DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 11/10/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-16, 18 and 20 remain pending in the application. Claims 1-6 are withdrawn. Claims 7-16, 18 and 20 are being examined herein.
Status of Objections and Rejections
All rejections of claims 17 and 19 are obviated by Applicant’s cancellation.
The claim objection of claim 14 is maintained.
The rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are being withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
New grounds for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 are being withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
New grounds for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 are necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 7 and 12, the amended claim 7 recites “the plurality of nanowires and the first and second heating elements are arranged on the same layer,” and the amended claim 12 recites “the film and the first and the second heating elements are arranged on the same layer.” However, these limitations are not disclosed in the original disclosure. In particular, “layer” is not mentioned in the Specification and thus it is unclear what constitutes a layer. The Applicant points to previously presented claims 17, 19 and Fig. 12 as support. However, claims 17 and 19 do not mention any layers. Fig. 12 does shows that the Pd nanowires or film and the heating elements are planar with each other, but it does not disclose the Pd nanowires or film and the heating elements are arranged on the same layer because it is unclear what constitutes a layer. Therefore, the limitations are considered new matter added to the claims. See MPEP 2163.06(I).
Claim 8-11, 13-16, 18 and 20 are rejected because their dependency on claim 7 or 12.
Claims 7-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation " the plurality of nanowires and the first and second heating elements are arranged on the same layer " in lines 15-16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the same layer” in the claim, and thus it is unclear what layer the limitation is referring to and what constitutes the layer. Instant Fig. 12 shows that the Pd nanowires or film and the heating elements are planar with each other, but it does not disclose the Pd nanowires or film and the heating elements are arranged on the same layer. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is being interpreted as “the plurality of nanowires and the first and second heating elements are arranged on a layer.” Further clarification is requested.
Claim 12 recites the limitation " the film and the first and second heating elements are arranged on the same layer " in lines 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the same layer” in the claim, and thus it is unclear what layer the limitation is referring to and what constitutes the layer. Instant Fig. 12 shows that the Pd nanowires or film and the heating elements are planar with each other, but it does not disclose the Pd nanowires or film and the heating elements are arranged on the same layer. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is being interpreted as “the film and the first and second heating elements are arranged on a layer.” Further clarification is requested.
Claim 8-11, 13-16, 18 and 20 are indefinite because their dependency on claim 7 or 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7, 8, 10, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (“Perfectly Aligned, Air-Suspended Nanowire Array Heater and Its Application in an Always-On Gas Sensor.” Advanced Functional Materials, Vol. 30, Issue 39. First published on August 12, 2020).
Regarding claim 7, Choi teaches a suspended nanowire structure comprising:
a substrate (Si);
a plurality of nanowires (SnO2) float on the substrate and extending along a first direction (Fig. A shows the SnO2 nanowires are floating), the plurality of nanowires having a first end and a second end (see annotated Fig. A below);
a first electrode and a second electrode disposed at the first end and the second end of the plurality of nanowires, respectively (Fig. 4b, the examiner interprets “at the first end and the second end” as at the proximity of the first end and the second end. see annotated Fig. A); and
a first heating element (one of the plurality of Pt nanowires) having one end connected to the first electrode (annotated Fig. A and Fig. 4a, one end of each Pt nanowire is connected to the first electrode) and a second heating element (another one of the plurality of the Pt nanowires) having one end connected to the second electrode (one end of each Pt nanowire is connected to the first electrode), are horizontally disposed with the plurality of nanowires (Figs. 4a and 4b), and provide heat to both the first end and second end of the plurality of nanowires, respectively (p. 7, efficient heat transfer from the Pt wires to the plurality of SnO2 nanowires. Since the heating elements extends beyond both ends of the plurality of nanowires as shown in Figs. 4a and 4b, it is evident that heat transfer occurs at both the first and second end of the plurality of nanowires, which reads on “provides heat to the first end and second end,” as claimed. Further- providing heat is a functional limitation and what is claimed is a device), wherein
the first electrode is connected between the first heating element and the first end of the plurality of nanowires (annotated Fig. A, the first electrode is connected to the first heating element and the insulator, and the insulator is connected to the first end of the SnO2 nanowires, and thus the first electrode is indirectly connected between the first heating element and the first end of the SnO2 via the insulator),
the second electrode is connected between the second heating element and the second end of the plurality of nanowires (annotated Fig. A, the second electrode is connected to the second heating element and the insulator, and the insulator is connected to the second end of the SnO2 nanowires, and thus the second electrode is indirectly connected between the second heating element and the second end of the plurality of nanowires via the insulator), and
the plurality of nanowires and the first and second heating elements are arranged on the same layer (see 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C.112(b) sections above)(inset of Fig. 4a, the combination of the heating elements, nanowires and the insulator is interpreted as a layer, and thus define a structural layer).
