DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 18 Dec 2025. As directed by the amendment: no claims have been amended, no claims have been canceled, and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-20 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant's arguments filed 18 Dec 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the inner lining (and/or the tube) does not get undesirably stretched between the edges of the cells” and “maintains a circular cross section”, per Remarks, page 7, and Specification paragraph [0232]) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Therefore, the rejections of claims 1-20 are maintained below.
Double Patenting Rejection
Applicant's arguments filed 18 Dec 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Terminal Disclaimers with respect to U.S. Patent No. 12,329,957 and U.S. Patent No. 11,285,309 have not been filed. A Terminal Disclaimer was filed on 07 Mar 2022 for Application No. 16/810,086, but not for the issued patent (U.S. Patent No. 11,285,309).
Therefore, the double patenting rejections are maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bredenbreuker et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0255176, previously cited), hereinafter Bredenbreuker, and Salahieh et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0114053, previously cited), hereinafter Salahieh.
Regarding claim 1, Bredenbreuker discloses an apparatus comprising:
a left-ventricular assist device (Fig. 1, paragraphs [0074]-[0076], heart pump 8) comprising:
a tube (Fig. 13, paragraph [0101], exterior skin 43') configured to traverse an aortic valve of a subject (paragraph [0025]), such that a proximal end of the tube is disposed within an aorta of the subject and a distal end of the tube is disposed within a left ventricle of the subject (Fig. 10, paragraphs [0095], [0097]);
a frame disposed within at least a portion of the tube (Fig. 13, paragraph [0101], reinforcement elements 49), the frame defining a plurality of cells (annotated Fig. 13 below), and the frame being configured such that, in a non-radially-constrained configuration of the frame, the frame comprises a generally cylindrical portion (paragraph [0101], "The stretch-resistant element 50 is cylindrically shaped and has a dimension such that if it is stretched by the reinforcement elements 49, the housing skin 43' is also correspondingly stretched.");
an inner lining that lines at least one of the cylindrical portion of the frame (Fig. 13, paragraphs [0101]-[0102], housing 39'''); and
an impeller disposed inside the frame, the impeller being configured to rotate such as to pump blood from the left ventricle to the aorta (Fig. 10, paragraph [0095], rotor 10'''; paragraph [0076]).
Bredenbreuker does not explicitly disclose that a width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion, as measured around a circumference of the cylindrical portion, is less than 2 mm.
However, Salahieh teaches an intravascular blood pump (paragraph [0010]), comprising an impeller that is between 0.5 and 10 cm in length (paragraph [0153]), and between 1 and 10 mm in diameter (paragraph [0156]). Thus, it is possible for the width of the cells of the frame surrounding the impeller (Fig. 2, paragraph [0099], apertures 1130 in expandable members 1108 and 1110) to be smaller than 2 mm.
Although neither Bredenbreuker nor Salahieh explicitly discloses that each of the cells within the cylindrical portion, as measured around a circumference of the cylindrical portion, is less than 2 mm, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to do so, for the purpose of improving structural integrity of the frame, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 2, the apparatus according to claim 1 is obvious over Bredenbreuker and Salahieh, as explained above. Bredenbreuker does not explicitly disclose that the width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion as measured around the circumference of the cylindrical portion is between 1.4 mm and 1.6 mm.
However, Salahieh teaches an intravascular blood pump (paragraph [0010]), comprising an impeller that is between 0.5 and 10 cm in length (paragraph [0153]), and between 1 and 10 mm in diameter (paragraph [0156]). Thus, it is possible for the width of the cells of the frame surrounding the impeller (Fig. 2, paragraph [0099], apertures 1130 in expandable members 1108 and 1110) to be between 1.4 mm and 1.6 mm.
Although neither Bredenbreuker nor Salahieh explicitly discloses that each of the cells within the cylindrical portion, as measured around a circumference of the cylindrical portion, is between 1.4 mm and 1.6 mm, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to do so, for the purpose of improving structural integrity of the frame, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 3, the apparatus according to claim 1 is obvious over Bredenbreuker and Salahieh, as explained above. Bredenbreuker does not explicitly disclose that the width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion as measured around the circumference of the cylindrical portion is between 1.6 mm and 1.8 mm.
However, Salahieh teaches an intravascular blood pump (paragraph [0010]), comprising an impeller that is between 0.5 and 10 cm in length (paragraph [0153]), and between 1 and 10 mm in diameter (paragraph [0156]). Thus, it is possible for the width of the cells of the frame surrounding the impeller (Fig. 2, paragraph [0099], apertures 1130 in expandable members 1108 and 1110) to be between 1.6 mm and 1.8 mm.
Although neither Bredenbreuker nor Salahieh explicitly discloses that each of the cells within the cylindrical portion, as measured around a circumference of the cylindrical portion, is between 1.6 mm and 1.8 mm, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to do so, for the purpose of improving structural integrity of the frame, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 4, the apparatus according to claim 1 is obvious over Bredenbreuker and Salahieh, as explained above. Bredenbreuker further discloses that the impeller is configured such that a gap is maintained between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining throughout operation of the impeller (paragraphs [0036], [0039]).
