DETAILED ACTION
This Office action replaces the Final Rejection mailed on 11/18/2025; therefore the previous Final Office action mailed on 11/18/2025 is withdrawn.
This Office Action acknowledges the applicant’s amendment filed on 7/29/2025. Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9, 11-12, 16-17, 19 and 21-28 are pending in the application. Claims 3, 8, 10, 13-15, 18 and 20 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7, 21-22, 25 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koike US 2004/0094448 A1.
With regards to claim 1, Koike (Fig. 10-12) discloses an impact absorber 20 for cushioning impact to an object, the impact absorber comprising a three-dimensional structure, the three-dimensional structure including: a closed top surface (shown above) having a continuous outline defining an outer perimeter of the closed top surface; an open bottom; a hollow inside; and a recess 21 completely contained within the outline of the closed top surface, wherein the recess is disposed below the closed top surface and above the open bottom, wherein the recess comprises a side surface and a bottom surface, and wherein the closed top surface, the side surface, and the bottom surface have a continuous outline, wherein the closed top surface is configured to contact the object, and wherein the recess is configured such that no surface of the recess is in contact with the object.
With regards to claim 2, Koike (Fig. 10-12) discloses another recess (shown above) completely contained within the outline of the closed top surface, wherein the said recess is disposed below the closed top surface and above the open bottom, and wherein said another recess is configured to not contact the object.
With regards to claim 4, Koike (Fig. 10-12) discloses the recess has, in top view, a polygonal shape, a circular shape, or an outer shape in which curved lines or straight lines are connected with each other in a wave shape.
With regards to claim 7, Koike (Fig. 10-12) discloses the impact absorber 20 is a prismatic outer shape.
With regards to claim 21, Koike (Fig. 10-12) discloses the open bottom has a continuous bottom outline defining an outer perimeter of the open bottom.
With regards to claim 22, Koike (Fig. 10-12) discloses the continuous bottom outline lies within a single plane.
With regards to claim 25, Koike (Fig. 10-12) discloses the continuous outline of the closed top lies within a single plane.
With regards to claim 27, Koike (Fig. 10-12) discloses a plurality of side walls coupled to form a prismatic shape of the impact absorber 20, wherein a bottom edge of each of the plurality of side walls defines the continuous bottom outline of the open bottom, and wherein a top edge of each of the plurality of side walls defines the continuous outline of the closed top surface.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koike US 2004/0094448 A1.
With regards to claim 9, Koike (Fig. 10-12) discloses a packaging material 20 for cushioning impact to an object, the packaging material comprising: at least one impact absorber comprising a three-dimensional structure, the three- dimensional structure including: a closed top surface (shown above) having a continuous outline defining an outer perimeter of the closed top surface; an open bottom; a hollow inside; and a recess completely contained within an outline of the closed top surface, wherein the recess is disposed below the closed top surface and above the open bottom, wherein the recess comprises a side surface and a bottom surface, and wherein the closed top surface, the side surface, and the bottom surface have a continuous outline, wherein the closed top surface is configured to contact the object, and wherein the recess is configured such that no surface of the recess is in contact with the object.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koike US 2004/0094448 A1.
With regards to claim 5, although the drawings are not to scale, it is readily apparent that Koike (Fig. 11 and 12) discloses a depth of the recess 21 is equal to or greater than twice a thickness of the impact absorber and equal to or smaller than half of a height of the impact absorber. The drawings are to be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2125
However, to the extent it may be argued to not be so, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have a depth of the recess equal to or greater than twice a thickness of the impact absorber and equal to or smaller than half of a height of the impact absorber in order to allow the impact absorber to accommodate a larger article(s), or those of differing shapes.
With regards to claim 6, although the drawings are not to scale, it is more than apparent that Koike (Fig. 11 and 12) discloses a distance between the outline of the closed top surface and the recess is greater than twice a thickness of the impact absorber and equal to or less than half of a length of the outline of the closed top surface along a same direction as the distance. The drawings are to be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2125
However, to the extent it may be argued to not be so, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have a distance between the outline of the closed top surface and the recess to be greater than twice a thickness of the impact absorber and equal to or less than half of a length of the outline of the closed top surface along a same direction as the distance in order to allow the impact absorber to accommodate a larger article(s), or those of differing shapes.
Claim(s) 11-12, 16-17, 23-24, 26 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koike US 2004/0094448 A1.
