DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed 30 Oct 2025.
Claims 1-23 are being considered on the merits.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 12-14, and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamath, Ajith M. (US 2014/0185862 A1; hereinafter “Kamath”) in view of Song, et. al. (US 2020/0043241 A1; hereinafter, “Song”) and further in view of García-Ordás, et. al. (“Detecting Respiratory Pathologies Using Convolutional Neural Networks and Variational Autoencoders for Unbalancing Data.” (2020) Sensors. 20. 10.3390/s20041214; hereinafter, “Garcia-Ordás”).
Claim 1, Kamath as modified teaches:
At least one non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions, which if performed by a machine cause the machine to perform a method comprising: (Kamath, para. 0081: “The methods and processes described above may be implemented in programs executed from a system's memory (a computer readable medium, such as an electronic, optical or magnetic storage device). The methods, instructions and circuitry operate on electronic signals, or signals in other electromagnetic forms.”)
generating, in at least one cloud server (Kamath para 0077) comprising the machine, an autoencoder comprising an encoder and a decoder, and (Song, para. 0292: “More specifically, FIG. 9(a) illustrates a general structure of the artificial neural network model, and FIG. 9(b) illustrates an autoencoder, that performs decoding after encoding and goes through a reconstruction step, among the artificial neural network model.”)
generating a classifier, (Song, para. 0276: “Furthermore, the memory 25 may store the neural network model (e.g. the deep learning model 26) generated through a learning algorithm for classifying/recognizing data in accordance with the embodiment of the present disclosure.”)
wherein the encoder is to encode a spectrogram into a compressed spectrogram, (Kamath, para. 0049: “After writing the message into the spectrogram, the spectrogram is converted to an audio signal suitable for play out, transmission or storage (converted to a standard audio signal and file format, possibly compressed to reduce its size).”)
the decoder is to decode the compressed spectrogram into a recovered spectrogram, and (Kamath, para. 0031: “The metadata may be encoded in the machine readable information, embedded within the audio signal, such that only intended recipients can decode it”)
the classifier is to identify one or more properties of real world information from the recovered spectrogram; (Song, para. 0008: “In an aspect, a method of controlling an intelligent device includes obtaining sound information from a photographed image; learning the obtained sound information and recognizing a sound based on the result of the learned sound information; and classifying the image based on the recognized sound.”)
calculating a first loss of the (Garcia-Ordás, sec. 3.2: “For that reason, the loss function used to train a VAE is made up of two terms: ‘reconstruction term’, like in the vanilla autoencoder, that tends to make the encoder-decoder work accurately; and a ‘regularization term’ applied over the latent layer that tends to make the distributions created by the encoder close to a standard normal distribution using the Kulback-Leibler divergence”) and independently calculating a second loss of the classifier; (Garcia-Ordás, sec. 4.2.1: “We used Adam as the optimization algorithm and categorical crossentropy as the loss function” Examiner notes that Garia-Ordás teaches crossentropy for the classifier independent of the loss calculated for the autoencoder);
jointly training the autoencoder and the classifier to minimize a loss function based at least in part on the first loss (Garcia-Ordás, sec. 3.2: “For that reason, the loss function used to train a VAE is made up of two terms: ‘reconstruction term’, like in the vanilla autoencoder, that tends to make the encoder-decoder work accurately; and a ‘regularization term’ applied over the latent layer that tends to make the distributions created by the encoder close to a standard normal distribution using the Kulback-Leibler divergence”) and the second loss (Garcia-Ordás, sec. 4.2.1: “We used Adam as the optimization algorithm and categorical crossentropy as the loss function”); (Garcia-Ordás, sec. 4.2.1 and Fig 5: “Furthermore, an augmentation of the less representative classes was done to balance the dataset. This augmentation step was carried out using our proposed VAE. A convolutional VAE scheme has been implemented in order to generate more samples for the Non-Chronic and healthy classes. In Figure 5, we can see the network configuration.” Examiner notes that figure 5 shows the interaction between the autoencoder and the classifier).
storing the trained autoencoder and the trained classifier in a non-transitory storage medium for delivery of at least the encoder of the trained autoencoder to at least one end node wireless device to cause the encoder of the trained autoencoder to execute on the at least one end node wireless device to compress the real world information sensed by the at least one end node wireless device, the compressed real world information to be sent from the at least one end node wireless device to the at least one cloud server for processing; (Kamath, para. 0077: “Different of the functionality can be implemented on different devices. For example, in a system in which a cell phone communicates with a server at a remote service provider, different tasks can be performed exclusively by one device or the other, or execution can be distributed between the devices. For example, messages can be authored and communicated to other devices by servers in a cloud computing service by uploading message and host image content to servers in a cloud service or authored in a mobile device via a script program downloaded from an online authoring service provided from a network server. Also, messages and host signals may be stored on the cell phone—allowing the cell phone to write messages into host signals, transmit them, receive them, and render them—all without reliance on externals devices. Thus, it should be understood that description of an operation as being performed by a particular device (e.g., a cell phone) is not limiting but exemplary; performance of the operation by another device (e.g., a remote server), or shared between devices, is also expressly contemplated. (Moreover, more than two devices may commonly be employed. E.g., a service provider may refer some tasks, functions or operations, to servers dedicated to such tasks.) In like fashion, data can be stored anywhere: local device, remote device, in the cloud, distributed, etc.”)
