DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The status of the 02/18/2026 claims, is as follows: Claims 1-3, and 11 have been amended; Claim 7 has been withdrawn; and Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6, and 8-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1:
the phrase “wherein each individually removable heating module” in lines 10-11 should be read “wherein each of the individually removable heating modules”.
the phrase “wherein each respective current connection” in line 14 should be read “wherein each of the respective current connections”.
In claim 3: the phrase “the heating power of each or the heating modules” in lines 2-3 should be read “the heating power of each of the heating modules”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
In claim 8:
The limitation “an output device” in line 5
“device” is the generic placeholder.
“output” is the functional language.
A review of the specification shows that, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
The limitation “an output device” in line 5 of claim 8 has been described in the original specification on p. 16, lines 9-12 as the output device 40 which may be a display or loudspeaker. It may also be the output device 41, for example transmitter for mobile communication, to an external device 42 i.e. smartphone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 9-11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Kim (US 20170295613)
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a motor vehicle (electric vehicle) (“The heater assembly 1 may be installed in an electric vehicle”, para. 0056; fig. 1), comprising:
a heating fluid circuit (fluid conduit that routes fluid from heater assembly 1 to the heat exchanger H) by which a heating fluid (water) can be taken to at least one component of the motor vehicle (heat exchanger H) which is to be heated (“the thermal medium heated in the heater assembly 1 may heat the heat exchanger H while passing through the heat exchanger H, and the air supplied to the interior of the vehicle may be supplied to the interior of the vehicle after being heated by the heat exchanger H” para. 0057); and
a heating device (heater assembly 1) to heat the heating fluid (water), wherein the heating device includes a basic component (heater assembly 1; fig. 2) mounted in the motor vehicle (“heater assembly 1 may be installed in an electric vehicle”, para. 0056), the basic component including a heating duct (annotated fig. 8) with an internal passageway through which the heating fluid (water) moves during operation (“Apertures, through which the thermal medium may pass, may be formed between the plurality of heat transfer pockets 31. The thermal medium introduced into the first space S1 may flow while passing through the apertures between the plurality of heat transfer pockets 31”, para. 0087 and also para. 0082) (it is noted the heating duct is the space between the inner surface of the lower tank 2 and the plurality of heat transfer pockets 31’s; fig. 8 through which water passes to be heated. In other words, the plurality of heating modules 6 do not contact the water because the heating modules 6 are inserted into the heat transfer pockets 31 to prevent contact with the water. Water passes in the space between the lower tank and the plurality of heat transfer pockets 31’s), which heating duct is part of the heating fluid circuit (fig. 1) (it is noted the heating duct is part of fig. 1 that directs water to and from the heater assembly 1 to the heat exchanger H), and electrical connectors (connecting blocks 95; figs. 7-8), which are connected to an onboard network of the motor vehicle (PCB module 9) (“the bus bar block 7 may be electrically connected to the PCB 91 through the connecting block 95 and the pin block 92”, para. 0173);
wherein the basic component (heater assembly 1; fig. 2) includes multiple interfaces (terminal contact parts 72) for individually removable heating modules (heating modules 6) that are configured separately from the basic component (“bus bars 71 may contact the terminals 61, and may be electrically connected to the heating modules 6 through the terminals 61”, para. 0128, also 0130, and “The heating modules 6, except for the upper surfaces thereof, may be surrounded by the heat transfer pockets 31 when being inserted into the heat transfer pockets 31,”, para. 0115; fig. 8. As can be seen in fig. 8, the heating modules 6 are individually removable from the pockets 31), wherein each individually removable heating module (each of heating modules 6) includes a heating element (PTC element) and is removably installable in the basic component to selectively change a heating power of the heating device (heater assembly 1) (“Each of the heating modules 6 may include a heating element that is heated if a current flows therethrough. The heating elements of the heating modules 6 may be PTC elements”, para. 0119 and “heating modules 6, except for the upper surfaces thereof, may be surrounded by the heat transfer pockets 31 when being inserted into the heat transfer pockets 31”, para. 0115. It is noted the individual heating module 6 is removably mounted in the heater case 3 that results in the varying heating power of the heater assembly 1), wherein each of the interfaces (each terminal contact part 72) includes a respective current connection (annotated figs. 7 and 9) to a power supply of the respective heating module (individual terminal 61 of the heating modules 6) (“A terminal contact part 72, which the corresponding terminal 61 contacts, may be formed in each of the bus bars 71”, para. 0129, also para. 0128), wherein each respective current connection (annotated figs. 7 and 9) is positioned in a lower end of the respective interface (fig. 9 indicates the current connection is positioned in the lower end of the terminal contact part 72) to connect to a leading end of the respective heating module (terminal 