DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s submission filed on August 20, 2026 in response to the Office Action of February 25, 2026 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claims 10, 13, and 25-27 are pending and under consideration.
Applicant’s Remarks filed August 20, 2026 and the Declaration of Dr. Zhi Liu filed August 20, 2026 have been carefully considered. In the Remarks and Declaration, Applicants and the Declaration argue that at the time of the claimed invention, the DNA sequences of the antibodies were not disclosed, the specific ratio were not disclosed, the claimed half-life were not disclosed. Furthermore, Applicant and the Declaration argue that there was a high level of unpredictability in the art. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have had a reasonable expectation of success for the claimed invention. The arguments are not persuasive (see Reponses to argument is the 103 section), accordingly, the 103 rejection set forth in the previous Office Action of February 25, 2026 is maintained.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 08/20/2026 has been considered and entered.
NEW REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 13, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sound Biologics News (downloaded from: https://www.soundbiologics.com/news/press-releases/sound-biologics-announces-fda-allowance-of-its-ind-application-for-psb205/; Publication Date: April 10, 2019, of record), in view of Yan (Yan et al., Pub. No.: US 2019/0248899 A1, Publication Date: 08/15/2019, of record), Nathan (US 2018/0371092 A1, Publication Date: December 27, 2018, cited in IDS, of record) and Nguyen (Nguyen et al., Biotechnol. J., 2019, 14, 1900125, Publication Date: 08/09/2019).
Sound Biologics News teaches that U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has issued authorization to commence a Phase I First-in- PSB205 for the treatment of patients with relapsed/refractory solid tumors. PSB205 is an immune-oncology biotherapeutic that represents the first of a new class of therapeutic modality (see paragraph 1).
Sound Biologics News teaches that PSB205 is a novel bifunctional product that contains a mixture of unique anti-PD-1 and anti-CTLA4 monoclonal antibodies produced by a single cell line via the company's proprietary MabPair technology. MabPair products offer many advantages over bispecific antibodies. The relative ratio of the two antibodies in the MabPair can be well-controlled and each antibody is individually engineered for optimal target coverage, effector function, pharmacokinetics and exposure. PSB205 represents a potentially best-in-class immuno-oncology product that promises to exhibit robust combination activity while being significantly more tolerable to patients than currently approved anti-PD-1/anti-CTLA-4 combinations (see paragraph 2).
Sound Biologics (Qilu Puget Sound Biotherapeutic Corp.) is the applicant of the instant application.
Although Sound Biologics News does not disclose sequence information about the specific anti-PD-1 and anti-CTLA4 monoclonal antibodies. However, as evidenced by the instant specification, PSB205 is a mixture of PSB105 and PSB103 (see Example 5). In addition, PSB103 is an anti-hPD1 antibody comprising a heavy chain (HC) and a light chain (LC) with amino acid sequences of SEQ ID NO: 1 and SEQ ID NO: 5, respectively (see Example 1, para. [0198] of US 2022/0267446 A1). PSB105 is an anti-hCTLA4 antibody comprising a heavy chain (HC) and a light chain (LC) with amino acid sequences of SEQ ID NO: 13 and SEQ ID NO: 17, respectively (§ Brief Description of the Sequence Listing, paragraph [0095] of US 2022/0267446).
Thus, PSB205 disclosed by Sound Biologics News reads on the anti-hPD1 antibody and anti-hCTLA4 antibody recited by instant claim 10.
Sound Biologics News teaches as set forth above. However, Sound Biologics News does not explicitly teach the nucleic acid sequences encoding the antibody or vectors or Chinese hamster ovary (CHO) cells comprising the nucleic acid, or a method of making the mixed antibodies with a ratio of 1:2.
Regarding the nucleic acid encoding the amino acid of heavy chains and light chains, it is noted that the courts have found that the disclosure of the polypeptide makes the nucleic acid encoding the protein obvious as the methods of obtaining the nucleic acids are routine in the art and can be obtained with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(E)(Example 3), Ex parte Kubin, 83 USPQ2d 1410 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 2007), and In re Kubin 90 USPQ2d 1417 (U. S. Court of Appeals Fed. Cir. 2009).
