DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 9 as presently amended recite that the TIG welding machine and material feeding device are located obliquely angled behind a molten pool: ”Tig and material feeding devise are all located behind a molten pool, and are arranged obliquely with respect to the vertical direction” (claims 1 and 9, lines 7-8).
However the specifications do not reasonably convey possession of a TIG welding configuration in which both the heat source (tungsten electrode of TIG) and material feed are arranged obliquely angled behind the molten pool behind the direction of travel. The understood orientation of heat source and material feed source from the specifications are outlined to citations below, none having the above configuration:
Applicants specs provide a heat source and material feed angled behind a melt pool in the travel direction however the system described is inconsistent with a TIG welder, the system having the material feed as integrated to the heat source “The melt inert gas welding machine 240 may be integrated with the wire feeder 220. The melt inert gas welding machine 240 and the wire feeder 220 may be arranged obliquely at an angle a with respect to the vertical direction. The angle a may be varied according to the type of material, the supply rate of the material, and the like.” Emphasis added [0053].
Applicants Specs support for heat or material feed in front of and back of weld pool “In the example shown in Figure 4, the wire feeder 320 and the non-molten inert gas shielded welding machine 340 may be located on two opposite sides of the molten pool 310. In the forming direction D of the material layer N+1 (or the moving direction of the non-molten inert gas shielded welding machine 340), the wire feeder 320 is arranged obliquely in front of the molten pool 310 at an angle (B with respect to the vertical direction, and the non-molten inert gas shielded welding machine 340 is arranged obliquely behind the molten pool 310 at an angle a with respect to the vertical direction. According to different process parameters, angle a and angle (B may be changed.” Emphasis added [0055].
Applicants specs support the heat source perpendicular to substrate/weld pool with material feed obliquely behind weld puddle in travel direction “In the example shown in Figure 2A, the laser heat source device 140 is substantially perpendicular to the substrate S, and the wire feed 120 is arranged obliquely at an angle (B relative to the laser heat source device 140. That is, the center axis of the wire feeder 120 is at an angle (B relative to the center axis of the laser heat source device 140. The angle (B can be determined according to the material supply rate, the heat source power, etc. The wire feeder 120 is located in front of the molten pool 110 in the forming direction of the material layer N,” emphasis added [0041].
Applicants specs support the heat source perpendicular and the wire/material feed being angled relative thereto, to include an angling obliquely behind the weld pool in travel direction as shown in figure 5 -“It is noted that the laser heat source device 140 and the wire feeder 120 may be arranged in other ways as long as they can achieve the functions described herein. For example, as shown in Figure 5, the wire feeder 120 is located behind the molten pool 110 in the forming direction of the material layer N.” emphasis added [0041], Figure 5 provides the material feed 120 at angle B relative to heat source 140, heat source 140 appears perpendicular to travel direction. Similarly see figure 2a saying the angle B is relative to perpendicular heat source “Figure 2A, the laser heat source device 140 is substantially perpendicular to the substrate S, and the wire feed 120 is arranged obliquely at an angle (B relative to the laser heat source device 140” [0041] emphasis added, it is therefore understood that the heat source of figure 5 is perpendicular to workpiece and not tilted behind melt pool as presently claimed because of the similarity to figure 2a expressing such relation while the specs are silent regarding angle of heat source in figure 5.
None of the cited portions above disclose or suggest a TIG configuration in which both the heat source (non-consumable electrode) and a separate material feed are angled obliquely to the molten pool behind the direction of travel as claimed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “material feeding device”, “Heat source device”, “surface treatment unit”, in claims 1 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giese (US 2017/0368637) in view of Basha (NPL), Burke (WO 2019182989 A1), Allford (NPL) and Traver (US 2015/0129579).
