DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action has been issued in response to Applicant's Amendment filed December 15, 2025.
Claims 1, 14, 18, and 22 have been amended. Claims 1-6, 9-20, and 22 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 15, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the references do not disclose determine a main notification method and whether or not an auxiliary notification method is selected for the chat message based on the individual notification conditions set based on the user status of the user and the message type. Paragraph [0132] of Park discloses the electronic device provides a reception notification for a message received from one or more of other electronic devices related to the business during the reference time (such as business hours). Notifications consider the reference time (user status), an example of this reference time is business hours. Thus, one status would be during the reference time (during business hours), and the other status would be outside the reference time (outside business hours). Paragraph [0141] of Park discloses the electronic device determines whether the received message includes a notification phrase. Notifications consider whether a message includes a phrase (message type). Park does not explicitly disclose “whether or not an auxiliary notification method.” However, Castro discloses this. Column 8 lines 20-30 of Castro disclose certain chat event may trigger display of a push notification 307 together with the generation of a push notification alert (e.g., a ping, flash, and/or buzz) if notification of the chat event is received from the application server 112 while the device 102 is in the inactive mode, while the same chat event (disregarding for the moment the operation of the alert limiting mechanism 204) may trigger only display of a push notification 307, without a corresponding alert, if notification of the chat event is received from the application server 112 while the device 102 is active but in an application different from the chat application 104.
Applicant’s remaining arguments are similar to those discussed above and are addressed similarly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 14-16, 18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 2015/0095437 to Park et al. (hereinafter “Park”) further in view of US Pub. No. 2018/0152403 to Charignon (hereinafter “Charignon”) and further in view of US Pat. No. 11/588913 to Castro et al. (hereinafter “Castro”).
As to Claim 1, Park discloses a notification condition customized message processing device comprising:
a chat room opening unit configured to open a chat room connected to a plurality of user terminals (Figure 12A of Park discloses an opened group chat);
an individual notification condition setting unit configured to set individual notification conditions depending on a user status of a user and a message type for each of the plurality of user terminals (Paragraph [0054] of Park discloses a message reception notification setting event occurs during a group chat and determines whether to set a reception notification for each participant of the group chat. Paragraph [0132] of Park discloses the electronic device provides a reception notification for a message received from one or more of other electronic devices related to the business during the reference time (such as business hours). Notifications consider the reference time (user status). Paragraph [0141] of Park discloses the electronic device determines whether the received message includes a notification phrase. Notifications consider whether a message includes a phrase (message type)), a first individual notification condition being set based on the user status being a first user status and the message type being a first message type and a second individual notification condition being set based on the user status being the first user status and the message type being a second message type, the first individual notification condition being different than the second individual notification condition and the first message type being different than the second message type, the user status being whether a chat message is received during [working] hours of the user or [non-working] hours of the user, the first user status includes the chat message is received during [non-working] hours of the user and second user status includes the chat message is received during [working] hours of the user (Paragraph [0132] of Park discloses the electronic device provides a reception notification for a message received from one or more of other electronic devices related to the business during the reference time (such as business hours). Notifications consider the reference time (user status), an example of this reference time is business hours. Thus, one status would be during the reference time (during business hours), and the other status would be outside the reference time (outside business hours). Paragraph [0141] of Park discloses the electronic device determines whether the received message includes a notification phrase. Notifications consider whether a message includes a phrase (message type));
a chat message processing unit configured to receive the chat message from a chat sending user terminal among the plurality of user terminals through the chat room and inserts the chat message into a message thread associated with the chat room (Figure 12A of Park discloses displaying a received message in the group chat);
a chat message notification method determining unit configured to determine at least one chat receiving user terminal among the plurality of user terminals and determine a notification method for the chat message based on individual notification conditions for each of the at least one chat receiving user terminals, the notification method being determined as a first notification method in which a push notification is provided without a delay based on the first individual notification condition being set and the notification method being determined as a second notification method [in which the push notification is provided with the delay until a notification reference time] based on the second individual notification condition being set (Paragraph [0015] of Park discloses providing a message reception notification selectively during a reference time. Paragraph [0141] of Park discloses the electronic device determines whether the received message includes a notification phrase. Paragraph [0142] of Park discloses when the received message does not include the notification setting information, the electronic device may not generate the message reception notification event according to the message notification function limitation. Thus, whether a notification will be provided (first notification method) or not (second notification method) is determined based on whether the current status is in or not in the reference time and if the message includes a phrase); and
