DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response to the Non-final Office Action dated 06/26/2025, filed with the office on 11/25/2025, has been entered and made of record.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-15 are pending. Claims 1 and 14 are amended. Claims 6 and 12 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment
In light of Applicant’s amendment of the claims, the claims are no longer interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Response to Amendment
In light of Applicant’s amendments made to claim 1, the claim objections with respect to claim 1 has been withdrawn.
5. In light of Applicant’s amendment of the claims 1 and 14, the rejections of record under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on November 25, 2025 with respect to rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 has been fully considered; but they are not found persuasive. Specifically, in page 8 of its reply, Applicant argues in fourth paragraph that Miyahara does not teach inspecting a single yarn (monofilament or single filament yarn) and only focuses on inspecting a plurality of yarns. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 recites “inspection system of a filament yarn… and the filament yarn is composed of from 10 to 500 single yarns”. Thus, inspecting a monofilament yarn or a single yarn is not a claimed limitation. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Applicant further argues in Specifically, in page 9 of its reply, Applicant argues in second paragraph that Okuda relates to carbon fiber and not glass fiber as claimed in claim 1 therefore, there the present invention in not obvious. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Miyahara discloses inspecting glass fiber in ¶0083: “The yarns to which the running yarn inspection method in an embodiment of the invention can be applied include… fiber yarns formed of glass fibers”. In addition, in an analogous field of endeavor, Okuda discloses a yarn bundle can be composed of 500 yarns— Okuda, ¶0081: “a fiber bundle consisting of 500 single-fibers” and each single fiber can be between 4 to 7 micrometers in diameter— Okuda, ¶0027: “single-fibers to have an average diameter of 4 to 7 μm”). Therefore, inspecting a glass fiber with 10-500 single fibers with a diameter between 1-10 μm would be obvious following the glass fiber inspection method in Miyahara combined with the disclosure in Okuda. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7-10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyahara et al. (US 2010/0157301 A1), in view of Shottenfeld et al. (US Patent no. 3,729,635 A), in further view of Crowther (US 2008/0049235 A1), still in further view of Pieper et al. (US 11,978,181 B1) and yet in further view of Okuda et al. (US 2016/0168761 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Miyahara teaches, An inspection system of a filament yarn, comprising: (Miyahara, ¶0001: “inspecting defects of carbon fiber yarns in a carbon fiber production process”) an LED or halogen strobe lamp (Miyahara, ¶0089: “a light source such as a halogen or LED”) which irradiates the filament yarn with inspection light; (Miyahara, ¶0005: “yarn is irradiated with the light from a light projecting section”) a camera (Miyahara, ¶0007: “yarns are imaged using a camera”) with an area sensor which measures (Miyahara, ¶0123: “scanning by the area sensor”) a luminance level of a shade and a background of the filament yarn (Miyahara, ¶0098: “the luminance of the yarn portions and the luminance of the background portions”) obtained by the irradiation with the inspection light (Miyahara, ¶0102: “calculating each yarn width specified from the positions of the yarns and the lightness values in the transverse direction of each yarn”) by the LED or halogen strobe lamp; (Miyahara, ¶0089: “light source such as a halogen or LED”) an image processor (Miyahara, ¶0039: “processing equipment”) which obtains image information on the basis of information obtained (Miyahara, ¶0035: “processing the image obtained by the inspection data acquiring and processing equipment”) from the area sensor; (Miyahara, ¶0094: “area sensor used for obtaining two-dimensional data”) and at least one selected from a group of a computer, a memory and an artificial intelligence, (Miyahara, ¶0111: “second data processing procedure… a personal computer”) which decides an error (Miyahara, ¶0110: “second data processing procedure… determined that the yarn concerned has a defect”) and determines an inspection result of the filament yarn (Miyahara, ¶0110: “determined that the yarn concerned has a defect”) on the basis of a threshold value according to the error, (Miyahara, ¶0112: “a predetermined threshold value can be identified, and on the basis of it, the occurrence of a defect on a yarn can be determined”) wherein the filament yarn comprises a glass fiber, (Miyahara, ¶0083: “The yarns to which the running yarn inspection method in an embodiment of the invention can be applied include… inorganic fiber yarns formed of glass fibers”). However, Miyahara does not explicitly teach, a frequency of the error from the image information and the LED or halogen strobe lamp is configured to be synchronized with the area sensor, the image processor carries out a correction of the image information obtained from the area sensor by (1) setting of inspection region and image reduction, (2) shading correction, (3) filtering, and (4) noise removal, in this order, the filament yarn is irradiated with the inspection light in only one direction, and the filament yarn is composed of from 10 to 500 single yarns having a single yarn diameter of from 1 to 10 μm.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Shottenfeld teaches, a frequency of the error (Shottenfeld, col. 2, line 22: “detecting the number of defects per unit length”) from the image information (Shottenfeld, col. 5, line 26-27: “an image of the light source and the edgewise shadow of the yarn”) and the filament yarn is irradiated with the inspection light in only one direction (Shottenfeld, col. 5 line 9-11: “a light source 10 is provided at one side edge of the yarn sheet that is to be inspected”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miyahara using the teachings of Shottenfeld to introduce counting a frequency of defects found in the yarn’s shadow casted by an inspection light from one direction. