DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments, filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Priority
The instant application claims domestic priority to PRO 63/150,257 filed 02/17/2021.
Claim Interpretation
“The term “D-mannose” is understood to refer to molecules of mannose that rotate plane-polarized light in a dextrorotatory manner. This is the enantiomer of mannose that occurs naturally. Prior art teachings of “mannose” will be understood to read on the required “D-mannose” because it is the dextrorotatory enantiomer that occurs naturally. See e.g. the instant specification on page 11, paragraph [0018], which appears to indicate that mannose and D-mannose refer to the same compound. The examiner understands that mannose in an amount of 0.1% to 1% is an effective amount to promote the growth of beneficial and endogenous bacteria in the oral cavity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 1, 6-7, 9-11, 13-17, 19-21 and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stettler et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0317414 A1) in view of Fruge et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20060140879 A1).
Stettler recites an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic for use in selectively promoting, in an oral cavity: growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria (Stettler at claim 1). Stettler further recites wherein the saccharide prebiotic can be N-acetyl-D-mannosamine (Stettler at claim 5). Stettler recites wherein the composition promotes the growth in the oral cavity of one or more beneficial endogenous bacterial species, wherein said species are one or more selected from the group consisting of Streptococcus mitis, Streptococcus salivarius, Streptococcus sanguinis, Actinomyces viscosus, Veillonella parvula, Streptococcus gordonii, Capnocytophaga sputigena and Actinomyces naeslundii (Stettler at claim 8). Stettler recites wherein the composition negatively affects the growth in the oral cavity of one or more pathogenic bacterial species, wherein said species are one or more selected from the group consisting of: Streptococcus mutans, Prevotella intermedia, Porphyromonas gingivalis, Fusobacterium nucleatum, Tannerella forsythia, Aggregatibacter actinomycetemcomitans, and Streptococcus sobrinus (Stettler at claim 9). Stettler recites wherein the composition further comprises at least one species of bacteria that has beneficial effects on oral health (Stettler at claim 10). Stettler further recites wherein the species of bacteria that has beneficial effects on oral health is selected from Streptococcus mitis, Streptococcus salivarius, Streptococcus sanguinis, Actinomyces viscosus, Veillonella parvula, Streptococcus gordonii, Capnocytophaga sputigena, Actinomyces naeslundii and combinations thereof (Stettler at claim 11). Stettler recites wherein the composition is a mouthwash, toothpaste, tooth gel, tooth powder, non-abrasive gel, mousse, foam, mouth spray, lozenge, oral tablet, dental implement, or pet care product (Stettler at claim 12). Stettler recites a method for selectively promoting, in an oral cavity: growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic (Stettler at claim 18). Stettler recites a method for selectively promoting, in an oral cavity, biofilm formation by bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to biofilm formation by pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic (Stettler at claim 15). Stettler recites a method for preventing or mitigating one or more of gingivitis, periodontitis, peri-implantitis, peri-implant mucositis, necrotizing gingivitis, necrotizing periodontitis and caries in a subject in need thereof, by selectively promoting in the oral cavity of the subject the growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic(Stettler at claim 16). Stettler further discloses two compositions as example embodiments seen below wherein the saccharide prebiotic may be N-acetyl-D-mannosamine;
(Stettler Example 4, [0147]),
(Stettler at [0148]).
The teachings of Stettler differ from that of instant claim 1 insofar as they do not teach the use of D-mannose. The teachings of Fruge cure this deficit.
Fruge teaches a toothpaste (Fruge at abstract). Fruge further teaches the use of mannose as a sweetener in a range of optionally from about 0.01% to about 1% (Fruge at [0044]).
The skilled artisan would have been motivated to have combined the sweetener of Fruge with the composition of Stettler because Stettler teaches a sweetener, as of paragraph [0114] of Stettler, and Fruge indicates that mannose is a sweetener. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have added the mannose of Fruge to the composition of Stettler to have predictably sweetened the composition of Stettler with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2144.07. In the alternative, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have substituted the mannose of Fruge in place of the compound used by Stettler for sweetening purposes in order to have predictably sweetened the composition of Stettler with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale B.
Regarding instant claim 1, Stettler recites an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic for use in selectively promoting, in an oral cavity: growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria (Stettler at claim 1). Stettler further recites wherein the saccharide prebiotic can be N-acetyl-D-mannosamine (Stettler at claim 5). Stettler recites a method for preventing or mitigating one or more of gingivitis, periodontitis, peri-implantitis, peri-implant mucositis, necrotizing gingivitis, necrotizing periodontitis and caries in a subject in need thereof, by selectively promoting in the oral cavity of the subject the growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic (Stettler at claim 16). Fruge teaches a toothpaste (Fruge at abstract). Fruge further teaches the use of mannose as a sweetener in a range of optionally from about 0.01% to about 1% (Fruge at [0044]). It would have been prima facie obvious to have combined the sweetener of Stettler with the sweetener of Fruge for the predictable result of a sweetened prebiotic oral care composition. See MPEP 2144.06. Stettler teaches wherein the amount of sweetener 0.005 to 10 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., 0.01 to 10 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., 0.1 to 10 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 5 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 3 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 1 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 0.5 weight % of a sweetener (Stettler at [0114]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 0.5% to 1%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Stettler teaches wherein the amount of saccharide prebiotic is at least 0.1%, e.g., 0.1% to 5%, e.g., about 0.5%, 1% or 2% by weight of the composition, which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 0.5% to 1%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
As to claim 1, the examiner notes that the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See MPEP 2144(IV). In this case, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have used mannose, as of Fruge, in the composition administered by the method of Stettler in order to have acted as a sweetener. This does not appear to be the same reason for the use of mannose recited by the instant claims. Nevertheless, as the mannose of the prior art appears to be the same as the mannose recited by the instantly claimed invention (and in amounts that overlap with the claimed amounts), the subject matter of the prior art is understood to render the claimed subject matter prima facie obvious despite the fact that the mannose in the prior art was used for a different purpose than the mannose in the claimed invention.
