Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims Status
The amendments and remarks filed 04/27/2026 are acknowledged.
Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 2-6, 10, and 12-20 are canceled.
Claims 1, 7-9, 11, and 21 are pending and under examination.
Withdrawn
The previous rejections of claims 1, 7-9, 11, and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn. Applicant has amended claim 1 to overcome the rejections. However, the claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. See rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 11, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman et al., 2016 (instant PTO-892) in view of Chow et al., 2018 (instant PTO-892) and Cerchietti et al., 2019 (instant PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Coleman teaches administering rituximab as the current standard of care for most patients with untreated or relapsed/refractory diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) [see Abstract].
However, Coleman does not teach assessing a level of myeloid inflammation in a tumor of the patient comprising measuring a gene expression level of CCL20, determining whether the patient should be administered an effective dose of anti-CD19 CAR T-cells with a second therapeutic (i.e. the rituximab of Coleman) at least in part from measuring the gene expression level of CCL20, or administering the effective dose of anti-CD19 CAR T-cells and the second therapeutic agent if the gene expression level of CCL20 is above the predetermined level.
Chow teaches that anti-CD19 CAR T-cell therapy is a promising treatment for relapsed/refractory diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (R/R DLBCL) with 50-80% overall response rate (ORR) and 30-50% complete response (CR) rates [page 780, right column, see conclusion].
Cerchietti teaches that DLBCL cells expressed higher levels of CCL20 [page 2, first paragraph].
Since CCL20 levels were measured, the measured gene expression level of the CCL20 is necessarily higher than an unspecified predetermined level.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of the applied references to better identify those patients with DLBCL that would benefit from therapeutic intervention with the named treatments. It would have been obvious to combine the rituximab (second therapeutic agent) of Coleman with the anti-CD19 CAR T-cells of Chow to treat DLBCL because both are known to treat DLBCL. This follows the logic of MPEP 2144.06 which states “it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the separate, known compositions for the same purpose of treating DLBCL. It further would have been obvious to measure CCL20 levels, as taught by Cerchietti, because CCL20 can be used to identify and monitor the DLBCL patients. One would have been motivated to identify patients that are in need of treatment based on their CCL20 levels because Cerchietti teaches that DLBCL cells expressed higher levels of CCL20. Additionally, one would have been motivated to administer the anti-CD19 CAR T-cells and the rituximab (second therapeutic agent) if the level of CCL20 is above some predetermined levels because the art indicated that CCL20 is correlated to DLBCL, and since DLBCL is an aggressive lymphoma, one would want to treat the DLBCL aggressively by using the anti-CD19 CAR T-cells and rituximab (second therapeutic agent) together.
Further, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007), discloses that if a technique has been used to improve one method, and a person of ordinary skill would recognize that it would be used in similar methods in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its application is beyond that person’s skill. It would be obvious to apply a known technique to a known product to be used in a known method that is ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Thus, the combination of prior art references as combined provide a prima facie case of obviousness, absent convincing evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 9, it further would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the median value of CCL20 to be the predetermined level of CCL20 because the median is the center value of the data and is less likely to be skewed due to any outliers in the CCL20 levels (see Wikipedia, Median; 03/31/2023, PTO-892). Since the median by definition separates the higher half from the lower half of a set of values, cancers would necessarily have values higher and lower than the median value, and so, the value, whether higher or lower, would still be indicative of cancer. One would recognize that when the value is higher than the median, the patient may have a more aggressive cancer, and therefore should be treated with a more aggressive treatment (i.e. anti-CD19 CAR T-cells and rituximab).
Claim 11 is included in this rejection because Coleman teaches that rituximab is the treatment option for first-line R/R DLBCL [page 7, see Conclusions]. Therefore, since it would have been obvious to combine the rituximab (second therapeutic agent) with the anti-CD19 CAR T-cells to treat DLBCL, it also would have been obvious to have administered the two as a first line therapy.
Claims 1, 7-9, 11, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman et al., 2016 (instant PTO-892), in view of Chow et al., 2018 (instant PTO-892) and Cerchietti et al., 2019 (instant PTO-892), as applied to claims 1, 9, 11, and 21 above, and further in view of Li et al., 2019 (instant PTO-892).
The teachings of Coleman, Chow, and Cerchietti are above.
However, Coleman, Chow, and Cerchietti do not specifically teach quantifying a tumor myeloid cell density in a tumor by measuring levels of CD68+ cells, and administering the effective dose of anti-CD19 CAR T-cells and the second therapeutic agent (rituximab) if the tumor myeloid density in the tumor is above the predetermined level.
Regarding claims 7-8, Li teaches that high CD68 expression (i.e. CD68+ cells) was correlated with clinicopathological characteristics and that DLBCL patients with high CD68 had significantly poorer overall survival (OS) and poorer progression-free survival (PFS) [see Abstract]. The teachings therefore imply that the higher the CD68 expression levels in the cells, the more aggressive the disease state with a decrease in overall survival and progression-free survival.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the anti-CD19 CAR T-cells, as taught by Chow, and the rituximab (second therapeutic agent), as taught by Coleman, to the subject with DLBCL of Cerchietti if the tumor myeloid cell density (levels of CD68+ cells) are above the predetermined myeloid cell density level because Li teaches that high CD68 expression is correlated with clinicopathological characteristics and that DLBCL patients with high CD68 had significantly poorer overall survival (OS) and poorer progression-free survival (PFS). One would have been motivated to administer the anti-CD19 CAR T-cells and the rituximab if the tumor myeloid cell density (i.e. CD68+ cells) is above the predetermined level because the art indicates that higher levels are associated with DLBCL and that higher levels of expression in the cells correlate with a more aggressive disease state decreasing overall survival and progression-free survival, and therefore, one would want to treat the DLBCL more aggressively by using the anti-CD19 CAR T-cells and the rituximab together.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.E.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1675
/JEFFREY STUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1675