input buttons, touch screen, mouse, etc., user interface may include a display for the user, Examiner's note, the user interface including a display would require the rendering of images in order for the user to have a means of interacting with the user interface);
Apparatus designation circuitry configured to generate the designation information by selecting, based on the user input via the input images, the control target apparatus (0024, painting system includes a user interface, user interface receives inputs that change the painting parameters of the painting system);
Item setting circuitry configured to generate the setting information by selecting, based on the user input via the input images, the target data item (0024, painting system includes a user interface, user interface receives inputs that change the painting parameters of the painting system); and
Setting transmission circuitry configured to transmit the designation information and the setting information setting to the reception circuitry (0025, painting controller includes one or more modules that receive inputs, determine painting parameters and/or control positioning of the paint spray gun, processor may receive inputs from the user interface).
Turnbull fails to disclose, however, wherein the plural coating apparatuses including at least a plurality of types of coating apparatuses having different constituent devices;
Wherein the input images include input images for the plurality of types of coating apparatuses having different constituent devices; and
Wherein the setting parameters includes an abnormality detection parameter for determining a level at which an abnormality of the control target apparatus is detected,
Wherein, when controlling the target apparatus, the operation control circuitry detects an abnormality of the control target apparatus according to a value set in the abnormality detection parameter, and
Wherein the abnormality detection parameter includes at least one of:
A pressure threshold value for detecting that a detected value of pressure by a pressure sensor has decreased, or
A rotational speed threshold value for detecting that a rotational speed of a motor has reached an upper limit or a lower limit.
Lange, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein the plural coating apparatuses including at least a plurality of types of coating apparatuses having different constituent devices (0254, Fig. 12, sprayers 1A and 1B are different embodiments of sprayer 1, see also 0068 and Fig. 3A, element 406, device model column 406 displays the particular make or model of each fluid applicator system);
Wherein the input images include input images for the plurality of types of coating apparatuses having different constituent devices (0200, handheld computer 14 can present a sprayer ID, or multiple sprayer IDs, to a user in step 83 corresponding to the number of sprayer IDs received, these sprayer IDs can be presented by being displayed as different icons, one for each respective sprayer on a screen of the one or more interfaces 20, see also 0068 and Fig. 3A, element 406, device model column 406 displays the particular make or model of each fluid applicator system); and
Wherein the setting parameters includes an abnormality detection parameter for determining a level at which an abnormality of the control target apparatus is detected (0293, As illustrated in Fig. 14, the handheld computer 14 receives an indication of a pressure threshold…. The handheld compute 14, or personal computer 22, can receive the indication of the threshold pressure via a user [by] one or more interfaces 20 of the handheld computer 14, via a communication from the network server 35 when the job to which the sprayer 1 is assigned is selected, or otherwise received via user interaction with the handheld computer 14),
Wherein, when controlling the target apparatus, the operation control circuitry detects an abnormality of the control target apparatus according to a value set in the abnormality detection parameter (0295, As illustrated in Fig. 14, the sprayer 1 senses an actual fluid pressure of fluid downstream of a pump of the sprayer 1, such as via the pressure sensor 28 that measures the hydraulic pressure of the fluid exiting, or otherwise pumped downstream of the pump 9 of the sprayer 1 … in other examples, such as examples where the threshold pressure is a lower threshold pressure, the sprayer 1 can determine whether the actual fluid pressure is less than the threshold pressure), and
Wherein the abnormality detection parameter includes at least one of:
A pressure threshold value for detecting that a detected value of pressure by a pressure sensor has decreased (0295, As illustrated in Fig. 14, the sprayer 1 senses an actual fluid pressure of fluid downstream of a pump of the sprayer 1, such as via the pressure sensor 28 that measures the hydraulic pressure of the fluid exiting, or otherwise pumped downstream of the pump 9 of the sprayer 1 … in other examples, such as examples where the threshold pressure is a lower threshold pressure, the sprayer 1 can determine whether the actual fluid pressure is less than the threshold pressure), or
A rotational speed threshold value for detecting that a rotational speed of a motor has reached an upper limit or a lower limit.
Turnbull and Lange are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., paint application systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the different devices as well as the pressure threshold setting and monitoring of Lange in order to provide a means of expanding the capabilities of the control system and further means of determining the operational status of the spraying devices. The motivation to combine is to allow for a single control system to control a plurality of different apparatuses, and to ensure that the apparatuses are performing in line with user requirements.