Regarding claim 5, the apparatus according to claim 4 is obvious over Bredenbreuker and Salahieh, as explained above. Bredenbreuker further discloses that the gap is less than 1 mm (paragraph [0039], "the pump gap should be between 0.01 mm and 1 mm").
Regarding claim 6, the apparatus according to claim 5 is obvious over Bredenbreuker and Salahieh, as explained above. Bredenbreuker further discloses that the gap is less than 0.4 mm (paragraph [0039], "the pump gap should be between 0.01 mm and 1 mm, in particular between 0.01 mm and 0.3 mm, further advantageously between 0.03 mm and 0.15 mm.").
Regarding claim 7, the apparatus according to claim 1 is obvious over Bredenbreuker and Salahieh, as explained above. Bredenbreuker further discloses that the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame (paragraphs [0036], [0039], [0092], the mention of an optimal pump gap makes it clear that the impeller must be stable within the frame).
Regarding claim 8, the apparatus according to claim 7 is obvious over Bredenbreuker and Salahieh, as explained above. Bredenbreuker further discloses that:
the left-ventricular assist device further comprises an axial shaft (Fig. 1, paragraph [0075], drive shaft 6);
the impeller is coupled to the axial shaft (Fig. 1, paragraph [0075], "The heart pump 8 has a rotor inside, which may be driven by a drive shaft 6"); and
the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by the impeller being held in a radially-fixed position with respect to the axial shaft (paragraphs [0036], [0039], [0092], the mention of an optimal pump gap makes it clear that the impeller must be stable within the frame).
Bredenbreuker does not explicitly disclose that the the left-ventricular assist device further comprises proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, at proximal and distal ends of the frame, the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings, nor that the axial shaft is rigid.
However, Salahieh further teaches an axial shaft (Fig. 3C, paragraph [0114], second section 348 of drive cable) and proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, at proximal and distal ends of the frame (Fig. 3C, paragraph [0115], bearings 349 and 361), the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings (paragraph [0115], "The proximal struts in proximal expandable member 343 extend to and are secured to shaft section 345, which is coupled to bearing 361, through which the drive cable extends ... The proximal end of central tubular member 346 is coupled to bearing 349, as shown in FIG. 3C, through which the drive cable extends and rotates."); and wherein the axial shaft is rigid (paragraph [0114], "the second and fourth sections can be stiffer").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bredenbreuker with the teachings of Salahieh so that the left-ventricular assist device further comprises an axial shaft and proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, at proximal and distal ends of the frame, the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings; and the axial shaft is rigid, because doing so axially stabilizes the axial shaft (Salahieh, paragraph [0093]).
Regarding claim 10, the apparatus according to claim 7 is obvious over Bredenbreuker and Salahieh, as explained above. Bredenbreuker further discloses that:
the left-ventricular assist device further comprises an axial shaft (Fig. 1, paragraph [0075], drive shaft 6);
the impeller is coupled to the axial shaft (Fig. 1, paragraph [0075], "The heart pump 8 has a rotor inside, which may be driven by a drive shaft 6"); and
the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame (paragraphs [0036], [0039], [0092], the mention of an optimal pump gap makes it clear that the impeller must be stable within the frame).
Bredenbreuker does not explicitly disclose that the left-ventricular assist device further comprises proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, at proximal and distal ends of the frame, the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings, nor that the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by a ratio of a length of the generally cylindrical portion of the frame to a total length of the frame being more than 1:2, such as to substantially prevent vibration of the frame with respect to the axial shaft.
However, Salahieh further teaches an axial shaft (Fig. 3C, paragraph [0114], second section 348 of drive cable) and proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, at proximal and distal ends of the frame (Fig. 3C, paragraph [0115], bearings 349 and 361), the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings (paragraph [0115], "The proximal struts in proximal expandable member 343 extend to and are secured to shaft section 345, which is coupled to bearing 361, through which the drive cable extends ... The proximal end of central tubular member 346 is coupled to bearing 349, as shown in FIG. 3C, through which the drive cable extends and rotates.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bredenbreuker with the teachings of Salahieh so that the left-ventricular assist device further comprises an axial shaft and proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, at proximal and distal ends of the frame, the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings; and the axial shaft is rigid, because doing so axially stabilizes the axial shaft (Salahieh, paragraph [0093]).