Regarding instant claim 6, Stettler recites wherein the composition promotes the growth in the oral cavity of one or more beneficial endogenous bacterial species, wherein said species are one or more selected from the group consisting of Streptococcus mitis, Streptococcus salivarius, Streptococcus sanguinis, Actinomyces viscosus, Veillonella parvula, Streptococcus gordonii, Capnocytophaga sputigena and Actinomyces naeslundii (Stettler at claim 8).
Regarding instant claim 7, Stettler recites wherein the composition negatively affects the growth in the oral cavity of one or more pathogenic bacterial species, wherein said species are one or more selected from the group consisting of: Streptococcus mutans, Prevotella intermedia, Porphyromonas gingivalis, Fusobacterium nucleatum, Tannerella forsythia, Aggregatibacter actinomycetemcomitans, and Streptococcus sobrinus (Stettler at claim 9).
Regarding instant claim 9, Stettler recites wherein the composition further comprises at least one species of bacteria that has beneficial effects on oral health (Stettler at claim 10).
Regarding instant claim 10, Stettler recites wherein the composition further comprises at least one species of bacteria that has beneficial effects on oral health (Stettler at claim 10). Stettler further recites wherein the species of bacteria that has beneficial effects on oral health is selected from Streptococcus mitis, Streptococcus salivarius, Streptococcus sanguinis, Actinomyces viscosus, Veillonella parvula, Streptococcus gordonii, Capnocytophaga sputigena, Actinomyces naeslundii and combinations thereof (Stettler at claim 11).
Regarding instant claim 11, Stettler recites wherein the composition is a mouthwash, toothpaste, tooth gel, tooth powder, non-abrasive gel, mousse, foam, mouth spray, lozenge, oral tablet, dental implement, or pet care product (Stettler at claim 12).
Regarding instant claim 13-17, Stettler teaches two compositions (Stettler at [0147-0148]) with identical compositions to that of the instant applications specification Example 5. The compositions with identical compositions would have the same inherent properties, including decreasing gene expressions in bacteria and keratinocytes. See MPEP §2112(II). Further, because Stettler teaches an identical composition the new discovery of decreased gene expression would not make the instant composition patentable. The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer. Thus, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. See MPEP §2112 (I).
Regarding instant claim 19, Stettler recites a method for selectively promoting, in an oral cavity: growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic (Stettler at claim 18).
Regarding instant claim 20, Stettler recites a method for selectively promoting, in an oral cavity, biofilm formation by bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to biofilm formation by pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic (Stettler at claim 15). Stettler further recites wherein the saccharide prebiotic can be N-acetyl-D-mannosamine (Stettler at claim 5). Fruge teaches a toothpaste (Fruge at abstract). Fruge further teaches the use of mannose as a sweetener in a range of optionally from about 0.01% to about 1% (Fruge at [0044]). It would have been prima facie obvious to have combined the sweetener of Stettler with the sweetener of Fernando for the predictable result of a sweetened prebiotic oral care composition. See MPEP 2144.06. Stettler teaches wherein the amount of sweetener 0.005 to 10 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., 0.01 to 10 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., 0.1 to 10 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 5 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 3 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 1 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 0.5 weight % of a sweetener (Stettler at [0114]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 0.1% to 1%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 21, Stettler recites a method for preventing or mitigating one or more of gingivitis, periodontitis, peri-implantitis, peri-implant mucositis, necrotizing gingivitis, necrotizing periodontitis and caries in a subject in need thereof, by selectively promoting in the oral cavity of the subject the growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic (Stettler at claim 16). Stettler further recites wherein the saccharide prebiotic can be N-acetyl-D-mannosamine (Stettler at claim 5). Fruge teaches a toothpaste (Fruge at abstract). Fruge further teaches the use of mannose as a sweetener in a range of optionally from about 0.01% to about 1% (Fruge at [0044]). It would have been prima facie obvious to have combined the sweetener of Stettler with the sweetener of Fernando for the predictable result of a sweetened prebiotic oral care composition. See MPEP 2144.06. Stettler teaches wherein the amount of sweetener 0.005 to 10 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., 0.01 to 10 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., 0.1 to 10 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 5 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 3 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 1 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 0.5 weight % of a sweetener (Stettler at [0114]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 0.1% to 1%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 34, Fruge further teaches the use of mannose as a sweetener in a range of optionally from about 0.01% to about 1% (Fruge at [0044]). It would have been prima facie obvious to have combined the sweetener of Stettler with the sweetener of Fruge for the predictable result of a sweetened prebiotic oral care composition. See MPEP 2144.06. Stettler teaches wherein the amount of sweetener 0.005 to 10 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., 0.01 to 10 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., 0.1 to 10 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 5 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 3 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 1 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 0.5 weight % of a sweetener (Stettler at [0114]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of about 0.5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Stettler teaches wherein the amount of saccharide prebiotic is at least 0.1%, e.g., 0.1% to 5%, e.g., about 0.5%, 1% or 2% by weight of the composition, which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of about 0.5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
As to claim 34, the examiner notes that the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See MPEP 2144(IV). In this case, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have used mannose, as of Fruge, in the composition administered by the method of Stettler in order to have acted as a sweetener. This does not appear to be the same reason for the use of mannose recited by the instant claims. Nevertheless, as the mannose of the prior art appears to be the same as the mannose recited by the instantly claimed invention (and in amounts that overlap with the claimed amounts), the subject matter of the prior art is understood to render the claimed subject matter prima facie obvious despite the fact that the mannose in the prior art was used for a different purpose than the mannose in the claimed invention.