Regarding claim 1, Giese discloses (Fig-1) an additive manufacturing system, comprising:
an additive manufacturing unit comprising a material feeding device (material wire 16, wire gun 12) and a heat source device (laser 21),
wherein the material feeding device is configured to supply a material onto a substrate for layer-by-layer additive manufacturing (additive manufacturing, emphasis added “Disclosed herein are one or more inventions that allow for large surface area welding, cladding or additive manufacturing.” [0006]), and the heat source device is configured to provide a heat source for fusing the material layer by layer to form material layers (laser melts wire to form pool of additive material “filler wire 16 is feed out of the nozzle 12 toward a molten pool or puddle 18. At the same time, the molten pool 18 is subject to heating by a high energy source, in this case a focused laser beam 20 generated by a laser 21, that further melts the wire 16 and, if a welding process, a portion of the metallic workpiece 10 (i.e., the base metal) to form the puddle 18.” [0053], sequential layers as nature of additive manufacturing “An example of an additive manufacturing process is what can be referred to as 3-D printing processes” [0009]);
Giese is silent regarding a surface treatment unit configured to perform surface treatment on the material layers; and
a control unit configured to control
However Basha teaches a surface treatment unit configured to perform surface treatment on the material layers; and
a control unit configured to control
The advantage of a surface treatment unit configured to perform surface treatment on the material layers; and
a control unit configured to control the additive manufacturing unit and the surface treatment unit, wherein the surface treatment unit is configured to perform surface treatment on a material layer N after the material layer N is formed and before a material layer N+1 is formed on the material layer N, where N is an integer greater than or equal to 1, is to reduce surface roughness, increase material density, create uniform microstructure and increase surface hardness and wettability “Laser polishing not only reduces surface roughness but also increases surface properties. Employing laser polishing after each layer of in SLM process can improve the bulk density close to 100%. Laser polishing only on the outer surface of component significantly increases the surface density up to several micrometres depth and results in very fine and uniform microstructure formation. Because of the melting and rapid re-solidification of the melt pool, the hardness of the surface increases. Laser polishing also observed to improve surface wettability, wear resistance, tribological properties and reduce the coefficient of friction.” (Conclusion as last paragraph of page 2052).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Giese and Basha before him or her, to modify the wire fed additive manufacturing process of Giese to include the layer by layer laser polishing of Basha because polishing metal parts by laser can provide the benefits of reduced surface roughness, increase material density, creation of uniform microstructure and an increased surface hardness and wettability.
Giese is silent regarding a control unit configured to control both the additive manufacturing unit and the surface treatment unit.
However Burke teaches The same control unit for additive/deposition and shaping/polishing components of an additive manufacturing system (Shaping of 3d printed layer to include laser polishing, emphasis added “the shaping process may comprise mechanical manipulation. The shaping step may comprise machining of the at least one layer of the at least the portion of the at least one feedstock. The machining may comprise one or more processes selected from the group consisting of grinding, polishing, lapping, honing, electrical discharge machining, lithography, industrial etching, computer numerical control machining, mill finishing, abrasive blasting, laser texturing, and polishing.” [0112], shaping/tip system may be under same control as the additive system “In some cases, the one or more tips may be coupled to the deposition head (e.g., at the same time or different times) for shaping at least one layer of the 3D object. The one or more tips may be coupled external to the print head. In some cases, one or more tips can be attached to the print head at any one time.” [0110]).
The advantage of the same control unit for both additive and polishing components, is to provide reduced gantry/controller components by the combining of additive and shaping components to the same gantry/controller “In some cases, the one or more tips may be coupled to the deposition head (e.g., at the same time or different times) for shaping at least one layer of the 3D object. The one or more tips may be coupled external to the print head. In some cases, one or more tips can be attached to the print head at any one time.” [0110]”.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Giese as already modified and Burke before him or her, to modify additive and polishing control of Giese to include the additive and polishing/reforming control of Burke, because providing a system having both shaping/polishing and deposition/additive to a single controller/gantry increases simplicity of part numbers.
