DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7, 10-19, and 22-24 are rejected. Claims 8-9 and 20-21 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Provisional Rejection for Nonstatutory Double Patenting
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection will be maintained until a Terminal Disclaimer is filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited art does not teach positioning the optical fiber such that the fiber distal end is positioned within an inflatable balloon and the tapered portion is proximal of the inflatable balloon. However, the Examiner disagrees. Massimini teaches positioning the optical fiber such that the fiber distal end is positioned within an inflatable balloon (¶57-a balloon fluid 124 within balloon 122 at the distal portion 106; Fig. 1). While Massimini does not teach the tapered portion is proximal of the inflatable balloon, Segalescu teaches this. Segalescu teaches the tapered portion is proximal of the inflatable balloon (Fig. 10a-balloon body 2 proximal to section 31; ¶93-still alternative optical designs (not illustrated) for emitting a radial confined light-energy are based on the usage of an optical fiber with a tapered thinner cross-section (core and/or cladding) for the radial light-energy emitting section 31 causing dispersion of a light wave in this thinner section; ¶65; ¶69). See the rejection below for further details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 10-19, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The amended limitation of “the tapered portion is proximal of the inflatable balloon” in claims 1 and 23 and all their dependent claims is new matter, as it is not supported in the originally filed claims, specification, or drawings.
Claims 1-7, 10-19, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1 and 23, the limitation of “the fiber distal end is positioned within an inflatable balloon and the tapered portion is proximal of the inflatable balloon” seems unclear. Claims 1 and 23 additionally recite “the fiber distal end is positioned within an inflatable balloon.” Therefore, it remains unclear how the tapered portion is proximal to the inflatable balloon since it is spaced apart from the fiber distal end and the fiber distal end is positioned within the inflatable balloon. For the purpose of examination, this limitation has been interpreted to include have the tapered portion being positioned within the balloon. Dependent claims 4-7, 10-19, 22, and 24 are indefinite for the same reason indicated for independent claims 1 and 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 13, 16, 19, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Massimini (US 20200406010 filed on 6/17/20 as cited in the IDS) in view of Segalescu (US 20070282301 filed on 2/27/05).
Regarding claim 1, Massimini teaches a method for treating a treatment site within or adjacent to a vessel wall or a heart valve, the method comprising steps of: that is spaced apart from the fiber proximal end and from the fiber distal end (Figs. 6-7-a plurality of light diffusers spaced apart/along the length of the fiber (602, 604 and 606/702 or 704)), wherein the optical fiber includes a first portion positioned proximal to a portion (Figs. 6-7-see the left side of the light guide before the plurality of fiber diffusers) and a second portion positioned distal to the portion (Figs. 6-7-see the right side of the light guide after the plurality of fiber diffusers), wherein the first portion includes a first constant diameter (Fig. 6-sections adjacent to the diffusers 602/604/606 (where light travels/remains within the fiber, shown by arrows) are of a constant diameter) and wherein the second portion includes a second constant diameter (Fig. 6-sections adjacent to the diffusers 602/604/606 (where light travels/remains within the fiber, shown by arrows) are of a constant diameter); positioning the optical fiber such that the fiber distal end is positioned within an inflatable balloon (¶57-a balloon fluid 124 within balloon 122 at the distal portion 106; Fig. 1); coupling an energy source in optical communication with the fiber proximal end of the optical fiber (¶54-the light source 116 can be in optical communication with the first light guide 110; ¶55); and receiving an energy pulse from the energy source into the fiber proximal end of the optical fiber to generate a plasma pulse within the inflatable balloon (¶55-the light source 116 of catheter system 100 can be configured to provide sub-millisecond pulses of light from the light source through the at least first light window and second light window, thereby inducing plasma formation in a balloon fluid, causing rapid bubble formation, and imparting pressure waves upon the treatment site).
However, Massimini is silent to tapering a portion of an optical fiber between a fiber proximal end and a fiber distal end to provide a tapered portion of the optical fiber that is tapered in a direction toward the fiber distal end, the tapered portion is proximal of the inflatable balloon, and the second constant diameter being smaller than the first constant diameter.
