DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to the amendment dated 12/31/2025, for which the amendment and corresponding arguments filed on the same date have been entered. Claims 1, 3-10, 12 and 14-23 are currently pending in this application, with claims 1, 10 and 12 being independent. Claims 1, 10 and 12 have been amended. Claims 2, 11 and 13 have been cancelled. No claims have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but are moot, because the new ground of rejection was caused by the amendment and does not rely on any reference applied in the aforementioned rejection for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 10, 12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei, et al (US PG Publication 2022/0210838), hereafter Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, et al (US PG Publication 2018/0110074), hereafter Akkarakaran.
Regarding claim 1, Lei teaches
a random-access method, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, configuration information sent by a network device, wherein the configuration information comprises a first threshold and a second threshold, the first threshold is used by the terminal device to select a random-access type, the random access type is 2-step random access or 4-step random access, the second threshold is used by the terminal device to select a downlink reference signal from a plurality of downlink reference signals
([0039] Transmitting, to a UE, a configuration message identifying one or more reference signals to be measured by the UE in determining a link quality for communications between the UE and the base station, where the configuration message also includes an identification of one or more link quality thresholds corresponding to the one or more reference signals and establishing a connection with the UE via a two-step random access procedure, a four-step random access procedure, or both based on whether the link quality satisfies the at least one of the one or more link quality thresholds
[0113] The configuration message 210 may also indicate one or more thresholds for comparing the measurements in selecting either the two-step RACH procedure or the four-step RACH procedure in a random access procedure selection 215. For example, if a measurement (e.g., RSRP) is greater than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the two-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection. In contrast, if the measurement is less than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the four-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection),
each of the plurality of downlink reference signals is associated with one or more random access transmission occasions
([0114] In some cases, the configuration information (e.g., reference signal identifiers and thresholds) may be cell-specific and updated periodically),
the second threshold is a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold, and the first threshold is a RSRP threshold
([0113] The configuration message 210 may identify one or more reference signal resources for link quality measurements that may include reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements based on a synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), positioning reference signal (PRS), the configuration message 210 may also indicate one or more thresholds);
determining, by the terminal device, the random-access type based on the first threshold and the downlink reference signal based on the second threshold
([0113] The configuration message 210 may identify one or more reference signal resources for link quality measurements that may include reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements based on a synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), positioning reference signal (PRS), the configuration message 210 may also indicate one or more thresholds. For example, if a measurement (e.g., RSRP) is greater than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the two-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection. In contrast, if the measurement is less than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the four-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection);
determining, by the terminal device, a random-access transmission occasion based on the determined downlink reference signal
([0039] Transmitting, to a UE, a configuration message identifying one or more reference signals to be measured by the UE
[0114] In some cases, the configuration information (e.g., reference signal identifiers and thresholds) may be cell-specific and updated periodically); and
sending, by the terminal device, a message of the random-access type on the random-access transmission occasion
([0113] Depending on the selected RACH procedure, the UE 115-a may transmit a first message 220 to the base station 105-a to initiate the RACH procedure. In a two-step RACH procedure, the first message 220 may be MsgA, and in a four-step RACH procedure, the first message 220 may be Msg1).
Lei does not teach
the second threshold for 2-step random access is different from the second threshold for 4-step random access.
In the same field of endeavor, Akkarakaran teaches
the second threshold for 2-step random access is different from the second threshold for 4-step random access
([0063]. That is, the MIB/SIB may indicate conditions that trigger selection of the two-step or the four-step RACH procedure, based on RSRP values of a synchronization signal or a reference signal received from base station 105
[0072] For instance, the MIB and/or SIBs may indicate different thresholds for the two-step and four-step RACH procedures based on RSRP values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Lei, which includes a mobile device performing a random access procedure, to include Akkarakaran’s teaching of a UE performing a random access procedure, for the benefit of having a faster and more efficient RACH procedure, in order to meet the low latency requirements of 5G/NR wireless systems (see [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, teaches the method according to claim 1.