determine a main notification method [and whether or not an auxiliary notification method] is selected for the chat message based on the individual notification conditions set based on the user status of the user and the message type (Paragraph [0132] of Park discloses the electronic device provides a reception notification for a message received from one or more of other electronic devices related to the business during the reference time (such as business hours). Notifications consider the reference time (user status), an example of this reference time is business hours. Thus, one status would be during the reference time (during business hours), and the other status would be outside the reference time (outside business hours). Paragraph [0141] of Park discloses the electronic device determines whether the received message includes a notification phrase. Notifications consider whether a message includes a phrase (message type));
a chat message notification unit configured to notify each of the at least one chat receiving user terminals of the chat message through a corresponding determined chat message notification method (Paragraph [0015] of Park discloses providing a message reception notification selectively during a reference time. Thus, notifications will be provided (first notification method) or not (second notification method) according to their determination),
[wherein the chat message processing unit is further configured to immediately provide the chat message to the chat room regardless of the individual notification conditions], and
wherein the chat room opening unit, the individual notification condition setting unit, the chat message processing unit, the chat message notification method determining unit, and the chat message notification unit are each implemented via at least one processor (Paragraph [0183] of Park discloses the one or more programs stored in the computer readable recording medium are configured for execution performed by one or more processors in an electronic device).
Park does not explicitly disclose working and non-working and in which the push notification is provided with the delay until a notification reference time. Examiner notes Park does disclose business hours.
However, Charignon discloses this. Paragraph [0044] of Charignon discloses a brief list of examples of a communication context of a recipient include the recipient being on vacation, exercising, sleeping, eating dinner, dining out, driving a car, riding on public transportation, or working. Paragraph [0063] of Charignon discloses in response to determining that the recipient has a negative communication context, the context-aware communication system 104 provides 232 message delivery options to the sender client device 105. Paragraph [0064] of Charignon discloses examples of options (e.g., message delivery options) can include, but are not limited to, sending the message immediately, sending the message after time delay, canceling the message, sending the message when the recipient's communication context changes, sending the message when the recipient's communication context is no longer negative, notifying the sender when the recipient's communication context is no longer negative regarding whether to send the message at that time, and sending the message now and delay notifying/disturbing the recipient until a later time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the group chat system as disclosed by Park, with delaying as disclosed by Charignon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device. Park and Charignon disclose notification systems that selectively notify according to various criteria. Paragraph [0064] of Charignon discloses examples of options (e.g., message delivery options) can include, but are not limited to, sending the message immediately, sending the message after time delay, canceling the message, sending the message when the recipient's communication context changes, sending the message when the recipient's communication context is no longer negative, notifying the sender when the recipient's communication context is no longer negative regarding whether to send the message at that time, and sending the message now and delay notifying/disturbing the recipient until a later time. Charignon discloses delaying is a known alternative to not sending.
Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the chat message processing unit is further configured to immediately provide the chat message to the chat room regardless of the individual notification conditions and whether or not an auxiliary notification method.
However, Castro discloses this. Figures 5A and 5B of Castro disclose differing notification modes. In either mode the new content is received by the clients but the notifications differ based on their settings. Column 8 lines 20-30 of Castro disclose certain chat event may trigger display of a push notification 307 together with the generation of a push notification alert (e.g., a ping, flash, and/or buzz) if notification of the chat event is received from the application server 112 while the device 102 is in the inactive mode, while the same chat event (disregarding for the moment the operation of the alert limiting mechanism 204) may trigger only display of a push notification 307, without a corresponding alert, if notification of the chat event is received from the application server 112 while the device 102 is active but in an application different from the chat application 104.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the group chat system as disclosed by Park, with receiving messages regardless of notification conditions as disclosed by Castro. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device. Park and Castro disclose notification systems that selectively notify according to various criteria and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other.
