DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 01/15/2026 has been entered.
In making the below rejections, the examiner has considered and addressed each of the applicants arguments. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiPerna (USPAP 2011/0152770) in view of Neftel (USPN 10,387,623).
In reference to independent claim 1, DiPerna discloses a system (Fig 20-35; para 0232) for activating an infusion pump (380, Fig 20-35; para 0232) which comprises:
a remote interaction device (the “remote commander device”) operated by a user of the infusion pump (para 0278 discloses “an infusion system may include a portable infusion device, as described above and a remote commander device” and goes onto disclose “the remote commander may additionally include a suitably configured receiver and/or transmitter for communication with an external device such as a portable infusion device, as well as programming for directing the use of the device”);
a computer (processor 386) mounted on the infusion pump (386 is shown on the pump 380, fig 20) and connected therewith (para 0232 discloses “The housing 382 may be configured to receive or contain components including one or more of a delivery mechanism 384, a processor 386, a display 388, memory 390, transmitter 392, receiver 394, an alarm 396, a speaker 398, a clock/timer 400, and an input device 402. In certain embodiments, the housing 382 may be configured for being associated with a removable reservoir 404 and/or an infusion set 406.”),
wherein the computer (386) includes a communication unit for two-way communication with the interaction device (para 0276 discloses “The portable infusion device 380 of the disclosure may also include one or more of a suitably configured power source; wire or wireless communication capability, such as for the remote sending and receiving of data, e.g., a transmitter and/or receiver, WIFI connection, infrared or bluetooth communication device”, para 0278 specifically discloses the portable infusion device communicating with the remote commander “the portable infusion device may include a suitably configured receiver and/or transmitter for communication with an external device such as a remote commander”), and
a validation unit (434, fig 20) for evaluating operational status metrics compiled for the infusion pump (para 250 discloses “the processor may include one or more estimator functionalities 434 that enable the processor 386 to receive data from various sources, parse the data, collate the same, and generate an estimate based on the same”);
an activating switch (input circuitry 402, fig 23-25) located on the remote interaction device (the “remote commander device” discloses activating delivery) for sending an initiate message (input 446B, the “tapping” in para 0275, that user provides to communicate with the pump) from the user to the communication unit of the computer (para 0275 discloses “the processor 386 may be configured for receiving user input 402 as well as sensor input 438 and generating an output 446A”) via the two-way communication (see para 0276 cite above),
wherein the initiate message (the “tapping”) includes the user's intentions for activating the infusion pump (para 0275 discloses “tapping a screen of the display as, for instance, selecting an object or symbol of the display to indicate a confirmation of the user's acceptance of the estimate”);
an indicator (output 446A) mounted on the infusion pump (para 0279 discloses “The portable infusion device itself or the remote commander may also include programming that includes an initiating command request, whereby the user has to interact with the device, such as by tapping a screen, e.g., on a display of the portable infusion device or remote commander”) to inform the user of an appropriate response action to be taken by the user (para 0268 discloses “the output would be a given amount of glucose to be delivered over a given period of time” the unit is informing the user how much glucose they are going to be given; para 0275 discloses “output 446A may further be of such a configuration that a user response may be required”),
wherein an indicating signal (output signal 446A) is activated by the computer (486) in response to the initiate message (446A generated as a response to input 402; fig 23-25, 29), and
is based on a validated computer evaluation of the status metrics (para 0275 discloses “the processor 386 may be configured for receiving user input 402 as well as sensor input 438 and generating an output 446A” the computer makes a dosage estimate 446A based on the sensor inputs 402 which includes the patients glucose reading); and
a response button (tapping of the screen, the screen icon is the button) for activation of the infusion pump by the user when activation is an appropriate response (para 0275 discloses “tapping a screen of the display as, for instance, selecting an object or symbol of the display to indicate a confirmation of the user's acceptance of the estimate, which confirmation serves as additional user input 446B that signals the processor 386 to initiate the delivery mechanism 384 so as to translate within the translation chamber and the reservoir 404 to expel fluid into the translation chamber and thereby begin delivery of the fluid in accordance with the confirmed amount and/or rate.”), however
DiPerna is silent to the initiate message including temporal and quantitative information.