Lei further teaches
wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the random-access type based on the first threshold comprises:
determining, by the terminal device, the random-access type based on a channel measurement value and the first threshold, wherein the channel measurement value is a measurement value obtained based on RSRPs of the plurality of downlink reference signals
([0113] Accordingly, base station 105-a may transmit a configuration message 210 to identify configurations to utilize in determining whether to utilize the two-step RACH procedure or the four-step RACH procedure. The configuration message 210 may identify one or more reference signal resources for link quality measurements, the link quality measurements may include reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements based on a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS). The configuration message 210 may also indicate one or more thresholds for comparing the measurements in selecting either the two-step RACH procedure or the four-step RACH procedure in a random access procedure selection 215).
Regarding claim 4, Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, teaches the method according to claim 3.
Lei further teaches
wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the random-access type based on the first threshold and the downlink reference signal based on the at least one threshold comprises:
based on determining that the channel measurement value is greater than or equal to the first threshold, determining, by the terminal device, that the random-access manner is 2-step random access
([0113] The link quality measurements may include reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements based on a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS). The configuration message 210 may also indicate one or more thresholds for comparing the measurements in selecting either the two-step RACH procedure or the four-step RACH procedure in a random access procedure selection 215. For example, if a measurement (e.g., RSRP) is greater than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the two-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection); and
based on determining that a measurement value of at least one received downlink reference signal is greater than or equal to the second threshold, determining, by the terminal device, one downlink reference signal from the at least one downlink reference signal
([0113] The configuration message 210 may identify one or more reference signal resources for link quality measurements. The configuration message 210 may also indicate one or more thresholds for comparing the measurements. For example, if a measurement (e.g., RSRP) is greater than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the two-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection).
Regarding claim 5, Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, teaches the method according to claim 3.
Lei further teaches
wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the random-access type based on the first threshold and the downlink reference signal based on the second threshold comprises:
based on determining that the channel measurement value is less than the first threshold, determining, by the terminal device, that the random-access manner is 4-step random access
([0113] The link quality measurements may include reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements based on a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS). The configuration message 210 may also indicate one or more thresholds for comparing the measurements in selecting either the two-step RACH procedure or the four-step RACH procedure in a random access procedure selection 215. If the measurement is less than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the four-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection).
Regarding claim 6, Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, teaches the method according to claim 1.
Lei further teaches
wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the random-access type based on the first threshold and the downlink reference signal based on the second threshold comprises:
based on determining that an RSRP of at least one downlink reference signal in the plurality of received downlink reference signals is greater than or equal to the second threshold, determining, by the terminal device, one downlink reference signal from the at least one downlink reference signal
([0113] The configuration message 210 may identify one or more reference signal resources for link quality measurements that may include reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements. The configuration message 210 may also indicate one or more thresholds for comparing the measurements in selecting either the two-step RACH procedure or the four-step RACH procedure in a random access procedure selection 215. For example, a measurement (e.g., RSRP) is greater than the indicated threshold); and
based on a measurement value of the determined downlink reference signal is greater than or equal to the first threshold, determining that the random-access type is 2-step random access
([0113] The configuration message 210 may identify one or more reference signal resources for link quality measurements that may include reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements. If a measurement (e.g., RSRP) is greater than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the two-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection); or
based on a measurement value of the determined downlink reference signal is less than the first threshold, determining that the random-access type is 4-step random access
([0113] The configuration message 210 may identify one or more reference signal resources for link quality measurements that may include reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements. If the measurement is less than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the four-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection),
wherein a type of the measurement value of the determined downlink reference signal is the same as a type of the first threshold
([0113] The configuration message 210 may identify one or more reference signal resources for link quality measurements. The configuration message 210 may also indicate one or more thresholds for comparing the measurements in selecting either the two-step RACH procedure or the four-step RACH procedure in a random access procedure selection 215).
Regarding claim 7, Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, teaches the method according to claim 1.
Lei further teaches
wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the random-access type based on the first threshold and the downlink reference signal based on the second threshold comprises:
based on determining that RSRPs of the plurality of received downlink reference signals are less than the second threshold, determining, by the terminal device, one downlink reference signal from the plurality of received downlink reference signals, and determining that the random-access type is the 4-step random access
([0113] The configuration message 210 may identify one or more reference signal resources for link quality measurements that may include reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements. If the measurement is less than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the four-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection).