As to Claim 2, Park-Charignon-Castro discloses the notification condition customized message processing device of claim 1, wherein the individual notification condition setting unit is further configured to convert a notification available time in the individual notification conditions into a reference time zone based on a time zone to generate the notification reference time, tags the notification reference time to the chat message, and inserts the chat message into a notification message list (Paragraph [0077] of Charignon discloses the context-aware communication system applies the values and attributes from recipient's client device of being 11:30 pm, at home, (where the time is provided by the recipient client device based on the recipient's local time zone). Thus, Charignon discloses accounting for the time zone of the users. Paragraph [0111] of Charignon discloses Sue sets a preference that instructs the context-aware communication system to delay delivery or notifications of group messages while she has a negative communication context).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the group chat system as disclosed by Park, with using accounting for time zones as disclosed by Charignon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device. Park and Charignon disclose notification systems that selectively notify according to various criteria. One of Park’s criteria is business hours as such it would improve the systems reliability to consider the local time zone as discloses by Charignon.
As to Claim 3, Park-Charignon-Castro discloses the notification condition customized message processing device of claim 2, wherein the individual notification condition setting unit is further configured to bring a time zone of a corresponding chat receiving user terminal in the process of conversion (Paragraph [0038] of Charignon discloses a behavior characteristic can include user input data (e.g., a social media post, a message, etc.) that the context-aware communication system 104 uses to determine an availability or willingness of a user to receive a message. Moreover, a behavior characteristic can include client device generated data (e.g., GPS location data, local time zone data, speed/acceleration data, calendar data, etc.) that the context-aware communication system 104 uses to determine an availability or willingness of a user to receive a message).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 2.
As to Claim 4, Park-Charignon-Castro discloses the notification condition customized message processing device of claim 2, wherein the individual notification condition setting unit is further configured to analyze the notification message list and delay provision of the chat message until the notification reference time is met (Paragraph [0111] of Charignon discloses Sue sets a preference that instructs the context-aware communication system to delay delivery or notifications of group messages while she has a negative communication context).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the group chat system as disclosed by Park, with delaying notifications as disclosed by Charignon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device. Park and Charignon disclose notification systems that selectively notify according to various criteria. Delaying notification allows a third option in selectively notifying users (notify, do not notify, and delay). Modifying Park with this option would improve its flexibility.
As to Claim 5, Park-Charignon-Castro discloses the notification condition customized message processing device of claim 1, wherein the individual notification condition setting unit is further configured to set the individual notification conditions by determining the user status based on the user's working hours and determining the message type based on a general message, a mention message, an object message, or a response message (Paragraph [0132] of Park discloses the electronic device provides a reception notification for a message received from one or more of other electronic devices related to the business during the reference time (such as business hours). Paragraph [0044] of Charignon discloses a brief list of examples of a communication context of a recipient include the recipient being on vacation, exercising, sleeping, eating dinner, dining out, driving a car, riding on public transportation, or working. These sections combined disclose considering the users working hours. Paragraph [0105] of Park discloses the electronic device determines whether the received message includes a user name of the electronic device or not. This is a mention message).
Examiner provides the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 14, Park discloses a notification condition customized message processing method comprising:
opening a chat room connected to a plurality of user terminals (Figure 12A of Park discloses an opened group chat);
setting individual notification conditions depending on a user status of a user and a message type for each of the plurality of user terminals (Paragraph [0054] of Park discloses a message reception notification setting event occurs during a group chat and determines whether to set a reception notification for each participant of the group chat. Paragraph [0132] of Park discloses the electronic device provides a reception notification for a message received from one or more of other electronic devices related to the business during the reference time (such as business hours). Notifications consider the reference time (user status). Paragraph [0141] of Park discloses the electronic device determines whether the received message includes a notification phrase. Notifications consider whether a message includes a phrase (message type)), a first individual notification condition being set based on the user status being a first user status and the message type being a first message type and a second individual notification condition being set based on the user status being the first user status and the message type being a second message type, the first individual notification condition being different than the second individual notification condition and the first message type being different than the second message type (Paragraph [0132] of Park discloses the electronic device provides a reception notification for a message received from one or more of other electronic devices related to the business during the reference time (such as business hours). Notifications consider the reference time (user status), an example of this reference time is business hours. Thus, one status would be during the reference time (during business hours), and the other status would be outside the reference time (outside business hours). Paragraph [0141] of Park discloses the electronic device determines whether the received message includes a notification phrase. Notifications consider whether a message includes a phrase (message type));
