Detailed Action
The following action is in response to the communication(s) received on 10/22/2025.
As of the claims filed 10/22/2025:
Claims 1, 9, 17, and 23 have been amended.
Claims 1-6, 9-14, 17-19, and 21-28 are now pending.
Claims 1, 9, 17, and 23 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/22/2025 have been fully considered, but are not fully persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of 35 USC § 112(b):
Applicant agrees the claim elements should be read in light of the Specification, and thus the 35 USC § 112(b) indefiniteness rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 USC § 101 rejection, the amendments to the claims have overcome the rejection, and thus the rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding the prior art rejections, Applicant asserts that Lin or Yang does not teach “transmitting the training loss, via digital transmission on digital resources, to a federated learning server ... and transmitting the weight updates, via analog communication, to the federated learning server.” Examiner respectfully disagrees, as “transmitting the training loss, via digital transmission on digital resources, to a federated learning server” is taught by Lin [p.9 last ¶],[p.8 Remark 2, the transmitted “local-model” contains the training loss] via Yang/Lin, and “transmitting the weight updates, via analog communication, to the federated learning server” us taught by Yang [p.4 left ¶3], via Yang/Lin.
Claims 2-6, 10-14, 18-22, and 24-28 are rejected by virtue of dependency to their respective parent claims which are rejected for reasons stated above.
Claim Interpretation
In claim 23: “means for computing updates…”, “means for recording a training loss…”, “means for transmitting the training loss…”, “means for receiving…”, “means for calculating…”, “and means for transmitting the updates…”.
In claim 26: “means for receiving… a configuration”, “means for scaling the updates…”
In claim 27: “means for transmitting the training loss…”
In claim 28: “means for transmitting the training loss…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-14, and 17-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al., “Federated Learning via Over-the-Air Computation” (hereinafter Yang) in view of Lin et al., “Deploying Federated Learning in Large-Scale Cellular Networks: Spatial Convergence Analysis” (hereinafter Lin).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang teaches:
A method of wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising: (Yang [Abstract] This stimulates a nascent field termed as federated learning for training a machine learning model on computation, storage, energy and bandwidth limited mobile devices in a distributed manner)
computing initial updates to an artificial neural network as part of an epoch of a federated learning process, the initial updates comprising gradients or updated model parameters; (Yang [p.3 left ¶5] This model is widely used in… as deep neural networks.
[p.3 right ¶1]
) (Note: the updated global model z[t] corresponds to the updated model parameters)
recording a training loss observed while training the artificial neural network at the epoch of the federated learning process, the training loss corresponding to UE heterogeneity; (Yang [p.3 left ¶5]
[p.3 r ¶1]
(Note: l(z;xj,yj) of each function using the stochastic gradient algorithm corresponds to the training loss. The t-th round corresponds to the epoch of the federated learning process; the aggregation of all the updates of the selected devices corresponds to the UE heterogeneity.)
receiving, from the federated learning server, a configuration of a quantity of training samples, based on the training loss; (Yang [p. 3 r. ¶1]
) (Note: the updated global model z[t-1] corresponds to the configuration of a quantity of training samples, since the previous round also comprises of aggregated weighted averages of the local models. The model being trained using stochastic gradient algorithm corresponds to being based on the training loss. It should also be noted that, although Applicant asserts claim 1 incorporates parts of claim 8, the claim language is recited differently such that the interpretation allows Yang to continue teaching this limitation.)
calculating weight updates based on the quantity of training samples; (Yang [p. 3 r. ¶1]
) (Note: running the local update algorithm corresponds to calculating the weight updates; each resulting updated local model zk[t] corresponds to each weight update)
and transmitting the weight updates, via analog communication, to the federated learning server that is configured to aggregate the gradients from a plurality of UEs in accordance with weights determined based on the training loss, (Yang [p.3 r]
[AltContent: textbox (Plurality of user equipment)][AltContent: textbox (Federated learning server)]
(Note: the arrow from device 1 to device m to the Base Station corresponds to transmitting the (local) updates to a federated learning server)
the transmitting the weight updates comprising the analog communication via shared uplink resources that are orthogonal to the digital resources, (Yang [p.4 left ¶3] Our approach is based on the principles of over-the-air computation by leveraging the signal superposition property of a multiple-access channel. The key observation in the FedAvg algorithm is that the global model is updated through computing the weighted average of locally computed updates at each selected device, which falls in the category of computing nomographic functions of distributed data) (Note: over-the-air computation and signal superposition corresponds to analog communication; analog communication methods are different from digital communication methods and thus are orthogonal to the digital resources; each selected device correspond to each shared uplink resource)
the weight updates being based on the training loss. (Yang [p.3 r]
[AltContent: textbox (Plurality of user equipment)][AltContent: textbox (Federated learning server)]
[p. 3 r. ¶1]
) (Note: each zi[t] calculates the training loss of each device via the stochastic gradient algorithm. Thus, each zi[t] corresponds to the weight updates based on the training loss)
Yang does not teach, but Lin further teaches:
transmitting the training loss, via digital transmission on digital resources, to a federated learning server during each round of the federated learning process (Lin [p.9 last ¶] 1) Digital Transmission: For digital transmission, each coefficient of the local gradient at each device is quantized into a sufficiently large number of bits, denoted as D, such that the effect of quantization errors on learning performance is negligible. Then the quantized gradient is encoded and transmitted at the fixed rate B/M log(1 + θ) with θ being a chosen constant.
