Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This is a non-final Office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 07/31/2025. Claims 1 – 2, 6, 8, 10, 12, 15, 19, and 20 are amended. Claims 3 – 4, 11, 13 – 14 and 16 – 17 remain withdrawn. Claim 1 – 2, 5 – 10, 2, 15, and 18 – 20 are pending review in the current Office action.
The objections set forth in the previous Office action, in light of applicant’s amendments, are withdrawn. The 35 U.S.C. 103 and 112b rejections set forth in the previous Office action mailed 05/08/2025 are also withdrawn. A new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendments is presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 5 – 9, 15, and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (WO2015079840A1, Machine translation provided) in view of Murakami (US PG Pub. 2017/0301964 A1, cited in prior Office action mailed 05/08/2025) and Cho (KR20180101668A, cited in prior Office action mailed 05/08/2025).
Regarding Claims 1 and 5, Suzuki discloses a battery pack (Figs. 2 – 6, 12; [15]) comprising at least one battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells, that is Suzuki teaches including in the battery pack a plurality of battery cells electrically connected together and accommodated in a separate housing (Fig. 2; [15];[23 – 25]), which one with ordinary skill in the art would recognize as a battery module.
Annotated Fig. 4 showing corresponding mounting portions and accommodation cavities of Suzuki.
Suzuki further discloses a support (separator 17; Figs. 2 – 5; [16 – 17]), the support including a plurality of mounting portions; a plurality of accommodation cavities configured to accommodate the plurality of battery cells; and the plurality of accommodation cavities being formed in the plurality of mounting portions, that is in figs. 2 – 5, Suzuki shows the support including a rectangular base portion 19 having holes showing an upper portion of the battery cells 16, side portions 20, partition walls 22 and support walls 47 protruding from the partition walls that form multiple accommodating spaces for mounting/holding the cells (Also refer to annotated Fig. 4 above).
Suzuki teaches the support {i.e. separator 17} having a role of being an insulator that covers the plurality of cells and that the support is formed from synthetic resin ([16]). Suzuki further teaches including a thermally conductive material with the separator structure, specifically heat radiating members 24, which are formed from a metal having a thermal conductivity higher than the resin, for heat dissipation purposes ([19];[28]).
Suzuki does not, however, particularly disclose the support being formed of a thermally conductive material and further the thermally conductive material having a conductivity greater than 0.3 W/m.K. (Claim 5).
Murakami teaches a battery pack having a heat dissipating holder 2 with insertion holes for cylindrical battery cells that have an inner surface formed from a thermally-conductive insulating rubber material with elastic projections that project toward the battery cells (Figs. 2 – 3; [0065 – 0066];[0071]). The projections are elastic pipes that elastically deform when the cells are inserted for smooth insertion of the battery cells, and further the pipes elastically press on the peripheries of the battery cells to allow for heat generated by the cells to be efficiently transferred to the holder body ([0032]). The holder body is taught by Murakami to be produced from an aluminum, aluminum alloy, or carbon having a high thermal conductivity, e.g. 100 – 250 W/m.K for aluminum/aluminum alloy and 100 – 2000 W/m.K for the carbon , to allow for more efficient heat absorption and dissipation ([0067]).
Since Suzuki desires to support to be both insulative and thermally conductive, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the separator of Suzuki’s support from a thermally conductive metal and include on the inners walls of the accommodation holes of a thermally-conductive insulating rubber material with elastic projections, as taught by Murakami, with a reasonable expectation of achieving the insulating function desired by Suzuki as well as improved heat dissipation/absorption among the battery cells.
By including a thermally conductive material as taught by Murakami, modified Suzuki includes a support formed from a thermally conductive material having a thermal conductivity of 100 W/m.K or higher, which is within the claimed range of 0.3 W/m.K (Claim 3).
Suzuki further shows a plurality of triangular holes included on an upper surface of the separator {i.e. corresponds to the claimed support}, but does not teach the particulars of the function/presence of the holes (Refer to Figs. 2 – 5). Suzuki further teaches the case of the battery pack including a passage 57 for air formed between the battery cell 16 and the bottom portion 35 of the case to achieve a heat dissipation effect within the case (Fig. 6; [27]).