Salahieh does not explicitly disclose that a ratio of a length of the generally cylindrical portion of the frame to a total length of the frame is more than 1:2. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the frame so that the ratio of a length of the generally cylindrical portion of the frame to a total length of the frame is more than 1:2, for the purpose of improving maneuverability within the subject's blood vessels, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 11, the apparatus according to claim 10 is obvious over Bredenbreuker and Salahieh, as explained above. Neither Bredenbreuker nor Salahieh explicitly discloses that the ratio of the length of the generally cylindrical portion of the frame to the total length of the frame is more than 2:3. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the frame so that the ratio of a length of the generally cylindrical portion of the frame to a total length of the frame is more than 2:3, for the purpose of improving maneuverability within the subject's blood vessels, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 12, Bredenbreuker discloses a method, comprising:
deploying a left-ventricular assist device within a body of a subject (Fig. 1, paragraphs [0074]-[0076], heart pump 8) by:
placing a tube of the left-ventricular assist device (Fig. 13, paragraph [0101], exterior skin 43') such that the tube traverses an aortic valve of the subject (paragraph [0025]), such that a proximal end of the tube is disposed within an aorta of the subject and a distal end of the tube is disposed within a left ventricle of the subject (Fig. 10, paragraphs [0095], [0097]),
a frame disposed within at least a portion of the tube (Fig. 13, paragraph [0101], reinforcement elements 49), the frame defining a plurality of cells (annotated Fig. 13 below), and the frame being configured such that, in a non-radially-constrained configuration of the frame, the frame comprises a generally cylindrical portion (paragraph [0101], "The stretch-resistant element 50 is cylindrically shaped and has a dimension such that if it is stretched by the reinforcement elements 49, the housing skin 43' is also correspondingly stretched."), and
an inner lining that lines at least one of the cylindrical portion of the frame (Fig. 13, paragraphs [0101]-[0102], housing 39'''); and
an impeller disposed inside the frame, the impeller being configured to rotate such as to pump blood from the left ventricle to the aorta (Fig. 10, paragraph [0095], rotor 10'''; paragraph [0076]).
Bredenbreuker does not explicitly disclose that a width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion, as measured around a circumference of the cylindrical portion, is less than 2 mm.
However, Salahieh teaches an intravascular blood pump (paragraph [0010]), comprising an impeller that is between 0.5 and 10 cm in length (paragraph [0153]), and between 1 and 10 mm in diameter (paragraph [0156]). Thus, it is possible for the width of the cells of the frame surrounding the impeller (Fig. 2, paragraph [0099], apertures 1130 in expandable members 1108 and 1110) to be smaller than 2 mm.
Although neither Bredenbreuker nor Salahieh explicitly discloses that each of the cells within the cylindrical portion, as measured around a circumference of the cylindrical portion, is less than 2 mm, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to do so, for the purpose of improving structural integrity of the frame, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 13, the method according to claim 12 is obvious over Bredenbreuker, as explained above. Bredenbreuker does not explicitly disclose that the width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion as measured around the circumference of the cylindrical portion is between 1.4 mm and 1.6 mm.
However, Salahieh teaches an intravascular blood pump (paragraph [0010]), comprising an impeller that is between 0.5 and 10 cm in length (paragraph [0153]), and between 1 and 10 mm in diameter (paragraph [0156]). Thus, it is possible for the width of the cells of the frame surrounding the impeller (Fig. 2, paragraph [0099], apertures 1130 in expandable members 1108 and 1110) to be between 1.4 mm and 1.6 mm.
Although neither Bredenbreuker nor Salahieh explicitly discloses that each of the cells within the cylindrical portion, as measured around a circumference of the cylindrical portion, is between 1.4 mm and 1.6 mm, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to do so, for the purpose of improving structural integrity of the frame, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 14, the method according to claim 12 is obvious over Bredenbreuker, as explained above. Bredenbreuker does not explicitly disclose that the width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion as measured around the circumference of the cylindrical portion is between 1.6 mm and 1.8 mm.
However, Salahieh teaches an intravascular blood pump (paragraph [0010]), comprising an impeller that is between 0.5 and 10 cm in length (paragraph [0153]), and between 1 and 10 mm in diameter (paragraph [0156]). Thus, it is possible for the width of the cells of the frame surrounding the impeller (Fig. 2, paragraph [0099], apertures 1130 in expandable members 1108 and 1110) to be between 1.6 mm and 1.8 mm.Although neither Bredenbreuker nor Salahieh explicitly discloses that each of the cells within the cylindrical portion, as measured around a circumference of the cylindrical portion, is between 1.6 mm and 1.8 mm, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to do so, for the purpose of improving structural integrity of the frame, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 15, the method according to claim 12 is obvious over Bredenbreuker and Salahieh, as explained above. Bredenbreuker further discloses that the impeller is configured such that a gap is maintained between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining throughout operation of the impeller (paragraphs [0036], [0039]).
Regarding claim 16, the method according to claim 15 is obvious over Bredenbreuker and Salahieh, as explained above. Bredenbreuker further discloses that the gap is less than 1 mm (paragraph [0039], "the pump gap should be between 0.01 mm and 1 mm").
Regarding claim 17, the method according to claim 16 is obvious over Bredenbreuker and Salahieh, as explained above. Bredenbreuker further discloses that the gap is less than 0.4 mm (paragraph [0039], "the pump gap should be between 0.01 mm and 1 mm, in particular between 0.01 mm and 0.3 mm, further advantageously between 0.03 mm and 0.15 mm.").
Regarding claim 18, the method according to claim 12 is obvious over Bredenbreuker and Salahieh, as explained above. Bredenbreuker further discloses that the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame (paragraphs [0036], [0039], [0092], the mention of an optimal pump gap makes it clear that the impeller must be stable within the frame).