Yan teaches one of more nucleic acids encoding the antibody or the mixture of antibodies ([0374]).
Yan teaches one or more vector(s) containing the nucleic acid(s) encoding the antibody or the mixture of antibodies ([0375]).
Yan teaches the vectors can be viral vectors, such as AAV, MVA (claim 99, [0376] and [0377]).
Yan teaches a host cell line containing the nucleic acid and/or the vectors ([0378]).
Yan teaches a method of making a mixture of antibodies, comprising the steps of: (a) culturing the host cell line expressing the mixture of antibodies in a culture medium, and (b) recovering the mixture of antibodies from the cell mass or the culture medium ([0365-0367]).
Yan teaches the host cell line is a CHO cell line ([0368], [0509], claims 103-104).
Yan teaches method of generate DNA constructs encoding antibodies (Examples 2 and 3).
Yan teaches method of making a mixture of anti-PD-1 and anti-CTLA4 antibodies (claims 82, 96, Example 5, Table 21, Example 8).
Yan teaches that the single cell system can produce mixture with various anti-CTLA4:anti-PD1 ratios ([0604], Example 8, Table 27 and Table 28).
Nathan teaches a method of using anti-PD-1 antibody and anti-CTLA4 antibody in combination to treat human cancers (see Abstract), e.g. Nivolumab (human antibody to PD1) and Ipilimumab (human antibody to CTLA4) (see [0004], [0005], [0009], and [0010]).
Nathan teaches a fixed dose in which the weight to weight ratio of anti-CTLA4:anti-PD1 ratio can be 1:2 ([0055]).
Nathan teaches actual dosage levels of the active ingredients in the pharmaceutical compositions of the present invention can be varied so as to obtain an amount of the active ingredient that is effective to achieve the desired therapeutic response for a particular patient, composition, and mode of administration, without being unduly toxic to the patient. The selected dosage level will depend upon a variety of pharmacokinetic factors including the activity of the particular compositions of the present invention employed, the route of administration, the time of administration, the rate of excretion of the particular compound being employed, the duration of the treatment, other drugs, compounds and/or materials used in combination with the particular compositions employed, the age, sex, weight, condition, general health and prior medical history of the patient being treated, and like factors well known in the medical arts ([0129]).
Nguyen teaches a number of promoters derived from Chinese Hamster Ovary Cells which confer different expression levels (Fig. 2). The strength of the promoters ranges from very weak to very strong (Fig. 2).
Nguyen teaches that combinations of endogenous enhancers can further fine-tune expression levels (§ 3.4 Combinations of Endogenous Enhancers with Endogenous and Viral Core Promoters, on page 6).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed and one would have been motivated to use the monoclonal antibodies taught by Sound Biologics News to obtain nucleic acid sequences, to make vector and host cells comprising the nucleic acid for making the mixture of anti-PD1 and anti-CTLA4 antibodies (PSB205), as taught by Yan. One would have been motivated to produce the nucleic acid encoding the antibodies, because Yan teaches that the isolation of the nucleic acid can be used to produce the mixture of antibodies with a proper vector and host cells and given that Yan teaches that the mixture of antibodies that target more than one antigen or epitope can be more effective.
It would have prima facie been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to obtain an antibody mixture, e.g. PSB205, as taught by Sound Biologics News, and to use a weight to weight ratio of 1:2 between PSB103 and PSB105, and to use a cell line to produce desired ratio between the two antibodies, because MabPair provide a good platform to control each antibody for optimal function; Nathan teaches the ratio can be used for anti-CTLA4 and anti-PD1 antibody mixture for treatment; and Nguyen teaches various promoters and enhancers for fine-tuning protein expression in CHO cells. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have known and been motivated to make antibody mixture with a ratio as instantly claimed in CHO cells to achieve desired therapeutic effects, based on antibody pharmacokinetic factors and patient condition, as evidenced by Nathan. Based on the teachings of references, one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation that using the promoters and/or enhancers taught by Nguyen and system taught by Yan, the ratio of anti-CTLA4 and anti-PD1 in the antibody mixture can be fine-tuned to a ratio of 1:2 in CHO cells. The motivation would be to simplify the production process by generate the antibody mixture in a single expressing cell line with a desired ratio.