receiving, in the at least one cloud server, the compressed real world information comprising speech information of a user; (Kamath, para. 0055: “ In particular, as depicted in FIG. 6 for example, one user authors a message (e.g., an image) on her phone with a mobile application program, and the mobile application writes it into the spectrogram of a host audio signal, as shown in block 112. The application converts the spectrogram to an output audio signal format (e.g., way file) in block 114 and plays that audio signal.” Examiner notes Kamath para. 0077 above teaches that any functionality, including receiving can be implemented on different devices including, “e.g. a remote server”).
processing, in the at least one cloud server, the compressed real world information to determine, based at least in part on the compressed real world information, an operation requested by the user to be performed by the at least one end node wireless device; and (Song, para. 0079: “At this time, the AI server 16 may receive input data from the AI device (11 to 15), infer a result value from the received input data by using the learning model, generate a response or control command based on the inferred result value, and transmit the generated response or control command to the AI device (11 to 15).” Examiner notes Song teaches generating an inferred result i.e. processing. Examiner further notes Song teaches any devices being a wireless device in parap 0138 and including a robot as taught in para. 0090)
sending, from the at least one cloud server, command information to the at least one end node wireless device to cause the at least one end node wireless device to perform the operation responsive to the command information. (Song, para. 0090: “ Also, the robot 11 may perform the operation or navigate the space by controlling its locomotion platform based on the control/interaction of the user. At this time, the robot 11 may obtain intention information of the interaction due to the user's motion or voice command and perform an operation by determining a response based on the obtained intention information.” Examiner notes Song teaches an end node being a robot where Kamath teaches an end node being a cell phone. Moreover Song teaches devices being wireless at para 0138)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Song into Kamath, as modified. Kamath teaches communicating a message between devices by passing an audio signal with the message written into the spectrogram of the audio signal. Song teaches an intelligent device and a method of controlling the same. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Song into Kamath, as modified, in order increase reliability and latency to support smart grid control, industry automation, robotics, drone control and coordination (Song, para. 0062).
Additionally, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Garcia-Ordás into Kamath, as modified. Garcia-Ordás teaches use of variational convolutional autoencoders to process sound of breaths in the form of spectrograms for diagnosing various ailments. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Garcia-Ordás into Kamath, as modified, in order to classify the respiratory sounds into healthy, chronic, and non-chronic disease for the purpose of training a computer to classify respiratory sounds into healthy, chronic, and non-chronic disease.
Claim 4, Kamath as modified teaches claim 1. Kamath as modified further teaches:
wherein the method further comprises sending a trained encoder portion of the autoencoder to one or more end node wireless devices to enable the one or more end node wireless devices to compress spectrograms using the trained encoder portion and (Kamath, para. 0077: “Different of the functionality can be implemented on different devices. For example, in a system in which a cell phone communicates with a server at a remote service provider, different tasks can be performed exclusively by one device or the other, or execution can be distributed between the devices. For example, messages can be authored and communicated to other devices by servers in a cloud computing service by uploading message and host image content to servers in a cloud service or authored in a mobile device via a script program downloaded from an online authoring service provided from a network server. Also, messages and host signals may be stored on the cell phone—allowing the cell phone to write messages into host signals, transmit them, receive them, and render them—all without reliance on externals devices. Thus, it should be understood that description of an operation as being performed by a particular device (e.g., a cell phone) is not limiting but exemplary; performance of the operation by another device (e.g., a remote server), or shared between devices, is also expressly contemplated. (Moreover, more than two devices may commonly be employed. E.g., a service provider may refer some tasks, functions or operations, to servers dedicated to such tasks.) In like fashion, data can be stored anywhere: local device, remote device, in the cloud, distributed, etc.”)
send the compressed spectrograms to the at least one cloud server. (Kamath, para. 0049: “After writing the message into the spectrogram, the spectrogram is converted to an audio signal suitable for play out, transmission or storage (converted to a standard audio signal and file format, possibly compressed to reduce its size).” Examiner notes that Kamath teaches uploading and downloading operations between services and devices at para 0077)
Claim 5, Kamath as modified teaches claim 4. Kamath as modified further teaches:
wherein the method further comprises: receiving, in the at least one cloud server, uncompressed spectrograms from the one or more end node wireless devices; and (Kamath, para. 0077: “Different of the functionality can be implemented on different devices. For example, in a system in which a cell phone communicates with a server at a remote service provider, different tasks can be performed exclusively by one device or the other, or execution can be distributed between the devices. For example, messages can be authored and communicated to other devices by servers in a cloud computing service by uploading message and host image content to servers in a cloud service or authored in a mobile device via a script program downloaded from an online authoring service provided from a network server. Also, messages and host signals may be stored on the cell phone—allowing the cell phone to write messages into host signals, transmit them, receive them, and render them—all without reliance on externals devices. Thus, it should be understood that description of an operation as being performed by a particular device (e.g., a cell phone) is not limiting but exemplary; performance of the operation by another device (e.g., a remote server), or shared between devices, is also expressly contemplated. (Moreover, more than two devices may commonly be employed. E.g., a service provider may refer some tasks, functions or operations, to servers dedicated to such tasks.) In like fashion, data can be stored anywhere: local device, remote device, in the cloud, distributed, etc.” Examiner notes Kamath teaches encoding and decoding signals at para. 0031 and compression of signals at 0049).
