DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-28, 31-46 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee et al. (US Pub. 2017/0339721) in view of Yerramalli et al. (US Pub. 2015/0373741).
Regarding claims 1, 14, 24 and 37, Mukherjee teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, a plurality of uplink grants for a plurality of uplink transmissions via a plurality of cells (see “One base station, situated on the base station site, may serve one or several cells” in [0004], “Each scheduling message may be transmitted on separate PDCCH/EPDCCH resources, and consequently, there may be typically multiple simultaneous PDCCH/EPDCCH transmissions within each subframe in each cell” in [0023], “one or more SCells in the unlicensed band. In this application a secondary cell in unlicensed spectrum may be denoted as LAA secondary cell (LAA SCell)” in [0046] and “adjacent LTE cells employing LBT” in [0135]), wherein each uplink transmission of the plurality of uplink transmissions has a same starting position (“Two of the nodes, LAA-node1, LAA-node2, are synchronized” in [0094], see also “LAA-node1” and “LAA-node2” in Figure 11 having the same starting position), and wherein the plurality of cells comprises a first cell and a second cell (“one or more SCells in the unlicensed band. In this application a secondary cell in unlicensed spectrum may be denoted as LAA secondary cell (LAA SCell)” in [0046]). Mukherjee, however, does not teach performing a first type of listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure indicating that the first cell is clear; performing a second type of LBT procedure indicating that the second cell is clear; and transmitting, via the second cell, one or more transport blocks based on: the performing the first type of listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure indicating that the first cell is clear; and the performing the second type of LBT procedure indicating that the second cell is clear. Yerramalli teaches performing a first type of listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure indicating that the first cell is clear (“Is CCA check on the first unlicensed carrier clear” in step 1114 in Figure 11); performing a second type of LBT procedure indicating that the second cell is clear (“Is ECCA countdown on the second unlicensed carrier clear” in step 1118 in Figure 11); and transmitting, via the second cell, one or more transport blocks (“transmit data” in step 1122 in Figure 11, see also “The device may also transmit the data on the second unlicensed carrier” in [0109]) based on: the performing the first type of listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure indicating that the first cell is clear (“Is CCA check on the first unlicensed carrier clear” in step 1114 in Figure 11); and the performing the second type of LBT procedure indicating that the second cell is clear (“Is ECCA countdown on the second unlicensed carrier clear” in step 1118 in Figure 11). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mukherjee to have performing a first type of listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure indicating that the first cell is clear; performing a second type of LBT procedure indicating that the second cell is clear; and transmitting, via the second cell, one or more transport blocks based on: the performing the first type of listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure indicating that the first cell is clear; and the performing the second type of LBT procedure indicating that the second cell is clear as taught by Yerramalli in order to perform CCA jointly [0007].
Regarding claims 2, 15, 25 and 38, Mukherjee teaches the first cell and the second cell operate in different unlicensed bands or different license assisted access (LAA) cell bands [0007], [0021].
Regarding claims 3, 16, 26 and 39, Mukherjee teaches the receiving the plurality of uplink grants comprises: receiving, via a licensed cell, at least one uplink grant of the plurality of uplink grants [0007], [0021].
Regarding claims 4, 17, 27 and 40, Mukherjee teaches the at least one uplink grant is for at least one of: uplink transmission via the first cell; or uplink transmission via the second cell [0018], [0021].
Regarding claims 5 and 28, Mukherjee teaches performing the first LBT procedure by: sensing the first cell (step 1602 in Figure 16); and comparing a detected power with an energy detection threshold [0043].
Regarding claims 8, 18, 31 and 41, Mukherjee teaches the transmitting the one or more transport blocks via the second cell (step 1504 in Figure 15 in the second iteration) is after transmitting a second transport block via the first cell (step 1504 in Figure 15 in the first iteration).
Regarding claims 9, 19, 32 and 42, Mukherjee teaches the plurality of cells comprises at least one of: an unlicensed cell; or a license assisted access (LAA) cell [0007].
Regarding claims 10, 20, 33 and 43, Mukherjee teaches transmitting a second transport block via the first cell (step 1606 in Figure 16) regardless of whether the second LBT procedure indicates that the second cell is clear (“CCA for duration T1” in step 1604 in Figure 16).
