DETAILED ACTION
Status
Applicant’s response dated 06 February 2026 to the previous Office action dated 08 September 2025 is acknowledged. Pursuant to amendments therein, claims 1-5 and 7-47 are pending in the application.
New rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112 is/are made herein in view of applicant’s claim amendments.
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 made in the previous Office action are withdrawn in view of applicant’s claim amendments, but new rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are made herein in view of applicant’s claim amendments as set forth below.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-46 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 31 July 2023.
Claims 1-5, 7-8, and 47 are under current consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the paraffin oil has an unsulfonated residue of at least 90 vol%” and “wherein the diluent oil present in the oil phase is less than 10 wt% relative to the amount of the at least one sex pheromone”, yet such subject matter is not described in the specification as filed. Claims 2-5 and 7-8 are rejected as depending upon claim 1 without remedying such deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dave et al. (US 2013/0109569 A1; published 02 May 2013; of record) in view of Coelho et al. (US 2019/0343122 A1; published 14 November 2019; of record) and Freed (US 2013/0079228 A1; published 28 March 2013).
Dave et al. discloses a stable aqueous pesticidal composition comprising: 1) a microcapsule consisting of (a) a water insoluble, thin-wall polyurea shell prepared by an interfacial polycondensation (i.e., polymerization) reaction between a water soluble polyamine monomer and an oil soluble polyisocyanate monomer and (b) a core comprising a low melting active ingredient, wherein (ii) the polyurea shell has a thickness of greater than about 20 nm and less than about 75 nm; (iii) the average microcapsule size is from about 10 μm to about 25 μm; (iv) the weight ratio of the core to the polyurea shell is from about 2 to about 165; (v) the low-melting active ingredient is present in an amount of from about 200 g/L to about 750 g/L; (vi) the core comprises no more than 5% of oil solvent with respect to the total weight of the core; and 2) a solid emulsifying or solid dispersing surfactant present in an amount, with respect to the total composition, of from about 5 g/L to about 150 g/L (claim 15) wherein the water soluble polyamine monomer is a diamine and the oil soluble polyisocyanate monomer is a diisocyanate (claim 16) wherein the average microcapsule size is from about 15 μm to about 20 μm (claim 19) wherein the composition includes polyvinyl alcohol surfactant (claim 22) wherein the composition further comprises one or more additional active ingredients (claim 27) wherein the core may carry additional pesticides or other ingredients such as semiochemicals (paragraph [0074]) wherein additional compatible ingredients include pheromones (paragraph [0095]) wherein the active ingredient is diluted with an oil solvent such as mineral oils or soybean oil (paragraph [0073]) wherein paraffin oil may be included (paragraph [0056]) wherein diisocyanates include isophorone diisocyanate and hexamethylene diisocyanate (paragraph [0075]) wherein diamines include ethylenediamine (paragraph [0076]) wherein application of the composition may be via spray (paragraphs [0007], [0028]) wherein the composition can control insects (paragraph [0028]) wherein a surfactant can be sodium lignosulfonate (paragraph [0096]) wherein a composition can have 0.94 wt% PAPI 27 (i.e., polyisocyanate) 1.99 wt% EDA (i.e., ethylenediamine) (Table 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow the suggestions of Dave et al. as discussed above and to make the composition of Dave et al. as discussed above as a spray to control insects with pheromones as semiochemicals and oil solvent diluent mineral oil or soybean oil in the microcapsule cores wherein paraffin oil (i.e., a species of mineral oil) is used as the mineral oil and using isophorone diisocyanate and ethylenediamine for the interfacial polymerization and using polyvinyl alcohol as surfactant wherein the microcapsules are 15-20 microns and wherein the core comprises no more than 5 wt% paraffin oil solvent, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Dave et al. does not disclose that the pheromone is specifically a sex pheromone as claimed.
Coelho et al. discloses insect control strategies utilizing pheromones (title) wherein a known pheromone blend ratio of about 87:13 of (Z)-9-tetradecenyl acetate (Z9-14Ac) : (Z)-11-hexadecenyl acetate (Z11-16Ac) is known in connection therewith (paragraph [0082]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dave et al. and Coelho et al. as discussed above by using the pheromone blend ratio of about 87:13 of (Z)-9-tetradecenyl acetate (Z9-14Ac) : (Z)-11-hexadecenyl acetate (Z11-16Ac) (i.e., sex pheromones) of Coelho et al. as the pheromone in the microcapsule composition of Dave et al. as discussed above, with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so to use therein a pheromone blend known in association with insect control strategies utilizing pheromones, given that Dave et al. suggests using pheromones therein, and given that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination per MPEP 2144.07.
Dave et al. does not disclose that the paraffin oil has an unsulfonated residue of at least 90 vol% as claimed.
Freed discloses agricultural solution compositions and methods (title) wherein paraffin oil has a minimum of 92% unsulfonated residue (paragraph [0089]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dave et al., Coelho et al., and Freed by using paraffin oil having a minimum of 92% unsulfonated residue as in Freed as the paraffin oil in the microcapsule composition of Dave et al. in view of Coelho et al. as discussed above, with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so to use therein a paraffin oil known to be a suitable paraffin oil for use in agricultural compositions and methods, given that Dave et al. suggests using paraffin oil therein, and given that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination per MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding the claimed diluent oil being less than 10 wt% relative to the amount of the sex pheromone, the core in Dave et al. comprises no more than 5 wt% paraffin oil solvent, and thus the paraffin oil solvent/diluent oil therein is necessarily less than 10 wt% relative to the amount of any ingredient in the core such as the sex pheromone.
Regarding claim 8, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize insect control by varying the concentration of pheromone (i.e., insect control agent) in the composition of Dave et al. in view of Coelho et al. and Freed as discussed above through routine experimentation per MPEP 2144.05(II), with a reasonable expectation of success, given that the concentration of an active agent is a known result effective variable.