Regarding instant claim 35, Fruge further teaches the use of mannose as a sweetener in a range of optionally from about 0.01% to about 1% (Fruge at [0044]). It would have been prima facie obvious to have combined the sweetener of Stettler with the sweetener of Fruge for the predictable result of a sweetened prebiotic oral care composition. See MPEP 2144.06. Stettler teaches wherein the amount of sweetener 0.005 to 10 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., 0.01 to 10 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., 0.1 to 10 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 5 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 3 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 1 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 0.5 weight % of a sweetener (Stettler at [0114]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of about 1%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Stettler teaches wherein the amount of saccharide prebiotic is at least 0.1%, e.g., 0.1% to 5%, e.g., about 0.5%, 1% or 2% by weight of the composition, which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of about 1%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
As to claim 35, the examiner notes that the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See MPEP 2144(IV). In this case, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have used mannose, as of Fruge, in the composition administered by the method of Stettler in order to have acted as a sweetener. This does not appear to be the same reason for the use of mannose recited by the instant claims. Nevertheless, as the mannose of the prior art appears to be the same as the mannose recited by the instantly claimed invention (and in amounts that overlap with the claimed amounts), the subject matter of the prior art is understood to render the claimed subject matter prima facie obvious despite the fact that the mannose in the prior art was used for a different purpose than the mannose in the claimed invention.
B) Claims 1, 6-7, 9-11, 13-17, 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stettler et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0317414 A1) in view of Garcia-Rodenas et al (US Patent Application Publication 20180280454A1).
Stettler recites an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic for use in selectively promoting, in an oral cavity: growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria (Stettler at claim 1). Stettler further recites wherein the saccharide prebiotic can be N-acetyl-D-mannosamine (Stettler at claim 5). Stettler recites wherein the composition promotes the growth in the oral cavity of one or more beneficial endogenous bacterial species, wherein said species are one or more selected from the group consisting of Streptococcus mitis, Streptococcus salivarius, Streptococcus sanguinis, Actinomyces viscosus, Veillonella parvula, Streptococcus gordonii, Capnocytophaga sputigena and Actinomyces naeslundii (Stettler at claim 8). Stettler recites wherein the composition negatively affects the growth in the oral cavity of one or more pathogenic bacterial species, wherein said species are one or more selected from the group consisting of: Streptococcus mutans, Prevotella intermedia, Porphyromonas gingivalis, Fusobacterium nucleatum, Tannerella forsythia, Aggregatibacter actinomycetemcomitans, and Streptococcus sobrinus (Stettler at claim 9). Stettler recites wherein the composition further comprises at least one species of bacteria that has beneficial effects on oral health (Stettler at claim 10). Stettler further recites wherein the species of bacteria that has beneficial effects on oral health is selected from Streptococcus mitis, Streptococcus salivarius, Streptococcus sanguinis, Actinomyces viscosus, Veillonella parvula, Streptococcus gordonii, Capnocytophaga sputigena, Actinomyces naeslundii and combinations thereof (Stettler at claim 11). Stettler recites wherein the composition is a mouthwash, toothpaste, tooth gel, tooth powder, non-abrasive gel, mousse, foam, mouth spray, lozenge, oral tablet, dental implement, or pet care product (Stettler at claim 12). Stettler recites a method for selectively promoting, in an oral cavity: growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic (Stettler at claim 18). Stettler recites a method for selectively promoting, in an oral cavity, biofilm formation by bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to biofilm formation by pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic (Stettler at claim 15). Stettler recites a method for preventing or mitigating one or more of gingivitis, periodontitis, peri-implantitis, peri-implant mucositis, necrotizing gingivitis, necrotizing periodontitis and caries in a subject in need thereof, by selectively promoting in the oral cavity of the subject the growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic(Stettler at claim 16). Stettler further discloses two compositions as example embodiments seen below wherein the saccharide prebiotic may be N-acetyl-D-mannosamine;
(Stettler Example 4, [0147]),
(Stettler at [0148]).
The teachings of Stettler differ from that of instant claim 1 insofar as they do not teach the use of D-mannose. The teachings of Garcia-Rodenas cure this deficit.
Garcia-Rodenas differs from instant claim 1 insofar as it does not specifically teach the specific probiotic bacteria to use in the composition. The teachings of Stettler cure this deficit.
Garcia-Rodenas teaches the prevention or treatment of microbiota dysbiosis, in particular, decreased levels of Actinobacteria and increased levels of Proteobacteria, in young mammals and in the prevention or treatment of disorders associated therewith (Garcia-Rodenas at abstract). Garcia-Rodenas teaches the use of mannose as a prebiotic (Garcia-Rodenas at [0095]) in a range of 0.3% to 10%. Garcia-Rodenas further teaches the treatment of microbiota dysbiosis, includes re-establishing a microbiota not significantly different from that observed healthy young mammals, who are not experiencing microbiota dysbiosis. This means that the various bacterial populations are re-established in their optimal relative abundance. (Garcia-Rodenas at [0017]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the prebiotic sugar of Garcia-Rodenas with the prebiotic sugar of Stettler for the predictable result of a composition with prebiotic sugar. See MPEP2144.06(I). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the prebiotic sugar of Garcia-Rodenas for the prebiotic sugar of Stettler for the predictable result of a composition with prebiotic sugar. See MPEP2144.06(II).