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of evaluating the quality of the inspected yarn. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Miyahara and Shottenfeld to obtain the above-described limitations in claim 1. However, the combination of Miyahara and Shottenfeld does not explicitly teach the LED or halogen strobe lamp is configured to be synchronized with the area sensor, the image processor carries out a correction of the image information obtained from the area sensor by (1) setting of inspection region and image reduction, (2) shading correction, (3) filtering, and (4) noise removal, in this order and the filament yarn is composed of from 10 to 500 single yarns having a single yarn diameter of from 1 to 10 μm.
In another analogous field of endeavor, Crowther teaches, the LED or halogen strobe lamp is is configured to be synchronized with the area sensor, (Crowther, ¶0027: “The light source 106 and detector 108 are physically coupled to one another”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miyahara in view of Shottenfeld using the teachings of Crowther to introduce a light source coupled to a detection sensor. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of optimized operation of the light source to sense the area. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Miyahara, Shottenfeld and Crowther to obtain the above-described limitations in claim 1. However, the combination of Miyahara, Shottenfeld and Crowther does not explicitly teach the image processor carries out a correction of the image information obtained from the area sensor by (1) setting of inspection region and image reduction, (2) shading correction, (3) filtering, and (4) noise removal, in this order.
In still another analogous field of endeavor, Pieper teaches the image processor carries out a correction of the image information obtained from the area sensor by (1) setting of inspection region and image reduction, (2) shading correction, (3) filtering, and (4) noise removal, in this order. (Pieper, col 10, lines 42-45: “operations performed by an ISP may include any combination of applying a Bayer filter, performing noise reduction, performing shading correction, performing image scaling”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miyahara in view of Shottenfeld in further view of Crowther using the teachings of Pieper to introduce a series of image processing functions. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of preparing the image for higher evaluation accuracy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Miyahara, Shottenfeld, Crowther and Pieper to obtain the above-described limitations in claim 1. However, the combination of Miyahara, Shottenfeld, Crowther and Pieper does not explicitly teach, the filament yarn is composed of from 10 to 500 single yarns having a single yarn diameter of from 1 to 10 μm.
In still another analogous field of endeavor, Okuda teaches, the filament yarn is composed of from 10 to 500 single yarns (Okuda, ¶0081: “a fiber bundle consisting of 500 single-fibers”) having a single yarn diameter of from 1 to 10 μm. (Okuda, ¶0027: “single-fibers to have an average diameter of 4 to 7 μm”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miyahara in view of Shottenfeld in further view of Crowther and still in further view of Pieper using the teachings of Okuda to introduce specific yarn properties. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of reproducing the yarn with similar properties in order to obtain similar qualities. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Miyahara, Shottenfeld, Crowther, Pieper, and Okuda to obtain the invention in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Miyahara in view of Shottenfeld, in further view of Crowther, still in further view of Pieper and yet in further view of Okuda teaches, The inspection system according to claim 1, wherein, when the error includes a plurality of types of errors, (Shottenfeld, col. 1, line 37-38: “the invention inspects for minor defects, major defects”) the at least one selected from a group of a computer, a memory and an artificial intelligence, determines the inspection result of the filament yarn (Shottenfeld, col.1, line 40-42: “Any defects occurring in the yarn generate electrical signals which can be used as desired to indicate audibly or visually the presence of defects”) on the basis of a threshold value series according to each error type. (Shottenfeld, col. 3, line 59-61: “the major defect panel may be set for 4 percent while that of the minor defect panel is set for 2 percent”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miyahara in view of Shottenfeld in further view of Crowther, still in further view of Pieper and yet in further view of Okuda using the additional teachings of Shottenfeld to introduce different thresholds for detecting deferent types of yarn defects. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of determining specific type of defect based on the predetermined threshold. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Miyahara, Shottenfeld, Crowther, Pieper and Okuda to obtain the invention in claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, Miyahara in view of Shottenfeld, in further view of Crowther, still in further view of Pieper and yet in further view of Okuda teaches, The inspection system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one selected from a group of a computer, a memory and an artificial intelligence, decides the threshold value (Miyahara, ¶0024: “a threshold value predetermined by the second data processing procedure”) by combining the image information (Miyahara, ¶0154: “two-dimensional data of an image”) and a measurement result of a yarn diameter of the filament yarn. (Miyahara, ¶0110: “the number of pixels of the dark portion showing each yarn width is larger or smaller than the threshold value”; thus, threshold value is based on the expected yarn width/diameter in the image).