Regarding claim 19, the method according to claim 18 is obvious over Bredenbreuker, as explained above. Bredenbreuker further discloses that:
the left-ventricular assist device further comprises an axial shaft (Fig. 1, paragraph [0075], drive shaft 6); and
the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by the impeller being held in a radially-fixed position with respect to the axial shaft (paragraphs [0036], [0039], [0092], the mention of an optimal pump gap makes it clear that the impeller must be stable within the frame).
Bredenbreuker does not explicitly disclose that the the left-ventricular assist device further comprises proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, at proximal and distal ends of the frame, the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings, nor that the axial shaft is rigid.
However, Salahieh further teaches an axial shaft (Fig. 3C, paragraph [0114], second section 348 of drive cable) and proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, at proximal and distal ends of the frame (Fig. 3C, paragraph [0115], bearings 349 and 361), the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings (paragraph [0115], "The proximal struts in proximal expandable member 343 extend to and are secured to shaft section 345, which is coupled to bearing 361, through which the drive cable extends ... The proximal end of central tubular member 346 is coupled to bearing 349, as shown in FIG. 3C, through which the drive cable extends and rotates."); and wherein the axial shaft is rigid (paragraph [0114], "the second and fourth sections can be stiffer").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bredenbreuker with the teachings of Salahieh so that the left-ventricular assist device further comprises an axial shaft and proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, at proximal and distal ends of the frame, the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings; and the axial shaft is rigid, because doing so axially stabilizes the axial shaft (Salahieh, paragraph [0093]).
Regarding claim 20, the method according to claim 18 is obvious over Bredenbreuker and Salahieh, as explained above. Bredenbreuker further discloses that:
the left-ventricular assist device further comprises an axial shaft (Fig. 1, paragraph [0075], drive shaft 6); and
the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by the impeller being held in a radially-fixed position with respect to the axial shaft (paragraphs [0036], [0039], [0092], the mention of an optimal pump gap makes it clear that the impeller must be stable within the frame).
Bredenbreuker does not explicitly disclose that the the left-ventricular assist device further comprises proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, at proximal and distal ends of the frame, the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings, nor that the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by a ratio of a length of the generally cylindrical portion of the frame to a total length of the frame being more than 1:2, such as to substantially prevent vibration of the frame with respect to the axial shaft.
However, Salahieh further teaches an axial shaft (Fig. 3C, paragraph [0114], second section 348 of drive cable) and proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, at proximal and distal ends of the frame (Fig. 3C, paragraph [0115], bearings 349 and 361), the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings (paragraph [0115], "The proximal struts in proximal expandable member 343 extend to and are secured to shaft section 345, which is coupled to bearing 361, through which the drive cable extends ... The proximal end of central tubular member 346 is coupled to bearing 349, as shown in FIG. 3C, through which the drive cable extends and rotates.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bredenbreuker with the teachings of Salahieh so that the left-ventricular assist device further comprises an axial shaft and proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, at proximal and distal ends of the frame, the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings; and the axial shaft is rigid, because doing so axially stabilizes the axial shaft (Salahieh, paragraph [0093]).
Salahieh does not explicitly disclose that a ratio of a length of the generally cylindrical portion of the frame to a total length of the frame is more than 1:2. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the frame so that the ratio of a length of the generally cylindrical portion of the frame to a total length of the frame is more than 1:2, for the purpose of improving maneuverability within the subject's blood vessels, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bredenbreuker et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0255176, previously cited), hereinafter Bredenbreuker, Salahieh et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0114053, previously cited), hereinafter Salahieh, and Pfeffer et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0228952, previously cited), hereinafter Pfeffer.
Regarding claim 9, the apparatus according to claim 8 is obvious over Bredenbreuker and Salahieh, as explained above. Neither Bredenbreuker nor Salahieh explicitly discloses that the impeller comprises bushings that are disposed around the axial shaft, and at least one of the bushings is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by a region along the axial shaft over which the at least one bushing is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft being coated with a coating, such as to substantially prevent the impeller from vibrating by the coating reducing a gap between the at least one bushing and the axial shaft.
However, Pfeffer teaches a percutaneous blood pump (paragraph [0012]) wherein the impeller comprises bushings that are disposed around the axial shaft (Fig. 6, paragraph [0094], distal rotor bearing 17 comprising bearing washer 15), and at least one of the bushings is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft (paragraph [0094], "the distal spacer sleeve 16 of the rotor 3.2 contacts the bearing washer 15 in the manner of a sliding bearing"), wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by a region along the axial shaft over which the at least one bushing is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft being coated with a coating, such as to substantially prevent the impeller from vibrating by the coating reducing a gap between the at least one bushing and the axial shaft (paragraph [0096], blood or serum coats the bearing washer 15).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bredenbreuker and Salahieh with the teachings of Pfeffer so that the impeller comprises bushings that are disposed around the axial shaft, and at least one of the bushings is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by a region along the axial shaft over which the at least one bushing is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft being coated with a coating, such as to substantially prevent the impeller from vibrating by the coating reducing a gap between the at least one bushing and the axial shaft, because doing so reduces play of the drive shaft (Pfeffer, paragraph [0094]) while also enabling smooth rotation of the impeller.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12329957 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims recite an apparatus comprising a ventricular assist device comprising a tube, a frame with cells that have a width less than 2 mm, an inner lining, and an impeller. The claims of the instant application are broader in scope than the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12329957 B2, and thus the subject matter of the claims are fully encompassed by the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12329957 B2. Therefore, instant claims 1-20 are anticipated by claims 1 and 11-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12329957 B2.