Regarding claims 11, 21, 34 and 44, Mukherjee teaches performing the second LBT procedure (“CCA for duration T1” in step 1604 in Figure 16) immediately before uplink transmission via the first cell (step 1606 in Figure 16).
Regarding claims 12, 22, 35 and 45, Mukherjee teaches performing, based on the plurality of uplink grants [0018], [0021], the first LBT procedure (“CCA for duration T0” in step 1602 in Figure 16) and the second LBT procedure (“CCA for duration T1” in step 1604 in Figure 16).
Regarding claims 13, 23, 36 and 46, Mukherjee teaches a type of the first LBT procedure is different from a type of the second LBT procedure (T0 = 23 µs and T1 = 20 µs, see [0141]), and wherein the second LBT procedure is shorter than the first LBT procedure (T0 = 23 µs and T1 = 20 µs, see [0141]).
Regarding claim 50, Mukherjee teaches the transmitting the one or more transport blocks is further based on each uplink transmission of the plurality of uplink transmissions having the same starting position (“Two of the nodes, LAA-node1, LAA-node2, are synchronized” in [0094], see also “LAA-node1” and “LAA-node2” in Figure 11).
Claims 6, 7, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee et al. in view of Yerramalli et al. and further in view of Lu et al. (US Pub. 2017/0339607).
Regarding claims 6 and 29, Mukherjee in view of Yerramalli teaches the limitations in claims 1 and 24 as shown above. Mukherjee in view of Yerramalli, however, does not teach selecting the first cell uniformly randomly from the plurality of cells to perform the first LBT procedure. Lu teaches selecting the first cell uniformly randomly from the plurality of cells to perform the first LBT procedure (“selecting the sCell 24 includes selecting the sCell 24 from the list of potential sCells 24 based on a random selection strategy” in [0042]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mukherjee in view of Yerramalli to have selecting the first cell uniformly randomly from the plurality of cells to perform the first LBT procedure as taught by Lu in order to reduce throughput loss by blindly selecting (Abstract).
Regarding claims 7 and 30, Lu teaches selecting, before performing a procedure, the first cell uniformly randomly from the plurality of cells [0042] and Mukherjee teaches performing an LBT procedure of a first type on any cell of the plurality of cells (“CCA for duration T0” in step 1602 in Figure 16).
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee et al. in view of Yerramalli et al. and Yang et al. (US Pub. 2017/0055293) and further in view of Yerramalli et al. (US Pub. 2016/0234835, hereinafter Yerramalli2).
Regarding claim 47, Mukherjee in view of Yerramalli teaches the limitations in claim 1 as shown above. Mukherjee in view of Yerramalli, however, does not teach determining, by the wireless device, a first energy detection threshold for the first LBT procedure and a second energy detection threshold for the second LBT procedure. Yang teaches determining, by the wireless device, a first energy detection threshold for the first LBT procedure and a second energy detection threshold for the second LBT procedure (“CCA ED (energy detection) threshold, …, eCCA ED threshold” in [0030]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mukherjee in view of Yerramalli to have determining, by the wireless device, a first energy detection threshold for the first LBT procedure and a second energy detection threshold for the second LBT procedure as taught by Yang in order to divide nodes operating at an unlicensed band into groups [0030]. Mukherjee in view of Yerramalli and Yang, however, does not teaches determining the second energy detection threshold based on the first energy detection threshold. Yerramalli2 teaches determining the second energy detection threshold based on the first energy detection threshold (“based at least in part on the first CCA energy detection threshold for a first CCA slot 960, … establish a second CCA energy detection threshold” in [0108]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mukherjee in view of Yerramalli and Yang to have determining the second energy detection threshold based on the first energy detection threshold as taught by Yerramalli2 in order to modify energy detection threshold dynamically [0108].
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee et al. in view of Yerramalli et al. and further in view of Yang et al..
Regarding claim 48, Mukherjee in view of Yerramalli teaches the limitations in claim 1 as shown above. Mukherjee in view of Yerramalli, however, does not teach the first LBT procedure and the second LBT procedure are based on different energy detection thresholds. Yang teaches the first LBT procedure and the second LBT procedure are based on different energy detection thresholds (“CCA ED (energy detection) threshold, …, eCCA ED threshold” in [0030]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mukherjee in view of Yerramalli to have the first LBT procedure and the second LBT procedure are based on different energy detection thresholds as taught by Yang in order to divide nodes operating at an unlicensed band into groups [0030].
