Detailed Action
This action is in response to amendments filed on 03/06/2023.
This application was filed on 02/18/2022, which claims priority to provisional application no. 63/186229 filed on 05/10/2021.
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claims 1-10 are rejected.
Applicant's Response
In Applicant's Response dated 03/06/2023, Applicant amended claims 1-2, and 9. Applicant argued against various rejections previously set forth in the Office Action mailed on 12/05/2022.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the unstructured data" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denoue et al. (US 2019/0394150 A1, referred hereinafter as D1) in view of in view of Chachek et al. (US 2020/0302510 A1, referred hereinafter as D2) in view of Malak et al. (US 20200320068 A1, referred hereinafter as D3).
As per claim 1, D1 discloses,
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions that, when executed, cause at least one processor to perform operations comprising, (D1, title, abstract, figure 7).
reading an input image, (D1, abstract, figures 1-5, 0023-0024 discloses receiving various documents/image in a chat environment, where the system of D1 parses the document/image to extract form fields).
generating a parallel text stream indicating an accurate description of the image, (D1, abstract, figures 1-5, 0023-0024 discloses receiving various documents/image in a chat environment, where the system of D1 parses the document/image to extract form fields, and displays various fields in a similar manner as document but in “conversationalized” form in the chat interface as stream of messages.).
parsing the unstructured data from the input image, (D1, abstract, figures 1-5, 0023-0024, 0039 discloses receiving various documents/image in a chat environment, where the system of D1 parses the document/image to look for headers, sub-headers, images (e.g. unstructured data).).
generating a user interface using an optimized regular expressions algorithm, which triggers [display of populated/empty form fragments/fields]… (D1, abstract, figures 1-5, 0023-0024 discloses receiving various documents/image in a chat environment, where the system of D1 including algorithm/modules that parses the document/image to extract form fields, and displays various fields in a similar manner as document but in “conversationalized” form in the chat interface as stream of messages. The examiner notes that the terms in “optimized regular expression” in the limitations of “optimized regular expressions algorithm” is fairly construed as merely non-functional descriptive material.).
learning user input with further comprises: collecting data from other sources, organizing a device-to-device communication using key/value pair, interpreting the data, and executing accurately predicted user input, storing learned information, and displaying generated information on the user interface (D1, abstract, figures 1-5, 0023-0024 discloses receiving various documents/image in a chat environment among plurality of users, where the system of D1 including algorithm/modules that parses the document/image to extract form fields, document sections, paragraphs and displays various fields/sections/paragraphs in a similar manner as document but in “conversationalized” form in the chat interface as stream of messages, where the fields of the form is populated with data extracted from the conversation and displayed to the user as shown in figures. Thus, D1 clearly discloses learning user input (e.g. collects user inputs) with further comprises: collecting data from other sources (e.g. collects inputs from other users within the chat), organizing a device-to-device communication using key/value pairs (e.g. populated form fields/name value pairs are shared with plurality of users/devices joined in the chat), interpreting the data (e.g. matching chat data with sections of document/forms), and executing accurately predicted user input (e.g. prepopulating content forms based on previous data/chat), storing learned information (e.g. user chat messages are displayed, as such, at the very least requires stored in the working memory/storage of the computing device), and displaying generated information on the user interface (e.g. figures 1-2B)).
As noted above, pdf/html documents of D1 can fairly/arguably be construed as “image” or image file which processed to extract various data; nevertheless, for the sake of completeness, D2 (figure 5, 10, 19, 0025, 0111-0112, 0118, ) explicitly discloses capturing images, and performing various analysis including OCR and computer vision analysis to extract and/or determine various textual data via parsing the unstructured data from the input image.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as disclosed in D1, to include the teachings of D2 as noted above. This would have been obvious with predicable results of using computer vision/ocr techniques to extract various data form images, and provide augmented image/presentation/interfaces with supplemental information of interest to the user as disclosed D2.
D1 fails to expressly disclose – triggers a knowledge hook,… updating knowledge hooks.
D3 (abstract, 0004-0009) discloses known concepts to trigger a search (e.g. an action) for content using regular expressions (e.g. trigging of “knowledge hook”), and D3 further discloses updating regular expressions for user in other triggered searches/actions.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as disclosed in D1, to include the teachings of D3 as noted above. This would have been obvious for the purpose of using automatically generated/updated regular expressions to analyze and/or search large-scale data sets as disclosed by D3 (abstract, 0003).