Modified Suzuki does not explicitly disclose a plurality of paths running through the support being preset inside the support and the plurality of paths being distributed between adjacent mounting portions.
Cho teaches a battery pack configuration for cylindrical battery cells including a heat dissipation 220 member formed form a plurality of heat dissipation members arranged between the battery cells (Figs. 3 – 4; [0024 – 0026]). As shown in fig. 5, the support surfaces 221 of the heat dissipation members of Cho can be extended to integrally form a plurality of cylindrical insertion tubes for inserting the cylindrical battery cells ([0026 – 0028]). Furthermore, the heat dissipation member includes ventilation holes 225 and 223 that allow air from outside the battery pack holder to flow in and cool the battery cells (Fig. 4;[0026];[0028 – 0030]). The heat dissipation member configuration taught in of Cho allows for more efficient heat dissipation for the effect of maintaining the output of the battery and extending the life of the battery ([0017]).
Since Suzuki already shows including holes on the upper surface of the support between mounting portions and is concerned with achieving heat dissipation by forming air passages in the case, It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the support of Suzuki to have the mounting portion and ventilation hole configuration taught by Cho, with a reasonable expectation of success in achieving greater temperature control of the battery cells within the battery module and thus furthering Suzuki’s goal of achieving improved heat dissipation within the battery pack ([07];[12]).
By including the accommodation hole and ventilation hole configuration taught in Cho, modified Suzuki’s support {i.e. separator 17} includes the claimed structure of a plurality of paths running through the support and distributed between adjacent mounting portions {i.e. Refer to the configuration of the ventilation holes which are shown to be included between each cylindrical tube that holds battery cells in Figs. 3 and 5 of Cho}.
Suzuki further discloses a housing covering the support (housing case 18, Figs. 1 – 2; [26]), the housing comprising an upper cover (cover 34, Fig. 2; [26];[30]) and a lower cover (case main body 33, Fig. 2; [26 – 27]).
In Figs. 7 – 10, Suzuki discloses an embodiment of the housing case wherein the cover includes a plurality of vent holes 45 which communicate with the inside and outside of the housing case and case main body includes plurality of vent holes 39 for discharging air to the outside of the housing case ([36];[39]); therefore, Suzuki further discloses wherein, the upper cover includes at least one upper opening (Refer to vent holes 45 in Fig. 7), the lower cover including at least one lower opening (Refer to vent holes 39 in Fig. 7), the support mounted in housing and is completely enclosed by housing (Refer to how separator 17 is completely enclosed by housing case 18 in Fig. 7); and the at least one upper opening is formed on a top surface of the upper cover (Refer to how vent hole 45 is on the top surface of the upper cover).
In Fig. 7, the vent holes on the lower cover {i.e. case main body 33} are shown on a side surface; therefore, modified Suzuki does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one lower opening is formed on a bottom surface of the lower cover; however, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include at least one lower opening on the bottom surface of modified Suzuki’s cover, because such a modification would be a rearrangement of parts/duplication of parts that would reasonably be expected to still allow for the air inside the accommodating case to be discharged to the outside [See MPEP 2144.04(VI)].
As established above, the support of modified Suzuki includes a plurality of paths running through the support and distributed between adjacent mounting portions {i.e. Refer to the configuration of the ventilation holes which are shown to be included between each cylindrical tube that holds battery cells in Figs. 3 and 5 of Cho} that, as shown by Fig. 2 of Suzuki, remain uncovered and open to the inside of the case when the batteries are housing in the case housing. Furthermore, both the upper and lower vent holes of the upper cover and lower cover are taught to communicate with the inside case so air can be discharged to the outside of the case and the effect of heat dissipation can achieved ([27 – 29];[36];[39]). As such, because the paths and vent holes of modified Suzuki are all in communication with the inside of the case, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the at least one upper opening, the at least one lower opening, and the plurality of paths in modified Suzuki to connect and form the claimed heat dissipation channel that cools the plurality of battery cells and the supper to enable air flows through the at least one upper opening or the at least one lower opening to or from multiple paths.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Suzuki discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Suzuki includes the battery cell accommodation hole and ventilation hole configuration taught in Cho, as such modified Suzuki’s support {i.e. separator 17} further includes the claimed structure of wherein the plurality of paths and the plurality of accommodation cavities are independent of each other, that is in Fig. 5 of Cho the cavities of cylindrical insertion tubes 222, which corresponds to the claimed plurality of accommodations cavities, and the central and inner ventilation holes, 223 and 225, which correspond to the claimed plurality of paths, are shown to be separate cavities.