Figure A. Annotated Fig. 4a and 4b of Choi.
Regarding claim 8, Choi teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 7. Choi further teaches the suspended nanowire structure further comprising:
an insulator (SiO2 nanograting NG structure) (see annotated Fig. A above) which covers the first electrode and a portion of the first heating element (inset of Fig. 4a, the SiO2 NG structure covers the bottom the side of each Pt. nanowire) and electrically insulates the first electrode and the plurality of nanowires (Fig. 4d, p. 5, the SiO-2 NG structure separates the SnO2 nanowires and the Pt nanowires in the vertical direction, providing independent electrical paths. Since the Pt nanowires are electrically connected to the first electrode as taught in p. 4, thus the SiO-2 NG structure plays a role in electrically insulating the first electrode and the SnO2 nanowires),
wherein one end portion of the plurality of nanowires is disposed on one edge portion of the insulator (the inset of Fig. 4a, the SnO---2 nanowires are disposed on the top edge of the NG structure).
Regarding claim 10, Choi teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 7. Choi further teaches the suspended nanowire structure of Claim 7, further comprising: a measurement electrode (denoted as the first measurement electrode in annotated figure, Figure A) disposed on the plurality of nanowires and extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (see annotated figure, Fig. A).
Regarding claim 11, Choi teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 10. Choi further teaches the suspended nanowire structure of Claim 10, wherein the measurement electrode further is a first measurement electrode (first measurement electrode) disposed on the first end of the plurality of nanowires (see annotated figure, Fig. A), and
the suspended nanowire structure further comprises a second measurement electrode (second measurement electrode) disposed on the second end of the plurality of nanowires (see annotated figure, Fig. A),
Regarding claim 20, Choi teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 7. Choi further teaches wherein
the plurality of nanowires has a first surface (bottom surface) and a second surface (top) opposite to the first surface,
the first heating element and the second heating element are disposed on the first surface (Fig. 4A and Fig. 4B and annotated Fig. A), and
the second surface (top surface) are exposed to an outside of the suspended film structure (interpreted as the suspended nanowire structure, see the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above) (Fig. 4A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (“Perfectly Aligned, Air-Suspended Nanowire Array Heater and Its Application in an Always-On Gas Sensor.” Advanced Functional Materials, Vol. 30, Issue 39. First published on August 12, 2020) in view of Lee et al. (“Stress-engineered palladium nanowires for wide range (0.1%–3.9%) of H2 detection with high durability.” Nanoscale, 2019, 11, 16317-16326).
Regarding claim 9, Choi teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 8. Choi further teaches the suspended nanowire structure is a CO sensor (p.6). Choi discloses that the CO sensor has an electrothermal heater comprising an array of nanowires that requires only ultralow power for heating (Fig. 3b). Choi further discloses the array of nanowires (the first and second heating elements) is made of platinum (Fig. 4d). Choi discloses besides CO gas sensing (p. 6), the proposed strategy of employing geometrically structured nanomaterials constructed using a nanograting substrate in the electrothermal heater design provides new prospects for devices of a variety of applications that demands ultralow power operation (p. 7).
Choi fails to teach wherein the plurality of nanowires are made of at least one of palladium (Pd), Pd-metal alloy or Pd based compound, and the insulator is made of aluminum oxide.