The combination of Turnbull and Lange fails to teach, however, wherein the image generation circuitry is configured to switch display contents of the input images to specify setting parameters that can be set by the user input in accordance with the selection of the control target apparatus; and
Wherein the setting information is generated based on the user input via the display contents of the setting parameters of the input images.
Uomori, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein the image generation circuitry is configured to switch display contents of the input images to specify setting parameters that can be set by the user input in accordance with the selection of the control target apparatus (0043-0048, Fig. 6, common parameter setting screen W3 in Fig. 6 is provided with a selected device display area R21, a common parameter display area R22, and an apply button BT2, selected device display area R21 is an area that displays a list of field devices selected on the main screen W1 shown in Fig. 4, when the common parameter setting screen W3 shown in Fig. 6 is displayed on the display device 2b, if the administrator operates the input device 2a to select one of the field devices listed in the selected device display area R21, the common parameters for the selected field device are displayed in the common parameter display area R22, next, when the administrator operates the input device 2a to select a different field device in the selected device display area R21, the common parameters for the selected field device are displayed in the common parameter display area R22, then, when the administrator changes the value of the common parameter displayed in the common parameter display area R22 and presses the apply button BT2, the parameter setting unit 21 and virtual DTM 22 set new parameters only for the newly selected field device); and
Wherein the setting information is generated based on the user input via the display contents of the setting parameters of the input images (0043-0048, Fig. 6, when the administrator operates the input device 2a to select a different field device in the selected device display area R21, the common parameters for the selected field device are displayed in the common parameter display area R22, then, when the administrator changes the value of the common parameter displayed in the common parameter display area R22 and presses the apply button BT2, the parameter setting unit 21 and virtual DTM 22 set new parameters only for the newly selected field device).
Turnbull, Lange, and Uomori are analogous because they are all reasonably pertinent to the problem of controlling a plurality of devices. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the switching of the display contents of Uomori in order to provide a means of choosing settings for a specific device. The motivation to combine is to allow the user to set different values for each field device (see at least 0048 of Uomori).
Regarding claim 10, Turnbull discloses a coating control method comprising:
Generating input images via which user input can be made (0024, user interface may include input buttons, touch screen, mouse, etc., user interface may include a display for the user, Examiner's note, the user interface including a display would require the rendering of images in order for the user to have a means of interacting with the user interface);
Generating designation information by selecting, based on the user input via the input images, a control target apparatus among plural coating apparatuses each of which includes a coating device whose position and orientation are controlled by a robot in accordance with a command from robot control circuitry (0024, painting system includes a user interface, user interface receives inputs that change the painting parameters of the painting system, paint robot system includes a paint robot having an arm configured to move in three dimensional space, with a paint spray gun provided at or near an end of the arm);
Generating setting information by selecting, based on the user input via the input images, a target data item whose data is to be acquired among a plurality of data items specified based on the designation information (0024, painting system includes a user interface, user interface receives inputs that change the painting parameters of the painting system);
Acquiring designation information and setting information, the designation information indicating the control target apparatus, the setting information indicating the target data item (0025, processor module receives inputs from the user interface, determines painting parameters for control of the paint robot system);
Controlling the target apparatus according to the designation information and the setting information (0025, processor module receives inputs from the user interface, controls movement of the paint robot);
Acquiring, from the robot control circuitry, robot data indicating an operation state of the robot (0025, the painting controller includes one or more modules that receive inputs, determine painting parameters and/or control positioning of the paint spray gun); and
Relating the robot data to coating data which indicates an operation state of a target coating device of the control target apparatus and which includes data corresponding to the target data item indicated by the setting information (0025, processor module may determine various paint spray gun parameters and control the movement of the paint robot to control the position of the paint spray gun relative to the surface of the workpiece).
Turnbull fails to disclose, however, wherein the plural coating apparatuses including at least a plurality of types of coating apparatuses having different constituent devices;
Wherein the input images include input images for the plurality of types of coating apparatuses having different constituent devices; and
Wherein the setting parameters includes an abnormality detection parameter for determining a level at which an abnormality of the control target apparatus is detected,
Wherein, when controlling the target apparatus, the operation control circuitry detects an abnormality of the control target apparatus according to a value set in the abnormality detection parameter, and
Wherein the abnormality detection parameter includes at least one of:
A pressure threshold value for detecting that a detected value of pressure by a pressure sensor has decreased, or
A rotational speed threshold value for detecting that a rotational speed of a motor has reached an upper limit or a lower limit.