Giese as modified is silent regarding wherein the heat source device is a non-molten inert gas shielded welding machine (TIG), wherein in a forming direction of the material layer, the non-molten inert gas shielded welding machine (TIG), and the material feeding device are all located behind a molten pool;
However Allford teaches wherein the heat source device is a non-molten inert gas shielded welding machine (GTAW- TIG system as shown to figure below from page 5/10),wherein in a forming direction of the material layer (as shown by “travel” arrow below of figure from page 5/10), the non-molten inert gas shielded welding machine, and the material feeding device are all located behind a molten pool (as shown in figure below, the material feed (hot-wire feeder) enters the melt pool at an angle behind the melt pool (relative to travel) and the TIG is perpendicular to the melt pool thereby having a portion of the TIG behind the melt pool in view of the arc creating the melt pool existing beyond a center of the TIG, “The contact tube is energized by the hot-wire power supply and preheats the wire through electrical resistance to a level right at the melting point as it enters the weld pool behind (or sometimes to the side of) the tungsten electrode.” (page 2/10, paragraph 2));
The advantage of wherein the heat source device is a non-molten inert gas shielded welding machine (TIG),wherein in a forming direction of the material layer, the non-molten inert gas shielded welding machine (TIG), and the material feeding device are all located behind a molten pool, is to provide deep penetration heat in front of the deposition wire to increase travel speed and deposition rates “With GTAW-HW, the heated filler metal boosts deposition rates and travel speeds because the arc’s energy can be dedicated largely to creating the weld pool and not melting the added wire. This produces the weld quality of conventional GTAW but in a much more productive package.” (page 4/10, paragraph 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Giese as already modified and Allford before him or her, to modify additive material deposition of Giese to include hot wire behind arc/molten pool of Allford, because providing a hotwire to arc generated pool increases deposition rate.
Giese as modified is silent regarding the TIG electrode is arranged obliquely with respect the vertical direction behind the molten pool.
However Traver teaches the TIG electrode is arranged obliquely with respect the vertical direction behind the molten pool (Lead lag of non-consumable electrode may be operator changed in response to conditions of weld “Both consumable and nonconsumable electrodes can experience problems requiring operator intervention to cure. Such operations may require rotation of the welding torch away from the work piece, and at times necessitate full removal of a welding torch from an orbital welding assembly. Further, some welding operations utilize varying or multiple lead or lag angles throughout a process, which can also entail challenging operator manipulation.” Emphasis added [0007], TIG specifically called out "Welding" or "weld" as used herein including any other formatives of these words will refer to depositing of molten material through the operation of an electric arc including, but not limited to, submerged arc, GMAW, MAG, MIG, TIG welding, or any electric arc used with a welding system, an orbital welding system, or non-orbital welding system.” [0025]. in operations of deposition of multiple layers of material “Alternatively, pipe welding may include deep groove geometries where the welding electrode extends into a groove formed between the two pipes being joined to lay down successive beads of weld material to fill the groove to join the thick walled pipes.” [0003]).
The advantage of the TIG electrode is arranged obliquely with respect the vertical direction behind the molten pool, is to perform various welding operations and respond to problems (as disclosed above [0007]) in a multiple layer deposition TIG welding system (as disclosed above [0025/0007]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Giese as already modified and Traver before him or her, to modify filler wire at oblique angle behind weld puddle of Giese to include the TIG electrode at oblique angle behind weld puddle of Traver, because a TIG electrode moved to a LAG position behind the weld pool may enhance various types of welding or mediate problems that occur during welding in a multiple layer deposition TIG welding system.
Regarding claim 2. Giese as modified teaches the additive manufacturing system according to claim 1, Giese as already modified teaches wherein the surface treatment unit is configured to, once each of the material layers is formed, perform surface treatment on the material layer (Basha as already modifying anticipates polishing after each deposited layer “Laser polishing not only reduces surface roughness but also increases surface properties. Employing laser polishing after each layer of in SLM process can improve the bulk density close to 100%. Laser polishing only on the outer surface of component significantly increases the surface density up to several micrometres depth and results in very fine and uniform microstructure formation. Because of the melting and rapid re-solidification of the melt pool, the hardness of the surface increases. Laser polishing also observed to improve surface wettability, wear resistance, tribological properties and reduce the coefficient of friction.” (Basha Conclusion as last paragraph of page 2052)).
