DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-7 and 11-23 are pending.
Claims 21-23 are withdrawn from consideration as directed to non-elected inventions.
Claims 1-7 and 11-20 are presented for examination and rejected as set forth below.
Claim Interpretation
Applicants claim 1 is directed to methods of treating acne by the topical application of a particular composition. The examiner notes that the newly added terminal “wherein” clause concerning the reduction of P acnes counts represents not an affirmative limitation of the method claimed, but rather represents a result to be achieved by the practice of the affirmatively recited method steps. See Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003))(indicating that a “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.”). Applicants claims combine into a single composition a ratio of between 3:1 and 1:5 parts of each of two components recited as containing defined concentrations of each of two viscosity increasing agents, a polyhydric alcohol, a buffer, an organic solvent, humectant, water repellant, an active pharmaceutical ingredient, and water. When combined as required by the claims into the composition to be applied, applicants compositions appear to contain between 0.17-22.5% polyhydric alcohol, 0.442-11.25% viscosity modifier, 0.0017-1.5% buffer, 11.974.25% water, 12.5-76.5% solvent, 0.5-17% humectant, and 0.125-12.75% water repellent. Dependent claims 2-7 narrow the pH, or identity or concentrations of each of the ingredients required by independent Claim 1. Claims 10-12 recite results which are to be observed following the completion of the method encompassed by the manipulative steps required by the claim, and are therefore afforded negligible patentable weight. See Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)) (indicating that a “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.”). Claim 13 describes methods of treating acne whereby an anhydrous nitric-oxide releasing composition is combined with a hydrogel and applied to the skin. Dependent claims 14-18 narrow the pH, or identity or concentrations of each of the ingredients required by independent Claim 13. Claim 19 specifies that the NO releasing component is a NO-releasing co-condensed silica particle, with Claim 20 specifying that the NO-releasing co-condensed silica particle is represented by MAP3/TEOS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCadden (U.S. 6,479,058), in view of Mak (U.S. 6,319,913), and Schoenfisch (U.S.PGPub. 2012/0021055).
McCadden describes methods of treating inflammatory reactions of the skin such as the acne of the instant claims by the topical application of a composition to the skin of a subject suffering such inflammatory reactions. (Col.1, L.10-22; Col.2, L.48-59). McCadden indicates these compositions may take the form of, among others, a gel which when combined with the teachings concerning the inclusion of water, would necessarily provide the hydrogel of the instant claims. (Col.7, L.29-34). McCadden indicates that the compositions used in such methods are to contain, among others, water, (Col.3, L.31-35), antifoaming agents such as dimethicone applicants identify as an exemplary water repelling agent, (Col.8, L.31-39), buffering agents including the lactic acid applicants identify as an exemplary buffer, (Col.8, L.40-43), emollients such as the glycerin applicants identify as an exemplary organic solvent, humectant, and polyhydric alcohol (Col.8, L.45-52), emulsion stabilizers and viscosity builders including each of the carbomers and hydroxypropyl cellulose applicants identify as an exemplary viscosity increasing agents (Col.9, L.13-17), which are also included as exemplary thickening agents (Col.9, L.50-54), and solvents including each of the isopropanol and hexylene glycol applicants identify as an exemplary solvents. (Col.37-40). While no particularly limiting quantities of each are recited by the McCadden reference, it must be remembered that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). On this basis, a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the amounts of each of the water, antifoaming agents, buffers, emollients, viscosity builders and solvents are result-effective variables that achieve the results each of the components referred to provide. As such, it would have been routine to optimize the amounts of these components within the total composition suggested by McCadden.
Despite this recitation, the McCadden reference does not describe the inclusion of the instantly claimed diazeniumdiolate modified polysiloxane macromolecules as the anti-inflammatory agent, nor is buffering the composition to a pH of between 3-8 or formulating the compositions so that an NO-donor is provided in a non-aqueous composition for combination with the remaining components of the topical hydrogel described.
Mak indicates that combinations of oleic acid, C1-4 alcohols, and glycols thickened by CARBOPOL carbomers or hydroxypropylcellulose serve as transdermal penetration enhancers which produce unexpectedly low levels of skin irritation. (Col.2, L.25-30; Col.4, L.20-25; Col. 5, L.9-19 & 36-49). Exemplary topical compositions are buffered to a pH of between 3-6. (Col.10, L.61-63).
