DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of amendment filed on 08/19/2025. The amendments of Applicant are entered and have been considered by Examiner. Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, 16, 17, 19 were previously pending. Claims 1, 9, 17 have been amended. Claims 3, 4, 6, 8, 11, 12, 14, 16, 19 are canceled. Claims 21-35 are added. Claims 1, 9, 17, 21-35 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9, 17, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection new prior art not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17, 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites “receiving a PUCCH on a target uplink serving cell, wherein the target uplink serving cell is an uplink serving cell determined by a user equipment (UE) in the plurality of uplink serving cells; performing idle channel state detection on each of the plurality of uplink serving cells respective configured with PUCCH resources, and using an uplink serving cell whose idle channel state detection result is idle as a candidate uplink serving cell used for determining a target uplink serving cell receiving a PUCCH”.
Examiner notes that the claim is vague and unclear, since initially, the target uplink serving cell is determined by a UE. However, the performing idle channel state detection step seems to be performed by the network device and not the UE, where the result of the idle state detection is used for determining a target uplink serving cell, which initially is supposed to be performed by the UE. As such, it is vague and unclear which entity is performing the idle channel state detection, and similarly, it is vague and unclear which entity is determining the target uplink serving cell. For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the UE to determine the target uplink serving cell and the UE to perform idle channel state detection in order to determine a target uplink serving cell.
Claims 33-35 are rejected for similar reasons for having the same limitations as indicated in Claim 17 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “HARQ enhancements in NR unlicensed” – R1-1906046 to Huawei (hereinafter “Huawei”) in view of US 2022/0232557 A1 (provisional application no. 62/864,067, filed on Jun. 20, 2019) to Karaki et al. (hereinafter “Karaki”)
Regarding Claim 1, Huawei teaches A physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission method, applied to a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: (Section 6, discloses UE)
determining a target uplink serving cell in a plurality of uplink serving cells respectively configured with PUCCH resources, wherein the target uplink serving cell is one of the plurality of uplink serving cells; and sending a PUCCH on the target uplink serving cell; (Section 6, discloses the gNB is able to indicate to the UE multiple PUCCH resources across multiple aggregated carriers including SCells (i.e. plurality of uplink serving cells configured with PUCCH resources) as shown in Figure 5. Based on the LBT results, the UE can select (i.e. determining a target uplink serving cell) among the PUCCH resources for which the LBT results were successful to transmit the PUCCH (i.e. sending a PUCCH on the target uplink serving cell) carrying the HARQ-ACK feedback)
wherein the determining a target uplink serving cell in a plurality of uplink serving cells respectively configured with PUCCH resources comprises:
performing idle channel state detection on each of the plurality of uplink serving cells, and determining at least one candidate uplink serving cell, wherein the at least one candidate uplink serving cell comprises all uplink serving cells whose idle channel state detection results are idle; determining the target uplink serving cell in the at least one candidate uplink serving cell; (Section 6 and Figure 5, illustrates a UE LBT (i.e. idle channels state detection) in the UE pre-configured cell group {0, 1, 2, 5} (i.e. each of the plurality of uplink serving cells. In some cases, the UE may acquire more than one cell for transmission of PUCCH. For example the UE in Figure 5 may determine that both Cell 2 and Cell 5 are unoccupied, and therefore the respective PUCCH resources are both available for transmission of the UCI (i.e. determining at least one candidate uplink serving cell)) The UE can therefore be configured to execute one of the following rules (i.e. determining the target uplink serving cell in the at least one candidate uplink serving cell):
- UE applies a preset priority order, e.g., in the frequency domain
- UE randomly selects one cell
- UE selects the cell associated with the earliest starting point (e.g., when an offsets is applied to each LBT bandwidth)
Huawei discloses wherein in a case that there are a plurality of candidate uplink serving cells, the determining the target uplink serving cell in the at least one candidate uplink serving comprises:
determining a candidate uplink serving cell as the target uplink serving cell. (Section 6 and Figure 5, discloses In some cases, the UE may acquire more than one cell for transmission of PUCCH. For example the UE in Figure 5 may determine that both Cell 2 and Cell 5 are unoccupied, and therefore the respective PUCCH resources are both available for transmission of the UCI. The UE can therefore be configured to execute one of the following rules:)
Huawei does not explicitly teach determining a candidate uplink serving cell corresponding to a minimum cell index number as the target uplink serving cell.