Regarding claim 3, Giese as modified teaches the additive manufacturing system according to claim1, Giese as already modified teaches wherein the surface treatment unit comprises a polishing device (Basha as already modifying anticipates polishing after each deposited layer “Laser polishing not only reduces surface roughness but also increases surface properties. Employing laser polishing after each layer of in SLM process can improve the bulk density close to 100%. Laser polishing only on the outer surface of component significantly increases the surface density up to several micrometres depth and results in very fine and uniform microstructure formation. Because of the melting and rapid re-solidification of the melt pool, the hardness of the surface increases. Laser polishing also observed to improve surface wettability, wear resistance, tribological properties and reduce the coefficient of friction.” (Basha Conclusion as last paragraph of page 2052)).
Regarding claim 4, Giese as modified teaches the additive manufacturing system according to claim 3, Giese as already modified teaches wherein the polishing device is a laser polishing device (Basha as already modifying anticipates laser polishing after each deposited layer “Laser polishing not only reduces surface roughness but also increases surface properties. Employing laser polishing after each layer of in SLM process can improve the bulk density close to 100%. Laser polishing only on the outer surface of component significantly increases the surface density up to several micrometres depth and results in very fine and uniform microstructure formation. Because of the melting and rapid re-solidification of the melt pool, the hardness of the surface increases. Laser polishing also observed to improve surface wettability, wear resistance, tribological properties and reduce the coefficient of friction.” (Basha Conclusion as last paragraph of page 2052)).
Regarding claim 5, Giese discloses the additive manufacturing system according to claim 1, Giese further discloses wherein the heat source device is a laser heat source device or an arc heat source device (laser melts wire to form pool of additive material “filler wire 16 is feed out of the nozzle 12 toward a molten pool or puddle 18. At the same time, the molten pool 18 is subject to heating by a high energy source, in this case a focused laser beam 20 generated by a laser 21, that further melts the wire 16 and, if a welding process, a portion of the metallic workpiece 10 (i.e., the base metal) to form the puddle 18.” [0053], hot and cold wire additive welding anticipated “As used herein, a metalworking operation means a welding operation, a cladding operation, an additive manufacturing operation or any combination of them. Unless specifically noted otherwise, the term “metalworking apparatus” is used generically herein and the accompanying claims to mean any welding apparatus, any cladding apparatus or any additive manufacturing apparatus that performs a metalworking operation, be it a non-hotwire welding apparatus, a hotwire welding apparatus, a non-hotwire cladding apparatus or a hotwire cladding apparatus.” [0008]).
Regarding claim 8, Giese as modified teaches the additive manufacturing system according to claim 1, Giese as already modified teaches wherein the heat source device and the surface treatment unit are movable relative to the substrate (as necessitated to forming parts in additive manufacturing, see Gantry system 105 of Burke figure 1 having both additive source and surface treatment source).
Regarding claim 12, Giese as modified teaches the additive manufacturing method according to claim 9, Giese as already modified teaches further comprising:
moving the heat source device
Giese is silent regarding moving the surface treatment unit relative to the substrate during surface treatment.
However Burke teaches moving the surface treatment unit relative to the substrate during surface treatment (shaping/tip/polishing system may be under same gantry control as the additive system “In some cases, the one or more tips may be coupled to the deposition head (e.g., at the same time or different times) for shaping at least one layer of the 3D object. The one or more tips may be coupled external to the print head. In some cases, one or more tips can be attached to the print head at any one time.” [0110]).
The advantage of moving the surface treatment unit relative to the substrate during surface treatment, is to provide reduced gantry/controller components by the combining of additive and shaping components to the same gantry/controller “In some cases, the one or more tips may be coupled to the deposition head (e.g., at the same time or different times) for shaping at least one layer of the 3D object. The one or more tips may be coupled external to the print head. In some cases, one or more tips can be attached to the print head at any one time.” [0110]”.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Giese as already modified and Burke before him or her, to modify additive and polishing control of Giese to include the additive and polishing/reforming control of Burke, because providing a system having both shaping/polishing and deposition/additive to a single controller/gantry increases simplicity of part numbers.
Claims 9-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giese in view of Basha, Allford and Traver.
