DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
The amendment filed 7/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-11, and 13-15 remain pending in the application and claims 2, 5, and 12 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 7/13/2026 have been considered but they are moot in view of a new grounds of rejection necessitated by the amendments to the claims.
Applicant added limitations to claim 1 to include that the apparatus “is configured to give rise to an operating state at which a pressure in the interior of the laboratory device is lower than the ambient pressure in the environment around the laboratory device” and argued on pp. 8-11 of Remarks that Tamaoki et al. does not fairly teach this limitation. The examiner acknowledges that Tamaoki et al. does explicitly disclose that the pressure of the incubation room can be set higher than that of an outside space of the incubator, however, the examiner maintains that Tamaoki et al. does not explicitly teach away from an operating state where the pressure of the incubation room can be set lower by the pressure adjustment means (35). Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Tamaoki et al.’s device in view of Rindoks et al. (US 10,807,131), which teaches that a laboratory device set to a negative pressure state is known in the art. This will be discussed in further detail in the 35 USC § 103 section below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is recommended that "wherein the apparatus is configured to give rise" in line 9 read "wherein the apparatus for generating the pressure difference is configured to give rise" so it is clear that “the apparatus” is referring to the apparatus for generating a pressure difference. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim objected to because of the following informalities: it is recommended that "wherein the laboratory device has an inner housing which defines a chamber, wherein, in the operating state, the pressure in the interior of the device is present in a region that is delimited outside by the outer housing and inside by the inner housing, and wherein the pressure in the interior of the device is less than a pressure in the chamber" be deleted as this limitation is already recited in claim 1 (which claim 8 depends on). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"thermal insulation component" in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaoki et al. (US 2005/0084956 A1) (already of record) in view of Rindoks et al. (US 10,807,131).
Regarding claim 1, Tamaoki et al. discloses a laboratory device, wherein the laboratory device is an incubator (abstract "incubator") comprising: an outer housing (Fig. 4 outer box 11) which defines an interior of the laboratory device (Fig. 4 incubation room 4); and an apparatus for generating a pressure difference between an ambient pressure in an environment around the laboratory device and the interior of the laboratory device, wherein the apparatus for generating the pressure difference comprises a fan (Fig. 4 circulation fan 418) and a pump (Fig. 4 suction pump 32); and wherein the laboratory device has an inner housing which defines a chamber (Fig. 4 inner box 12).
Tamaoki et al. does not explicitly disclose “wherein the apparatus is configured to give rise to an operating state at which a pressure in the interior of the laboratory device is lower than the ambient pressure in the environment around the laboratory device and at which operating state air is encouraged from within the outer housing of the laboratory device into the environment around the laboratory device” and “wherein, in the operating state, the pressure in the interior of the device is present in a region that is delimited outside by the outer housing and inside by the inner housing, and wherein the pressure in the interior of the device is less than a pressure in the chamber”. However, Rindoks et al. discloses a laboratory device comprising a fan (fan or blower 38) which generates a negative pressure in the device compared to the atmosphere outside the device (Col. 3, lines 16-24). Rindoks et al. teaches that generating a negative pressure inside the device prevents toxic or noxious contaminants from passing from the work chamber into the laboratory environment (Col. 3, lines 23-25). Though Tamaoki et al. does not explicitly teach generating a negative pressure inside the laboratory device, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Tamaoki et al. to generate a negative pressure because the substitution of one known element for another (fan or blower) would have predictably resulted in a laboratory device that generates negative pressure to prevent toxic or noxious contaminants from passing from the work chamber into the laboratory environment, with reasonable expectation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the teachings of Tamaoki et al. with the teachings of Rindoks et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Tamaoki et al. discloses a laboratory device wherein the apparatus for generating the pressure difference is capable of conveying gas from the interior of the device into the environment around the laboratory device, wherein the laboratory device has a filter (Fig. 4 33 suction filter), wherein the filter is arranged between an outlet of the apparatus for generating the pressure difference and the environment around the laboratory device (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Tamaoki et al. discloses a laboratory device wherein the outer housing comprises: a side housing (Fig. 4 11 outer box side wall, seen in Fig. 1); a rear housing (Fig. 4 11 outer box rear wall where 33 suction filter is connected); a ceiling housing (Fig. 4 11 outer box upper wall at reference number 11); a lower housing (Fig. 4 11 outer box lower wall near reference number 4); and a door housing (Fig. 4 3 adiabatic door), wherein the rear housing and the door housing are arranged at opposite ends of the laboratory device (Fig. 4 3 adiabatic door opposite 11 outer box rear wall where 33 suction filter is connected), wherein the inner housing comprises: side walls (Fig. 4 12 inner box; para. 0011 "inner box... left and right side faces"); a back wall (Fig. 4 12 inner box wall where 31b end opening is connected); a lower wall (Fig. 4 12 inner box wall above 13B heater); a ceiling wall (Fig. 4 12 inner box upper wall); and a door portion (Fig. 4 7 inner door).