However, selecting an uplink serving cell based on a lowest cell index is well known in the art. For example, in a similar field of endeavor, Karaki discloses in [0013], receiving a configuration for a plurality of channels, the configuration configuring each of the plurality of channels with at least one physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, resource; and transmitting feedback on the at least one PUCCH resource that is configured in at least one channel of the plurality of channels. [0017], further discloses In some embodiments of this aspect, selecting the at least one channel out of the indicated set of channel candidates further comprises: selecting the at least one channel out of the indicated set of channel candidates for the feedback transmission based at least in part on at least one of: at least one channel associated with a lowest serving cell index within a PUCCH group.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huawei include the above limitations as suggested by Karaki, for providing flexibility for HARQ-ACK feedback transmission that is needed for unlicensed operation. This increases opportunities for a WD to transmit feedback information considering that the PCell and/or PSCell are not always available in unlicensed operations as indicated in [0012] of Karaki.
Regarding Claim 9, Huawei teaches A user equipment (UE), comprising: (Section 6, discloses UE)
a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable by the processor, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor implements: (Section 6, discloses UE. Examiner notes that a UE is well known to include processor and memory for storing instructions)
configuring physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources on a plurality of uplink serving cells respectively, receiving a PUCCH on a target uplink serving cell, wherein the target uplink serving cell is an uplink serving cell determined by a user equipment (UE) in the plurality of uplink serving cells;(Section 6, discloses the gNB is able to indicate to the UE multiple PUCCH resources across multiple aggregated carriers including SCells (i.e. plurality of uplink serving cells configured with PUCCH resources) as shown in Figure 5. Based on the LBT results, the UE can select (i.e. determining a target uplink serving cell) among the PUCCH resources for which the LBT results were successful to transmit the PUCCH (i.e. receiving a PUCCH on the target uplink serving cell) carrying the HARQ-ACK feedback)
performing idle channel state detection on each of the plurality of uplink serving cells, and determining at least one candidate uplink serving cell, wherein the at least one candidate uplink serving cell comprises all uplink serving cells whose idle channel state detection results are idle; determining the target uplink serving cell in the at least one candidate uplink serving cell; (Section 6 and Figure 5, illustrates a UE LBT (i.e. idle channel state detection) in the UE pre-configured cell group {0, 1, 2, 5} (i.e. each of the plurality of uplink serving cells. In some cases, the UE may acquire more than one cell for transmission of PUCCH. For example the UE in Figure 5 may determine that both Cell 2 and Cell 5 are unoccupied, and therefore the respective PUCCH resources are both available for transmission of the UCI (i.e. determining at least one candidate uplink serving cell)) The UE can therefore be configured to execute one of the following rules (i.e. determining the target uplink serving cell in the at least one candidate uplink serving cell):
- UE applies a preset priority order, e.g., in the frequency domain
- UE randomly selects one cell
- UE selects the cell associated with the earliest starting point (e.g., when an offsets is applied to each LBT bandwidth)
Huawei discloses wherein in a case that there are a plurality of candidate uplink serving cells, the determining the target uplink serving cell in the at least one candidate uplink serving comprises:
determining a candidate uplink serving cell as the target uplink serving cell. (Section 6 and Figure 5, discloses In some cases, the UE may acquire more than one cell for transmission of PUCCH. For example the UE in Figure 5 may determine that both Cell 2 and Cell 5 are unoccupied, and therefore the respective PUCCH resources are both available for transmission of the UCI. The UE can therefore be configured to execute one of the following rules:)
Huawei does not explicitly teach determining a candidate uplink serving cell corresponding to a minimum cell index number as the target uplink serving cell.
However, selecting an uplink serving cell based on a lowest cell index is well known in the art. For example, in a similar field of endeavor, Karaki discloses in [0013], receiving a configuration for a plurality of channels, the configuration configuring each of the plurality of channels with at least one physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, resource; and transmitting feedback on the at least one PUCCH resource that is configured in at least one channel of the plurality of channels. [0017], further discloses In some embodiments of this aspect, selecting the at least one channel out of the indicated set of channel candidates further comprises: selecting the at least one channel out of the indicated set of channel candidates for the feedback transmission based at least in part on at least one of: at least one channel associated with a lowest serving cell index within a PUCCH group.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huawei include the above limitations as suggested by Karaki, for providing flexibility for HARQ-ACK feedback transmission that is needed for unlicensed operation. This increases opportunities for a WD to transmit feedback information considering that the PCell and/or PSCell are not always available in unlicensed operations as indicated in [0012] of Karaki.