incrementally training, in the at least one cloud server, one or more of the autoencoder or the classifier based at least in part on the uncompressed spectrograms. (Song, para. 0297 and 0298: “Referring to FIG. 9(b), an artificial neural network model according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may include an autoencoder. “ “The artificial neural network model that has been learned repeatedly several times may stop the learning and may be stored in a memory of an AI device if an error value is less than a reference value.”)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Song into Kamath as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 6, Kamath as modified teaches claim 5. Kamath as modified further teaches:
wherein the method further comprises sending an incrementally trained encoder portion of the autoencoder from the at least one cloud server to the one or more end node wireless devices. (Kamath, para. 0077: “Different of the functionality can be implemented on different devices. For example, in a system in which a cell phone communicates with a server at a remote service provider, different tasks can be performed exclusively by one device or the other, or execution can be distributed between the devices. For example, messages can be authored and communicated to other devices by servers in a cloud computing service by uploading message and host image content to servers in a cloud service or authored in a mobile device via a script program downloaded from an online authoring service provided from a network server. Also, messages and host signals may be stored on the cell phone—allowing the cell phone to write messages into host signals, transmit them, receive them, and render them—all without reliance on externals devices. Thus, it should be understood that description of an operation as being performed by a particular device (e.g., a cell phone) is not limiting but exemplary; performance of the operation by another device (e.g., a remote server), or shared between devices, is also expressly contemplated. (Moreover, more than two devices may commonly be employed. E.g., a service provider may refer some tasks, functions or operations, to servers dedicated to such tasks.) In like fashion, data can be stored anywhere: local device, remote device, in the cloud, distributed, etc.” Examiner notes Kamath teaches encoding and decoding signals at para. 0031 and compression of signals at 0049).
Claim 8, Kamath as modified teaches:
A method comprising: generating, in at least one cloud server comprising the machine, an autoencoder comprising an encoder and a decoder, and (Song, para. 0292: “More specifically, FIG. 9(a) illustrates a general structure of the artificial neural network model, and FIG. 9(b) illustrates an autoencoder, that performs decoding after encoding and goes through a reconstruction step, among the artificial neural network model.”)
generating a classifier, (Song, para. 0276: “Furthermore, the memory 25 may store the neural network model (e.g. the deep learning model 26) generated through a learning algorithm for classifying/recognizing data in accordance with the embodiment of the present disclosure.”)
wherein the encoder is to encode a spectrogram into a compressed spectrogram, (Kamath, para. 0049: “After writing the message into the spectrogram, the spectrogram is converted to an audio signal suitable for play out, transmission or storage (converted to a standard audio signal and file format, possibly compressed to reduce its size).”)
the decoder is to decode the compressed spectrogram into a recovered spectrogram, and (Kamath, para. 0031: “The metadata may be encoded in the machine readable information, embedded within the audio signal, such that only intended recipients can decode it”)
the classifier is to identify one or more properties of real world information from the recovered spectrogram; (Song, para. 0008: “In an aspect, a method of controlling an intelligent device includes obtaining sound information from a photographed image; learning the obtained sound information and recognizing a sound based on the result of the learned sound information; and classifying the image based on the recognized sound.”)
calculating a first loss of the (Garcia-Ordás, sec. 3.2: “For that reason, the loss function used to train a VAE is made up of two terms: ‘reconstruction term’, like in the vanilla autoencoder, that tends to make the encoder-decoder work accurately; and a ‘regularization term’ applied over the latent layer that tends to make the distributions created by the encoder close to a standard normal distribution using the Kulback-Leibler divergence”) and independently calculating a second loss of the classifier; (Garcia-Ordás, sec. 4.2.1: “We used Adam as the optimization algorithm and categorical crossentropy as the loss function” Examiner notes that Garia-Ordás teaches crossentropy for the classifier independent of the loss calculated for the autoencoder);
jointly training the autoencoder and the classifier to minimize a loss function based at least in part on the first loss (Garcia-Ordás, sec. 3.2: “For that reason, the loss function used to train a VAE is made up of two terms: ‘reconstruction term’, like in the vanilla autoencoder, that tends to make the encoder-decoder work accurately; and a ‘regularization term’ applied over the latent layer that tends to make the distributions created by the encoder close to a standard normal distribution using the Kulback-Leibler divergence”) and the second loss (Garcia-Ordás, sec. 4.2.1: “We used Adam as the optimization algorithm and categorical crossentropy as the loss function”); (Garcia-Ordás, sec. 4.2.1 and Fig 5: “Furthermore, an augmentation of the less representative classes was done to balance the dataset. This augmentation step was carried out using our proposed VAE. A convolutional VAE scheme has been implemented in order to generate more samples for the Non-Chronic and healthy classes. In Figure 5, we can see the network configuration.” Examiner notes that figure 5 shows the interaction between the autoencoder and the classifier).