Regarding claim 10, Lei teaches
a random-access method, comprising:
sending, by a network device, configuration information to a terminal device, wherein the configuration information comprises a first threshold and a second threshold, the first threshold is used by the terminal device to select a random-access type, the first threshold is used by the terminal device to select a random-access type, the random access type is 2-step random access or 4-step random access, the second threshold is used by the terminal device to select a downlink reference signal from a plurality of downlink reference signals
([0039] Transmitting, to a UE, a configuration message identifying one or more reference signals to be measured by the UE in determining a link quality for communications between the UE and the base station, where the configuration message also includes an identification of one or more link quality thresholds corresponding to the one or more reference signals and establishing a connection with the UE via a two-step random access procedure, a four-step random access procedure, or both based on whether the link quality satisfies the at least one of the one or more link quality thresholds
[0113] The configuration message 210 may also indicate one or more thresholds for comparing the measurements in selecting either the two-step RACH procedure or the four-step RACH procedure in a random access procedure selection 215. For example, if a measurement (e.g., RSRP) is greater than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the two-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection. In contrast, if the measurement is less than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the four-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection),
each of the plurality of downlink reference signals is associated with one or more random access transmission occasions
([0114] In some cases, the configuration information (e.g., reference signal identifiers and thresholds) may be cell-specific and updated periodically),
the second threshold is a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold, and the first threshold is a RSRP threshold
([0113] The configuration message 210 may identify one or more reference signal resources for link quality measurements that may include reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements based on a synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), positioning reference signal (PRS), the configuration message 210 may also indicate one or more thresholds); and
receiving, by the network device, a message of the random-access type that is sent by the terminal based on the configuration information
([0113] Depending on the selected RACH procedure, the UE 115-a may transmit a first message 220 to the base station 105-a to initiate the RACH procedure. In a two-step RACH procedure, the first message 220 may be MsgA, and in a four-step RACH procedure, the first message 220 may be Msg1).
Lei does not teach
the second threshold for 2-step random access is different from the second threshold for 4-step random access.
In the same field of endeavor, Akkarakaran teaches
the second threshold for 2-step random access is different from the second threshold for 4-step random access
([0063]. That is, the MIB/SIB may indicate conditions that trigger selection of the two-step or the four-step RACH procedure, based on RSRP values of a synchronization signal or a reference signal received from base station 105
[0072] For instance, the MIB and/or SIBs may indicate different thresholds for the two-step and four-step RACH procedures based on RSRP values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Lei, which includes a mobile device performing a random access procedure, to include Akkarakaran’s teaching of a UE performing a random access procedure, for the benefit of having a faster and more efficient RACH procedure, in order to meet the low latency requirements of 5G/NR wireless systems (see [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, Lei teaches
a terminal device, wherein the terminal device comprises:
a transceiver
([0131] UE transceiver 820),
configured to receive configuration information sent by a network device, wherein the configuration information comprises a first threshold and a second threshold, the first threshold is used by the terminal device to select a random-access type, the random access type is 2-step random access or 4-step random access, the second threshold is used by the terminal device to select a downlink reference signal from a plurality of downlink reference signals
([0039] Transmitting, to a UE, a configuration message identifying one or more reference signals to be measured by the UE in determining a link quality for communications between the UE and the base station, where the configuration message also includes an identification of one or more link quality thresholds corresponding to the one or more reference signals and establishing a connection with the UE via a two-step random access procedure, a four-step random access procedure, or both based on whether the link quality satisfies the at least one of the one or more link quality thresholds
[0113] The configuration message 210 may also indicate one or more thresholds for comparing the measurements in selecting either the two-step RACH procedure or the four-step RACH procedure in a random access procedure selection 215. For example, if a measurement (e.g., RSRP) is greater than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the two-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection. In contrast, if the measurement is less than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the four-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection),
each of the plurality of downlink reference signals is associated with one or more random access transmission occasions
([0114] In some cases, the configuration information (e.g., reference signal identifiers and thresholds) may be cell-specific and updated periodically),