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukherjee et al. in view of Yerramalli et al. and Yang et al. and further in view of Hu et al. (US Pub. 2018/0376339).
Regarding claim 49, Mukherjee in view of Yerramalli teaches the limitations in claim 1 as shown above. Mukherjee in view of Yerramalli, however, does not teach a first energy detection threshold for the first cell and a second energy detection threshold for the second cell. Yang teaches a first energy detection threshold for the first cell and a second energy detection threshold for the second cell (“CCA ED (energy detection) threshold, …, eCCA ED threshold” in [0030]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mukherjee in view of Yerramalli to have a first energy detection threshold for the first cell and a second energy detection threshold for the second cell as taught by Yang in order to divide nodes operating at an unlicensed band into groups [0030]. Mukherjee in view of Yerramalli and Yang, however, does not teaches receiving, by the wireless device, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages comprising the energy detection thresholds. Hu teaches receiving, by the wireless device, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages comprising the energy detection thresholds (“containing the energy detection threshold information into RRC signaling and notifying the user equipment” in [0179]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mukherjee in view of Yerramalli and Yang to have receiving, by the wireless device, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages comprising the energy detection thresholds as taught by Hu in order to reduce transmission resource overhead [0082].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-49 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-32 of U.S. Patent No. 10257855. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application’s claims merely broaden the scope of the patented claims by not claiming some claim elements (i.e., receiving, by a wireless device from a base station, one or more messages comprising a corresponding listen before talk (LBT) parameter for each of a plurality of licensed assisted access (LAA) cells).
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of US 10257855
A method comprising:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device from a base station, one or more messages comprising a corresponding listen before talk (LBT) parameter for each of a plurality of licensed assisted access (LAA) cells;
receiving, by a wireless device, a plurality of uplink grants for a plurality of uplink transmissions via a plurality of cells, wherein each uplink transmission of the plurality of uplink transmissions has a same starting position, and wherein the plurality of cells comprises a first cell and a second cell; and
receiving, by the wireless device, uplink grants for uplink transmissions on the plurality of LAA cells, the uplink transmissions configured to have a same starting position;
determining, by the wireless device, an energy detection threshold for each of the plurality of LAA cells based, at least in part, on the corresponding LBT parameter;
performing a first type of listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure indicating that the first cell is clear; performing a second type of LBT procedure indicating that the second cell is clear; and transmitting, via the second cell, one or more transport blocks based on: the performing the first type of listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure indicating that the first cell is clear; and the performing the second type of LBT procedure indicating that the second cell is clear.
selecting, by the wireless device, a first LAA cell uniformly randomly from the plurality of LAA cells; performing, by the wireless device and for the first LAA cell, a first LBT procedure employing a long monitoring period; performing, by the wireless device, a second LBT procedure for a second LAA cell of the plurality of LAA cells employing a short monitoring period, wherein the second LAA cell is different than the first LAA cell; based on the first LBT procedure indicating a clear channel, transmitting, to the base station, one or more first transport blocks (TBs) on the first LAA cell; and based on the first LBT procedure indicating a clear channel for the first LAA cell and the second LBT procedure indicating a clear channel for the second LAA cell, transmitting, to the base station, one or more second TBs on the second LAA cell.
Claims 1-49 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-52 of U.S. Patent No. 10708951. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application’s claims merely broaden the scope of the patented claims by not claiming some claim elements (i.e., receiving, by a wireless device, one or more listen-before-talk (LBT) parameters for a plurality of licensed assisted access (LAA) cells).