However, Lee teaches a partially anchored nanowire structure for H2 gas sensing (abstract). Lee teaches the partially anchored nanowire structure for H2 gas sensor is constructed on a nanograting substrate (abstract, Fig. 1), similar to the nanograting substrate taught by Choi (Choi, Fig. 2). Lee further teaches the nanowire structure is suitable to be incorporated with nanowire-based heaters that are highly efficient in terms of power consumption (p. 16324). Lee discloses that the nanowire structure for H2 gas sensing comprises a plurality of nanowires and an insulator on the nanograting substrate (Fig. 1). Lee teaches that the plurality of nanowires made is palladium (p. 16318) and the insulator is made aluminum oxide (p. 16318).
Therefore, It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the suspended nanowire structure for CO gas sensing comprises a nanowire array heater taught by Choi to have palladium as the material of the plurality of nanowires made of palladium and the insulator is made of aluminum oxide as taught by Lee (Lee, p. 16318) in order to have a power-efficient hydrogen gas sensor with a reasonable expectation of success (Lee, p. 16318 and Choi, p.7)(MPEP 2143)(I)(G).
Claims 12, 13, and 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (“Perfectly Aligned, Air-Suspended Nanowire Array Heater and Its Application in an Always-On Gas Sensor.” Advanced Functional Materials, Vol. 30, Issue 39. First published on August 12, 2020), in view of Fang et al. (US 6161421 A).
Regarding claim 12, Choi teaches a suspended structure (see annotated figure, Fig. A) comprising:
a substrate (Si);
a layer of material (SnO2 nanowires) floats on the substrate and extending along a first direction (annotated Figure A shows the SnO-2 nanowires are floating), the layer of material having a first end and a second end (see annotated Fig. A);
a first electrode and a second electrode for heating element disposed at the first end and the second end of the layer of material, respectively (Fig. 4b, the examiner interprets “at the first end and the second end” as “at the proximity of the first end and the second end”. See annotated Fig. A), and
a first heating element (one of the plurality of Pt nanowires) having one end connected to the first electrode (annotated Fig. A, one end of each Pt nanowire is connected to the first electrode) and a second heating element (another one of the plurality of Pt nanowires) having one end connected to the second electrode (annotated Fig. A, one end of each Pt nanowire is connected to the second electrode), are horizontally disposed with the layer of material (Fig. 4b), and provide heat to the first end and the second end of the layer of material, respectively (p. 7, efficient heat transfer from the heater to the layer structure. Since the heating elements extends beyond both ends of the layer of material as shown in Figs. 4a and 4b, it is evident that heat transfer occur at ends of the layer of material), wherein
the first electrode is connected between the first heating element and the first end of the layer of material (annotated Fig. A, the first electrode is connected to the first heating element and the insulator, and the insulator is connected to the first end of the SnO2 nanowires, and thus the first electrode is indirectly connected between the first heating element and the first end of the SnO2 via the insulator),
the second electrode is connected between the second heating element and the second end of the layer of material (annotated Fig. A, the second electrode is connected to the second heating element and the insulator, and the insulator is connected to the second end of the SnO2 nanowires, and thus the second electrode is indirectly connected between the second heating element and the second end of the plurality of nanowires via the insulator), and
the layer of material and the first and second heating elements are arranged on the same layer (see 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C.112(b) sections above)(inset of Fig. 4a, the combination of the heating elements, nanowires and the insulator is interpreted as a layer, and thus defines a structural layer).
Choi further teaches the suspended structure is a CO gas sensor, and the layer of material is SnO--2, which is for CO gas sensing.
Choi fails to teach that the layer of material is a film.
However, Fang also teaches a suspended structure (abstract, Figs. 2a and 2b) that is a CO gas sensor (Fig. 6, col. 4, lines 35-41). Fang further discloses that the suspended structure also comprises a resistive heater (22) and a layer of material made of SnO2 (23) . Fang teaches the layer of material is a film (abstract, col. 4, line 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the nanowires taught by Choi with the film taught by Fang to yield a suspended structure comprises a film because one of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly have recognized the layer of SnO2 in either the form of nanowires or in the form of a film serve the purpose of CO gas sensing. Consequently, as evident by Fang, the substitution would have resulted in the predictable result of providing a suspended structure comprises a layer of the material in the form of a film for CO gas sensing (Fang, abstract, col. 4, line 35-41) (MPEP 2143(B)).
