DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on 02/03/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Therefore, new rejections have been formulated to address the limitations as set forth in independent claim 1 and the similarly amended independent and their respective dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-12, 14-19, 23, 25-27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran et al. (U.S. Pub. 20220294520) in view of Wu et al. (U.S. Pub. 20230328807)
Regarding claim 1 Tran disclose a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, via a Uu link, control signaling indicating a plurality of configuration for reporting, via a relay device, one or more beam failure detection reports via a relay device para. 5, “a communication apparatus comprising a receiver, which, in operation, receives configuration information for beam failure recovery (BFR) of a plurality of SCells operating in a network”;
receiving, via a Uu link, a control message activating beam failure detection reporting at the UE in accordance with a configuration of a plurality of the configurations para. 5, “circuitry, which, in operation, performs beam failure detection (BFD) and report based on the configuration information”;
monitoring, via a Uu link, for one or more reference signals from a network entity to determine one or more beam failure instances with respect to communications between the UE and the network entity via a Uu link, para. 73, “A UE can obtain radio level link quality of periodic channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) to detect beam failure of a SCell”; and
transmitting, via the relay device and in accordance with the configuration, a beam failure detection report prior to a beam failure declaration by the UE para. 81, Fig. 8, “The at least one radio transmitter 802 may transmit the beam failure report”,
wherein the beam failure declaration is based at least in part on a quantity of the one or more beam failure instances exceeding a threshold, wherein the relay device comprises a second UE para. 73, “When the level link quality for all the corresponding CSI-RS resources is above a threshold in a time instance (this threshold is defined as the level at which the downlink radio link cannot be reliably received.
receiving a beam switch command after transmitting the beam failure detection report and prior to a beam failure declaration by the UE. The Examiner respectfully disagree, Tran teach, “the gNB updates the UE with the configuration information. In an embodiment, the group-based SCell beam failure recovery configuration information can be updated periodically or aperiodically”, see para. 102; for further clarification Tran teaches, “Another example embodiment is a method that includes receiving, at a communication apparatus, configuration information for BFR of multiple SCells operating in a network; and performing, by the communication apparatus, BFD and report based on the configuration information”, see para. 80.
Tran does not specifically disclose executing the claimed functions via a Uu link, However, Wu teach, “A RRC connection of a Uu link between the relay UE and the BS 102 has been already established, Wu further teach, “ wherein the relay device comprises a second UE. “the UE may further selecting a second relay UE and establish a PC5 RRC connection of a link between the UE and the second relay UE”, see para. 152.
Wu further teach, receiving, via the sidelink channel connection with the relay device and in response to transmitting the beam failure detection report, para. 114-125 “the relay UE 103 detects a sidelink RLF between the UE 101 and the relay UE 103 when at least one of the following conditions happens: upon an indication from a sidelink RLC entity of the relay UE 103 that the maximum number of retransmissions for a specific destination (i.e., the UE 101) has been reached. the relay UE 103 receives a RRCReconfigurationFailureSidelink message from the UE 101, after the relay UE 103 transmits a RRCReconfigurationSidelink message to the UE 101.
Tran and Wu are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to beam failure recovery mechanisms.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in the system of Tran so the system can is able to receive information from the network using an intermediary node. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure that the terminal receive the configuration information and updates from the main node even when it is out of reach of the network.
Regarding claim 5 Tran disclose, wherein the one or more trigger conditions are based at least in part on a quantity of consecutive beam failure instances exceeding a threshold, a total quantity of beam failure instances exceeding a threshold percentage of a parameter, a change in channel strength exceeding a threshold, or a combination thereof para. 73, “When the level link quality for all the corresponding CSI-RS resources is above a threshold in a time instance (this threshold is defined as the level at which the downlink radio link cannot be reliably received, and it corresponds to the block error rate outage (BLER_out) of a hypothetical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission), a beam failure instance (BFI) can be identified”.