Regarding claim 7, Miyahara in view of Shottenfeld, in further view of Crowther, still in further view of Pieper and yet in further view of Okuda teaches, The inspection system according to claim 1, wherein the filament yarn is made of the glass fiber, (Miyahara, ¶0083: “yarns formed of glass fibers”) and at least one selected from the group consisting of an acrylic resin fiber, a fiber containing an acrylic resin and another synthetic resin, (Miyahara, ¶0083: “synthetic fiber yarns formed of acrylic fibers”) and a carbon fiber. (Miyahara, ¶0083: “inspecting black carbon fiber yarns”).
Regarding claim 8, Miyahara in view of Shottenfeld, in further view of Crowther, still in further view of Pieper and yet in further view of Okuda teaches, The inspection system according to claim 1, wherein the filament yarn is made of the glass fiber. (Miyahara, ¶0083: “yarns formed of glass fibers”).
Regarding claim 9, Miyahara in view of Shottenfeld, in further view of Crowther, still in further view of Pieper and yet in further view of Okuda teaches, The inspection system according to claim 1, further comprising another computer controlling (Miyahara, ¶0151: “processing can be continuously performed to perform continuous inspection of running yarns”) the LED or halogen strobe lamp, the camera, the image processor, and the at least one selected from the group of the computer, the memory and the artificial intelligence. (Shottenfeld, col 2, lines 61-66: “a circuit for detecting yarn defects per unit length, a coordinating logic circuit, a meter circuit including an indicating meter, and a power supply circuit which controls the light source and supplies power for the other circuits”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miyahara in view of Shottenfeld in further view of Crowther, still in further view of Pieper and yet in further view of Okuda using the additional teachings of Shottenfeld to introduce a circuit that controls the components of the yarn inspection system. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of controlling the different operations of the inspection system using the controlling circuit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Miyahara, Shottenfeld, Crowther, Pieper and Okuda to obtain the invention in claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Miyahara in view of Shottenfeld, in further view of Crowther, still in further view of Pieper and yet in further view of Okuda teaches, The inspection system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one selected from the group of the computer, the memory and the artificial intelligence further determines acceptance or rejection of an original yarn of the filament yarn on the basis of the inspection result of the filament yarn. (Miyahara, ¶0165: “defective portions can be removed on the basis of the defect occurrence positions obtained as inspection results, or the inspection results can be used as quality assurance”).
Regarding claim 12, Miyahara in view of Shottenfeld, in further view of Crowther, still in further view of Pieper and yet in further view of Okuda teaches, The inspection system according to claim 1, which is used off-line. (Miyahara, ¶0085: “the inspection for finding whether or not yarns have defects”).
Regarding claim 13, Miyahara in view of Shottenfeld, in further view of Crowther, still in further view of Pieper and yet in further view of Okuda teaches, The inspection system according to claim 1, which is used in-line. (Miyahara, ¶0085: “inspection is performed in the final step in the production process”)
Regarding claim 14, it recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited steps of method claim 14 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements in system claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Miyahara, Shottenfeld, Crowther, Pieper and Okuda presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. Additionally, Miyahara teaches, An inspection method of a filament yarn (Miyahara, ¶0083: “the running yarn inspection method”).