As per claim 2, D1 discloses,
A system to generate user interfaces in real-time and acts as on [interface/display], the system comprising: at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions that when executed, cause at least one processor to perform operations comprising, (D1, abstract, figure 7 and accompanying text discloses computing device having processor/memory, and touchscreen.).
detecting an image or video and generating text stream of the image or video, (D1, abstract, figures 1-5, 0023-0024 discloses receiving various documents/image in a chat environment, where the system of D1 parses the document/image to extract form fields, and displays various fields in a similar manner as document but in “conversationalized” form in the chat interface as stream of messages.).
generating a dynamic user interface in real-time which triggers a [display of populated/empty form/documents sections/fields], (D1, abstract, figures 1-5, 0023-0024 discloses receiving various documents/image in a chat environment, where the system of D1 including algorithm/modules that parses the document/image to extract form fields, and displays various fields in a similar manner as document but in “conversationalized” form in the chat interface as stream of messages, where the fields of the form is populated with data extracted from the conversation and displayed to the user as shown in figures.).
learning user input with further comprises: collecting data from other sources, organizing a device-to-device communication using key/value pair, interpreting the data, and executing accurately predicted user input, storing learned information, and displaying generated information on the user interface… (D1, abstract, figures 1-5, 0023-0024 discloses receiving various documents/image in a chat environment among plurality of users, where the system of D1 including algorithm/modules that parses the document/image to extract form fields, document sections, paragraphs and displays various fields/sections/paragraphs in a similar manner as document but in “conversationalized” form in the chat interface as stream of messages, where the fields of the form is populated with data extracted from the conversation and displayed to the user as shown in figures. Thus, D1 clearly discloses learning user input (e.g. collects user inputs) with further comprises: collecting data from other sources (e.g. collects inputs from other users within the chat), organizing a device-to-device communication using key/value pairs (e.g. populated form fields/name value pairs are shared with plurality of users/devices joined in the chat), interpreting the data (e.g. matching chat data with sections of document/forms), and executing accurately predicted user input (e.g. prepopulating content forms based on previous data/chat), storing learned information (e.g. user chat messages are displayed, as such, at the very least requires stored in the working memory/storage of the computing device), and displaying generated information on the user interface (e.g. figures 1-2B)).
As noted above, pdf/html documents of D1 can fairly/arguably be construed as “image” or image file which processed to extract various data; however, D1 fails to expressly disclose a transparent virtual glass surface.
However, D2 (figure 5, 9-10, 19, 0025, 0111-0112, 0118, ) explicitly discloses/shows capturing images, and performing various analysis including OCR and computer vision analysis to extract and/or determine various textual data, and display/overlaying various data on the of image as a transparent virtual glass surface.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as disclosed in D1, to include the teachings of D2 as noted above. This would have been obvious with predicable results of using computer vision/ocr techniques to extract various data form images, and provide augmented image/presentation/interfaces with supplemental information of interest to the user as disclosed D2.
D1 fails to expressly disclose – triggers a knowledge hook,… updating knowledge hooks.
D3 (abstract, 0004-0009) discloses known concepts to trigger a search (e.g. an action) for content using regular expressions (e.g. trigging of “knowledge hook”), and D3 further discloses updating regular expressions for user in other triggered searches/actions.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as disclosed in D1, to include the teachings of D3 as noted above. This would have been obvious for the purpose of using automatically generated/updated regular expressions to analyze and/or search large-scale data sets as disclosed by D3 (abstract, 0003).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 further incorporated, D1 discloses,
further comprises the processor performing a device-to-device communication, (D1, figure 3 and accompanying text device-to-device communication).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 further incorporated, D1 discloses,
further uses a chat protocol, (D1, abstract, figures 1-5 accompanying text, 0023-0024 discloses modules for facilitating chat functionality/protocol.).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 2 further incorporated, D1 discloses,
further automates a task according to previous user input and the previous context in which the user gave the input, (D1, abstract, figures 1-5, 0023-0024 discloses receiving various documents/image in a chat environment, where the system of D1 including algorithm/modules that parses the document/image to extract form fields, and displays various fields in a similar manner as document but in “conversationalized” form in the chat interface as stream of messages, where the fields of the form is populated with data extracted from previous inputs, context, and content the conversation in the chat and displayed to the user as shown in figures.).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 2 further incorporated D1 disclose,
is further implemented in a smartphone, (D1, 0032, figure 7 and accompanying text disclose smartphone).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 2 further incorporated, D1 discloses,
is further implemented as a [modules/software], (D1, 0066).
D1 fails to expressly disclose - plug-in in a browser.
However, the examiner takes official notice that software modules/functionality implemented as plug-in in a browser was notoriously well known before effective filing of the invention.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as disclosed in D1, to include software modules/functionality implemented as plug-in in a browser. This would have been obvious with predicable results of extending functionality of a browser as known in the art and to one ordinary skill in the art.
