DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 8 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US Publication 2021/0096325) in view of Chang et al. (US Publication 2020/0096745).
Regarding claim 1, Wu (Figure 3; Table 4) discloses an optical imaging system comprising a lens group including a first lens L1, a second lens L2, and a third lens L3, sequentially arranged from the object side forming a first optical axis, and an optical path converter P2 reflecting light emitted from the lens group to form an image on an imaging plane IMA2, wherein the optical imaging system comprises a total of three lenses, wherein a maximum length of the optical imaging system in the first optical axis is 11.0 mm or less (Total Optical System Length = 6.42; see Table 4). Wu discloses all the claimed limitations except that the first optical axis direction and an optical axis of the imaging plane are substantially parallel, and 0.86 < BFL/TTL < 0.96 and 8 < f/IMG HT < 12. Within the same field of endeavor, Chang (Figures 1, 2A & 2B) discloses the teaching to achieve a configuration wherein the first optical axis direction and the optical axis of the imaging plane are substantially parallel by the use of a reflecting module 4. Apparently, the distance between the rearmost lens surface 21 to the reflecting module 4 can be adjusted allowing for adjustment of the distance of an optical path from an image side surface 21 of a rearmost lens to the imaging plane 3, or TTL, to just about any desired value. For this reason, the ratio BFL/TTL can easily be adjustable between 0.86 and 0.96. In addition, Chang (col. 9, lines 40-42) discloses the teaching wherein 8 < f/IMG HT < 12 (From 0.5<BFL/f and 4.0<BFL/IMG HT, we can use substitution and get 8<f/IMG HT). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement a reflecting element for the purpose of achieving the desired configuration and the desired BFL/TTL and f/IMG HT ratios for design purpose.
Regarding claim 3, Wu (Figure 3; Table 4) further discloses wherein the first lens has positive refractive power (see Table 4).
Regarding claim 4, Wu (Figure 3; Table 4) further discloses wherein the second lens has negative refractive power (see Table 4).
Regarding claim 5, Wu (Figure 3; Table 4) further discloses wherein the second lens has a concave object side surface S24.
Regarding claim 7, Wu (Figure 3; Table 4) further discloses wherein the third lens has positive refractive power (see Table 4).
Regarding claim 8, Wu (Figure 3; Table 4) discloses all the claimed limitations except that the distance of an optical path from an image side surface of a rearmost lens to the imaging plane is 20.0mm to 50.0mm. Within the same field of endeavor, Chang (Figures 1, 2A & 2B) discloses the teaching to achieve a configuration wherein the first optical axis direction and the optical axis of the imaging plane are substantially parallel by the use of a reflecting module 4. Apparently, the distance between the image side surface 21 of the rearmost lens to the reflecting module 4 can be adjusted allowing for adjustment of the distance of an optical path from an image side surface 21 of a rearmost lens to the imaging plane 3 to just about any desired value. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement a reflecting element for the purpose of achieving the desired distance of the optical path from an image side surface of a rearmost lens to the imaging plane.
Regarding claim 22, Wu (Figure 3; Table 4) discloses all the claimed limitations except wherein the third lens has a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region. However, consider the prior art satisfies all the claimed optical limitations, the concavity of a lens surface is merely a design choice and does not carry much patentable weight. It is within the knowledge of one skilled in the art to vary the concavity of a certain lens in the optical system for design purpose without changing its intended optical purpose. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the concavity of the lens for design purpose.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US Publication 2021/0096325) in view of Chang et al. (US Publication 2020/0096745), as applied in claim 2, in view of CN 112764200A.
Regarding claim 6, Wu in view of Chang discloses all the claimed limitations except that the second lens has a concave image side surface. However, the concavity or convexity of the image side surface is merely a design choice and does not carry patentable weight. Within the same field of endeavor, CN 112764200A (Figure 7) discloses a similar optical imaging system wherein the second lens L2 has a concave image side surface S4. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to implement a concave image side surface for the second lens for design purpose.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicants argue that there is no teaching or suggestion in the cited
references, alone or in combination, of the feature "8 <f/IMG HT < 12, where f is a focal length of the optical imaging system, and IMG HT is a height of the imaging plane," as recited in independent claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Chang (col. 9, lines 40-42) discloses the teaching where 8<f/IMG HT<12 (From 0.5<BFL/f and 4.0<BFL/IMG HT, we can use substitution and get 8<f/IMG HT which satisfies the condition 8 < f/IMG HT<12).
Regarding claim 6, Applicants does not provide any arguments other than that from the independent claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACK DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 4/4/26