Regarding claim 9, Giese discloses an additive manufacturing method, comprising:
supplying a material (16) onto a substrate (base substrate 10, layer substrate 22) by a material feeding device (12) for layer-by-layer additive manufacturing (additive manufacturing, emphasis added “Disclosed herein are one or more inventions that allow for large surface area welding, cladding or additive manufacturing.” [0006]); and
fusing the material layer by layer by a heat source device (laser 21) to form material layers (additive manufacturing disclosed above [0006]);
Giese is silent regarding wherein the method further comprises:
performing surface treatment by a surface treatment unit on a material layer N after the material layer N is formed; and
forming a material layer N+1 on the material layer N, where N is an integer greater than or equal to 1.
However Basha teaches wherein the method further comprises:
performing surface treatment by a surface treatment unit (laser polishing disclosed below) on a material layer N after the material layer N is formed (every layer of additive manufacturing is anticipated to be reworked/laser polished, disclosed below); and
forming a material layer N+1 on the material layer N, where N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (laser polishing performed for every deposited layer after it is formed “they used laser re-melting after each layer of the SLM process. This means after each layer gets fused after melting, the same layer is rescanned before spreading the powder for the next layer.” (page 2049, first column, last paragraph)).
The advantage of wherein the method further comprises:
performing surface treatment by a surface treatment unit on a material layer N after the material layer N is formed; and
forming a material layer N+1 on the material layer N, where N is an integer greater than or equal to 1, is to reduce surface roughness, increase material density, create uniform microstructure and increase surface hardness and wettability “Laser polishing not only reduces surface roughness but also increases surface properties. Employing laser polishing after each layer of in SLM process can improve the bulk density close to 100%. Laser polishing only on the outer surface of component significantly increases the surface density up to several micrometres depth and results in very fine and uniform microstructure formation. Because of the melting and rapid re-solidification of the melt pool, the hardness of the surface increases. Laser polishing also observed to improve surface wettability, wear resistance, tribological properties and reduce the coefficient of friction.” (Conclusion as last paragraph of page 2052).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Giese and Basha before him or her, to modify the wire fed additive manufacturing process of Giese to include the layer by layer laser polishing of Basha because polishing metal parts by laser can provide the benefits of reduced surface roughness, increase material density, creation of uniform microstructure and an increased surface hardness and wettability.
Giese as modified is silent regarding wherein the heat source device is a non-molten inert gas shielded welding machine (TIG), wherein in a forming direction of the material layer, the non-molten inert gas shielded welding machine (TIG), and the material feeding device are all located behind a molten pool;
However Allford teaches wherein the heat source device is a non-molten inert gas shielded welding machine (GTAW- TIG system as shown to figure below from page 5/10),wherein in a forming direction of the material layer (as shown by “travel” arrow below of figure from page 5/10), the non-molten inert gas shielded welding machine, and the material feeding device are all located behind a molten pool (as shown in figure below the material feed inters the melt pool at an angle behind the melt pool and the TIG is perpendicular to the melt pool thereby having a portion of the TIG behind the melt pool in view of the arc creating the melt pool existing beyond a center of the TIG, “The contact tube is energized by the hot-wire power supply and preheats the wire through electrical resistance to a level right at the melting point as it enters the weld pool behind (or sometimes to the side of) the tungsten electrode.” (page 2/10, paragraph 2));
The advantage of wherein the heat source device is a non-molten inert gas shielded welding machine (TIG),wherein in a forming direction of the material layer, the non-molten inert gas shielded welding machine (TIG), and the material feeding device are all located behind a molten pool, is to provide deep penetration heat in front of the deposition wire to increase travel speed and deposition rates “With GTAW-HW, the heated filler metal boosts deposition rates and travel speeds because the arc’s energy can be dedicated largely to creating the weld pool and not melting the added wire. This produces the weld quality of conventional GTAW but in a much more productive package.” (page 4/10, paragraph 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Giese as already modified and Allford before him or her, to modify additive material deposition of Giese to include hot wire behind arc/molten pool of Allford, because providing a hotwire to arc generated pool increases deposition rate.