Lange, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein the plural coating apparatuses including at least a plurality of types of coating apparatuses having different constituent devices (0254, Fig. 12, sprayers 1A and 1B are different embodiments of sprayer 1, see also 0068 and Fig. 3A, element 406, device model column 406 displays the particular make or model of each fluid applicator system);
Wherein the input images include input images for the plurality of types of coating apparatuses having different constituent devices (0200, handheld computer 14 can present a sprayer ID, or multiple sprayer IDs, to a user in step 83 corresponding to the number of sprayer IDs received, these sprayer IDs can be presented by being displayed as different icons, one for each respective sprayer on a screen of the one or more interfaces 20, see also 0068 and Fig. 3A, element 406, device model column 406 displays the particular make or model of each fluid applicator system); and
Wherein the setting parameters includes an abnormality detection parameter for determining a level at which an abnormality of the control target apparatus is detected (0293, As illustrated in Fig. 14, the handheld computer 14 receives an indication of a pressure threshold…. The handheld compute 14, or personal computer 22, can receive the indication of the threshold pressure via a user [by] one or more interfaces 20 of the handheld computer 14, via a communication from the network server 35 when the job to which the sprayer 1 is assigned is selected, or otherwise received via user interaction with the handheld computer 14),
Wherein, when controlling the target apparatus, the operation control circuitry detects an abnormality of the control target apparatus according to a value set in the abnormality detection parameter (0295, As illustrated in Fig. 14, the sprayer 1 senses an actual fluid pressure of fluid downstream of a pump of the sprayer 1, such as via the pressure sensor 28 that measures the hydraulic pressure of the fluid exiting, or otherwise pumped downstream of the pump 9 of the sprayer 1 … in other examples, such as examples where the threshold pressure is a lower threshold pressure, the sprayer 1 can determine whether the actual fluid pressure is less than the threshold pressure), and
Wherein the abnormality detection parameter includes at least one of:
A pressure threshold value for detecting that a detected value of pressure by a pressure sensor has decreased (0295, As illustrated in Fig. 14, the sprayer 1 senses an actual fluid pressure of fluid downstream of a pump of the sprayer 1, such as via the pressure sensor 28 that measures the hydraulic pressure of the fluid exiting, or otherwise pumped downstream of the pump 9 of the sprayer 1 … in other examples, such as examples where the threshold pressure is a lower threshold pressure, the sprayer 1 can determine whether the actual fluid pressure is less than the threshold pressure), or
A rotational speed threshold value for detecting that a rotational speed of a motor has reached an upper limit or a lower limit.
The combination of Turnbull and Lange fails to teach, however, wherein display content of the input images are switched to specify setting parameters that can be set by the user input as the setting information in accordance with the selection of the control target apparatus.
Uomori, however, in in analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein display content of the input images are switched to specify setting parameters that can be set by the user input as the setting information in accordance with the selection of the control target apparatus (0043-0048, Fig. 6, common parameter setting screen W3 in Fig. 6 is provided with a selected device display area R21, a common parameter display area R22, and an apply button BT2, selected device display area R21 is an area that displays a list of field devices selected on the main screen W1 shown in Fig. 4, when the common parameter setting screen W3 shown in Fig. 6 is displayed on the display device 2b, if the administrator operates the input device 2a to select one of the field devices listed in the selected device display area R21, the common parameters for the selected field device are displayed in the common parameter display area R22, next, when the administrator operates the input device 2a to select a different field device in the selected device display area R21, the common parameters for the selected field device are displayed in the common parameter display area R22, then, when the administrator changes the value of the common parameter displayed in the common parameter display area R22 and presses the apply button BT2, the parameter setting unit 21 and virtual DTM 22 set new parameters only for the newly selected field device).
Turnbull, Lange, and Uomori are analogous because they are all reasonably pertinent to the problem of controlling a plurality of devices. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the switching of the display contents of Uomori in order to provide a means of choosing settings for a specific device. The motivation to combine is to allow the user to set different values for each field device (see at least 0048 of Uomori).
