DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 8, 11, 12, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable US 10,253,134 to Nefzger et al. (hereinafter Nefzger) in view of US 2014/0243560 to Lorenz et al. (hereinafter Lorenz) and CA 2 385 085 to Grosch et al. (hereinafter Grosch).
Regarding Claims 1, 5 – 8, 11, and 21. Nefzger teaches an ethoxylated bisphenol A (BPA) resin/polyether polyol comprising:
an ethoxylate/alkoxylate of 4,4’-isopropylidenediphenol, in an amount of at least 10 weight percent;
an ethoxylate/alkoxylate of 2,4’- and 2,2’-isopropylidenediphenol, in an amount of at least 5 weight percent; and
an ethoxylate/alkoxylate of components which may be derived from phenol and/or acetone, in an amount of at least 10 weight percent (Column 4, Lines 15 – 29).
Nefzger does not expressly teach the above described ethoxylated bisphenol A (BPA) resin/polyether polyol further comprises an alkoxylate corresponding to instantly claimed component (d). However, Lorenz teaches the concept of preparing a polyether polyol using bisphenol A as a starter compound [0021]. Lorenz further teaches combining such a starter compound with up to 30 weight percent of starter compounds having melting points lower than 40°C, such as a propylene glycol or ethylene glycol [0022]. Propylene glycol and ethylene glycol have molecular weights of 76 g/mol and 62 g/mol, and therefore less than the molecular weight of isopropylidenediphenol (228.29 g/mol). Nefzger and Lorenz are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely polyether polyols. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a starter compound having melting points lower than 40°C, such as a propylene glycol or ethylene glycol, in the amount taught by Lorenz in conjunction with bisphenol A when preparing the polyether polyol of Nefzger. The motivation would have been that Lorenz teaches such compounds are suitably used as suspension aids for solid high-melting starter compounds [0005], e.g. bisphenol A. Lorenz further teaches the use of suspension aids can be associated with increased clarity and homogeneity in the end products prepared with solid starter compounds [0005] – [0007].
Additionally, Nefzger does teach propylene oxide is the preferred alkylene oxide to be used in conjunction with ethylene oxide in the preparation of the polyether polyol (Column 5, Lines 23 – 26) but does not expressly teach the polyether polyol comprises the polymerized ethylene oxide moieties as an internal block and an external cap comprising the propylene oxide moieties as a cap. However, Grosch teaches the concept of providing a polyether polyol with an inner block of ethylene oxide, i.e. an inner block of polymerized alkylene oxide moieties comprising 100% by weight oxyethylene units. Attached to this block is a block which is particular preferably propylene oxide, i.e. an external cap of polymerized alkylene oxide moieties comprising 100% by weight oxypropylene units (Page 5, Lines 5 – 15 and 36 – 41). Nefzger and Grosch are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely polyether polyols. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide ethylene oxide and propylene oxide in the sequence and relative amounts suggested by Grosch to prepare the polyether polyol of Nefzger. The motivation would have been that this order of metering ethylene oxide and propylene oxide provides for the presence of ethylene oxide units to enhance the compatibility of the polyols with water and other polyurethane foam formulation ingredients, without making the polyol so hydrophilic that it become susceptible to gelling and causing other negative impacts to foam properties as when the ethylene oxide units are provided as an external cap.
Regarding Claim 2. Nefzger teaches the polyether polyol of Claim 1 but is silent with respect to its arithmetic functionality. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Nefzger, in view of Lorenz and Grosch, teaches a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a polyether polyol having an arithmetic functionality in the instantly claimed range, would implicitly be achieved in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process.
Regarding Claim 3. Nefzger teaches the polyether polyol of Claim 1 wherein the polyether polyol has a viscosity at 25°C of particularly preferably 1,000 to 6,000 mPas (Column 5, Lines 41 – 45).
Regarding Claim 4. Nefzger teaches the polyether polyol of Claim 1 wherein the polyether polyol has a hydroxyl number of preferably 120 to 300 mgKOH/g (Column 5, Lines 41 – 43).
Regarding Claim 12. Nefzger teaches a PUR-PIR rigid foam-forming reaction mixture comprising:
b) at least one polyisocyanate-containing component;
a) at least one BPA resin ethoxylate, i.e. the polyether polyol of Claim 1; and
c) at least one propellant/blowing agent (Column 7, Lines 38 – 52). The propellant may comprise both chemical and physical propellants/blowing agents (Column 8, Lines 47 – Column 9, Line 13).
Claims 14 – 18 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable US 10,253,134 to Nefzger et al. (hereinafter Nefzger) in view of US 2014/0243560 to Lorenz et al. (hereinafter Lorenz) and CA 2 385 085 to Grosch et al. (hereinafter Grosch).
Regarding Claims 14, 17, 18, and 23. Nefzger teaches a process for preparing a polyether polyol comprising ethoxylating/alkoxylating an active hydrogen-containing initiator BPA resin composition comprising:
4,4’-isopropylidenediphenol;
2,4’- and 2,2’- isopropylidenediphenol; and
components which may be derived from phenol and/or acetone (Column 4, Lines 15 – 29).
Nefzger does not expressly teach the above described active hydrogen-containing initiator BPA composition further comprises a compound corresponding to instantly claimed component (d). However, Lorenz teaches the concept of preparing a polyether polyol using bisphenol A as a starter compound [0021]. Lorenz further teaches up to 30 weight percent of additional starter compounds having melting points lower than 40°C, such as a propylene glycol or ethylene glycol, in conjunction with starter compounds such as bisphenol A [0022]. Propylene glycol and ethylene glycol have molecular weights of 76 g/mol and 62 g/mol, and therefore less than the molecular weight of isopropylidenediphenol (228.29 g/mol). Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a starter compound having melting points lower than 40°C, such as a propylene glycol or ethylene glycol, in the amount taught by Lorenz in conjunction with bisphenol A when preparing the polyether polyol of Nefzger. The motivation would have been that Lorenz teaches such compounds are suitably used as suspension aids for solid high-melting starter compounds [0005], e.g. bisphenol A. Lorenz further teaches the use of suspension aids can be associated with increased clarity and homogeneity in the end products prepared with solid starter compounds [0005] – [0007].