A brief matching of the claims in each document is provided below.
Application No. 17/677,571 (Instant Application)
Patent No. US 12329957 B2 (Reference)
Claim
Element
Claim
Element
1
An apparatus, comprising:
1
An apparatus, comprising:
1
a left-ventricular assist device comprising:
1
a ventricular assist device comprising:
1
a tube configured to traverse an aortic valve of a subject, such that a proximal end of the tube is disposed within an aorta of the subject and a distal end of the tube is disposed within a left ventricle of the subject;
1
a tube that defines one or more blood outlet openings, a portion of the tube being disposed outside the frame and coupled to the generally cylindrical portion of the frame, such that the portion of the tube conforms with a structure of struts of the frame;
1
a frame disposed within at least a portion of the tube, the frame defining a plurality of cells, and the frame being configured such that, in a non-radially-constrained configuration of the frame, the frame comprises a cylindrical portion, a width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion, as measured around a circumference of the cylindrical portion, being less than 2 mm;
1
a frame comprising struts that define a plurality of cells, the frame being configured such that, in a non-radially-constrained configuration of the frame, the frame comprises a generally cylindrical portion;
11
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in the non-radially-constrained configuration of the frame, a width of each of each of the cells within the generally cylindrical portion as measured around a circumference of the generally cylindrical portion is less than 2 mm.
1
an inner lining that lines at least some of the cylindrical portion of the frame; and
1
an inner lining coupled to an inside of the generally cylindrical portion of the frame, such as to provide the generally cylindrical portion of the frame with a smooth inner surface;
1
an impeller disposed inside the frame, the impeller being configured to rotate such as to pump blood from the left ventricle to the aorta.
1
an impeller disposed at least partially inside the generally cylindrical portion of the frame and configured to pump blood through the tube and out of the one of more blood outlet openings.
2
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion as measured around the circumference of the cylindrical portion is between 1.4 mm and 1.6 mm.
12
The apparatus according to claim 11, wherein, in the non-radially-constrained configuration of the frame, the width of each of the cells within the generally cylindrical portion as measured around the circumference of the generally cylindrical portion is between 1.4 mm and 1.6 mm.
3
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion as measured around the circumference of the cylindrical portion is between 1.6 mm and 1.8 mm.
13
The apparatus according to claim 11, wherein, in the non-radially-constrained configuration of the frame, the width of each of the cells within the generally cylindrical portion as measured around the circumference of the generally cylindrical portion is between 1.6 mm and 1.8 mm.
4
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the impeller is configured such that a gap is maintained between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining throughout operation of the impeller.
14
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame such that a gap is maintained between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining throughout operation of the impeller.
5
The apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the gap is less than 1 mm.
15
The apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame such that a gap of less than 1 mm is maintained between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining throughout operation of the impeller.
6
The apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the gap is less than 0.4 mm.
16
The apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame such that a gap of less than 0.4 mm is maintained between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining throughout operation of the impeller.
7
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame.
14
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame such that a gap is maintained between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining throughout operation of the impeller.
8
The apparatus according to claim 7, wherein:
17
The apparatus according to claim 14, wherein:
8
the left-ventricular assist device further comprises an axial shaft and proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, and proximal and distal ends of the frame, the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings;
17
the left-ventricular assist device further comprises an axial shaft and proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, at proximal and distal ends of the frame, the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings;
8
the impeller is coupled to the axial shaft; and
17
the impeller is coupled to the axial shaft; and
8
the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by the impeller being held in a radially-fixed position with respect to the axial shaft and the axial shaft being rigid.
17
the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by the impeller being held in a radially-fixed position with respect to the axial shaft and the axial shaft being rigid.
9
The apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the impeller comprises bushings that are disposed around the axial shaft, and at least one of the bushings is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by a region along the axial shaft over which the at least one bushing is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft being coated with a coating, such as to prevent the impeller from vibrating by the coating reducing a gap between the at least one bushing and the axial shaft.
18
The apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the impeller comprises bushings that are disposed around the axial shaft, and at least one of the bushings is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by a region along the axial shaft over which the at least one bushing is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft being coated with a coating, such as to substantially prevent the impeller from vibrating by the coating reducing a gap between the at least one bushing and the axial shaft.