Claim 11 is similar in scope to claim 10, and is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Turnbull, Lange, and Uomori teaches the control system according to claim 9, and Turnbull further discloses wherein the coating data and the robot data are stored in a memory such that the coating data is related to the robot data (0038, processor module may use the chart as a lookup table for determining one or more painting parameters based on a color input).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Turnbull, Lange, and Uomori teaches the control system according to claim 9, and Turnbull further discloses wherein the robot data includes data indicating an operation command for an apparatus included in the robot when the robot moves in accordance with an operation of the coating device (0025, the processor module may determine the paint spray gun distance, the spray pattern of the paint spray gun, the fluid flow rate of the paint spray gun, the high voltage electrical charge of the paint spray gun, or other painting parameters, processor module controls movement of the paint robot).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Turnbull, Lange, and Uomori teaches the control system according to claim 9, and Turnbull further discloses:
Wherein the robot information acquisition circuitry to acquire workpiece information indicating a type of workpiece to be coated from the robot control circuitry (0038, lookup table used to determine painting parameters based on workpiece), and
Wherein the data processor further relates the workpiece information to the coating data (0038, lookup table used to determine painting parameters based on workpiece).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Turnbull, Lange, and Uomori teaches a coating control system comprising:
The control system according to claim 9 (Turnbull, 0017, painting system 100, see also rejection of claim 9 above);
The robot control circuitry (Turnbull, 0018, paint robot systems are controlled by one or more painting controllers); and
A monitoring apparatus which includes a memory and is configured to monitor a state of coating performed by the coating device based on the coating data and the robot data stored in the memory (Turnbull, 0023, painting system includes a workpiece color sensor configured to inspect the color of the workpiece, identifies if a portion or portions of the workpiece are trending out of specification).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Turnbull, Lange, and Uomori teaches the control system according to claim 15, and Turnbull further discloses wherein the monitoring apparatus further comprises state determination circuitry configured to determine whether the state of coating is normal based on at least one of the coating data and the robot data stored in the memory (0023, painting system includes a workpiece color sensor configured to inspect the color of the workpiece, identifies if a portion or portions of the workpiece are trending out of specification).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Turnbull, Lange, and Uomori teaches the coating control system according to claim 16, and Turnbull further discloses wherein the monitoring apparatus further comprises:
Position estimation circuitry configured to calculate a position on a workpiece at which the state of coating performed by the coating device is estimated to be not normal based on the robot data stored in the memory when the state determination circuitry determines that the state of coating is not normal (0023, painting system includes a workpiece color sensor configured to inspect the color of the workpiece, identifies if a portion or portions of the workpiece are trending out of specification); and
Notification circuitry configured to notify a determination result by the state determination circuitry and an estimation result by the position estimation circuitry (0023, color sensor determines if a portion of the workpiece is trending out of specification and sends data to the painting controller).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turnbull in view of Lange and Uomori, and further in view of Kensei (WO 2020250306 A1), hereafter Kensei.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Turnbull, Lange, and Uomori teaches the coating control system according to claim 16, but the combination fails to teach wherein the monitoring apparatus further comprises:
Data accumulation circuitry configured to accumulate performance information in which operation data indicating at least one of the coating data and the robot data is related to a state of coating performed by the coating device based on the operation data; and
Algorithm construction circuitry configured to construct a determination algorithm for outputting a determination result as to whether or not the state of coating is normal in response to an input of the operation data based on the performance information accumulated by the data accumulation circuitry.
Kensei, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein the monitoring apparatus further comprises:
Data accumulation circuitry configured to accumulate performance information in which operation data indicating at least one of the coating data and the robot data is related to a state of coating performed by the coating device based on the operation data (0140, storage unit obtains information indicating the actual coating state of the paint based on the state indicated by the state information obtained based on the performance state); and
Algorithm construction circuitry configured to construct a determination algorithm for outputting a determination result as to whether or not the state of coating is normal in response to an input of the operation data based on the performance information accumulated by the data accumulation circuitry (0142, model construction unit constructs an estimated model by machine learning based on the performance information stored in the storage unit).
Turnbull, Lange, Uomori, and Kensei are analogous because they are because they are all reasonably pertinent to the problem of controlling a plurality of devices. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the data storing and algorithm construction of Kensei in order to provide a means of more effectively determining coating parameters for a given surface. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the robotic painting system is as accurate in applying paint to the workpiece as possible.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/THOMAS E WORDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658