Regarding Claims 6 – 7, modified Suzuki discloses all limitations as set forth above. In modified Suzuki, the cells are disposed in the holes of the separator {i.e. corresponds to claimed support} and the body of the battery cells are inserted and accommodated in the cylindrical insertion tubes of the heat dissipation member (Suzuki: Figs. 2 – 5; [16 – 18] and Cho: (Figs. 3 – 5; [0027]).
As such, in order for the battery cells to fit into the cylindrical insertion tubes of the heat dissipation member, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect an outer diameter of a battery cell of the plurality of battery cells in modified Suzuki to be less than a hole diameter of an accommodation cavity of the plurality of accommodation cavities {i.e. cavity of the cylindrical tube in the heat dissipation member} (Claim 6).
The support of modified Suzuki, as established above, further includes the inner insulating structure taught in Murakami. As such, the inner surface of modified Suzuki’s battery cell accommodation holes include elastic pipes that elastically deform when the cells are inserted for smooth insertion of the battery cells (Murakami:[0032]). By including such elastic portions, modified Suzuki further includes the claimed structure of a deformation portion {i.e. thermally-conductive insulating rubber inner surface with projecting elastic pipes} included on a side wall of a mounting portion {i.e. inner side wall of the insertion tube}. Furthermore, because the elastic pipes elastically deform and press on the battery cells when inserted, modified Suzuki provides the claimed structure of wherein the battery cell is clamped and attached to the accommodation cavity through elastic deformation of the deformation portion after being accommodated in the accommodation cavity (Claim 6 cont.).
In addition, because the deformation portion of modified Suzuki includes projecting elastic pipes that protrude inward {i.e. toward the battery cell on inner side surfaces cell accommodation hole, which corresponds to mounting portion}, modified Suzuki’s deformation portion {i.e. thermally-conductive insulating rubber inner surface with projecting elastic pipes} further reads on being at least one protrusion formed inward by the side wall of the mounting portion (Claim 7).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Suzuki discloses all limitations as set forth above. In modified Suzuki, the cells are disposed in the holes of the separator {i.e. corresponds to claimed support} and the body of the battery cells are inserted and accommodated in the cylindrical insertion tubes of the heat dissipation member (Suzuki: Figs. 2 – 5; [16 – 18] and Cho: (Figs. 3 – 5; [0027]).
Modified Suzuki does not explicitly disclose wherein an outer diameter of a battery cell of the plurality of battery cells is greater than a hole diameter of an accommodation cavity of the plurality of accommodation cavities, and battery cell is disposed in the accommodation cavity of a mounting portion of the plurality of mounting portions by hot pressing and tensioning; however by reciting that the battery cells are disposed by hot pressing and tensioning, the claim limitation necessarily recites a product by process step requiring the process steps of hot pressing and tensioning. The examiner notes that the structure implied by the process step includes within its scope, a battery cell fitted into an accommodation cavity in manner that ensures contact between the cell’s side surfaces and the accommodation cavity walls {i.e. tightly fitted}.
Cho further teaches that the battery cells, when included in the heat dissipation member {i.e. corresponds to support of modified Suzuki}, contact the inner surfaces of the cylindrical insertion tubes and further teaches that contact between the battery cell and surfaces of the cylindrical insertion tube allows for heat transfer to the ventilation holes of the battery pack ([0026]); therefore, Modified Suzuki has the cells fitted in the cylindrical insertion tubes in a manner that could result from hot pressing and tensioning a battery cell having an outer diameter that is greater than the hole diameter of the accommodation cavity it is included in. Therefore, the insertion tube and battery cell structure of Modified Suzuki appears to correspond to the claimed structure.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Suzuki discloses all limitations as set forth above. Suzuki further discloses wherein the battery cell is provided with a first end surface and a second end surface that are opposite to each other (Refer end portions of the battery cells Figs. 2 – 5 of Suzuki and [15]), and a side surface disposed around the first end surface and the second end surface (Refer to columnar main body portion of the battery cells Figs. 2 – 5 of Suzuki and [15]).