the second threshold is a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold, and the first threshold is a RSRP threshold
([0113] The configuration message 210 may identify one or more reference signal resources for link quality measurements that may include reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements based on a synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), positioning reference signal (PRS), the configuration message 210 may also indicate one or more thresholds); and
a processor configured to determine the random-access type based on the first threshold and the downlink reference signal based on the second threshold
([0113] The configuration message 210 may identify one or more reference signal resources for link quality measurements that may include reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements based on a synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), positioning reference signal (PRS), the configuration message 210 may also indicate one or more thresholds. For example, if a measurement (e.g., RSRP) is greater than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the two-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection. In contrast, if the measurement is less than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the four-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection),
wherein the processor is configured to determine a random-access transmission occasion based on the determined downlink reference signal
([0039] Transmitting, to a UE, a configuration message identifying one or more reference signals to be measured by the UE
[0114] In some cases, the configuration information (e.g., reference signal identifiers and thresholds) may be cell-specific and updated periodically), and
the transceiver is configured to send a message of the random-access type on the random-access transmission occasion
([0113] Depending on the selected RACH procedure, the UE 115-a may transmit a first message 220 to the base station 105-a to initiate the RACH procedure. In a two-step RACH procedure, the first message 220 may be MsgA, and in a four-step RACH procedure, the first message 220 may be Msg1).
Lei does not teach
the second threshold for 2-step random access is different from the second threshold for 4-step random access.
In the same field of endeavor, Akkarakaran teaches
the second threshold for 2-step random access is different from the second threshold for 4-step random access
([0063]. That is, the MIB/SIB may indicate conditions that trigger selection of the two-step or the four-step RACH procedure, based on RSRP values of a synchronization signal or a reference signal received from base station 105
[0072] For instance, the MIB and/or SIBs may indicate different thresholds for the two-step and four-step RACH procedures based on RSRP values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Lei, which includes a mobile device performing a random access procedure, to include Akkarakaran’s teaching of a UE performing a random access procedure, for the benefit of having a faster and more efficient RACH procedure, in order to meet the low latency requirements of 5G/NR wireless systems (see [0005]).
Regarding claim 14, Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, teaches the terminal device according to claim 12.
Lei further teaches
wherein the processor is configured to:
determine the random-access type based on a channel measurement value and the first threshold, wherein the channel measurement value is a measurement value obtained based on RSRPs of the plurality of downlink reference signals
([0113] Accordingly, base station 105-a may transmit a configuration message 210 to identify configurations to utilize in determining whether to utilize the two-step RACH procedure or the four-step RACH procedure. The configuration message 210 may identify one or more reference signal resources for link quality measurements, the link quality measurements may include reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements based on a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS). The configuration message 210 may also indicate one or more thresholds for comparing the measurements in selecting either the two-step RACH procedure or the four-step RACH procedure in a random access procedure selection 215).
Regarding claim 15, Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, teaches the terminal device according to claim 14.
Lei further teaches
wherein the processor is configured to:
based on determining that the channel measurement value is greater than or equal to the first threshold, determine that the random-access manner is 2-step random access
([0113] The link quality measurements may include reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements based on a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS). The configuration message 210 may also indicate one or more thresholds for comparing the measurements in selecting either the two-step RACH procedure or the four-step RACH procedure in a random access procedure selection 215. For example, if a measurement (e.g., RSRP) is greater than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the two-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection); and
based on determining that a measurement value of at least one received downlink reference signal is greater than or equal to the second threshold, determine the downlink reference signal from the at least one downlink reference signal
([0113] The configuration message 210 may identify one or more reference signal resources for link quality measurements. The configuration message 210 may also indicate one or more thresholds for comparing the measurements. For example, if a measurement (e.g., RSRP) is greater than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the two-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection).
Regarding claim 16, Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, teaches the terminal device according to claim 14.
