DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 35, 39, 44-47, and 49 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/4/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prior et al. (Pub. No. US 2015/0038994A1).
Regarding claim 52, Prior et al. discloses a surgical device 200 comprising: (a) a proximal structure extending along a longitudinal axis (figure 6A), wherein the proximal structure includes an entry port 206a disposed on a first side of the longitudinal axis, wherein the entry port 206a is configured to receive a suture device (figure 6A); and (b) a cannula 202 extending distally from the proximal structure and having a distal end configured to pass through tissue and into a body cavity of a patient (figure 6A), wherein the cannula 202 includes:(i) a working channel 205 (figure 6B) sized and configured to receive a surgical instrument axially therethrough (figure 13), (ii) an elongate exit port 206a configured to receive the suture device (figures 6A and 13), wherein the elongate exit port 206a is disposed on a second side of the longitudinal axis (figure 6A), and (iii) a seal configured to cover the elongate exit port and prevent fluids from entering the working channel (paragraph 0108), wherein the entry port 206a is configured to cooperate with the elongate exit port 206a to define a suture path that extends across the working channel (figure 6A), wherein the elongate exit port 206a is configured to allow a suture device to pass along the suture path at multiple discrete suture path angles relative to the longitudinal axis (due to the elongate form of the exit port 206a, the suture device can pass along the suture path at multiple discrete suture path angles).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34, 36, 38, 40, 41, 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auerbach et al. (Pub. No. US 20130079597 A1) in view of Beeley et al. (Pub. No. US 2011/0112557).
Regarding claim 34, Auerbach et al. discloses a surgical device 100 comprising: (a) a proximal structure 150 extending along a longitudinal axis, wherein the proximal structure includes: (i) a first entry port 154 disposed on a first side of the longitudinal axis; and (b) a cannula 104 extending distally from the proximal structure and having a distal end configured to pass through tissue and into a body cavity of a patient (figure 2), wherein the cannula 104 includes: (i) a working channel 106 sized and configured to receive a surgical instrument axially therethrough (figure 2), (ii) a first exit port 114 disposed on a second side of the longitudinal axis (figure 2), wherein the first entry port 154 is configured to cooperate with the first exit port 114 to define a first suture path passing from the first side to the second side and having a first angle relative to the longitudinal axis (figure 3), wherein the first suture path is configured to receive suture therethrough (figure 6D).
Auerbach et al. discloses the claimed invention except wherein the proximal structure comprises (ii) a second entry port disposed on the first side of the longitudinal axis and (iii) a second exit port disposed on the second side of the longitudinal axis; wherein the second entry port is configured to cooperate with the second exit port to define a second suture path passing from the first side to the second side and having a second angle relative to the longitudinal axis, wherein each of the first and second suture paths is configured to receive suture therethrough.
However, Beeley et al. teaches wherein a surgical device for guiding sutures comprises (ii) a plurality of suture paths 28, each comprising an entry port disposed on the first side of the longitudinal axis and (iii) an exit port disposed on the second side of the longitudinal axis; wherein each of the entry ports is configured to cooperate with an exit port to define a suture path 28 passing from the first side to the second side and having a respective angle relative to the longitudinal axis, wherein each of the first and second suture paths is configured to receive suture therethrough (figures 5-7; paragraphs 0116-0117). Beeley et al. teaches that it is advantageous to provide a suture guiding device with a plurality of suture paths having different angles for the purpose of providing a device which can be used with a wider range of patients, regardless of the thickness of the patient’s fat layer (paragraphs 0116-0117).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the surgical device disclosed by Auerback et al. to have a plurality of suture paths vertically spaced from one another, the plurality of suture paths each comprising an entry port disposed on the first side of the longitudinal axis and (iii) an exit port disposed on the second side of the longitudinal axis; wherein each of the entry ports is configured to cooperate with an exit port to define a suture path passing from the first side to the second side and having a respective angle relative to the longitudinal axis, wherein each of the first and second suture paths is configured to receive suture therethrough (figures 5-7; paragraphs 0116-0117), for the purpose of providing a device which can be used with a wider range of patients, regardless of the thickness of the patient’s fat layer (paragraphs 0116-0117).
Regarding claim 36, as modified, Auerback et al. and Beeley teach wherein the proximal structure includes a third entry port disposed on the first side of the longitudinal axis, since Beeley teaches at least three suture paths originating on the same side of the device (figures 5-7 of Beeley).
Regarding claim 37, as modified, Auerback et al. and Beeley teach wherein the cannula includes a third exit port disposed on the second side of the longitudinal axis, wherein the third entry port is configured to cooperate with the third exit port to define a third suture path passing from the first side to the second side and having a third angle relative to the longitudinal axis since Beeley teaches at least three suture paths exiting on the same side of the device (figures 5-7 of Beeley).
Regarding claim 38, as modified, Auerback et al. and Beeley teach wherein the second entry port is proximal of the third entry port (figures 5-7 of Beeley show the first, second and third ports).
Regarding claim 40, as modified, Auerback et al. and Beeley teach wherein the first entry port is proximal of the second entry port (figures 5-7 of Beeley show the first, second and third ports).
Regarding claim 41, the first entry port 154 is configured to cooperate with the second exit port to define a third suture path extending from the first side to the second side and having a third angle relative to the longitudinal axis (any of the entry ports can be used with any of the exit ports to form a suture path because the interior of the cannula is hollow and there is no defined pathway from the entry ports to the exit ports).
Regarding claim 42, as modified, the proximal structure further includes a third entry port disposed on the first side of the longitudinal axis, wherein the cannula further includes a third exit port disposed on the second side of the longitudinal axis (Beeley et al. teaches three suture paths having entry and exit ports disposed on opposing sides of the device, figures 5-7), wherein the third entry port is configured to cooperate with any of the first exit port, the second exit port, or the third exit port to define a fourth suture path extending from the first side to the second side and having a fourth angle relative to the longitudinal axis (any of the entry ports can be used with any of the exit ports to form a suture path because the interior of the cannula is hollow and there is no defined pathway from the entry ports to the exit ports).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 43, 48, 50, and 51 are allowed.
Claim 53 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 43, none of the prior art discloses nor suggests an adjustable entry port that is configured to move relative to the proximal structure between a plurality of entry port positions each defining a respective suture path angle. The closest prior art, Prior (Pub. No. US 20150038994 A1) discloses a similar invention, but the entry port 206a is not adjustable relative to the proximal structure.
Regarding claim 53, none of the prior art discloses nor suggests a cannula having a recessed portion with a sleeve fitted therearound so that the sleeve sits flush with an outer surface of the remainder of the cannula. Prior (Pub. No. US 20150038994 A1) discloses a plurality of seals/sleeves in figures 25-28, but none of the cannulas have a recessed portion with the sleeve seated therein and flush with the remainder of the cannula.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO form 892.
/LYNNSY M SUMMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773