storing the trained autoencoder and the trained classifier in a non-transitory storage medium for delivery of at least the encoder of the trained autoencoder to at least one end node wireless device to cause the encoder of the trained autoencoder to execute on the at least one end node wireless device to compress the real world information sensed by the at least one end node wireless device, the compressed real world information to be sent from the at least one end node wireless device to the at least one cloud server for processing; (Kamath, para. 0077: “Different of the functionality can be implemented on different devices. For example, in a system in which a cell phone communicates with a server at a remote service provider, different tasks can be performed exclusively by one device or the other, or execution can be distributed between the devices. For example, messages can be authored and communicated to other devices by servers in a cloud computing service by uploading message and host image content to servers in a cloud service or authored in a mobile device via a script program downloaded from an online authoring service provided from a network server. Also, messages and host signals may be stored on the cell phone—allowing the cell phone to write messages into host signals, transmit them, receive them, and render them—all without reliance on externals devices. Thus, it should be understood that description of an operation as being performed by a particular device (e.g., a cell phone) is not limiting but exemplary; performance of the operation by another device (e.g., a remote server), or shared between devices, is also expressly contemplated. (Moreover, more than two devices may commonly be employed. E.g., a service provider may refer some tasks, functions or operations, to servers dedicated to such tasks.) In like fashion, data can be stored anywhere: local device, remote device, in the cloud, distributed, etc.”)
receiving, in the at least one cloud server, the compressed real world information comprising speech information of a user; (Kamath, para. 0055: “ In particular, as depicted in FIG. 6 for example, one user authors a message (e.g., an image) on her phone with a mobile application program, and the mobile application writes it into the spectrogram of a host audio signal, as shown in block 112. The application converts the spectrogram to an output audio signal format (e.g., way file) in block 114 and plays that audio signal.” Examiner notes Kamath para. 0077 above teaches that any functionality, including receiving can be implemented on different devices including, “e.g. a remote server”).
processing, in the at least one cloud server, the compressed real world information to determine, based at least in part on the compressed real world information, an operation requested by the user to be performed by the at least one end node wireless device; and (Song, para. 0079: “At this time, the AI server 16 may receive input data from the AI device (11 to 15), infer a result value from the received input data by using the learning model, generate a response or control command based on the inferred result value, and transmit the generated response or control command to the AI device (11 to 15).” Examiner notes Song teaches generating an inferred result i.e. processing. Examiner further notes Song teaches any devices being a wireless device in parap 0138 and including a robot as taught in para. 0090)
sending, from the at least one cloud server, command information to the at least one end node wireless device to cause the at least one end node wireless device to perform the operation responsive to the command information. (Song, para. 0090: “ Also, the robot 11 may perform the operation or navigate the space by controlling its locomotion platform based on the control/interaction of the user. At this time, the robot 11 may obtain intention information of the interaction due to the user's motion or voice command and perform an operation by determining a response based on the obtained intention information.” Examiner notes Song teaches an end node being a robot where Kamath teaches an end node being a cell phone. Moreover Song teaches devices being wireless at para 0138)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Song into Kamath, as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Garcia-Ordás into Kamath, as modified, as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 12, Kamath as modified teaches claim 8. Kamath as modified further teaches:
further comprising sending a trained encoder portion of the autoencoder from the computer system to one or more end node wireless devices. (Kamath, para. 0077: “Different of the functionality can be implemented on different devices. For example, in a system in which a cell phone communicates with a server at a remote service provider, different tasks can be performed exclusively by one device or the other, or execution can be distributed between the devices. For example, messages can be authored and communicated to other devices by servers in a cloud computing service by uploading message and host image content to servers in a cloud service or authored in a mobile device via a script program downloaded from an online authoring service provided from a network server. Also, messages and host signals may be stored on the cell phone—allowing the cell phone to write messages into host signals, transmit them, receive them, and render them—all without reliance on externals devices. Thus, it should be understood that description of an operation as being performed by a particular device (e.g., a cell phone) is not limiting but exemplary; performance of the operation by another device (e.g., a remote server), or shared between devices, is also expressly contemplated. (Moreover, more than two devices may commonly be employed. E.g., a service provider may refer some tasks, functions or operations, to servers dedicated to such tasks.) In like fashion, data can be stored anywhere: local device, remote device, in the cloud, distributed, etc.”)
