DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The present Office action is responsive to the Remarks and Amendments filed on 10-29-2025. As directed, claims 1-8 and 12-17 have been withdrawn from consideration, and claims 9-11 have been amended. Thus, claims 9-11 are presently pending examination.
Priority
Examiner notes that the device of the present application was first presented in the PCT application with the earliest effective filing date of 08-10-2018, and further notes that the method steps involving use of the device within a user’s mouth to massage the masseter, as presented in claims 9-11, were first presented in the instant application which has an earliest effective filing date of 02-19-2022. Thus, claim limitations directed to the device are given the earliest effective filing date of 08-10-2018, while claim limitations directed to the outlined method steps of using the device are given the earliest effective filing date of 02-19-2022.
Response to Amendment
Applicant has amended each of claims 9-11 to address many instances of minor informalities within the claims. The previously held claim objections are hereby withdrawn except where indicated below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, see Remarks as filed on page 2, that the claim limitations which require movement of the pivotable arms one or more of up and down and side to side to massage the person’s masseter muscle are contemplated by the prior art combination. Applicant contends that the Office action has concluded, without support, that Hoon’s device can impact the masseter muscle, as the mouthpiece of Hoon is meant to contact the gums. Applicant initially concedes that Hoon’s device can be moved back and forth, but argues that this disclosure contradicts the up and down movement taught by Hunter. Thus, Applicant concludes that the prior art rejection employing Hoon and Hunter does not render obvious the limitations of claim 9. Applicant further argues that by amending claim 9 to require first and second concave pivotable arms, Hoon has been overcome, as Hoon’s arms are convex.
First, Examiner notes that a new prior art rejection will be applied to claims 9-11, one that does not employ Hunter. Thus, any arguments levied against Hunter are moot in light of the foregoing action. Second, while Hoon’s device does in fact interface the gums, as is explained by Applicant, the masseter muscle is on the lateral surface of the mandible, whereas the gums are on the medial side of the mandible. It is reasonably conceived that placement of the Hoon mouthpiece between the user’s cheeks and gums as prescribed, and use of the Hoon vibration motor when in place, affects massage and vibration of the masseter muscle by virtue of placement of the mouthpiece adjacent the relevant muscle, and further by virtue of the propagating nature of vibration waves through a medium. This notion is presented in Johnson (US 2023/0240802), which discloses an intraoral appliance capable of contacting one or both of the dentition and the gumline (paragraph 21, lines 1-15; Fig. 1), and further teaches that the vibration of the device impacts and subjects the masseter muscles to vibration to alleviate pain and discomfort thereto (paragraph 7, lines 9-13; paragraph 24, lines 1-3; paragraph 41, lines 1-8). Thus, employing Johnson in combination with Hoon would reasonably apprise the ordinarily skilled artisan that the device, positioning of the device at the gums, and vibration of the Hoon device would produce vibration and massage of the masseters, as taught by Johnson.
Further, as is indicated by Applicant, Hoon contemplates back and forth movement of the device along a front/rear direction (Hoon: “Referring to FIG. 4, the first member 120, the second member 140, and the mouthpiece adjusting unit 160 described above are provided on the first member 120 and the second member 140. The slide unit 190 to move back and forth, for this purpose, the slide unit 190 is taken in the through hole 180 and the hollow coupling is formed with a plurality of guide grooves 191 along the front and rear direction It is characterized in that it is composed of a massage protrusion 194 is accommodated in the sphere 192 and the coupling sphere 192 to move back and forth”). Given that Applicant merely recites “side to side” motion, but does not further differentiate that the side to side motion is lateral or longitudinally oriented, Examiner takes the position in the foregoing that Hoon contemplates front side to rear side motion of the device based on the previous citation.
Still further, while it is true that Applicant’s amendments now present each pivotable arm portion as concave, and the plain meaning of concave is understood to be inwardly curved, it is of note that the illustration provided by Applicant to differentiate between convex and concave shapes is with respect to a lens. While it is true that concave refers to an inward curvature and convex refers to an outward curvature, and while it is true that the arms of the instant application and Hoon’s device are oriented in opposite directions, at present, the claim has not defined the direction of inward curvature, merely that the arms are concave. Looking to Hoon’s Figure 2 and arms 120 and 140, the arms themselves do curve inwardly relative to the lateralmost aspect of each arm, i.e., the curvature of each arm from its distal aspect to its proximal aspect curves inwardly with respect to the handle/medial aspect of the device. There is presently no additional claim language that gives the concavity of the arms with respect to another portion of the device, and as such, the claim is still broad enough such that the Hoon arms read on the concave arms.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
At claim 9, line 2, it is suggested that a colon (:) be added following “comprising”.
At claim 9, line 9, it is suggested that “the left outside of teeth” be replaced with “on a left side outside of the person’s teeth” for clarity as “the left” was not previously introduced.
At claim 9, line 10, it is suggested that “pivotable portion arm portion” be replaced with “pivotable arm portion” for consistency with claim 8’s introduction of the first pivotable arm portion.
At claim 9, line 11, it is suggested that “the right outside of teeth” be replaced with “on a right side outside of the person’s teeth” for clarity as “the right” was not previously introduced.
At claim 9, lines 10-11, it is suggested that “the pain management device treatment attachment” be replaced with “the treatment attachment” for consistency with line 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoon (KR 2004/49028) in view of Johnson (US 2023/0240802).