Regarding Claim 17, Huawei teaches A network device, comprising: (Section 6, discloses gNB)
a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable by the processor, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor implements: (Section 6, discloses gNB. Examiner notes that a gNB is a type of base station well known to include processor and memory for storing instructions)
determining a target uplink serving cell in a plurality of uplink serving cells respectively configured with PUCCH resources, wherein the target uplink serving cell is one of the plurality of uplink serving cells; and sending a PUCCH on the target uplink serving cell; (Section 6, discloses the gNB is able to indicate to the UE multiple PUCCH resources across multiple aggregated carriers including SCells (i.e. plurality of uplink serving cells configured with PUCCH resources) as shown in Figure 5. Based on the LBT results, the UE can select (i.e. determining a target uplink serving cell) among the PUCCH resources for which the LBT results were successful to transmit the PUCCH (i.e. sending a PUCCH on the target uplink serving cell) carrying the HARQ-ACK feedback)
performing idle channel state detection on each of the plurality of uplink serving cells, and determining at least one candidate uplink serving cell, wherein the at least one candidate uplink serving cell comprises all uplink serving cells whose idle channel state detection results are idle; determining the target uplink serving cell in the at least one candidate uplink serving cell; (Section 6 and Figure 5, illustrates a UE LBT (i.e. idle channels state detection) in the UE pre-configured cell group {0, 1, 2, 5} (i.e. each of the plurality of uplink serving cells. In some cases, the UE may acquire more than one cell for transmission of PUCCH. For example the UE in Figure 5 may determine that both Cell 2 and Cell 5 are unoccupied, and therefore the respective PUCCH resources are both available for transmission of the UCI (i.e. determining at least one candidate uplink serving cell)) The UE can therefore be configured to execute one of the following rules (i.e. determining the target uplink serving cell in the at least one candidate uplink serving cell):
- UE applies a preset priority order, e.g., in the frequency domain
- UE randomly selects one cell
- UE selects the cell associated with the earliest starting point (e.g., when an offsets is applied to each LBT bandwidth)
Huawei discloses wherein in a case that there are a plurality of candidate uplink serving cells, the target uplink serving cell comprises a candidate uplink serving (Section 6 and Figure 5, discloses In some cases, the UE may acquire more than one cell for transmission of PUCCH. For example the UE in Figure 5 may determine that both Cell 2 and Cell 5 are unoccupied, and therefore the respective PUCCH resources are both available for transmission of the UCI. The UE can therefore be configured to execute one of the following rules:)
Huawei does not explicitly teach a candidate uplink serving cell corresponding to a minimum cell index number.
However, selecting an uplink serving cell based on a lowest cell index is well known in the art. For example, in a similar field of endeavor, Karaki discloses in [0013], receiving a configuration for a plurality of channels, the configuration configuring each of the plurality of channels with at least one physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, resource; and transmitting feedback on the at least one PUCCH resource that is configured in at least one channel of the plurality of channels. [0017], further discloses In some embodiments of this aspect, selecting the at least one channel out of the indicated set of channel candidates further comprises: selecting the at least one channel out of the indicated set of channel candidates for the feedback transmission based at least in part on at least one of: at least one channel associated with a lowest serving cell index within a PUCCH group.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huawei include the above limitations as suggested by Karaki, for providing flexibility for HARQ-ACK feedback transmission that is needed for unlicensed operation. This increases opportunities for a WD to transmit feedback information considering that the PCell and/or PSCell are not always available in unlicensed operations as indicated in [0012] of Karaki.