Schoenfisch indicates that nitric oxide donors may suitably be employed as anti-inflammatory agents, [0308], while describing a variety of diazeniumdiolate modified polysiloxane macromolecules as suitable nitric oxide donors. (Examples 10-16, [0361-380]. MAP3/TEOS are each recited as combinable into the nitric oxide donors. See [0160-61; 0251-53; 0379-81 (“Table 6”)]. Schoenfisch indicates that while stable under ambient conditions, diazeniumdiolates decompose spontaneously in aqueous media. [0232]. Schoenfisch also indicates that the release of nitric oxide from particles incorporating NO donors such as diazeniumdiolates can be selectively triggered. [0263]. Schoenfisch also specifically indicates that the combinations according to the disclosure can refer to administrations of single or separate compositions to be combined prior to use. [0314-16].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to have incorporated the diazeniumdiolate modified polysiloxane macromolecules, including the newly claimed MAP3/TEOS, as anti-inflammatory nitric oxide donor agents into the topical anti-inflammatory hydrogel compositions suggested by McCadden as modified by Mak to treat acne as taught by McCadden. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so owing to the fact that McCadden specifically envisions the treatment of topical anti-inflammatory disorders including acne by the application of compositions suitable for reducing inflammation, and the NO donor diazeniumdiolate modified polysiloxane macromolecules described by Schoenfisch are acknowledged by the art as suitable for treating inflammation. Furthermore, because Schoenfisch indicates that diazeniumdiolates spontaneously release NO when in aqueous solutions, and that topical anti-inflammatory NO generating compositions may be formulated separately and combined with aqueous media when ready to use, it would have been prima facie obvious to have formulated the diazeniumdiolate in a non-aqueous composition until ready to apply to the skin. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments filed 23 April 2026 have been fully considered but are unpersuasive.
Applicants assert that the compositions of McCadden are “directed to compositions for a different active ingredient and does not teach or suggest a nitric oxide releasing active pharmaceutical.” Applicants are again reminded that art is art, not only for what it expressly teaches, but also for what it would reasonably suggest to the skilled artisan, including alternative or non-preferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). Furthermore, Applicants are reminded that all elements of each prior art reference need not read on the claimed invention, rather, the proper test for obviousness is what the combined teachings would have suggested to a person of ordinary skill in the art. In re Kotzab, 217 F.3d 1365, 1370 (Fed. Cir. 2000). That McCadden may be “directed to” compositions containing a different active ingredient, a position the Examiner does not concede, does nothing to detract from the fact that McCadden explicitly indicates that their compositions are to be used as anti-inflammatory agents. As the treatment of inflammation is the object of the McCadden compositions, this opens the door to the skilled artisan combining additional anti-inflammatory agents. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. The idea for combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Applicants are additionally reminded that it is not possible to establish the non-obviousness of an invention rendered obvious by the combined teachings of multiple prior art references by arguing that each of the references relied upon fails to teach the entirety of the invention which has been claimed; the absence of a single anticipatory reference is implied by both the reliance on the combined teachings of multiple references as well as the fact that the rejection being made is one of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 rather than any of the subsections of 35 U.S.C. 102. MPEP § 2145(IV), see In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 426 (C.C.P.A. 1981) (citing Application of Young, 403 F.2d 754, 757 (C.C.P.A. 1968) (indicating that "[O]ne cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where ... the rejections are based on combinations of references"). As such, applicants assertion that McCadden fails to teach the inclusion of a nitric oxide releasing active pharmaceutical is unpersuasive, as the Examiner has not indicated McCadden does so. By teaching the use of these compositions to treat inflammation, the inclusion of anti-inflammatory agents is prima facie obvious.
Applicants arguments concerning the capacity of a skilled artisan to optimize the quantities of water, antifoaming agents, buffers, emollients, viscosity builders, and solvents are unpersuasive as applicants have afforded no evidence tending to call into question the skilled artisan’s capacity to adjust the quantities of water, antifoaming agents, buffers, emollients, viscosity builders, and solvents taught by the prior art as conveying beneficial properties to topical pharmaceutical compositions into which they have been included. See In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness."), In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) (indicating that evidence showing there was no reasonable expectation of success may support a conclusion of nonobviousness).
Applicants arguments concerning McCadden’s teaching of a hydrogel are unpersuasive. A hydrogel is simply a gel containing water. By teaching the use of water as a solvent, and the teaching of a gel as a suitable form of such a composition, the provision of a hydrogel is conveyed by the teachings of McCadden.
Applicants arguments concerning the teachings of Mak and Schoenfisch failing to teach the treatment of acne are unpersuasive, because the Examiner has not asserted they do. Mak is relied on solely to establish that the skilled artisan was aware combinations of oleic acid, C1-4 alcohols, and glycols thickened by CARBOPOL copolymers or hydroxypropylcellulose act as transdermal penetration enhancers in topically applied pharmaceutical compositions buffered to a pH of between 3-6. This teaching provides a scientific basis for concluding that an improvement in anti-inflammatory activity would be achieved by incorporating these materials into a topical anti-inflammatory composition. See In re Sernaker, 702 F.2d 989, 994-95 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (“The strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, expressly or impliedly in the prior art or drawn from a convincing line of reasoning based on established scientific principles or legal precedent, that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination.”). In a similar manner, Schoenfisch is relied on solely to establish the fact that at the time the instant application was filed, a variety of diazeniumdiolate modified polysiloxane macromolecules, including MAP3/TEOS, were known as nitric oxide donors which act as anti-inflammatory agents.
For at least these reasons, applicants arguments are unpersuasive.
Conclusion
No Claims are allowable.
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN M BASQUILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614