Regarding claims 25-27, as evidenced by the instant specification, PSB105 (the anti-hCTLA4 antibody) has a T1/2 of 109 hours in single dose in cynomolgus monkeys (Table 2, Example 3). PSB103 (the anti-hPD1 antibody) has a T1/2 of 297 hours in single dose in cynomolgus monkeys (Table 1, Example 3).
Response to Arguments
For the 103 rejection, Applicant and Declaration of Zhi Liu first argues that the specific polynucleotide sequences for the antibodies and ratio are required by claim 10 and the references (Sound Biologics News, Nathan, Yan and Nguyen) do not disclose the information, as shown below:
Claim 10 Requires a Sequence-Specific CHO Cell That Itself Produces the Two
Antibodies at About a 1 :2 Weight Ratio.
Claim 10 is not directed merely to an anti-PD1/anti-CTLA4 treatment or to a vial made by
mixing separately produced antibodies. It requires a CHO cell comprising polynucleotide(s)
encoding: (i) an anti-hPD1 antibody having the recited heavy- and light-chain amino-acid
sequences (SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 5), and (ii) an anti-hCTLA4 antibody having the recited heavy and light-chain amino-acid sequences (SEQ ID NOs: 13 and 17). The same CHO cell must be
capable of producing a mixture in which the anti-hCTLA4:anti-hPD1 weight ratio is about 1:2. Claim 13 requires culturing that cell and recovering the mixture. Claims 25-27 add the recited in
vivo half-life limitations.
The claimed ratio is therefore a cell-output limitation tied to four specified antibody chains. It cannot be supplied merely by selecting a dose ratio after the antibodies have already been produced.
Sound Biologics News Does Not Disclose the Missing Quantitative, Sequence, or
Production Details.
……The Office Action acknowledges that Sound Biologics News does not explicitly teach the nucleic acids, vectors, CHO cell, or a method of making the mixed antibodies at the claimed ratio. Office Action, pp. 5-6. A statement that a selected commercial-development clone can maintain a controlled ratio does not disclose which clone will have the desired ratio or provide a reasonable expectation that a skilled person could create that clone from the cited public information. As the Liu Declaration explains, post-selection stability and pre-selection predictability are different technical questions. Liu Decl. ¶¶ 23-27.
Nathan Addresses a Formulated or Administered Dose Ratio, Not the Ratio Produced by One CHO Cell.
It is respectfully submmitted that the Office Action initially reads Nathan's cited ratio in
the wrong direction. Claim 10 states the ratio as anti-hCTLA4:anti-hPD1. Nathan defines its ratios as the amount of the "first antibody" (expressly exemplified as anti-PD1) to the "second antibody" (expressly exemplified as anti-CTLA4). Nathan ¶ [0055]. Thus, Nathan's listed 1 :2 entry means anti-PD1:anti-CTLA4 = 1:2, or anti-hCTLA4:anti-hPD1 = 2: 1, not the claimed ratio.
Nathan also includes the reciprocal 2:1 entry in its long, unranked list. Applicant therefore does not contend that Nathan lacks every numerically corresponding entry. The relevant point is, more fundamentally, Nathan defines a "fixed dose" as two antibodies present in a single composition at a selected ratio. Id. A formulator can obtain such a ratio by measuring and mixing separately produced antibodies after production. Nathan's discussion of route, timing, patient condition, pharmacokinetics, and toxicity likewise concerns clinical dosing. Nathan ¶ [0129]. None of that predicts the relative masses that one recombinant CHO cell will produce after transcription of four chains, translation, cognate assembly, secretion, clone selection, culture, and recovery. The Liu Declaration explains why a post-production formulation ratio does not technically map to a same-cell production ratio. Liu Decl. ¶¶ 28-31.