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of US 10708951
A method comprising:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, one or more listen-before-talk (LBT) parameters for a plurality of licensed assisted access (LAA) cells;
receiving, by a wireless device, a plurality of uplink grants for a plurality of uplink transmissions via a plurality of cells, wherein each uplink transmission of the plurality of uplink transmissions has a same starting position, and wherein the plurality of cells comprises a first cell and a second cell; and
receiving uplink grants for uplink transmissions, each having a same starting position, via the plurality of LAA cells;
performing a first type of listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure indicating that the first cell is clear; performing a second type of LBT procedure indicating that the second cell is clear; and transmitting, via the second cell, one or more transport blocks based on: the performing the first type of listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure indicating that the first cell is clear; and the performing the second type of LBT procedure indicating that the second cell is clear.
performing, for a first LAA cell of the plurality of LAA cells, a first type of LBT procedure associated with a first duration; performing, for a second LAA cell of the plurality of LAA cells, a second type of LBT procedure associated with a second duration shorter than the first duration, wherein the second LAA cell is different from the first LAA cell; based on the first type of LBT procedure indicating a clear channel for the first LAA cell, transmitting a first transport block via the first LAA cell; and based on the first type of LBT procedure indicating a clear channel for the first LAA cell and the second type of LBT procedure indicating a clear channel for the second LAA cell, transmitting a second transport block via the second LAA cell.
Claims 1-49 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-55 of U.S. Patent No. 11297647. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application’s claims merely broaden the scope of the patented claims by not claiming some claim elements (i.e., determining, by the wireless device, that a first type of listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure indicates that a first cell of the plurality of cells is clear).
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of US 11297647
A method comprising:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, a plurality of uplink grants for a plurality of uplink transmissions via a plurality of cells, wherein each uplink transmission of the plurality of uplink transmissions has a same starting position, and wherein the plurality of cells comprises a first cell and a second cell; and
receiving, by a wireless device, a plurality of uplink grants for a plurality of uplink transmissions via a plurality of cells, wherein each uplink transmission of the plurality of uplink transmissions has a same starting position;
determining, by the wireless device, that a first type of listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure indicates that a first cell of the plurality of cells is clear; determining that a second type of LBT procedure, performed before transmission via the first cell, indicates that a second cell of the plurality of cells is clear, wherein the second type of LBT procedure is shorter than the first type of LBT procedure; and
performing a first type of listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure indicating that the first cell is clear; performing a second type of LBT procedure indicating that the second cell is clear; and transmitting, via the second cell, one or more transport blocks based on: the performing the first type of listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure indicating that the first cell is clear; and the performing the second type of LBT procedure indicating that the second cell is clear.
transmitting one or more transport blocks via the second cell, based on: the first type of LBT procedure indicating that the first cell is clear; and the second type of LBT procedure indicating that the second cell is clear.
Claims 1-49 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-58 of U.S. Patent No. 11330627. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application’s claims merely broaden the scope of the patented claims by not claiming some claim elements (i.e., the second cell is different from the first cell).
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of US 11330627
A method comprising:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, a plurality of uplink grants for a plurality of uplink transmissions via a plurality of cells, wherein each uplink transmission of the plurality of uplink transmissions has a same starting position, and wherein the plurality of cells comprises a first cell and a second cell; and
receiving, by a wireless device, a plurality of uplink grants for a plurality of uplink transmissions via a plurality of cells, wherein each uplink transmission of the plurality of uplink transmissions has a same starting position;
performing, for a first cell of the plurality of cells, a first type of listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure associated with a first duration; performing, for a second cell of the plurality of cells, a second type of LBT procedure associated with a second duration shorter than the first duration, wherein the second cell is different from the first cell; and
performing a first type of listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure indicating that the first cell is clear; performing a second type of LBT procedure indicating that the second cell is clear; and transmitting, via the second cell, one or more transport blocks based on: the performing the first type of listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure indicating that the first cell is clear; and the performing the second type of LBT procedure indicating that the second cell is clear.
based on the first type of LBT procedure indicating a clear channel for the first cell and the second type of LBT procedure indicating a clear channel for the second cell, transmitting a transport block via the second cell.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In page 12, the applicant argues that the prior art does not teach “each uplink transmission of the plurality of uplink transmissions has a same starting position”. Makherjee teaches each uplink transmission of the plurality of uplink transmissions has a same starting position (“Two of the nodes, LAA-node1, LAA-node2, are synchronized” in [0094], see also “LAA-node1” and “LAA-node2” in Figure 11 having the same starting position). In pages 12-13, the applicant argues that the prior art does not teach two different types of LBT procedure. Yerramalli teaches the first type of LBT procedure (see simple CCA of Ch 2 in Figure 8 with one timeslot) and the second type of LBT procedure (see ECCA of Ch 1 in Figure 8 with 4 timeslots).
Conclusion
/CLEMENCE S HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414