receiving a chat message from a chat sending user terminal among the plurality of user terminals through the chat room and inserting the chat message into a message thread associated with the chat room, the user status being whether a chat message is received during [working] hours of the user or [non-working] hours of the user, the first user status includes the chat message is received during [non-working] hours of the user and second user status includes the chat message is received during [working] hours of the user (Figure 12A of Park discloses displaying a received message in the group chat. Paragraph [0132] of Park discloses the electronic device provides a reception notification for a message received from one or more of other electronic devices related to the business during the reference time (such as business hours). Notifications consider the reference time (user status), an example of this reference time is business hours. Thus, one status would be during the reference time (during business hours), and the other status would be outside the reference time (outside business hours). Paragraph [0141] of Park discloses the electronic device determines whether the received message includes a notification phrase. Notifications consider whether a message includes a phrase (message type));
determining at least one chat receiving user terminal among the plurality of user terminals and determine a notification method for the chat message based on individual notification conditions for each of the at least one chat receiving user terminals, the notification method being determined as a first notification method in which a push notification is provided without a delay based on the first individual notification condition being set and the notification method being determined as a second notification method [in which the push notification is provided with the delay until a notification reference time] based on the second individual notification condition being set (Paragraph [0015] of Park discloses providing a message reception notification selectively during a reference time. Paragraph [0141] of Park discloses the electronic device determines whether the received message includes a notification phrase. Paragraph [0142] of Park discloses when the received message does not include the notification setting information, the electronic device may not generate the message reception notification event according to the message notification function limitation. Thus, whether a notification will be provided (first notification method) or not (second notification method) is determined based on whether the current status is in or not in the reference time and if the message includes a phrase);
determining a main notification method [and whether or not an auxiliary notification method] is selected for the chat message based on the individual notification conditions set based on the user status of the user and the message type (Paragraph [0132] of Park discloses the electronic device provides a reception notification for a message received from one or more of other electronic devices related to the business during the reference time (such as business hours). Notifications consider the reference time (user status), an example of this reference time is business hours. Thus, one status would be during the reference time (during business hours), and the other status would be outside the reference time (outside business hours). Paragraph [0141] of Park discloses the electronic device determines whether the received message includes a notification phrase. Notifications consider whether a message includes a phrase (message type)); and
notifying each of the at least one chat receiving user terminals of the chat message through a corresponding determined the chat message notification method (Paragraph [0015] of Park discloses providing a message reception notification selectively during a reference time. Thus, notifications will be provided (first notification method) or not (second notification method) according to their determination)
[immediately providing the chat message to the chat room regardless of the individual notification conditions].
Park does not explicitly disclose working and non-working and in which the push notification is provided with the delay until a notification reference time. Examiner notes Park does disclose business hours.
However, Charignon discloses this. Paragraph [0044] of Charignon discloses a brief list of examples of a communication context of a recipient include the recipient being on vacation, exercising, sleeping, eating dinner, dining out, driving a car, riding on public transportation, or working. Paragraph [0063] of Charignon discloses in response to determining that the recipient has a negative communication context, the context-aware communication system 104 provides 232 message delivery options to the sender client device 105. Paragraph [0064] of Charignon discloses examples of options (e.g., message delivery options) can include, but are not limited to, sending the message immediately, sending the message after time delay, canceling the message, sending the message when the recipient's communication context changes, sending the message when the recipient's communication context is no longer negative, notifying the sender when the recipient's communication context is no longer negative regarding whether to send the message at that time, and sending the message now and delay notifying/disturbing the recipient until a later time.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
Park does not explicitly disclose immediately providing the chat message to the chat room regardless of the individual notification conditions and whether or not an auxiliary notification method.