In Suzuki the separator {i.e. corresponds to claimed support} is taught to cover the plurality of battery cells, and in figs. 2 – 5, appears to cover a majority of the battery cells.
Furthermore, in modified Suzuki, the inner support surfaces of the cell accommodation holes include a thermally-conductive insulating rubber surface with projecting elastic pipes that contact the battery cells (Murakami: Fig. 3, 4; [0071]).
Modified Suzuki does not explicitly disclose an attaching area between the side surface and mounting portion occupying at least 80% of the side surface.
Murakami further teaches controlling the dimensions of the elastic projections to control the battery cell surface area that is in contact with the inner surface of the holder battery cell holes ([0075]). Murakami teaches that, as the surface area of contact between the battery cells and holder decreases, conduction of heat generated from the battery cell reduces and can become insufficient ([0075]).
Therefore, since Modified Suzuki already teaches having a majority of the battery cell body contact the inner surfaces of holes in the separator structure, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to control the area of battery cell contacting the side surfaces of the mounting portions to be within the claimed range of at least 80%, to maximize the area available for heat transfer, and further to optimize the heat transfer capability of the battery pack with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Regarding Claim 15, modified Suzuki discloses all limitations as set forth above. Suzuki further discloses where the upper cover and lower cover are opposite to each other (Refer to Fig. 2).
Furthermore, Suzuki teaches covering an end of the battery and support with connection members 26/27/28 (Fig. 2; [23 – 24]). By including a structure that covers at least a portion of an end of the support, Suzuki necessarily further discloses the support being provided with an end cover that covers and end of the support.
As established above, Modified Suzuki includes the battery cell accommodation hole and ventilation hole configuration taught in Cho, as such, in modified Suzuki, the ventilation holes {i.e. corresponds to the claimed paths} extend along the length of the battery cells (Refer to configuration of ventilation holes 225 and 223 Fig. 4 in Cho) and thus in the same direction as the battery cells. Therefore, in modified Suzuki a path of the plurality of paths necessarily runs through the support in an axial direction of a battery cell of the plurality of battery cells.
Modified Suzuki; however, does not particularly disclose the end cover including a plurality of third opening, and the at least one lower opening and the at least one upper opening cooperating with the plurality of third openings and the plurality of paths in the axial direction directions of the battery cells to form the heat dissipation channel.
However, since the corresponding end cover of Suzuki is connecting member for the battery cells, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connecting member to extend over the entire end of support and include openings corresponding to the paths {i.e. ventilation holes of the support of modified Suzuki}, because the use of one connecting member instead of the structure disclosed by Suzuki would merely be a matter obvious engineering choice and, as shown by Cho, would have a reasonable expectation of success being suitable configuration for the connecting member of a cylindrical cell battery pack structure including paths for air to travel between cell accommodation portions (Refer to conductive member 230 in Fig. 3 of Cho and Cho: [0043]).
Therefore, as established above, modified Suzuki includes the battery cell accommodation hole and ventilation hole configuration taught in Cho as well as the connecting member structure. As such, the end cover of modified Suzuki includes additional holes corresponding to position of the ventilation holes of the support {i.e. corresponds to claimed paths} (Refer to Cho: [0043]), and thus includes the claimed plurality of third opening.
Furthermore, because the lower openings, upper openings, paths, and third openings are all open to the inside of the case housing and function to achieve heat dissipation by allowing air to discharge outside the battery case (Suzuki: [27 – 29];[36];[39] and Cho: [0026];[0028 – 0030]), and the paths of modified Suzuki extend in the axial direction of the plurality of battery cells, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the at least one lower opening and the at least one upper opening of modified Suzuki to cooperate with the plurality of third openings and the plurality of paths in axial directions of the plurality of battery cells to form the heat dissipation channel.