Giese as modified is silent regarding the TIG electrode is arranged obliquely with respect the vertical direction behind the molten pool.
However Traver teaches the TIG electrode is arranged obliquely with respect the vertical direction behind the molten pool (Lead lag of non-consumable electrode may be operator changed in response to conditions of weld “Both consumable and nonconsumable electrodes can experience problems requiring operator intervention to cure. Such operations may require rotation of the welding torch away from the work piece, and at times necessitate full removal of a welding torch from an orbital welding assembly. Further, some welding operations utilize varying or multiple lead or lag angles throughout a process, which can also entail challenging operator manipulation.” Emphasis added [0007], TIG specifically called out "Welding" or "weld" as used herein including any other formatives of these words will refer to depositing of molten material through the operation of an electric arc including, but not limited to, submerged arc, GMAW, MAG, MIG, TIG welding, or any electric arc used with a welding system, an orbital welding system, or non-orbital welding system.” [0025]. in operations of deposition of multiple layers of material “Alternatively, pipe welding may include deep groove geometries where the welding electrode extends into a groove formed between the two pipes being joined to lay down successive beads of weld material to fill the groove to join the thick walled pipes.” [0003]).
The advantage of the TIG electrode is arranged obliquely with respect the vertical direction behind the molten pool, is to perform various welding operations and respond to problems (as disclosed above [0007]) in a multiple layer deposition TIG welding system (as disclosed above [0025/0007]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Giese as already modified and Traver before him or her, to modify filler wire at oblique angle behind weld puddle of Giese to include the TIG electrode at oblique angle behind weld puddle of Traver, because a TIG electrode moved to a LAG position behind the weld pool may enhance various types of welding or mediate problems that occur during welding in a multiple layer deposition TIG welding system.
Regarding claim 10, Giese as modified teaches the additive manufacturing method according to claim 9, Giese as already modified teaches wherein the surface treatment unit performs surface treatment on the material layer after each of the material layers is formed (Basha as already modifying anticipates laser polishing performed for every deposited layer after it is formed “they used laser re-melting after each layer of the SLM process. This means after each layer gets fused after melting, the same layer is rescanned before spreading the powder for the next layer.” (page 2049, first column, last paragraph)).
Regarding claim 11, Giese as modified teaches the additive manufacturing method according to claim 9, Giese as already modified teaches wherein the surface treatment unit (laser polisher of Basha) is configured to perform laser polishing on the material layers (Basha as already modifying anticipates laser polishing performed for every deposited layer after it is formed “they used laser re-melting after each layer of the SLM process. This means after each layer gets fused after melting, the same layer is rescanned before spreading the powder for the next layer.” (page 2049, first column, last paragraph)).
Regarding claim 13, Giese as modified teaches a computer-readable medium (memory 904) storing a program executed by a processor (902) of a control unit (900) to implement the additive manufacturing method according to claim 9 (as already modifying Basha anticipates that additive manufacturing is done by the controller of a 3d printer from memory of CAD files “3D Printing is an emerging technology to fabricate complex components in less lead time compared to traditional manufacturing processes. 3D printing enables to build metallic functional components directly from CAD model by depositing the material layer by layer.” (abstract)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takikawa (2004/0000539A1) teaches a lead angels of TIG weld electrode 7 “Alternatively, as shown in FIG. 4(b), the laser light source 6, like the arc welding machine 7, may also be oriented so that a longitudinal axis 6A thereof forms a specific lead angle .alpha.1. The lead angle .theta.2 of the arc welding machine 7 preferably ranges from 0 to 40 degrees as in the aforementioned embodiment, but the lead angle .alpha.1 of the laser light source 6 may be set at any angle.” [0032] see figure 7 providing TIG 7 and laser 6 both tilted away from travel direction H, the filler wire must be fed into arc before or after TIG necessitating angle behind rear titled oblique laser 6 “when the TIG welding machine is used, a filler wire is fed by a feeding mechanism (not shown) into plasma of the arc discharge.” [0021].
/Spencer H. Kirkwood/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JUSTIN C DODSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761