Regarding the limitation “wherein the laboratory device is designed to generate a negative pressure in a door region which is delimited by the door housing and the door portion”, Tamaoki et al. discloses an adiabatic door (3) mounted to the outer box (11) and an inner door (7) mounted to the inner box (12), and the outer and inner boxes are separated by an air passage (17) through which air is circulated (para. 0013). Tamaoki et al. does not explicitly disclose that the laboratory device generates negative pressure in a door region delimited by the door housing (adiabatic door 3) and the door portion (inner door 7). However, Rindoks et al. discloses a laboratory device comprising a fan (fan or blower 38) which generates a negative pressure in the device compared to the atmosphere outside the device (Col. 3, lines 16-24). Rindoks et al. teaches that generating a negative pressure inside the device prevents toxic or noxious contaminants from passing from the work chamber into the laboratory environment (Col. 3, lines 23-25). Though Tamaoki et al. does not explicitly teach that the laboratory device generates negative pressure in a door region delimited by the door housing (adiabatic door 3) and the door portion (inner door 7), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Tamaoki et al. to generate a negative pressure because the substitution of one known element for another would have predictably resulted in a laboratory device that generates negative pressure to prevent toxic or noxious contaminants from passing from the work chamber into the laboratory environment, with reasonable expectation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the teachings of Tamaoki et al. with the teachings of Rindoks et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Tamaoki et al. discloses a laboratory device wherein the laboratory device comprises at least one hose (Fig. 4 31 suction tube) which fluidly connects the apparatus for generating the pressure difference to at least one other region (31 suction tube connects 32 suction pump to 4 incubation room).
Regarding claim 8, Tamaoki et al. teaches a laboratory device wherein the laboratory device has an inner housing which defines a chamber, wherein, in the operating state, the pressure in the interior of the device is present in a region that is delimited outside by the outer housing and inside by the inner housing, and wherein the pressure in the interior of the device is capable of being less than a pressure in the chamber, wherein the outer housing comprises: a side housing (Fig. 4 11 outer box side wall, seen in Fig. 1); a rear housing (Fig. 4 11 outer box rear wall where 33 suction filter is connected); a ceiling housing (Fig. 4 11 outer box upper wall at reference number 11); a lower housing (Fig. 4 11 outer box lower wall near reference number 4); and a door housing (Fig. 4 3 adiabatic door), wherein the rear housing and the door housing are arranged at opposite ends of the laboratory device (Fig. 4 3 adiabatic door opposite 11 outer box rear wall where 33 suction filter is connected), wherein the inner housing comprises: side walls (Fig. 4 12 inner box; para. 0011 "inner box... left and right side faces"); a back wall (Fig. 4 12 inner box wall where 31b end opening is connected); a lower wall (Fig. 4 12 inner box wall above 13B heater); a ceiling wall (Fig. 4 12 inner box upper wall); and a door portion (Fig. 4 7 inner door), wherein the laboratory device is capable of generating a negative pressure in a door region which is delimited by the door housing and the door portion, wherein the laboratory device comprises at least one hose (Fig. 4 31 suction tube) which fluidly connects the apparatus for generating the pressure difference to at least one other region (31 suction tube connects 32 suction pump to 4 incubation room).