Segalescu relates to devices and methods that facilitate percutaneous endoluminal therapy of blood vessels or other anatomical structures. More particularly, the present invention relates to devices that are capable of dilating a stenotic vessel while reducing the risk of restenosis after the procedure (¶1). Segalescu further teaches the invention using the following steps:
tapering a portion of an optical fiber between a fiber proximal end and a fiber distal end to provide a tapered portion of the optical fiber that is tapered in a direction toward the fiber distal end (¶93-still alternative optical designs (not illustrated) for emitting a radial confined light-energy are based on the usage of an optical fiber with a tapered thinner cross-section (core and/or cladding) for the radial light-energy emitting section 31 causing dispersion of a light wave in this thinner section), the tapered portion is proximal of the inflatable balloon (Fig. 10a-balloon body 2 proximal to section 31; ¶93-still alternative optical designs (not illustrated) for emitting a radial confined light-energy are based on the usage of an optical fiber with a tapered thinner cross-section (core and/or cladding) for the radial light-energy emitting section 31 causing dispersion of a light wave in this thinner section; ¶65; ¶69), and the second constant diameter being smaller than the first constant diameter (the second diameter would have to be smaller, as the diffuser would be a tapered/thinner leading to a smaller diameter for the next non-emitting section; ¶93).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Massimini to include tapering a portion of an optical fiber between a fiber proximal end and a fiber distal end to provide a tapered portion of the optical fiber that is tapered in a direction toward the fiber distal end, the tapered portion is proximal of the inflatable balloon, and the second constant diameter being smaller than the first constant diameter of Segalescu as a simple substitution of one known configuration of an optical fiber for another known configuration that provides the same function.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising a step of splicing the optical fiber using a core matched fiber (Massimini, ¶161-splicing of two or more diffuse regions; ¶162-suitable materials for a fiber diffuser can include, but are not be limited to, the materials of the light guide core or light guide cladding).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising a step of coupling a first fiber member of the optical fiber to a second fiber member of the optical fiber (Massimini, ¶103-the longitudinal protection structure 1810 can be a first component fused between the distal tip 1814 of the proximal portion 1804 of the first light guide 1802 and the proximal tip 1816 of the continuation of the first light guide 1808; Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu teaches the method of claim 4 wherein the step of positioning includes positioning the second fiber member within the inflatable balloon (Massimini, ¶103-the proximal recess 1806 can be disposed within a balloon along a longitudinal surface 1812 of the elongate shaft 102; Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu teaches the method of claim 4 wherein the step of coupling the first fiber member of the optical fiber to the second fiber member of the optical fiber includes fusing the first fiber member to the second fiber member at a fused region (Massimini, ¶103-the longitudinal protection structure 1810 can be a first component fused between the distal tip 1814 of the proximal portion 1804 of the first light guide 1802 and the proximal tip 1816 of the continuation of the first light guide 1808; Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu teaches the method of claim 4 wherein the step of coupling the first fiber member of the optical fiber to the second fiber member of the optical fiber includes forming the first fiber member and the second fiber member as a unitary structure (Massimini, ¶103-the longitudinal protection structure 1810 can be a first component fused between the distal tip 1814 of the proximal portion 1804 of the first light guide 1802 and the proximal tip 1816 of the continuation of the first light guide 1808; Fig. 18; by fusing the fibers together it is understood that it would become a unitary structure).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu teaches the method of claim 4 wherein the step of coupling the first fiber member of the optical fiber to the second fiber member of the optical fiber includes the first fiber member including an endcap (Massimini, ¶99- the first protection structure 1410 can be an end cap disposed about the distal portion 1414 of the first portion 1404 of the light guide 1402; ¶107).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the step of coupling the energy source includes the energy source including a laser (Massimini, ¶19- where the light source includes a laser).