Claim 13, Kamath as modified teaches claim 12. Kamath as modified further teaches:
further sending a trained decoder portion of the autoencoder from the computer system to at least some of the one or more end node wireless devices. (Kamath, para. 0077: “Different of the functionality can be implemented on different devices. For example, in a system in which a cell phone communicates with a server at a remote service provider, different tasks can be performed exclusively by one device or the other, or execution can be distributed between the devices. For example, messages can be authored and communicated to other devices by servers in a cloud computing service by uploading message and host image content to servers in a cloud service or authored in a mobile device via a script program downloaded from an online authoring service provided from a network server. Also, messages and host signals may be stored on the cell phone—allowing the cell phone to write messages into host signals, transmit them, receive them, and render them—all without reliance on externals devices. Thus, it should be understood that description of an operation as being performed by a particular device (e.g., a cell phone) is not limiting but exemplary; performance of the operation by another device (e.g., a remote server), or shared between devices, is also expressly contemplated. (Moreover, more than two devices may commonly be employed. E.g., a service provider may refer some tasks, functions or operations, to servers dedicated to such tasks.) In like fashion, data can be stored anywhere: local device, remote device, in the cloud, distributed, etc.”)
Claim 14, Kamath as modified teaches claim 12. Kamath as modified further teaches:
further comprising receiving, in the computer system, compressed spectrograms from at least some of the one or more end node wireless devices, the compressed spectrograms compressed using the trained encoder portion. (Kamath, para. 0077: “Different of the functionality can be implemented on different devices. For example, in a system in which a cell phone communicates with a server at a remote service provider, different tasks can be performed exclusively by one device or the other, or execution can be distributed between the devices. For example, messages can be authored and communicated to other devices by servers in a cloud computing service by uploading message and host image content to servers in a cloud service or authored in a mobile device via a script program downloaded from an online authoring service provided from a network server. Also, messages and host signals may be stored on the cell phone—allowing the cell phone to write messages into host signals, transmit them, receive them, and render them—all without reliance on externals devices. Thus, it should be understood that description of an operation as being performed by a particular device (e.g., a cell phone) is not limiting but exemplary; performance of the operation by another device (e.g., a remote server), or shared between devices, is also expressly contemplated. (Moreover, more than two devices may commonly be employed. E.g., a service provider may refer some tasks, functions or operations, to servers dedicated to such tasks.) In like fashion, data can be stored anywhere: local device, remote device, in the cloud, distributed, etc.”)
Claim 17, Kamath as modified teaches claim 12. Kamath as modified further teaches:
further comprising: requesting, by the computer system, one or more uncompressed spectrograms from at least some of the one or more end node wireless devices; and (Kamath, para. 0077: “Different of the functionality can be implemented on different devices. For example, in a system in which a cell phone communicates with a server at a remote service provider, different tasks can be performed exclusively by one device or the other, or execution can be distributed between the devices. For example, messages can be authored and communicated to other devices by servers in a cloud computing service by uploading message and host image content to servers in a cloud service or authored in a mobile device via a script program downloaded from an online authoring service provided from a network server. Also, messages and host signals may be stored on the cell phone—allowing the cell phone to write messages into host signals, transmit them, receive them, and render them—all without reliance on externals devices. Thus, it should be understood that description of an operation as being performed by a particular device (e.g., a cell phone) is not limiting but exemplary; performance of the operation by another device (e.g., a remote server), or shared between devices, is also expressly contemplated. (Moreover, more than two devices may commonly be employed. E.g., a service provider may refer some tasks, functions or operations, to servers dedicated to such tasks.) In like fashion, data can be stored anywhere: local device, remote device, in the cloud, distributed, etc.”)
incrementally training, in the computer system, at least one of the autoencoder or the classifier based at least in part on the one or more uncompressed spectrograms. (Song, para. 0297 and 0298: “Referring to FIG. 9(b), an artificial neural network model according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may include an autoencoder. “ “The artificial neural network model that has been learned repeatedly several times may stop the learning and may be stored in a memory of an AI device if an error value is less than a reference value.”)
Claim 18, Kamath as modified teaches:
A system comprising: at least one processor; memory coupled to the at least one processor; and one or more non-transitory storage media, wherein the one or more non-transitory storage media comprises instructions which if performed by the system cause the system to perform a method comprising (Kamath, para. 0081: “The methods and processes described above may be implemented in programs executed from a system's memory (a computer readable medium, such as an electronic, optical or magnetic storage device). The methods, instructions and circuitry operate on electronic signals, or signals in other electromagnetic forms.”)
generating, in at least one cloud server comprising the machine, an autoencoder comprising an encoder and a decoder, and (Song, para. 0292: “More specifically, FIG. 9(a) illustrates a general structure of the artificial neural network model, and FIG. 9(b) illustrates an autoencoder, that performs decoding after encoding and goes through a reconstruction step, among the artificial neural network model.”)
generating a classifier, (Song, para. 0276: “Furthermore, the memory 25 may store the neural network model (e.g. the deep learning model 26) generated through a learning algorithm for classifying/recognizing data in accordance with the embodiment of the present disclosure.”)
wherein the encoder is to encode a spectrogram into a compressed spectrogram, (Kamath, para. 0049: “After writing the message into the spectrogram, the spectrogram is converted to an audio signal suitable for play out, transmission or storage (converted to a standard audio signal and file format, possibly compressed to reduce its size).”)