61 of the heating module 6) upon installation of the heating module in the interface (para. 0128-0129), wherein each of the interfaces (each terminal contact part 72) is adapted to hold the respective heating module (individual heating module 6) (“A terminal contact part 72, which the corresponding terminal 61 contacts, may be formed in each of the bus bars 71.”, para. 0129, fig. 9) with the heating element (PTC elements) thereof external to the internal passageway of the heating duct (“the portions of the heating modules 6, except for the terminals 61, may be situated in the interiors of the heat transfer pockets 31”, para. 0122), and wherein at least one of the interfaces (terminal contact part 72) is occupied by one of the heating modules (one of the heating modules 6’s) (“The bus bars 71 may contact the terminals 61, and may be electrically connected to the heating modules 6 through the terminals 61.”, para. 0128 and also para. 0161; fig. 9), the operation of which provides heat for heating the heating fluid carried through the heating duct (para. 0085) (it is noted PTC heating elements are disposed in the heat transfer pockets 31’s and heat is transferred to water that passes through the outside of the heat transfer pockets 31’s).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim discloses the motor vehicle (electric vehicle) (para. 0056; fig. 1), wherein the heating duct (the heating duct is the space between the inner surface of the lower tank 2 and the plurality of heat transfer pockets 31’s through which water passes to be heated) is closed fluid-tight, except for a fluid inflow (inlet 21) connected to the heating fluid circuit and a fluid outflow (outlet 22) connected to the heating fluid circuit (para. 0067; figs. 8 and 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim discloses the motor vehicle (electric vehicle) (para. 0056; fig. 1), wherein the heating element of the respective heating module (PTC element) contacts the heating duct (the heating duct is the space between the inner surface of the lower tank 2 and the plurality of heat transfer pockets 31’s through which water passes to be heated) across a heat pipe (heat transfer pocket 31) (para. 0087 and 0085; fig. 10) (it is noted that the PTC element thermally contacts the lower tank 2 indirectly across the heat transfer pocket 31).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim discloses the motor vehicle (electric vehicle) (para. 0056; fig. 1), wherein the respective interface (individual terminal contact part 72) and the respective heating module (individual heating module 6) are adapted so that a connecting of the respective heating module to and/or a disconnecting of the respective heating module (individual heating module 6) from the interface (individual terminal contact part 72) is possible without a tool (para. 0161, 0144; fig. 9) (it is noted the heating module 6 is connected to the contact part 72 of the bus bar 71 by inserting terminal 61 of module 6 through terminal through-holes 74A of block 7 to make contact with part 72).
Regarding Claim 10, Kim discloses the heating fluid circuit (fig. 1) is adapted so that the heating fluid (water) can be carried to a heat exchanger (heat exchanger H of Kim) for air being supplied to an interior of the motor vehicle (vehicle) as the component being heated (para. 0057).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim discloses a method for adapting an available heating power in a motor vehicle (electric vehicle) (para. 0114-0115; fig. 1) (it is noted the heating modules 6 are removably held in the heat transfer pockets 31. When energized, they yield high heating output. When the heating modules 6 are removed, there is no heating output. Therefore, the available heating power in the vehicle varies from zero heating output to high heating output), wherein the motor vehicle (electric vehicle) comprises a heating fluid circuit (fluid conduit that routes fluid from heater assembly 1 to the heat exchanger H; fig. 1) by which a heating fluid (water) can be taken to at least one component of the motor vehicle (heat exchanger H) which is to be heated (para. 0057), and a heating device (heater assembly 1) to heat the heating fluid (water), wherein the heating device includes a basic component (heater assembly 1; fig. 2) mounted in the motor vehicle (para. 0056), the basic component including a heating duct (annotated fig. 8) with an internal passageway through which the heating fluid moves during operation (para. 0082, 0085, and 0087) (it is noted the heating duct is the space between the inner surface of the lower tank 2 and the plurality of heat transfer pockets 31’s through which water passes to be heated. In other words, the plurality of heating modules 6 are disposed external to the heating duct because the heating modules 6 are inserted into the heat transfer pockets 31 to prevent contact with the water. Water passes in the space between the lower tank and the plurality of heat transfer pockets 31’s), which heating duct is part of the heating fluid circuit (fig. 1) (it is noted the heating duct is part of fig. 1 to direct fluid to and from the heater assembly 1 and the heat exchanger H), and electrical connectors (connecting blocks 95; figs. 7-8), which are connected to an onboard network of the motor vehicle (PCB module 9) (“the bus bar block 7 may be electrically connected to the PCB 91 through the connecting block 95 and the pin block 92”, para. 0173); wherein the basic component (heater assembly 1; fig. 2) includes multiple interfaces (terminal contact parts 72) for individually removable heating modules (heating modules 6) that are configured separately from the basic component (“bus bars 71 may contact the terminals 61, and may be electrically connected to the heating modules 6 through the terminals 61”, para. 0128, also 0130, and “The heating modules 6, except for the upper surfaces thereof, may be