Regarding claim 13, Choi in view of Fang teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 12. Modified Choi further teaches the suspended film structure of Claim 12, further comprising:
an insulator (SiO2 nanograting NG structure) (see annotated figure, Fig. A) which covers the first electrode (Fig. 4a, SiO2 NG structure covers the bottom of the first electrodes) and a portion of the first heating element (inset of Fig. 4a, the SiO2 NG structure covers the bottom and the sides of each heating element) and electrically insulates the first electrode and the film (Fig. 4d, p. 5, the SiO-2 NG structure separates the SnO2 nanowires and the Pt nanowires in the vertical direction, providing independent electrical paths. Since SnO2 nanowire are electrically connected to the first electrode as taught in p.4, thus the NG structure plays a role of electrically insulating the first electrode. In modified Choi, the SnO2 film would similarly be disposed on top of the SiO-2 NG structure, and thus the SnO2 film and the Pt nanowires would have independent electrical paths),
wherein one end portion of the film is disposed on one edge portion of the insulator (similar to the SnO2 nanowires, the SnO2 film in modified Choi would be disposed on the top edge of the SiO-2 NG structure, inset of Fig. 4a).
Regarding claim 15, Choi in view of Fang teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 12. Choi further teaches the suspended film structure of Claim 12, further comprising: a measurement electrode disposed on the film and extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (The measurement electrode is denoted as the first measurement electrode in the annotated figure, Fig. A).
Regarding claim 16, Choi in view of Fang teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 15. Choi further teaches the suspended film structure wherein
the measurement electrode is a first measurement electrode (first measurement electrode) disposed on the first end and the second end of the film (see annotated figure, Fig. A), and
the suspended film structure further comprises a second measurement electrode (second measurement electrode) disposed on the second end of the film (see annotated figure, Fig. A).
Regarding claim 18, Choi in view of Fang teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 12. Modified Choi further teaches wherein
the film has a first surface (bottom surface) and a second surface (top surface) opposite to the first surface,
the first heating element and the second heating element are disposed on the first surface (Fig. 4a and 4b and annotated Fig. A), and
the second surface (top surface) are exposed to an outside of the suspended film structure (Fig. 4a and 4b).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (“Perfectly Aligned, Air-Suspended Nanowire Array Heater and Its Application in an Always-On Gas Sensor.” Advanced Functional Materials, Vol. 30, Issue 39. First published on August 12, 2020), in view of Fang et al. (US 6161421 A) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (“Stress-engineered palladium nanowires for wide range (0.1%–3.9%) of H2 detection with high durability.” Nanoscale, 2019, 11, 16317-16326).
Regarding claim 14, Choi in view of Fang teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 13. Modified Choi further teaches the suspended structure is a CO sensor (p.6). Choi discloses that the CO sensor has an electrothermal heater comprising an array of nanowires in an air-bridge configuration that requires only ultralow power for heating (Fig. 3b). Choi further discloses the array of nanowires (the first and second heating elements) is made of platinum (Fig. 4d). Choi discloses besides CO gas sensing (p. 6), but the proposed strategy of employing geometrically structured nanomaterials constructed using a nanograting substrate in the electrothermal heater design provides new prospects for devices of a variety of applications that demands ultralow power operation (p. 7).
Modified Choi fails to teach wherein the film, which is use for detecting specific gases, is made of at least one of palladium (Pd), Pd-metal alloy or Pd based compound, and the insulator is made of aluminum oxide.
However, Lee teaches a H2 gas sensor constructed on a nanograting substrate (abstract, Fig. 1), similar to the nanograting substrate taught by Choi (Choi, Fig. 2). Lee discloses that H2 gas sensor comprises a layer of sensing material and an insulator on the nanograting substrate (Fig. 1). Lee teaches that the layer of sensing material is made of palladium (p. 16318) and the insulator is made of aluminum oxide (p. 16318).