Regarding instant claim 1, Stettler recites an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic for use in selectively promoting, in an oral cavity: growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria (Stettler at claim 1). Stettler further recites wherein the saccharide prebiotic can be N-acetyl-D-mannosamine (Stettler at claim 5). Stettler recites a method for preventing or mitigating one or more of gingivitis, periodontitis, peri-implantitis, peri-implant mucositis, necrotizing gingivitis, necrotizing periodontitis and caries in a subject in need thereof, by selectively promoting in the oral cavity of the subject the growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic (Stettler at claim 16). Garcia-Rodenas teaches the use of mannose as a prebiotic (Garcia-Rodenas at [0095]) in a range of 0.3% to 10%. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the prebiotic sugar of Garcia-Rodenas with the prebiotic sugar of Stettler for the predictable result of a composition with prebiotic sugar. See MPEP2144.06(I). Stettler teaches wherein the amount of saccharide prebiotic is at least 0.1%, e.g., 0.1% to 5%, e.g., about 0.5%, 1% or 2% by weight of the composition, which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 0.1% to 1%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 6, Stettler recites wherein the composition promotes the growth in the oral cavity of one or more beneficial endogenous bacterial species, wherein said species are one or more selected from the group consisting of Streptococcus mitis, Streptococcus salivarius, Streptococcus sanguinis, Actinomyces viscosus, Veillonella parvula, Streptococcus gordonii, Capnocytophaga sputigena and Actinomyces naeslundii (Stettler at claim 8).
Regarding instant claim 7, Stettler recites wherein the composition negatively affects the growth in the oral cavity of one or more pathogenic bacterial species, wherein said species are one or more selected from the group consisting of: Streptococcus mutans, Prevotella intermedia, Porphyromonas gingivalis, Fusobacterium nucleatum, Tannerella forsythia, Aggregatibacter actinomycetemcomitans, and Streptococcus sobrinus (Stettler at claim 9).
Regarding instant claim 9, Stettler recites wherein the composition further comprises at least one species of bacteria that has beneficial effects on oral health (Stettler at claim 10).
Regarding instant claim 10, Stettler recites wherein the composition further comprises at least one species of bacteria that has beneficial effects on oral health (Stettler at claim 10). Stettler further recites wherein the species of bacteria that has beneficial effects on oral health is selected from Streptococcus mitis, Streptococcus salivarius, Streptococcus sanguinis, Actinomyces viscosus, Veillonella parvula, Streptococcus gordonii, Capnocytophaga sputigena, Actinomyces naeslundii and combinations thereof (Stettler at claim 11).
Regarding instant claim 11, Stettler recites wherein the composition is a mouthwash, toothpaste, tooth gel, tooth powder, non-abrasive gel, mousse, foam, mouth spray, lozenge, oral tablet, dental implement, or pet care product (Stettler at claim 12).
Regarding instant claim 13-17, Stettler teaches two compositions (Stettler at [0147-0148]) with identical compositions to that of the instant applications specification Example 5. The compositions with identical compositions would have the same inherent properties, including decreasing gene expressions in bacteria and keratinocytes. See MPEP §2112(II). Further, because Stettler teaches an identical composition the new discovery of decreased gene expression would not make the instant composition patentable. The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer. Thus, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. See MPEP §2112 (I).
Regarding instant claim 19, Stettler recites a method for selectively promoting, in an oral cavity: growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic (Stettler at claim 18).
Regarding instant claim 20, Stettler recites a method for selectively promoting, in an oral cavity, biofilm formation by bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to biofilm formation by pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic (Stettler at claim 15). Stettler further recites wherein the saccharide prebiotic can be N-acetyl-D-mannosamine (Stettler at claim 5). Garcia-Rodenas teaches the use of mannose as a prebiotic (Garcia-Rodenas at [0095]) in a range of 0.3% to 10%. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the prebiotic sugar of Garcia-Rodenas with the prebiotic sugar of Stettler for the predictable result of a composition with prebiotic sugar. See MPEP2144.06(I).
Regarding instant claim 21, Stettler recites a method for preventing or mitigating one or more of gingivitis, periodontitis, peri-implantitis, peri-implant mucositis, necrotizing gingivitis, necrotizing periodontitis and caries in a subject in need thereof, by selectively promoting in the oral cavity of the subject the growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic (Stettler at claim 16). Stettler further recites wherein the saccharide prebiotic can be N-acetyl-D-mannosamine (Stettler at claim 5). Garcia-Rodenas teaches the use of mannose as a prebiotic (Garcia-Rodenas at [0095]) in a range of 0.3% to 10%. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the prebiotic sugar of Garcia-Rodenas with the prebiotic sugar of Stettler for the predictable result of a composition with prebiotic sugar. See MPEP2144.06(I).