Yan's Experimental Results Demonstrate Construct- and Context-Dependent
Output, Not Predictable Transfer to PSB103/PSB105.
……Yan therefore provides a platform and a research program, not a predictable mapping from an antibody pair or dose objective to the claimed final cell-output ratio.
Nguyen Does Not Establish Predictable "Fine-Tuning" of Two Full-Length
Antibodies.
… ... It did not co-express two full-length antibodies from four chains and did not measure the relative mass of two antibodies in culture supernatant. A reporter promoter value is therefore not the claimed variable.
…... They do not establish a predictable relationship between nominal promoter strength and the final weight ratio of two correctly assembled and secreted IgGs.
The Office Action identifies no evidence that Nguyen's single-protein reporter rankings
can be assigned to PSB103 and PSB105 cassettes to yield a selected two-antibody mass ratio. Nor does it identify which promoter/enhancer combination, vector configuration, or expression level would predictably produce about 1:2.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In the instant case, because PSB205 is public available for using in a clinical trial, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to obtain nucleic acid sequences through routine practice; to make vector and host cells comprising the nucleic acid for making the mixture of anti-PD1 and anti-CTLA4 antibodies (PSB205), as taught by Yan; to use a weight to weight ratio of 1:2 between PSB103 and PSB105, and to use a cell line to produce desired ratio between the two antibodies as taught by Nathan, because MabPair provide a good platform to control each antibody for optimal function; Nathan teaches the ratio can be used for anti-CTLA4 and anti-PD1 antibody mixture for treatment; and Nguyen teaches various promoters and enhancers for fine-tuning protein expression in CHO cells.
Although Nathan does not show a working example of 1:2 ratio as instantly claimed, Nathan teaches a system which can control ratio between two antibodies. Antibody expression and purification in CHO has been well known and wildly used in the art, as evidenced by the references. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have known and been motivated to make antibody mixture with a ratio as instantly claimed in CHO cells to achieve desired therapeutic effects, based on antibody pharmacokinetic factors and patient condition, as evidenced by Nathan. Based on the teachings of references, one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation that using the promoters and/or enhancers taught by Nguyen and system taught by Yan, the ratio of anti-CTLA4 and anti-PD1 in the antibody mixture can be fine-tuned to a ratio of 1:2 in CHO cells.
Regarding Applicant and the Declaration’s argument that the specific CHO line is selected empirically and the antibody ratio expressed in a cell is unpredictable. Applicant and the Declaration’s arguments imply that any mixture of PSB103 and PSB105 based on a different ratio in a CHO would be separately patentable, simply because the formation and properties of each cell line must be verified through testing. This cannot be the proper standard since the expectation of success need only be reasonable, not absolute. Thus, as set forth above, given the teachings of the references one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to use week known methods/systems to reach the claimed ratio.
Applicant and Declaration of Zhi Liu further argues that references do not assert reasonable expectation of success, as shown below:
The Application's Development Data and the Liu Declaration Rebut the Asserted Reasonable Expectation of Success.
The accompanying declaration explains the technical significance of the development data reported in Examples 4 and 5 of the application. The team began with a clonal CHO cell line expressing PSB103 and introduced the PSB105 heavy- and light-chain constructs. The transfected population was divided among three selection conditions, and forty-eight wells were expanded and tested. US 2022/0267446 Al , ¶¶ [0225]-[0228]; Liu Decl. ¶¶ 8-15.
…….Although selection pressure shifted the pool averages, each condition produced a broad distribution, and the distributions overlapped. The condition therefore did not determine a unique output ratio. Fifteen wells were pooled, limiting dilution was performed, 140 single-cell clones were expanded, 125 were screened for co-expression, fourteen were advanced to shake-flask analysis, five were selected for further analysis, and clone 20F5 was ultimately selected. US 2022/0267446 Al , ¶¶ [0229]-[0233]; Liu Deel. , ¶¶ 16-22.