Claim(s) 21-22, 24, 26, 27, 28, 30, 32-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huawei/Karaki in view of US 2019/0074935 A1 to Babaei et al. (hereinafter “Babaei”)
Regarding Claim 21, Huawei/Karaki teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining a target uplink serving cell in a plurality of uplink serving cells respectively configured with PUCCH resources comprises:
Huawei/Karaki does not explicitly teach receiving switching indication signaling sent by a network device; and determining the target uplink serving cell in the plurality of uplink serving cells according to the switching indication signaling.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Babaei, [0198], discloses the base station may configure a wireless device with one or more cell groups (e.g., PUCCH cell group). In an example, the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH may belong to a same cell group. In an example, the first PUCCH may belong to a first cell group and the second PUCCH may belong to a second cell group. [0211], discloses the wireless device may receive a message from the base station (e.g., DCI and/or MAC CE) indicating switching (i.e. switching indication) from the first PUCCH to the second PUCCH. In an example, the DCI may comprise a field indicating the second PUCCH (i.e. determining a target uplink serving cell)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huawei/Karaki include the above limitations as suggested by Babaei, to allow for offloading of a PUCCH resource and optimizing the networks efficiency as indicated in [0150] and [0166] of Babaei.
Regarding Claim 22, Huawei/Karaki/Babaei teaches The method according to claim 21, wherein Babaei further teaches the sending a PUCCH on the target uplink serving cell comprises: sending the PUCCH on the target uplink serving cell after a preset time starting from an end moment of receiving the switching indication signaling. ([0181], discloses timing between a grant/DCI reception time at the wireless device and transmission time may be fixed/preconfigured and/or semi-statically configured.) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 21 above.
Regarding Claim 24, Huawei/Karaki/Babaei teaches The method according to claim 21,
Babaei further teaches wherein the plurality of uplink serving cells comprise a third uplink serving cell and a fourth uplink serving cell in a target PUCCH group, the target PUCCH group is one of at least one pre-configured PUCCH group, and (([0194], discloses a wireless device may be configured with a plurality of cell groups. In an example, a cell group in the plurality of cell groups may be associated with one or more PUCCHs, e.g., one or more carriers transmitting PUCCH (i.e. plurality of uplink serving cells). [0198], discloses the base station may configure a wireless device with one or more cell groups (e.g., PUCCH cell group). In an example, the first PUCCH (i.e. third uplink serving cell) and the second PUCCH (i.e. fourth uplink serving cell) may belong to a same cell group (i.e. at least one preconfigured PUCCH group))
and the determining the target uplink serving cell in the plurality of uplink serving cells according to the switching indication signaling comprises: switching from the third uplink serving cell currently used for sending the PUCCH to the fourth uplink serving cell according to the switching indication signaling; and determining the fourth uplink serving cell as the target uplink serving cell. ([0211], discloses the wireless device may receive a message from the base station (e.g., DCI and/or MAC CE) indicating switching from the first PUCCH to the second PUCCH. In an example, the DCI may comprise a field indicating the second PUCCH (i.e. determining a target uplink serving cell))
Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 21 above.
Regarding Claim 26, Huawei/Karaki/Babaei teaches The method according to claim 21, Babaei further teaches wherein the receiving switching indication signaling sent by a network device comprises: receiving the switching indication signaling through one of UE-specific downlink control information (DCI), group common DCI, or cell-specific DCI; ([0211], discloses the wireless device may receive a message from the base station (e.g., DCI and/or MAC CE) indicating switching from the first PUCCH to the second PUCCH. In an example, the DCI may comprise a field indicating the second PUCCH (i.e. determining a target uplink serving cell). [0183], further discloses monitoring a plurality of PDCCH candidates in a common search space and UE-specific search space) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 21 above.
Claims 27, 28, 30, and 32 are rejected for having the same limitations as claims 21, 22, 24, and 26, respectively, except the claims are in apparatus format.
Regarding Claim 33, Huawei/Karaki teaches the network device according to claim 17,
wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, further implements:
Huawei/Karaki does not explicitly teach before the receiving a PUCCH on a target uplink serving cell, sending switching indication signaling to the UE, wherein the switching indication signaling is used for instructing the UE to determine the target uplink serving cell in the plurality of uplink serving cells;
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Babaei, [0198], discloses the base station may configure a wireless device with one or more cell groups (e.g., PUCCH cell group). In an example, the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH may belong to a same cell group. In an example, the first PUCCH may belong to a first cell group and the second PUCCH may belong to a second cell group. [0211], discloses the wireless device may receive a message from the base station (e.g., DCI and/or MAC CE) indicating switching from the first PUCCH to the second PUCCH. In an example, the DCI may comprise a field indicating the second PUCCH (i.e. determining a target uplink serving cell))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huawei/Karaki include the above limitations as suggested by Babaei, to allow for offloading of a PUCCH resource and optimizing the networks efficiency as indicated in [0150] and [0166] of Babaei.