Regarding claim 6 Tran disclose, wherein transmitting the beam failure detection report comprises:
transmitting, as part of the beam failure detection report, information indicative of a beam identifier, a spatial relationship between the beam identifier and the network entity, a beam failure instance count associated with the one or more beam failure instances, a beam failure instance record log, a set of channel measurements, an identifier of the UE, or a combination thereof para. 73, “the UE generates and transmits the BF report that includes at least the group identifier for each individual group indicated by the configuration information”.
Regarding claim 7 Tran disclose, wherein the set of channel measurements comprises a signal to interference and noise ratio, a reference signal received power measurement, a pathloss measurement, an interference value, or a combination thereof para. 73, “The CSI-RS(s) can be explicitly configured to measure for the BFD by Radio Resource Control Protocol message”.
Regarding claim 9 Tran disclose, wherein receiving the control message comprises: receiving an indication that beam failure detection reporting is activated at the UE in accordance with a first configuration of the plurality of configurations reports para. 98, “an example in which there are three groups. Here, there are multiple possibilities or options to configure the BFD operation for each individual group. For example, these options include a fixed value of n.sub.min equal to one, a fixed value of n.sub.min greater than one, and a fixed value of N.sub.max.sup.g being applied for the first, second, and third groups, respectively”.
Regarding claim 10 Tran disclose, further comprising: receiving one or both of a medium access control-control element or downlink control information indicating that the UE is to switch from a first configuration of the plurality of configurations to a second configuration of the plurality of configurations para. 102, “the gNB updates the UE with the configuration information. In an embodiment, the group-based SCell beam failure recovery configuration information can be updated periodically or aperiodically”.
Regarding claim 11 Tran disclose, further comprising: transmitting a request to activate beam failure detection reporting at the UE, wherein receiving the control message is based at least in part on transmitting the request para. 102, “a method that includes receiving, at a communication apparatus, configuration information for BFR of multiple SCells operating in a network; and performing, by the communication apparatus, BFD and report based on the configuration information”.
Regarding claim 12 Tran disclose, wherein transmitting the request comprises:
transmitting one or both of a medium access control-control element or uplink control information indicating the request to activate the beam failure detection reporting at the UE para. 100, “an example of explicit approach that occurs via the control information. For example, this approach occurs via at least Physical Downlink Control Channel Downlink Control Information (PDCCH DCI), MAC Control Elements (MAC CE), or RRC message”.
Regarding claim 14 Tran disclose, wherein receiving the beam switch command comprises: receiving one or both of a medium access control-control element or downlink control information indicating the beam switch command para. 100, “an example of explicit approach that occurs via the control information. For example, this approach occurs via at least Physical Downlink Control Channel Downlink Control Information (PDCCH DCI), MAC Control Elements (MAC CE), or RRC message”.
Regarding claim 15 Tran disclose, further comprising: monitoring for a set of reference signals from the network entity based at least in part on transmitting the beam failure detection report para. 73, “A UE can obtain radio level link quality of periodic channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) to detect beam failure of a SCell”.
Regarding claim 16 Tran disclose, wherein transmitting the beam failure detection report comprises: transmitting, via the relay device and in accordance with the configuration, a sidelink para. 34, “the present disclosure may be applied to any of uplink, downlink and sidelink” medium access control-control element comprising the beam failure detection report para. 137, “at step 1022 may also include report content for TRP#1 and/or TRP#2 and is reported to the network via at least an uplink control information (UCI) message, a medium access control layer control element (MAC CE) message or a radio resource control (RRC) message”.
Tran does not specifically disclose via the relay device. However, Wu teach, “The relay UE provides a relay service for the remote UE through the sidelink.”, see para. 96.
Tran and Wu are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to beam failure recovery mechanisms.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in the system of Tran so the system can is able to receive information from the network using an intermediary node. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure that the terminal receive the configuration information and updates from the main node even when it is out of reach of the network.
Regarding claim 17 Tran disclose, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving radio resource control signaling indicating the configuration for reporting, via the relay device, the one or more beam failure detection reports para. 137, “RRC is a higher layer signaling (protocol) used for UE and gNB configuration”.
Tran does not specifically disclose via the relay device. However, Wu teach, “The relay UE provides a relay service for the remote UE through the sidelink.”, see para. 96.