Neftel, a similar insulin delivery control device (col 9, lines 48-50 discloses “the control device of the patient is more easily transportable and is of a size small enough to be contained in a pocket”), teaches the initiate message including temporal and quantitative information (claim 1 discloses “display a suggested control instruction for the patient, the suggested control instruction including at least one of an insulin delivery flow rate, insulin delivery quantity, and insulin delivery duration to be performed by the fluid administration device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use send temporal and quantitative information taught by Neftel in the system of DiPerna “making it possible to easily monitor and/or control a fluid delivery device” col 1, lines 22-24; Neftel. By adding both temporal and quantitative information, a more thorough monitoring can be achieved.
In reference to independent claim 11, DiPerna discloses a system (Fig 20-35; para 0232) capable of a method for remotely activating an infusion pump (380, Fig 20-35; para 0232) which comprises the steps of:
providing a portable interaction device (the “remote commander device”) for operation by a user (para 0278 discloses “an infusion system may include a portable infusion device, as described above and a remote commander device” and goes onto disclose “the remote commander may additionally include a suitably configured receiver and/or transmitter for communication with an external device such as a portable infusion device, as well as programming for directing the use of the device”);
mounting a computer (386) on the infusion pump (386 is shown on the pump 380, fig 20), wherein the computer (386) is preprogrammed for infusing a fluid medicament from the infusion pump to the user (para 0252 discloses “For instance, the processor 386, and other processors discussed herein, may include estimator programming 434, such as estimators A-E (or a larger number as desired), enabling the processor 386 to adjust the amount and/or flow rate, etc. of a fluid from the device 380.”);
transferring status metrics pertinent to an operation of the infusion pump to the computer for use in validating an operation of the infusion pump (434 collecting and parsing data from sensors; fig 20, para 250);
incorporating a communication unit with the computer for two-way communication with the portable interaction device (para 0276 discloses “The portable infusion device 380 of the disclosure may also include one or more of a suitably configured power source; wire or wireless communication capability, such as for the remote sending and receiving of data, e.g., a transmitter and/or receiver, WIFI connection, infrared or bluetooth communication device”, para 0278 specifically discloses the portable infusion device communicating with the remote commander “the portable infusion device may include a suitably configured receiver and/or transmitter for communication with an external device such as a remote commander”);
sending an initiate message (the “tapping” in para 0275 below) from the portable interaction device (the “remote commander device”) to the computer (386) via the two-way communication (para 0276 discloses “The portable infusion device 380 of the disclosure may also include one or more of a suitably configured power source; wire or wireless communication capability, such as for the remote sending and receiving of data, e.g., a transmitter and/or receiver, WIFI connection, infrared or bluetooth communication device”, para 0278 specifically discloses the portable infusion device communicating with the remote commander “the portable infusion device may include a suitably configured receiver and/or transmitter for communication with an external device such as a remote commander”) indicating the user's intentions for activating the infusion pump (para 0275 discloses “tapping a screen of the display as, for instance, selecting an object or symbol of the display to indicate a confirmation of the user's acceptance of the estimate”);
evaluating the status metrics of the infusion pump to validate the initiate message (para 0275 discloses “the processor 386 may be configured for receiving user input 402 as well as sensor input 438 and generating an output 446A” the computer makes a dosage estimate 446A based on the sensor inputs 402 which includes the patients glucose reading); and
creating an indicating signal (output signal 446A) at the infusion pump (380), wherein the indicating signal is activated by the computer in response to the initiate message (446A generated as a response to input 402; fig 23-25, 29) and is based on a validated computer evaluation of the status metrics of the infusion pump for supporting a response signal by the user for an appropriate action by the infusion pump (para 0275 discloses “the processor 386 may be configured for receiving user input 402 as well as sensor input 438 and generating an output 446A” the computer makes a dosage estimate 446A based on the sensor inputs 402 which includes the patients glucose reading), however
DiPerna is silent to the initiate message including temporal and quantitative information.
Neftel, a similar insulin delivery control device (col 9, lines 48-50 discloses “the control device of the patient is more easily transportable and is of a size small enough to be contained in a pocket”), teaches the initiate message including temporal and quantitative information (claim 1 discloses “display a suggested control instruction for the patient, the suggested control instruction including at least one of an insulin delivery flow rate, insulin delivery quantity, and insulin delivery duration to be performed by the fluid administration device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use send temporal and quantitative information taught by Neftel in the system of DiPerna “making it possible to easily monitor and/or control a fluid delivery device” col 1, lines 22-24; Neftel. By adding both temporal and quantitative information, a more thorough monitoring can be achieved.