However, Castro discloses this. Figures 5A and 5B of Castro disclose differing notification modes. In either mode the new content is received by the clients but the notifications differ based on their settings. Column 8 lines 20-30 of Castro disclose certain chat event may trigger display of a push notification 307 together with the generation of a push notification alert (e.g., a ping, flash, and/or buzz) if notification of the chat event is received from the application server 112 while the device 102 is in the inactive mode, while the same chat event (disregarding for the moment the operation of the alert limiting mechanism 204) may trigger only display of a push notification 307, without a corresponding alert, if notification of the chat event is received from the application server 112 while the device 102 is active but in an application different from the chat application 104.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 15, Park-Charignon-Castro discloses the notification condition customized message processing method of claim 14, wherein setting of the individual notification conditions comprises converting a notification available time in the individual notification conditions into a reference time zone based on a time zone to generate the notification reference time, tagging the notification reference time to the chat message, and inserting the chat message into a notification message list (Paragraph [0077] of Charignon discloses the context-aware communication system applies the values and attributes from recipient's client device of being 11:30 pm, at home, (where the time is provided by the recipient client device based on the recipient's local time zone). Thus, Charignon discloses accounting for the time zone of the users. Paragraph [0111] of Charignon discloses Sue sets a preference that instructs the context-aware communication system to delay delivery or notifications of group messages while she has a negative communication context).
As to Claim 16, Park-Charignon-Castro discloses the notification condition customized message processing method of claim 14, wherein setting of the individual notification conditions comprises setting the individual notification conditions by determining the user status based on the user's working hours and determining the message type based on a general message, a mention message, an object message, or a response message (Paragraph [0132] of Park discloses the electronic device provides a reception notification for a message received from one or more of other electronic devices related to the business during the reference time (such as business hours). Paragraph [0044] of Charignon discloses a brief list of examples of a communication context of a recipient include the recipient being on vacation, exercising, sleeping, eating dinner, dining out, driving a car, riding on public transportation, or working. These sections combined disclose considering the users working hours. Paragraph [0105] of Park discloses the electronic device determines whether the received message includes a user name of the electronic device or not. This is a mention message).
Examiner provides the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 18, Park discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having embodied thereon a program, which when executed by a computer causes the computer to execute a notification condition customized message processing method, the method comprising:
opening a chat room connected to a plurality of user terminals (Figure 12A of Park discloses an opened group chat);
setting individual notification conditions depending on a user status of a user and a message type for each of the plurality of user terminals (Paragraph [0054] of Park discloses a message reception notification setting event occurs during a group chat and determines whether to set a reception notification for each participant of the group chat. Paragraph [0132] of Park discloses the electronic device provides a reception notification for a message received from one or more of other electronic devices related to the business during the reference time (such as business hours). Notifications consider the reference time (user status). Paragraph [0141] of Park discloses the electronic device determines whether the received message includes a notification phrase. Notifications consider whether a message includes a phrase (message type)), a first individual notification condition being set based on the user status being a first user status and the message type being a first message type and a second individual notification condition being set based on the user status being the first user status and the message type being a second message type, the first individual notification condition being different than the second individual notification condition and the first message type being different than the second message type, (Paragraph [0132] of Park discloses the electronic device provides a reception notification for a message received from one or more of other electronic devices related to the business during the reference time (such as business hours). Notifications consider the reference time (user status), an example of this reference time is business hours. Thus, one status would be during the reference time (during business hours), and the other status would be outside the reference time (outside business hours). Paragraph [0141] of Park discloses the electronic device determines whether the received message includes a notification phrase. Notifications consider whether a message includes a phrase (message type));
receiving a chat message from a chat sending user terminal among the plurality of user terminals through the chat room and inserting the chat message into a message thread associated with the chat room, the user status being whether the chat message is received during [working] hours of the user or [non-working] hours of the user, the first user status includes the chat message is received during [non-working] hours of the user and second user status includes the chat message is received during [working] hours of the user; (Figure 12A of Park discloses displaying a received message in the group chat. Paragraph [0132] of Park discloses the electronic device provides a reception notification for a message received from one or more of other electronic devices related to the business during the reference time (such as business hours). Notifications consider the reference time (user status), an example of this reference time is business hours. Thus, one status would be during the reference time (during business hours), and the other status would be outside the reference time (outside business hours). Paragraph [0141] of Park discloses the electronic device determines whether the received message includes a notification phrase. Notifications consider whether a message includes a phrase (message type));