Regarding claim 23, Massimini teaches a method for treating a treatment site within or adjacent to a vessel wall or a heart valve, the method comprising steps of: fusing a first fiber member of an optical fiber to a second fiber member of the optical fiber to define a fused region of the optical fiber such that the second fiber member extends distally from the first fiber member (¶103-the longitudinal protection structure 1810 can be a first component fused between the distal tip 1814 of the proximal portion 1804 of the first light guide 1802 and the proximal tip 1816 of the continuation of the first light guide 1808; Fig. 18) and the first fiber member extends proximally from the second fiber member (¶53-proximal portion 104 of light guide 110 in Fig. 1), the optical fiber having a fiber proximal end (¶53-proximal portion 104 of light guide 110 in Fig. 1) and a fiber distal end (¶57-a balloon fluid 124 within balloon 122 at the distal portion 106; Fig. 1); that is spaced apart from the fiber proximal end and from the fiber distal end (Figs. 6-7-a plurality of light diffusers spaced apart/along the length of the fiber (602, 604 and 606/702 or 704)), wherein the optical fiber includes a first portion positioned proximal to a portion (Figs. 6-7-see the left side of the light guide before the plurality of fiber diffusers) and a second portion positioned distal to the portion (Figs. 6-7-see the right side of the light guide after the plurality of fiber diffusers), wherein the first portion includes a first constant diameter (Fig. 6-sections adjacent to the diffusers 602/604/606 (where light travels/remains within the fiber, shown by arrows) are of a constant diameter) and wherein the second portion includes a second constant diameter (Fig. 6-sections adjacent to the diffusers 602/604/606 (where light travels/remains within the fiber, shown by arrows) are of a constant diameter); positioning the optical fiber such that the fiber distal end is positioned within an inflatable balloon (¶57-a balloon fluid 124 within balloon 122 at the distal portion 106; Fig. 1); coupling an energy source in optical communication with the fiber proximal end of the optical fiber (¶54-the light source 116 can be in optical communication with the first light guide 110; ¶55; Fig. 1); and receiving an energy pulse from the energy source into the fiber proximal end of the optical fiber to generate a plasma pulse within the inflatable balloon (¶55-the light source 116 of catheter system 100 can be configured to provide sub-millisecond pulses of light from the light source through the at least first light window and second light window, thereby inducing plasma formation in a balloon fluid, causing rapid bubble formation, and imparting pressure waves upon the treatment site).
However, Massimini is silent to tapering a portion of the optical fiber between the fiber proximal end and the fiber distal end to provide a tapered portion of the optical fiber that is tapered in a direction toward the fiber distal end, the tapered portion is proximal of the inflatable balloon, and the second constant diameter being smaller than the first constant diameter.
Segalescu teaches tapering a portion of the optical fiber between the fiber proximal end and the fiber distal end to provide a tapered portion of the optical fiber that is tapered in a direction toward the fiber distal end (¶93-still alternative optical designs (not illustrated) for emitting a radial confined light-energy are based on the usage of an optical fiber with a tapered thinner cross-section (core and/or cladding) for the radial light-energy emitting section 31 causing dispersion of a light wave in this thinner section), the tapered portion is proximal of the inflatable balloon (Fig. 10a-balloon body 2 proximal to section 31; ¶93-still alternative optical designs (not illustrated) for emitting a radial confined light-energy are based on the usage of an optical fiber with a tapered thinner cross-section (core and/or cladding) for the radial light-energy emitting section 31 causing dispersion of a light wave in this thinner section; ¶65; ¶69), and the second constant diameter being smaller than the first constant diameter (the second diameter would have to be smaller, as the diffuser would be a tapered/thinner leading to a smaller diameter for the next non-emitting section; ¶93).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Massimini to include tapering a portion of the optical fiber between the fiber proximal end and the fiber distal end to provide a tapered portion of the optical fiber that is tapered in a direction toward the fiber distal end, the tapered portion is proximal of the inflatable balloon, and the second constant diameter being smaller than the first constant diameter of Segalescu as a simple substitution of one known configuration of an optical fiber for another known configuration that provides the same function.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Massimini in view of Segalescu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Otani (US 6439782 filed on 2/22/00).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu teaches the method of claim 1. However, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu does not teach wherein the step of tapering includes tapering the optical fiber using a fusion splicer.
Otani teaches wherein the step of tapering includes tapering the optical fiber using a fusion splicer (col. 3 and line 33-optical fiber fusion splicer; col. 3 and lines 28-30-the first optical fiber is gradually tapered from the fusion splice portion to the non-fusion splice portion).