Regarding Claim 34, Huawei/Karaki/Babaei teaches The network device according to claim 33, wherein Babaei further teaches the receiving a PUCCH on the target uplink serving cell comprises: receiving the PUCCH on the target uplink serving cell after a preset time starting from an end moment of completely sending the switching indication signaling to the UE. ([0181], discloses timing between a grant/DCI reception time at the wireless device and transmission time may be fixed/preconfigured and/or semi-statically configured.) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 33 above.
Regarding Claim 35, Huawei/Karaki/Babaei teaches The network device according to claim 33, wherein Babaei further teaches the sending switching indication signaling to the UE comprises: sending the switching indication signaling to the UE through one of UE-specific downlink control information (DCI), group common DCI, or cell-specific DCI. ([0211], discloses the wireless device may receive a message from the base station (e.g., DCI and/or MAC CE) indicating switching from the first PUCCH to the second PUCCH. In an example, the DCI may comprise a field indicating the second PUCCH (i.e. determining a target uplink serving cell). [0183], further discloses monitoring a plurality of PDCCH candidates in a common search space and UE-specific search space) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 33 above.
Claim(s) 23, 25, 29, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huawei/Karaki/Babaei in view of US 2018/0020429 A1 to Aiba et al. (hereinafter “Aiba”)
Regarding Claim 23, Huawei/Karaki/Babaei teaches The method according to claim 21,
Babaei further teaches wherein the plurality of uplink serving cells comprise a first uplink serving cell in a first PUCCH group and a second uplink serving cell in a second PUCCH group; ([0198], discloses the base station may configure a wireless device with one or more cell groups (e.g., PUCCH cell group). In an example, the first PUCCH may belong to a first cell group and the second PUCCH may belong to a second cell group) and
the determining the target uplink serving cell in the plurality of uplink serving cells according to the switching indication signaling comprises: switching from the first uplink serving cell currently used for sending the PUCCH to the second uplink serving cell according to the switching indication signaling, and determining the second uplink serving cell as the target uplink serving cell. ([0211], discloses the wireless device may receive a message from the base station (e.g., DCI and/or MAC CE) indicating switching from the first PUCCH to the second PUCCH. In an example, the DCI may comprise a field indicating the second PUCCH (i.e. determining a target uplink serving cell))
Huawei/Karaki/Babaei does not explicitly teach wherein a PUCCH resource of the first uplink serving cell and a PUCCH resource of the second uplink serving cell are in an active state.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Aiba, [0114]-[0117], discloses a base station transmitting higher layer signaling including information used for configuring multiple PUCCH cell groups for a terminal. For example, in a case that 20 serving cells (downlink component carriers or downlink cells) are configured or activated in the first cell group (i.e. multiple uplink serving cells, such as fourth uplink serving cell of the PUCCH cell group in an active state), the base station device 3 and the terminal device 1 may transmit and receive uplink control information for the 20 downlink component carriers to and from each other. [0120], further discloses the PUCCH cell group may include at least one PUCCH serving cell (i.e. multiple uplink serving cells). [0159], further discloses activating one or more multiple serving cells by using higher layer signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huawei/Karaki/Babaei to include the above limitations as suggested by Aiba, such that uplink control information can be transmitted efficiently, as indicated in [0021] of Aiba.
Regarding Claim 25, Huawei/Karaki/Babaei teaches The method according to claim 24, further comprising:
Huawei/Karaki/Babaei does not explicitly teach sending, on the target uplink serving cell, target uplink control information UCI corresponding to each downlink serving cell corresponding to the target PUCCH group.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Aiba, [0117]-[0118], discloses For example, in FIG. 3A, the base station device 3 may transmit a downlink signal in the first cell group, and the terminal device 3 may transmit an uplink signal in the first cell group (may transmit uplink control information on the PUCCH in the first cell group). For example, in a case that 20 serving cells (downlink component carriers or downlink cells) are configured or activated in the first cell group, the base station device 3 and the terminal device 1 may transmit and receive uplink control information for the 20 downlink component carriers to and from each other)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huawei/Karaki/Babaei to include the above limitations as suggested by Aiba, such that uplink control information can be transmitted efficiently, as indicated in [0021] of Aiba.
Claims 29 and 31 are rejected for having the same limitations as claims 23 and 25, respectively, except the claims are in apparatus format.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENKEY VAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477