DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in grounds of the new rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the wherein the magnetic shielding member covers a part or all of the wiring pattern in a plan view of the board and a second plate member is disposed between the second core part and the second member must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations “…. a second plate member disposed between the second core part and the second member…” is vague and indefinite. The examiner is unclear on how a second plate member is disposed between the second core part and the second member when the first plate member is considered to being disposed between the second core part and the second member? Did the applicant mean a second plate member is disposed between the second core part and the third member?
Regarding claim 1, the limitations “…. a first plate member disposed between the second part and the second member…” is vague and indefinite. The examiner is unclear on wat is considered the second part? Did the applicant mean a second core part?
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 does not have a period at the end of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Worthington et al. (US 2013/0207767) in view of Decristofaro et al. (US 20040085174) and Redillia (US 6,420,952.
Regarding claim 1, Worthington et al. (figures 3a-3b and para 0031-0052) discloses a core made of a soft magnetic material (see para 0032), the core being an E-I core and including: a first core part (12); including a first member that is flat (see figures 3a-3b), a second member (see figures 3a-3b), a third member (see figures 3a-3b), and a fourth member (see figures 3a-3b), wherein each of the second member, the third member, and the fourth member has a wall-like shape and rises from the first member (see figures 3a-3b); a second core part (14) being I-shaped (see figures 3a-3b); a board (32a) that has a first opening in which the first core part is inserted (see figures 3a/3b); and a magnetic shielding (28) member that is configured to shield against magnetism (see para 0036), and has a second opening in which the first core part is inserted (see figures 3a/3b) (see also para 0016/0036 disclosing wherein the shield may been designed to have a single turn winding wrapping around the core), wherein the board includes a wiring pattern (34) that wraps around the first opening (see figures 3a/3b), and wherein the magnetic shielding member covers a part or all of the wiring pattern in a plan view of the board (see figures 3a/3b), and is insulated from the wiring pattern and the core (see figures 3a/3b).
Worthington et al. (figure 3d and para 0047) discloses wherein spacers (13) may be added to the inductive device but does not expressly disclose a first plate member disposed between the second part and the second member; a second plate member disposed between the second core part and the third member; and a third plate member disposed between the second core part and the fourth member.
Decristofaro et al. (figure 7 and para 0058-0059) discloses a teaching wherein a first plate member (113) disposed between the second core part (101) and the second member (110); a second plate member (109) disposed between the second core part (101) and the third member (1106); and a third plate member (117) disposed between the second core part and the fourth member (114). Note the spacers have rectangle shape configuration which can be considered a plate member.
Worthington et al. (para 0016 and para 0036) discloses a teaching wherein the magnetic shield may form a single turn winding to wrap around the core but does expressly disclose wherein the magnetic shielding member is frame-shaped and configured to surround the second opening.
Redillia (figures 1-5 and Col 2, lines 34-65) discloses a teaching wherein the magnetic shielding (1) member is frame-shaped and configured to surround the second opening.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design a first plate member disposed between the second part and the second member; a second plate member disposed between the second core part and the third member; and a third plate member disposed between the second core part and the fourth member as taught by Decristofaro et al. to the inductive device of Worthington et al. so as to enhancing structural integrity, improving cooling efficiency, and ensuring electrical safety by managing insulation clearances.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the magnetic shielding member is frame-shaped and configured to surround the second opening as taught by Redilla to the inductive device of Worthington et al. so as to inhibit eddy currents thereby allowing the inductive device to minimizes power loss and heat generation.
Regarding claim 2, Worthington et al. (figure 3d) discloses the magnetic shielding member covers a part of the wiring pattern includes an innermost periphery of the wiring pattern. Also, designing wherein magnetic shield covers a part of the wiring pattern includes an innermost periphery of the wiring pattern have been an obvious design consideration based on intended application/environment use. Such as to save in production cost since less materials and time would be needed to make the inductive device.
Conclusion
/RONALD HINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837