Further regarding claim 8, Dave et al. discloses a composition having 0.94 wt% PAPI 27 (i.e., polyisocyanate) 1.99 wt% EDA (i.e., ethylenediamine), thus having 2.93 wt% total microcapsule shell material content.
Claim(s) 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dave et al. in view of Coelho et al. and Moreno Moya (WO 02/35932 A1; published 10 May 2002; of record).
Dave et al. discloses a stable aqueous pesticidal composition comprising: 1) a microcapsule consisting of (a) a water insoluble, thin-wall polyurea shell prepared by an interfacial polycondensation (i.e., polymerization) reaction between a water soluble polyamine monomer and an oil soluble polyisocyanate monomer and (b) a core comprising a low melting active ingredient, wherein (ii) the polyurea shell has a thickness of greater than about 20 nm and less than about 75 nm; (iii) the average microcapsule size is from about 10 μm to about 25 μm; (iv) the weight ratio of the core to the polyurea shell is from about 2 to about 165; (v) the low-melting active ingredient is present in an amount of from about 200 g/L to about 750 g/L; (vi) the core comprises no more than 5% of oil solvent with respect to the total weight of the core; and 2) a solid emulsifying or solid dispersing surfactant present in an amount, with respect to the total composition, of from about 5 g/L to about 150 g/L (claim 15) wherein the water soluble polyamine monomer is a diamine and the oil soluble polyisocyanate monomer is a diisocyanate (claim 16) wherein the average microcapsule size is from about 15 μm to about 20 μm (claim 19) wherein the composition further comprises one or more additional active ingredients (claim 27) wherein the core may carry additional pesticides or other ingredients such as semiochemicals (paragraph [0074]) wherein additional compatible ingredients include pheromones (paragraph [0095]) wherein the active ingredient is diluted with an oil solvent such as mineral oils or soybean oil (paragraph [0073]) wherein paraffin oil may be included (paragraph [0056]) wherein diisocyanates include isophorone diisocyanate and hexamethylene diisocyanate (paragraph [0075]) wherein diamines include ethylenediamine (paragraph [0076]) wherein application of the composition may be via spray (paragraphs [0007], [0028]) wherein the composition can control insects (paragraph [0028]) wherein a surfactant can be sodium lignosulfonate (paragraph [0096]) wherein a composition can have 0.94 wt% PAPI 27 (i.e., polyisocyanate) 1.99 wt% EDA (i.e., ethylenediamine) (Table 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow the suggestions of Dave et al. as discussed above and to make the composition of Dave et al. as discussed above as a spray to control insects with pheromones as semiochemicals and oil solvent diluent mineral oil or soybean oil in the microcapsule cores wherein paraffin oil (i.e., a species of mineral oil) is used as the mineral oil and using isophorone diisocyanate and ethylenediamine for the interfacial polymerization wherein the microcapsules are 15-20 microns, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Dave et al. does not disclose that the pheromone is specifically a sex pheromone as claimed.
Coelho et al. discloses insect control strategies utilizing pheromones (title) wherein a known pheromone blend ratio of about 87:13 of (Z)-9-tetradecenyl acetate (Z9-14Ac) : (Z)-11-hexadecenyl acetate (Z11-16Ac) is known in connection therewith (paragraph [0082]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dave et al. and Coelho et al. as discussed above by using the pheromone blend ratio of about 87:13 of (Z)-9-tetradecenyl acetate (Z9-14Ac) : (Z)-11-hexadecenyl acetate (Z11-16Ac) (i.e., sex pheromones) of Coelho et al. as the pheromone in the microcapsule composition of Dave et al. as discussed above, with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so to use therein a pheromone blend known in association with insect control strategies utilizing pheromones, given that Dave et al. suggests using pheromones therein, and given that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination per MPEP 2144.07.
Dave et al. and Coelho et al. do not disclose the soybean oil as epoxidized as in claim 47.
Moreno Moya discloses diluent comprising natural or epoxidized vegetable oils (abstract) in agrochemical compositions (page 6 first paragraph) wherein epoxidized soybean oil is used therein (Table 1 page 8; claim 8).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dave et al., Coelho et al., and Moreno Moya by making the sprayable microcapsules of Dave et al. in view of Coelho et al. as discussed above wherein epoxidized soybean oil as in Moreno Moya is used as the oil or soybean oil therein, with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so to use therein a type of soybean oil known to be used as diluent in agrochemical compositions as suggested by Moreno Moya, given that Dave et al. suggests using oil such as soybean oil as a diluent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Dave et al. and Coelho et al. fail to disclose oil diluent comprising paraffin oil having an unsulfonated residue of at least 90 vol, and wherein the diluent oil is less than 10 wt% relative to the amount of the sex pheromone (remarks page 14). In response, Freed discloses paraffin oil having an unsulfonated residue of at least 90% as discussed in the rejection above, and regarding the claimed diluent oil being less than 10 wt% relative to the amount of the sex pheromone, the core in Dave et al. comprises no more than 5 wt% paraffin oil solvent, and thus the paraffin oil solvent/diluent oil therein is necessarily less than 10 wt% relative to the amount of any ingredient in the core such as the sex pheromone.
Applicant argues that adequate reasoning is not provided for making the particular selections in the rejections (remarks pages 14-15). In response, the rejections provide reasoning for selecting and combining the references as set forth in the rejections. Moreover, the disclosure of “a multitude of effective combinations does not render any particular formulation less obvious.” Merck v. Biocraft, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed Cir 1985). Furthermore, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Here, the rejections only take into account knowledge from the prior art and thus they are proper.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL B. PALLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617