In reference to independent claim 17, DiPerna discloses a non-transitory, computer readable medium (para 0232 discloses memory 390; para 0249 goes onto disclose “the memory may be one or more of a Flash memory, SRAM, ROM, DRAM, RAM, EPROM, dynamic storage, and the like. For instance, the memory may be coupled to the processor and configured to receive and store input data and/or store one or more template or generated delivery patterns.” Flash memory is a type of non-transitory memory) having executable instructions stored thereon that direct a computer (386) to perform a process (the “generated delivery patterns” in para 0232 are executable instructions that the computer 386 on the pump can perform),
the medium (390) comprising instructions for:
receiving an initiate message (the “tapping”) from remote interaction device (the “remote commander device”) via two-way communication (para 0276 discloses “The portable infusion device 380 of the disclosure may also include one or more of a suitably configured power source; wire or wireless communication capability, such as for the remote sending and receiving of data, e.g., a transmitter and/or receiver, WIFI connection, infrared or bluetooth communication device”, para 0278 specifically discloses the portable infusion device communicating with the remote commander “the portable infusion device may include a suitably configured receiver and/or transmitter for communication with an external device such as a remote commander”) indicating the intentions of the user for activating an infusion pump (380), wherein the computer is mounted on ((386 is shown on the pump 380, fig 20) the infusion pump (para 0275 discloses “tapping a screen of the display as, for instance, selecting an object or symbol of the display to indicate a confirmation of the user's acceptance of the estimate”); transferring status metrics pertinent to an operation of the infusion pump to the computer (386) for use in validating an operation of the infusion pump (380); evaluating the status metrics of the infusion pump to validate the initiate message (para 250 discloses “the processor may include one or more estimator functionalities 434 that enable the processor 386 to receive data from various sources, parse the data, collate the same, and generate an estimate based on the same”); and creating an indicating signal (output signal 446A) at the infusion pump (380), wherein the indicating signal (output signal 446A, para 0275 disclose “an output 446A, such as an estimated amount or rate of fluid to be delivered”, the tapping on the display triggers the administration of medicine) is activated by the computer (386) in response to the initiate message (the “tapping”), and
is based on a validated computer evaluation of the status metrics of the infusion pump (para 0275 discloses “the processor 386 may be configured for receiving user input 402 as well as sensor input 438 and generating an output 446A” the computer makes a dosage estimate 446A based on the sensor inputs 402 which includes the patients glucose reading) for supporting a response signal by the user for an appropriate action by the infusion pump (para 0275 discloses “tapping a screen of the display as, for instance, selecting an object or symbol of the display to indicate a confirmation of the user's acceptance of the estimate, which confirmation serves as additional user input 446B that signals the processor 386 to initiate the delivery mechanism 384 so as to translate within the translation chamber and the reservoir 404 to expel fluid into the translation chamber and thereby begin delivery of the fluid in accordance with the confirmed amount and/or rate.”).
DiPerna is silent to the initiate message including temporal and quantitative information.
Neftel, a similar insulin delivery control device (col 9, lines 48-50 discloses “the control device of the patient is more easily transportable and is of a size small enough to be contained in a pocket”), teaches the initiate message including temporal and quantitative information (claim 1 discloses “display a suggested control instruction for the patient, the suggested control instruction including at least one of an insulin delivery flow rate, insulin delivery quantity, and insulin delivery duration to be performed by the fluid administration device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use send temporal and quantitative information taught by Neftel in the system of DiPerna “making it possible to easily monitor and/or control a fluid delivery device” col 1, lines 22-24; Neftel. By adding both temporal and quantitative information, a more thorough monitoring can be achieved.
In reference to dependent claim 2, DiPerna in view of Neftel discloses the system of claim 1, DiPerna further discloses a system wherein the response action is selected from the group consisting of i) pump activation in accordance with the initiate message, ii) await a revision to the initiate message (the pump output is delayed until user response via 446B, fig 25 para 0275 discloses “confirmation serves as additional user input 446B that signals the processor 386 to initiate the delivery mechanism 384”), and iii) default with no further action.
In reference to dependent claim 3, DiPerna in view of Neftel discloses the system of claim 1, DiPerna further discloses a system wherein the computer (386) is pre-programmed for infusing a fluid medicament to the user in accordance with a predetermined protocol (protocol settings established by a physician; para 0295 discloses “a program accessible by the processor that includes an infusion workflow 464 or protocol may enable a user to program the portable infusion device to deliver insulin to the user”), and wherein the computer maintains status metrics regarding protocol compliance (para 0249 discloses “memory may also be configured for storing user information, history of use, compliance”).