Otani relates to an optical fiber fusion splice method in which two optical fibers each having a different mode field diameter are fusion spliced by heating using an electric discharge, and an optical fiber fusion splicer which is suitably used for the optical fiber fusion splice method (col. 1 and lines 8-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Massimini to include wherein the step of tapering includes tapering the optical fiber using a fusion splicer of Otani in order for splicing two optical fibers having different mode field diameters (Otani, col. 2 and lines 47-48).
Claims 7, 11, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Massimini in view of Segalescu as applied to claims 6 and 23 above, and further in view of Yu (US 20180042677 filed on 8/11/17).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu teaches the method of claim 6. However, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu does not teach a step of encircling the fused region with a ferrule.
Yu teaches a step of encircling the fused region with a ferrule (Yu, ¶51-the portion of optical fiber 612 with diffused cladding 617 may be inserted into passage 650 of ferrule 644, and may be fused with ferrule 644).
Yu relates generally to treating subjects using lasers. More specifically, the present disclosure relates to systems, devices, and related methods for laser lithotripsy (¶2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Massimini to include a step of encircling the fused region with a ferrule of Yu in order for the concentration of laser energy 306 increasing the overall energy delivered to targeted material 333, thereby speeding up treatment times, allowing harder materials to be broken down, and/or giving the user precise control over aiming of laser energy 306 (Yu, ¶37).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Massimini, Segalescu, and Yu teaches the method of claim 7 wherein the step of encircling includes encircling only the optical fiber with the ferrule (Yu,¶51-the portion of optical fiber 612 with diffused cladding 617 may be inserted into passage 650 of ferrule 644, and may be fused with ferrule 644).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu teaches the method of claim 23. However, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu does not teach a step of encircling at least the fused region of the optical fiber with a ferrule.
Yu teaches a step of encircling at least the fused region of the optical fiber with a ferrule (¶51-the portion of optical fiber 612 with diffused cladding 617 may be inserted into passage 650 of ferrule 644, and may be fused with ferrule 644).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Massimini to include a step of encircling at least the fused region of the optical fiber with a ferrule of Yu in order for the concentration of laser energy 306 increasing the overall energy delivered to targeted material 333, thereby speeding up treatment times, allowing harder materials to be broken down, and/or giving the user precise control over aiming of laser energy 306 (Yu, ¶37).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Massimini in view of Segalescu and further in view of Yu as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of HYAKUTAKE (JP 2008083273 filed on 9/27/06), hereinafter referred to as Hyak.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Massimini, Segalescu, and Yu teaches the method of claim 7. However, the combination of Massimini, Segalescu, and Yu does not teach wherein the step of encircling includes the ferrule being formed from one of a plastic and a metal.
Hyak teaches wherein the step of encircling includes the ferrule being formed from one of a plastic and a metal (Hyak, ¶21-the ferrule 10 can be obtained from a metal such as zirconia ceramics, SUS, or hard plastic).
Hyak relates to a ferrule that optically connects two optical fibers, and more particularly to a ferrule that can realize an optical subassembly that can be used in common with optical connectors made in accordance with different standards (¶1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Massimini to include wherein the ferrule is formed from one of a plastic and a metal of Hyak in order for a ferrule that can realize an optical subassembly that can be used in common with optical connectors made in accordance with different standards (Hyak, ¶1).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Massimini in view of Segalescu and further in view of Yu as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Luther (US 20100316333 filed on 8/3/10).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Massimini, Segalescu, and Yu teaches the method of claim 7. However, the combination of Massimini, Segalescu, and Yu does not teach wherein the step of encircling includes the ferrule being one of a multi-fiber MT ferrule and an MTP ferrule.
Luther teaches wherein the step of encircling includes the ferrule being one of a multi-fiber MT ferrule and an MTP ferrule (Luther, ¶26-the term “MTP connector” refers to a multi-fiber connector that contains up to twelve optical fibers within a single ferrule. The design allows the use of ribbonized fiber to achieve very high density. TIA/EIA-604-5, Fiber Optic Intermateability Standard, Type MPO (FOCIS 5) describes the dimensions and tolerances required for intermateability between manufacturers' products, MPO and MTP connectors that are compliant to FOCIS 5 can intermate; ¶27-multi-fiber ferrule).