10
The apparatus according to claim 7, wherein:
19
The apparatus according to claim 18, wherein:
10
the left-ventricular assist device further comprises an axial shaft and proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, and proximal and distal ends of the frame, the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings;
19
the left-ventricular assist device further comprises an axial shaft and proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, at proximal and distal ends of the frame, the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings;
10
the impeller is coupled to the axial shaft; and
19
the impeller is coupled to the axial shaft; and
10
the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by a ratio of a length of the cylindrical portion of the frame to a total length of the frame being more than 1:2, such as to prevent vibration of the frame with respect to the axial shaft.
19
the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by a ratio of a length of the generally cylindrical portion of the frame to a total length of the frame being more than 1:2, such as to substantially prevent vibration of the frame with respect to the axial shaft.
11
The apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the ratio of the length of the cylindrical portion of the frame to the total length of the frame is more than 2:3.
12
A method, comprising:
1
An apparatus, comprising:
12
deploying a left-ventricular assist device within a body of a subject by:
1
a ventricular assist device comprising:
12
placing a tube of the left-ventricular assist device such that the tube traverses an aortic valve of the subject, such that a proximal end of the tube is disposed within an aorta of the subject and a distal end of the tube is disposed within a left ventricle of the subject,
1
a tube that defines one or more blood outlet openings, a portion of the tube being disposed outside the frame and coupled to the generally cylindrical portion of the frame, such that the portion of the tube conforms with a structure of struts of the frame;
12
wherein the left-ventricular assist device further comprises:
1
a frame comprising struts that define a plurality of cells, the frame being configured such that, in a non-radially-constrained configuration of the frame, the frame comprises a generally cylindrical portion;
12
a frame disposed within at least a portion of the tube, the frame defining a plurality of cells, and the frame being configured such that, in a non-radially-constrained configuration of the frame, the frame comprises a cylindrical portion, a width of each
11
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in the non-radially-constrained configuration of the frame, a width of each of each of the cells within the generally cylindrical portion as measured around a circumference of the generally cylindrical portion is less than 2 mm.
12
an inner lining that lines at least some of the cylindrical portion of the frame; and
1
an inner lining coupled to an inside of the generally cylindrical portion of the frame, such as to provide the generally cylindrical portion of the frame with a smooth inner surface;
12
operating an impeller to rotate within the frame such as to pump blood from the left ventricle to the aorta.
1
an impeller disposed at least partially inside the generally cylindrical portion of the frame and configured to pump blood through the tube and out of the one of more blood outlet openings.
13
The method according to claim 12, wherein the width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion as measured around the circumference of the cylindrical portion is between 1.4 mm and 1.6 mm.
12
The apparatus according to claim 11, wherein, in the non-radially-constrained configuration of the frame, the width of each of the cells within the generally cylindrical portion as measured around the circumference of the generally cylindrical portion is between 1.4 mm and 1.6 mm.
14
The method according to claim 12, wherein the width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion as measured around the circumference of the cylindrical portion is between 1.6 mm and 1.8 mm.
13
The apparatus according to claim 11, wherein, in the non-radially-constrained configuration of the frame, the width of each of the cells within the generally cylindrical portion as measured around the circumference of the generally cylindrical portion is between 1.6 mm and 1.8 mm.
15
The method according to claim 12, wherein the impeller is configured such that a gap is maintained between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining throughout operation of the impeller.
14
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame such that a gap is maintained between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining throughout operation of the impeller.
16
The method according to claim 15, wherein the gap is less than 1 mm.
15
The apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame such that a gap of less than 1 mm is maintained between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining throughout operation of the impeller.
17
The method according to claim 16, wherein the gap is less than 0.4 mm.
16
The apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame such that a gap of less than 0.4 mm is maintained between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining throughout operation of the impeller.
18
The method according to claim 12, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame.
14
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame such that a gap is maintained between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining throughout operation of the impeller.
19
The method according to claim 18, wherein:
17
The apparatus according to claim 14, wherein:
19
the left-ventricular assist device further comprises an axial shaft and proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, and proximal and distal ends of the frame, the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings;
17
the left-ventricular assist device further comprises an axial shaft and proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, at proximal and distal ends of the frame, the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings;
19
the impeller is coupled to the axial shaft; and
17
the impeller is coupled to the axial shaft; and
19
the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by the impeller being held in a radially-fixed position with respect to the axial shaft and the axial shaft being rigid.
17
the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by the impeller being held in a radially-fixed position with respect to the axial shaft and the axial shaft being rigid.
20
The method according to claim 18, wherein the impeller comprises bushings that are disposed around the axial shaft, and at least one of the bushings is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by a region along the axial shaft over which the at least one bushing is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft being coated with a coating, such as to prevent the impeller from vibrating by the coating reducing a gap between the at least one bushing and the axial shaft.
18
The apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the impeller comprises bushings that are disposed around the axial shaft, and at least one of the bushings is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by a region along the axial shaft over which the at least one bushing is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft being coated with a coating, such as to substantially prevent the impeller from vibrating by the coating reducing a gap between the at least one bushing and the axial shaft.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11285309 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims recite an apparatus comprising a ventricular assist device comprising a tube, a frame with cells that have a width less than 2 mm, an inner lining, and an impeller. The claims of the instant application are broader in scope than the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11285309 B2, and thus the subject matter of the claims are fully encompassed by the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11285309 B2. Therefore, instant claims 1-20 are anticipated by claims 1 and 3-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11285309 B2.