Regarding instant claim 34, Garcia-Rodenas teaches the use of mannose as a prebiotic (Garcia-Rodenas at [0095]) in a range of 0.3% to 10%. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the prebiotic sugar of Garcia-Rodenas with the prebiotic sugar of Stettler for the predictable result of a composition with prebiotic sugar. See MPEP2144.06(I). Stettler teaches wherein the amount of saccharide prebiotic is at least 0.1%, e.g., 0.1% to 5%, e.g., about 0.5%, 1% or 2% by weight of the composition, which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of about 0.5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 35, Garcia-Rodenas teaches the use of mannose as a prebiotic (Garcia-Rodenas at [0095]) in a range of 0.3% to 10%. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the prebiotic sugar of Garcia-Rodenas with the prebiotic sugar of Stettler for the predictable result of a composition with prebiotic sugar. See MPEP2144.06(I). Stettler teaches wherein the amount of saccharide prebiotic is at least 0.1%, e.g., 0.1% to 5%, e.g., about 0.5%, 1% or 2% by weight of the composition, which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of about 1%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
C) Claims 1, 6-7, 9-11, 13-17, 19-21, and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stettler et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0317414 A1) in view of Fernando et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20190269740 A1).
Stettler recites an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic for use in selectively promoting, in an oral cavity: growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria (Stettler at claim 1). Stettler further recites wherein the saccharide prebiotic can be N-acetyl-D-mannosamine (Stettler at claim 5). Stettler recites wherein the composition promotes the growth in the oral cavity of one or more beneficial endogenous bacterial species, wherein said species are one or more selected from the group consisting of Streptococcus mitis, Streptococcus salivarius, Streptococcus sanguinis, Actinomyces viscosus, Veillonella parvula, Streptococcus gordonii, Capnocytophaga sputigena and Actinomyces naeslundii (Stettler at claim 8). Stettler recites wherein the composition negatively affects the growth in the oral cavity of one or more pathogenic bacterial species, wherein said species are one or more selected from the group consisting of: Streptococcus mutans, Prevotella intermedia, Porphyromonas gingivalis, Fusobacterium nucleatum, Tannerella forsythia, Aggregatibacter actinomycetemcomitans, and Streptococcus sobrinus (Stettler at claim 9). Stettler recites wherein the composition further comprises at least one species of bacteria that has beneficial effects on oral health (Stettler at claim 10). Stettler further recites wherein the species of bacteria that has beneficial effects on oral health is selected from Streptococcus mitis, Streptococcus salivarius, Streptococcus sanguinis, Actinomyces viscosus, Veillonella parvula, Streptococcus gordonii, Capnocytophaga sputigena, Actinomyces naeslundii and combinations thereof (Stettler at claim 11). Stettler recites wherein the composition is a mouthwash, toothpaste, tooth gel, tooth powder, non-abrasive gel, mousse, foam, mouth spray, lozenge, oral tablet, dental implement, or pet care product (Stettler at claim 12). Stettler recites a method for selectively promoting, in an oral cavity: growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic (Stettler at claim 18). Stettler recites a method for selectively promoting, in an oral cavity, biofilm formation by bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to biofilm formation by pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic (Stettler at claim 15). Stettler recites a method for preventing or mitigating one or more of gingivitis, periodontitis, peri-implantitis, peri-implant mucositis, necrotizing gingivitis, necrotizing periodontitis and caries in a subject in need thereof, by selectively promoting in the oral cavity of the subject the growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic(Stettler at claim 16). Stettler further discloses two compositions as example embodiments seen below wherein the saccharide prebiotic may be N-acetyl-D-mannosamine;
(Stettler Example 4, [0147]),
(Stettler at [0148]).
The teachings of Stettler differ from that of instant claim 1 insofar as they do not teach the use of D-mannose. The teachings of Garcia-Rodenas cure this deficit.
Frenando differs from instant claim 1 insofar as it does not specifically teach the specific probiotic bacteria to use in the composition. The teachings of Stettler cure this deficit.
Frenando teaches a composition that is applied to the subject that is in the form of a toothpaste (Frenando at claim 11). Frenando further teaches that the composition comprises a prebiotic that can be mannose in an amount from 1g/L to about 10g/L (Frenando at claim 1), assuming a density of 1 g/mL (or 1000 g/L), which is the density of water, would be about 1 to 10 grams of mannose per 1000 grams of composition, which is 0.1% to 10%. Frenando teaches the use of probiotic bacterial strains Aneurinibacillus migulanus and Aneurinibacillus aneurinilyticus and their extracts for inhibiting the growth of Streptococcus bovis, Fusobacterium necrophorum and Acranobacterium (Actinomyces) pyogenes (Frenando at [0002]). Therefore, Frenando teaches a toothpaste composition that increases beneficial bacterial, inhibits detrimental bacteria and uses mannose as a prebiotic.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the prebiotic sugar of Frenando with the prebiotic sugar of Stettler for the predictable result of a composition with prebiotic sugar. See MPEP2144.06(I). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the prebiotic sugar of Frenando for the prebiotic sugar of Stettler for the predictable result of a composition with prebiotic sugar. See MPEP2144.06(II).
Regarding instant claim 1, Stettler recites an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic for use in selectively promoting, in an oral cavity: growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria (Stettler at claim 1). Stettler further recites wherein the saccharide prebiotic can be N-acetyl-D-mannosamine (Stettler at claim 5). Stettler recites a method for preventing or mitigating one or more of gingivitis, periodontitis, peri-implantitis, peri-implant mucositis, necrotizing gingivitis, necrotizing periodontitis and caries in a subject in need thereof, by selectively promoting in the oral cavity of the subject the growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic (Stettler at claim 16). Frenando further teaches that the composition comprises a prebiotic that can be mannose in an amount from 1g/L to about 10g/L (Frenando at claim 1), assuming a density of 1 g/mL (or 1000 g/L), which is the density of water, would be about 1 to 10 grams of mannose per 1000 grams of composition, which is 0.1% to 10%. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the prebiotic sugar of Fernando with the prebiotic sugar of Stettler for the predictable result of a composition with prebiotic sugar. See MPEP2144.06(I). Stettler teaches wherein the amount of saccharide prebiotic is at least 0.1%, e.g., 0.1% to 5%, e.g., about 0.5%, 1% or 2% by weight of the composition, which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 0.5% to 1%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 6, Stettler recites wherein the composition promotes the growth in the oral cavity of one or more beneficial endogenous bacterial species, wherein said species are one or more selected from the group consisting of Streptococcus mitis, Streptococcus salivarius, Streptococcus sanguinis, Actinomyces viscosus, Veillonella parvula, Streptococcus gordonii, Capnocytophaga sputigena and Actinomyces naeslundii (Stettler at claim 8).