Regarding Claim 18, modified Suzuki discloses all limitations as set forth above. Suzuki further discloses wherein the battery cell is provided with a first end surface and a second end surface that are opposite to each other (Refer end portions of the battery cells Figs. 2 – 5 of Suzuki and [15]), and a side surface disposed around the first end surface and the second end surface (Refer to columnar main body portion of the battery cells Figs. 2 – 5 of Suzuki and [15]).
In Suzuki the separator {i.e. corresponds to claimed support} is taught to cover the plurality of battery cells, and in figs. 2 – 5, appears to cover a majority of the battery cells.
Furthermore, in modified Suzuki, the inner support surfaces of the cell accommodation holes include a thermally-conductive insulating rubber surface with projecting elastic pipes that contact the battery cells (Murakami: Fig. 3, 4; [0071]).
Modified Suzuki does not explicitly disclose an attaching area between the side surface and mounting portion occupying at least 80% of the side surface.
Murakami further teaches controlling the dimensions of the elastic projections to control the battery cell surface area that is in contact with the inner surface of the holder battery cell holes ([0075]). Murakami teaches that, as the surface area of contact between the battery cells and holder decreases, conduction of heat generated from the battery cell reduces and can become insufficient ([0075]).
Therefore, since Modified Suzuki already teaches having a majority of the battery cell body contact the inner surfaces of holes in the separator structure, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to control the area of battery cell contacting the side surfaces of the mounting portions to be within the claimed range of at least 80%, to maximize the area available for heat transfer, and further to optimize the heat transfer capability of the battery pack with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Annotated Fig. 4 showing corresponding mounting portions and accommodation cavities of Suzuki.
Regarding Claims 19 – 20, Suzuki discloses a battery pack (Figs. 2 – 6, 12; [15]) comprising a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 2; [15];[23 – 25]); a support (separator 17; Figs. 2 – 5; [16 – 17]) comprising a plurality of mounting portions; a plurality of accommodation cavities configured to accommodate the plurality of battery cells; and the plurality of accommodation cavities being formed in the plurality of mounting portions, that is in figs. 2 – 5, Suzuki shows the support including a rectangular base portion 19 having holes showing an upper portion of the battery cells 16, side portions 20, partition walls 22 and support walls 47 protruding from the partition walls that form multiple accommodating spaces for mounting/holding the cells (Also refer to annotated Fig. 4 above).
Suzuki teaches the support {i.e. separator 17} having a role of being an insulator that covers the plurality of cells and that the support is formed from synthetic resin ([16]). Suzuki further teaches including a thermally conductive material with the separator structure, specifically heat radiating members 24, which are formed from a metal having a thermal conductivity higher than the resin, for heat dissipation purposes ([19];[28]).
Suzuki does not, however, particularly disclose the support being formed of a thermally conductive material.
Murakami teaches a battery pack having a heat dissipating holder 2 with insertion holes for cylindrical battery cells that have an inner surface formed from a thermally-conductive insulating rubber material with elastic projections that project toward the battery cells (Figs. 2 – 3; [0065 – 0066];[0071]). The projections are elastic pipes that elastically deform when the cells are inserted for smooth insertion of the battery cells, and further the pipes elastically press on the peripheries of the battery cells to allow for heat generated by the cells to be efficiently transferred to the holder body ([0032]). The holder body is taught by Murakami to be produced from an aluminum, aluminum alloy, or carbon having a high thermal conductivity, e.g. 100 – 250 W/m.K for aluminum/aluminum alloy and 100 – 2000 W/m.K for the carbon , to allow for more efficient heat absorption and dissipation ([0067]).
Since Suzuki desires to support to be both insulative and thermally conductive, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the separator of Suzuki’s support from a thermally conductive metal and include on the inners walls of the accommodation holes of a thermally-conductive insulating rubber material with elastic projections, as taught by Murakami, and thus obtain the claimed support formed form a thermally conductive material, with a reasonable expectation of success in achieving the insulating function desired by Suzuki as well as improved heat dissipation/absorption among the battery cells.