A brief matching of the claims in each document is provided below.
Application No. 17/677,571 (Instant Application)
Patent No. US 11285309 B2 (Reference)
Claim
Element
Claim
Element
1
An apparatus, comprising:
1
Apparatus comprising:
1
a left-ventricular assist device comprising:
1
a left-ventricular assist device configured to assist left-ventricular functioning of a subject, the left-ventricular assist device comprising:
1
a tube configured to traverse an aortic valve of a subject, such that a proximal end of the tube is disposed within an aorta of the subject and a distal end of the tube is disposed within a left ventricle of the subject;
1
a tube configured to traverse an aortic valve of a subject, such that a proximal end of the tube is disposed within an aorta of the subject and a distal end of the tube is disposed within a left ventricle of the subject;
1
a frame disposed within at least a portion of the tube, the frame defining a plurality of cells, and the frame being configured such that, in a non-radially-constrained configuration of the frame, the frame comprises a cylindrical portion, a width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion, as measured around a circumference of the cylindrical portion, being less than 2 mm;
1
a frame disposed within at least a portion of the tube, the frame defining a plurality of cells, and the frame being configured such that, in a non-radially-constrained configuration of the frame, the frame comprises a generally cylindrical portion, a width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion, as measured around a circumference of the cylindrical portion, being less than 2 mm;
1
an inner lining that lines at least some of the cylindrical portion of the frame; and
1
an inner lining that lines at least some of the cylindrical portion of the frame; and
1
an impeller disposed inside the frame, the impeller being configured to rotate such as to pump blood from the left ventricle to the aorta.
1
an impeller disposed inside the frame such that, in a non-radially-constrained configuration of the impeller, at a location at which a span of the impeller is at its maximum, the impeller is disposed within the cylindrical portion of the frame, such that a gap between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining is less than 1 mm, the impeller being configured: to rotate such as to pump blood from the left ventricle to the aorta, and to be stabilized with respect to the frame, such that, during rotation of the impeller, the gap between the outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining is maintained and is substantially constant.
2
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion as measured around the circumference of the cylindrical portion is between 1.4 mm and 1.6 mm.
3
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion as measured around the circumference of the cylindrical portion is between 1.4 mm and 1.6 mm.
3
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion as measured around the circumference of the cylindrical portion is between 1.6 mm and 1.8 mm.
4
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion as measured around the circumference of the cylindrical portion is between 1.6 mm and 1.8 mm.
4
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the impeller is configured such that a gap is maintained between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining throughout operation of the impeller.
1
the impeller is disposed within the cylindrical portion of the frame, such that a gap between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining is less than 1 mm, the impeller being configured: to ... be stabilized with respect to the frame, such that, during rotation of the impeller, the gap between the outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining is maintained and is substantially constant.
5
The apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the gap is less than 1 mm.
1
the impeller is disposed within the cylindrical portion of the frame, such that a gap between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining is less than 1 mm
6
The apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the gap is less than 0.4 mm.
5
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the impeller is configured such that the gap between the outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining is less than 0.4 mm.
7
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame.
1
the impeller being configured: to ... be stabilized with respect to the frame
8
The apparatus according to claim 7, wherein:
6
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein:
8
the left-ventricular assist device further comprises an axial shaft and proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, and proximal and distal ends of the frame, the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings;
6
the left-ventricular assist device further comprises an axial shaft and proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, at proximal and distal ends of the frame, the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings;
8
the impeller is coupled to the axial shaft; and
6
the impeller is coupled to the axial shaft; and
8
the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by the impeller being held in a radially-fixed position with respect to the axial shaft and the axial shaft being rigid.
6
the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by the impeller being held in a radially-fixed position with respect to the axial shaft and the axial shaft being rigid.
9
The apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the impeller comprises bushings that are disposed around the axial shaft, and at least one of the bushings is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by a region along the axial shaft over which the at least one bushing is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft being coated with a coating, such as to prevent the impeller from vibrating by the coating reducing a gap between the at least one bushing and the axial shaft.
7
The apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the impeller comprises bushings that are disposed around the axial shaft, and at least one of the bushings is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by a region along the axial shaft over which the at least one bushing is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft being coated with a coating, such as to substantially prevent the impeller from vibrating by the coating reducing a gap between the at least one bushing and the axial shaft.
10
The apparatus according to claim 7, wherein:
6
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein:
10
the left-ventricular assist device further comprises an axial shaft and proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, and proximal and distal ends of the frame, the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings;
6
the left-ventricular assist device further comprises an axial shaft and proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, at proximal and distal ends of the frame, the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings;
10
the impeller is coupled to the axial shaft; and
6
the impeller is coupled to the axial shaft; and
10
the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by a ratio of a length of the cylindrical portion of the frame to a total length of the frame being more than 1:2, such as to prevent vibration of the frame with respect to the axial shaft.