Regarding instant claim 7, Stettler recites wherein the composition negatively affects the growth in the oral cavity of one or more pathogenic bacterial species, wherein said species are one or more selected from the group consisting of: Streptococcus mutans, Prevotella intermedia, Porphyromonas gingivalis, Fusobacterium nucleatum, Tannerella forsythia, Aggregatibacter actinomycetemcomitans, and Streptococcus sobrinus (Stettler at claim 9).
Regarding instant claim 9, Stettler recites wherein the composition further comprises at least one species of bacteria that has beneficial effects on oral health (Stettler at claim 10).
Regarding instant claim 10, Stettler recites wherein the composition further comprises at least one species of bacteria that has beneficial effects on oral health (Stettler at claim 10). Stettler further recites wherein the species of bacteria that has beneficial effects on oral health is selected from Streptococcus mitis, Streptococcus salivarius, Streptococcus sanguinis, Actinomyces viscosus, Veillonella parvula, Streptococcus gordonii, Capnocytophaga sputigena, Actinomyces naeslundii and combinations thereof (Stettler at claim 11).
Regarding instant claim 11, Stettler recites wherein the composition is a mouthwash, toothpaste, tooth gel, tooth powder, non-abrasive gel, mousse, foam, mouth spray, lozenge, oral tablet, dental implement, or pet care product (Stettler at claim 12).
Regarding instant claim 13-17, Stettler teaches two compositions (Stettler at [0147-0148]) with identical compositions to that of the instant applications specification Example 5. The compositions with identical compositions would have the same inherent properties, including decreasing gene expressions in bacteria and keratinocytes. See MPEP §2112(II). Further, because Stettler teaches an identical composition the new discovery of decreased gene expression would not make the instant composition patentable. The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer. Thus, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. See MPEP §2112 (I).
Regarding instant claim 19, Stettler recites a method for selectively promoting, in an oral cavity: growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic (Stettler at claim 18).
Regarding instant claim 20, Stettler recites a method for selectively promoting, in an oral cavity, biofilm formation by bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to biofilm formation by pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic (Stettler at claim 15). Stettler further recites wherein the saccharide prebiotic can be N-acetyl-D-mannosamine (Stettler at claim 5). Frenando further teaches that the composition comprises a prebiotic that can be mannose in an amount from 1g/L to about 10g/L (Frenando at claim 1), assuming a density of 1 g/mL (or 1000 g/L), which is the density of water, would be about 1 to 10 grams of mannose per 1000 grams of composition, which is 0.1% to 10%. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the prebiotic sugar of Fernando with the prebiotic sugar of Stettler for the predictable result of a composition with prebiotic sugar. See MPEP2144.06(I).
Regarding instant claim 21, Stettler recites a method for preventing or mitigating one or more of gingivitis, periodontitis, peri-implantitis, peri-implant mucositis, necrotizing gingivitis, necrotizing periodontitis and caries in a subject in need thereof, by selectively promoting in the oral cavity of the subject the growth, metabolic activity or colonization of bacteria that have beneficial effects on oral health, relative to growth, metabolic activity or colonization of pathogenic oral bacteria, comprising administering to the oral cavity an oral care composition comprising an effective amount of at least one saccharide prebiotic (Stettler at claim 16). Stettler further recites wherein the saccharide prebiotic can be N-acetyl-D-mannosamine (Stettler at claim 5). Frenando further teaches that the composition comprises a prebiotic that can be mannose in an amount from 1g/L to about 10g/L (Frenando at claim 1), assuming a density of 1 g/mL (or 1000 g/L), which is the density of water, would be about 1 to 10 grams of mannose per 1000 grams of composition, which is 0.1% to 10%. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the prebiotic sugar of Fernando with the prebiotic sugar of Stettler for the predictable result of a composition with prebiotic sugar. See MPEP2144.06(I).
Regarding instant claim 34, Frenando further teaches that the composition comprises a prebiotic that can be mannose in an amount from 1g/L to about 10g/L (Frenando at claim 1), assuming a density of 1 g/mL (or 1000 g/L), which is the density of water, would be about 1 to 10 grams of mannose per 1000 grams of composition, which is 0.1% to 10%. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the prebiotic sugar of Fernando with the prebiotic sugar of Stettler for the predictable result of a composition with prebiotic sugar. See MPEP2144.06(I). Stettler teaches wherein the amount of saccharide prebiotic is at least 0.1%, e.g., 0.1% to 5%, e.g., about 0.5%, 1% or 2% by weight of the composition, which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of about 0.5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 35, Frenando further teaches that the composition comprises a prebiotic that can be mannose in an amount from 1g/L to about 10g/L (Frenando at claim 1), assuming a density of 1 g/mL (or 1000 g/L), which is the density of water, would be about 1 to 10 grams of mannose per 1000 grams of composition, which is 0.1% to 10%. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the prebiotic sugar of Fernando with the prebiotic sugar of Stettler for the predictable result of a composition with prebiotic sugar. See MPEP2144.06(I). Stettler teaches wherein the amount of saccharide prebiotic is at least 0.1%, e.g., 0.1% to 5%, e.g., about 0.5%, 1% or 2% by weight of the composition, which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of about 1%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Relevant Prior Art
Hyde et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20150058368 A1)
Hyde teaches the use of mannose as a prebiotic (Hyde at [0061]).