Additionally, Nefzger does teach propylene oxide is the preferred alkylene oxide to be used in conjunction with ethylene oxide in the preparation of the polyether polyol (Column 5, Lines 23 – 26) but does not expressly teach the polyether polyol comprises the polymerized ethylene oxide moieties as an internal block and an external cap comprising the propylene oxide moieties as a cap. However, Grosch teaches the concept of providing a polyether polyol with an inner block of ethylene oxide, i.e. an inner block of polymerized alkylene oxide moieties comprising 100% by weight oxyethylene units. Attached to this block is a block which is particular preferably propylene oxide, i.e. an external cap of polymerized alkylene oxide moieties comprising 100% by weight oxypropylene units (Page 5, Lines 5 – 15 and 36 – 41). Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide ethylene oxide and propylene oxide in the sequence and relative amounts suggested by Grosch to prepare the polyether polyol of Nefzger. The motivation would have been that this order of metering ethylene oxide and propylene oxide provides for the presence of ethylene oxide units to enhance the compatibility of the polyols with water and other polyurethane foam formulation ingredients, without making the polyol so hydrophilic that it become susceptible to gelling and causing other negative impacts to foam properties as when the ethylene oxide units are provided as an external cap.
Regarding Claim 15. Nefzger teaches the method of Claim 14 wherein the polyether polyol has a viscosity at 25°C of particularly preferably 1,000 to 6,000 mPas and a hydroxyl number of preferably 120 to 300 mgKOH/g (Column 5, Lines 41 – 45).
Nefzger is silent with respect to the arithmetic functionality of the polyether polyol. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Nefzger, in view of Lorenz and Grosch, teaches a process employing all of the claimed steps and processing conditions, as well as the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a polyether polyol having an arithmetic functionality in the instantly claimed range, would implicitly be achieved by a process employing all of the claimed steps and processing conditions, as well as the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties using only the claimed process employing the claimed steps, processing conditions, and ingredients in the claimed amounts.
Regarding Claim 16. Nefzger teaches the method of Claim 14. Nefzger teaches an ethoxylated bisphenol A (BPA) resin/polyether polyol comprises an ethoxylate/alkoxylate of 4,4’-isopropylidenediphenol, in an amount of at least 10 weight percent; an ethoxylate/alkoxylate of 2,4’- and 2,2’-isopropylidenediphenol, in an amount of at least 5 weight percent; and an ethoxylate/alkoxylate of components which may be derived from phenol and/or acetone, in an amount of at least 10 weight percent (Column 4, Lines 15 – 29). It would then be reasonably expected that the active hydrogen initiators used to generate each of the ethoxylates must also be provided in substantially the same amounts such that the relative weight ratios would be achieved.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable US 10,253,134 to Nefzger et al. (hereinafter Nefzger) in view of US 2014/0243560 to Lorenz et al. and CA 2 385 085 to Grosch et al., as applied to Claim 14 above, and further in view of US 2015/0122150 to Ritz.
Regarding Claim 22. Nefzger teaches the process of Claim 14 may comprise adding to an autoclave at 80°C, i.e. a pre-heated reactor, a BPA resin and a catalyst (DMAE) (Column 12, Lines 51 – 55). The BPA resin includes components which may be derived from phenol and/or acetone (Column 4, Lines 15 – 29). The alkylene oxide (e.g. EO) is subsequently introduced and an alkoxylation reaction conducted (Column 12, Lines 62 – 67).
Nefzger does not expressly teach the BPA is provided to the reactor in a molten state. However, Ritz teaches the concept of preparing alkoxylated BPA in which the BPA is provided in a molten state [0008]. Nefzger and Ritz are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely methods of making alkoxylated bisphenol A. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide BPA in a molten state to the reactor during the process of Nefzger. The motivation would have been that BPA in a molten state be expected to improve the flowability and processability of the resin, as well as expedite mixing with the subsequently added reactive components.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 8, 11, 12, 14 – 18, and 21 – 25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1 – 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,162,976 in view of US 2014/0243560 to Lorenz et al.
The claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,162,976 differ from the instant claims in that they do not set forth an alkoxylate of the diol is further provided in the polyether polyol. However, Lorenz also teaches the concept of preparing a polyether polyol using bisphenol A as a starter compound [0021]. Lorenz further teaches including up to 30 weight percent of a starter compounds having melting points lower than 40°C, such as a propylene glycol or ethylene glycol, in conjunction with a starter compound such as bisphenol A [0022]. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide ethylene glycol or propylene glycol in the amount taught by Lorenz in conjunction with bisphenol A when preparing the polyether polyol set forth in the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,162,976. The motivation would have been that Lorenz teaches such compounds are suitably used as suspension aids for solid high-melting starter compounds [0005], e.g. bisphenol A. Lorenz further teaches the use of suspension aids can be associated with increased clarity and homogeneity in the end products prepared with solid starter compounds [0005] – [0007].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, as well as the concurrently filed 132 declaration in support of these arguments, have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, Lorenz is no longer relied upon teach the claim limitations regarding an inner block comprising ethylene oxide and an outer block comprising propylene oxide. CA 2 385 085 to Grosch et al. is now relied upon to teach this limitation.
Correspondence
/MELISSA A RIOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764