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 2 further incorporated, D1 discloses,
further uses the camera of a smartphone, and learn image (D1, 0049 including device having camera, and detecting/extracting data from documents/images).
D1 fail to expressly disclose - uses the camera of a smartphone to capture and learn images.
However, D2 (figure 5, 9-10, 19, 0025, 0111-0112, 0118, ) explicitly discloses/shows capturing images via camera of smartphone/device, and performing various analysis including OCR and computer vision analysis to extract and/or determine various textual data, and display/overlaying various data on the of image as a transparent virtual glass surface.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as disclosed in D1, to include the teachings of D2 as noted above. This would have been obvious with predicable results of using computer vision/ocr techniques to extract various data form images, and provide augmented image/presentation/interfaces with supplemental information of interest to the user as disclosed D2.
As per claim 9, D1 discloses,
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions that, when executed, cause at least one processor to perform operations comprising, (D1, title, abstract).
extracting information from an image; learning user inputs; auto-completing forms or text boxes; generating a dynamic user interface in real-time which triggers [display of populated/empty form/document sections/fields], (D1, abstract, figures 1-5, 0023-0024 discloses receiving various documents/image in a chat environment, where the system of D1 including algorithm/modules that parses the document/image to extract form fields, and displays various fields in a similar manner as document but in “conversationalized” form in the chat interface as stream of messages, where the fields of the form is populated with data extracted from previous inputs, context, and content the conversation in the chat and displayed to the user as shown in figures.).
learning user input with further comprises: collecting data from other sources, organizing a device-to-device communication using key/value pair, interpreting the data, and executing accurately predicted user input, storing learned information, and displaying generated information user interface… (D1, abstract, figures 1-5, 0023-0024 discloses receiving various documents/image in a chat environment among plurality of users, where the system of D1 including algorithm/modules that parses the document/image to extract form fields, document sections, paragraphs and displays various fields/sections/paragraphs in a similar manner as document but in “conversationalized” form in the chat interface as stream of messages, where the fields of the form is populated with data extracted from the conversation and displayed to the user as shown in figures. Thus, D1 clearly discloses learning user input (e.g. collects user inputs) with further comprises: collecting data from other sources (e.g. collects inputs from other users within the chat), organizing a device-to-device communication using key/value pairs (e.g. populated form fields/name value pairs are shared with plurality of users/devices joined in the chat), interpreting the data (e.g. matching chat data with sections of document/forms), and executing accurately predicted user input (e.g. prepopulating content forms based on previous data/chat), storing learned information (e.g. user chat messages are displayed, as such, at the very least requires stored in the working memory/storage of the computing device), and displaying generated information on the user interface (e.g. figures 1-2B)).
As noted above, pdf/html documents of D1 can fairly/arguably be construed as “image” or image file which processed to extract various data; nevertheless, for the sake of completeness, D2 (figure 5, 10, 19, 0025, 0111-0112, 0118, ) explicitly discloses capturing images, and performing various analysis including OCR and computer vision analysis to extract and/or determine various textual data.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as disclosed in D1, to include the teachings of D2 as noted above. This would have been obvious with predicable results of using computer vision/ocr techniques to extract various data form images, and provide augmented image/presentation/interfaces with supplemental information of interest to the user as disclosed D2.
D1 fails to expressly disclose – triggers a knowledge hook,… updating knowledge hooks.
D3 (abstract, 0004-0009) discloses known concepts to trigger a search (e.g. an action) for content using regular expressions (e.g. trigging of “knowledge hook”), and D3 further discloses updating regular expressions for user in other triggered searches/actions.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as disclosed in D1, to include the teachings of D3 as noted above. This would have been obvious for the purpose of using automatically generated/updated regular expressions to analyze and/or search large-scale data sets as disclosed by D3 (abstract, 0003).
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 further incorporated, D1 discloses,
further extracts information on from an image using computer vision, (D1, 0038 discloses extracting data from document/image by detecting fields/boxes and/or bounding boxes (e.g. fairly construed “computer vision”). Alternatively, D2 (figure 5, 10, 19, 0025, 0111-0112, 0118) explicitly discloses capturing images, and performing various analysis including OCR and computer vision analysis to extract and/or determine various textual data. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as disclosed in D1, to include the teachings of D2 as noted above. This would have been obvious with predicable results of using computer vision/ocr techniques to extract various data form images, and provide augmented image/presentation/interfaces with supplemental information of interest to the user as disclosed D2.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/06/2023 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and/or moot in view of new/modified grounds of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendments necessitated any new grounds of rejections presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
See form 892 for additional cited prior art.
/MUSTAFA A AMIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144