surrounded by the heat transfer pockets 31 when being inserted into the heat transfer pockets 31,”, para. 0115; fig. 8. As can be seen in fig. 8, the heating modules 6 are individually removable from the pockets 31), wherein each of individually removable heating module (each of heating modules 6) includes a heating element (PTC elements) and is removably installable in the basic component to selectively change a heating power of the heating device (“Each of the heating modules 6 may include a heating element that is heated if a current flows therethrough. The heating elements of the heating modules 6 may be PTC elements”, para. 0119 and “heating modules 6, except for the upper surfaces thereof, may be surrounded by the heat transfer pockets 31 when being inserted into the heat transfer pockets 31”, para. 0115. It is noted the individual heating module 6 is removably mounted in the heater case 3 that results in the varying heating power of the heater assembly 1), wherein each of the interfaces (each terminal contact part 72) includes a respective current connection (annotated figs. 7 and 9) to a power supply of the respective heating module (individual terminal 61 of the heating modules 6) (“A terminal contact part 72, which the corresponding terminal 61 contacts, may be formed in each of the bus bars 71”, para. 0129, also para. 0128), wherein each respective current connection (annotated figs. 7 and 9) is positioned in a lower end of the respective interface (terminal contact part 72) (fig. 9 indicates the current connection is positioned in the lower end of the terminal contact part 72) to connect to a leading end of the respective heating module (terminal 61 of the heating module 6) upon installation of the heating module in the interface (para. 0128-0129), wherein each of the interfaces (each terminal contact part 72) is adapted to hold the respective heating module (individual heating module 6) (“A terminal contact part 72, which the corresponding terminal 61 contacts, may be formed in each of the bus bars 71.”, para. 0129, fig. 9) with the heating element (PTC elements) thereof external to the internal passageway of the heating duct (“the portions of the heating modules 6, except for the terminals 61, may be situated in the interiors of the heat transfer pockets 31”, para. 0122), and wherein at least one of the respective interfaces (terminal contact part 72) is occupied by one of the heating modules (one of the heating modules 6) (one of the heating modules 6’s) (“The bus bars 71 may contact the terminals 61, and may be electrically connected to the heating modules 6 through the terminals 61.”, para. 0128 and also para. 0161; fig. 9), the operation of which provides heat for heating the heating fluid carried through the heating duct (para. 0085) (it is noted PTC heating elements are disposed in the heat transfer pockets 31’s and heat is transferred to water passing through the outside of the heat transfer pockets 31’s), the method comprising:
adapting the available heating power by installing the heating module (heating module 6) within at least one of the not yet occupied interfaces (one of terminal contact part 72) (para. 0128-0129) (during initial installation, the heating modules 6 are individually mounted to the contact parts 72’s to yield a high heating output).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim discloses the method wherein adapting the available heating power includes replacing at least one heating module (heating module 6) occupying an interface (terminal contact part 72) with another heating module (heating module 6) (para. 0114-0116; fig. 8) (it is noted that a user can adapt to the available heating power in the vehicle by replacing the heating module 6 with a higher-rated power heating module 6 to yield a higher available heating power/higher heating output).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim discloses the motor vehicle is an electrically-operator motor vehicle (electric vehicle) (para. 0029).
Regarding Claim 15, Kim discloses the heating fluid is water (water) (para. 0056).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20170295613) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Jirmann (US 20030127448)
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except each of the heating modules encompasses a local controller, wherein the local controller is adapted to receive communication signals via at least one data connection implemented by the interface and to control the energization of the heating element of the heating module in dependence on these communication signals.
However, Jirmann discloses each of the heating modules (group 1,2,3,4) encompasses a local controller (power switch 14,15,16,17 respectively), wherein the local controller (power switch 14,15,16,17 respectively) is adapted to receive communication signals via at least one data connection (signals from electronics 20) implemented by the interface (plug-in connector 12) (para. 0023) and to control the energization of the heating element in dependence on these communication signals (para. 0025-0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each of the heating modules of Kim to include the local control device as taught by Jirmann, in order to enable individual control of the heating elements to yield more robust heating device that can yield different heating output based on the desired application.
The modification would result in the local control device (power switch 14, 15, 16, 17 of Jirmann) is adapted to receive communication signals via at least one data connection implemented by the interface (terminal contact part 72 of Kim) and to control the energization of the heating element (PTC elements) in dependence on these communication signals (it is noted the power switches 14, 15, 16, 17 of Jirmann would receive signals from PCB module 9 when the PTC elements are held by the terminal contact parts 72).