determining at least one chat receiving user terminal among the plurality of user terminals and determine a notification method for the chat message based on individual notification conditions for each of the at least one chat receiving user terminals, the notification method being determined as a first notification method in which a push notification is provided without a delay based on the first individual notification condition being set and the notification method being determined as a second notification method [in which the push notification is provided with the delay until a notification reference time] based on the second individual notification condition being set (Paragraph [0015] of Park discloses providing a message reception notification selectively during a reference time. Paragraph [0141] of Park discloses the electronic device determines whether the received message includes a notification phrase. Paragraph [0142] of Park discloses when the received message does not include the notification setting information, the electronic device may not generate the message reception notification event according to the message notification function limitation. Thus, whether a notification will be provided (first notification method) or not (second notification method) is determined based on whether the current status is in or not in the reference time and if the message includes a phrase);
determining a main notification method [and whether or not an auxiliary notification method] is selected for the chat message based on the individual notification conditions set based on the user status of the user and the message type (Paragraph [0132] of Park discloses the electronic device provides a reception notification for a message received from one or more of other electronic devices related to the business during the reference time (such as business hours). Notifications consider the reference time (user status), an example of this reference time is business hours. Thus, one status would be during the reference time (during business hours), and the other status would be outside the reference time (outside business hours). Paragraph [0141] of Park discloses the electronic device determines whether the received message includes a notification phrase. Notifications consider whether a message includes a phrase (message type)); and
notifying each of the at least one chat receiving user terminals of the chat message through a corresponding determined the chat message notification method (Paragraph [0015] of Park discloses providing a message reception notification selectively during a reference time. Thus, notifications will be provided (first notification method) or not (second notification method) according to their determination)
[immediately providing the chat message to the chat room regardless of the individual notification conditions].
Park does not explicitly disclose working and non-working and in which the push notification is provided with the delay until a notification reference time. Examiner notes Park does disclose business hours.
However, Charignon discloses this. Paragraph [0044] of Charignon discloses a brief list of examples of a communication context of a recipient include the recipient being on vacation, exercising, sleeping, eating dinner, dining out, driving a car, riding on public transportation, or working. Paragraph [0063] of Charignon discloses in response to determining that the recipient has a negative communication context, the context-aware communication system 104 provides 232 message delivery options to the sender client device 105. Paragraph [0064] of Charignon discloses examples of options (e.g., message delivery options) can include, but are not limited to, sending the message immediately, sending the message after time delay, canceling the message, sending the message when the recipient's communication context changes, sending the message when the recipient's communication context is no longer negative, notifying the sender when the recipient's communication context is no longer negative regarding whether to send the message at that time, and sending the message now and delay notifying/disturbing the recipient until a later time.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
Park does not explicitly disclose immediately providing the chat message to the chat room regardless of the individual notification conditions and whether or not an auxiliary notification method.
However, Castro discloses this. Figures 5A and 5B of Castro disclose differing notification modes. In either mode the new content is received by the clients but the notifications differ based on their settings. Column 8 lines 20-30 of Castro disclose certain chat event may trigger display of a push notification 307 together with the generation of a push notification alert (e.g., a ping, flash, and/or buzz) if notification of the chat event is received from the application server 112 while the device 102 is in the inactive mode, while the same chat event (disregarding for the moment the operation of the alert limiting mechanism 204) may trigger only display of a push notification 307, without a corresponding alert, if notification of the chat event is received from the application server 112 while the device 102 is active but in an application different from the chat application 104.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 22, Park-Charignon-Castro discloses the notification condition customized message processing device of claim 1 wherein the chat message notification method determining unit is further configured to set whether the push notification is present as the main notification method based on the message type specifying a user corresponding to one of the user receiving terminals, and notify the one user receiving terminal of the chat message through the main notification method set as the push notification and disregard the user status set for the individual notification condition set for the one user receiving terminal, based on the message type specifying the user corresponding to the one user receiving terminal (Paragraph [0105] of Park discloses the electronic device determines whether the received message includes a user name of the electronic device or not. Paragraph [0107] of Park discloses when the received message includes the notification setting information, the electronic device provides the reception notification of the corresponding message in the state in which the message notification function is limited).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park-Charignon-Castro and further in view of US Pub. No. 2009/0216726 to Muthaiah et al. (hereinafter “Muthaiah”).
As to Claim 6, Park-Charignon-Castro discloses the notification condition customized message processing device of claim 1. Park-Charignon-Castro does not explicitly disclose wherein the individual notification condition setting unit is further configured to set the individual notification conditions based on the a number of unread chat messages in the chat room.
