DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restriction
In a telephone call dated 08/13/2025, Applicant was required to select one metal, M, specify what type of ring the two substituents, RE are joined to form, and specify which ring of Formula II is coordinated to metal, M.
In this call, a species wherein M is iridium and wherein two RE are joined to form a 6-membered, aromatic ring which is further coordinated to the metal M was elected. This will be herein after referred to as Species I.
Species I was not identified.
Under MPEP 803.02, the search was expanded to find an examinable species.
A species wherein M is iridium, one of RE is heteroaryl, another one of RE is the metal M, and the two are joined to form a ring fused to ring E is being examined. This species will herein after be referred to as Species II.
Species II, drawn to claims 1-2, 5, 11-13, 17, 20, and 24-26, is examined herein.
Response to Amendment
In the response filed 05/18/2026, the claims were amended.
These amendments are hereby entered.
In light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims, the objection to claims 1, 17, 20, and 27 is withdrawn by the Office.
In light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 11-13, 17, and 20-27 as failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention, and the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 11-13, 17, 20-23, 25, and 27 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 2022/0069237 A1), and claim 26 as being unpatentable over Kwon above and further in view of Yi et al. (US 2021/0288268 A1) are withdrawn by the Office.
Claims 1-20 were originally filed.
Claims 21-30 have been added.
Claims 3-4, 7, 10, 14-15, 18-19, 23, and 28 are canceled.
Claims 1, 8-9, 17, 20, 22, and 25-27 are instantly amended.
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 11-13, 16-17, 20-22, 24-27, and 29-30 are pending in the application, of which claims 6, 8-9, 16, 21-22, 27, and 29-30 are withdrawn from consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 17, and 20 contain the following structure.
This structure is objected to because the ring comprising substituent RC only has two double bonds and forms a cyclohexadiene ring rather than an aromatic benzene ring. Examiner believes this to be an error because such a structure does not appear to represent the claimed invention. Upon response, please either add the missing double bond (MPEP 2163.07 II. – Obvious Errors) or make it of record that no error is present and Applicant means to claim a cyclohexadiene ring.
If Applicant intends to claim a cyclohexadiene ring, several dependent claims may be subject to a rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and/or 112(d).
Examiner notes that this structure is also present in at least paragraph [0072] of the instant specification and other dependent claims withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 5, 11-13, 17, 20, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to independent claims 1, 17, and 20, the claims contain variable T, however, this variable is not defined in the instant claims or specification.
In continuing examination, this variable is being interpreted as having the same definition as T’, which is an element selected from nitrogen, boron, or phosphorus.
Claims 2, 5, 11-13, and 24-26 are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Please note that this error is also present in other dependent claims withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 11-13, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ji et al. (US 2021/0115052 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Ji discloses the compound below (page 79).
This compound meets the requirements of condition (b) of instant Formula I when A is a monocyclic 6-membered heterocyclic (pyrimidine) ring, B is represented by Formula II, Z1 is a nitrogen atom, Z2 is a carbon atom, K1 and K2 are direct bonds, X1 through X7 are all carbon atoms, T’ is a nitrogen atom, two RA are joined to form a substituted, condensed benzene ring, RC and RD are not present, and RE represents the center metal atom, iridium, and a heterocyclic ring (ring A), and the two RE are joined to form a 5-membered ring which is fused to ring E.
With respect to claims 11 and 12, Ji teaches the compound of claim 1, and the compound has the formula Ir(LA)2(LC), wherein p is 2 and r is 1.
With respect to claim 13, Ji teaches the compound of claim 11, and ligand LC is represented by the instant, first embodiment when Ra1 and Rc1 are each 3-pentyl and Rb1 is a hydrogen atom.
With respect to claim 25, Ji teaches the compound of claim 1, and T’ is not directly bonded to a ring that coordinates to the metal, M.
The applied reference has a common assignee and applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (US 2021/0115052 A1) as applied above.
With respect to claim 17, Ji discloses an organic light emitting device comprising an anode (115), a cathode (160), and an organic layer between the electrodes comprising a ligand LA of Formula I (Figure 1 and paragraph 0099), such as the compound below (page 79).
This compound meets the requirements of condition (b) of instant Formula I when A is a monocyclic 6-membered heterocyclic (pyrimidine) ring, B is represented by Formula II, Z1 is a nitrogen atom, Z2 is a carbon atom, K1 and K2 are direct bonds, X1 through X7 are all carbon atoms, T’ is a nitrogen atom, two RA are joined to form a substituted, condensed benzene ring, RC and RD are not present, and RE represents the center metal atom, iridium, and a heterocyclic ring (ring A), and the two RE are joined to form a 5-membered ring which is fused to ring E.
Ji teaches that the disclosed compounds have a lowest triplet excited state suitable for emitting near infrared light, which make them useful for display and lighting applications (paragraph 0156).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound in an organic light emitting device in order to obtain infrared light, as taught by Ji.
With respect to claim 20, Ji discloses a consumer product comprising an organic light emitting device comprising an anode (115), a cathode (160), and an organic layer between the electrodes comprising a ligand LA of Formula I (Figure 1 and paragraph 0099), such as the compound below (page 79).
This compound meets the requirements of condition (b) of instant Formula I when A is a monocyclic 6-membered heterocyclic (pyrimidine) ring, B is represented by Formula II, Z1 is a nitrogen atom, Z2 is a carbon atom, K1 and K2 are direct bonds, X1 through X7 are all carbon atoms, T’ is a nitrogen atom, two RA are joined to form a substituted, condensed benzene ring, RC and RD are not present, and RE represents the center metal atom, iridium, and a heterocyclic ring (ring A), and the two RE are joined to form a 5-membered ring which is fused to ring E.
Ji teaches that the disclosed compounds have a lowest triplet excited state suitable for emitting near infrared light, which make them useful for display and lighting applications (paragraph 0156).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound in the organic layer of an organic light emitting device, and incorporate the organic light emitting device into a consumer product in order to obtain infrared light, as taught by Ji.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5, 11-13, 17, 20, and 24-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5, 11-13, 17, 20, and 23-25 of copending Application No. 17/985,088 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Specifically,
The compounds of instant claim 1 all fall within the limitations of the compound of claim 1 of ‘088. This is further supported by the compounds of claim 23 of ‘088 which demonstrates the overlap clearly encompasses compounds of the instant species.
The limitations on R groups of instant claim 2 are identical to the limitations on R groups of claim 2 of ‘088.
The limitations on RA, RC and RD of instant claim 5 are identical to the limitations on RA, RC and RD of claim 5 of ‘088.
The chemical formulae of instant claims 11 and 12 are identical to the chemical formulae of claims 11 and 12 of ‘088.
The ancillary ligands LB and LC of instant claim 13 are met by the ancillary ligands LB and LC of claim 13 of ‘088
The device of instant claim 17 is met by claim 17 of ‘088.
The consumer product of instant claim 20 is met by the consumer product of claim 20 of ‘088.
Instant claims 24 and 25 are analogous in scope to claims 24 and 25 of ‘088.
Instant claim 26 is met by the independent claim of ‘088.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786