Lei further teaches
wherein the processor is configured to:
based on determining that the channel measurement value is less than the first threshold, determine that the random-access manner is 4-step random access
([0113] The link quality measurements may include reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements based on a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS). The configuration message 210 may also indicate one or more thresholds for comparing the measurements in selecting either the two-step RACH procedure or the four-step RACH procedure in a random access procedure selection 215. If the measurement is less than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the four-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection).
Regarding claim 17, Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, teaches the terminal device according to claim 12.
Lei further teaches
wherein the processor is configured to:
based on determining that an RSRP of at least one downlink reference signal in the plurality of received downlink reference signals is greater than or equal to the second threshold, determine the downlink reference signal from the at least one downlink reference signal
([0113] The configuration message 210 may identify one or more reference signal resources for link quality measurements that may include reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements. The configuration message 210 may also indicate one or more thresholds for comparing the measurements in selecting either the two-step RACH procedure or the four-step RACH procedure in a random access procedure selection 215. For example, a measurement (e.g., RSRP) is greater than the indicated threshold); and
based on a measurement value of the determined downlink reference signal is greater than or equal to the first threshold, determine that the random-access type is 2-step random access
([0113] The configuration message 210 may identify one or more reference signal resources for link quality measurements that may include reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements. If a measurement (e.g., RSRP) is greater than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the two-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection); or
based on a measurement value of the determined downlink reference signal is less than the first threshold, determine that the random-access type is 4-step random access
([0113] The configuration message 210 may identify one or more reference signal resources for link quality measurements that may include reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements. If the measurement is less than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the four-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection),
wherein a type of the measurement value of the determined downlink reference signal is the same as a type of the first threshold
([0113] The configuration message 210 may identify one or more reference signal resources for link quality measurements. The configuration message 210 may also indicate one or more thresholds for comparing the measurements in selecting either the two-step RACH procedure or the four-step RACH procedure in a random access procedure selection 215).
Regarding claim 18, Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, teaches the terminal device according to claim 12.
Lei further teaches
wherein the processor is configured to:
based on determining that RSRPs of the plurality of received downlink reference signals are less than the second threshold, determine the downlink reference signal from the plurality of received downlink reference signals, and determine that the random-access type is the 4-step random access
([0113] The configuration message 210 may identify one or more reference signal resources for link quality measurements that may include reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements. If the measurement is less than the indicated threshold, then the UE may select the four-step RACH procedure for establishing the connection).
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, and further in view of Enbuske, et al (US PG Publication 2022/0264659), hereafter Enbuske.
The equivalent citations from US Provisional Application# 62/886,754, to which US PG Publication 2022/0264659 has priority, are shown below.
Citation Used Equivalent Citation from US Provisional Application
[0179] [0066]
[0437] [00169]
Regarding 21, Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, teaches the method according to claim 1.
Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, does not teach
wherein the first threshold is an RSRP threshold include:
the first threshold is an RSRP threshold and at least one of the following:
a threshold of a size of to-be-transmitted uplink data, and a threshold of a time difference between a first random access transmission occasion and a second random access transmission occasion associated with a same downlink reference signal, wherein the first random access transmission occasion and the second random access transmission occasion correspond to different random access types.
In the same field of endeavor, Enbuske teaches
wherein the first threshold is an RSRP threshold include
([0437] As another option, the network node 16 may guide, or control, the WD's 22 MCS selection, e.g. through configured conditions, such as thresholds. Such thresholds may be related to any of measured RSRP):
the first threshold is an RSRP threshold
([0437] As another option, the network node 16 may guide, or control, the WD's 22 MCS selection, e.g. through configured conditions, such as thresholds. Such thresholds may be related to any of measured RSRP) and at least one of the following:
a threshold of a size of to-be-transmitted uplink data
([0437] As another option, the network node 16 may guide, or control, the WD's 22 MCS selection, e.g. through configured conditions, such as thresholds. Such thresholds may be related to any of measured RSRP, size of MsgA.sub.PUSCH (Used by WD wireless device to select 2-step random access resources that fulfill the appropriate size of msgA PUSCH transmission – see [0179])), and
a threshold of a time difference between a first random access transmission occasion and a second random access transmission occasion associated with a same downlink reference signal, wherein the first random access transmission occasion and the second random access transmission occasion correspond to different random access types.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, which includes a mobile device performing a random access procedure, to include Enbuske’s teaching of a mobile device performing a random access procedure, for the benefit of advantageously allowing for a network node to configure the 2-step random access procedure in an optimal way (see [0179]).
