DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on or after October 15, 2025 has been entered. Claims 7-12 remain pending in the application. Claim 10 is amended. In response to the applicant’s arguments and amendments, a more detailed action and references are provided.
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed October 15, 2025 have been fully considered, but they are not fully persuasive. Regarding the applicant’s arguments that:
“Communication device” should not be interpreted under 112f: This argument is not found to be persuasive. The claim, as written meets the requirements of a means plus function for a 112f. The 112f interpretation is therefore appropriate and sustained.
The Amendment to Claim 10 overcomes the previously set forth rejection in view of 112b for lack of antecedent basis: The examiner concedes that the amendment overcomes the 112b rejection. The rejection is subsequently withdrawn.
Viroli does not teach receiving an operation time and a target output value corresponding to product information: The examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument. As set forth in previous correspondence, Viroli teaches a communication device configured to receive an operation time and a target output power value corresponding to product information (the prior art discloses that “the present invention program product stored on a computer usable medium… causing a computer to perform the method” [0015]. The computer serves as the communication device for the invention allowing for the input of the target operation time and target power by the user). As such, the operation time and target output value are set by the user and therefore must be set in accordance to the characteristics of the product being processed.
Viroli does not teach the limitation of Claim 7 as regards the “resonance current”: As set forth in previous correspondence, this feature is taught by Viroli as modified by Brosnan which teaches this limitation.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-6 and 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method of a heating apparatus, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 20, 2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation is: “a communication device configured to receive an operation time and a target output power…” in claim 7 which is “configured to received information from a user terminal and/or server” [00113]”. The user terminal and server are structural elements that will be used to limit the claim of the communication device.
Because this claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viroli (EP 3764740 A1) in view of Brosnan et al (US Patent Pub No. 2014/0014647 A1):
Regarding Claim 7: Viroli teaches an induction heating apparatus (“induction cooking hob” [0001]) comprising: a working coil disposed to correspond to a heating region (“the cooking hob comprises one or more induction coil” which correspond to the heating region [0002]); a drive circuit configured to provide a switching signal to each of the switching elements (The prior art teaches an “induction generator”[0002] which provides switching power to “switching elements that are switches” [0011] which functions as a drive circuit for the invention and reads on the limitations of the claim); a controller configured to drive the working coil by providing, to the drive circuit, a control signal for adjusting the switching signal (the prior art additionally teaches a “control unit”[0002] which is configured to drive the working coil by providing, to the drive circuit, a control signal for adjusting the switching signal); a communication device configured to receive an operation time and a target output power value corresponding to product information (the prior art discloses that “the present invention program product stored on a computer usable medium… causing a computer to perform the method” [0015]. The computer serves as the communication device for the invention allowing for the input of the target operation time and target power by the user) ; and a resonance current sensor configured to measure a resonance current value of the working coil (the prior art discloses a “detector for detecting a current” [0003] which is known in the art to be able to detect the point of resonance of the relevant working coil and reads on the limitations of the claim), wherein the controller is configured to: drive the working coil based on the operation time and the target output power value (the prior art additionally teaches a “control unit”[0002] which is configured to drive the working coil by based on the operation time (“predetermined time period” [0005]) and target output value (The art teaches that the controller drives the working coil according to the power target “threshold value EDthr” [0028]) which reads on the limitations of the claim), determine a container efficiency index of the container provided on the working coil based on an actual output power value of the working coil and the target output power value (the controller determines energy efficiency EE provided to the container is given by the relationship EE=EP/EI wherein EP is the electric energy transferred to a cooking pot and EI is the electric energy provided by the mains supply” [0009] which reads on the limitations of the claim), and adjust at least one of the operation time or the target output power value based on the determined container efficiency index (the controller determines energy efficiency EE is given by the relationship EE=EP/EI wherein EP is the electric energy transferred to a cooking pot and EI is the electric energy provided by the mains supply” [0010] which would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to be an equivalent relationship between the actual output over the target output and reads on the limitations of the claims) and adjusts the power /time accordingly as the steps for “estimating dissipated electric energy and comparing [it] with the threshold value are periodically repeated…By this way, the threshold value is not exceeded for a longer time interval…the present invention allows an optimized energy efficiency, while possibly the cooking speed is reduced…[or] elongated” accordingly[0031-0033]) .