Luther relates generally to a fiber optic adapter and mating dissimilar multi-fiber connectors, and more particularly, to a fiber optic adapter that allows a TIA FOCIS 5 compliant MTP connector to mate with a dissimilar connector having a pocket at least large enough to accept the FOCIS 5 compliant MTP connector (¶3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Massimini to include wherein the step of encircling includes the ferrule being one of a multi-fiber MT ferrule and an MTP ferrule of Luther in order to have a fiber optic adapter and mating dissimilar multi-fiber connectors, and more particularly, to a fiber optic adapter that allows a TIA FOCIS 5 compliant MTP connector to mate with a dissimilar connector having a pocket at least large enough to accept the FOCIS 5 compliant MTP connector (Luther, ¶3).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Massimini in view of Segalescu as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Hilal (US 20030144654 filed on 1/25/02).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu teaches the method of claim 4. However, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu does not teach wherein the step of positioning includes positioning a first fiber member distal region of the first fiber member outside of the inflatable balloon.
Hilal teaches wherein the step of positioning includes positioning a first fiber member distal region of the first fiber member outside of the inflatable balloon (Hilal, ¶74-the distal tip 117 of the optical fiber 127e is also carried on the outer surface of the balloon wall 123).
Hilal relates generally to electrosurgery and more specifically to the efficient control of electrosurgical cutting coagulation cautery and fulguration (¶2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Massimini to include wherein the step of positioning includes positioning a first fiber member distal region of the first fiber member outside of the inflatable balloon of Hilal in order for the distal tip 117e to direct laser energy outwardly from the wall 123e of the balloon 121e in order to create the energized pathway 156e (Hilal, ¶75).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Massimini in view of Segalescu as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Boll (US 20040210278 filed on 12/4/03).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu teaches the method of claim 4. However, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu does not teach wherein the step of positioning includes positioning a second fiber member proximal region of the second fiber member outside of the inflatable balloon.
Boll teaches wherein the step of positioning includes positioning a second fiber member proximal region of the second fiber member outside of the inflatable balloon (Boll, ¶42-a fiber working channel 48 on the sheath 19, proximal to and outside of the balloon 38).
Boll relates to laser apparatus for providing endoscopic laser treatments for dealing with abnormal mucosal tissue, particularly esophageal dysplasia, otherwise known as Barrett's Esophagus, utilizing a delivery apparatus, for example, a laser delivery apparatus, to permit clear visualization of the esophagus, eliminating or reducing reflux during that visualization process, delivering a laser or other treatment of the esophagus, and reducing the movement of the esophageal wall to permit accurate laser dosimetry (¶5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Massimini to include wherein the step of positioning includes positioning a second fiber member proximal region of the second fiber member outside of the inflatable balloon of Boll in order for providing endoscopic laser treatments for dealing with abnormal mucosal tissue, particularly esophageal dysplasia, otherwise known as Barrett's Esophagus, utilizing a delivery apparatus, for example, a laser delivery apparatus, to permit clear visualization of the esophagus, eliminating or reducing reflux during that visualization process, delivering a laser or other treatment of the esophagus, and reducing the movement of the esophageal wall to permit accurate laser dosimetry (Boll, ¶5).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Massimini in view of Segalescu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McGowan ‘499 (US 20150051499 filed on 8/13/14).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu teaches the method of claim 1. However, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu does not teach wherein the step of tapering includes tapering the optical fiber from a diameter of at least 150 micrometers (pm) down to a diameter of less than 120 micrometers (pm).
McGowan ‘499 teaches wherein the step of tapering includes tapering the optical fiber from a diameter of at least 150 micrometers (pm) down to a diameter of less than 120 micrometers (pm) (McGowan ‘499, ¶39-the distal end of the third optical fiber 212 may be tapered, the first end of the third optical fiber 212 may have a core diameter that is 150 μm while the other end of the third optical fiber 212 may have a core diameter that that approximates or otherwise is substantially the same as the core outer diameter of the optical fiber 208, the optical fiber 208 may have a core with an outer diameter of about 40-80 μm, or about 50-70 μm, or about 62.5 μm).