Regarding claim 15, Miyahara in view of Shottenfeld, in further view of Crowther, still in further view of Pieper and yet in further view of Okuda teaches, The inspection system according to claim 1, wherein the camera and the LED or halogen strobe lamp are configured to form a pair, (Crowther, ¶0027: “The light source 106 and detector 108 are physically coupled to one another”; See also, Fig. 2A-2D) so that the filament yarn is irradiated with the inspection light in only one direction from the LED or halogen strobe lamp. (Crowther, ¶0010: “a light source disposed on one side of the component, and an optical detector disposed on the other side of the component”; See also Fig. 2A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miyahara in view of Shottenfeld in further view of Crowther, still in further view of Pieper and yet in further view of Okuda using the additional teachings of Crowther to introduce a light source coupled with a light detector. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of precise measurements during an inspection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Miyahara, Shottenfeld, Crowther, Pieper and Okuda to obtain the invention in claim 15.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyahara et al. (US 2010/0157301 A1), in view of Shottenfeld et al. (US Patent no. 3,729,635 A), in further view of Crowther (US 2008/0049235 A1), still in further view of Pieper et al. (US 11,978,181 B1) yet in further view of Okuda et al. (US 2016/0168761 A1) and even in further view of Liu et al. (US 2021/0374941 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Miyahara in view of Shottenfeld, in further view of Crowther, still in further view of Pieper and yet in further view of Okuda teaches, The inspection system according to claim 1, wherein, when the threshold value includes a plurality of threshold values, (Miyahara, ¶0111: “use multiple threshold values selectively”) the at least one selected from a group of a computer, a memory and an artificial intelligence, outputs a determination result of the image with (Miyahara, ¶0110: “two-dimensional data of an image concerning contrast into the recording means, the types, forms, etc. of the defects”). However, the combination of Miyahara, Shottenfeld, Crowther, Pieper and Okuda does not explicitly teach, the threshold values being divided into a first threshold value or less, from the first threshold value to a second threshold value, and the second threshold value or more.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Liu teaches, the threshold values being divided into (Liu, ¶0072: “the first threshold value can be set to 0.90, and the second threshold value can be set to 0.50”) a first threshold value or less, (Liu, ¶0072: “less than a second threshold value”; 0.50 or less) from the first threshold value to a second threshold value, (Liu, ¶0072: “not greater than a first threshold value”; less than 0.90, more than 0.50) and the second threshold value or more. (Liu, ¶0072: “greater than a first threshold value”; more than 0.90).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miyahara in view of Shottenfeld in further view of Crowther, still in further view of Pieper and yet in further view of Okuda using the teachings of Liu to introduce different range of thresholds. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of detecting the type of defect by comparing the calculated value with threshold values. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Miyahara, Shottenfeld, Crowther, Pieper, Okuda and Liu to obtain the invention in claim 3.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyahara et al. (US 2010/0157301 A1), in view of Shottenfeld et al. (US Patent no. 3,729,635 A), in further view of Crowther (US 2008/0049235 A1), still in further view of Pieper et al. (US 11,978,181 B1), yet in further view of Okuda et al. (US 2016/0168761 A1), even in further view of Liu et al. (US 2021/0374941 A1) and still even in further view of Zhou et al. (US 2015/0093040 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Miyahara in view of Shottenfeld, in further view of Crowther, still in further view of Pieper, yet in further view of Okuda and even in further view of Liu teaches, The inspection system according to claim 3, wherein, when the threshold value includes . However, the combination of Miyahara, Shottenfeld, Crowther, Pieper, Okuda and Liu does not explicitly teach, three or more threshold values and from the second threshold value to a third threshold value, and the third threshold value or more.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Zhou teaches, three or more threshold values (Zhou, ¶0052: “the third preset brightness threshold may be selected”) from the second threshold value (Zhou, ¶0011: “greater than or equal to the second preset brightness threshold”) to a third threshold value, (Zhou, ¶0011: “less than or equal to the third preset brightness value”) and the third threshold value or more. (Zhou, ¶0011: “greater than a third preset brightness threshold”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miyahara in view of Shottenfeld, in further view of Crowther, still in further view of Pieper, yet in further view of Okuda and even in further view of Liu using the teachings of Zhou to introduce a third threshold value. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of determining a defect type based on which range of threshold value the calculated number falls in. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Miyahara, Shottenfeld, Crowther, Pieper, Okuda, Liu and Zhou to obtain the invention in claim 4.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEHRAZUL ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662