In reference to dependent claim 4, DiPerna in view of Neftel discloses the system of claim 3, DiPerna further discloses a system wherein the protocol is established by a licensed medical professional (para 0292 discloses “a user or physician may directly manipulate one or more of the settings displayed on the touch screen 452 display 450. This condensed view, and the added benefit of enabling direct manipulation of the settings displayed in the condensed view, may further improve a physician's ability to respond efficiently and effectively to a patient's needs.”).
In reference to dependent claim 5, DiPerna in view of Neftel discloses the system of claim 3, DiPerna further discloses a system wherein the status metrics include medication volume (insulin volume, para 0310 discloses “A user may enter the amount of carbs or volume of insulin in order to assist in programming the portable infusion device to deliver generally an appropriate bolus of insulin based on the amount of food the user has predicted to consume”), time interval between medication dosages (time between insulin boluses, para 0264-0265, para 0265 specifically discloses “in one embodiment, a series of bolus amounts of insulin to be delivered e.g., every four minutes, for a given time period, e.g. 1 hour, may be calculated, wherein the upper limit for the total amount of insulin to be delivered is fixed, but each individual bar, representing an amount of insulin to be delivered in a given 4 minute increment, is adjustable within a given range, so as to allow a user to have greater control of the amount of insulin being delivered over the given time period”), and infusion rate (para 0272 discloses “in order to ultimately modify the rate amount of insulin in the body of the user over a period of time”).
In reference to dependent claim 6, DiPerna in view of Neftel discloses the system of claim 1, DiPerna further discloses a system wherein the indicating signal is selected from the group consisting of audible tones (para 0343 discloses “audio may accompany any animation 584 for further assisting and/or instructing a user. Such audio may include, singly or in combination, voice, tones, music, vibrational alerts, etc”), vibrations (cited in para 0343), and lights.
In reference to dependent claim 7, DiPerna in view of Neftel discloses the system of claim 1, DiPerna further discloses a system wherein the response button is selected from the group consisting of a capacitive button (para 0253 discloses “wherein the screen may further include a touch screen, or touch sensitive, input device 402. For instance, the screen may be a capacitance or resistive touch screen”), an accelerometer to register taps and shakes, a biometric reader, and a voice response from the user.
In reference to dependent claim 8, DiPerna in view of Neftel discloses the system of claim 1, DiPerna further discloses a system wherein the computer (386) reacts to a default by requiring a response action selected from the group consisting of: creating a new initiate order; and sending a noncompliance signal to a predetermined clinical entity for recordation and possible inquiry (para 0292 discloses “a user of the portable infusion device may inform a physician of a problem the user has been experiencing, e.g., chronic fatigue, mood swings, large swings in BG levels, etc” any aberration from normal healthy operation will trigger an alert to the physician).
In reference to dependent claim 9, DiPerna in view of Neftel discloses the system of claim 8, DiPerna further discloses a system wherein the clinical entity is the user's primary physician (para 0292 specifically refers to a patient’s physician).
In reference to dependent claim 12, DiPerna in view of Neftel discloses a system capable of the method of claim 11, DiPerna further discloses a system wherein the indicating signal identifies a step from the group consisting of: activating the infusion pump for an operation in accordance with the initiate message; revising/reentering the initiate message (the pump output is delayed until user response via 446B, fig 25 para 0275 discloses “confirmation serves as additional user input 446B that signals the processor 386 to initiate the delivery mechanism 384”); and taking no further action due to an operational noncompliance.
In reference to dependent claim 13, DiPerna in view of Neftel discloses a system capable of the method of claim 11, DiPerna further discloses a system wherein the status metrics include medication volume(insulin volume, para 0310 discloses “A user may enter the amount of carbs or volume of insulin in order to assist in programming the portable infusion device to deliver generally an appropriate bolus of insulin based on the amount of food the user has predicted to consume”), time interval between medication dosages (time between insulin boluses, para 0264-0265, para 0265 specifically discloses “in one embodiment, a series of bolus amounts of insulin to be delivered e.g., every four minutes, for a given time period, e.g. 1 hour, may be calculated, wherein the upper limit for the total amount of insulin to be delivered is fixed, but each individual bar, representing an amount of insulin to be delivered in a given 4 minute increment, is adjustable within a given range, so as to allow a user to have greater control of the amount of insulin being delivered over the given time period”), and infusion rate (para 0272 discloses “in order to ultimately modify the rate amount of insulin in the body of the user over a period of time”).
