DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 18-20 are added. Claims 1-20, as filed 29 May 2025, are examined herein. No new matter is included herein.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejection under 35 USC 103, Applicant’s arguments are moot in light of a newly cited reference, Tsutsumi.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 9 and 10 are missing the word “and”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsutsumi (US 20150357607 A1) in view of Tsushima (US 20230091100 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tsutsumi teaches a battery (abstract) comprising:
an electrode assembly having a positive electrode plate and a negative electrode plate (abstract and [0068] electrode assembly 4);
a battery case that accommodates the electrode assembly; (abstract: case body)
Tsutsumi discloses [0069] the positive and negative electrode plate 5 and 6 have a non-overlapped portion not coated with the active material … at an edge in the lateral direction in which the sheet is displaced… metal foil of the positive electrode and the negative electrode project from the overlapped portion [0070] metal foils at the lateral ends of the electrode assembly 4 are electrically connected to respective current collectors 8. Tsutsumi’s non coated portion of the electrode plate is not particularly limited in shape or configuration. However, Tsutsumi does not explicitly teach a tab portion provided on at least one of the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate, the tab portion extending on a side of the electrode assembly.
Tsushima discloses a secondary battery having a similar wound electrode body, terminals, and form factor (compare FIG. 1 of Tsutsumi to FIG. 1 of Tsushima, showing a similar form factor.)
Tsushima discloses (FIG. 5) tab assemblies 41. At [0006-0007] Tsushima discloses that tab groups formed from multiple electrode tabs are connected to the second current collector, which facilitates a secondary battery with high energy density, stability in welding, and reduced current concentration at the tab.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to select the projecting tabs of Tsushima for the non-overlapped portion not coated with the active material of Tsutsumi, with a reasonable expectation of successfully achieving a battery with high energy density, stability in welding, and reduced current concentration, thus rendering obvious the selection of tabs.
Tsutsumi further teaches:
a current collector connected to the tab portion; (FIG. 2 and [0070] “metal foils projecting at the lateral ends of the electrode assembly 4 are connected to current collectors 8)
wherein the current collector faces a side surface of the battery case with the tab portion being folded, and (FIG. 6 current collector 8, [0071] bent to a right angle.)
an insulating sheet disposed between the electrode assembly and the battery case, the insulating sheet having a fold-over portion between the battery case and the current collector, (FIG. 3 and [0075] insulating cover 20 sheet 22, fold over portion 23)
a joined portion at which portions of the insulating sheet are joined to each other is formed in the fold-over portion. ([0082] heat sealed by point sealing)
wherein the battery case includes an exterior package comprising a metal and including an opening and a sealing plate that seals the opening; ([0067] “case body 1a and cover plate 1b are made of a metal such as an aluminum alloy or steel.”)
the exterior package has a bottom portion facing the opening, a pair of first side walls extend from edges of the bottom portion and face each other, and a pair of second side walls extend from edges of the bottom portion and face each other so as to connect between the first side walls; an area of each of the pair of first side walls is larger than an area of each of the pair of second side walls; (as shown FIG. 1, FIG. 2)
the insulating sheet includes a bottom surface portion (FIG. 3 and [0075] “first section” 21, a first side surface portion, a second side surface portion ([0075] “second sections” 22, 22), a first side piece portion and a second side piece portion; ([0075] “third sections” 23, 23)
the bottom surface portion faces the bottom portion; the first side surface portion faces one of the pair of first side walls; the second side surface portion faces the other of the pair of first side walls; the first side piece portion faces one of the pair of second side walls; the second side piece portion faces the one of the pair of second side walls; (As shown FIG. 3)
the first side piece portion is directly connected to an end portion of one side of the first side surface portion and is folded from the end portion of one side of the first side surface portion; the second side piece portion is directly connected to an end portion of one side of the second side surface portion and is folded from the end portion of one side of the second side surface portion; and the joined portion is at a position where the first side piece portion and the second side piece portion overlap with each other. (As shown FIG. 3)
Regarding Claim 2, Tsutsumi in view of Tsushima discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Tsutsumi discloses the electrical connections (positive, negative) are disposed at each end of the electrode assembly. However, Tsutsumi not explicitly teach tabs, and therefore does not explicitly teach wherein a positive electrode tab group including a plurality of positive electrode tabs provided on the positive electrode plate is disposed at an end portion of one side of the electrode assembly,
Tsushima discloses (FIG. 2, FIG. 3, FIG. 4 and [0033]) a positive electrode tab group 40 provided at one end portion of the other electrode body 3, and a similar negative tab group (FIG. 2 tabs 50) and the tab portion is constituted of at least one of the positive electrode tab group and the negative electrode tab group. ([0067]) At [0006-0007] Tsushima discloses that tab groups formed from multiple electrode tabs are connected to the second current collector, which facilitates a secondary battery with high energy density, stability in welding, and reduced current concentration at the tab.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to select the projecting tabs of Tsushima, and place them at the ends of the electrode assembly as taught by Tsutsumi, with a reasonable expectation of successfully achieving a battery with high energy density, stability in welding, and reduced current concentration, thus rendering obvious the instant claim limitation.
