DETAILED ACTION
The Examiner acknowledges Claims 46-63 and 65-73 remain unchanged and Claims 73-74 have been cancelled. The Examiner also acknowledges the Notice of Appeal filed on 10 August 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (or lack thereof) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant has not provided any arguments or amendments towards the 112 or Prior Art rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 46-63 and 65-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In Claim 72, the Specification does not set forth the first and second threaded bores being blind holes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 46-58, 65 and 69-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent # 8,511,019 to Espinosa.
Regarding claim 72, Espinosa teaches in Figure 7 [annotated below], a reinforced (Column 4, Line 44) building wall (Column 4, Line 51), comprising: a first stud wall (A) (Column 5, Lines 28-29) including a first bottom plate (B) and a first top plate (C); a second stud wall (D) (Column 5, Line 1) disposed above the first stud wall (A) including a second bottom plate (E) and a second top plate (F); a tie rod (12) [coupling (Column 4, Line 42)] in the first stud wall (A), the tie rod (12) having a first end with a first threaded bore [for threaded rod 8] and a second end with a second threaded bore [for threaded rod 10], a first rod (8) including a first end portion operably attached to a foundation (6) (Column 4, Lines 39-40), the first rod (8) (Column 4, Line 41) including a second end portion being operably attached to the first threaded bore [of the tie rod 12]; and a second rod (10) (Column 4, Line 41) including a first end portion being threaded to the second threaded bore [of the tie rod 12], the second rod (10) including a second end portion being operably attached to the second stud wall (D). Espinosa does not teach the first and second threaded bores being blind holes but also does not state that they are not. As the Applicant notes on Page 8 of the response, blind holes are a known thing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a blind hole since a simple substitution of one known element for another would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to obtain predictable results. In the instant case, it would have been obvious to not have the bore go all the way through in order to maintain structural integrity of the coupler and be able to withstand the forces of reinforcing the stud wall. Furthermore, Figure 7 shows the tie rod (12) couples two rods (8 and 10) therefore the coupler need not to have a thru bore.
Regarding claim 46, Espinosa teaches in Figure 7 [annotated above], the second rod (10) is operably attached to the second bottom plate (E) [via hold down device 74].
Regarding claim 47, Espinosa teaches in Figure 7 [annotated above], a bearing plate (90) (Column 5, Lines 58-59) is disposed on the second bottom plate (E); and the second rod (10) is operably attached to the bearing plate (90) with a connector (74).
Regarding claim 48, Espinosa teaches in Figure 7 [annotated above], the connector (74) includes a nut (94) (Column 5, Line 60).
Regarding claim 49, Espinosa teaches in Figure 7 [annotated above], the connector (74) includes an expanding connector (Column 4, Lines 48-50).
Regarding claim 50, Espinosa teaches in Figure 7 [annotated above], a cross member (66) [bridge (Column 5, Line 65)] is operably attached to the second stud wall (D); and the second rod (10) is operably attached to the cross-member (66).
Regarding claim 51, Espinosa teaches in Figure 7 [annotated above], a bearing plate (96) (Column 5, Line 66) is disposed on the cross member (66); and the second rod (10) is operably attached to the bearing plate (96) with a connector (76).
Regarding claim 52, Espinosa teaches in Figure 7 [annotated above], the connector (76) includes a nut (Column 5, Lines 65-66).
Regarding claim 53, Espinosa teaches in Figure 7 [annotated above], the connector (76) includes an expanding connector (Column 4, Lines 48-49).
Regarding claim 54, Espinosa teaches in Figure 7 [annotated above], the second rod (10) is operably attached to the second top plate (F).
Regarding claim 55, Espinosa teaches in Figure 7 [annotated above], a bearing plate (104) (Column 6, Line 6) is disposed on the second top plate (F) and the second rod (10) is operably attached to the bearing plate (104).
Regarding claim 56, Espinosa teaches in Figure 7 [annotated above], the second rod (10) is operably attached to the bearing plate (104) with a connector (78).
Regarding claim 57, Espinosa teaches in Figure 7 [annotated above], the connector (78) includes a nut (Column 6, Line 6).
Regarding claim 58, Espinosa teaches in Figure 7 [annotated above], the connector (78) includes an expanding connector (Column 4, Lines 48-49).