Regarding the limitation “wherein the laboratory device is designed to generate a negative pressure in a door region which is delimited by the door housing and the door portion”, Tamaoki et al. discloses an adiabatic door (3) mounted to the outer box (11) and an inner door (7) mounted to the inner box (12), and the outer and inner boxes are separated by an air passage (17) through which air is circulated (para. 0013). Tamaoki et al. does not explicitly disclose that the laboratory device generates negative pressure in a door region delimited by the door housing (adiabatic door 3) and the door portion (inner door 7). However, Rindoks et al. discloses a laboratory device comprising a fan (fan or blower 38) which generates a negative pressure in the device compared to the atmosphere outside the device (Col. 3, lines 16-24). Rindoks et al. teaches that generating a negative pressure inside the device prevents toxic or noxious contaminants from passing from the work chamber into the laboratory environment (Col. 3, lines 23-25). Though Tamaoki et al. does not explicitly teach that the laboratory device generates negative pressure in a door region delimited by the door housing (adiabatic door 3) and the door portion (inner door 7), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Tamaoki et al. to generate a negative pressure because the substitution of one known element for another (fan or blower) would have predictably resulted in a laboratory device that generates negative pressure to prevent toxic or noxious contaminants from passing from the work chamber into the laboratory environment, with reasonable expectation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the teachings of Tamaoki et al. with the teachings of Rindoks et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Tamaoki et al. does not teach that at least one hose fluidly connects the door region and the apparatus for generating the pressure difference. Nonetheless, it has been held that rearrangement of parts is unpatentable because the shifting of parts would not modify the operation of the device (MPEP § 2144.04 VI). Modifying the device of Tamaoki et al. such that the hose (suction tube) connects the fan and pump to the door region would amount to merely rearrangement of parts, as such a modification would predictably result in an incubator that can transfer gas to air outside the incubator from the door region and circulate air in the door region of the incubator, absent clear evidence otherwise.
Regarding claim 11, Tamaoki et al. discloses a laboratory device comprising a control unit (Fig. 4 S controller) which is capable of adjusting a conveying capacity of the apparatus for generating the pressure difference in response to an operating mode of the laboratory device, as the circulation fan (18) is controlled by the controller (para. 0026; para. 0032 "pressure adjustment means").
Claims 4 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaoki et al. (US 2005/0084956 A1) (already of record) in view of Rindoks et al. (US 10,807,131) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wong et al. (US 2020/0182774 A1) (already of record).
Regarding claim 4, modified Tamaoki et al. discloses a laboratory device, but is silent to wherein the laboratory device has a total volume in the range of 0.1 m3 to 2.5 m3. However, Wong et al. teaches a laboratory device that has a volume in the range of 0.1 m3 to 2.5 m3 (para. 0103 "0.03 m3 to 3 m3"). Wong et al. teaches that an incubator of this volume can store a plurality of cell culture vessels in one space (para. 0104). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the Wong et al. configuration of a laboratory device that has a volume in the range of 0.03 m3 to 3 m3 in modified Tamaoki et al.’s device with a reasonable expectation that it would store a plurality of cell culture vessels in one space. This method for improving modified Tamaoki et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Wong et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of modified Tamaoki et al. and Wong et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, modified Tamaoki et al. discloses a laboratory device, but is silent to wherein the laboratory device has a total volume in the range of 0.2 m3 to 1.0 m3. However, Wong et al. teaches a laboratory device that has a volume in the range of 0.2 m3 to 1.0 m3 (para. 0103 "0.03 m3 to 3 m3"). Wong et al. teaches that an incubator of this volume can store a plurality of cell culture vessels in one space (para. 0104). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the Wong et al. configuration of a laboratory device that has a volume in the range of 0.03 m3 to 3 m3 in modified Tamaoki et al.’s device with a reasonable expectation that it would store a plurality of cell culture vessels in one space. This method for improving modified Tamaoki et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Wong et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of modified Tamaoki et al. and Wong et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, modified Tamaoki et al. discloses a laboratory device, but is silent to wherein the laboratory device has a total volume in the range of 0.4 m3 to 0.8 m3. However, Wong et al. teaches a laboratory device that has a volume in the range of 0.4 m3 to 0.8 m3 (para. 0103 "0.03 m3 to 3 m3"). Wong et al. teaches that an incubator of this volume can store a plurality of cell culture vessels in one space (para. 0104). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the Wong et al. configuration of a laboratory device that has a volume in the range of 0.03 m3 to 3 m3 in modified Tamaoki et al.’s device with a reasonable expectation that it would store a plurality of cell culture vessels in one space. This method for improving modified Tamaoki et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Wong et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of modified Tamaoki et al. and Wong et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaoki et al. (US 2005/0084956 Al) (already of record) in view of Rindoks et al. (US 10,807,131) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miltenburger et al. (US 4,649,114) (already of record).