McGowan ‘499 relates to medical devices/systems, and methods for manufacturing medical devices. More particularly, the present disclosure pertains to medical device systems that include optical fibers having a tapered core (¶2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Massimini to include wherein the step of tapering includes tapering the optical fiber from a diameter of at least 150 micrometers (pm) down to a diameter of less than 120 micrometers (pm) of McGowan ‘499 in order for receiving substantially all of a signal passing through the optical fiber. Hence, the tapered optical fiber allows for good communication even when there is a bit of offset (McGowan ‘499, ¶34).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Massimini in view of Segalescu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kasmatsu (JP 2014123147 filed on 2/17/14).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu teaches the method of claim 1. However, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu does not teach wherein the step of tapering includes the optical fiber having a tapered portion with a tapered portion length of at least 2 millimeters (mm).
Kasmatsu teaches wherein the step of tapering includes the optical fiber having a tapered portion with a tapered portion length of at least 2 millimeters (mm) (Kasmatsu, ¶51-the taper length L which is the length of a taper part can be 2 mm or more and 10 mm or less, for example).
Kasmatsu relates to an optical connector, and more particularly to an optical connector for optically coupling an optical fiber on a light source side and an optical fiber on a light receiving side, and an endoscope system using the same (¶1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Massimini to include wherein the step of tapering includes the optical fiber having a tapered portion with a tapered portion length of at least 2 millimeters (mm) of Kasmatsu so that a tapered portion is formed such that the diameter of the core portion becomes larger as it approaches the end face of the fiber (Kasmatsu, ¶8).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Massimini in view of Segalescu as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Tun (US 20120143131 filed on 12/6/11 as cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu teaches the method of claim 6. However, the combination of Massimini and Segalescu does not teach wherein the step of positioning includes positioning the optical fiber such that the fused region is outside of the inflatable balloon.
Tun teaches wherein the step of positioning includes positioning the optical fiber such that the fused region is outside of the inflatable balloon (¶34-the proximal waist 50 of the outer balloon 23 can be bonded, fused, or otherwise connected to the outer surface of the outer tubular member 44).
Tun relates generally to medical devices and, more particularly, to dual balloon catheters (¶2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Massimini to include wherein the step of positioning includes positioning the optical fiber such that the fused region is outside of the inflatable balloon of Tun in order for a suitable bonding process for the balloon assembly and catheter shaft (Tun, ¶34).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-7, 10-19, and 22-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-7, 10-19, 23, 25-28 of copending Application No. 17/666172 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. See the table below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented and claims of the copending Application anticipates the claims of the instant application according to the mapping provided in the table below.
Claims of the Instant Application (17/673221)
Claims of Copending Application (17/666172)
1
1
4
4
5
5
6
4, 6
7
7
10
10
11
11
12
12
13
4, 13
14
14
15
15
16
4, 16
17
17
18
18
19
1, 19
22
23, 24
23
25
24
7, 27
Claims 2-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-7, 10-19, 23, 25-28 of copending Application No. 17/666172 in view of US 20200129195.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims of the Instant Application (17/673221)
Claims of Copending Application (17/666172)
Secondary Reference (US 20200129195)
2
McGowan teaches wherein the step of tapering includes tapering the optical fiber using a fusion splicer (¶100-a fused splicing, a fused splicing forming at least one internal mirror, and a splicing of two or more diffuse regions; ¶12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the copending application to include wherein the step of tapering includes tapering the optical fiber using a fusion splicer of McGowan in order for treating a calcified lesion within or adjacent to the vessel wall (McGowan, ¶3).
3
McGowan teaches the step of splicing the optical fiber using a core matched fiber (¶100-a splicing of two or more diffuse regions, suitable materials for a fiber diffuser can include, but not be limited to, the materials of the core or cladding).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the copending application to include the step of splicing the optical fiber using a core matched fiber of McGowan in order for treating a calcified lesion within or adjacent to the vessel wall (McGowan, ¶3).
Conclusion
/L.N.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/UNSU JUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792