Andersen et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20100104688 A1)
Andersen teaches mannose as a prebiotic “In an embodiment of the invention, said active ingredient comprises a prebiotic, such as fructose, galactose, mannose, insulin or soy.” (Andersen at [0175]). Andersen also teaches the use of mannose as a free-flowing agent (Andersen at Example 6), free flowing agents are used in an amount between 0.01% of the composition (Andersen at [0219-0221]).
Al-Ghazzewi et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20080226603 A1).
Al-Ghazzewi teaches the use of mannose as a prebiotic (Al-Ghazzewi whole document).
The relevant prior art is presented for completeness of the record and compact prosecution. In selecting the references to be used in rejecting the claims, the examiner should carefully compare the references with one another and with the applicant’s disclosure to avoid an unnecessary number of rejections over similar references. The examiner is not called upon to cite all references that may be available, but only the "best." (See 37 CFR 1.104(c).) Multiplying references, any one of which is as good as, but no better than, the others, adds to the burden and cost of prosecution and should therefore be avoided. See MPEP 904.03, third paragraph in section. The examiner takes the position that Hyde, Andersen, or Al-Ghazzewi appears to be just as good as Fruge or Fernando Garcia-Rodenas. As such, no rejection over Hyde, Andersen, or Al-Ghazzewi has been written in view of the provisions of MPEP 904.03.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that neither Stettler nor Fruge teach that mannose is prebiotic and that saccharides are not immediately predictable in action as such the obviousness rejection should be withdrawn.
The Examiner does not agree. Fruge teaches a toothpaste (Fruge at abstract). Fruge further teaches the use of mannose as a sweetener in a range of optionally from about 0.01% to about 1% (Fruge at [0044]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). It would have been prima facie obvious to have combined the sweetener of Stettler with the sweetener of Fruge for the predictable result of a sweetened prebiotic oral care composition. See MPEP 2144.06. Fruge does not need to teach the mannose for the same reason or to fix the same problem as the instant invention. The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006). See MPEP 2144(IV). The mannose of Fruge would necessarily preform the function of mannose described in the instant invention even as it sweetens the composition. The mannose of Fruge is identical to the mannose of the instant application and it is applied to the mouth. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01(I). "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP2112.01(II). The mannose of Fruge would necessarily preform the function of mannose described in the instant invention even as it sweetens the composition. Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986) See MPEP 2112.02(I). Stettler further teaches a wide range of prebiotic saccharides
“Saccharide prebiotics for use in the present invention are sugars or sugar derivatives, e.g., amino sugars or sugar alcohols, for example mono-, di- or tri-saccharides (including amino-saccharides and sugar alcohols) which are orally acceptable (i.e., non-toxic at relevant concentrations in an oral care formulation) and which promote the growth of beneficial oral bacteria, while simultaneously negatively affecting the growth of pathogenic oral bacteria. In particular embodiments, the saccharide prebiotic is selected from D-turanose, D-melezitose, D-lactitol, myo-inositol, N-acetyl-D-mannosamine and mixtures thereof. D-turanose is a disaccharide, also known as α-D-glucopyranosyl-(1→3)-α-D-fructofuranose or (3S,4R,5R)-1,4,5,6-tetrahydroxy-3-[(2R,3R,4S,5S,6R)-3,4,5-trihydroxy-6-(hydroxymethyl)oxan-2-yl]oxyhexan-2-one. D-melezitose is a nonreducing trisaccharide also known as melicitose, which can be partially hydrolyzed to provide turanose and glucose. Its IUPAC name is (2R,3R,4S,5S,6R)-2-[[(2S,3S,4R,5R)-4-hydroxy-2,5-bis(hydroxymethyl)-3-[[(2R,3R,4S,5S,6R)-3,4,5-trihydroxy-6-(hydroxymethyl)-2-tetrahydropyranyl]oxy]-2-tetrahydrofuranyl]oxy]-6-(hydroxymethyl)tetrahydropyran-3,4,5-triol. D-lactitol comprises a monosaccharide linked to a sugar alcohol. D-lactitol is also known as 4-O-α-D-galactopyranosyl-D-glucitol. Myo-inositol is a cyclohexane bearing a hydroxyl group on each carbon, and is a metabolite of glucose, having the same elemental composition (C6H12O6). It is formally known as (1R,2R,3S,4S,5R,6S)-cyclohexane-1,2,3,4,5,6-hexol. N-acetyl-D-mannosamine is an acetylated amino-monosaccharide, more formally known as 2-acetamido-2-deoxy-D-mannose”
(Stettler at [0093]) including specialized D-mannose in the form of N-acetyl-D-mannosamine, an acetylated amino-monosaccharide, more formally known as 2-acetamido-2-deoxy-D-mannose. Stettler teaches a wide range of saccharides promote the growth of beneficial oral bacteria, while simultaneously negatively affecting the growth of pathogenic oral bacteria therefore it would be reasonable to try another saccharide. See MPEP2143(I). See also Stettler in view of Fernando or Garcia-Rodenas. As such, the applicant’s and affidavits arguments are not persuasive and the obviousness rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues Fruge teaches a wider range of sweeteners that would be optimized for flavor, and that mannose is one of a larger list of sweeteners that may be used in varying amounts therefore the obviousness rejection should be withdrawn.