Suzuki further shows a plurality of triangular holes included on an upper surface of the separator {i.e. corresponds to the claimed support}, but does not teach the particulars of the function/presence of the holes (Refer to Figs. 2 – 5). Suzuki further teaches the case of the battery pack including a passage 57 for air formed between the battery cell 16 and the bottom portion 35 of the case to achieve a heat dissipation effect within the case (Fig. 6; [27]).
Modified Suzuki does not explicitly disclose a plurality of paths running through the support and the plurality of paths being distributed between adjacent mounting portions.
Cho teaches a battery pack configuration for cylindrical battery cells including a heat dissipation 220 member formed form a plurality of heat dissipation members arranged between the battery cells (Figs. 3 – 4; [0024 – 0026]). As shown in fig. 5, the support surfaces 221 of the heat dissipation members of Cho can be extended to integrally form a plurality of cylindrical insertion tubes for inserting the cylindrical battery cells ([0026 – 0028]). Furthermore, the heat dissipation member includes ventilation holes 225 and 223 that allow air from outside the battery pack holder to flow in and cool the battery cells (Fig. 4;[0026];[0028 – 0030]). The heat dissipation member configuration taught in of Cho allows for more efficient heat dissipation for the effect of maintaining the output of the battery and extending the life of the battery ([0017]).
Since Suzuki already shows including holes on the upper surface of the support between mounting portions and is concerned with achieving heat dissipation by forming air passages in the case, It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the support of Suzuki to have the mounting portion and ventilation hole configuration taught by Cho, with a reasonable expectation of success in achieving greater temperature control of the battery cells within the battery module and thus furthering Suzuki’s goal of achieving efficient heat dissipation within the battery pack ([07];[12]).
By including the accommodation hole and ventilation hole configuration taught in Cho, modified Suzuki’s support {i.e. separator 17} includes the claimed structure of a plurality of paths running through the support and distributed between adjacent mounting portions {i.e. Refer to the configuration of the ventilation holes which are shown to be included between each cylindrical tube that holds battery cells in Figs. 3 and 5 of Cho}.
Suzuki further discloses a housing covering the support (housing case 18, Figs. 1 – 2; [26]), the housing comprising an upper cover (cover 34, Fig. 2; [26];[30]) and a lower cover (case main body 33, Fig. 2; [26 – 27]).
In Figs. 7 – 10, Suzuki discloses an embodiment of the housing case wherein the cover includes a plurality of vent holes 45 which communicate with the inside and outside of the housing case and case main body includes plurality of vent holes 39 for discharging air to the outside of the housing case ([36];[39]); therefore, Suzuki further discloses wherein, the upper cover includes at least one upper opening (Refer to vent holes 45 in Fig. 7) and the lower cover including at least one lower opening (Refer to vent holes 39 in Fig. 7).
In modified Suzuki, the shape of an end of a path of the plurality of paths is triangular (Refer to annotated Fig. 7 below). The cover ventilation hole 45 {i.e. corresponds to claimed at least one upper opening} appears to have a rectangular shape (Refer to annotated Fig. 7 below). As such, in modified Suzuki, a shape of an upper opening from the at least one upper openings is different from a shape of an end of a path of the plurality of paths.
Annotated Fig. 7 exemplifying different shapes of the path end and upper opening in modified Suzuki.
As established above, the support of modified Suzuki includes a plurality of paths running through the support and distributed between adjacent mounting portions {i.e. Refer to the configuration of the ventilation holes which are shown to be included between each cylindrical tube that holds battery cells in Figs. 3 and 5 of Cho} that, as shown by Fig. 2 of Suzuki, remain uncovered and open to the inside of the case when the batteries are housing in the case housing. Furthermore, both the upper and lower vent holes of the upper cover and lower cover are taught to communicate with the inside case so air can be discharged to the outside of the case and the effect of heat dissipation can achieved ([27 – 29];[36];[39]). As such, because the paths and vent holes of modified Suzuki are all in communication with the inside of the case, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the at least one upper opening, the at least one lower opening, and the plurality of paths in modified Suzuki to be connected and form a heat dissipation channel that cools the plurality of battery cells and the support (Claim 20).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (WO2015079840A1), Murakami (US PG Pub. 2017/0301964 A1) and Cho (KR20180101668A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Inui (US PG Pub. 2001/0026886 A1, cited in prior Office action mailed 05/08/2025).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Suzuki discloses all limitations as set forth above. In modified Suzuki, the plurality of paths {i.e. ventilation holes} are distributed between outside walls of adjacent mounting portions (Refer to Cho: Fig. 5 and the positions of the central and inner ventilation holes 223 and 225).