Tran and Wu are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to beam failure recovery mechanisms.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in the system of Tran so the system can is able to receive information from the network using an intermediary node. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure that the terminal receive the configuration information and updates from the main node even when it is out of reach of the network.
Regarding claim 18 Tran disclose, wherein receiving the control message comprises: receiving one or both of a medium access control-control element or downlink control information activating beam failure detection reporting at the UE in accordance with the configuration para. 71, “an example embodiment specifies BFR for a SCell with both DL and UL, as well as DL-only”; para. 100, “an example of explicit approach that occurs via the control information. For example, this approach occurs via at least Physical Downlink Control Channel Downlink Control Information (PDCCH DCI), MAC Control Elements (MAC CE), or RRC message”.
Claim 19 recites a transmitting method corresponding to the receiving method of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claims 23-26 the limitations of claims 23-26, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 6, 13-14 and 9, respectively.
Claim 27 recites an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 29 recites an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 19 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 19.
Claim(s) 2-5, 20-22, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran et al. (U.S. Pub. 20220294520) in view of Wu et al. (U.S. Pub. 20230328807), further in view of Kundargi at al. (U.S. Pub. 20190052344).
Regarding claim 2 Tran and Wu does not specifically disclose, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises:
receiving, as part of the control signaling, information indicative of a periodicity for reporting, via the relay device, the one or more beam failure detection reports. However, Kundargi teach, “initially, the gNB signals the UE to configure the beam reporting periodicity 1701”, see para. 363,
Kundargi further teach, wherein transmitting the beam failure detection report is based at least in part on the periodicity para. 360, “UE provides beam measurement reports to the gNB according to the periodicity configured by the gNB”.
Tran, Wu and Kundargi are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to beam failure recovery mechanisms.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kundargi in the system of Tran and Wu to be able to periodically reporting the measured beam metrics. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow the base station to assign beams to the user equipments based on the received reports.
Regarding claim 3 Tran and Wu does not specifically disclose, wherein transmitting the beam failure detection report comprises:
transmitting an aperiodic beam failure detection report based at least in part on determining that one or more trigger conditions have been satisfied. However, Kundargi teach, “Beam Reporting; At least network triggered aperiodic beam reporting is supported under P-1, P-2, and P-3”, see para. 284.
Tran, Wu and Kundargi are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to beam failure recovery mechanisms.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kundargi in the system of Tran and Wu to be able to periodically reporting the measured beam metrics based on the configuration received. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow the base station to assign beams to the user equipments based on the received reports.
Regarding claim 4 Tran and Wu does not specifically disclose, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving, as part of the control signaling, information indicative of the one or more trigger conditions for reporting, via the relay device, one or more aperiodic beam failure detection reports. However, Kundargi teach, para. 365, “In addition to the periodic Beam measurement reports, additional aperiodic beam measurement reports can also be scheduled by the gNB”.
Tran, Wu and Kundargi are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to beam failure recovery mechanisms.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kundargi in the system of Tran and Wu to be able to periodically reporting the measured beam metrics based on the configuration received. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow the base station to assign beams to the user equipments based on the received reports.
Regarding claim 5 Tran disclose, wherein the one or more trigger conditions are based at least in part on a quantity of consecutive beam failure instances exceeding a threshold, a total quantity of beam failure instances exceeding a threshold percentage of a parameter, a change in channel strength exceeding a threshold, or a combination thereof para. 73, “When the level link quality for all the corresponding CSI-RS resources is above a threshold in a time instance (this threshold is defined as the level at which the downlink radio link cannot be reliably received, and it corresponds to the block error rate outage (BLER_out) of a hypothetical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission), a beam failure instance (BFI) can be identified”.
Regarding claims 20-22 the limitations of claims 20-22, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 2 and 4-5, respectively.
Regarding claims 28 and 30 the limitations of claims 28 and 30, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 2 and 5, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Zhang et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210021329) which disclose(s) method for use in a wireless communications by a user equipment and network entity, involves determining resources to monitor for beam failure detection (BFD) when the user equipment is in a mode of operation.
/RR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471