the decoder is to decode the compressed spectrogram into a recovered spectrogram, and (Kamath, para. 0031: “The metadata may be encoded in the machine readable information, embedded within the audio signal, such that only intended recipients can decode it”)
the classifier is to identify one or more properties of real world information from the recovered spectrogram; (Song, para. 0008: “In an aspect, a method of controlling an intelligent device includes obtaining sound information from a photographed image; learning the obtained sound information and recognizing a sound based on the result of the learned sound information; and classifying the image based on the recognized sound.”)
calculating a first loss of the (Garcia-Ordás, sec. 3.2: “For that reason, the loss function used to train a VAE is made up of two terms: ‘reconstruction term’, like in the vanilla autoencoder, that tends to make the encoder-decoder work accurately; and a ‘regularization term’ applied over the latent layer that tends to make the distributions created by the encoder close to a standard normal distribution using the Kulback-Leibler divergence”) and independently calculating a second loss of the classifier; (Garcia-Ordás, sec. 4.2.1: “We used Adam as the optimization algorithm and categorical crossentropy as the loss function” Examiner notes that Garia-Ordás teaches crossentropy for the classifier independent of the loss calculated for the autoencoder);
jointly training the autoencoder and the classifier to minimize a loss function based at least in part on the first loss (Garcia-Ordás, sec. 3.2: “For that reason, the loss function used to train a VAE is made up of two terms: ‘reconstruction term’, like in the vanilla autoencoder, that tends to make the encoder-decoder work accurately; and a ‘regularization term’ applied over the latent layer that tends to make the distributions created by the encoder close to a standard normal distribution using the Kulback-Leibler divergence”) and the second loss (Garcia-Ordás, sec. 4.2.1: “We used Adam as the optimization algorithm and categorical crossentropy as the loss function”); (Garcia-Ordás, sec. 4.2.1 and Fig 5: “Furthermore, an augmentation of the less representative classes was done to balance the dataset. This augmentation step was carried out using our proposed VAE. A convolutional VAE scheme has been implemented in order to generate more samples for the Non-Chronic and healthy classes. In Figure 5, we can see the network configuration.” Examiner notes that figure 5 shows the interaction between the autoencoder and the classifier).
storing the trained autoencoder and the trained classifier in a non-transitory storage medium for delivery of at least the encoder of the trained autoencoder to at least one end node wireless device to cause the encoder of the trained autoencoder to execute on the at least one end node wireless device to compress the real world information sensed by the at least one end node wireless device, the compressed real world information to be sent from the at least one end node wireless device to the at least one cloud server for processing; (Kamath, para. 0077: “Different of the functionality can be implemented on different devices. For example, in a system in which a cell phone communicates with a server at a remote service provider, different tasks can be performed exclusively by one device or the other, or execution can be distributed between the devices. For example, messages can be authored and communicated to other devices by servers in a cloud computing service by uploading message and host image content to servers in a cloud service or authored in a mobile device via a script program downloaded from an online authoring service provided from a network server. Also, messages and host signals may be stored on the cell phone—allowing the cell phone to write messages into host signals, transmit them, receive them, and render them—all without reliance on externals devices. Thus, it should be understood that description of an operation as being performed by a particular device (e.g., a cell phone) is not limiting but exemplary; performance of the operation by another device (e.g., a remote server), or shared between devices, is also expressly contemplated. (Moreover, more than two devices may commonly be employed. E.g., a service provider may refer some tasks, functions or operations, to servers dedicated to such tasks.) In like fashion, data can be stored anywhere: local device, remote device, in the cloud, distributed, etc.”)
receiving, in the at least one cloud server, the compressed real world information comprising speech information of a user; (Kamath, para. 0055: “ In particular, as depicted in FIG. 6 for example, one user authors a message (e.g., an image) on her phone with a mobile application program, and the mobile application writes it into the spectrogram of a host audio signal, as shown in block 112. The application converts the spectrogram to an output audio signal format (e.g., way file) in block 114 and plays that audio signal.” Examiner notes Kamath para. 0077 above teaches that any functionality, including receiving can be implemented on different devices including, “e.g. a remote server”).
processing, in the at least one cloud server, the compressed real world information to determine, based at least in part on the compressed real world information, an operation requested by the user to be performed by the at least one end node wireless device; and (Song, para. 0079: “At this time, the AI server 16 may receive input data from the AI device (11 to 15), infer a result value from the received input data by using the learning model, generate a response or control command based on the inferred result value, and transmit the generated response or control command to the AI device (11 to 15).” Examiner notes Song teaches generating an inferred result i.e. processing. Examiner further notes Song teaches any devices being a wireless device in parap 0138 and including a robot as taught in para. 0090)
sending, from the at least one cloud server, command information to the at least one end node wireless device to cause the at least one end node wireless device to perform the operation responsive to the command information. (Song, para. 0090: “ Also, the robot 11 may perform the operation or navigate the space by controlling its locomotion platform based on the control/interaction of the user. At this time, the robot 11 may obtain intention information of the interaction due to the user's motion or voice command and perform an operation by determining a response based on the obtained intention information.” Examiner notes Song teaches an end node being a robot where Kamath teaches an end node being a cell phone. Moreover Song teaches devices being wireless at para 0138)
Claim 19, Kamath as modified teaches claim 18. Kamath as modified further teaches::
wherein the system comprises a remote cloud server, the remote cloud server to send the trained autoencoder (Song para 0292) to one or more end nodes coupled to the remote cloud server via a network. (Kamath, para. 0077: “Different of the functionality can be implemented on different devices. For example, in a system in which a cell phone communicates with a server at a remote service provider, different tasks can be performed exclusively by one device or the other, or execution can be distributed between the devices. For example, messages can be authored and communicated to other devices by servers in a cloud computing service by uploading message and host image content to servers in a cloud service or authored in a mobile device via a script program downloaded from an online authoring service provided from a network server. Also, messages and host signals may be stored on the cell phone—allowing the cell phone to write messages into host signals, transmit them, receive them, and render them—all without reliance on externals devices. Thus, it should be understood that description of an operation as being performed by a particular device (e.g., a cell phone) is not limiting but exemplary; performance of the operation by another device (e.g., a remote server), or shared between devices, is also expressly contemplated. (Moreover, more than two devices may commonly be employed. E.g., a service provider may refer some tasks, functions or operations, to servers dedicated to such tasks.) In like fashion, data can be stored anywhere: local device, remote device, in the cloud, distributed, etc.”)