Viroli does not teach an inverter circuit, that the current sensor explicitly measures the resonance current, or that the controller is further configured to determine a resonance current value of the working coil based on the resonance current sensor and compare the resonance current value with a preset reference current value),
However, Brosnan discloses an induction heating apparatus with an inverter circuit (“inverter module” Figure 1 Element 108),
Brosnan further teaches that the controller is configured to determine a resonance current value of the working coil based on the resonance current sensor and compare the resonance current value with a preset reference current value
(“controller processes the signal from the feedback circuit to generate information related to the current magnitude, pan presence and proximity to system resonance (full power) …the characteristics if the signal from the feedback current is used to determine…the resonant frequency of the power circuit with the pan present” [0025-0026] the last step of which requires the comparison of the resonance current value with the preset current reference and thus reads on the limitations of the claim)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Viroli with the inverter circuit of Brosnan in order to “prevent the occurrence of power loss caused by an excessive switching operation (as evidenced by Kim (US Patent No. 7,176,424 B2) in the Abstract).” Additionally, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Viroli with the configuration of the controller to circuit of Brosnan to determine the resonance current and compare the resonance current value with a preset reference current value because “the closer the system is driven to the resonant frequency, the more efficiently power can be delivered..[as] the maximum power output of the system occurs are resonance” Brosnan [0022].
Regarding Claim 8: Viroli further teaches that the communication device receives, from a server (“ a computer program product stored on a computer usable medium, comprising computer readable program means for causing a computer to perform the method [of operating the induction cooking hob]” [0022], the program of which is the server of the invention), the operation time and the target output power value that correspond to the product information (the computer program allows the user to input the target output power and the operation time into the computer (or communication device) which reads on the limitations of the Claims). All of the limitations of Claim 8 are taught by Viroli.
Regarding Claim 9: Viroli further teaches that the controller is to determine the container efficiency index by dividing the actual output power value by the target output power value (the controller determines energy efficiency EE is given by the relationship EE=EP/EI wherein EP is the actual output power “transferred to a cooking pot and is the electric energy provided by the mains supply” [0012] and EI is the EP + ED in which EP is the actual power and ED is the target power [0025] which reads on the limitations of the claims). All of the limitations of Claim 9 are taught by Viroli.
Regarding Claim 10: Viroli further teaches that the controller is configured to determine whether the target output power value is equal to the maximum output power value (According to the interpretation provided in the section on 112b rejections, the maximum output power is understood as a preset threshold to which the dissipated electric energy is compared. The prior art discloses that the target output power (dissipated electric energy ED) is compared with a threshold value EDthr…which is defined in in such a way that a certain desired level of energy efficiency EE is obtained. [0032)], and to adjust at least one of the operation time or the target output power value based on a result of the determination (The prior art further discloses that the output power is adjusted once the comparison is performed “If the dissipated electric energy ED is not bigger than the threshold value EDthr for said dissipated electric energy, then …the working parameters of the induction generator are maintained. However, if the dissipated electric energy ED is bigger than the threshold value EDthr for said dissipated electric energy, then the control unit acts on one or more working parameters of the induction generator in step 18, i.e. the working parameters of the induction generator are changed. For example, the estimated power transfer to the induction coil is reduced. [0031-0033]” Additionally, the time is also accordingly adjusted as the steps for “estimating dissipated electric energy and comparing [it] with the threshold value are periodically repeated… this way, the threshold value is not exceeded for a longer time interval…the present invention allows an optimized energy efficiency, while…the cooking speed is reduced…[or] elongated” accordingly [0031-0033] which reads on the limitations of the claims.) All of the limitations of Claim 10 are taught by Viroli.
Regarding Claim 11: Viroli further teaches that the controller is configured to adjust the operation time based on the container efficiency index, when the target output power value is determined to be equal to the maximum output power value (The prior art teaches that when the target output power value is determined to be equal to the maximum output power value, the time is also accordingly adjusted as the steps for “estimating dissipated electric energy and comparing [it] with the threshold value are periodically repeated… this way, the threshold value is not exceeded for a longer time interval…the present invention allows an optimized energy efficiency, while…the cooking speed is reduced…[or] elongated” accordingly [0031-0033] which reads on the limitations of the claims ), and the controller is configured to adjust the target output power value based on the container efficiency index, unless the target output power value is determined to be equal to the maximum output power value (The prior art further discloses that the controller adjusts the output power once the comparison is performed “If the dissipated electric energy ED is not bigger than the threshold value EDthr for said dissipated electric energy, then …the working parameters of the induction generator are maintained. However, if the dissipated electric energy ED is bigger than the threshold value EDthr for said dissipated electric energy, then the control unit acts on one or more working parameters of the induction generator in step 18, i.e. the working parameters of the induction generator are changed. For example, the estimated power transfer to the induction coil is reduced. [0031-0033]” which reads on the limitations of the claim). All of the limitations of Claim11 are disclosed by Viroli.
Regarding Claim 12: Viroli further teaches that the controller is configured to re-adjust the maximum output power value to be the target output power value, when the adjusted target output power value exceeds the maximum output power value, and the controller is configured to adjust the operation time based on the initial target output power value, the maximum output power value and the container efficiency index (The prior art teaches that the determination of the Efficiency index and subsequent adjustments described in the sections regarding Claim 10 and 11 are “periodically repeated” [0031] by the controller which reads on the limitations of the claim) All of the limitations of Claim 12 are taught by Viroli.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOLAN OLIVA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761