Regarding claim 9, Tamaoki et al. discloses a laboratory device comprising at least one hose (Fig. 4 31 suction tube), but does not teach wherein the at least one hose is made of a material that has a temperature resistance of about 220°C. However, Miltenburger et al. teaches a hose that is made of a material that has a temperature resistance of about 220°C (Col. 6, line 67-Col. 7, line 1 "tubes, hoses... polytetrafluoroethylene"). Fluoroplastics, Volume 2 (already of record) discloses that polytetrafluoroethylene has a melting point over 220°C (Table 4.2), making it fully capable of temperature resistance of about 220°C. Miltenburger et al. teaches that a tube or hose made of polytetrafluoroethylene allows for maximum propagation of cells (Col. 7, lines 3-4). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the Miltenburger et al. configuration of a tube/hose made of polytetrafluoroethylene in modified Tamaoki et al.'s device with a reasonable expectation that it would have a temperature resistance of about 220°C and allow for maximum propagation of cells. This method for improving modified Tamaoki et al.'s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Miltenburger et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of modified Tamaoki et al. and Miltenburger et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaoki et al. (US 2005/0084956 Al) (already of record) in view of Rindoks et al. (US 10,807,131) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2021/0102373 Al) (already of record).
Regarding claim 10, Tamaoki et al. discloses a laboratory device comprising at least one thermal insulation component (Fig. 4 14 heat insulating material), but does not teach wherein the at least one thermal insulation component has a final layer which seals the at least one thermal insulation component, wherein the final layer comprises a film, wherein the film has a temperature resistance of about 300°C. However, Huang et al. teaches a thermal insulation component (abstract "heat-insulation structure") that has a final layer which seals the at least one thermal insulation component, wherein the final layer comprises a film (para. 0008 "surface layer film"), wherein the film has a temperature resistance of about 300°C (para. 0039 "plastic film"). Plastic Injection Molding, Volume I (already of record) discloses that plastic has a melting point over 220°C (Table 111-1), making it fully capable of temperature resistance of about 300°C. Huang et al. teaches that the heat-insulation structure with a plurality of layers increases the effect of heat insulation (para. 0022). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the Huang et al. configuration of a thermal insulation component including a film layer that has a temperature resistance of about 300°C in modified Tamaoki et al.'s device with a reasonable expectation that it would increase the effect of heat insulation. This method for improving modified Tamaoki et al.'s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Huang et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of modified Tamaoki et al. and Huang et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaoki et al. (US
2005/0084956 Al) (already of record) in view of Rindoks et al. (US 10,807,131) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Osawa et al. (US 2009/0221064 Al) (already of record).
Regarding claim 15, Tamaoki et al. discloses a laboratory device wherein the control unit has a first operating mode wherein only the fan is active in the first operating mode (para. 0026 "circulation fan . controlled by a controller"), and wherein the control unit is capable of controlling the fan when a temperature limit value is reached (para. 0026 "temperature sensor... heaters... controlled by a controller"). Tamaoki et al. does not teach wherein the control unit is capable of a second operating mode wherein both the fan and the pump are active. However, Osawa et al. teaches a control unit that is capable of an operating mode wherein both a fan and a pump are active (para. 0061). Osawa et al. teaches that both the fan and the pump being active at the same time allows sterile gas to spread throughout the cultivation room and reliably sterilize the whole cultivation room (para. 0069). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the Osawa et al. configuration of a control unit that is capable of an operating mode wherein both a fan and a pump are active in modified Tamaoki et al.'s device with a reasonable expectation that it would allow sterile gas to spread throughout the cultivation room and reliably sterilize the whole cultivation room. This method for improving modified Tamaoki et al.'s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Osawa et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of modified Tamaoki et al. and Osawa et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Conclusion
/ASHLEY LOPEZLIRA/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL A MARCHESCHI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1799