Therefore, It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the suspended structure comprise a nanowire array heater taught by modified Choi to have the film (sensing material) made of palladium and the insulator on the nanograting structure made of aluminum oxide as taught by Lee (Lee, p. 16318) in order to have a power-efficient H2 gas sensor with a reasonable expectation of success (Lee, p. 16318 and Choi, p. 7)(MPEP 2143)(I)(G).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 7, filed 11/10/205, with respect to claim objection have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The issue raised in Office Action mailed 09/11/2025 has not been addressed. The claim objection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 7-8, filed 11/10/205, with respect to the rejections of claim 9, 11, 14, 16, 18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of 09/11/2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 8-12, filed 11/10/205, with respect to the rejections of claims 7, 8, 10, 11-13, 15-16, 18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Choi fails to disclose all the features of the amended claims, in particular, the limitations of claim 7"the first electrode is connected between the first heating element and the first end of the plurality of nanowires, and the second electrode is connected between the second heating element and the second end of the plurality of nanowires, and the plurality of nanowires and the first and second heating elements are arranged on the same layer" and “the plurality of nanowires and the first and second heating elements are arranged on the same layer,” as recited in amended claim The examiner respectfully disagrees. The first electrode (A4 as destinated by Applicant in Remarks 11/10/2025) is connected to the first heating element (one of the Pt nanowires, or A2 as destinated by the Applicant) and the insulator (see annotated Fig. A), and the insulator is connected to the first end of the plurality of nanowires (the first end of the SnO2, or A11 as destinated by the Applicant)(see inset of annotated Fig. A). Since “connect” does not require the connecting components to have direct connections or to be located in a particular direction with respect to the first electrode; therefore, the first electrode is connected (indirectly) between the first heating element and the first end of the plurality of nanowires via the insulator. The same reasoning applies to the second electrode, the second heating element and the second end of the plurality of nanowires. While the Applicant may intend the first/second heating element and the first/second end of the nanowires to be located in a particular direction with respect to the first/second electrode; the location of the first/second heating element and the first/second end of the nanowires with respect to the first/second electrode has not been claimed.
With regards to the limitation “the plurality of nanowires and the first and second heating elements are arranged on the same layer,” as discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b) sections, it is unclear what constitutes “a layer” since “a layer” is not mentioned in the original disclosure. Fig. 12 does shows that the Pd nanowires or film and the heating elements are planar with each other, but it does not disclose Pd nanowires or film and the heating elements are arranged on the same layer because it is unclear what constitutes a layer. The SnO2 nanowires, the insulator and the heating elements as shown in the inset of Fig. 4a in Choi can be considered a layer.
Therefore, Choi does disclose all the features of the amended claim 7, and hence this argument is unpersuasive.
Choi in view of Fang discloses all the features of the amended claim 12 for reasons analogous to claim 7 discussed above and in the 35 U.S.C. 103 section.
In the arguments presented on pp. 11-12 of the Remarks, the Applicant further argues that Fang and/or Lee do not make up for the deficiencies of Choi. However, Choi does teach all the features of the amended claim 7 as discussed above and in the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection section, and Choi in view of Fang teaches all the features of the amended claim 14 as discussed above and in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection section; therefore, there is no deficiencies to be made up for. Therefore, this argument in unpersuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prajapati et al. (US 20200240942 A1) teaches a suspended nano-gas-sensor array that self-heats. Ruellan et al. (US 20150247828 A1) teaches a self-heating suspended nanowire with electrodes for gas detection. Toffoli, et al. (US 10788470 B2) teaches a gas sensor comprising suspended sensing parts and heating means. Chang et al. (US 20200041447 A1) teaches a sensor with nanowire heaters that are coplanar with the sensing electrodes. Jun et al. (US 7861575 B2) teaches a gas sensor with a sensing layer that is coplanar with heaters and electrodes. Jiang et al. (Integrated Temperature and Hydrogen Sensors with MEMS Technology. Sensors 2018, 18(1), 94) teaches a hydrogen sensor with planar Pt temperature and PdNi sensing electrodes. Ramírez et al. (Architecture for the efficient manufacturing by printing of heated, planar, resistive transducers on polymeric foil for gas sensing. Sensors and Actuators B: Chemical. Volume 258, 1 April 2018, Pages 952-960) teaches a planar heating and sensing electrodes.
/M.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758