Regarding Claims 3 and 4, Tsutsumi in view of Tsushima discloses all of the limitations as set forth in claims 1 and 2 above, and further teaches wherein a tip portion folded in the tab portion faces at least one of the pair of second side walls. (FIG. 5 and [0076] projecting parts 24).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Tsutsumi in view of Tsushima discloses all of the limitations as set forth in claims 1 and 2 above. Tsutsumi discloses (FIG. 5) wherein the current collector has a first region facing a second side wall (FIG. 5 connection part 8c), a second region located on the sealing plate side with respect to the first region (FIG. 5 8b), and a third region located on the sealing plate side with respect to the second region and facing the second side wall (FIG. 5 8a), the tab portion is connected to the first region, (as rendered obvious above with respect to claim 1) and a shortest distance between the first region of the current collector and the second side wall is shorter than a shortest distance between the third region of the current collector and the second side wall in a direction orthogonal to the second side wall, the current collector and the second side wall facing each other, (as shown in FIG. 5).
Regarding Claims 7 -8, Tsutsumi in view of Tsushima discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, Tsutsumi does not explicitly teach the battery further comprising an extension current collector connected to the current collector, wherein the extension current collector has a base portion and a current collector connection portion, the base portion being disposed between the electrode assembly and the sealing plate, the current collector connection portion extending from an end of the base portion toward the bottom portion, and the current collector connection portion is connected to the third region.
Tsushima teaches a secondary battery having a similar electrode body, terminal, and teaches an extension current collector (FIG. 2 current collector 61) connected to the current collector (62), wherein the extension current collector has a base portion and a current collector connection portion, the base portion being disposed between the electrode assembly and the sealing plate (as shown in FIG. 2), the current collector connection portion extending from an end of the base portion toward the bottom portion, and the current collector connection portion is connected to the third region. (as shown in FIG. 2) At [0021] discloses “a tab group 40 of an electrode body 3 including electrode plates … housed in a rectangular exterior body 1 and an electrode terminal 8 provided on a sealing plate 2 are electrically connected to each other through a first current collector 61 and a second current collector 62, as shown in FIGS. 1 and 2.”
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to replace Tsutsumi’s one-piece current collector with the two-piece current collector system of Tsushima, with a reasonable expectation of successfully achieving Tsushima’s objective ([0007]) of a high energy density battery with good stability in welding.
Regarding Claims 11 and 12, Tsutsumi in view of Tsushima discloses of the limitations as set forth above, and Tsutsumi further discloses [0068] wherein the electrode assembly is a wound type electrode assembly. However, Tsutsumi does not teach a plurality of the wound type electrode assemblies are accommodated inside the insulating sheet disposed in the battery case.
Tsushima discloses (FIG. 7) a plurality of the wound type electrode bodies 3 fixed together with tape to form electrode body group 300. At [0006-0007] Tsushima discloses that the features of Tsushima’s battery facilitate a secondary battery with high energy density, stability in welding, and reduced current concentration at the tab.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to replace the single electrode body of Tsushima with the electrode body group of Tsutsumi, with a reasonable expectation of successfully achieving a battery with high energy density, stability in welding, and reduced current concentration, thus rendering obvious the selection of tabs.
Regarding Claims 13 and 14, Tsutsumi in view of Tsushima discloses all of the limitations as set forth above, and Tsutsumi further discloses (FIG. 5 and [0095]) the third sections 23, 23 may be adhered to each other, thus rendering obvious wherein the joined portion is formed at a position at which the current collector and the tab portion overlap with each other when viewed in a direction orthogonal to the second side walls.
Regarding Claims 15-17, Tsutsumi in view of Tsushima discloses all of the limitations as set forth above, and Tsutsumi further discloses (FIG. 5 and [0095]) the third sections 23, 23 may be adhered to each other, thus rendering obvious wherein when viewed in a direction orthogonal to the second side walls, a plurality of the joined portions separated from each other are formed at positions that overlap with the first region in the fold-over portion.