……These data do not merely show that work was required. They show that the asserted variables did not provide a predictable mapping to the claimed result: nominally comparable cells produced materially different ratios, and the desired output was identified through clone-specific empirical screening. The prior art did not identify the successful integration event or clone, or a finite set of predictable promoter choices that would lead to it. Liu Decl. ¶¶ 27-33.
Applicant and the Declaration of Zhi Liu’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As set forth above, expressing two antibodies in a cell line is routine practice as evidenced by references. In addition, in the field of biological technology, no invention has absolute certainty of success before experimental tests. Thus, only a reasonable expectation of success (not absolute) would have motivated an artisan to make the claimed fusion protein. Given the teachings from references, an ordinary skilled in the art would have would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention.
Applicant and the Declaration also argue many variables are critical for achieving the claimed ratio, including integration event or clone, or promoters. However, the claims do not recite these variables. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have known to use different promoters and screen different clones to reach the claimed invention.
Applicant further argues:
The Office Action Uses Applicant's Later Disclosure to Supply the Claimed
Sequences.
The Office Action concedes that Sound Biologics News does not disclose sequence
information for the anti-PDI and anti-CTLA4 antibodies. It nevertheless cites Applicant's
specification to identify PSB205 as PSB103 plus PSB105 and then invokes routine nucleic-acid techniques. Office Action, pp. 5-6. Applicant's later disclosure is not a substitute for a prior-art
teaching of the four claimed amino-acid sequences or an enabling public route to them…..the Office must first identify a prior-art disclosure of the claimed polypeptide sequence or an enabling method for obtaining it……the references still do not provide a reasonable expectation that placing those particular chains into Yan's general platform and using Nguyen's promoter teachings would yield the claimed CHO-cell output ratio.
Applicant and the Declaration of Zhi Liu’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As set forth above, the PSB205 are known and available for public use. Thus, through routine practices in the art; such as protein sequencing and sequence analysis, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be able to reach nucleotide sequences.
It is noted that the courts have found that the disclosure of the polypeptide makes the nucleic acid encoding the protein obvious as the methods of obtaining the nucleic acids are routine in the art and can be obtained with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(E)(Example 3), Ex parte Kubin, 83 USPQ2d 1410 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 2007), and In re Kubin 90 USPQ2d 1417 (U. S. Court of Appeals Fed. Cir. 2009).
Furthermore, as evidenced by Nguyen (a new reference), the method of regulating protein expression has been well known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success to modify the ratio of anti-CTLA4 antibody and anti-PD1 antibody produced in CHO cells to 1:2 for better therapeutic properties, as taught by Nathan.
Applicant and the Declaration of Zhi Liu further argue that the in vivo half-life is measured and disclosed in the instant application and no prior art teaches the property, as shown below:
Claims 25-27 Are Not Rendered Obvious by Applicant's Own Measured Half-Life
Data.
Claims 25-27 add specific in vivo half-life ranges for the sequence-defined anti-hPD1
and/or anti-hCTLA4 antibodies. The Office Action cites no prior-art measurement for those
antibodies.
The arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As set forth above, the antibodies in PSB205 are PSB105 and PSB103, which are identical to the anti-hCTLA4 antibody and anti-hPD1 antibody, respectively. Accordingly, these antibodies would have the same properties (measured or unmeasured) as the antibodies instantly claimed, including half-live in vivo. As evidenced by the instant specification, PSB105 (the anti-hCTLA4 antibody) has a T1/2 of 109 hours in single dose in cynomolgus monkeys (Table 2, Example 3). PSB103 (the anti-hPD1 antibody) has a T1/2 of 297 hours in single dose in cynomolgus monkeys (Table 1, Example 3). Thus, the antibodies of PSB205 would read on instant claims 25-27.
Thus, the claims are properly rejected by the new rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHENG LU/Examiner, Art Unit 1642
/PETER J REDDIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646