DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the flexible body must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myers et al. (USPGPub 2002/0193731) in view of Golubovic et al. (USPGPub 2014/0302745).
Re Claim 1, Myers teaches a leak guard (30) (Myers Fig. 5) for use with a breast pump suction flange (12) having a liquid extraction port (70) through which liquid from a wearer's breast flows when the breast pump suction flange (12) is worn by a wearer (Myers ¶ 0073), the leak guard (30) comprising: a flexible body (30-1) having an outer perimeter (30-2) defining a terminal edge (30-3) of the flexible body (30-1) (Myers ¶ 0058; Annotated Fig. 5 below), the flexible body (30-1) being configured to be placed in contact with the breast pump suction flange (12) and substantially conform thereto when worn (as seen in Myers Figs. 1A, 1B and 3), the flexible body (30-1) being removable from the breast pump suction flange (as seen in Myers Fig. 5). However, Myers fails to teach a liquid collection region defined by the flexible body within the outer perimeter, the liquid collection region being positioned beneath a perimeter of the breast pump suction flange when the flexible body is worn to collect liquid leakage from the perimeter of the breast pump suction flange.
Golubovic teaches an absorbent bra liners (Golubovic Figs. 4 and 5), the bra comprising a flexible body (31) (Golubovic Fig. 4) defining a liquid collection region (11) within an outer perimeter of the flexible body (31), the liquid collection region (11) being positioned beneath a perimeter of the bra when the flexible body (31) is worn for preventing excessive fluid buildup (Golubovic ¶ 0032, 0040). When the liquid collection region is applied to the breast pump suction flange, it would naturally collect liquid leakage from the perimeter of the breast pump suction flange. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the flexible body of Myers to define a liquid collection region within the outer perimeter, the liquid collection region being positioned beneath a perimeter of the breast pump suction flange when the flexible body is worn to collect liquid leakage from the perimeter of the breast pump suction flange wherein the liquid collection region of Golubovic is configured to prevent excessive fluid buildup (Golubovic ¶ 0032, 0040).
Re Claim 3, Myers in view of Golubovic teach all of the limitations of Claim 1. Myers fails to teach wherein the flexible body includes a liquid absorbent material capable of absorbing the liquid leakage. Golubovic teaches the flexible body (11) includes a liquid absorbent material (Golubovic ¶ 0040 - wherein liner 11 is an absorptive material) capable of absorbing the liquid leakage) for preventing excessive fluid buildup (Golubovic ¶ 0032, 0040). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the flexible body of Myers to include a liquid absorbent material capable of absorbing the liquid leakage as disclosed by Golubovic to prevent excessive fluid buildup (Golubovic ¶ 0032, 0040).
Re Claim 5, Myers in view of Golubovic teach all of the limitations of Claim 1. Myers teaches wherein the flexible body (30-1) includes a liquid impermeable material in the liquid
collection region (Myers ¶ 0058 – teaching the flange 30 being made from silicone, a liquid impermeable material).
Re Claim 6, Myers in view of Golubovic teach all of the limitations of Claim 1. Myers teaches wherein the flexible body (30-1) includes a liquid impermeable material that contacts the breast pump suction flange (12) when the leak guard (as taught by Myers in view of Golubovic) is worn (Myers ¶ 0058 – teaching the flange 30 being made from silicone, a liquid impermeable material).
Re Claim 7, Myers in view of Golubovic teach all of the limitations of Claim 1. Myers teaches wherein the flexible body (30-1) emulates a disk shape (Myers Fig. 5).
Re Claim 8, Myers in view of Golubovic teach all of the limitations of Claim 1. Myers teaches wherein: the flexible body (30-1) includes a liquid extraction port receiving member (62) that permits the liquid extraction port (70) to extend therethrough (Myers ¶ 0072); the flexible body (30-1) includes a liquid impermeable material in the liquid collection region (as taught by Myers in view of Golubovic) (Myers ¶ 0058 – teaching the flange 30 being made from silicone, a liquid impermeable material). However, Myers fails to teach the flexible body includes a liquid absorbent material capable of absorbing the liquid leakage. Golubovic teaches the flexible body (11) includes a liquid absorbent material (Golubovic ¶ 0040 - wherein liner 11 is an absorptive material) capable of absorbing the liquid leakage) for preventing excessive fluid buildup (Golubovic ¶ 0032, 0040). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the flexible body of Myers to include a liquid absorbent material capable of absorbing the liquid leakage as disclosed by Golubovic to prevent excessive fluid buildup (Golubovic ¶ 0032, 0040).
Re Claim 9, Myers in view of Golubovic teach all of the limitations of Claim 1. Myers further teaches a breast pump (24) and the breast pump suction flange (12) (Myers Fig. 5; ¶ 0048).
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myers et al. (USPGPub 2002/0193731) in view of Golubovic et al. (USPGPub 2014/0302745) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Phillips et al. (USPGPub 2016/0296682).
Re Claim 2, Myers in view of Golubovic teach all of the limitations of Claim 1. Myers in view of Golubovic fail to teach wherein the outer perimeter includes adhesive. Phillips teaches a breast pump assembly (Phillips Fig. 2) having a leak guard (6) with outer perimeter (4), wherein the outer perimeter (4) includes adhesive for allowing the leak guard (6) to maintain contact with a woman’s breast (Phillips ¶ 0093). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the outer perimeter of Myers in view of Golubovic to include an adhesive as disclosed by Phillips for allowing the leak guard to maintain contact with a woman’s breast (Phillips ¶ 0093).
Re Claim 4, Myers in view of Golubovic teach all of the limitations of Claim 1. Myers in view of Golubovic fail to teach an adhesive on the flexible body beneath the liquid collection region for adhering the flexible body to skin of the wearer. Phillips teaches a breast pump assembly (Phillips Fig. 2) having a leak guard (6) with flexible body (Phillips ¶ 0011), wherein an adhesive is formed circumferentially about the leak guard (6) for allowing the leak guard to maintain contact with a woman’s breast (Phillips ¶ 0093). In the modification of Myers in view of Golubovic, the adhesive on the flexible body would be beneath the liquid collection region. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the flexible body of Myers in view of Golubovic to comprise an adhesive beneath the liquid collection region for adhering the flexible body to skin of the wearer, the configuration as disclosed by Phillips for allowing the leak guard to maintain contact with a woman’s breast (Phillips ¶ 0093).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/04/2026 with respect to 112 indefinite rejection of Claims 1-9 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Due to clarifying amendments, the 112 indefinite rejection of Claims 1-9 is hereinafter withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM R FREHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783