Regarding Claim 18, Tsutsumi in view of Tsushima discloses all of the limitations as set forth above, and Tsutsumi further discloses wherein the current collector has a first region facing a second side wall (FIG. 5 region 8c), a second region located on the sealing plate side with respect to the first region (FIG. 5 region 8b), and a third region located on the sealing plate side with respect to the second region and facing the second side wall (FIG. 5 region 8a), and a shortest distance between the first region of the current collector and the second side wall is shorter than a shortest distance between the third region of the current collector and the second side wall in a direction orthogonal to the second side wall, the current collector and the second side wall facing each other, and the jointed portion is formed in a portion of the fold-over portion overlapping with the first region when viewed in the direction orthogonal to second side wall. (As shown FIG. 5)
However, Tsutsumi does not disclose wherein the tab portion faces at least one of the pair of second side walls, wherein the tab portion is connected to the first region.
Tsushima discloses a secondary battery having a similar wound electrode body, terminals, and form factor (compare FIG. 1 of Tsutsumi to FIG. 1 of Tsushima, showing a similar form factor.) Tsushima discloses (FIG. 4) tab assemblies 41 which are bent to face the second side wall. At [0006-0007] and FIG. 7 Tsushima discloses that tab groups formed from multiple electrode tabs are connected to the second current collector 62, which facilitates a secondary battery with high energy density, stability in welding, and reduced current concentration at the tab.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to consider replacing “the non-overlapped portion not coated with the active material” of Tsutsumi with the tabs and connector 62 of Tsushima, thus creating a tab portion facing the second side walls and connected to the first region, with a reasonable expectation of successfully achieving a battery with high energy density, stability in welding, and reduced current concentration.
Regarding the distances between the current collector and the side wall in the regions, Tsushima at FIG. 7 shown that the current collector has inclined portion 62b. At [0044] the tab connector 62c is closer to the base, to facilitate a more reliable and stable shape after bending. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to use the inclined portion as taught by Tsushima for the battery of modified Tsutsumi, with a reasonable expectation of successfully achieving a more reliable and stable shape after bending.
Regarding Claim 19, Tsutsumi in view of Tsushima discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, Tsutsumi does not explicitly teach wherein a plurality of electrode assemblies is accommodated in the battery case, and the joined portion is provided substantially at a center of the insulating sheet in a thickness direction of the battery in which the plurality of electrode assemblies is arranged side by side.
Tsushima discloses (FIG. 7 and [0047]) multiple electrode bodies 3 fixed together with tape to form electrode body group 300. As shown at FIG. 7, the joined portion is substantially at a center of the insulating sheet in a thickness direction. At [0006-0007] Tsushima discloses that the features of Tsushima’s battery facilitate a secondary battery with high energy density, stability in welding, and reduced current concentration at the tab.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to replace the single electrode body of Tsushima with the electrode body group of Tsutsumi, with a reasonable expectation of successfully achieving a battery with high energy density, stability in welding, and reduced current concentration, thus rendering obvious the selection of tabs.
Regarding Claim 20, Tsutsumi in view of Tsushima discloses all of the limitations as set forth above, and Tsutsumi further discloses (FIG. 2, FIG. 5, [0072]) wherein the insulating sheet exposes at least one of a positive electrode terminal or a negative electrode terminal (terminal 9).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsutsumi (US 20150357607 A1) in view of Tsushima (US 20230091100 A1), as set forth in claims 3 and 4 above, and in further view of Fujiwara (US 20120052360 A1).
Regarding Claims 9 - 10, Tsutsumi in view of Tsushima discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Tsutsumi does not explicitly teach wherein the first side surface portion is disposed between one of the pair of first side walls and the electrode assembly, and the second side surface portion is disposed between the other of the pair of first side walls and the electrode assembly.
Fujiwara discloses (FIG. 7, FIG. 8) an insulating sheet 5, which includes a first side surface portion disposed between one of the pair of first side walls and the electrode assembly. At [0061-0062] Fujiwara discloses slip-in piece 55, outer cover piece 51, and slip-in piece Tsutsumi and positive electrode current collector tab 11. At [0072] Fujiwara contemplates that the electrode current collector tabs are supported by the slip-in piece 55. At [0076] Fujiwara contemplates that current collector tabs are sandwiched between the slip-in piece 55 and the outer cover piece 51 (analogous to “third sections” 23, 23 of Tsutsumi). “Thereby, the current collector portion is retained and positioned at a predetermined position accurately and reliably, and the posture of the current collector portion is also retained, i.e., shaped, in a predetermined posture accurately and reliably. … Therefore, the current collector portion is supported stably and firmly.”
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to sandwich the current collector tabs on each end of the battery electrode body of modified Tsutsumi between the overlapping “third sections” of Tsutsumi, based on the teachings of Fujiwara, with a reasonable expectation of successfully supporting the current collector in a stable and firm manner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CLAIRE A. RUTISER
Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/C.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 9/5/2025