Regarding Claim 3, the modification discloses the motor vehicle (electric vehicle of Kim), wherein the motor vehicle encompasses a vehicle-installed control device (PCB module 9 of Kim), which is adapted to control the heating power of the each of the heating modules (each of heating modules 6 of Kim) by a communication with the local controller (power switches 14, 15, 16, 17 of Jirmann) (para. 0025 of Jirmann), which is part of the respective heating module (heating modules 6 of Kim) (it is noted the modification in claim 2 would result in the switches 14-17 of Jirmann become part of electrical system of the heating modules 6 of Kim to control the heating modules upon receiving signal from PCB modules 9 of Kim) and/or by setting the power provided via the current connection to the respective heating module (it is noted the limitation “and/or” is interpreted to mean “or”. Therefore, the limitation after “or” is optionally met by the prior art).
Regarding Claim 4, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except the vehicle-installed controller is adapted to acquire an occupancy information, which indicates whether the respective interface is occupied by the heating module and/or describes at least one parameter of the heating module occupying the interface, and to control a current heating power of the at least one heating module present in the heating device in dependence on the occupancy information.
However, Jirmann further discloses the vehicle-installed control device (electronics 20) is adapted to acquire an occupancy information (rated heating power of group 1, 2, 3, 4), which describes the at least one parameter of the heating module (rated heating power of group 1, 2, 3, 4) occupying the interface (plug-in connector 12) (it is noted the limitation “and/or” is interpreted to mean “or”. para. 0023 and 0028), and to control a current heating power of the at least one heating module (group 1) present in the heating device (fig. 1) in dependence on the occupancy information (para. 0025 and 0028) (it is noted based on the available power provided through line s1 and the rated power of group 1, 2, 3, 4, the electronics 20 controls the operation of the group 1, 2 ,3, 4 such that the consumed power by the heating device is less than the available power).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the vehicle-installed controller of Kim in view of Jirmann (i.e. to configure PCB module 9 of Kim) such that it acquires the parameter of the heating module and control the current heating power of the at least one heating module in accordance with the acquired parameter as further taught by Jirmann, in order to ensure the consumed power by the heating modules is less than the available power, thereby ensure the efficient use of the heating device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 8 would be allowable for disclosing “the vehicle-installed controller or a processor of the motor vehicle is adapted to predict a presumably required heating power of the heating device based on a current position and/or a planned travel destination and/or a planned travel route of the motor vehicle, to select in dependence on this a suitable occupancy of the interfaces by the heating modules and to actuate an output device of the motor vehicle to put out an occupancy information regarding the suitable occupancy to a user and/or to relay this to an external device.”
Claim 12 would be allowable for disclosing “wherein a current position and/or a planned travel destination and/or a planned travel route of the motor vehicle is ascertained and a processor predicts the presumably required heating power of the heating device based on the current position and/or the planned travel destination and/or the planned travel route of the motor vehicle and a suitable occupancy of the interfaces by the heating modules is selected in dependence on this and an occupancy information regarding the suitable occupancy is put out to a user.”
The prior art Osaka (US 20120222438) teaches a control section 61 receives travel plan information (i.e. destination information) and input from various sensors and controls cooling/air-heating system 60 based on the received information (para. 0098, 0010, and 0173; fig. 1). Osaka is silent with regards to the control section (claimed vehicle-installed control device) selects, in dependence on the received information, a suitable occupancy of the interfaces by the heating modules and to actuate an output device of the motor vehicle to put out an occupancy information regarding the suitable occupancy to the user, as claimed.
The prior art Jirmann (US 20030127448) teaches an electronics 20 configured to select between groups 1, 2, 3, 4 based on the available power signal provided by signal s1 (para. 0025 and 0028). Jirmann fails to teach the electronics 20 configured to select the suitable occupancy of the interfaces by the heating modules based on the current position and/or a planned travel destination and/or a planned travel route of the motor vehicle and to actuate an output device of the motor vehicle to put out an occupancy information regarding the suitable occupancy to the user, as claimed.
The prior art Khafagy (US 20160327006) teaches a vehicle 10 comprises an indicator 26 to display the status of the heating elements 30, 32 to the operator (para. 0024; fig. 1). Khafagy fails to teach the controller 24 configured to receive travel information and predicts the presumably required heating power of the heating device based on the travel information and select a suitable occupancy of the interfaces by the heating modules and to actuate the output device to put out the occupancy information regarding the suitable occupancy to the user, as claimed.
There is no teaching, reasonable and/or obvious suggestion, and/or reasonable and/or obvious motivation to combine the references to arrive at the claimed invention of claims 8 and 12.
Response to Amendment
With respect to claim objections: since amendments made to claims, therefore the claim objections are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/18/2026 have been fully considered but are respectfully considered moot in view of new ground of rejections.
Conclusion
/BONITA KHLOK/Examiner, Art Unit 3761