DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, the method of treating mainstream smoke in the reply filed on 8/18/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
Claims 6-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Woodson et al. (US 2004/0129280) in view of Wilson et al. (US 5,827,355).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Woodson et al. disclose a cigarette with a filter comprising a tubular composite (0045) composed of a molecular sieve adsorbent. Although a carbon fiber composite is not disclosed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the carbon fiber composite molecular sieve filter such as the activated carbon of Wilson et al. Wilson et al. disclose an activated carbon structure that is activated at temperatures of 800-950 C, steam, and 0.1-0.9 atmospheres for 1-3 hours in order to burn off up to 60%. At 56% burn off the BET surface area was 1670 m2/g, with high micropore volume, a low mesopore volume and no macropores (col. 7, 1-15). Wilson go on to state:
Moreover, the mean micropore size is controllable through the activation process thus allowing for the carbon fiber composite to be tailored for adsorbing or sieving of specific gas molecules (col. 7, 36-42).
Wilson et al. go on to report that a composite can be produced with a mean pore width of 5-10 angstroms (col. 7, 26-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the micropore activated carbon of Wilson to reduce harmful emissions from cigarette smoke. Furthermore, Wilson et al. disclose that such a filter that can be used to remove organic vapors, SOx and NOx from gasses and improve air quality, which are also harmful gases present in cigarette smoke (col. 6, 43-60; claim 1).
Woodson et al. does not disclose that a cigarette is used with the method steps of heating or lighting the cigarette to form smoke, drawing the smoke through the cigarette, and that the activated carbon sorbent removing nitric oxide from the mainstream smoke. However, the process steps for smoking a cigarette (i.e. lighting and drawing smoke through the cigarette to form mainstream smoke that then travels through the cigarette filter) is notoriously well known in the art as well as ordinary consumers.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, because the material of Wilson et al. is the same as that which is claimed (i.e. activated carbon having a pore size from 5-10 Angstrom and BET surface are from 1000 to 2000 m2/g) the interaction with mainstream smoke including sorption and catalysis of nitric oxide would be inherent. In addition, Wilson et al. expressly disclose the sorptive capacity of the activated carbon material (col. 1, 40-48).
Regarding claim 4, Wilson et al. do not expressly disclose that a majority of the pores are within 5-10 Angstrom in size. However, Wilson et al. disclose:
It has a very high Surface area, a narrow micropore distribution centered around mean pore widths of 5-10 A, a high micropore Volume, low mesopore Volume, a high gas adsorption/desorption rate, and a per meable macrostructure through which fluid can easily pass. (col. 7, 26-32)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, that the disclosure of a “narrow micropore distribution centered around mean pore widths of 5-10 A,” would make it obvious that a majority of pores were “about 5 A to about 10 A”.
Alternatively, the disclosure of the intention to center mean pore widths of 5-10 A combined with the teaching that, “the mean micropore size is controllable through the activation process thus allowing for the carbon fiber composite to be tailored for adsorption or sieving of specific gas molecules (col 7, 36-40) indicates that pore size is a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to optimize the activation process to produce a majority of pores in the 5-10 Angstrom range because this range is disclosed as the effective size range for a high gas adsorption rate.
Conclusion
/Michael J Felton/
Examiner, Art Unit 1791