Claim 20, Kamath as modified teaches claim 19. Kamath as modified further teaches:
wherein the remote cloud server is to receive compressed spectrograms (Kamath, para. 0049: “After writing the message into the spectrogram, the spectrogram is converted to an audio signal suitable for play out, transmission or storage (converted to a standard audio signal and file format, possibly compressed to reduce its size).”) from at least some of the one or more end node devices and process the compressed spectrograms. (Kamath, para. 0077: “Different of the functionality can be implemented on different devices. For example, in a system in which a cell phone communicates with a server at a remote service provider, different tasks can be performed exclusively by one device or the other, or execution can be distributed between the devices. For example, messages can be authored and communicated to other devices by servers in a cloud computing service by uploading message and host image content to servers in a cloud service or authored in a mobile device via a script program downloaded from an online authoring service provided from a network server. Also, messages and host signals may be stored on the cell phone—allowing the cell phone to write messages into host signals, transmit them, receive them, and render them—all without reliance on externals devices. Thus, it should be understood that description of an operation as being performed by a particular device (e.g., a cell phone) is not limiting but exemplary; performance of the operation by another device (e.g., a remote server), or shared between devices, is also expressly contemplated. (Moreover, more than two devices may commonly be employed. E.g., a service provider may refer some tasks, functions or operations, to servers dedicated to such tasks.) In like fashion, data can be stored anywhere: local device, remote device, in the cloud, distributed, etc.”)
Claim 21, Kamath as modified teaches claim 1. Kamath as modified further teaches:
wherein the command information is to cause the at least one end node wireless device to perform the operation comprising a playing of a media file. (Kamath, para. 0077: “Different of the functionality can be implemented on different devices. For example, in a system in which a cell phone communicates with a server at a remote service provider, different tasks can be performed exclusively by one device or the other, or execution can be distributed between the devices. For example, messages can be authored and communicated to other devices by servers in a cloud computing service by uploading message and host image content to servers in a cloud service or authored in a mobile device via a script program downloaded from an online authoring service provided from a network server. Also, messages and host signals may be stored on the cell phone—allowing the cell phone to write messages into host signals, transmit them, receive them, and render them—all without reliance on externals devices. Thus, it should be understood that description of an operation as being performed by a particular device (e.g., a cell phone) is not limiting but exemplary; performance of the operation by another device (e.g., a remote server), or shared between devices, is also expressly contemplated. (Moreover, more than two devices may commonly be employed. E.g., a service provider may refer some tasks, functions or operations, to servers dedicated to such tasks.) In like fashion, data can be stored anywhere: local device, remote device, in the cloud, distributed, etc.”)
Claim 22, Kamath as modified teaches claim 1. Kamath as modified further teaches:
wherein the command information is to cause the at least one end node wireless device to perform the operation comprising an operation in an automation network. (Song, para. 0073: “Referring to FIG. 1, in the AI system, at least one or more of an AI server 16, robot 11, self-driving vehicle 12, XR device 13, smartphone 14, or home appliance 15 are connected to a cloud network 10. Here, the robot 11, self-driving vehicle 12, XR device 13, smartphone 14, or home appliance 15 to which the AI technology has been applied may be referred to as an AI device (11 to 15).”)
Claim 23, Kamath as modified teaches claim 8. Kamath as modified further teaches:
wherein the command is to cause the at least one end node wireless device to turn on a light in the local environment. (Song, para. 0220: “The output unit 150 may be configured to output various types of information, such as audio, video, tactile output, and the like. The output unit 150 may include at least one of a display unit 151, an audio output unit 152, a haptic module 153, or an optical output unit 154.”)