However, Muthaiah discloses this. Paragraph [0048] of Muthaiah discloses configured to send an email notification if a user if a message has been unread for more than a threshold number of days (e.g., two business days or one week) or if a threshold number of unread messages has been surpassed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the notification system as disclosed by Park, with basing notifications on number of unread messages as disclosed by Muthaiah. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device. Park and Muthaiah disclose notification systems that selectively notify according to various criteria. Muthaiah discloses a known criteria to be the number of unread messages. Thus, Park’s notification system flexibility would be improved by consider other known notification criteria.
Claims 9, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park-Charignon-Castro and further in view of US Pub. No. 2021/0042707 to Srinivasan et al. (hereinafter “Srinivasan”).
As to Claim 9, Park-Charignon-Castro discloses the notification condition customized message processing device of claim 2 wherein the chat message notification method determining unit is further configured to set whether the push notification is provided without the delay and whether a push notification is provided with the delay as a main notification method and [set whether a text message based on cellular transmission is sent and whether an e-mail is sent as an auxiliary notification method] (Paragraph [0015] of Park discloses providing a message reception notification selectively during a reference time. Paragraph [0111] of Charignon discloses Sue sets a preference that instructs the context-aware communication system to delay delivery or notifications of group messages while she has a negative communication context).
Park does not explicitly disclose set whether a text message based on cellular transmission is sent and whether an e-mail is sent as an auxiliary notification method.
However, Srinivasan discloses this. Paragraph [0027] of Srinivasan discloses the escalation path may be configured to consume contact preferences (e.g., email, voice call, text message, Slack, Push notification, device preferences, the like) previously specified by the current on-call user of the corresponding group to thereby notify the on-call member based on the contact preference selected by the user. For example, a first attempt to notify the on-call user may be made via a first selected device and/or a first selected communication channel (i.e., first attempt contact preference), and when the first notification remains unacknowledged for a time duration specified by the escalation path, a subsequent second attempt to notify the on-call user may be made via a second selected device and/or a second selected communication channel (i.e., second attempt contact preference)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the notification system as disclosed by Park, with having multiple contact methods as disclosed by Srinivasan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device. Park and Srinivasan are directed toward notification systems. Srinivasan discloses a notification escalation system to ensure that important notifications get to the intended participant. Park’s notification system would be improved by increasing the likelihood of notifications being seen in a timely fashion.
As to Claim 19, Park-Charignon-Castro discloses the notification condition customized message processing device of claim 1, wherein when the message type is a normal message or an object message, the first individual notification condition includes the push notification, and the second individual notification condition does not include the push notification and [includes a text message based on cellular transmission] (Paragraph [0015] of Park discloses providing a message reception notification selectively during a reference time)
Park does not explicitly disclose includes a text message based on cellular transmission.
However, Srinivasan discloses this. Paragraph [0027] of Srinivasan discloses the escalation path may be configured to consume contact preferences (e.g., email, voice call, text message, Slack, Push notification, device preferences, the like) previously specified by the current on-call user of the corresponding group to thereby notify the on-call member based on the contact preference selected by the user. For example, a first attempt to notify the on-call user may be made via a first selected device and/or a first selected communication channel (i.e., first attempt contact preference), and when the first notification remains unacknowledged for a time duration specified by the escalation path, a subsequent second attempt to notify the on-call user may be made via a second selected device and/or a second selected communication channel (i.e., second attempt contact preference)).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 9.
As to Claim 20, Park-Charignon-Castro-Srinivasan discloses the notification condition customized message processing device of claim 19, wherein when the message type is a user specified mention general message, the first individual notification condition includes the push notification and an e-mail being sent as the auxiliary notification method, and the second individual notification condition includes the delay of the push notification and the e-mail being sent as the auxiliary notification method, wherein when the message type is a task handler specified mention object message, the first individual notification condition includes the push notification and the e-mail being sent as the auxiliary notification method, and the second individual notification condition includes the delay of the push notification the text message based on cellular transmission, and wherein when the message type is a response message, the first individual notification condition includes the push notification, and the second individual notification condition includes the delay of the push notification (Paragraph [0027] of Srinivasan discloses the escalation path may be configured to consume contact preferences (e.g., email, voice call, text message, Slack, Push notification, device preferences, the like) previously specified by the current on-call user of the corresponding group to thereby notify the on-call member based on the contact preference selected by the user. For example, a first attempt to notify the on-call user may be made via a first selected device and/or a first selected communication channel (i.e., first attempt contact preference), and when the first notification remains unacknowledged for a time duration specified by the escalation path, a subsequent second attempt to notify the on-call user may be made via a second selected device and/or a second selected communication channel (i.e., second attempt contact preference)).