With regards to claim 11, Koike (Fig. 4(A)(B) and 5) discloses an impact absorber 20 for cushioning impact to an object, the impact absorber comprising: a three-dimensional structure, the three-dimensional structure including: a closed top surface having a continuous outline defining an outer perimeter of the closed top surface; an open bottom; a hollow inside; and a groove 259 (1 of 4) crossing the closed top surface, wherein the groove comprises a side surface and a bottom surface, wherein the closed top surface is configured to contact the object, and wherein the groove is configured such that no surface of the groove is in contact with the object.
The closed top surface of Koike is capable of being configured to contact an object and the groove is capable of being configured such that no surface of the groove is in contact with the object, depending on the size and type of object to be held. Such a limitation is considered an intended use.
Although the drawings are not to scale, it is readily apparent that Koike (Fig. 4(A)(B) and 5) discloses a depth of the groove that is equal to or greater than twice a thickness of the impact absorber and equal to or smaller than half of a height of the impact absorber. The drawings are to be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2125
However, to the extent it may be argued to not be so, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the groove have a depth equal to or greater than twice a thickness of the impact absorber and equal to or smaller than one fifth of a structural height of the impact absorber in order to allow the impact absorber to accommodate a larger article(s), or those of differing shapes. Since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art, the claimed device would not be patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP 2144.04-IV
With regards to claim 12, Koike (Fig. 4(A)(B) and 5) discloses another groove 259 (2nd of 4) crossing the closed top surface and completely contained within the outline of the closed top surface, wherein said another groove is configured to not contact the object.
The groove of Koike is capable of being configured to not contact the object, depending on the size and type of object to be held. Such a limitation is considered an intended use.
See claim 11, for the groove depth reasoning.
With regards to claim 16, Koike (Fig. 4(A)(B) and 5) discloses a groove but it does not specifically disclose the groove has, in top view, an I-shape or a cross-shape including a continuous line connecting straight lines, a continuous line connecting curved lines, or a continuous line connecting a straight line and a curved line.
To modify the groove with an I-shape or a cross-shape including a continuous line connecting straight lines, a continuous line connecting curved lines, or a continuous line connecting a straight line and a curved line as claimed would entail a mere change in shape of the groove and yield only predictable results. "[I]f a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person's skill." KSR Int 'l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1396 (2007). A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
With regards to claim 17, although the drawings are not to scale, it is more than apparent that Koike (Fig. 4(A)(B) and 5) discloses a width of the groove 259 is equal to or more than twice a thickness of the impact absorber and less than one third of a width of the closed top surface of the impact absorber. The drawings are to be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2125
However, to the extent it may be argued to not be so, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have a width of the groove is equal to or more than twice a thickness of the impact absorber and less than one third of a width of the closed top surface of the impact absorber in order to allow the impact absorber to accommodate a larger article(s), or those of differing shapes. Since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art, the claimed device would not be patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP 2144.04-IV
With regards to claim 23, Koike (Fig. 4(A)(B) and 5) discloses the open bottom has a continuous bottom outline defining an outer perimeter of the open bottom.
With regards to claim 24, Koike (Fig. 4(A)(B) and 5) discloses the continuous bottom outline lies within a single plane.
With regards to claim 26, Koike (Fig. 4(A)(B) and 5) discloses the continuous outline of the closed top lies within a single plane.
With regards to claim 28, Koike (Fig. 4(A)(B) and 5) discloses a plurality of side walls coupled to form a prismatic shape of the impact absorber 20, wherein a bottom edge of each of the plurality of side walls defines the continuous bottom outline of the open bottom, and wherein a top edge of each of the plurality of side walls defines the continuous outline of the closed top surface.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koike US 2004/0094448 A1.
With regards to claim 19, Koike (Fig. 4(A)(B) and 5) discloses a packaging material for cushioning impact to an object, the packaging material comprising: at least one impact absorber 20 comprising; a three-dimensional structure, the three-dimensional structure including: a closed top surface having a continuous outline defining an outer perimeter of the closed top surface; an open bottom; a hollow inside; and a groove 259 crossing the closed top surface, wherein the groove comprises a side surface and a bottom surface, wherein the closed top surface is configured to contact the object, and wherein the groove is configured such that no surface of the groove is in contact with the object.
The closed top surface of Koike is capable of being configured to contact an object and the groove is capable of being configured such that no surface of the groove is in contact with the object, depending on the size and type of object to be held. Such a limitation is considered an intended use.
See claim 11, for the groove depth reasoning.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2,4-7,9,11-12,16-17,19 and 21-28 have been considered but are moot because of a new ground of rejection. However, with regards to the Applicants traversal of the Restriction of the previous set of amended claims, being classified in a method class. In the previous set of claims presented, the limitations were recited as the impact cushion being formed with the object. As the claims were presented, the search could be classified in the CPC classes cited.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENINE SPICER/Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736