The Examiner does not agree. The prior art of Fruge is also good for all it contains including general teachings. "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983). See MPEP 2123(I). Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). See MPEP2123 (II). It would have been prima facie obvious to have selected a sweetener from a finite list of sweeteners. See MPEP2143(I). Fruge teaches the use of mannose within a finite list in a range overlapping the range taught by the prior art. Fruge further teaches the use of mannose as a sweetener in a range of optionally from about 0.01% to about 1% (Fruge at [0044]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). It would have been prima facie obvious to have combined the sweetener of Stettler with the sweetener of Fruge for the predictable result of a sweetened prebiotic oral care composition. See MPEP 2144.06. See also Stettler in view of Fernando or Garcia-Rodenas. As such, the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the obviousness rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues that the objective of the method is an element of the claim and therefore the obviousness rejection should be withdrawn.
The Examiner does not agree. The mannose of Fruge would necessarily preform the function of mannose described in the instant invention even as it sweetens the composition. The mannose of Fruge is identical to the mannose of the instant application and it is applied to the mouth. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01(I). "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP2112.01(II). The mannose of Fruge would necessarily preform the function of mannose described in the instant invention even as it sweetens the composition. Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986) See MPEP 2112.02(I). See also Stettler in view of Fernando or Garcia-Rodenas. As such, the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the obviousness rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues that the range disclosed is specific to the prebiotic dosage range, that Stettler teaches a range for prebiotic saccharides not sweeteners, and that the data of the specification provides unexpected results, therefore the obviousness rejection should be withdrawn.
The Examiner does not agree. With regards to the ranges of mannose, Fruge further teaches the use of mannose as a sweetener in a range of optionally from about 0.01% to about 1% (Fruge at [0044]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). It would have been prima facie obvious to have combined the sweetener of Stettler with the sweetener of Fruge for the predictable result of a sweetened prebiotic oral care composition. See MPEP 2144.06. Stettler teaches wherein the amount of sweetener 0.005 to 10 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., 0.01 to 10 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., 0.1 to 10 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 5 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 3 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 1 weight % of a sweetener, e.g., from 0.1 to 0.5 weight % of a sweetener (Stettler at [0114]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 0.1% to 1%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
With regards to the unexpected results. The instant claims do not currently represent the narrower scope of the data provided in the specification. The specification has data on specific ranges of specific bacteria and their specific genes as well as specific toothpaste embodiments that provide for a more detailed list of components and their ranges. Currently, the independent instant claim only requires a composition have 0.1 to 1% mannose. The independent instant claim does not provide for a range of effect on the specific bacteria or the bacteria’s specific genes. Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP 716.02(d). With regards to the unexpected results. A case of unexpected results has not yet been established. The evidence relied upon should establish "that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance." Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). See MPEP 716.02(I). The burden is on the applicant to explain the statistical significance and practical significance of the data which to the Examiners understanding has not yet been explained. "[A]ppellants have the burden of explaining the data in any declaration they proffer as evidence of non-obviousness." Ex parte Ishizaka, 24 USPQ2d 1621, 1624 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). See MPEP716.02(b)(II). As such, the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the obviousness rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues that Garcia-Rodenas teaches the use of mannose as a prebiotic saccharide in milk and dietary supplements and pharmaceutical compositions not as a prebiotic saccharide in an oral care composition therefore the obviousness rejection should be withdrawn.
The Examiner does not agree. The mannose of Garcia-Rodenas is identical to the mannose of the instant application and when used as the prebiotic saccharide of Stettler it is applied to the mouth. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01(I). "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP2112.01(II). The mannose of Garcia-Rodenas would necessarily preform the function of mannose described in the instant invention even as it sweetens the composition. Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986) See MPEP 2112.02(I). Garcia-Rodenas does not need to teach the mannose for the same reason or to fix the same problem as the instant invention. The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006). See MPEP 2144(IV). Furthermore, the prior art is relevant for all it contains, Garcia-Rodenas is used for its knowledge of mannose as a prebiotic saccharide used in a composition that includes re-establishing a microbiota. Mannoses use in dietary and pharmaceutical compositions do not teach away from its use as a prebiotic. "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). See MPEP 2123(I). See also the obviousness rejection in view of Stettler in view of Frenando wherein Fernando uses prebiotic mannose in a toothpaste. As such, the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the obviousness rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues that the obviousness rejection of Stettler in view of Garcia-Rodenas is overcome by the unexpected results.
The Examiner does not agree. With regards to the unexpected results. The instant claims do not currently represent the narrower scope of the data provided in the specification. The specification has data on specific ranges of specific bacteria and their specific genes as well as specific toothpaste embodiments that provide for a more detailed list of components and their ranges. Currently, the independent instant claim only requires a composition have 0.1 to 1% mannose. The independent instant claim does not provide for a range of effect on the specific bacteria or the bacteria’s specific genes. Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP 716.02(d). With regards to the unexpected results. A case of unexpected results has not yet been established. The evidence relied upon should establish "that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance." Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). See MPEP 716.02(I). The burden is on the applicant to explain the statistical significance and practical significance of the data which to the Examiners understanding has not yet been explained. "[A]ppellants have the burden of explaining the data in any declaration they proffer as evidence of non-obviousness." Ex parte Ishizaka, 24 USPQ2d 1621, 1624 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). See MPEP716.02(b)(II). As such, the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the obviousness rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are presently allowable.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/AMANDA MICHELLE PETRITSCH/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612