Regarding claim 9, Hoon discloses a method of treating pain (paragraph 1, lines 1-4, where vibratory massage is understood and known to relieve pain; note also that paragraph 28, lines 1-7 provide for acupressure protrusions) comprising the steps of:
providing a pain management device (“gum massaging device”) (paragraph 17, lines 1-2 and paragraph 20, lines 1-2: Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a body portion (see annotated Fig. 3 below) with an elongate handle (200) connected to a treatment attachment (100) with a first concave pivotable arm and a second concave pivotable arm (comprisal of 120, 140, and 160) each of which extend generally perpendicular to the elongate handle (200) (paragraph 17, lines 1-2; paragraph 20, lines 1-2; see Figs. 1 and 3, where Fig. 1 shows an additional mouthpiece 100 attached to the body and generally perpendicular to it; note, as explained above, that each arms 120 and 140 curves in a concave manner, i.e. inwardly, relative to its lateralmost aspect, the left-most extending portion of arm 120 and the right-most extending portion of 140); and
a motor (220) inside the body portion (see annotated Fig. 3 below), the motor (220) configured to impart vibration to the body portion (see annotated Fig. 3 below) (paragraph 5, lines 1-4; paragraph 18, lines 1-2; Fig. 1);
placing a first pivotable arm portion (120) of the pain management device treatment attachment (100) inside a person’s mouth to the left outside teeth (see Fig. 3, where arm 120 is on the left; paragraph 20, lines 1-2 and paragraph 21, line 1);
placing a second pivotable arm portion (140) of the pain management device treatment attachment (100) inside a person’s mouth to the right outside teeth (see Fig. 3, where arm 140 is on the right; paragraph 20, lines 1-2 and paragraph 21, line 1);
engaging the motor of the pain management device (“gum massaging device”) while the first and second pivotable arm portions (120, 140) are inside the person’s mouth (paragraph 5, lines 1-4 and paragraph 6, lines 7-9);
moving the first and second pivotable arm portions (120, 140) side to side inside the person’s mouth to massage the gums (paragraph 34, where front and rear are taken to be front and rear sides of the mouth given that the claim does not specify side to side to be lateral or longitudinal).
Hoon fails to explicitly disclose wherein the vibration of the device necessarily massages the masseter muscle.
However, Johnson teaches an intraoral appliance capable of contacting one or both of the dentition and the gumline (paragraph 21, lines 1-15; Fig. 1), wherein vibration of the device impacts and subjects the masseter muscles to vibration to alleviate pain and discomfort thereto (paragraph 7, lines 9-13; paragraph 24, lines 1-3; paragraph 41, lines 1-8).
Given that the positioning of both the Hoon device and the Johnson device indicates interfacing the gums, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the vibration and position of Hoon’s device would reasonably enact massage of the masseter muscles on either side of the user’s jaw, as taught by Johnson, and thus alleviate pain and discomfort of the masseters.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoon (KR 2004/49028) in view of Johnson (US 2023/0240802), as applied to claim 9 above, in further view of Gloyd (US 2020/0383868).
Regarding claim 10, Hoon in view of Johnson disclose the method of treating pain of claim 9, as discussed above.
Presently modified Hoon fails to disclose the step of the person opening and closing their mouth while the motor is engaged and the pivotable arms of the pain management treatment attachment are inside the person’s mouth.
However, Gloyd teaches a massage implement (see massage tool applied to the person in Fig. 32) wherein the implement is applied in the area of the temporomandibular joint, and the person is instructed to open and close their mouth as the vibration is applied extra orally for the purpose of lengthening the targeted jaw muscles (paragraph 93, lines 1-7; Figs. 31-32; Examiner notes that the jaw muscles are understood to encompass the masseter which works to close the jaw).
Given that the device and method of modified Hoon includes the steps of engaging the motor and treating the masseter muscle with the pivotable arms in their mouth (see rejection of claim 9 above), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the step of the person opening and closing their mouth while vibratory treatment is applied, as taught by Gloyd, in order to lengthen the targeted jaw muscles as the treatment is applied to further alleviate pain.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoon (KR 2004/49028) in view of Johnson (US 2023/0240802), as applied to claim 9 above, in further view of Cohen (US 2020/0246579).
Regarding claim 11, Hoon in view of Johnson disclose the method of treating pain of claim 9, as discussed above.
Presently modified Hoon fails to disclose the step of the person humming while the first and second pivotable arm portions of the pain management device treatment attachment are placed inside the person’s mouth and the motor of the pain management device is engaged.
However, Cohen teaches that sound therapy is a procedure that can promote relaxation and/or meditation, and further that patients can directly provide themselves sound therapy by humming (paragraph 4, lines 1-2 and 4-9).
Given that the device and method of modified Hoon includes the steps of engaging the motor and treating the masseter muscle with the pivotable arms in their mouth (see rejection of claim 9 above), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the step of the person humming, as taught by Cohen, in order to induce sound therapy directly by the user and promote relaxation while the pain management device is in use.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Salit (US 2,227,276) is cited for its teaching of an intraoral appliance which is subjected to back and forth and up and down movement to treat all parts of the gum (Col. 2, line 46-Col. 3, line 1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAIGE KATHLEEN BUGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785