8
The apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by substantially preventing vibration of the frame with respect to the axial shaft by a ratio of a length of the cylindrical portion of the frame to a total length of the frame being more than 1:2.
11
The apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the ratio of the length of the cylindrical portion of the frame to the total length of the frame is more than 2:3.
9
The apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the ratio of the length of the cylindrical portion of the frame to the total length of the frame is more than 2:3.
12
A method, comprising:
1
Apparatus comprising:
12
deploying a left-ventricular assist device within a body of a subject by:
1
a left-ventricular assist device configured to assist left-ventricular functioning of a subject, the left-ventricular assist device comprising:
12
placing a tube of the left-ventricular assist device such that the tube traverses an aortic valve of the subject, such that a proximal end of the tube is disposed within an aorta of the subject and a distal end of the tube is disposed within a left ventricle of the subject,
1
a tube configured to traverse an aortic valve of a subject, such that a proximal end of the tube is disposed within an aorta of the subject and a distal end of the tube is disposed within a left ventricle of the subject;
12
wherein the left-ventricular assist device further comprises:
12
a frame disposed within at least a portion of the tube, the frame defining a plurality of cells, and the frame being configured such that, in a non-radially-constrained configuration of the frame, the frame comprises a cylindrical portion, a width of each
1
a frame disposed within at least a portion of the tube, the frame defining a plurality of cells, and the frame being configured such that, in a non-radially-constrained configuration of the frame, the frame comprises a generally cylindrical portion, a width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion, as measured around a circumference of the cylindrical portion, being less than 2 mm;
12
an inner lining that lines at least some of the cylindrical portion of the frame; and
1
an inner lining that lines at least some of the cylindrical portion of the frame; and
12
operating an impeller to rotate within the frame such as to pump blood from the left ventricle to the aorta.
1
an impeller disposed inside the frame such that, in a non-radially-constrained configuration of the impeller, at a location at which a span of the impeller is at its maximum, the impeller is disposed within the cylindrical portion of the frame, such that a gap between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining is less than 1 mm, the impeller being configured: to rotate such as to pump blood from the left ventricle to the aorta, and to be stabilized with respect to the frame, such that, during rotation of the impeller, the gap between the outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining is maintained and is substantially constant.
13
The method according to claim 12, wherein the width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion as measured around the circumference of the cylindrical portion is between 1.4 mm and 1.6 mm.
3
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion as measured around the circumference of the cylindrical portion is between 1.4 mm and 1.6 mm.
14
The method according to claim 12, wherein the width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion as measured around the circumference of the cylindrical portion is between 1.6 mm and 1.8 mm.
4
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the width of each of the cells within the cylindrical portion as measured around the circumference of the cylindrical portion is between 1.6 mm and 1.8 mm.
15
The method according to claim 12, wherein the impeller is configured such that a gap is maintained between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining throughout operation of the impeller.
1
the impeller is disposed within the cylindrical portion of the frame, such that a gap between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining is less than 1 mm, the impeller being configured: to ... be stabilized with respect to the frame, such that, during rotation of the impeller, the gap between the outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining is maintained and is substantially constant.
16
The method according to claim 15, wherein the gap is less than 1 mm.
1
the impeller is disposed within the cylindrical portion of the frame, such that a gap between an outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining is less than 1 mm.
17
The method according to claim 16, wherein the gap is less than 0.4 mm.
5
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the impeller is configured such that the gap between the outer edge of the impeller and the inner lining is less than 0.4 mm.
18
The method according to claim 12, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame.
1
the impeller being configured: to ... be stabilized with respect to the frame
19
The method according to claim 18, wherein:
6
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein:
19
the left-ventricular assist device further comprises an axial shaft and proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, and proximal and distal ends of the frame, the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings;
6
the left-ventricular assist device further comprises an axial shaft and proximal and distal radial bearings disposed, respectively, at proximal and distal ends of the frame, the axial shaft passing through the proximal and distal radial bearings;
19
the impeller is coupled to the axial shaft; and
6
the impeller is coupled to the axial shaft; and
19
the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by the impeller being held in a radially-fixed position with respect to the axial shaft and the axial shaft being rigid.
6
the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by the impeller being held in a radially-fixed position with respect to the axial shaft and the axial shaft being rigid.
20
The method according to claim 18, wherein the impeller comprises bushings that are disposed around the axial shaft, and at least one of the bushings is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by a region along the axial shaft over which the at least one bushing is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft being coated with a coating, such as to prevent the impeller from vibrating by the coating reducing a gap between the at least one bushing and the axial shaft.
7
The apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the impeller comprises bushings that are disposed around the axial shaft, and at least one of the bushings is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft, wherein the impeller is stabilized with respect to the frame by a region along the axial shaft over which the at least one bushing is configured to be slidable with respect to the axial shaft being coated with a coating, such as to substantially prevent the impeller from vibrating by the coating reducing a gap between the at least one bushing and the axial shaft.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE SISON/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/Jennifer Pitrak McDonald/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796