In reference to dependent claim 14, DiPerna in view of Neftel discloses a system capable of the method of claim 11, DiPerna further discloses a system wherein the indicating signal is selected from the group consisting of audible tones(para 0343 discloses “audio may accompany any animation 584 for further assisting and/or instructing a user. Such audio may include, singly or in combination, voice, tones, music, vibrational alerts, etc”), vibrations (cited in para 0343), and lights.
In reference to dependent claim 15, DiPerna in view of Neftel discloses a system capable of the method of claim 11, DiPerna further discloses a system wherein the response signal is selected from the group consisting of a capacitive button (para 0253 discloses “wherein the screen may further include a touch screen, or touch sensitive, input device 402. For instance, the screen may be a capacitance or resistive touch screen”), an accelerometer to register taps and shakes, a biometric reader, and a voice response from the user.
In reference to dependent claim 18, DiPerna in view of Neftel discloses the medium of claim 17, DiPerna further discloses a system wherein the status metrics include medication volume (insulin volume, para 0310 discloses “A user may enter the amount of carbs or volume of insulin in order to assist in programming the portable infusion device to deliver generally an appropriate bolus of insulin based on the amount of food the user has predicted to consume”), time interval between medication dosages (time between insulin boluses, para 0264-0265, para 0265 specifically discloses “in one embodiment, a series of bolus amounts of insulin to be delivered e.g., every four minutes, for a given time period, e.g. 1 hour, may be calculated, wherein the upper limit for the total amount of insulin to be delivered is fixed, but each individual bar, representing an amount of insulin to be delivered in a given 4 minute increment, is adjustable within a given range, so as to allow a user to have greater control of the amount of insulin being delivered over the given time period”), and infusion rate (para 0272 discloses “in order to ultimately modify the rate amount of insulin in the body of the user over a period of time”).
In reference to dependent claim 19, DiPerna in view of Neftel discloses the medium of claim 17, DiPerna further discloses a system wherein the indicating signal is selected from the group consisting of audible tones(para 0343 discloses “audio may accompany any animation 584 for further assisting and/or instructing a user. Such audio may include, singly or in combination, voice, tones, music, vibrational alerts, etc”), vibrations (cited in para 0343), and lights.
In reference to dependent claim 20, DiPerna in view of Neftel discloses the medium of claim 17, DiPerna further discloses a system wherein the response signal is selected from the group consisting of a capacitive button (para 0253 discloses “wherein the screen may further include a touch screen, or touch sensitive, input device 402. For instance, the screen may be a capacitance or resistive touch screen”), an accelerometer to register taps and shakes, a biometric reader, and a voice response from the user.
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiPerna (USPAP 2011/0152770) in view of Neftel (USPN 10,387,623) further in view of Blomquist (USPN 8,840,582).
In reference to dependent claim 10, DiPerna in view of Neftel discloses the system of claim 1, however
DiPerna and Neftel are silent to the activating switch is voice- activated.
Blomquist, a similar device for glucose management, teaches an activating switch is voice-activated (col 19, lines 4-8 discloses “The controller alters operation of the device 2200 [the pump] using the derived command from the speech recognition circuit 2280 only when the speaker verification circuit 2285 also verifies that the command came from the user's voice.” Blomquist teaches controlling the insulin pump with voice control).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the voice control of Brauker in the system of DiPerna in view of Neftel to “make the pump more convenient or more effective for the patient to use.” col 1, lines 53-54; Blomquist.
In reference to dependent claim 16, DiPerna in view of Neftel discloses the method of claim 11, however
DiPerna and Neftel are silent to the activating switch is voice- activated.
Blomquist, a similar device for glucose management, teaches an activating switch is voice-activated (col 19, lines 4-8 discloses “The controller alters operation of the device 2200 [the pump] using the derived command from the speech recognition circuit 2280 only when the speaker verification circuit 2285 also verifies that the command came from the user's voice.” Blomquist teaches controlling the insulin pump with voice control).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the voice control of Brauker in the system of DiPerna in view of Neftel to “make the pump more convenient or more effective for the patient to use.” col 1, lines 53-54; Blomquist.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/15/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular columns and line and/or paragraph numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Contact Information
/CHARLES W NICHOLS/Examiner, Art Unit 3783