Regarding claim 65, Espinosa teaches in Figure 7 [annotated above], the tie rod (12) includes a first section (12) and a second section (10’) joined end-to-end.
Regarding claim 69, Espinosa teaches in Figure 7 [annotated above], the tie rod (12) is circular in cross-section.
Regarding claim 70, Espinosa teaches in Figure 7 [annotated above], the first rod (8) includes threaded first and second ends (Column 4, Line 41).
Regarding claim 71, Espinosa teaches in Figure 7 [annotated above], the first rod (8) is all-thread (Column 4, Line 41).
Regarding claim 73, Espinosa teaches in Figure 7 [annotated above], a coupling (110) [nut (Column 6, Lines 10-13)] is attached to the second end portion of the second rod (10).
Claims 59-63 and 67-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent # 8,511,019 to Espinosa in view of US Patent # 7,985,041 to Lin.
Regarding claim 59, Espinosa teaches a reinforced building wall with the tie rod but does not teach it includes first and second inspection holes. However, Lin teaches in Figure 1, a tie rod (1) [coupler nut (Column 4, Lines 6-7)] that includes a first inspection hole (13) [opening (Column 4, Line 60)] at a first end (5) and a second inspection hole (13) at the second end (4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the hold down system of Espinosa with the coupler of Lin with a reasonable expectation of success because Lin teaches the inspection holes allow one to check to see whether and how far an object has been threaded into the coupler (Column 4, Lines 61-63).
Regarding claims 60-61 and 67, Espinosa teaches a reinforced building wall with a tie rod but does not teach the first threaded bore includes a smaller diameter threaded bore and a larger diameter threaded bore. However, Lin teaches in Figure 4A, a tie rod (1) [coupler nut (Column 4, Lines 6-7)] that includes a smaller diameter (6) (Column 5, Line 23) threaded bore (7) (Column 5, Lines 23-24) and a larger diameter (8) (Column 5, Line 25) threaded bore (9) (Column 5, Line 26); wherein the smaller diameter bore (7), and the larger diameter bore (9) include inspection holes (13) [opening (Column 4, Line 60)] respectively; wherein the inspection holes (13) are disposed at bottom portions of the respective smaller diameter bore (7) and the larger diameter bore (9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the hold down system of Espinosa with the coupler of Lin with a reasonable expectation of success because Lin teaches the coupler nut allows rod members of non-matching sizes to be connected by a single coupler nut (Column 5, Lines 41-44).
Regarding claims 62-63 and 68, Espinosa teaches a reinforced building wall with the tie rod but does not teach the second threaded bore includes a smaller diameter threaded bore and a larger diameter threaded bore. However, Lin teaches in Figure 4A, a tie rod (1) [coupler nut (Column 4, Lines 6-7)] that includes a smaller diameter (6) (Column 5, Line 23) threaded bore (7) (Column 5, Lines 23-24) and a larger diameter (8) (Column 5, Line 25) threaded bore (9) (Column 5, Line 26); wherein the smaller diameter bore (7), and the larger diameter bore (9) include inspection holes (13) [opening (Column 4, Line 60)] respectively; wherein the inspection holes (13) are disposed at bottom portions of the respective smaller diameter bore (7) and the larger diameter bore (9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the hold down system of Espinosa with the coupler of Lin with a reasonable expectation of success because Lin teaches the coupler nut allows rod members of non-matching sizes to be connected by a single coupler nut (Column 5, Lines 41-44).
Claims 65-66 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent # 8,511,019 to Espinosa in view of US Patent # 9,097,001 to Espinosa.
Regarding claims 65-66, Espinosa teaches a reinforced building wall with the tie rod but does not teach a stud bolt. However, Espinosa teaches in Figure 1 [annotated below], in a different Patent, a tie rod (A) includes a first section (14) and a second section (B) joined end-to-end; wherein the first section (14) incudes a third threaded bore; the second section (B) includes a fourth threaded bore; and a stud bolt (8) is threaded to the third bore and the fourth bore. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the hold down system of Espinosa with the concrete anchor of Espinosa with a reasonable expectation of success because Espinosa teaches the connectors are used to connect several sections together to make it a continuous length (Column 3, Lines 32-33).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW J TRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635