Claim 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park-Charignon-Castro-Srinivasan and further in view of US Pub. No. 2022/0139570 to Hettig et al. (hereinafter “Hettig”).
As to Claim 10, Park-Charignon-Castro-Srinivasan discloses the notification condition customized message processing device of claim 9, wherein the chat message notification method determining unit is further configured to include a the [number of unread chat messages] along with description of the chat room in a push message through the push notification (Paragraph [0015] of Park discloses providing a message reception notification selectively during a reference time. A notification message for a group chat would indicate the group chat).
Park does not explicitly disclose number of unread chat messages.
However, Hettig discloses this. Paragraph [0134] of Hettig discloses Depending on the notification level for each chatroom, the following events can occur when a new message is received in a chat room: Unread message count on the chat room and chat history tab can iterate. Caregiver can receive an OS notification with or without sound.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the notification system as disclosed by Park, with displaying the number of unread messages as disclosed by Hettig. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device. Park and Hettig are directed toward selective notifications system. Modifying Park to include the number of unread messages would improve its ability to convey the status of a group chat to a user.
Claims 11-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park-Charignon-Castro and further in view of US Pub. No. 2018/0285996 to Ma (hereinafter “Ma”).
As to Claim 11, Park-Charignon-Castro discloses the notification condition customized message processing device of claim 1, wherein the individual notification condition setting unit is further configured to set individual task alarm conditions for each of at least one task object composed of a task orderer, a task handler, details of a task, a task status, and a task deadline in the message thread (Paragraph [0105] of Park discloses the electronic device determines whether the received message includes a user name of the electronic device or not).
Ma further discloses tasks.
Paragraph [0170] of Ma discloses The workflow process is the process of routing tasks and documents to predetermined users, notifying the appropriate users of required tasks, periodically reminding users of task completion deadlines, and tracking time periods associated with both tasks and the time between tasks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the notification system as disclosed by Park, with notifying a task deadline as disclosed by Ma. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device. Park and Ma disclose notification systems that selectively notify according to various criteria. One of Park’s criteria is business hours and as such Park considers the use in a business context. Ma’s disclosure of notifying about tasks would improve Park’s notification in a business context.
As to Claim 12, Park-Charignon-Castro-Ma discloses the notification condition customized message processing device of claim 11, wherein the individual notification condition setting unit is further configured to set the individual task alarm conditions based on at least one of a no-change time of the task status with respect to each of the at least one task object and a remaining time of the task deadline (Paragraph [0170] of Ma discloses The workflow process is the process of routing tasks and documents to predetermined users, notifying the appropriate users of required tasks, periodically reminding users of task completion deadlines, and tracking time periods associated with both tasks and the time between tasks).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 11.
As to Claim 13, Park-Charignon-Castro-Ma discloses the notification condition customized message processing device of claim 11, wherein the chat message notification method determining unit is further configured to update the individual task alarm conditions such that the task handler is continuously notified of the at least one task object until the task status is completed (Paragraph [0170] of Ma discloses The workflow process is the process of routing tasks and documents to predetermined users, notifying the appropriate users of required tasks, periodically reminding users of task completion deadlines, and tracking time periods associated with both tasks and the time between tasks).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 11.
As to Claim 17, Park-Charignon-Castro discloses the notification condition customized message processing method of claim 14, wherein setting of the individual notification conditions comprises setting individual task alarm conditions for each of at least one task object composed of a task orderer, a task handler, details of a task, a task status, and a task deadline in the message thread (Paragraph [0105] of Park discloses the electronic device determines whether the received message includes a user name of the electronic device or not).
Ma further discloses tasks.
Paragraph [0170] of Ma discloses the workflow process is the process of routing tasks and documents to predetermined users, notifying the appropriate users of required tasks, periodically reminding users of task completion deadlines, and tracking time periods associated with both tasks and the time between tasks.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 11.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN S MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499