Regarding 22, Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, teaches the method according to claim 10.
Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, does not teach
wherein the first threshold is an RSRP threshold include:
the first threshold is an RSRP threshold and at least one of the following:
a threshold of a size of to-be-transmitted uplink data, and a threshold of a time difference between a first random access transmission occasion and a second random access transmission occasion associated with a same downlink reference signal, wherein the first random access transmission occasion and the second random access transmission occasion correspond to different random access types.
In the same field of endeavor, Enbuske teaches
wherein the first threshold is an RSRP threshold include
([0437] As another option, the network node 16 may guide, or control, the WD's 22 MCS selection, e.g. through configured conditions, such as thresholds. Such thresholds may be related to any of measured RSRP):
the first threshold is an RSRP threshold
([0437] As another option, the network node 16 may guide, or control, the WD's 22 MCS selection, e.g. through configured conditions, such as thresholds. Such thresholds may be related to any of measured RSRP) and at least one of the following:
a threshold of a size of to-be-transmitted uplink data
([0437] As another option, the network node 16 may guide, or control, the WD's 22 MCS selection, e.g. through configured conditions, such as thresholds. Such thresholds may be related to any of measured RSRP, size of MsgA.sub.PUSCH (Used by WD wireless device to select 2-step random access resources that fulfill the appropriate size of msgA PUSCH transmission – see [0179])), and
a threshold of a time difference between a first random access transmission occasion and a second random access transmission occasion associated with a same downlink reference signal, wherein the first random access transmission occasion and the second random access transmission occasion correspond to different random access types.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, which includes a mobile device performing a random access procedure, to include Enbuske’s teaching of a mobile device performing a random access procedure, for the benefit of advantageously allowing for a network node to configure the 2-step random access procedure in an optimal way (see [0179]).
Regarding 23, Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, teaches the terminal device according to claim 12.
Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, does not teach
wherein the first threshold is an RSRP threshold include:
the first threshold is an RSRP threshold and at least one of the following:
a threshold of a size of to-be-transmitted uplink data, and a threshold of a time difference between a first random access transmission occasion and a second random access transmission occasion associated with a same downlink reference signal, wherein the first random access transmission occasion and the second random access transmission occasion correspond to different random access types.
In the same field of endeavor, Enbuske teaches
wherein the first threshold is an RSRP threshold include
([0437] As another option, the network node 16 may guide, or control, the WD's 22 MCS selection, e.g. through configured conditions, such as thresholds. Such thresholds may be related to any of measured RSRP):
the first threshold is an RSRP threshold
([0437] As another option, the network node 16 may guide, or control, the WD's 22 MCS selection, e.g. through configured conditions, such as thresholds. Such thresholds may be related to any of measured RSRP) and at least one of the following:
a threshold of a size of to-be-transmitted uplink data
([0437] As another option, the network node 16 may guide, or control, the WD's 22 MCS selection, e.g. through configured conditions, such as thresholds. Such thresholds may be related to any of measured RSRP, size of MsgA.sub.PUSCH (Used by WD wireless device to select 2-step random access resources that fulfill the appropriate size of msgA PUSCH transmission – see [0179])), and
a threshold of a time difference between a first random access transmission occasion and a second random access transmission occasion associated with a same downlink reference signal, wherein the first random access transmission occasion and the second random access transmission occasion correspond to different random access types.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Lei, in view of Akkarakaran, which includes a mobile device performing a random access procedure, to include Enbuske’s teaching of a mobile device performing a random access procedure, for the benefit of advantageously allowing for a network node to configure the 2-step random access procedure in an optimal way (see [0179]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xu, et al (US PG Publication 2020/0260498), hereafter Xu, teaches 2-step random access.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK E DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641