Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-16, 18-33, 36-39, 41-62, and 65-94 were canceled.
Claims 17, 34-35, 40, 63-64 and 95 are pending and under consideration.
Withdrawn Rejections
Objection of claim 95 is withdrawn. Applicant amended the claim 95, thereby obviating this rejection/objection.
Rejection of Claim 95 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn. Applicant amended the claim 95, thereby obviating this rejection/objection.
Rejection of Claim(s) 17, 34-35, 40, 63-64 and 95 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (WO2018107116) is withdrawn. Applicant amended the claim 17 to recite specific amino acid tyrosine at position 252, threonine at position 254, and glutamate at position 256, thereby obviating this rejection/objection.
NEW - Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(necessitated by amendments)
Claim(s) 17 and 63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ellis et al (WO2013/011076; PTO-892).
Regarding claims 17, Ellis teaches “The present invention provides antigen binding proteins which bind specifically to TNF-alpha. For example novel variants of anti-TNF antibodies such as adalimumab which show increased binding to the FcRn receptor or increased half life compared to adalimumab.” (abstract). Ellis teaches IgG1 heavy chain constant region/M252Y/S254T/T256E, SEQ 7 (result 13 of 1.rag). SEQ ID NO: 7 of Ellis comprises 330 amino acid which corresponds to 36.3 kDa (330 amino acid X 0.11 kDa /average amino acid) as claimed by instant claim 17. As shown below, SEQ ID NO: 7 of Ellis comprises C220/ Y252/T254/E256. As evidenced by instant specification, page 37, instant SEQ ID NO: 31 also comprises same amino acid C220/ Y252/T254/E256. As shown below, SEQ ID NO: 7 of Ellis corresponds to instant SEQ ID NO: 31 wherein Z1=N; J1=C; X1=Y; X2=T; X3=E; Z2=N; X4=L; X5=Q; X6=D; X7=L; X8=M; X9= N; Z3=K (also see page 37 of instant specification for instant SEQ ID NO: 31).
result 13 of 1.rag
Regarding claim 63, it is well known in the art that Fc region of antibody dimerizes and therefore variant Fc of Ellis comprising M252Y/S254T/T256E will also dimerize. Further, Fc of Ellis comprises Cysteine at position 220 which is responsible for disulfide bond in Fc dimer.
Claim(s) 17, 34-35, and 63-64 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chamberlain et al (US2010/0234575; PTO-892).
Regarding claim 17, Chamberlain teaches Fc variants with altered binding to FcRn (title). Chamberlain teaches Human immunoglobulin G1 constant heavy chain mutein which has 330 amino acid residues (result 14 of 1.rag). As discussed above, 330 amino acid corresponds to 36.3 kDa (330 amino acid X 0.11 kDa /average amino acid) as claimed by instant claim 17. As shown below, Fc variant of Chamberlain corresponds to instant SEQ ID NO: 31 wherein Z1=N; J1=C; X1=Y; X2=T; X3=E; Z2=N; X4=L; X5=Q; X6=E; X7=M; X8=M; X9= N; Z3=K (also see page 37 of instant specification for instant SEQ ID NO: 31).
Regarding claims 34-35, Chamberlain teaches “In one alternate embodiment, the IgG variant is conjugated or operably linked to another therapeutic compound” [0092].
Regarding claim 63, it is well known in the art that Fc region of antibody dimerizes and therefore variant Fc of Chamberlain comprising M252Y/S254T/T256E will also dimerize. Further, Fc of Chamberlain comprises Cysteine at position 220 which is responsible for disulfide bond in Fc dimer.
Regarding claim 64, Chamberlain teaches a pharmaceutical composition [0184].
result 14 of 1.rag
Claim Objection
Claims 40 and 95 are objected to as being dependent from rejected base claim.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/CHEOM-GIL CHEONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1645
/MISOOK YU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1641