[p.8 Remark 2] Remark 2 (Extension to Local-model Uploading). The current analysis can be extended to the alternative FEEL implementation with local-model uploading by accounting for multi-round local-gradient descent [3]. First, in each round, the local model at device X is updated via w˜ (n+1) X = w (n) X −µg˜ (n) X ; then w˜X (n+1) is transmitted to the server for updating the global model: w (n+1) X = 1 A(n) P X∈C0∩Φ (n) d w˜ (n+1) X . The analysis can be modified accordingly and the modification is straightforward and does not change the findings.) (Note: the local-model transmitted to the server (through the straightforward modification) contains the weights updated by the training loss. Thus, digital transmission of the model corresponds to the transmission of the training loss)
Yang and Lin are analogous to the present invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of federated learning through sending updated models to servers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the digital transmission taught by Lin to Yang’s distributed learning method. The motivation would be that “When the network is relatively sparse…digital transmission is observed to outperform the analog scheme as the latter exposes uncoded signals to the perturbation of inter-cell interference.” (Lin [p.23 ¶1])
Regarding Claim 2, Yang, via Yang/Lin, further teaches:
The method of claim 1, in which the weight updates are scaled for aggregation based on a previous value of the training loss. (Yang [p.4 r]
[p. 3 r. ¶1] To reduce the number of communication rounds for global model aggregation, the federated averaging (FedAvg) algorithm [12] has recently been proposed. Specifically, at the t -th round:
The BS selects a subset of mobile devices St⊆{1,⋯,M} ;
The BS sends the updated global model z[t−1] to the selected devices St ;
Each selected device i∈St runs a local update algorithm (e.g., stochastic gradient algorithm) based on its local dataset Di and the global model z[t−1] , whose output is the updated local model z[t]i ;
The BS aggregates all the local updates z[t]i with i∈St , i.e., computing their weighted average as the updated global model z[t] .)
(Note: computing the weighted average corresponds to scaling for aggregation. The BS sending the global model z[t-1] corresponds to the previous value of the training loss.)
Regarding Claim 3, Yang, via Yang/Lin, further teaches:
The method of claim 1, in which the weight updates are scaled for aggregation based on a function of the training loss. (Yang [p.4 r]
[p.3 left ¶5]
[p. 3 r. ¶1]
) (Note: z is the global model; zi is the local model. Step 3 states the local update algorithm; 4 corresponds to the aggregation of the updates. The normalization of the local model (in eq. 2) corresponds to scaling based on the function of the training loss.)
Regarding Claim 4, Yang, via Yang/Lin, further teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the federated learning server, a configuration for scaling the weight updates; and scaling the weight updates based on the training loss, prior to transmitting the weight updates to the federated learning server. (Yang [p. 3 r. ¶1]
[p.4 r]
(Note: |Di| means the size of the local dataset; the FedAvg algorithm including the normalization of the updated local model corresponds to receiving the configuration for scaling the updates. Equation 2 is performed in step 2 of the federated averaging algorithm, thus corresponding to scaling the updates prior to transmitting the updates to the federated learning server)
Regarding Claim 5, Yang, via Yang/Lin, further teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting the training loss to the federated learning server during each round of the federated learning process. (Yang [p.3 r ¶1] To reduce the number of communication rounds for global model aggregation, the federated averaging (FedAvg) algorithm [10] has recently been proposed. Specifically, at the t -th round:
)
(Note: the value of t includes 1 round, thus t-th round corresponds to each round of the federated learning process. Figure 2 shows that the devices are transmitting a training loss to the federated learning server at each round.)
Regarding Claim 6, Yang teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting the training loss to the federated learning server every N rounds of the federated learning process, where N is greater than or equal to two. (Yang [p.3 left ¶5] To reduce the number of communication rounds for global model aggregation, the federated averaging (FedAvg) algorithm [12] has recently been proposed. Specifically, at the t -th round:
.
) (Note: since the federated averaging algorithm transmits the loss every t-th round, then the algorithm also transmits the loss every second round, thus corresponding to each N rounds of the federated learning process.)
[AltContent: textbox (The apparatus for wireless communication comprises of a server, which has memory and at least one processor)]Independent Claim 9 recites An apparatus for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor configured (Yang
) to perform precisely the methods of Claim 1. Thus, Claim 9 is rejected for reasons set forth in Claim 1.
Claims 10-14, dependent on Claim 9, also recite the apparatus configured to perform precisely the methods of Claims 2-6, respectively. Thus, Claims 10-14 are rejected for reasons set forth in Claims 2-6, respectively.
Independent Claim 17 recites A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code recorded thereon, the program code comprising (Yang [AltContent: textbox (The base station which executes the federated learning program code comprises of a server, which has memory and at least one processor)]
) precisely the methods of Claim 1. Thus, Claim 17 is rejected for reasons set forth in Claim 1.
Claims 18, 19, 21, and 22, dependent on Claim 17, also recite the system configured to perform precisely the methods of Claims 2, 3, 5, and 6, respectively. Thus, Claims 18, 19, 21, and 22 are rejected for reasons set forth in Claims 2, 3, 5, and 6, respectively.
Independent Claim 23 recites An apparatus for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising: means for (Yang [Abstract] We thus propose a novel over-the-air computation …) to perform precisely the methods of Claim 1. Thus, Claim 23 is rejected for reasons set forth in Claim 1. (Note: over-the-air corresponds to wireless communication; computation requires a processor and memory, thus corresponding to an apparatus)
Claims 24-28, dependent on Claim 23, also recite the apparatus configured to perform precisely the methods of Claims 2-6, respectively. Thus, Claims 24-28 are rejected for reasons set forth in Claims 2-6, respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2122
/KAKALI CHAKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2122