Modified Suzuki does not explicitly disclose a minimum width of a path of the plurality of paths being greater than 1.5 mm.
Inui teaches battery pack systems that include coolant flow paths, such as air flow paths, for battery pack temperature control (Figs. 1 – 2 and 6; [0008];[0012 – 0013];[0048]). Inui teaches controlling the width of the paths {i.e. paths formed by slits in the battery pack structure} to control the heat transfer capability and air flow resistance of the paths (Fig. 3; [0057];[0059]). Inui exemplifies widths such as 1.6 – 1.9 mm as optimal flow path widths and further teaches that as the width decreases, air flow resistance increases and cooling performance is improved ([0057]). Excessive reductions in width are taught by Inui to result in lowered cooling performance ([0057]).
Since Suzuki is concerned with achieving improved heat dissipation ([07];[12]), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to control the widths of Modified Suzuki’s ventilation paths to be within the range taught by Inui {i.e. 1.6 – 1.9 mm}, and thus be in the claimed range of greater than 1.5 mm, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining ventilation paths with optimized cooling performance.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (WO2015079840A1), Murakami (US PG Pub. 2017/0301964 A1) and Cho (KR20180101668A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cheng (CN206134753U, cited in prior Office action mailed 05/08/2025).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Suzuki discloses all limitations as set forth above. Suzuki further teaches the separator {i.e. corresponds to claimed support} including protruding heat radiation members 24 between the cells (Refer to Figs. 4 – 5 and 8; [19];[28]).
Modified Suzuki does not particularly disclose wherein heat dissipation fins are respectively disposed on side walls of the mounting portions at two sides of the plurality of paths, the heat dissipation fins are distributed at intervals in an axial direction of a battery cell of the plurality of battery cells.
Cheng teaches a battery box comprising a fixing frame 20 with battery holes 21 for cylindrical battery cells (Figs. 1 – 2; [0033 – 0035]). The fixing frame includes fins 22 that extend along the radial {i.e. vertical} direction of the battery holes and are also distributed along the direction at fixed intervals (Refer to Fig. 1; [0035]). The fins are taught by Cheng to protect the batteries inside the fixing frame and dissipate heat emitted by the batteries ([0034]).
Since Suzuki already teaches a desire to include heat dissipation structure on the separator, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Suzuki’s separator to include fins on the outer surfaces of the claimed mounting portions, as taught by Cheng, and thus obtain the claimed fin structure, with a reasonable expectation of success in further improving the heat dissipation capabilities of Modified Suzuki’s battery pack and increasing the protection of the battery cells.
Modified Suzuki does not does not explicitly disclose a length over which the heat dissipation fins are distributed being 3/4 of a total length of the battery cells in the axial direction.
In Fig. 1 of Cheng, the fins are shown to be distributed at fixed intervals along the axial direction {i.e. vertical direction of the fixing frame}, and are primarily distributed in a central part of each battery hole on the frame.
Furthermore, Suzuki suggests that increasing the contact area between a heat dissipating structure and another surface increases the heat dissipation effect ([28]).
Therefore, when modifying Suzuki to include the fins taught by Cheng, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the length over which the fins are distributed be 3/4 of a total length of the battery cells in the axial direction, because such a change is a change in size/proportion that would not affect the capability of the fins to protect the cells and/or dissipate heat [See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)] would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the purpose of optimizing efficiency of fins in the available central area of the support walls [MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Conclusion
/A.Y.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 1/29/2026