Claims 2-3 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamath, in view of Song, in view of García-Ordás and further in view of De la Cruz Jr, et. al. (“Jointly Pre-training with supervised, autoencoder, and value losses for deep reinforcement learning”, arXiv:1904.02206v1 [cs.LG] 3 Apr 2019; hereinafter, “de la Cruz”)
Claim 2, Kamath as modified teaches claim 1. Kamath as modified further teaches::
wherein the method further comprises jointly training the autoencoder and the classifier based on a weighted sum of the first loss and the second loss. (De la Cruz sec. 3.2: “To obtain extra information in addition to the supervised features, we take inspiration from the supervised autoencoder framework which jointly trains a classifier and an autoencoder Le et al. (2018); we believe this approach will retain the important features learned through supervised pre-training and at the same time, learns additional general features from the added autoencoder loss. Finally, we blend in the value loss
l
o
s
s
v
s
a
e
v
with the supervised and autoencoder losses as
L
s
a
e
v
=
L
s
s
a
e
v
W
S
F
X
i
,
y
i
+
L
a
e
s
a
e
v
W
a
e
F
X
i
,
X
i
+
L
v
s
a
e
v
W
v
F
X
i
,
x
i
”)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of De la Cruz into Kamath, as modified. De la Cruz teaches a pre-training strategy that jointly trains a weighted supervised classification loss, an unsupervised reconstruction loss, and an expected return loss. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the teachings of De la Cruz into Kamath, as modified, in order to enable discovery of more useful features compared to independently training in supervised or unsupervised fashion (De la Cruz, Abstract).
Claim 3, Kamath as modified teaches claim 1. Kamath as modified further teaches:
wherein the method further comprises: calculating the first loss according to a correlation coefficient; and (Garcia-Ordás, sec. 3.2: “For that reason, the loss function used to train a VAE is made up of two terms: ‘reconstruction term’, like in the vanilla autoencoder, that tends to make the encoder-decoder work accurately; and a ‘regularization term’ applied over the latent layer that tends to make the distributions created by the encoder close to a standard normal distribution using the Kulback-Leibler divergence” Examiner notes that Garcia-Ordás teaches a first loss using a regularization term i.e. a coefficient that correlates the distributions to normal).
calculating the second loss according to a binary cross-entropy. (De la Cruz, sec. 2.5: “assume the non-optimal human actions as the true labels for each game state. The network is pre-trained with the cross-entropy loss” Examiner notes that De la Cruz teaches multi-label cross-entropy, i.e. binary cross-entropy).
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Garcia-Ordás into Kamath, as modified, as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of De la Cruz into Kamath, as modified, as set forth above with respect to claim 2.
Claim 9, Kamath as modified teaches claim 8. Kamath as modified further teaches:
wherein the method further comprises jointly training the autoencoder and the classifier based on a weighted sum of the first loss and the second loss. (De la Cruz sec. 3.2: “To obtain extra information in addition to the supervised features, we take inspiration from the supervised autoencoder framework which jointly trains a classifier and an autoencoder Le et al. (2018); we believe this approach will retain the important features learned through supervised pre-training and at the same time, learns additional general features from the added autoencoder loss. Finally, we blend in the value loss
l
o
s
s
v
s
a
e
v
with the supervised and autoencoder losses as
L
s
a
e
v
=
L
s
s
a
e
v
W
S
F
X
i
,
y
i
+
L
a
e
s
a
e
v
W
a
e
F
X
i
,
X
i
+
L
v
s
a
e
v
W
v
F
X
i
,
x
i
”)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of De la Cruz into Kamath, as modified, as set forth above with respect to claim 2.
Claim 10, Kamath as modified teaches claim 8. Kamath as modified further teaches:
The at least one non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: calculating the first loss according to a correlation coefficient; and (Garcia-Ordás, sec. 3.2: “For that reason, the loss function used to train a VAE is made up of two terms: ‘reconstruction term’, like in the vanilla autoencoder, that tends to make the encoder-decoder work accurately; and a ‘regularization term’ applied over the latent layer that tends to make the distributions created by the encoder close to a standard normal distribution using the Kulback-Leibler divergence” Examiner notes that Garcia-Ordás teaches a first loss using a regularization term i.e. a coefficient that correlates the distributions to normal).
calculating the second loss according to a binary cross-entropy. (De la Cruz, sec. 2.5: “assume the non-optimal human actions as the true labels for each game state. The network is pre-trained with the cross-entropy loss” Examiner notes that De la Cruz teaches multi-label cross-entropy, i.e. binary cross-entropy).
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Garcia-Ordás into Kamath, as modified, as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of De la Cruz into Kamath, as modified, as set forth above with respect to claim 2.
Responses to Applicant Remarks and Argument
35 USC §101
The previously asserted rejection pursuant to 35 U.S.C §101 has been withdrawn.
35 USC §103
As to the rejections pursuant to §103, applicant argues that Garcia-Ordás, Paraskevopoulos and Yang, in combination, do not teach the amended claims. Applicant further argues that Dong similarly does not teach the amended claims.
However, such arguments are moot as independent claims now stand rejected over Kamath, in view of Song, in view of Garcia-Ordás. Dependent claims 2-3 and 9-10 additionally stand rejected over Kamath in view of Song, in view of Garcia-Ordás, and further in view of de la Cruz.
Conclusion
/STL/Examiner, Art Unit 2147
/VIKER A LAMARDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2147